(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Historical data and life sketches of the deceased ministers of the Indiana Conference of the Evangelical Association, 1835-1915"

^^il"A^:^^ 



M 



yy,, 






^.f V 



"Ai'Ml'A "! 



; ! 



!^;,0(rM.,4: !: 



ii'. 



,iy>,.„j /.I ^, 



CORNELL 

UNIVERSITY 

LIBRARY 




Given in Memory of 
JACOB AND MARY TUVIN 



JULIUS H. TUVIN, '12 



Cornell University Library 
BX 7520.I6B34 



Historical data and life sketches of the 



3 1924 009 105 986 



I I 




Cornell University 
Library 



The original of tiiis book is in 
tine Cornell University Library. 

There are no known copyright restrictions in 
the United States on the use of the text. 



http://www.archive.org/details/cu31924009105986 



Historical Sketches 



CIRCUITS, MISSIONS AND 
STATIONS 

of 

Indiana Conference of the 
Evangelical Association 

1835 to 1922 

Also 
OTHER IMPORTANT CONFERENCE DATA 

Compiled by S. H. BAUMGARTNER, Conference Historian 



Edited by A. B. HAIST and E. E. ROBERTS 

Published by the Indiana Conference 

19 2 4 



""III, III 



I 



'/, 



Volume II 



\^ 



„1l 



Table of Contents 



Page 

Frontier Life, Indiana Conference 5 

Historical Sketches of Circuits, Missions and Stations of the Indiana Con- 
ference of the Evangelical Association, 1835-1922 7 

History of the Women's Missionary Society, Indiana Conference Branch 256 

W. M. S., Conventions of, and Where Held 258 

W. M. S., Conference Branch. Officers, 1892-1923 258 

W. M. S., General Conventions of, and Delegates from Ind, Conf. Branch 259 

W. M. S., General Enterprises that the Conference Branch Supported 260 

Y. P. A., Organization of the Conference Branch and Local 261 

Record of Oldest Alliances in Indiana Conference 262 

Y. P. A, Statistics Obtained from Conference Journals 263 

Mission Help the Conference Branch Y. P. A. Gave 263 

Y. P. A., Conference Branch Presidents, 1892-1923 264 

Oakwood Park, Brief Sketch of 265 

Old People's Home. Haven Hubbard Memorial 271 

Ministers— Licensed to Preach, 1915-1922, Cont. from Vol. I, Page 389 276 

Ministers— Ordained as Deacons, 1915-1922, Cont. from Vol. I, Page 392 276 

Ministers— Ordained as Elders, 1915-1922, Cont. from Vol I, Page 394 276 

Ministers — Received from Other Conferences and Churches, Cont. from 

Vol. I, Page 391 277 

Ministers — Related in the Conference.-- 277 

Presiding Elders and Their Districts 279 

Presiding Elder Districts, Together with the Fields of Labor and the P. E. 

that Served Them 281 

Table of Living Ministers. Data, 1915-1923, Cont. from Vol. 1 285 

Table of Deceased Ministers, 1916-1923 286 

Credentials Voted Ministers to Other Conferences or Churches 287 

Irregularly Withdrawn from the Conference 287 

Delegates to General Conference, Cont from Vol. I, Page 382 287 

Conference Trustee Board, Cont. from Vol. I, Page 381 287 

Officers of the Indiana Conference Missionary Society, Cont. from Vol. I, 

Page 383 288 

Delegates to the Board of Missions, Cont. from Vol. I, Page 383 288 

Trustees to N. W. C. and (U. B. I.) E. T. S. and Years of Service 288 

Lay Delegates to Indiana Conference, 1909-1922 289 

Men Who Made Long Records in Office in Length of Years 290 

Ministers and the Fields They Served, Cont, from Vol. I, Page 56 291 

Missions and Appropriations Given Them 295 

Some Statistics, in Aggregate, 1852-1922 297 

For Special Purposes for the Church 298 

Missionary Money, Whence Obtained Since 1890 and Where Applied Since 

1868 300 

Largest Missionary Contributions — Their Source 303 

Officers of the Last Year of the Indiana Conference of the Evangelical As- 
sociation '■ 304 

Appendix 307 

Blunders and Slips of Ministers of the Conference 307 

Reminiscences 310 

Revival Experiences 318 

Errors in Vol. I Corrected 331 



Index to Illustrations 



Page 

1. Akron, Emmanuel Church 7 

2. Berne Church _ 14 

3. Brazil Church _ _ 21 

4. Broadway, South Bend Church 223 

5. Dayton, Wayne Ave. Church 59 

6. Decatur Church _ - 61 

7. Elkhart, First Church...-. 84 

S. Elkhart, Oakland Ave. Church 86 

y. Fort Wayne, First Church ._ _...,_ 98 

10. Frontispiece, Conference Personnel 3 

11. Haven Hubbard Memorial Old People's Home 272 

12. Huntingburg, Emmanuel Church, ___ __ _ __. 119 

13. Indianapolis, First Church _ _ 126 

14. Indianapolis, Second Church. 133 

15. Louisville, Zion Church 157 

16. Louisville, Trinity Church 160 

17. Mt. Carmel Church _ _ 174 

18. Oakwood Park Views 265 

19. Rochester Church 203 

20. Rockport Church 206 

21. Van Wert Church 237 

22. West Salem Church 247 



A GOOD WORD 

"My very chains and I grew friends 
So much a long communion lends 
To make us what we are; even I 
Regard my freedom with a sigh." — Byron. 

Thus might a modern Byron sing of the prisoner, the historian oi this vol- 
ume. To leaf through musty records and periodical volumes, to inquire of the 
aged ones — gleaning here and there — constantly for ten years of twelve months 
each, gathering material for a history is a task of long and broad proportions. 
It finally becomes a part of life itself, and to quit demands a "pound of flesh". 
Add to this the work of transcribing and revising — for three years, and we feel 
the toiler surely regards his "freedom with a sigh". The historian has rendered 
a great service. It cannot be paid by money. But his reward is this, that we 
examine and regard its worth with profit. The coming years will increase its 
worth. Our part was a humble one in comparison, and yet not small. We 
learned to appreciate in a measure the work required. We cheerfully present 
you Volume 11 of our Conference History. Many who will read how self-sac- 
rificing men of God brought the Gospel to the homes of their parents or grand- 
parents, will be knit the closer with the work of the church and to the Christ 
their Lord. 

We bespeak for this volume a hearty welcome. Its reading will greatly 
profit the lait}' and the ministry of our Conference. 

A. B. HAIST I 

E. E. ROBERTS p"""' • 



fr. 








S>.S 


i«£ 


O « s 


H 




■So g 


't3 > 


- ^ 


i^ 




- m 






W 






" JW 


c/i 




2 , P5 






1—^ 








S 1 E 






'n 3 '^ 






U c/) ^ 


. ^ O 


o 17 V, 


a 


< 

<; 


O (U P-1 
C o ■ 


^ bo ^ 
be . 


J ij ^ s 

O > 


n 


1 — 1 

Q 


d" s 


« ■ S 


--2 'W 


u 




■ Cm 


W 'S . 


!U ^ -S "2 
i c K w 




M 


c ^ ^' 


1 fe: u 


1 -s %« 


< 


< 


O J J 


■J -D 


<^ .«• 


^ 


f ^' % 

111 

H .S 


w '.-; „■ 


a « u E 


B 


2 


S E 
1^1 


^< S _E 

£■ -o' fci ? 


o 


to 


"««'^' 


I^E 


W " '^' d 

4=! u 


M 


O 


■«■ ^ E ^ 






'"' 


W 
'Z, 

o 


3 '-' ^ ui 




CO 

E 

K 

d 






s X w »■ 


« .r J» E 








g o ^ 


^ ^, '^^ > 


s 


CJ 


■-^■•S D. ■* 


"c c ^ rt 


c/ r > . 


d 


25 


M s m 




1 i - 1 


m' 


w 
to 
:^ 
o 
(J 


.^ ra a 

g N S ^ 


.WE 


S^ ■" T (-.■ 

^- - 1 d 

5 -; ^' a 


o 


-< 
2; 


^(^Ju 


o 


wl ^f^' 


W 


<; 


p4 n «■ sj 


^- f^ 1-- 


d 1 i; Q 


OJ ■ 


l-H 


- > 


^ « . ^ 


^^ s- - 


5 '^ 


Q 


"' i s ^' 




id "-S 




1 — I 

W 


a ^ 's J' 






c o 


S 




^ ^^ « - 


.» "■ ^ d 


H 


»s J > 
.s w ^ «" 


■" -^ -^' '^ 

>» »; • t: 
S i o >2 




'E If i 




V.«5 


« ■ 








e ffl' '^ » 




-O ? ,/, "^ rt 


'^ l^ 1 








C! a c . ^ 


1-, T^ 






^ « S t ^^ 
c/j £- < ^ :^ 


■U OJ * 



" rt 



E S 



m 



« <; 



ra H fq -S 



FOREWORD 

Dear Brethrf;n in the Ministry and Laity of the Indiana Conference, Greet- 
ings. Herewith we present to you Volume II of the History of our Conference. 
We cannot claim for it perfection. With the best care, errors will occur in a 
book where many dates are involved, and where the sources of historical facts 
are either meager, or voluminous; and especially where fields have no records 
at all, and where boundaries of fields and districts have frequently been changed. 
We have aimed at conciseness, clearness, and the avoidance of repetitions, and 
yet to be faithful to the facts. We have chosen to accept the reports of min- 
isters as found in our church periodicals, rather than to rely upon testimonies de- 
pendent on memory of thmgs of long ago. 

For a decade we have gathered the historical material of all the fields that 
existed and now exist for this volume. We searched through the Christliche 
Botsehafter and the Eiaiiiielkal Mesacntier from 1852 to 1923; the Conference Min- 
utes for like data, written in German, until 1886; circuit and society records; 
available diaries of pioneer preachers; and conversed with the older members of 
church societies from whom we gained some reliable information. The field 
records, being largely in German, translations had to be made from them. This 
we found both interesting and profitable, but withal a stupendous task. The 
manuscript has been re-written, revised, and condensed three to four times to 
bring it to its present size. 

Much more might have been said about some fields that kept full records, 
if space had permitted, and of other fields, if records had been made by outgo- 
ing pastors. From available data, we culled those events and incidents that, we 
trust, make this volume interesting and inspiring for self-sacrificing service to 
th.is and following generations. 

In the Supplement one will find "Revival Anecdotes'', "This and That", 
"Personal Experiences", "Breaks and Blunders", etc., that will be helpful in 
life's activities. These were obtained by correspondence and personal commu- 
nications. Many declined to contribute personal experiences which is greatly to 
be regretted. The record of many valuable experiences thus die that otherwise 
might be helpful and interesting. 

THE HISTORIAN. 



FRONTIER LIFE ON FIELDS, INDIANA CONFERENCES 

Herewith, we give a l.irief account of the frontier life of the pioneer minis- 
ters of the Indiana Conference of the Evangehcal Association, dating from the 
year 1836. These heroes of the Cross conducted rehgious services in private 
houses, barns, groves, schoolhouses, and court houses. Tlie early settlers were 
as zealous in their faith, and in organizing classes, and perfecting their church 
life, as they were in their temporal enterprises. 

The construction of church edifices was as conscientiously done as the 
building of their dwellings. Their churches were built of logs, brick, and frame, 
with onlj' an auditorium. The ceilings were low, and there were one or two 
doors, and a few small vi'indows. They were lighted first with candles and 
lanterns, then small oil lamps, then with improved large ones with round burners 
and tin shades, then with clusters of oil lamps in chandeliers with various forms 
of reflectors. These were hailed with delight, but were later supplanted by gas 
and acetylene lights and direct and indirect electric illumination, now in general 
use. 

The pews were made of slabs and planks smoothed down. Then benches 
were made with straight backs and narrow seats; then came the pews, better 
suited for comfort of the body. The present comfortable and sometimes cush- 
ioned pews next came into vogue. It is no wonder some older folks declared 
these later pews and other improvements were conducive to pride and sin. Ta- 
bles and stands first served for pulpits. Then followed pulpits extending clear 
across the front of a platform and back on each side, from one to three feet, 
forming a sort of an open bo.x; and behind it, against the wall, was a plain 
bench for the preachers. On each pulpit corner was placed a light. Sometimes 
the pulpits were so high that preachers, small in stature, were necessitated to 
stand on a box for sufficient elevation to see their congregations. At one place 
of our conference, a short and corpulent pastor provided himself with such a 
box that he might see and be seen. He had chosen for his text, "A little while, 
and ye shall not see me." Just then the box broke with a crash, and the preach- 
er unceremoniously disappeared to the amusement of his congregation. These 
pulpits gradually gave way to smaller and ornamental ones. 

The heating plants consisted of fire-places, then long wood-stoves, then high 
upright stoves with more or less fancy trimmings, then the hot-air furnaces, and 
then the steam and hot-water plants came into use. Many of the frame church- 
es were ceiled. Later plastered walls came into vogue. This offered opportu- 
nities to the wasps to find convenient habitation, often to the discomfort of 
Vvforshippers. On an autumn afternoon while your historian was preaching in 
a certain church infested with wasps, the cold church having been warmed up, 

5 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

these pesky wasps became enlivened. One dropped from the ceiling- to the his- 
torian's neck, and it used its "spear" with sufficient force to give the speaker 
some mental and physical disturbance, and diverted the minds of the worship- 
pers. But they held the ground, though disturbed somewhat, and finished the 
service. 

The congregations in pioneer days were unable to properly support a resi- 
dent pastor, so circuits were formed. These circuits consisted of as many as 
six to twenty, or more, appointments, and varying in distance from five to forty 
miles apart. Many of them were in out-of-the-way settlements amidst deep 
woods. Ministers would visit these places once in two to six weeks, and daily 
preach to small groups of gospel-hungry souls, pray with the sick, baptize chil- 
dren, admonish sinners to repentance, and saints to a faithful service to God, 
hold "Big Meetings", and administer the Lord's Supper. 

The talent and equipment required for the spiritual success of these "pio- 
neer circuit riders", and city mission preachers, varied greatly; hence caution 
had to be exercised in stationing them. That mistakes were made goes without 
saying. For all these appointments needed a pastor with spiritual earnestness, 
courage, devotion, a constraining love, and a consuming zeal for souls. Also 
aptness of speech, adaptability to conditions, a vigorous body to endure hard- 
ships, a consecrated will, and a concentrated mind were essential qualifications 
to meet successfully the varied conditions incident to pioneer life. The journeys 
were long, fatiguing and often very perilous. Accommodations for rest and 
fc'od were meager. Malaria prevailed everywhere. Public roads were often 
mere winding trails through wild and swampy timliers, infested with blood- 
thirsty mosquitoes. Surely it took more than ordinary courage, and profound 
scholarly training, to weather the storms and succeed. It took gxit, grace, un- 
feigned love, passion for souls, and the unction and power of the Holy Ghost. 
But by these gospel heroes, rough and unchristianized frontier settlements were 
transformed into refined moral and religious communities. They were the chan- 
nels of true civilization and Christianity. The good they did can never be meas- 
ured, or summed up in dollars and cents. Eternity alone can reveal the vast 
reach of their acliievements. All honor to them! 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES OF CIRCUITS, MISSIONS AND 

STATIONS OF THE INDIANA CONFERENCE 

OF THE EVANGELICAL ASSOCIATION 

FROM 1835-1922. 



ABINGTON, WAYNE COUNTY, INDIANA 

Absolom B. Schafer reported in the ChriMliche Boiscluiftcr, May 1, 1848, 
that there was a class of three members at Abington, S. E. corner of Wayne 
County, Indiana, as earlj^ as October, 1835. This class then belonged to Miami 
Circuit of the Western Conference of the Evangelical Association, which em- 
braced all of the S. W. corner of Ohio. At this time, Schafer was a local 
preacher of this conference. He made a tour into this part of Indiana. No rec- 
ord is found when this appointment began, or when it ceased. It evidently was 
abandoned prior to the organization of the Indiana Conference. 

AKRON, EMMANUEL SOCIETY, MIAMI COUNTY, INDIANA, 1850-1922 

The recorded name of this society is "Emmanuel", locally known as "Gil- 
ead", "Barnheisel", and "Smith", the last two representing two prominent fam- 
ilies here. Later it was called "Akron'', 
designatirg the place where the minister 
lives. Ministers of the Evangelical As- 
sociation Ijcgan preaching here in 1850. 
The first one was Joseph Fisher of 
Miami Circuit, then a part of the Illinois 
Conference. In 1851 Peter Goetz and M. 
Haubert served. The society was, how- 
ever, not organized until Jacob Keiper 
became pastor in June, 1852, when the 
Indiana Conference was organized in 
Naperville, Illinois. It included this 
field, as one of the ten ori.ginal fields. 

Miami Circuit in 1852 embraced the 
following- preaching places; copied from 
J. Keiper's circuit book: 1. Young's 
(Bethel), N. E. of Lagro; 2. Lauenhei- 
scr's, near Laketon; 3. Barnheisel's; 4. 
South Germany, N. W. of Rochester; 
5. Carl Schoch's, west of Leiter's Ford; 
6. Bechtel's and Zechiel's, south of Culver; 7. Brucc's Lake, (Lake Bruce); 8. 
Salem, twelve miles south of Rochester; 9. Berlin's schoolhouse, east of Akron; 

7 




Emmanuel Church, Akron. 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

10. Sharpie's, three miles south of Peru; 11. Braun's and Strobel's, six miles 
south of Peru; 12. Condo's and White Hall, five miles south of Bunker Hill; 13. 
Gcrhart's, two miles east of Waupecong; 14. Stoctzel's, one mile east of Hunt- 
ington; 15. Ehrhart's, N. W. of Markle; 16. Dustman's and Meyer's, twelve miles 
north of Huntington; 17. Weinier's schoolhouse; 18. New Ark (Akron); 19. 
Greenland's schoolhouse-, three miles S. E. of Akron; 20. Sehupp's; 21. Roth's, 
near Silver Lake; 22. Albrecht's; 2i. Fulton, or Phmk's and Zwingcisen's; 24. 
Sailer's, six milts S. W. of Logansport; 25. Long's sclioolhouse. south of Lo- 
gansport; Krieg's and Cook's, near Gilead. These appointments were in Hunt- 
ington, Wabasli, Fulton, Miami, Kosciusko, and Cass Counties. At this time 
there was a church at Salem, the only one on the circuit. 

The charter members at Barnheisel's were; Jacob liarnheisel and wi.c, and 
son Cornelius; father Smith and son Louis; Jolm Alt, and the Ha.ger fani'ly. 
About this time preaching began at Krieg's, Cook's and at Schwoveland's. Th,.\v 
never had a chnrcli here. About 1875, this class was merged with the Barnhei- ' 
scl Class. In 1899, Cool< transferred liis niemiiersliip to Peru, wlierc lie gave 
lilieral support until the time of his d;atli. 

In 1853, the name Miami Circuit was changed to Fulton, including the "B" 
class up to Septemlier, 1872, when Silver Lake Circuit was formed of Barnlici- 
sel's. Cook's and Silver Lake Classes. In 1873, this circuit ])ecame Gilead Mis- 
sion, and in 1874, the B. Class was again added to Fulton Circuit. In 1852, 
preaching also began at "Greenland Schoolhouse", now "Teeter's". Bishop 
John Seybert, while on a visit here, was asked to preach the funeral sermon of 
John Ruchsthul (Rookstool), a pious man who had preached several years, then 
surrendered his license and en.gaged in carpenter work and in teaching school. 
At this time Evangelical preachers also preached in the M. E. church in New 
Ark, and also, two to three miles S. W. from Akron, in houses. In 1874, the 
survivin.g members became emljodied in the "Arter" Class, or "Pleasant View". 
In Akron, after several repeated efforts, no substantial foothold could be ob- 
tained. In 1876 Emmanuel l)ccame a part of the newly formed Warsaw Mis- 
sion, served by D. J. Pontius. Our church work gradually centralized in the 
Emmanuel Society. A frame church was built here and dedicated, December 
9, 1860, by Joseph Fisher, P. E., A. Nicolai, and D. Bartholomew were the pas- 
tors. This cluirch stO(.id just south of N. Barnheisel's residence. In April, 1885, 
this class. Silver Lake, Salem, and Neff's were merged to form Rochester Cir- 
cuit. In 1888 it formed a part of Akron Mission and remained so until 1912. In 
1893 L. Newman reported that this society prayed anxiously for a revival. A 
revival started, resulting in 22 conversions and 27 accessions. In 1913 the work 
was called Gilead but the next year changed back to Akron, and has been so 
called ever since. The original appointments have mostly been abandoned. 
The second chnrcii (of brick) was built in 1902, when E. Q. Laudeman was pas- 
tor. The cornerstone was laid on a June Sunday afternoon by S. H. Baumgart- 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

ner, P. E., and the church was dedicated November 27, 1902, by editor S. P. 
Spreng. The dedication was followed by a revival that resulted in a score o' 
conversions and accessions. In 1922, N. Barnheisel donated to the charge a com- 
modious parsonage in Akron, which act is greatly appreciated by people, pastors, 
ard the Conference. It belonged to the P. E. districts, viz.; to St. Joseph, 1852- 
64: to Elkhart, 1865-1922. For pastors see Vol. I under Fulton Circuit, to 1888, 
to Rochester station from 1881-84, to, Rochester Circuit 1885-87, J. Wales; 1888, 
Phil Buehler; 1889. J. Hoffman; 1890, D. J. Pontius; 1891, Wm. Wildermuth; 
1892-93, J. M. Rogers. The second year R. was made Oakwood Park Supt., and 
L. Newman served 1893-96; J. W. Metzner, 1897-98; J. W. Feller, 1899; E. Q. 
Laudeman, 1900-02; A. E. Weynck, 1903; J. M. Lantz, 1904; W. Wildermuth, 
1O05; A. A. Knepper, 1906-07; I. Steele, 1908; A. Geist, 1909; J. L. Speicher, 1910, 
E. Q. Laudeman, 1911-12; W. E. Snyder, 1913-14; C. W. Spangler, 1915-19; C. 
W. Schlemmer, 1920-21; W. J. Dauner, 1922; C. W. Spangler, 1923. 

AKRON TOWN APPOINTMENT 

Attempts to organize a society in this town were repeatedly made. A. A. 
Krepper in 1906-07 preached here in the Christian Church, when the P. E., S. 
H. Baumgartner, also held a communion service here. In 1919 C. W. Spangler 
tried to find entrance. All previous efforts had failed. In 1920 Evangelical 
r.iembers, who had moved into Akron, agreed to form a Union Sunday School 
with the Christian Church people, held prayer meetings, and entered into a con- 
tract with them for the use of their church for fifteen years, agreeing to make 
an improvement on the building to the amount of $1,500 for this concession. 
On January 11, 1921, the pastor, C. W. Schlemmer, organized a society at the 
close of a revival meeting in the home of Mrs. Malissa Schafer, as the Akron 
Trinity Society, with the following charter members: Harvey and Laura Long, 
John and Delila Gaerte, Jacob and Martha Madlem, W. E. Smith, David and 
Nora Brown, Frank and Susan Teeter and daughter Esther, Mrs. Malissa 
Schafer, Anna E. Arter, Phil Anter, Lucinda Day, G. Woolpert and wi.e, May 
Sands, Rebecca Hoffman, Samuel and Mary Bahney and daughter Vernie, Grace 
Churchill, Pearl, Blanch and Irene Keshing, Evelyn Kreichbaum, Lloyd and 
Ruth Heilman, Mrs. Thompson, Amanda Gerard, Eva Robinson, Ruth Nye, Mrs. 
Fredericka Bright, J. J. King. Others soon followed. The first five trus- 
tees were: T. J. King, H. Long, F. Teeter, D. Brown, Wm. Smith. First class 
leader, D. Brown; Exhorter, S. Bahney. The report of remodeling the church, 
above named, showed that $877.17 had been collected, of which $762.75 was ex- 
pended. This society was incorporated under the articles as found in the Church 
Discipline. 

In 1922, W. J. Dauner was the pastor; 1923, C. W. Spangler. 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

AKRON, PLEASANT VIEW 

J. Keiper and his successors bad preached in this community from 1852, but 
there was no real organization until 1874, when Eli Hochstettler effected one. 
Sunday Schools were held in the Artcr Schoolhouse, and preaching in private 
houses, and on lawns, both in English and German. Father Fishly was the 
first class leader. The charter members were: Philip Arter and wife, Philip 
Hoffman and wife, Peter Miller and wifif,' John Warner and wife, and Father 
Fishly and wile. In 1887 J. Wales built a church 30x50 feet, and D. S. Oakes 
dedicated it August 7th. From lack of community interest the place was aban- 
doned in 1920. The church still stands at present writing. 

ALTAMONT, ILLINOIS 

A number of Oliver families and other families o.' the Evangelical Associa- 
tion in Pennsylvania, having moved here in 1867, were organized into a class, 
in 1868, known as "Oliver Class' by Carl Schamo, also a Pcnnsylvanian, then 
pastor of Campcreek Circuit. They worshipped in their homes until a church 
was built by Fred Launer, and dedicated, December 22, 1872, under E. Hoch- 
stettler, pastor. This was the first church in this village. As M. Mayer, P. E., 
could not preach English, and the people wanted the dedicatory sermon in Eng- 
lish, he sent C Condo to ofiiciate. Pastor C. Stockhowe reported, "that the 
prosperity of this society was greatly hindered by too much internal strife." 
Some withdrew from the church. Under the pastorate of W. L. Luehring in 
1884, their church building was moved near Edgewood, Illinois. This greatly 
incensed the Altamont Class, and they tried to stop the moving of it, but fail- 
ed. In 1888 Fred Theiss again took up the class in Altamont, and in 1889 built 
a small church, 24 x ,36 feet. He was succeeded by M. F. Finkbeiner who dedi- 
cated the church. In 1902 W. F. Snyder enlarged it with an annex and a tower. 
The old pews were replaced with opera-chairs and the church was rededicated 

by , on . New life followed dedication; 

the Sunday School increased in attendance; young folks were gathered in. But, 
from a lack of unanimity and cooperative work between old and young mem- 
bers, the society relapsed into decay, and by request to conference the place 
was abandoned in 1915. The church building was sold for $500.00, and the pro- 
ceeds applied to the new Brazil Church per Conference instruction. The church 
bell was sold in 1919 to the Zion's Class, Brownstown Circuit in Illinois, to 
which field it belonged during most of the time. 

ARCADIA, INDIANA 

A society of the Evangelical Association existed here in 1858 when Cicero 
Mission was formed. A church was built about 1862. In 1870 its trustees were 
ordered to sell it and apply the proceeds to the buying of a church in Nobles- 

10 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

ville, Indiana. It was sold to the M. E. people. The society was a part of 
Cicero charge. 

ATLANTA, INDIANA 

This society, "Emmanuel", or "County Line" is on the Hamilton and Tip- 
ton county line, two miles west of Atlanta. It was organized in 1866 by S. Kip- 
linger and always belonged to Cicero and Noblcsville charge which were iden- 
tical, except in 1907, when it was added to Kokomo Mission. Charter members 
were: John Snowberger and wife; John, Jacob, and George Gaiser and their 
wives; Stephen Gaiser; Katherine Dickover, with George Gaiser as class leader. 

The first church was built in 1867 by D. J. Pontius and dedicated . 

. George and John Gaiser and J. Cornutt were the building committee. 

The class had a gradual growth. A Sunday School was organized early in its 
history and has been maintained since.. It had many good revivals, especially 
in 1881 under D. Martz. In 1887 under J. E. Smith and M. L. Scheidler as pas- 
tors, the latter'reported, December 26th, "that it looked here as though the wolf 
of terror had entered the flock and scattered the sheep, that some members ad- 
vised to lock the church." But these men were not hirelings, but shepherds, and 
with prayer they continued , the struggle. Then the Lord's door of mercy open- 
ed, victory came, the kindled revival fire broke out in flames, sinners were pow- 
erfully convicted, repented, and twelve were saved and eleven united with the 
church. Sister Shawhan of Centre, Indiana, assisted with ability and success. 

In 1908 the first church was remodeled, and rededicated by L. S. Fisher, P. 
E., at a cost of $700.00. G. C. Lutman was pastor. The initial work for remod- 
elling must be credited to J. J. Wise, pastor prior to the conference session in 
1908. There followed an extensive revival under his leadership. This society 
has an interest in the Cicero parsonage which was bought in the summer of 
1913 for $700.00. Of this $500.00 came from the proceeds of the old parsonage in 
Noblesville. Several interesting and helpful tent meetings were also held here. 
For ministers who served here see under Cicero. 

AUTON CHAPEL, SOUTH BEND, INDIANA 

This is a community church, mostly built by Mrs. Auton. It is four miles 
S. W. of South Bend, Indiana. She had effected a Sunday School organiza- 
tion here several years previous. In 1914, H. H. Reinoehl was invited to preach. 
He began in October. In February, 1915, he held a revival by request, and there 
were eleven conversions. A request for an Evangelical organization was made. 
H. H. R. read to them the doctrines of the church from the Discipline and ex- 
plained them, and then gave an invitation to join church, whereupon twenty- 
two united. A class leader and exhorter were elected, and also Sunday school 
officers. In April, 1915, this class was put with Lydick, and Fred Rausch be- 
came pastor. In 1916 L. C. Haney served here; in 1917, W. H. Mygrant; and in 

11 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

1918, H. H. Reinoehl. In 1919-21, it belonged to Mishawaka Circuit, served by 
E, J. Nitsclne. In 1922 it was detached from Coalbush charge and served b}' 
W. H. Freshley with Rose Hill, north of South Bend. 

AVILLA, INDIANA 

The work of the Evangelical Association in Avilla dates from 1873 when 
members of the St. Peters, or "Hoke and Miller" Class, three miles N. W., 
moved to Avilla. This class already existed in 1853, when Dickover, Steffey, and 
Keiper from Elkhart Circuit, came here to preach. E. D, Einsel held a revival 
here, and meeting with success, organized "Calvary Society" in 1874. St. Peters 
Class was now merged with this class. It was added to Kendallville Circuit. 
The charter members were: Leonard Hersh and wife, Daniel Pilgrim and wife, 
Mrs. M. Good, Samuel Hoke and wife, Mr. Buser and wife, Mrs. Isabell, Jacob 
Beckley and wife. The first church was built in 1874, while M. Krueger was 
pastor. It was dedicaied December 20, 1874, by R. Dubs (editor). Cost of 
building was $2,000.00, and the lot $200.00. Whereas the society was struggling 
under a debt, the conference in 1879 authorized the P. E. and pastor to aid the 
society in lifting its debt, presumably by collecting funds on the district. A 
class-room was later added to the rear of the church. In 1893 art-glass windows 
replaced the old windows, and the church was repainted at a cost of $295.00. S. 
H. Baumgartner was pastor. Under P. L. Browns, 1909, the old tower was re- 
placed with a new corner tower; a gallery was built in the rear, circular pews in- 
stalled, pulpit platform changed to the opposite corner from the tower, and a 
furnace placed in the basement; all at a cost of $2500.00. President L. H. Sea- 
ger of Northwestern College, rededicated the church. In 1913 the society 
l>ought a parsonage in town for $1,100.00. F. S. Erne, pastor. In 1922 the so- 
ciety bought two lots for a new parsonage site about two squares south of the 
church. 

The Sunday School was originally a union school. A schism arose between 
the members and non-members of the church, the latter seeking control. Pas- 
tor Joseph Fisher ended this by reorganizing the school strictly according to 
the Church Discipline. This culminated in a rupture, and many ceased to come. 
The Sunday School sessions were held in the afternoon for years. Gradually the 
school again grew to normal size, and began to accomplish more substantial 
work. Later the change to forenoon sessions was made and has continued. Un- 
der S. H. B. the hrst Young People's Alliance was organized in 1892, and in 
1906 was re-organized by J. W. Metzner. It also has a Ladies' Aid Society and 
Woman's Missionary Society, which are doing good work. 

Revivals 

In 1883 J. Wales conducted a revival here that resulted in 15 accessions, 
mostly heads of families. The society had revivals of more or less extent since 

12 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

its beginning. The field is limited for great results, due in part to a large Cath- 
olic and Lutheran constituency. In 1892, two revival meetings were held by S. 
H. Baumgartner and the "Boy Evangelist", C. H. Stull, respectively. The two 
iTieetings aggregrated some 30 conversions and accessions, mostly adults. 

In 1898 J. O. Hosier held an evangelistic campaign that resulted in 60 con- 
versions. Interest for a while was so great that the high school work was jeo- 
pardized, and day meetings were abandoned in deference to the school work. 
A dance leader was converted, who at once began to work among his old chums 
and succeeded in winning them for Christ. This broke up the dancing, and 
prayer meetings took its place among them. F. S. Erne also had a very success- 
ful revival, at which a number of heads of families yielded to Christ. Under B. 
G. Smith, who had Evangelist S. C. Poling to conduct a revival, a numl>cr ot 
good families were obtained for the church. 

In the spring of 1912, under F. F. McClure's pastorate, an effort was made 
to effect an organic union with the M. E. Society here. Our people having been 
first in this town, and being much the stronger of the two, made what they con- 
sidered reasonable overtures to the M. E.'s. But in a public joint meeting it be- 
came plainly visible that a mer.ger with them meant Methodist absorption. The 
effort ceased. Sometime later there followed a happy and congenial federation 
with the Presbyterian Society about four miles S. W. of Avilla, which has proven 
a continuous blessing to this day for both societies. 

In 1911 Avilla was detached from Kendallville Circuit, and with Garret, 6 
miles east, was constituted Avilla Mission. After several futile efforts to find a 
place to worship in Garrett the work here was abandoned, and Avilla stood alone 
as an appointment until, with the sanction of the conference, it federated with 
the Hopewell Presbyterian Church mentioned above. 
Ministers Who Served Here 

(See Kendalville up to 1911, when Avilla was detached from K.). In 1911- 
12, F. F. McClure was pastor; '13-15, F. S. Erne; '16-18, M. O. Herman; '19-23, 
B. G. Smith. 

BELL CENTER, UNION CHURCH 

This small class belonged to Royal Centre in 1899. It was eight miles N. 
W. of Royal Centre. W. S. Tracy organized it. It continued but a few years. 

BERNE, INDIANA 

In the spring of 1881, George Roederer, pastor of Newville Circuit (Linn 
Grove), commenced preaching in this place. The services were held in the lit- 
tle one-roomed schoolhouse. The outlook was encouraging. On November 
7th, I. B. Fisher, of St. Mary's Circuit, George Roederer, and J. M. Dustman of 
Decatur Mission jointly held an evangelistic meeting lasting four weeks, result- 
ing in 12 conversions and accessions to the Evangelical Association. In De- 

13 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

comber R. organized a society, consisting of: Andrew Gottschalk and wife, Da- 
vid Allen and wife, Albert Marker and wile, Mrs. Adam Houdyshell and daugh- 
ter Hattie, J. W. Riefy and wife, Dr. Noah Bergman and wife, Mrs. Harvey Har- 
ruf?. Miss Mable Jones. A. Gottschalk was the first class-leader. 

The April, 1882, Conference privileged the pastor to collect funds on New- 
ville Circuit toward a church in Berne. Nothing was done, however, and the 
society continued to worship in the dingy schoolhouse until the spring of 1887. 




Church at Berne, Ind. 

After much prayer and consultation with his pastor, Abe Hocker decided to 
erect a two-story brick building 30x70 feet, the lower floor to be his blacksmith 
shop, and the upper one to he leased for ten years free of charge to this society. 
The society furnished the room at a cost of $300.00, and on December 11, 1887, 
A. Geist, P. E., dedicated the place as "Trinity Hall", of the Evangelical As- 
sociation of Berne, Indiana. Thereafter, Mr. Hocker had special rejoicings in 
God's service while pounding out his hard-earned money at his trade. 

14 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

A New Brick Church 

When D, E. Zechiel was pastor here in 1900, a modern brick church was 
built at a cost of $6300.00. On July 1st, D. S. Oakes, P. E., preached from Isa- 
iah 28:16, and laid the cornerscone. On October 21, 1900, the church was dedi- 
cated by Publishing Agent, H. H. Mattil, Cleveland, Ohio. The board of trus- 
tees and the building committee were Emmanuel Haecker, A. Gottschalk, and 
M. L. Smith. The church has a fine auditorium, gallery, crescent formed Sun- 
day School class-rooms, tower with bell, furnace room, and electric lights. Un- 
der the labors of D. A. Kaley, in 1914, the basement was fitted up for special 
primary Sunday School work, and a steam heating plant was installed at a cost 
of $1775.00. In 1921 the auditorium was enlarged by adding a choir loft back of 
the pulpit, D. O. Wise being the pastor. Other repairs were made at consider- 
aljle expense. 

The Sundaj' scliool was organized in 1881 with A. Gottschalk, first super- 
intendent. This school has ever since steadily grown, and is progressive in its 
methods. It has supported a foreign missionary and a native student. The 
Young People's Alliance was organized in 1893 by H. Steininger. Its motto 
tlien was "Fall in Line". This society also maintains an active Woman's Mis- 
sionary Society, and a Ladies' Aid Society. In 1915 the duplex system for 
raising money was installed and is working with great success. This year Evan- 
gelist C. A. Glass of Michigan conducted a very efifective revival, resulting in 50 
saved and 32 accessions. In 1917 J. O. Mosier, pastor, had a remarkable re- 
vival which closed with over 300 conversions and 89 accessions. Many mem- 
bers of other churches were converted. In April, 1903 and 1911 conference ses- 
sions were held here under the chairmanship of Bishop Thomas Bowman. 

Pastors 
Berne belonged to Decatur Mission from 1882-88. (See Decatur.) In 1889 
iJerne with Mt. Carmel, 8 miles S. E. and Bear Creek in Jay County, constituted 
Berne Circuit, with H. E. Overmeyer, pastor; 1890-91, Tim Carroll. In 1892 
the circuit was discontinued and Berne Society was attaclied to Vera Cruz 
charge served by J. H. Evans. In 1906, \>y its own request, Berne was made a 
station. (For Presiding elders see under Ft. Wayne-) Pastors from 1892-1915 
see Berne, Vol. I., 1916, J. O. Mosier; 1917-21, D. O. Wise; 1922-23, F. S. Erne. 

BETHEL, FT. RECOVERY 

This society, five miles south of Ft. Recovery, Ohio, was organized in 1858 
by B. Uphaus. It was then known as "Stul^-r's". Many liard liut victorious 
battles were fought here against spiritual darkness. Cliarter memljers were: 
George Stuber and family, Leonard Holstein and wife, John Ortli and wife, 
Philip Schafer and wife, Jacob Schafer and family, Chr. May and wife, Ludwig 
Heiss, Fred Heiss and wife, Wm. Cliristophcr and wife. 

For years this class worshipped in private houses and schoolhouses. The 

IS 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

class gradually grew in niembersliip and strengtli as financial conditions im- 
proved. In 1872 a frame church was erected at a cost of $1200.00. On July 28, 
1872, John Fuchs (Fox), P. E., dedicated the church. Carl Shamo was pastor. 
In 1913 the second frame church was built. The size was 37x51, with a base- 
ment under the whole church and a gallery in the rear of the auditorium with 
class-rooms below and above. The building has circular pews, pulpit recess, 
gaslights, and is heated with hot-air furnace. It has a corner-tower with a bell 
in it. The cornerstone was laid by E. Q. Laudeman of Ft. Wayne, Indiana, and 
the church was dedicated February 12, 1914, by Bishop S. P. Spreng. The cost 
of the church was $4,400.00. 

Pastors 

In 1858 this class belonged to Newville Circuit, and was served by B. Up- 
haus. In September, 1859, it was added to Greenville Circuit. For pastors from 
1859 to 1881, see Greenville Circuit, Volume I. In April, 1881, it became a part 
of Ft. Recovery Circuit, served by D. J. Pontius. The pastors for this society 
were the same as Portlaud Circuit from 1881-1915, with the exception of 1885 
when it was a part of Portland Mission and served by L. S. Fisher, and in 1897, 
when it was added to Greenville Circuit served by H. H. Reinoehl. From 1882- 
1915 see Portland Circuit, Volume I. In 1915-16, J. H. Arndt was pastor. In 
1917 it was re-attached to Portland Circuit with E. H. Baumgartner as pastor; 
'18-19, G. F. Zuber: '20-22, J. S. Kroft; '23, J. W. Feller. This field belonged to 
Whitewater District up to and including 1868; from 1868 to 1891, to Indianapolis 
District; 1892, to Ft. Wayne District; 1897 it was re-attached to Indianapolis 
District and in 1905 to 1923, to Fort Wayne District. 

A Sunday School was founded years back and has since been maintained. 
A Young People's Alliance was organized by S. Hofferbert in August, 1893. 
Two ministers were sent forth from this society, Philip and Lafayette Orth. 

BETHEL, WABASH CO., INDIANA 

This society is three miles N. E. of Lagro, Wabash Countj^, Indiana. The 
first church stood IJ/ miles N. E. from the present site by the cemetery. The 
first minister of our church who preached here was Solomon Altimos. (See 
history under St. Mary's Circuit or Fort Wayne.) This was in 1839-40. The 
exact time when this society was organized is unknown, but likely in 1839 for 
there was a Sunday School here in 1840. Some of the first members were: 
Gottlieb, John and Christian Young with their families; Jacob Egger's, 7acob 
Hegel's; and the Bender and Schnitz families. The ministers serving previous 
to 1852 are the same as those of St. Mary's Circuit. 

The Oldest Sunday School in Indiana Conference 

This society has the distinction of having the first Sunday School in the 
conference which was established in 1840 according to the testimony of Jacob 
Hegel, who was an old pioneer settler in this vicinity. The school was then 

16 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

known as "Young's" Sunday School. At first it was only held in the spring and 
summer months, but it has never been abandoned. 

Churches 
For a long while the people worshipped in houses, in 1H(j5 the first small 
flame church was built by Peter Wiest. It was ded;cate<l as the "Bethel 
Church", probably by Joseph Fisher, 1'. F. A cemetery lot was also provided 
joining the church lot. Many of our pioneer people now rest here. The second 
church was built on the site given above by D. D. Speicher, and was dedicated 
December, 1893, by Bishop Thomas Bowman. ]t cost $2,0(10.011. It has a corner 
tower with a good bell, a class-room, and is heated with a hot-air furnace. The 
dedication was followed with a three-week's evangelistic meeting, resulting in 
20 conversions and accessions. Up to this time the morning services were in 
derman, since then they are in English. Though an old society, it is still small. 

Pasters, and Changes from One Circuit and District to Another. 

Bethel belonged to Miami and Fulton Circuit from 1852-58. (For pastors see 
under Akron, Emmanuel.) In 1859 it was added to Huntington Circuit. B. Ruh 
was pastor. This circuit was made a mission in 1860 and was served two 3'ears 
by Jiishua Paulin; '62. Philip Schwartz; '63, D. S. Oak;s; '64, George Kloepfer; 
'65, P. Wiest. In 1866, this mission was added to St. Mary's Circuit with D. S. 
Oakes, and Joseph Mayer as pastors. In 1867 it was with Fulton Circuit, ser\'ed 
by B. Hoffman. In 1868 it was again served with Huntington, R, Riegel, pastor 
two j-ears; '70, E. L. Kiplinger; '71, H. Preiss. In 1872, it was added to Wabash 
Mission. (See pastors under Wabash, Volume 1.) In 1886 this class with Bip- 
pus became West Point Mission under supervision of the Wabash pastor for 
two years. He was assisted the first year by A. S. Fisher and the second by S. 
H. Baumgartner, who had 17 conversions and 13 accessions. In 1888 this so- 
ciety with West Point was detached from Wabash and served by S. H. Baum- 
gartner. On July IS. 1888, the first Children's Day service was held. In 1891 
this class became a part of Urbana Mission. In 1893-95 it belonged to Wabash 
Mission, in 1896-98, again to Urbana. J. E. Stoops had 20 conversions and IS 
accessions in 1898. In 1899 this class with Zion. south of Wabash, and West 
Point became Wabash Circuit and was served two years by P. L. Browns, and 
three years by H. Schleucher. In 1903 the name of the field was changed to 
Bippus and has continued since. For pastors from 1902-15 see under Bippus, 
Volume I., 1916, F. C. Wacknitz; '17-19, C. L. Haney; '20, L. A. Dewitt; '21-23, 
D R. Heil. For presiding elders see St. Joseph District from 1852-54; White- 
water District, from 1855-62; St. Joseph District, '63-64; Elkhart District, '67-70; 
Ft. Wayne District, '71-81; Indianapolis District, '82-86; Elkhart District, '87. 
From, 1887, see Bippus. From this society came the following preachers: H. 
Schleucher, 1871; Wm. Wiedenhoeft, '83; J. H. Schnitz, 1884; and Dr. E. W. 
Schmalzried, 1910, now medical missionary in China of the Evangelical Church. 

17 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 
BETHLEHEM, ON BRUCE LAKE CIRCUIT 

W. S. Tracy reported that in July, 1895, a class was organized here with 18 
members. The exact location cannot be found. A revival was held here during 
harvest time, rcsultirg in 26 conversions and the class doubled in membership. 
However, it was short-lived. 

BETHLEHEM, WELLS COUNTY, INDIANA 

This society was located in Wells County, Indiana, about five miles N. E. 
of Ossian. In 1839 Solomon Altimos visited this place and preached to the peo- 
ple and organized a class. The charter members were: Wm. Engel and wife, 
Fred Rapp and family, Mr. Sprang and wife, C. Clock and wife. The society 
was known as "Clock's Class" and as the "Reserve". The people worshipped in 
their log-cabins and in barns until 1854, when the first log-church was built. J. 
M. Kronmiller was pastor. The dedication was a happy occasion, for some 
souls were converted and united with the church. In April, 1880, I. B. Fisher 
of St. Mary's work found nine members here. In early days this society had a 
large membership. I. B. Fislier built the second church here which was dedi- 
cated February 27, 1881, by ex-Bishop R. Yeakel. This occasion was followed 
by a revival efifort whicli resulted in 15 conversions and 11 accessions. At 
this time the old people had nearly all died, and the younger members had moved 
away, many to Fort Wayne, where they joined our church. For a list of pas- 
tors and presiding elders see under St. Mary's Circuit, except for 1897-98, when 
J. M. Smith ol Payne Mission was pastor. From 1899 this class belonged to 
Markle Mission until it was abandoned in 1909. The church was sold and the 
proceeds flowed into the conference treasury. 

BICKNEL'S CLASS, ELKHART COUNTY, INDIANA 

Joseph Fisher reported in June, 1853, that this class was three miles from 
Elkhart. He served it in 1852. Many "Dutch Pennsylvanians" lived here. He 
leported that the prospects were poor. 

BIFPUS, HUNTINGTON COUNTY, INDIANA 

In the winter of 1880-81, George Schmoll of Wabash Mission held a three- 
week's revival here. Some were saved. The few members that lived here were 
now organized into a class. They were: Henry Schnitz and wife, Katherine 
Schilling and son Matthias, Chr. Bechtold, Jr., and wife; Simon Brightmire, wife 
and son, Wm. H.; George France and wife. W. H. Brightmire was first class- 
leader and H. Schnitz, first exhorter. In April, 1881, this class was served with 
Huntington Charge by A. Geist. The prayer-meetings were held in homes, and 
preaching mostly in a schoolhouse one mile south of town. In June, 1882. D. J. 
Pontius, pastor, a quarterly meeting was held here. The pastor followed it up 
with an evangelistic effort which resulted in 20 conversions and 19 accessions. 

18 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

Under the pastorate of I. B. Fisher a brick church was built and dedicated, 
January 4, 1885, by Wm. Yost. It was known as Calvary Church. It cost $2,- 
500.00. The lirst board of trustees were George Voght, S. Brightmire, and H. 
Schnitz, who with L. Suit and the pastor were the building committee. Services 
were held both in German and English. This fact became a source of some se- 
rious consideration, but the English gradually became dominant. German 
preaching ceased in 1891, but a German prayer-meeting and a Sunday School 
class was maintained for some time thereafter. Following the dedication of the 
church, a special meeting was conducted by the pastor until February 15th, re- 
sulting in 51 conversions and 45 accessions, 28 of whom were heads of families. 
The membership increased from 25 to 70. A Sunday School was now organized 
v.ith W. H. Brightmire as superintendent. 

The church was struck three times by lightning. Each time only slight 
damage was done. Special improvements to the church were made in 1904 when 
the ceiling was lowered; in 1914 when a furnace was installed; 1922 when a 
gallery was built over the rear part for better Sunday School equipment, and 
a new ceiling put in. 

Pastors 

In 1880 George Schmoll was pastor. From 1881-84, see under Huntington; 
'85, Wabash Mission; '86 to West Point Mission under supervision of C. C. 
Eeyrer of Wabash for two years, assisted by A. S. Fisher the first year, and by 
S. H. Baumgartner the second; '89, D. D. Spangler, In 1890 this field was at- 
tached to Urbana; in '92 it was added to Markle Mission, served by W. S. 
Tracj'. In 1893-95 it again belonged to Urbana. In 1896 it was attached to 
Huntington. In '97, with Markle and Bethel, it became West Point Mission 
with S. I. Zechiel as pastor; '98, A. S. Elzy; '99 Markle was detached and Zion, 
south of Wabash, attached and served two years by P. L. Browns; 1901-03, 
H. Schleucher. In 1903 the name of the field was changed to Bippus. 1904-05, 
W. E. Snyder; '06, F. F. McClure; '07-08, G. F. Zuber; '09-10, F. F. McClure; 
'11-13, E. D. Haley; '14-16, F. C. Wacknitz; '17-19, L. C. Haney; '20, L. A. De- 
witt; '21-23, D. R. Heil. It belonged to the Presiding Elder Districts as fol- 
lows: 1881, to Ft. Wayne; 1882-83, to Indianapolis; 1884-85, to Ft. Wayne; 1886, 
to Indianapolis; 1887-90, to Ft. Wayne; 1891, to Elkhart; 1892-94, to Kendall- 
ville; 1899-04, to Ft. Wayne; 1905, to Elkhart; 1906-23, to Ft. Wayne. 

A Futile Attempt 

In 1888 a minister of the M. E. Church attempted to get a Methodist foot- 
hold in Bippus by organizing a class with four M. E. members living in town. 
His attempt was to win into his fold the English Evangelical members. Having 
been refused the Evangelical Church on English prayer-meeting nights, he 
went forth determined to build a church. He succeeded in this. The evening 
preceding dedication an English Evangelical sister assisted an M. E. sister to 
put down the pulpit carpet. When they were done, the latter said to the for- 

19 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

mer, "Now the work is done, we are ready for dedication, and we expect the 
English Evangehcal members to unite with us, then the Germans can go and 
have their own way." "Oh," said the Evangelical sister, "is that the reason 
why you built this church? I shall stay with my own church." The M. E. 
sister was nonplussed. Their scheme failed, for none of the Evangelical mem- 
bers joined them. Prior to the dedication of this church the Evangelical pastor 
(S. H. B.) dreamed that he had a flock of sheep and was pasturing them along 
the public highway. Another person had a small flock on the opposite side of 
the road and tried to get some of the other shepherd's flock to his. But he 
failed in this, as the other shepherd watched his flock with jealous care. The 
significance of this dream was literally fulfilled, as a revival effort on his part 
later on fully demonstrated. Sec revival anecdotes under the caption, "Two 
Simultaneous Revivals in Bippus". 

BOMPUS, NEAR CLARMONT, ILLINOIS 

Early in the fifties preachers from Olney, Illinois, found German settlers in 
this community and began preaching to them. Soon a society was organized 
called "Emmanuel", locally known as "Dutch Flats" or"Bompus". Chr. Glaus 
built a church here, which was dedicated December 2Z, 1866, by M. Hoehn. In 
1872 this class was detached from Olney and added to West Salem Circuit, and 
served with it until 1896 when it was attached to Lancaster Circuit to which it 
has since belonged. The appointment, however, has been abandoned since 1915. 
In 1879 C. Wessling and M. F, Finkbeiner held a German and English meeting 
here, resulting in 33 conversions and many accessions. The first church being 
in great need of repairs, it was replaced in 1916 by a new small one and dedi- 
cated by E. jVI. Kerlin of West Salem, Illinois, October IS. The cost, not in- 
cluding gratis work, was $500.00. A few old loyal Evangelical members are 
still here and maintain the place just for funeral purposes, the church being 
located near a small cemeterj'. Due to the lack of convenient location for the 
most of our people in this vicinity, who had to cross the Bompus creek bottom, 
often impassable, our preachers were permitted to preach in a M. E. Churcli 
more suitably located. 

BOONVILLE, INDIANA 

In 1849 Jacob Keiper preached near this place in German, in an M. E. 
Church, but no class was formed and preaching soon ceased here. 

BRAZIL, AND CLAY CITY, INDIANA 

The Clay City appointment was taken up by P. Burgener of Marshall Cir- 
cuit in Illinois, in 1855. The location is three miles east of Clay City. In a 
meeting held here, several souls were saved. In June, 1856, Conference formed 
Clay City Mission with M. Mayer as pastor. It then had six appointments in 
Clay, Green, and Vigo Counties, and probably in Putnam County where A. 

20 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

Nicolai was a m'.'mber in 1842-43, living in Indepondence. From here he went 
out as a minister. Mayer held a meeting in Green County when an aged mother 
was saved. Others already had Iieen converted. A log church was built near 
Clay City. Indiana. Here lived the families Schal'er, Lichte, Feller, Baumgart- 
ner. In 1869 this mission was incorporated with Marshall Circuit. In 1873 it 
was served by pastors from Brazil. By deaths and many removals of Germans 
the work died out. The English was opposed. 

The Marshall Circuit appointments lying in Indiana, including Brazil, be- 
came Brazil IMission in 1873. John Beck was the first pastor, and organized a 
society of fifteen members. Prior to this time in 1871-72 C. Stockhowe formed 




Zion Church, Brazil, Ind. 

a society of John Steinsberger, Reinhold and Elizaljeth Schultz and Katherine 
Nickel. In September, 1874, Beck was returned and on April 26. 1875, a board 
of trustees was elected, and on May 10. a 1)uilding committee was elected. On 
July 6, 1875, a church lot was l^ought and deeded to the trustees, and their suc- 
cessors as the "Zion Church" of the Evangelical Association. The location was 
at the intersection of Forest and McDonald Streets. A frauie church, 28 x 42 
feet, was built and dedicated September 19, 1875, by Wm. Yost of Cleveland. 
Ohio. When, in 1875, the Clay County parsonage and church were sold the 
proceeds thereof were applied to the new parsonage in Brazil. In 1887 the last 
debt on it, $176.00, was paid. In 1894 L. J. Ehrhardt conducted a revival here 
for Pastor M. F. Finkbeiner which reunited the forces which were seriously 
affected by the church trouble in 1891. United prayer and work accomplished 
this. In 1909 cement walks were built on both sides of the lot by the Ladies' 
Aid Society. In the spring of 1917 ten more feet of ground, adjoining the west 
side on the parsonage lot from street to street, was bought for $275, thus giving 
ample room for a comfortable parsonage. 

This society experienced many vicissitudes that threatened its life, caused 

21 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

l5y the church schism, language transition, pietistic teachings. It became ap- 
parent that a modern church was one of the needs to turn pubhc favor to the 
society. The German worship was abandoned in 1913 for the EngHsh. In 1914 
the Conference authorized the Conference board of trustees to assist this society 
in financing a building project, not to exceed $15,000.00. After several arranged 
co-operative meetings between the local building committee and the Conference 
committee the building of a new church on the old site was authorized. On 
September 14, 1914, construction work began and the church building was 
finished at a cost of $14,903.00. It was dedicated as the "Forest Ave. Church" 
on September 19, 1915, by Bishop S. P. Spreng. The church is built of brick 
with a double entrance in front, besides a rear entrance. It has a church and 
Sunday School auditorium, both with galleries. In the latter are classrooms 
above and below. It has art-glass windows, electric lights, modern equipped 
basement, and steam-heating plant. In 1917 the Conference voted this society, 
out of its missionary treasury, $4,000.00 to be'paid in four equal payments. 

Pastors 

For list of pastors from 1873 to 1915 see Volume I, except for the years 
when B. belonged to So. Ind. Conference, who were '76-77, C. Heim; '78, W. L. 
Luehring; '79-80, J. Kaufman; '81-82, G. M. Hallwachs; '83-85, N. F. Platz; 
'86, E. R. Troyer; '87, W. Koenig; '88-89, F. Matthias; '90, J. Mundorf; '91, G. F. 
Winter; '92, M. F. Finkbeiner. In 1916-17, E. G. Johnson was pastor; '18-20, 
J. H. Arndt; '21-22, W. H. Flurkey; '2i, L. J. Ehrhardt. 

This charge belonged to Wabash District from 1855-70; to Evansville, 
1871-75; to South Indiana Conference, Olney District, '76-79; to Evansville, '80; 
to Olney, '81-82; to Evansville, '83-88; to Olney, '89-92; to Indiana Conference, 
Indianapohs District, 1893-1902; to Louisville, 1903-10; to Indianapolis, 1912-23. 

BREMEN, INDIANA, 1844-1922 

In 1844 George A. Blank and S. Tobias were the missionaries of Ft. Wayne 
Circuit, Indiana District, Illinois Conference. These men helped to blaze the 
way to Gospel-neglected communities in Indiana and western Ohio. (See under 
Ft. Wayne.) In 1845 Ft. Wayne circuit was divided into St. Mary's and Elk- 
hart Circuits. The latter embraced Bremen. A. B. Shafer was P. E., and 
George G. Platz and Wm. Kolb were pastors. They preached the first sermon 
in Union Church that stood in the Bremen Cemetery. Finding access to hearts 
and homes they arranged for a "Big Meeting" in Daniel Ringel's barn, one mile 
N. W. of Bremen. It was a successful initiation of our work here. The Ger- 
mans were mostly adherents to the Lutheran and Reformed Churches. They 
lived in spiritual apathy and many in gross sins and in bitter opposition to each 
other. But when our missionaries began preaching here, like Pilate and Herod, 
they became friends, and jointly arrayed their forces against "this new sect", 
denouncing and persecuting them shamefully. They were "Bedlam's Host" 

22 



• HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

fruitlessly endeavoring to break up the meetings and to drive the missionaries 
away. But, nevertheless, the Lord's Word, preached by them, gripped men's 
hearts, and led to their salvation. ."Vmong the first conversions were Daniel 
Ringel and wife, and George Beyler. 

Appointmemts in 1846 

In 1846 Chr. Glaus and Wm. Fichte were assigned to Elkhart Circuit, which 
embraced Mishawaka, Coal-bush, Bremen, Zimmer's (Madison), Hepton, Burr- 
Oak Flats, Salem in Fulton County, Canada or Union, Otts, and probably other 
points in Elkhart County, — 300 miles in circumference. They found access to 
many hearts hungering after righteousness. On Christmas they began a meet- 
ing in the LTnion Church in Bremen Cemetery. It resulted in glorious conver- 
sions and the organization of a society. In May, 1847, another four-days' meet- 
ing was held over Pentecost Sunday. Shafer reported, "It was one of the best 
he ever attended". June, 1847, G. G. Platz, Fred Wiethaup and H. Welty were 
pastors, with P. Burgener added later. This again was a good year. In 1848 
S. Dickover, and B, Uphaus were the pastors, and C. Augenstein, P. E. Addi- 
tions to this class this year were: Henry and Sophia Berger, John J. and Pauline 
Berger, Fred and Elizabeth Knoblauch, Philip and Elizabeth Berger, George 
and Dora Zimmer, Michael and Fredricka Berger. In 1849 Platz, Uphaus, and 
George Messner were pastors. Accessions this year were George Weiss and 
wife, Fred and Katherine Backler, John and Caroline Laudeman, Fred and 
Saloma Laudeman. 

First Church Built 

In October, 1849, began the construction of the first church on the N. E. 
corner at the Barren's cross-road, one mile N. W. of Bremen. It was dedicated 
early in 1850. It became the spiritual birthplace of many souls. In May of this 
year, J. J. Esher (Bishop) and J. F. Wolf became pastors; '51, J. F. Ragatz and 
Joseph Fisher. In 1852 Elkhart Circuit, with Bremen included, became a part 
of the Indiana Conference now organized. 

Pastors Who Served Bremen 

From 1852-56 see Elkhart Circuit. In 1857 Elkhart Circuit was divided, and 
Bremen became a part of Yellow River Circuit. From 1857-1912 see Bremen 
(Yellow River Circuit) for pastors in Volume I. From 1912-1916, I. H. Griese- 
mer was pastor; '17-23, A. A. Knepper. For presiding elders see under St. 
Joseph and Elkhart Districts. 

Early Camp-meetdngs 

In August, 1852, the first camp-meeting here was held in Bellman's grove, 
one-half mile S. E. of Bremen. In August, 1858, one was held on C. Heim's 
farm. Twenty-four tents were set up. This was then a permanent campground 
and kept ready for service. No cattle were allowed to graze on it. Many peo- 
ple were converted here. On account of the remainder of penitents at the close 

23 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

of these meetings, services were continued in the Barren's Church for their 
lienefit. Also in 1859 a camp-meeting was held. In 1860-65 these meetings were 
held in George Beyler's grove, north of Bremen. Board tents 12 x 12 feet were 
put up in a circle around the place of worship. The campfire for illumination 
was built in the center of the gathering place. Four forked-posts, about four 
feet high, were usually planted in the ground four feet apart in a square, then 
into these forks were laid two strong poles, and across these were laid planks 
and covered with a bed oi clay to prevent the fire dropping through and burning 
the planks. A big blaze was kept up by one or two men replenishing the same 
with dry wood, or hickory bark. This method produced an illumination over 
the audience. Here and there lanterns were suspended, one especially near the 
preacher's stand. Usually several watchmen were appointed to keep order 
among the rowdies and to guard the tents. At these meetings base fellows gath- 
ered to disturb, and if possible, break up the meetings. One night a godless 
fellow came and freely indulged in wantonness. Ben Gingrich, a strong young 
man, a member of the church here, with righteous indignation, suddenly rushed 
upon him, gripped and hoisted him upon bis shoulder like a sack of wheat, 
rushed out with him, and effectually quieted him. This brought a quietus among 
the disturbers. In one of these meetings, G. G. Platz, P. E., tall, strong, and 
fearless, caught a leading disturber behind the preacher's stand where he was 
lierforming impishly, bo\nid him hand and foot with strong cords, and then left 
him lie there through the rest of that night's service. Over night he was guarded 
and the next morning taken to Bremen for trial before a magistrate. He had a 
heavy fine to pay. This settled further disturbance. 

An Optical Delusion 

At one of these camp-meetings Father V., a good liut eccentric man, was 
very happy, but suddenly became possessed with an optical delusion. He 
thought he saw the devil standing near him. In his excitement he was going to 
grab him and cast him upon the campfire, saying, "We must burn up the devil" 
It so happened that he had not gripped the devil as he supposed, but a Mr. B., 
a good brother of the church, who firmly resisted V. and admonished him to 
desist and not give way to a delusion. This was embarrassing for B. and others 
who saw V.'s delusion. Such an action put religious zeal in a false light. After 
a little applied persuasion, however, V. released his grip on B. without harming 
him. 

Internal Developments 

In 1857 Fred Gcisel built the first parsonage at Barren's Corner. This 
house still exists in a remodeled form. Fred Wiethaup was the first to occupy 
It. In 1858 C. Ude succeeded in having the second church built in Bremen. The 
church was dedicated by Bishop J. J. Esher (date not found). The Barren's 
church was sold in 1871. The second one had a high tower with a fine bell. In 
1873 J. K. Troyer reported that the society had bought a new parsonage in town 

24 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

and had enlarged it. He declared it to lie the most comfortable one in the 
Conference boundary and good enough for a bishop to bvc in. 

The Third Church in Bremen 

The third church was built in 1900. The cornerstone was laid August 5th, 
by S. H. Baumgartner, P. E., after an Englisli address, and a (jerman address 
by Pastor Braeckly. The collection amounted to $69.00. The building commit- 
tee w-as composed of Pastor Braeckly, Wm. Huff, J. J. Beylcr, J. F. Weiss and 
H. Schlosser. The church is built of red, pressed brick, and has a large audi- 
torium, a large class-room, art-glass windows, gas lights and a hot-air furnace. 
It was dedicated January 20, 1901, by Bishop S. C. Breyfogel. When $10,700.00 
was raised by pledges and cash, there was a surplus of $700,000 with which to 
make extensive improvements on the parsonage. Under B. Schuermeier the 
church was re-frescoed, rostrum re-carpeted, floor polished and electric lights 
installed, all at a cost of $650.00. In I9I4 I. H. Griesemcr had 52 accessions. 
In January, 1916, Evangelist C. A. Glass held a revival here when many were 
converted and joined the church. This year the basement was enlarged and 
made into a primary Sunday School room. 

English Introduced 

N. J. Platz introduced English preaching for Sunday evenings once a 
month for the benefit of the poung people. In 1902 all evening services were 
made English. Under A. A. Knepper all services Ijccame English. This society 
recommended the following men to the Gospel ministrj': John Berger and 
George Zimmer in 1864; Washington Knoblauch in 1869; L. Stock, 1879; E. C. 
Ewald, 1898; E. Q. Laudeman, 1900; F. B. Walmer, 1901; E. E. Miller and G. A. 
Weishaar, 1905; G. S. Lozier, 1911; O. O. Lozier, 1914. The wives of nearly all, 
also, came from this society. 

Organizations 

A Sunday School was organized early in the history of the society and 
has grown to be one of the best and largest in the Conference. In 1900 W. G. 
Braeckly organized a Ladies' Aid Society which did much in furnishing the new 
church, and since has remained active. A Woman's Missionary Society was or- 
ganized by W. G. B. in 1902, and it has been a liberal supporter of the Woman's 
Missionary work. A Young People's Alliance was organized by Wm. Koenig, 
January 1, 1895. Fred Laudeman was the first president. It has continued 
since and won the silver cup in the Conference Branch Young People's Allianc; 
Convention several times for contributing the largest sum for missions. 

Conferences Held Here 

In September, 1876, the last of the Fall Conference sessions was held here. 
Bishop Thomas Bowman presided. Here at this time the South Indiana Con- 
ference was organized in the "Bremen Hall" by Bishop John J. Esher. One 
session was held in 1879 by Bishop Ruben Yeakel, one in 1891 by Bishop T. 

25 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Bowman, one in 1904 by Bishop S. C. Breyfogel, one in 1922 by Bishop S. P. 
Spreng. 

BRISTOL SOCIETY 

The date of organization of Bristol Class was not found, btit it was a part 
of New Paris Circuit in 1874. It was near Bristol, Indiana. 

BROWN'S CORNER 

This class was seven miles S. E. of Huntington, Indiana. It was organized 
in 1885 by I. B. Fisher of Huntington Circuit. In April, 1886, it was added to 
St. Mary's Circuit. No further report could be found of this class. 

BUCK APPOINTMENT 

This class was three miles S. E. of Coal-Bush Society, south of Mishawaka. 
It was later called "Woodland" Class. Martin Speck took up the class in 1862. 
He preached in a schoolhouse. It was a place of great wickedness. There was 
a saloon across the road from the schoolhouse, he said, "whose inebriates often 
greatly disturbed the meetings". But Speck made inroads upon their wicked- 
ness. Good people feared for his life. But no harm came to him. Later a 
church was built here. The class was short-lived and the church was sold to 
the Reformed Church. 

BUNKER HILL, INDIANA 

The work of the Evangelical Association around Bunker Hill, Indiana, 
dates back to 1852 when J. Keiper of Miami Circuit visited the Spangler and 
Brown neighborhood, three miles S. W. of Peru; the Sharpie community, three 
miles south of Peru, Indiana; the Gerhart and Schupp settlement, two miles east 
of Waupecong, Indiana; the Condo and White Hall vicinity, two miles S. E. of 
Miami, Indiana; the Walter's place, two miles S. W. of Bunker Hill. But the 
work in Bunker Hill commenced under B. Uphaus' pastorate and Fred Geisel of 
Fulton Circuit in 1854. They preached in the homes of Peter Walter, John 
Kurtz, and at Hepperle's home near Bunker Hill. There were as yet no con- 
verts. In 1855-56 J. M. Kronmiller became pastor. George Daufel, N. E. of 
Bunker Hill, accepted the faith of the Evangelical Association and united with 
her at the Sharpie appomtment. In 1858 Waupecong Mission was established 
with Fred Geisel as pastor. The mission was a part of the St. Joseph District. 

The first great awakening took place in the spring of 1859 in the Walter 
neighborhood, resulting in the conversion of Peter Walter and wife, John and 
Dora Kurtz, the Mohr's, Hepperle and the Acherle families. These joined the 
Evangelical Association and were formed into a class with P. Walter as class- 
leader. In 1860 J. Trometer, pastor; Mr. and Mrs. Spangler, near Peru, joined 
the class this year. In 1861 this mission was added to Whitewater District. 
Trometer was returned. He now had 12 appointments. He bought a home in 

26 



Bunker Hill, moved in, and held preaching services in it, and this house con- 
tinued to be the meeting place until 1864 when the Daufel and Walter Classes 
rented a schoolhouse in town for services. Later this building was bought for 
a church, located in the north end of town on Main Street. Here services and 
Sunday School were held until 1873 when this society, under Wm. Koenig's 
labors, built a brick church, 32 x 48 feet, with a small belfry. This church stood 
in the south part of town and was dedicated November 30, 1873, by R. Dubs, 
editor of the Chriailichc Botschaftcr. A revival was held resulting in 24 conver- 
sions and 20 accessions. The first board of trustees consisted of P. Walter, 
Geo. Daufel and G. Metzger. This society was German, and not until 1890 was 
English introduced by S. H. Baumgartuer, but too late to save and build up the 
society with two other English churches here. In 1920 this church was sold and 
half of the proceeds were used for a new parsonage at Zion appointment and 
the other half was donated to Kokomo Mission. 

In 1864 a parsonage was bought in Bunker Hill on North Main Street. 
Four years later it was sold and one was bought in Waupecong, Indiana, being 
more central for the work. But in 1883 this was sold and the proceeds used to 
again buy one in Bunker Hill, just west of the present bank building. In 1890 
an additional lot adjoining the parsonage property was bought for about $300.00. 
In 1899 this property was sold and another one was bought almost opposite the 
church with an extra cost of $450.00. This one was sold in 1920 and the proceeds 
applied to the new one at the Zion Church. 

Pastors Who Served Here 

1852 Miami Circuit, J. Keiper; '53, Fulton Circuit, P. Goetz and Fred Schuer- 
man; '54, B. Uphaus and Fred Geisel; '55-56, J. M. Kronmiller and Carl Heiden 
1st year; '57, Fred. Wiethaup; '58, P. Burgener and B. Ruh. In 1859 Waupecong 
Mission was formed of appointments south of the Wabash River and served by 
Fred Geisel. For pastors from 1858-1915 see Volume I. 1916-17, A. W. Bender 
was pastor; '19-23. I. H. Griesemer. 

WAUPECONG AND ZION SOCIETIES, BUNKER HILL CIRCUIT 

J. Keiper was the first to preach near Waupecong. (See Bunker Hill). In 
1859 Waupecong Mission was formed. In 1860 a church was built here. Early 
members here were: Daniel Kuhn and wife, Chr. Pflueger and wife, and J. 
Hochstettler and wife. The once hopeful society here ceased to be in 1882. 
The church was sold and the proceeds applied to a parsonage, and the few mem- 
bers here were incorporated with the Zion Society. But for a few years there- 
after preaching and prayer-meetings were held in private homes. 

The Zion Society was organized in 1865 by J. Kaufman. Previous to this 
time H. L. Fisher preached some in a schoolhouse on the S. W. corner of the 
cross-road at the Zion Church. In September, 1864, Kaufman held regular 
services at this place. Under the Holy Spirit's direction he preached the Gos- 

27 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

jicl with many tears and with joy reaped a harvest of souls. It was on Easter 
Sunday when a glorious spiritual awakening broke out and terminated in 27 
conversions and 33 accessions. These were mostly Amish people among whom 
was a Troyer family. At one time in this meeting the rejoicing of the saved 
drifted into a tumultuous confusion. K. feared that great fanaticism might 
u.ro\\ out of this and with weeping and prayer admonished them against ^vild 
demonstrations which was heeded and they settled down to a normal rejoicing. 
In this meeting an Ainish boy came to the altar for salvation. When his parents 
found this out his mother l)ccame incensed and rushed to the service with a 
broom-handle to get her son away from the altar. He followed her home, for 
nothing else would do, but the next morning he was at the meeting again and in 
I he evening he found peace and was very happy. Further molestation ceased. 
At the close of this meeting a society was organized, divided into two classes, 
named Salem and Zoar. J. K. Troyer was leader of the first and E. R. Troyer 
of the second. Later they adopted the name "Zion" embodj'ing both classes. 

In 1866 the first church was built by Kaufman and dedicated as "Zion 
Church" by Joseph Fisher, P. E. The cost of the church was $1,800.00. The 
first trustees were: A. J., J. K,, and E. R. Troyer. Many glorious revivals were 
conducted in this church. In 1906, J. M. Lantz, pastor, the church was turned 
one-quarter around and a large class-room and a corner-tower were built in 
front. A pulpit recess to the south, circular pews, and acetylene lights were 
installed. It was re-dedicated November 18, 1906, by Editor S. P. Spreng, In 
1916 it was re-frescoed. 

The first Woman's Missionary Society here was organized by S, H, Baum- 
gartner in 1889. The Young People's Alliance was organized by C. W. Spang- 
ler on August 25, 1892. The Sunday School was started at about the beginning 
of the society and has since been maintained and is one of the best country 
Sunday Schools. 

Camp-Meetings 

On August 12, 1869, the first camp-meeting on this charge was begun on 
Father Hochstettler's farm, three miles south of Waupccong. The camp had 
26 board tents. Bishop J. J. Esher was chief speaker, M. Mayer, P. E. The 
spiritual tide was high. Twelve souls were converted. A special Missionary 
meeting was held. The men responded liberally to appeals for funds for the 
missionary cause. Some men made their wives life-members of the General 
Missionary Society; while others became life-members on their own initiative. 
Then with exuberant joy they made preachers and preachers' wives life-mem- 
bers, and as a climax, they made the Bishop an honorary member of this so- 
ciety as a mark of appreciation of his service. About 75 church members were 
present and contributed $725.00 in cash and pledges. This was shortly after 
Zion Society had pledged $80.00 for the Indiana Conference Missionary Society. 
To the P. E. and the Bishop they paid $90.00 and the traveling expenses of all 

28 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

ministers present, and the full salary of their pastor. The above sum ($725) was 
given toward liquidation of the General Missionary debt. These facts show 
the result of spiritual camp-meetings in former days. 

In 1871 another blessed camp-meeting was held. The opposition was bitter. 
The devil's imps, in human form, yelled furiously. Stifl nominal Christians 
here scolded in anger. Arrests had to be made of some of the devil's chiefs. 
But in spite of all this, Pastor Miller reported "conversions and 13 accessions 
to the church. God's children had a new spiritual uplift". At this meeting, at 
the suggestion of the P. E., the people decided that Waupecong Mission should 
be made a circuit with the proviso that the missionary money now contributed 
should be credited to the field as salary. This was gladly done. The people 
gave liberally. At this meeting an appeal was made for the Orphan's Institu- 
tion. $1,300.00 was pledged. In 1873 this camp-ground was destroyed jjy fire. 
the work of an incendiary, it was believed. But in 1874 a new camp-ground was 
secured. New tents were put up with improved facilities. Soon after this, how- 
ever, camp-meetings ceased. In 1883 J. Hoffman had a wonderful revival in 
this society, when 24 were saved. In 1886 George Roederer had many conver- 
sions and accessions. 

A Remarkable Meeting 

In the fall of 1889, at a 10 a. m. mcetirg, victory seemed to be near, but a 
disunion of hearts apparently was in the way. The pastor had earnestly exhort- 
ed the people to a unity of spirit. A number praj'ed earnestly without definite vic- 
tory. A. J. Troyer, local pastor, said, "I wonder if we can all, in sincerity, pray 
the "Lord's Prayer". All kneeled and prayed the prayer thoughtfully and with 
self-examination. At the petition, "Forgive us our debts as we forgive our debt- 
ors", there was a great melting together of hearts. Reconciliations followed quick- 
ly and a flood of joy came over the people manifesting itself in praises to God, 
shouting and laughin.g with joy. One brother working in a nearby field tried to 
husk corn, but could make no progress. So he concluded if he could not husk 
corn he might as well go over to the meeting. He arrived in time to receive a 
blessing. Firally about 1 p. m. this meeting closed. This victory was followed 
by a break with sin among the unsaved young people. Fourteen were saved 
and ten joined church. 

Ministers Licensed to Preach from These Classes 

"Waupecong: J. M. Condo, 1864; E. E. Condo, 1866; S. S. Condo, 1865, 
From Zion: J. K. Troyer, 1867; A. J. and E. R. Troyer, 1868; E. T. Hochstett- 
ler, 1869; A. S. Fisher, 1887; H. W. Fisher, 1888; J. M. Lantz, 1903. All have 
been in the active ranks. 

ST. PAUL'S CHAPEL, BUNKER HILL CIRCUIT 

In August, 1879 A. Iwan of Bunkerhill Circuit, began preaching at the 
"Springer Schoolhouse". There were no Evangelical members here. No en- 

29 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

courageinent was given him to continue, but he laliored in faith amidst persecu- 
tions. One soul was saved and joined church. His successor labored faithfully 
without any accessions. In 1883 J. Hoffman continued here for three years and 
had four accessions. In 1886 George Roedcrer came. He held a protracted meet- 
ing in the schoolhouse and had a number of conversions and increased the 
membership to 36, and organized a society. Charter-members were: Jacob 
Springer, wife and daughter, Anna; John, Francis, Anna C. and Caroline Spring- 
er; Chr. and Elizabeth Feller and sons, J. W., A. W. and Geo.; Fr. and Amanda 
A'Tetzger; Carl, Katherine and Rosa Conrad; Ben and Josephine Gerber; Al- 
fred and Mary B. Spurgeon; John A. and his mother, Nancy Landrum; Mary 
A. and Williurn N. Smith; Wm. and Lydia Woolpert; John C. Heinickel; Em- 
ily C. Eowland; Ida S. Soda; Bruce A. Kelly; Olive D. Kling; Frank McKane; 
Wm. H. Hicks; Leon Busby; Mary Springer. J. W. and A. W. Feller, later en- 
tered the Gospel ministry, the first was recommended by the Enterprise, Illinois, 
Society; and the second later joined the Wesleyan Methodist Church and came 
to us from that church. 

One evening during Roedercr's revival, Satan inspired some of his followers 
to destroy some of the schoolhouse property. The teacher thereupon, fearing 
further damage, if services were continued in it, refused it for further services. 
What now? The revival was in full blast, but no place to continue it. A special 
meeting was called to consider the feasibility of l)uildirig a church. It was de- 
cided to build with God's help. Pledges in money and labor were made and 
$800 was secured. John and Jacob Springer and Chr. Feller furnished most of 
the timber gratis. A Gothic church, 32x46 feet, was built, with a belfry and bell, 
costing $1250.00. The same was dedicated October 16, 1887, by Bishop J. J. Es- 
her of Chicago. It was dedicated as the "St. Paul's Church". It is located in 
Harrison Township, about three miles south of North Grove, Indiana. This 
class in 1923 is still small due to loss by deaths and removals. 

An Open Confession Made 

While S. H. Baumgartner held a revival here in the winter of 1891, members 
of eight denominations took part, resulting in 22 conversions. Some of them 
were of the toughest characters of the community. One John H. was converted. 
He had been very profane, a gambler, boozer, disturber of religious meetings, 
and bitter towards all preachers. After he had been several nights at the altar 
seeking pardon without sticcess, a local M. E. minister came to the service. He 
sat on the rostrum looking on as the seekers labored for salvation. Suddenly H. 
remembered an evil he had perpetrated against this local preacher, and rising up, 
he spoke to him, saying, "Do you know me?" The preacher said, "No!" 

Then said H., "Do you remember having received a thrashing in a certain 
saw-mill about twenty years ago?" 

"Yes, I do", said the preacher. 

Then H. said, "I am the fellow, I am sorry I did it. I wronged you. Can 

30 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

j'Ou and will you forgive nie? I cannot find pardon for my sins without confess- 
ing them and asking pardon from you." 

The preacher said, "Yes, I certainly forgive you." 

Then H. again knelt at the altar and prayed earnestly, and in five minutes 
he sprang to his feet a saved and happy man. That evening in a testimony meet- 
ing testifymg to God's pardon, he gave utterance of his former hatred for min- 
isters. He said, "I hated all ministers of the Gospel. I often wished I might 
step out on the public road in front of my house when Rev. B. passed by, seize 
him by his long black beard, pull him out of his buggy into the mud and drag 
him around in it. But now I want him to stop frequently at my home and make 
it a place to rest and nourish his body at my table", as it was yet a few months 
before Conference removed the pastor in April. But later, H. yielded to temp- 
tations, fell from grace, and died in sin and shame. 

!iIcGRAWSVILLE CLASS, BUNKER HILL CIRCUIT 

According to the best obtainable information, Jacob Trometer was the first 
Evangelical preacher that preached in this vicinity. The first converts were in 
1861. The "Hope"' Class was then organized. The members were Leonhart and 
Barbara Lippold, Conrad and Elizabeth Reminger, and Barbara Scheuerman. 
For years services were held in homes or in schoolhouses, and in the German 
langua.ge only, but later the English prevailed. In 1902 J. L. Buyer held a re- 
vival here resulting in 20 conversions. Then a subscription list for a church 
was started and a suitable site was selected, but from lack of unanimity in the so- 
ciety the project failed. The field here was abandoned in 1904. 

BURTON, SIX MILES WEST OF ROCHESTER 

About 1856 or '57 preaching by ministers of our church began in this local- 
ity. A class was organized which worshipped in homes and later in a school- 
house. The members were Michael and Susanna Wales; Wm. and Matilda 
Wales, John and Susanna Fishley, John and Mrs. Schetz. In 1860 A. Nicolai 
and J. M. Gomer held a meeting four miles west of Rochester in the Wales 
schoolhouse in which community six members lived. The people at first were 
hesitant to attend fearing they might be entrapped. But gradually the crowd 
increased. There were six conversions and seven accessions. In 1887 a brick 
church was built by the M. E., U. B., and Ev. Asso. members of this locality 
and was dedicated January 1, 1888, by Bishop R. Dubs of the Evangelical As- 
sociation. J. Wales was the pastor and D. S. Oakes the P. E. Many blessed 
Union meetings were held here, conducted by the three pastors of the above 
named denominations. At the close of the revivals converts were instructed to 
take their stand with that pastor whose church they wanted to join. These 
three societies in one, kept quite even in membership for some time, but in 1914 
the M. E. ceased operation and sold their interest in the property, with equal 

31 



e 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

sliares to the other two churches. Early in 1916, the two remaining societies 
built a new church on the old site. The cornerstone was laid by L. S. Fisher o.' 
South Bend, Indiana. On June 4, 1916, this church was dedicated by Bishop L. 
H. SeaRer, assisted bv Rev. Grimes, P. E. of the U. B. Church. 

The preachers who served here were those of Fulton Circuit to 1885 (Sec 
Akron); of Rochester Circuit until 1901, when the circuit was divided into Ak- 
ron and Tippecanoe Missions. This class remained vv'ith the latter. In 1907 th 
circuit name was changed to Leiter's Ford. In 1908 this class was again added 
to Akron. In 1913 it was added. to the Culver work, in 1915 again to Rochester 
Circuit and so remained to 1923. For pastors from '85 on see Grand View. 

BURR-OAK FLATS 

This appointment was one mile west of Burr-Oak, Indiana, near the Nickle 
Plate R. R. In 1846 this point belonged to Elkhart circuit. Services were held 
in the Burr-Oak schoolhouse. Some of the early members were: Abe Games 
and wife, Samuel Games, Mr. and Mrs. Burkhart. Later Rev. H. E. Overmeyer 
and wife joined. A church was built in early years. Our work here was Ger- 
man. Our people allovi'ed the V. B. people the use of the church to conduct 
English revivals, who thus gained the young folks. The German soon died out 
beyond hope of gaining a future here. In 1886 the church was sold to the U. B. 
society, who moved it into Burr Oak. In 1894 the church-lot was ordered sold, 
and to apply the proceeds to another church or parsonage on Twin Lakes Cir- 
cuit. The Conference treasurer, however, was made the custodian of the pro- 
ceeds until called for. Pastors here were those from Culver appointment. 

CALVARY, OR YOUNG'S, EAST OF DECATUR 

This class is about five miles east of Decatur, Indiana. S. S. Condo from 
Decatur, was probably the first of our preachers to preach here in 1870, in the 
Young's Schoolhouse, one mile south from the present church. It seems that 
this year a class was organized with a few members, namely: J. Eli Stoops, 
(Rev.), Emmanuel Hawk and wife, Mr. Struby and wife, Mr. Wetters and wife. 
In 1873 C. C. Beyrer served Decatur Circuit. In April, 1874 he held a meeting 
here resulting in 37 conversions. J. E. Stoops now began to raise funds for a 
church. Calvary lielongcd in 1874 to St. Mary's Circuit, Fred Launer and S. C. 
Schup were the pastors; '75, J. Wales, pastor. In '76 Decatur with Calvary 
became Decatur Mission; Joseph Fisher, pastor. In '77 it was added to St. 
Mary's Circuit, S. S. Allbert, pastor. A frame church was built and dedicated 
in the fall of 1877. In '78, Fred Lanner served; '79 Wm. Ackerman under B. F. 
Dill; in '80, I. B. Fisher. In '81, this class with Decatur again became Decatur 
Mission, J. M. Dustman, pastor for three years. In '84-85, A. R. Sliafer served, 
second year Calvary belonged to Decatur Circuit; also in '86, J. E. Stoops, 
pastor. Stoops and Gottschalk and Fred Stocher were elected trustees. There 

32 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

remained a debt of $246.45. These men with the P. E. were appointed a eom- 
m.ittee to sell the ehurch, pay the debt, and if there remained a surplu.s to turn it 
into the conference treasury. The money, however, was raised and the society 
was saved. In 1893 it was a part of Payne Mission. R. Rainey, pastor; '94-96, 
Philip Buehler; '97-98, supplied; '99, to Decatur Mission; 1900 to Paulding Mis- 
sion, A. Wiesjahn; 1901 to Decatur; '02 to St. Mary's Mission, C. D. Ringen- 
berg, pastor; '03-08 to Decatur; '09 to Ohio City Circuit, E. R. Roop; '10 to 
Chattanooga, E. R. Roop; '11-12, E. B. Jones; '13-14, J. L. Buyer, Jr. The 
church was reseated with modern pews in 1913, and with art-glass windows 
installed at a cost of $450.00. In 1915 it was served by E. E. Roberts as supply; 
'16, E. O. Habegger; '17, J. E. McCoy; '18-21, E. H. Baumgartner; '22 to Bryant 
Circuit; '2i back to Decatur to be served on Sundays at 9 a. m. and 2 p. m. 

CALA'ARY, KOSCIUSKO CO., INDIANA 

This society was located five miles south of North Webster. It was taken 
up about 1868 or '69. J. Keiper in 1869 served Elkhart Circuit, to which it be- 
longed, with S. S. Condo. In 1872 it became a part of Benton Circuit, served 
1)y P. Roth and Aug. deist. On December 6, 1886, \V. H. Brightmire held a 
revival here which resulted in 18 conversions. There was a church here. The 
Baptists, being well entrenched here, thus limiting the field for us, the church 
was sold to them in 1893 for $135.00, and the proceeds were applied on a par- 
sonage in North Weljster. 

CA^IP CREEK OR BROWNSTOWN, ILLINOIS 

Vandalia Circuit 

This field was originally called "Vandalia Circuit" named after Vandalia 
then the State Capitol of Illinois. In 1846 J. G. Miller, pastor of Mt. Carmel, 
Illinois, was instructed to visit Fayette County, Illinois, and look up preaching 
places in \'andalia and vicinity. Camp Creek, that flows near by the Zion 
Church, gave the circuit the new name "Camp Creek". On its bank near the 
present location of the church, the Indians once had a notable encampment. 
This fact gave the creek its name. In 1920 the field name became Brownstown 
after the nearest post-office. 

In July 1846 A. B. Shafer, P. E., came to Vandalia to hold a two-days' 
meeting in the Presbyterian Church and to aid Brother Miller to lay the foun- 
dation of a new field of labor. In 1847 Vandalia Mission was established. Jacob 
Trometer, of pioneer fame, husbanded the eastern part of Mt. Carmel Circuit 
which included Marshall, Illinois, and vicinity and this section of Illinois. Bro. 
Miller was hindered by chill-fever. He found his field too large for him to 
meet the requirements. The field had a circumference of over 600 miles with 
headquarters at Mt. Carmel, 80 to 150 miles away. The principal places which 
he visited were Vandalia and vicinity, Springfield, Pulaski, Decatur and vicinity. 
He made three visits to each of these places up to December, 1864, with the ex- 

2i 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

ccption of Pulaski. At all of the places the German people urged him to repeat 
his visits. Truly, "The harvest was great but the reapers were few". In 1847 
the Illinois Conference divided Mt. Carmel Circuit. The western portion of it 
with eastern Iowa constituted Iowa Mission and was added to the Illinois 
District, which was then subdivided into Peoria and Madison Districts. Iowa 
Mission belonged to the former which was served by J. J. Esher (Bishop). In 
1848 this section of Illinois was attached to the Wabash District, and was left 
to be supplied. No record of supply is found and no record for 1849. In 1850 
it was re-attached to Iowa Mission, and Wm. Kolp was assigned with G. G. 
Platz as P. E. of Peoria District, In 1851 Henry Esh was pastor and Samuel 
Baumgartner, P. E. In 1852 at the organization of the Indiana Conference this 
circuit remained with the Illinois Conference, and was served by J. H. Jambert, 
who was returned with H. Schelp in 1853. This field was ceeded to the Indiana 
Conference in 1854, and served -with Marshall Circuit by B. Ruh. 

Hickory Creek Society 

In 1854 Henry RcKwinkel moved to Wheatland Township in Fayette Coun- 
ty, about si.K miles south of Brownstown, where Gottlieb Morganthaler, Henry 
Tobias, and Bro, Augcnstein had moved in 1853. The last named soon after- 
wards moved to Shelby County, Illinois, four miles N. E. of Stewardson, Illi- 
nois, where now the Prairie Class is located. H. Rexwinkel and G. Morgan- 
thaler later moved to Camp Creek where thej' maintained prayer meetings. In 
1855 the Indiana Conference instructed pastor B. Ruh of Olney, Illinois, to re- 
visit this locality, which he did, and in the winter of 1855-'56 organized the 
Hickory Creek Class. In 1856 Wm. Beckman of Marshall Circuit, Illinois, 
served this section. There were a number of conversions here in 1863, and 
several accessions at a quarterly meetin.g. Many of the settlers here came from 
Chicago. Building material had to be hauled here as this country was mostly 
prairie land. Time of relinquishing the work here is not known. 

Camp Creek, or Zion 

In 1857 J. Kronmiller was pastor on Marshall Circuit which included Camp 
Creek. He organized a class here with Philemon Miller (later a minister) first 
class-leader. On one of K's trips here, darkness having overtaken him, he en- 
countered a serious rainstorm on the prairie. He could not proceed; so he had 
to remain in the drenching rain the whole night. In 1858 Vandalia Mission 
was formed of the western portion of Marshall Circuit and J. Trometer was as- 
signed to it. He also served it in '59. Conversions and accession crowned his 
efforts. In '60-61, C. Wessling served successfully. He built a log parsonage 
at Camp Creek, and in great satisfaction wrote to the Christlichc Botschafter, 
that "the house was good enough for a Bishop to live in". These humble dwell- 
ings were appreciated as being in keeping with those in which most of the 
laity lived. 

The first church was built imdcr the labors of Geo. Schmoll in the spring 

34 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

of 1863. But it seems it was not dedicated until August 6, 1865, by M. Hoehn, 
P. E., as Ziou Church. W. Wesseler was pastor. Schmoll also found entrance 
into Shelby Count}', around Stewardson, Illinois. In September, 1863-64, Wni. 
Wesseler was pastor with J. Beck assisting the second year; 1865-66, M. Klailjcr 
with August Scholz the first year and Fred Launer the second year. K. organ- 
ized a class in Shelby Count>-, likely at Wolf Creek or Prairie. The first year 
he took up an appointment near Edgewood, Illinois. In 1866 Conference divided 
Vandalia Mission. Camp Creek, Hickory Creek, Gilmore Schoolhouse, Crane's 
Class, Westphalen near Watson, Illinois, and Breising, S. E. of Effingham. 
Illinois, constituted the new Vandalia Mission, while the appointments in Shelby 
County became Shelby Mission. In 1867-68 Carl Schamo was pastor of Van- 
dalia Mission; '69, George Kloepfer; '70-71, Fred I.auner. In '72-73, E. T. 
Hothstettler had 20 conversions and 17 accessions at Zion. In '74-75 C. Stock- 
howe began preaching at Vera, Illinois, 11 miles north of Vandalia. In 1876 
these Illinois appointments became a part of the new South Indiana Confer- 
ence, with Stockhowe, pastor. In February, '77, N. F. Platz was sent as assist- 
ant to the field and both, he and Stockhowe, were returned in Septeml)er, '11 . 
In 1878 Conference session was held in March, and so continued. In '78, Geo. 
Berstecher served, and in '79-81, M. Kochl. In '79, the first camp-meeting was 
held one-half mile east of Zion Church with blessed results. In 1882 E. Boh- 
lander served; '83-85, W. L. Luehring; '86, C. Stockhowe; '87-88, Fred Thciss; 
'89-91, M. F. Finkljeiner; '92, the name Vandalia was changed to Camp Creek. 
In '93, with the South Indiana Conference, it was ceeded to the Indiana Con- 
ference. For ministers from 1893-1915, see Camp Creek, Volume I. 1916-17, 
Philip Haney served as pastor; '18-19, J. Mundorf; '20-23, E. L. Gambee. The 
circuit name was now changed to Brownstown. In 1919 a tower was added to 
the church and a bell placed in it. Many blessed revivals were held here. Phi- 
lemon Miller was recommended to the ministry in 1866. He served actively 
only for a few years. 

EMMANUEL, CAMP CREEK, ILLINOIS 

This society is 2^. miles S. W. of Zion. It was organized in 1890 by M. F. 
Finkbeiner who also built a church here in 1891, dedicated the same year by 
Bishop Thomas Bowman as Emmanuel Church. While F. was assisting in the 
erection of the church a glancing nail destroyed the sight of one of his eyes. 
This society had many hard fights against wickedness in the community. They 
were frequently disturbed in their public worship at nights, but regardless of 
this they enjoyed many victories and many souls were converted. This society 
always belonged with Zion appointment. 

CAMBRIDGE CITY, INDIANA 
In 1849 our ministers from East Germantown began preaching in this city, 
in homes and in the school houses. The members then were; the C. Mosbaugh 

35 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

family, J. Schafer's, John Rciiiman'.s, Geo. A. Blank, P. E., and family; and Geo. 
Spcrry. But the place was soon abandoned. In 191S the city was again taken 
up with E. Gerniantown. Previously, in 1908, L. S. Fisher, P. E., tried to gain 
entrance. At this time Rev. C. M. Pierce and Rev. A. V. Scheidler lived here. 
Fisher preached several times in the Baptist Church, but could not get permis- 
sion to continue. J. J. Wise, P. E., in '15, obtained an agreement with the Bap- 
tist people that they should be served with our E. Germantown pastor free of 
charge for the use of their church. W. I. Weyant became pastor for two years. 
In 1917 the place was dropped as the Baptists were unwilling to grant us the 
Sunda)' School and the free use of the church for preaching service Avhich wc 
gave them gratis; nor would they pay their share of salary for ministerial serv- 
ice. 

CARLISLE HILL, SOUTH BEND, INDIANA 

This appointment existed as early as 1859, when it belonged to Berrien Cir- 
cuit, which was partly in Indiana and |)artly in Michigan. Its location was west 
of South Bend. In 1862 It was attached to South Bend Circuit. In 1868 it was 
served with South Bend Station. In 1876 it was added to the newly formed 
LaPorte Mission. Soon after the place was discontinued. 

CANADA OR UNION, ELKHART COUNTY 

Tills society was about 12 miles S. W. of Goshen, L^nion Township, Elkhart 
County, Indiana, near the St. Joseph County line. The name "Canada" was 
derived from early settlers from Canada. Our ministers began preaching here 
about 1840-41. In 184,"? D. Kern and Geo. A. Blank held a meeting here amidst 
great opposition; but God's people nevertheless feasted on the "Hidden Manna", 
and sinners were converted to God. For early history and pastors here, see 
Elkhart Circuit. In 1850 J. J. Esher (Bishop) and J. F. Wolf had a "Big Meet- 
ing", here. The struggle a.cainst moral darkness was great, but finally great 
victory came. Blessings fell in a "veritable Pentecost". In 1853 the following 
were memliers: John Wenger (class-leader); Jacob Beyer (exhorter) and wife; 
Geo. and Anna Klein; David and Anna Beyers; Jonas and Elizabeth Wenger; 
Katherine and Anna Hurst; Sophia Stoh; Magdalena Dausmen; Mrs. Magda- 
lena Dausman; David Bright; Mike Bailey; Geo. and Katherine Walter. The 
first church here was built of logs in 1849, and stood on Solomon Hurst's farm, 
and was dedicated by A. B. Schafer, P. F... on October 21st. In 1871 this 
church was sold for $50.00. It stood 160 rods south from the public road, near- 
ly that far from the road north and east. Access to the church was by a lane 
ly, rods wide. $5.00 was paid for the lane southward. In 1920 part of this 
lane had to be quit-claimed by the Indiana Conference trustees, as the lane was 
nol sold at the time the church was sold. The land having been under cultiva- 
tion for over 20 years the Conference lost its claim upon it. 

About the year 1858, families began to move away, some to Lima, Indiana, 

36 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

and others to Michigan, and others to five miles east of Syracuse, Indiana, where 
they were organized into the Eljenezer Class, namely: Bycrs, Klein's and Rapp's. 
Services here continued for some time after the church was sold but were 
abandoned about 1882. 

CARMI, ILLINOIS, EMMANUEL 

The initial steps of the work of the E\-angelicaI Association in and about 
Carmi, Illinois, were taken in July, 1856, by S. Dickover, P. E. He then made 
his first visit into White County, Illinois, where he found 90 to 100 German 
families mostly from Baden, Germany. He preached once for them. Fruitful 
impressions were made. He offered them preaching once every two weeks if 
they had no objections. Ilnanimously they voted for such services. Thereupon 
Joseph Fisher and Chr. Wessling from Mt. Carmel Circuit preached here al- 
ternately with good results. 

Over the holidays these men held a meeting in Carmi. The Lord wonder- 
fully manifested His power to convict of sin and to save therefrom. At the 
first invitation 18 people came to the altar. Each day others came. Conviction 
also seized people in their homes. They could not sleep after retiring. They 
fell on their knees to pray and "prayed through". Folks who came to the 
meeting prompted by curiosity, became gripped with such conviction of sin 
that they surrendered to God and were saved. Dickover said, "If angels rejoice 
over one sinner that repents, oh, what rejoicing must there have been over the 
many that here repented and were saved. Yes, the praises that were heard on 
Bethlehem's fields, in announcing the nativity of Christ, was now heard on 
Carmi's fields due to the liirth of Christ in their souls. Hallelujah! God keep 
them faithful to their end. Amen!" There were 40 professed conversions and 
30 accessions. Others were still seeking at the close of the uieeting. 

A frame church 34 x 46 feet was now built in Carmi which cost $1,000. 
Dedicatory services were held from August 13 to 16. S. Dickover preached, 
then dedicated the church as "Emmanuel Church". Already, Friday evening, 19 
persons came to the altar for salvation and most of them found peace. But 
persecutors were also on hand with mockery, swearing and slandering. On a 
prayer-meeting night on the way home, J. M. Comer and one other convert 
were pelted with stones. G's friend fell to the ground, though not mortally 
hurt. With the poet they could sin.g, "The greater the cross, the nearer is 
heaven; he who is without the cross is without God." 

Developments 

September, 1857, Carmi and vicinity became a mission, served conjointly 
with Mt. Carmel and Olney charges, by J. Fuchs, D. Bartholomew, and C. Ivohl- 
meier. A Sunday School was organized in early days, and has been maintained 
since. For years the society maintained a Young People's Alliance, and Ladies' 
Aid Society, and a Woman's Missionary Society. A sample of early quarterly 

37 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

conferences: on December 2, 1857, one was held in Zion's (country) church; 
PhiHp Bretsch, president; J. Fuchs. secretary; D. Bartholomew and C. Kohl- 
ineier, probationers; Jos. Meier, John Winter, Carl Schmidt, and Christoph 
Wagenick, class-leaders. In 1858 exhorters were added. On October 23, '58, 
at such a conference it was reported that J. D. was intoxicated and this con- 
ference voted th.xt he be expelled from church. On December 31, 1859, it was 
reported that L. B. was imbibing intoxicants. It was voted that he should be 
expelled from church, if the charge should be found true after investigation. 
Also a sister was accused of dancing. By vote she was to be expelled from the 
church if it should be found to be true in an investigation. In those days 
discipline was enforced. 

The second church was built by Chr. Wessling in 1873 at a cost of $3,200.00 
and was dedicated by Bishop R. Dubs, July 27, 1874. This church has a large 
auditorium, with a tower and bell, and a class-room added on the rear. Under 
B. E. Koenig the furnace was installed, new floor laid and church repainted. On 
CJct. 6, 1860, the quarterly conference decided that a parsonage should be built 

at Zion, the country church. The parsonage in Carmi was built . 

In 1877 a barn was built and a well dug. The old parsonage in the country 
was sold in 1878 and the ])roceeds applied to the barn in Carmi. Under A. \V. 
Feller, electric lights were installed in the parsonage. 
Pastors Who Served Here 

In 1856 Jos. Fisher and C. Wessling. For the years '57-75 and from 1893- 
1915, sec Carmi, N'olume I. In 186.5 A. Dassel under appointment died during 
conference year. Appointments by South Indiana Conference were as follows: 
'76-77, M. Speck with Stier the first year; '78. Chr. Matthias and Fred Dauner; 
'79-80, M. Mayer; '81-83, C. Stockhowe; '84-86, Wm. Koenig; '87, H. Schleucher; 
•SS, Fred. Schweitzer; '89-90, H. Weishaar; '91-92, E. J. Nitschc. From 1893- 
1915 see \'ol. I. '16-20, ^\'. E. Snyder served; '21-23, F. D. Stemcn. 

This field belonged to Wabash District from 1856-70; to Evansville, 1871-74; 
to Olney, 1875-92; '93 united with the Indiana Conference and belonged to 
Louisville District to 1907; to Evansville District, '08-10; to Indianapolis, '11-23. 

CARMI, ZION SOCIETY 

This society is four miles north of Carmi. The early history of this class 
is identical with that of Carmi. They were started the same time by the same 
men. The first prayer-meeting here was held December, '56. Joseph Fisher 
closed a glorious revival here in September, 1857. In ten days 26 professed 
salvation and 25 joined the Evangelical Association. They then built a church 
which stood about Uj miles S. E. of the present one. It was dedicated August 
16, 1857, as "Zion Church", on the same day as the church in Carmi was dedi- 
cated, likely by S. Dickover, P. E. The second church here was built under 
E. J. Nitsche and was dedicated September 24, '93, by . The 

38 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

cost of this church was $2,350.00. On January, '94, Nitsche Ijcgan a revival 
here. On the third night men of the baser sort smashed in all of the lower 
window lights, but God's people went undauntedly ahead. There were 14 con- 
versions in this meeting and 13 accessions. "Waves of glory rolled in upon the 
people and they were quickened", Nitsche reported. Under B. E. Koenig re- 
pairs were made, and a new tin roof was put on the church. In 1921 a church 
basement was constructed and necessary repairs made, F. D. Stemen, pastor. 
This society has maintained a Sunday School from the beginning. The same 
pastors served here as at Carmi. 

CELIX'A CIRCUIT, HOPE 

On September, 22-23. 1849, A. B. Schafer, P. E. of the Indiana District of 
tlu; Illinois Conference made a visit to this community, six miles N. W. of 
Celina, Ohio, and held a meeting which was crowned with sound conversions. 
Peter Goetz of St. ^Mary's Circuit was doubtless the first one of our preachers 
that visited and preached here. On February 22, 'SO, G. reported that he held 
a three-days' meeting in February at Michael Hellwarth's. Parents were at the 
altar, wrestled for pardon and found peace. On a Monday nearly all present 
were on their knees in penitence. G. said, "I never witnessed the like". Many 
of them were converted and 19 joined the church. Hope society was organized 
and added to St. Mary's Circuit. Locally this society was known as "Hell- 
warth's" or "Smith's" Class, both family names being strongly represented 
here. In June, 1850, P. Goetz was returned with P. Burgener as colleague, and 
C. Augenstein, P. E. of St. Joseph District of the Illinois Conference. In 1851 
B. Uphaus and P. Burgener were pastors and S. Dickover, P. E. At the or- 
ganization of the Indiana Conference in 1852, Celina appointments became a 
part of St. Mary's Circuit. For pastors see St. Mary's Circuit up to 1862. In 
1863 Hope Class became a part of \'an Wert Circuit with George Hertel, pastor 
for two years. In '65-66, Chr. Wessling. Lip to this time the people worshipped 
in private homes. In '66 Wessling built a log church which was dedicated on 
December 9, '66, as "Hope Church" likely by Jos. Fisher, P. E. In 1867-68, Ph. 
Porr, pastor, due to illness, had to (juit and E. R. Troyer finished the year. In 
'69-70, B. Uphaus served. During his time a frame church was bought from 
the "Church of God" people and moved to the present church site. The log- 
church was moved south to the present parsonage site and converted into a par- 
sonage. Bishop Joseph Long was here and helped to plan the parsonage. The 
frame church was probably dedicated at this time by the Bishop. In 1870 Celina 
Mission was formed, embracing Hope, Salem, Mendon and Roetger Classes 
In '71-73, J. Young served with Geo. Berstecher as assistant the third year. 
Berstecher also served in '74 with J, Maurer. This year Celina Mission was 
made a circuit. In '75-77, J. C. Schuh served; in '78-80, J. Beck. He reported 
that the field had 50 catechumens each year for three years and that most of 

39 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

them were converted. This shows the fruit of true catechetical instruction. In 
1881-83, VVm. Koenig served; '84-86, H. Arlen; '87-88, J. C. Schuh; '89-91, A. S. 
Fisher. The latter organized the first Young People's Alliance on this field in 
October, '91, with 33 memJK-r.s, mostly younfj; people of the church. In 1892-94, 
Geo. Roederer was pa.^tor. The last year he rebuilt the church at a cost of 
$2,000.00, and it was rededicated December 16, 1894, by Bishop Thomas Bow- 
man. In 1895-96, W'm. Ackerman served. He died in March, '97, and J. O. 
Mosier finished the year. In '97 J. F. Bockman was pastor; '98, J. H. Schnitz; 
1899-1900, H. Schleueher; '01-02, L. J. Ehrhardt; '03-06, T. L. Buyer; '07-09, 
J. M. Lantz; '10-11, A. D. Kroft; '12-14, TV. S. Tracy. L. Newman held a re- 
vival here in 1914, resultinR in 38 sa\-ed; backsliders were reclaimed, and divi- 
sions were eliminated; 17 accessions followed. This meeting Avas followed by 
the remodeling of the church. A basement was constructed; a furnace, and^ a 
new lighting system was installed; and a mother's room built, all at a cost of 
$1,500.00. Geo. Johnson of Cleveland, Ohio, rededicated in Octoljer, 1914. In 
1915, D. E. Haley served. He had Evangelist Geo. Bennard to conduct a re- 
vival at which time 70 persons bowed at the altar for pardon and sanctification. 
In 1916-19, J. Rees was pastor. Tlie old frame parsona.gc was thorou.ghly re- 
modeled at a cost of $3,500.00. In 1920-21, W. I. Wcyant was pastor, and in 
1922-23, H. .S. P>erger. 

CELINA, DEEP-CUT CHURCH 

This society was located in Salem Township, Auglaize County, Ohio, N. E. 
of St. Mary's Ohio. Exact time of the beginning cannot be learned. In 1874 
a church was built, 28 x 44 feet, with tower at a cost of $1,400.00. It was dedi- 
cated January 24, '75, ])y J. Fuchs, P. E. In 1885 a half interest was sold to 
the U. B. people. Our worship was in the (ierman lanjiuage, but we soon had 
to abandon the field. 

CELINA ROETCiER'S CLASS 

This class existed in 1863, 4 miles S. E. of St. Mary's, Ohio, in Shelby Coun- 
ty. From lack of prospect for the future it was discontinued in 1886. 



CELINA, SCHULER'S CLASS 

The time of its f)rganization cannot he found. The class was about 14 
miles .S. E. of W'apakoneta, Ohio. It belon.ged to Celina Mission in 1871, when 
J. Yotmg reported that this class was building a church. He reported that he 
organized three new classes that year. This pro1)ably was one of them. 

CELINA, ST. JOHN'S CLASS 

This society was a])out seven miles cast of Wapakoneta, Ohio. There was 
a log church here. The society was discontinued in 1891 and the church was 
sold for $11.00, and the lot reverted 1o the original tract of land. 

40 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 
CELINA, MENDON, OHIO 

This class existed in 1870 when CeHna Mission was formed. It was 12 miles 
N. W. of St. Mary's, Ohio, on the Dclphos and Dayton R. R. The class was 
German. It was abandoned in 1891. 

CELINA CIRCUIT, SALEM 

This society, abont five miles S. W. of VVapakoneta, Ohio, is locally known 
as "Weifenbach's" Class. The class was organized in 1855 when C. Wesslin,:,- 
and P. Goetz served the charge. Prior to 1863, it belonged to St. Mary's Circuit. 
At this time it became a part of \"an Wert Circuit, and in 1870 of Celina Mis- 
sion. T. C. "i'oung reported in 1872 that this class had 18 memljers. Up to this 
date preaching was in the district schoolhouse and prayer-meetings in private 
houses. A frame church was built in 1871 and was dedicated Nov. 11th, by 
.1. Fuchs, P. E. In February, 1880, B. F. Dill reported that in a blessed re- 
vival meeting "a blind father, 70 years old, was led to the altar by a mother of 
the same age. This was a very touching scene". In 1891 A. S. Fisher had 16 
conversions here. In 1892 the church was enlarged and remodeled at a cost of 
$400.00. The German worship was abandoned about 1908. Rev. J. H. Evans is 
a spiritual son of this society. It was always served with Celina Circuit. The 
people here are liberal contributors to God's cause. 

CELINA CITY 

Since a considerable number of members of the Hope Society, Celina Cir- 
cuit, had moved into Celina, Pastor J. M. Lantz on February 4, 1910, organized 
a class here with charter members as follows: Andrew and Eliza Smith, Kath- 
erine Squires, Rosa and Ernest Smith, Mary Smith, Mag,gie Bollenbach, Bertha 
Merkel, !Mary Miller, Lottie Hoenie, Anna Hale and Carrie Grey. Ernest Smith 
was the first class-leader. Prayer meetings were held and Lantz preached for 
them in the week as much as time permitted. In 1910 J. .1. Wise, P. E., and 
A. D. Kroft, pastor of Celina Circuit, held a tent meeting in the summer which 
resulted in new members. On October 24, 1910, the Conference committee on 
church location met in Celina with Bishop S. P. Spreng, and after careful in- 
vestigation selected lot 11, on North Walnut Street for a church site. The cost 
of the lot was $1,000.00. Kroft now preached regularly in homes. 

In 1911 B. E. Koenig became pastor. His predecessor already had done 
considerable work toward securing funds for the church here. Brother Koeni.g 
at once began to solicit more funds and met with encouraging success. A 
board of trustees was elected, namely: Andrew Smith, president; George W. 
and Clinton Smith; B Lorrentz, Sec'y; and J. Bodkin. These with W. M. 
Smith and the pastor constituted the building committee. A brick veneer church 
was built, 46 x 55 feet, containing a basement with cement floor, a Ladies' Aid 
Society room and a furnace. The auditorium has galleries on two sides in oak 

41 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

finish and frescoed walls. There is a corner tower for main entrance and two 
side entrances. The church was dedicated January 14, 1912, by Bishop S. C. 
Breyiogcl, as "Bethany" Church. The cost of the church was $12,000.00. The 
amount raised on dedication was $3,898.00. The Hope and Salem Classes gave 
liberal aid financially and also the citizens. 

In 1912 the membership was 99. There were 59 conversions during the first 
year and 52 new accessions; by change of boundary, 31 from Hope Class, by 
certificate, 16. At the close of his administration, Koenig had 160 members, a 
Sunday School enrollment of 299, including Home and Cradle Roll Depart- 
ments. The society also had an active Ladies' Aid Society. The Young Peo- 
ple's Alliance was organized in 1913. Koenig served here four years. In 
1915-16, F. Hartman served. On October 3, 1915, a Sunday School Rally Day 
service was held The attendance was 276, and the offering was $254.40. In 
1917-18, P. L. Browns was pastor. Rally Day collection was $467.08. In 1919- 
21, M. O. Herman was pastor; 1922-23, D. O. Wise. Under Herman a parsonage 
was bought. Wise had a good revival and raised in cash $380.00 for the Hub- 
bard Old People's Home and reduced the debt on the parsonage considerably. 

CHAMBERSBURG 

This was a class in Wayne County, Indiana. Geo. A. Blank in 1849 held a 
quarterly meeting here. The people soon merged with other classes. 

CHATTANOOGA, OHIO 

This place was taken up by J. M. Lantz in 1908 when he was pastor on 
Celina Circuit. He organized a Sunday School on May 31st, and a church so- 
ciety on October 4th, after a revival that resulted in eight conversions. The 
charter members were: J. M. and Emma Duff; W. B., Ella and Hazel Bebout: 
Andrew Leistner; Bertha Merkel; Cora Detro; Vergil Springer. E. R. Roop 
succeeded Lantz, and built a frame church. Near the close of Lantz's revival 
he went out into the timber where a man was working. He spoke to the man 
about his salvation, then with uncovered head, L. prayed and left promising 
him to take supper with him the next evening. When that time arrived the 
man was walking back and forth to the road waiting for L. to come. After L. 
arrived, the horse was put away and fed, and they went to the house where L, 
read the Bible to him and again prayed with him. Soon the man was very hap- 
pily saved. The man was 50 years old, and indeed worth a personal effort. The 
spirit of loyalty, stability, and proper support were largely lacking here, and 
this militated against lasting success. The field had to be abandoned about 1915. 

CENTERVILLE, WAYNE CO., INDIANA 

This appointment was about 12 miles cast of East Germantown (Pershing), 
on the National Road. This was one of the early preaching points, but for 
some reason failed. 

42 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 
CICERO, INDIANA, BETHLEHEM 

In 1850 A. Nicolai was sent to Hamilton (now Cicero) Charge. On Christ- 
mas night a "Watchnight" meeting was held at the home of J. Hascnfuss in 
Marion Co., Indiana. The Lord wonderfully revealed himself in the conversion 
of adults who also united with the Evangelical Association. Another one was 
held at Bethlehem, two miles east of Cicero, on New-year's night, and continued 
over Sunday, resulting m the conversion of 3f0ung people and older people and 
several joined the church. Bethlehem Class was organized in 1849, and was 
now doubled in membership. First members were: H. Dienst, Geo. Illyes, Wm. 
Dick, Adam Gardner, Chas. Rouls, Jacob Stehman, Albert Roberts, C. Mos- 
baugh, and John Snowberger and their families. In December, 1850, Bishop 
John Seybert made an enjoyable visit here. In '51, Nicolai was pastor and 
Geo. A. Blank, P. E. of Wabash District. First the people worshipped in a 
schoolhouse just north of the present church. It was at this place that the 
"Devil's satellites" placed the decaying skeleton of an ox behind the preacher's 
stand, and over it they hung a caged bulldog. The seats and walls were spat- 
tered with rotten eggs. This was done on a Saturday night before the Lord's 
Supper was to be celebrated on Sunday a. m. When the people gathered they 
were shocked by this terrible sight. The worshippers, with undaunted courage, 
began renovating the church and had their service. The enemy was defeated in 
his purpose. Bro. Blank preached a powerful sermon and the Lord's Supper 
became the "^lanna of Life" to the participants. 

A church was built here in the fifties and dedicated by Bishop J. Seybert, 
according to a statement of a local preacher. Rev. Dill The preachers first 
lived at the "Indian Creek" or "Kloepfer's" Class, in the N. E. corner of Marion 
County, Indiana. In 1858 a small parsonage was built by Josh Panlin a short 
distance north of Bethlehem Church. 

In January, 1852, Nicolai reported "that a terrible moral storm passed over 
God's heritage here, but had subsided into a peaceful breeze, and that God's 
garden is again watered with the rain from heaven and is fruiting". In 1852 
P. Goetz and M. W. Steffey served Whitewater Circuit and Hamilton Mission, 
but the mission was detached in 1853 and served by H. Strickler. In 1854 G. G. 
Platz organized a Sunday School here. In 1855 J. Keiper served. He men- 
tioned that a few more families united with this class, namely; Geo. Sperry's, 
Amos Dickover's, Klingman's, C. Brehn's, Wert's, Peter Grove's and Gashe's. At 
this time Groves' home was a preaching point. In 1856 this mission was re- 
attached to Whitewater Circuit, and served by Chr. Glaus and H. Strickler. 
The latter died here this year and was laid to rest in the Indian Creek Cemetery. 
In 1857 Wm. Bockman and E. L. Kiplinger were pastors. In 1858 Cicero Mis- 
sion was formed of Bethlehem, Atlanta, Arcadia, Indian Creek (Kloepfer), 
Clarksville or Fisher's Class, five miles S. E, of Noblesville, and the Hasenfuss 
and Koch's schoolhouse class. Josh. Paulin was pastor. In '59 J. Hoffman 

43 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

served. On January 6, '60, he commenced a revival which resulted in a great 
awakening. C. G. Platz preached one night when 20 came to the altar. In 1860 
C-co. Kloepfer was pastor and in '61-62, E. L. Kiplinger. In 1862 this mission 
became a circuit. In '63 M. Alspaugh served; in '64, Carl Schamo; '65-66, 
S. Kiplinger: '67, D. J. Pontius; '68-69, E. L. Kiplinger; '70-71, R. Riegel; '72-73, 
J. Wales. In 1873 the field name was changed to Noblesville. In '74, Geo. 
Freehafer was pastor; '75-76. A. R. Shafer; '77-78, Adam Hartzler. The latter 
died here the second year. In '79, A. Geist served here. In 1880 Bethlehem 
ceased to function. The church was allowed to deteriorate. It became the 
habitation of stray sheep. Internal strife caused this. D. Martz, pastor from 
'80-82, reported in March '81, "Bethleliem is no more, but stands as a monu- 
ment of past prosperity". He held meetings several miles south of Bethlehem 
in schoolhouse No. 10. Here he had a revival resulting in thirteen conversions 
and six accessions. He held another meeting here resulting in eighteen saved, 
mostly adults who also joined church. Then a Sunday School was organized 
here. Al)Out this time the Methodists tried to get a foothold in Bethlehem. In 
1883 S. S. Albert became pastor and he got busy, rallied the Bethlehem people, 
the church was renovated and re-occupied for worship and thus B. was saved 
for the church and the No. 10 Schoolhouse Class was merged with B. Albert 
served three years. In 1885-87, J. E. Smith served; '88, M. L. Schcidler; '89-91, 
E. E. Meyer; '92-94, H. E. Overmeycr; '95, J. H, Harper; '96-98, C. D. Rarey; 
'99, J. Wales; 1900-02, J. Rees; '03-04, F. Hartman; '05-07, W. S. Tracy; 'OS, 
G. C. Lutman; '09, A. B. Aegerter; '10, L. E. Smith; '11, J. L. Buyer, Jr.; '12-14, 
M. O. Herman. In the summer of 1914 he was transferred to Greenville by the 
P. Elders of Ft. Wayne and Indianapolis Districts, and C. A. Wright succeeded 
him in September and served '15-16; '17, A. Geist; '18-20, L. J. Ehrhardt; '21-23, 
J. A. Brewer. Presiding Folders same as in Indianapolis. 

CINCINNATI, OHIO 

III 1864 Cincinnati city appointment was detached from the Ohio Confer- 
ence by act of General Conference in October, 1863, and added to the Indiana 
Conference, which appointed G. G. Platz, M. Kruegcr, and J. M. Corner a com- 
mittee to consider the advisability of building or buying a church. After care- 
ful investigation, September 6, '64, the committee bought a church on Davis 
Street between Cutter and Jones Streets, for $8,000.00. Size of lot, 75 feet 
front and 90 feet deep. The church was 36 x 50 feet and stood on an elevation. 
Terms: $3,000.00 when possession is given, the rest in two equal annual install- 
ments. The Conference in 1865 ordered that necessary improvements be made. 
Geo. SchmoU was appointed a collector of funds for six months with an ex- 
tension of time if essential. Later a more suitable church was offered the com- 
mittee for $10,000.00. Later it was regretted that the latter offer was not taken. 
After much expenditure of money and hard lalior, the South Indiana Confer- 

44 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

euce, to which the mission belonged from its organization, was obliged to aban- 
don the enterprise. The property was sold for about $8,000.00, and the proceeds 
applied to buying a church property in Owensboro, Ky. In 1867 the Confer- 
ence empowered a committee to sell this property and buy another in a more 
promising place. But it was not done. A heavy debt continued to encumber 
the property. At the 1871 session 29 ministers assumed $50,00 each, payable in 
two years to lift the debt, but this also failed to cancel the indebtedness. At 
the organization of the South Indiana Conference in 1876, this Conference as- 
sumed $1,800.00 of the total indebtedness of the churches in the Indiana Con- 
ference which was $5,826.00. 

The pastors who served here are: 1864,Ed. Evans; '65, A. B. Shafer; '66, 
Geo. Sehmoll; '67-68, Geo. Hertel; '69-70, M. Klaiber; '71-72, J. C. Schuh; '73-74, 
Fr. Brauer; 75, M. Mayer; '76-77, Jos. Maier; '78-80, J. M. Kronmiller; '81, 
C. R. Koch, who died here of small-pox; '82-83, J. M. Kronmiller; '84-86, G. M. 
Hallwachs; '87, C. Sticr; '88, J. H. Schnitz; '89, left to be supplied; '90, aban- 
doned and the church was sold. 

CLARKSVILLE, ILLINOIS 

In 1856 near Clarksville, seven miles N. W. of Marshall, Illinois, in a fertile 
countT3r, Emmanuel Class was organized by P. Burgener of Marshall Circuit. 
Services were held in a schoolhouse. Members of the Evangelical Association 
moved here from Ohio. P. Roth built the church here in 1875 which was dedi- 
cated January 4, 1876, by J. Fuchs. Membership was 40 at this time. Due to 
the church division, a large part of the membership left. From want of suffi- 
cient members the Evangelical Association sold their church property to the 
L^nited Evangelicals in 1895. Since then the LTnited Evangelicals also quit, and 
a tornado razed the building in June, 1917. 

CLARKSVILLE, INDIANA 

This society was situated in the S. E. part of Hamilton County, Indiana, 
five miles from Noblesville. In 1849 a number of families from southern 
Pennsylvania moved here, namely: M. W. Steffey's, Jos. Fisher's, Michael Fish- 
er's, Geo. Fisher's, David Shafer's, Emmanuel Wolfgang's. Most of them 
were then U. B. people, but there was no German U. B. Class in this commu- 
nity. M. W. Steffey and Jos. Fisher went to East Germantown, Indiana, in 
January, 1850, to attend a quarterly conference of the Evangelical Association. 
Bishop Joseph Long was present and presided. A. B. Schafcr, P. E., intro- 
duced these men to quarterly conference and presented them as candidates for 
membership in the Evangelical Association. The Bishop eyed them sharply 
and asked, "Are these men of those who run around from one church to an- 
other and stay nowhere?" Schafer explained that it was the language and Chris- 
tian congeniality that induced them to make a change. "Very well, then, that 

45 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

will do," said the Bishop, and received them into the Evangelical Association 
as members and as local preachers, since both were local preachers in the U. B. 
Church in Pennsylvania. Steffey and Fisher then went home and the aforesaid 
families were organized into a class as members of the Evangelical Association. 
M. Fisher was made class-leader. When they arrived in Indiana they had form- 
ed themselves into a prayer meeting class. Such meetings were a new thing 
here. One settler said, "They are not in fashion." Steffey replied, "We will 
make them fashionable". These meetings were soon overcrowded. In 1850 
Jos. Fisher entered the active ministry, and StefTey in 1851. Others moved away 
from this section so that after some years this class had to be abandoned, 

CLARKSVILLE, OHIO 

This class was three miles south of Edgerton, Ohio. Members in 1870 were: 
John and Mary Schott, Casper and Mary Kramer (parents to Andrew and Ja- 
cob Kramer of Indianapolis), Adam and Katherine Zimmerman, Philip and 
Mary Suffer, Henry and Margaret Reash, Wm. and Susan Faust, and Rebecca 
Blascr. This class, locally known as Schotfs Class, was made up of German 
people, some of whom moved a«a\-, with the result that the English language 
finalh- prevailed in the community. 

CLE\'ELAND, TENNESSEE 

In 1888 Cleveland, Tennessee, and vicinity was taken up as a mission and 
added to Elkhart District. D. S. Oakes said, "This was another of the un- 
remunerative missions of the Indiana Conference, but fortunately this was dis- 
continued before it had consumed large sums of missionary money." He ad- 
mits, in writing, that "in a measure I was responsible for the ill-timed enter- 
prise, having been influenced by the flattering representation of D. J. Pontius 
and Bishop R. Dubs". Some Evangelical people from the North had moved 
here among whom was Pontius. He organized this class and one in Georgia, 
and a church was built and dedicated by Bishop Dubs, on January 8, 1888. 
Soon these people moved away and the field was given up. 

CLUTTER'S CLASS, OHIO 

This class was taken up by J. Beck of Celina Circuit in 1881. He received 
six members into the church, just before Conference convened in April, 1882. 
Wm. Koenig succeeded him and organized the class with John Weaver as 
class-leader. The class being English B. and K. could not give them proper 
service. It was then that D. J. Pontius of Van Wert took it in charge and had 
six accessions. In 1883 J. E. Smith of Van Wert was in charge but he soon 
discontinued the class. 

COAL-BUSH, BETHEL 

The work of the Evangelical Association here dates back to 1848, when 
tiie same men labored here as at Bremen and Mishawaka. The members in 

46 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

1853 were: Geo. and Anna Kiefer; Adam and Mary Kunz; Ulrich and Kathcrine 
Heim; Chr., Anna, and Elizabeth Wiess; Mary Bucher; Leopold, Genevieve and 
lilary Beitler; Valentine and Barbara Biekcr; Chr. Rief; Philip and Elizabeth 
Novice; Jos. and Anna Bciter; Fr. and Charlotte Ort; Henry Novice, and 
Timothy Smith. Geo. Kiefer was the first class-leader. Preachinf,' was in a 
schoolhonse. In 18S6 this class was added to South Bend Circuit. This year 
the first church was Ijuilt and dedicated November 2, 1856, free of debt. The 
society now had 34 members. During a quarterly meeting held here in 1858 
there were 16 conversions and 19 accessions. In 1872 the name South Bend Cir- 
cuit was changed to Mishawaka. In 1883 this society with Mishawaka became 
Mishawaka Mission. In the fall of 1886 a heavy wind and hail storm badly wreck- 
ed the church. After consultation the members decided to rebuild at once. On 
May 29, 1887, the church was dedicated by D. S. Oakes, P. E., the previous P. E., 
C. C. Baumgartner, preached the dedicatory sermon. This year the mission was 
added to Mishawaka Circuit. The new brick church was built in 1905, under L. 
Newman, and was dedicated December 3rd, by L. H. Seager, editor of the 
English Sunday School literature. In 1919 this class was detached from Misha- 
waka and with Autcn Chapel formed the new Mishawaka Circuit, and was 
served three years by E. J. Nitsche. In 1922 Coalbush with Lydick became 
Lydick Mission, served by E. F. Snyder. "Phis society for years has maintained 
a Sunday School and a Young People's Alliance. 

COAL-HILL, ILLINOIS 

This society was in Shelby County, Illinois, about eight miles N. E. of 
Stewardson, Illinois. It was served by N, F. Platz in 1876, being then a part 
of Shelby Mission. It soon ceased. 

COALSTONE, ILLINOIS 

This class was founded about 1870, in or near Coalstone, Illinois. In 1872 
this class was detached from Shelby Mission and added to Vandalia Mission. 
The work here was soon abandoned. 

COAL-TOWN, OHIO 

This class near Greenville, Ohio, belonged to Miami Circuit. In 1856-57 
the members were: the Fr. Silber's, the Spittler's, and the John Schmidt's fam- 
ilies. Preaching was in homes and in a Methodist Church in Coaltown. 

COMMON CENTRE, INDIANA 

The first missionary of the Evangelical Association that seems to have 
preached in this community, \'/> miles south of Royal Centre, Indiana, was 
B. Uphaus of Fulton Circuit, in 1854. In '55 he organized a society here. The 
people were very poor and the land was marshy. Progress toward building a 

47 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

church was thcrclore slow. In 1866 Common Centre, Zion, Bethlehem near 
Medaryvillc, Indiana, and Pleasant Hill, near Lake Bruce were detached from 
Fulton Circuit and formed into Pulaski Circuit with A. Parker as pastor. In 
'67, J. Keiper served here. In '68 this class was joined to Fulton Circuit again 
with J. Keiper, and J. Wales, pastors; '69-70, C. Schamo with Wm. Lueder first 
year, and Wm. Wildermuth second year. In 1870 the church was built and 
dedicated. In '71, Wm. Koenig and S. S. Albert were pastors, and in '72-73, 
Fred Launer. In '74 this society was joined to Eogansport Mission and Wm. 
Koenig served as pastor for two years. In 1876 it was placed back on Fulton 
Circuit, Wm. Wildermuth, pastor. In '77-78, D. J. Pontius was pastor, assisted 
by J. Bruckcrt the second year. In '79 Wm. Wildermuth and J. M. Dustman 
served and in '80, J. M. Dustman. In '81 Royal Centre ^Mission was formed, 
embracing Common Centre, Zion, and Ford's Crossing, Wm. Ackerman, P. C. 
In '82-83 Common Centre was a.gain served with Logansport by J, C. Schuh. 
In '84 it was jomed to Tippecanoe Mission and served by H. K. Overmeycr and 
J. H. Schniiz. I'hc latter soon resigned. In '85 Common Centre was pu* back 
with Logansport ]\Iission, served by H. E. Overmeyer two years. In '&? D. D. 
Speicher was pastor and in '88-89, G. B. Holdeman. The latter died a few days 
after Conference. In '90-91, Philip Buchler served; '92-93, J. M. Smith; '94-96, 
W. S. Tracy. In '95 with Bruce Lake and '96 with Royal Centre, in '97-99, W. E. 
Snyder served with E. Werner assisting him, the first j'ear; 1900, J. Wales; 
'01-02, A. F. Wiesjahn; '03, W. S. Tracy; '04-05, D. R. Heil; '06-07, D. A. Kaley; 
'08-09, J. S. Kroft; '10-12, W. .A. Stowell; the last year being served with Thorn 
Hope; in '13, this society was again named Common Centre, and served by 
J. M. Kistlcr; in '14, J. M. Dustman; '15, the class was discontinued and the 
members merged with Royal Centre. 

In the summer of 1911 the church here was Iiadly wrecked by a tornado. 
Against the advice of the P. E., the society straightened up the church and built 
a corner tower to it, and re-seated the church with circular pews, altered the 
seating to face the east, partly carpeted the floor and installed a new lighting 
plant, all at a cost of $1,500.00. It was re-dedicated by Editor S. P. Spreng 
this year. But the society did not rally. In 1915 the church was ordered sold 
by re<]uest of its trustees, and the proceeds given to the new Royal Centre 
Church. Also the money of the Ladies' Aid Society, and Sunday School, and 
Y. P. A. were ordered to be transferred to the respective treasuries of the Royal 
Centre Grace Church. Many souls were converted in the C. C, Church, es- 
pecially in 1880 when there were 33 conversions and 38 accessions. For years 
a Sunday School was maintained here. A Y. P. A. was organized in September, 
1895, with 26 members. Several blessed camp-meetings were held near this 
church in 1888-89. D. R. Heil came from this societj' and was recommended 
to preach in 1901. 

48 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

COMMON CENTRE, ZION 

In 1853 Peter Goctz Ijegan preaching in this locahty and orRanized a class. 
Zion is on the White and Cass County hne, ahout eight miles S. W. of Royal 
Centre, Indiana. The class was locally known as "Sand Ridge", or "Yenney's" 
Class. (See list of pastors under Common Centre.) J. Kronniiller held a re- 
vival here of great spiritual power. A heart touching scene occurred when 
mothers with their sons and daughters came to the altar with tears, and wrestled 
for pardon of sin and peace of heart. The history of this class varied little from 
that of Common Centre. In 1915 this class with !Mt. Hope became Common 
Centre Charge, hut was served with Royal Centre by L. A. DeWitt. In '16-22, 
Common Centre was served by the Royal Centre pastors. A church was built^ 
here in 1868 by J. Keiper and J. Wales. Later a tower was added. The church 
has a cemetery here. 

BELL CENTER CLASS 

This class belonged to Common Centre. It was located about five miles 
north of Zion and was organized by W. S. Tracy, in 1905-06. The services were 
held in a Lnion Church called Bell Center. The work was soon abandoned. 

COMilON CENTRE, FORD'S CROSSING 

This class was five miles S. E. from Royal Centre on the Fr. Lutman farm, 
near the east branch of the Pennsylvania R. R. It was organized by J. M. 
Dustman in 1880 and in '81, became a part of Royal Centre Mission. In 1881 a 
church was built and dedicated by E. L. Kiplinger, P. E. One man, F. Lutman, 
furnished the greater part of the money and labor in this project. The deed to 
the ground had a reversionary clause in it. By removals and lack of interest of 
the community, the work here ceased in 1892, and the church was ordered to 
be sold, the proceeds thereof to be applied to the best interest of the Conference. 
It was never sold. In the spring of 1901, L., who now lived in Elkhart, not 
wishing to claim the church as he had a right to do by law, proposed to the 
P. E., S. H. Baumgartner of Elkhart District, to take the church apart and 
re-erect it in Royal Centre, where that society needed a church. Thus it would 
be used for the Evangelical Association for which it was Iniilt. The proposition 
was accepted and a contract written up, and forwarded to Pastor A. F". Wies- 
jahn with instruction to move it at once to Royal Centre. This was promptly 
done. L. died the night before the church was moved. This removal aroused 
the community. They tried to serve an injunction, but soon learned that thev 
had no legal, or financial, or even moral, claim on it. L's wish was carried out 

COMMON CENTRE, GREEN'S CHAPEL 

About 1900 Mr. and Mrs. Geo. Green built a small chapel on their farm, 
near their dwelling with practically their own money, in order that they with 

49 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

their neighbors might have occasional preaching, since they were advanced in 
years and far from Royal Centre, or any other Evangelical Society. Later they 
deeded their whole farm to the Indiana Conference and otherwise liberally 
supported the church. They gave $1,000.00 to N. W. College Endowment Fund. 
Both parties died prior to 1917. After some litigation as to the rightful owner- 
ship of the farm, the Indiana Conference trustees and opposing contestants to 
the property, agreed to a settlement without a final court decision, but the In- 
diana Conference received only about half of the value of the farm. Services at 
Green's Chapel ceased prior to the death of Mr. and Mrs. Green. 

COMMON CENTRE, MT. HOPE 

This society is four miles west of Royal Centre. It was organized by 
W. S. Tracy in 1895, after a revival was held here. At this time the old Hope 
Church was bought. It is a weak class financially and numerically. It has been 
served with Common Centre and Royal Centre since its organization. The so- 
ciety maintains a small Sunday School. 

COMMON CENTRE, TRINITY 

H. E. Overmeyer, in 1885, held a revival in a schoolhouse about three to 
four miles N. W. of Royal Centre which resulted in the organization of Trinity 
Society with 38 members. They at once built a church which was dedicated in 
the summer of this year, three miles N. W. of Royal Centre on or near the 
Winamac Road. They also conducted a Sunday School here. The field proved 
to be unfruitful. Some folks moved away and others began going to Royal 
Centre because it was more convenient. In 1905 the church was sold for $100.00 

COVINGTON, FOUNTAIN CO., INDIANA 

This appointment was taken up about 1860. It was located on the Wabash 
R. R., west of Lafayette, Indiana. In '62 it was a part of Danville Mission 
which embraced Covington, Lafayette, Indiana, and Danville, Illinois. In '64 
it belonged to Medaryville Mission. Soon thereafter it ceased as an appoint- 
ment. 

COVINGTON, OHIO 

Covington Class, four miles east of Bradford, Ohio, was a preaching point 
in 1856 when J. Keiper of Miami Circuit in Ohio, preached here, in the home of 
Jacob Erisman. A. B. Schafer, P. E., this year held a special meeting in the 
Christian Church in Covington. In '66 it was detached from Greenville Circuit 
and added to the newly formed Montgomery Mission. There were many Ger- 
mans in this village, and services were held in the German language. But due 
to the use of the German we soon lost out, on this entire circuit. J. Hofifman 
reported to the Cliri.itUche Botschafter at this time that the English language 
should be introduced in the services. No record is found when work here ceased 

SO 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

COVINGTON, KENTUCKY 

When G. M. Hallwachs was pastor in Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1886, he con- 
ducted a Sunday School on Sunday afternoons in Covington, Kentucky, and at 
the close of the sessions he preached for the people. He stated to the historian, 
"that the prospects were good here", but after abandoning Cincinnati, this field 
also was abandoned. 

GROVERTOWN, STARK CO., ENDIANA 

In 1860 this place was taken up as an appointment. On December 23, '60, 
an evangelistic meeting was begun here. People were attentive. Some were 
converted and three united with the Evangelical Association. Nothing further 
could be found regarding this class. It was located in N. E. corner of Stark 
County. 

CULVER, INDIANA 

The Emmanuel Society of the Evangelical Association in Culver, Indiana, 
had its origin in the Zechiel Schoolhouse, four miles S. W. of Culver. The or- 
ganization -ivas effected by J. Keiper in 1852, pastor of Miami Circuit. The 
charter members were: Jacob and Wilham Zechiel and their wives, Mrs. Ried, 
Mr. Bechtel and wife, Ruljen Kaley and wife, Mother Jacob Zechiel is still 
living (1923). Three of her sons entered the ministry, namely: Fred, Daniel, 
and Samuel, and one grandson, D. A. Kaley. At the time of organization there 
was here a Union Sunday School, composed of Evangelicals, Reformed, and 
U. B.'s. Not much has been found on record of this society's early life. In 
the fall of 1871 E. E. Condo, and a M. Protestant minister held a union meeting 
here which resulted in 100 conversions and these united with the Evangelical, 
Reformed, U. E. and M. P. Churches. The M. P's later disbanded and united 
with the Evangelical Association. 

Amidst much opposition our people built a church three miles south of 
Culver. This church was built in 1872 by S. S. Albert, pastor of Twin Lake 
Circuit. In the fall it was dedicated by E. L. Kiplinger, P. E., as the "Emman- 
uel Church". The building committee was Wm. and Jacob Zechiel, Henry 
Cromley, and Henry Lohr, who were also trustees. Wm. Zechiel was the class- 
leader for many years. After the dedication a strictly Evangelical Sunday 
School was organized which has continued since. 

Quite early in the history of Twin Lake Circuit a parsonage was secured 
in Culver. Later this was sold and another was bought in the N. W. corner of 
the town. This had four rooms in it. In 1893 Twin Lake Circuit obtained the 
privilege of selling this property and applying the proceeds to the building of a 
new parsonage in a more suitable location. But not until 1902 was a new one 
built on the south end of the present church lot containing seven rooms with 
modern conveniences. 

51 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Bjf permission of Conference the Emmanuel Church, in 1899, was disniantleci 
and the material utilized in the construction of a new brick veneer church in 
Culver. The old church lot was sold and the proceeds applied to the new one. 
This church has a corner tower in which is the entrance to the auditorium, a 
class-room and gallery. It is lighted with electric lights and heated with a 
furnace. The building committee was composed of the trustees, Daniel and 
Ben Easterday, J. Cromley, and pastor, L. Newman. The church was dedicated 

Aug. , 1899, by Noah Shupp of Oregon, then on a visit here with his 

brother-in-law. In 1917 the old church site in the countrj' was sold and the 
proceeds applied to the Culver Station building fund. Culver became a mission 
ni 1917. 

A Great Revival 

In the winter of 1905, Presiding Elder, S. H. B., conducted a revival of 12 
days for Pastor McConnehey who was ill. Such marked divine manifestations 
he never saw l)efore nor since in a revival. On invitation, four penitents came 
to the altar the second night, more the ne.xt night, and one night 32 crowded 
around the altar while others knelt at the seats. Conviction siezed the young 
and old mightily over the entire audience. Young converts rushed forth to lead 
others to the altar. Some had great struggles before they had peace. One 
wicked young man declared, 'T will go to hell and there shovel coal into a hell 
furnace before I will go out to the altar". But the ne.xt night he was at the altar 
seeking pardon. Another who had abused a boy in the beginning of the tneet- 
ing, had been arrai,gncd lictore a magistrate and heavily fined, the next night 
he came to the altar, but before he could find peace and pardon he had to go 
to the boy's parents and ask forgiveness of them for his misdeed. An angry 
dancing master could no longer rally his dancers on his flat-boat, "\^'hitc-Swan", 
on Maxinkuckkee Lake and declared that his dancing parties were broken up 
for six months. The preacher renamed his lioat the devil's "Black-Swan". 
During these 12 days over 100 persons bowed at the altar, many of them were 
gloriously saved, and joined one of the five denominations that participated in 
this meeting. Two, not Jewish women, but wives of tw-o Jews, were among the 
converts. The men attended some meetin.gs and expressed their pleasure over 
the good results of this meeting, though they did not accept Christ. 

In 1913 by request of Culver Society it became a station. This was a .great 
undertaking. The society retained the parsonage and refunded to the Culver 
Circuit $500.00. For pastors up to September, 1868, see under Akron. In '68 
Twin Lake Circuit was formed, to which this class belon.ged. D. T. Pontius 
was pastor in '68; '69, E. E. Condo; '70, C. Schamo and Wm. Wildermuth 
served jointly with Fulton Circuit; '71, R. Rasslcr; '72, S. S. Albert; '73-74, A. R. 
Shafer; '75-76, A. Hartzler; 11, D. S. Oakes; '78, Wm. Wildermuth; '79-80, H. 
Prechtel; '81, W. Wildermuth; '82, H. E. Overmeyer; '83, B. F. Dill; '84-86, R. 
Rainey; '87-88, E. E. Meyers; '89-90, J. M. Dustman; '91, H. E. Overmeyer; 

52 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

'92-94, J. Rees; '95, J. M. Dustman; '96, P. L. Spcicher; '97-1900, L. Newman; 
the name Twin Lake was changed to Culver in 1899; 1901-03, P. L. Browns; 
'04-05, C. McConnehey; '06-08, F. B. Walmer; '09, W. S. Tracy; '10-12, T. J. 
Russel; he resigned January, 1913, and J. E. ^'oung filled the vacancy, and serv- 
ed two years more; '15-17, F. L. Snyder; '18-20, W. H. Wygrant; '21-22, G. A. 
VVeishaar; '23, B. F. Walmer. The Presiding Elders of the Elkhart District 
served this charge. 

CUMBERLAND, INDIANA 

This society was near Cumberland, 15 miles east of Indianapolis. It was 
taken up as an appointment in 1867, with Indian Creek and Julietta became 
Cumberland Mission, with Wm. Wesseler as pastor for two years. In '68 the 
field name was changed to Sulphur Springs. In '69-70, J. C. Schuh served. In 
1871 it became a part of North Side Indianapolis Mission and remained here 
until '76, when it became a part of Julietta Mission. In 1884 it was attached to 
First Church, Indianapolis, but Ijack to Julietta in '85. In '86-87 the Mission 
was supplied. In '88 it again had regular pastors. J. Rees be.gan to preach in 
a Baptist Church. He oljtained some members. In the winter of 1890, D. D. 
Spangler had a revival in this church, resulting in 10 accessions. 01)jections 
being raised by some Baptist people to the holding of services in their church, 
the class built a church, 28 x 40 feet, in Cumberland. It was dedicated in Octo- 
ber, 1891. The cost was .$1,000.00. Most of the timl)er was donated. In '93 it 
was served with East Germantown. In '94 it with Mt. Comfort and Spring Val- 
ley, constituted Cumberland Mission. In '96 it was served with Second Church 
in Indianapolis, and was a few years later entirely abandoned. 

DANVILLE, ILLINOIS 

This town was taken up as an appointment in 1859 by M. Mayer and D. J. 
Pontius of Marshall Circuit. In Decenil)er, 1860, J. M. Kronmiller inade a visit 
here and found five members. He purposed to organize a class, but it was de- 
ferred. In September, 1862, this place was served with Wabash Mission, com- 
prising Lafayette, Danville, and Covington, county scat of Fountain Co., In- 
diana. In '63 Philip Schwartz served; '64 it belonged to Medaryville Mission, 
served by D. Bartholomew. In '65 Wabash Mission was re-established with 
D. S. Oakes, pastor. He organized a society here and built a church 30 x 40 
feet, which was dedicated in the fall of '66. The services were all English. In 
'66-67, E. L. Kiplinger served; in '68 the western part of Wabash Mission be- 
came Danville Mission, E. E. Condo, pastor. In '69 S. S. Albert served Spring 
Grove Mission, including Danville. In '71 H. E. Overmeyer served. In '72 
Danville Mission was again re-formed with S. S. Condo, pastor; '73, J. Rassler; 
'74, left to be supplied, and likely was served Ijy S. S. Condo with Spring Grove. 
From '75-78 with Spring Grove again served two years by L. W. Crawford and 
two years by E. D. Einsel. In '79 the church was ordered to be sold. 

53 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 
DAYTON, COMMERCIAL ST. 

The annals of this society begin with 1839, or spring of 1840, when Long- 
break preached the first sermon in Dayton that was preached by a preacher of 
the Evangelical Association. Many Germans lived here then which induced our 
Chiirch to do missionary work ainong them. The people lacked the true Gospel 
and true shepherds. In May, 1840, the Ohio Conference sent A. B. Schafer and 
Levi Heiss on Miami Circuit, which covered 11 counties in south-western Ohio, 
and extended into Wayne Co., Indiana. By order of Conference special at- 
tention was given Dayton. Once every three weeks they preached here. In 
May, 1841, S. organized a society with 21 members: namely, Peter and Otilla 
Schneider, John and Mary Guenther, Mary Meyers, Albert and Barbara Ress- 
ner, Chr. Ament, Fred and Elizabeth Meyer, Henry and Rel:)ecca Lutz, were 
among the charter members. 

The Need of a Church 
In May, 1841, the Ohio Conference detached all Indiana appointments. 
Shafcr was returned to Miami Circuit with A. Nicolai as helper. They, alter- 
nating, preached once a week in Dayton. This year ended with 30 members, 
May, 1842, J. C. Zinser, P. E.. and Fred flayer, P. C. October 12, Z. reported 
in the Cliri.sllivlic Bulxvliiiflir, "On October 15th we began a Big Meeting in the 
M. E. Church in Dayton. Weeping penitents filled the altar. Mayer held an 
e.xtra meeting in a private home, as the M. E. Church was not longer available. 
The crowded condition in the house was convincing that a church was sorely 
needed for eff^ectivc work." Zinser was asked how the means to build a church 
could ])e secured. This greatly stirred him in sympathy toward his Gospel- 
hungry people. He made an appeal through the Chrixtlichc Bolschafter, saying, 
"Shall we al)andon this city for the want of a church? No, these people, new 
mem1)ers of the Evangelical Association, are dear to me, their needs lie heavy 
upon my heart. With present conditions our work here will largely be lost to 
us, and Christ's cause must sufl:er. Those who know city conditions know 
that without a church little can be done for the Lord. City folks hesitate to go 
to meetings in private homes. But how shall we proceed to get a church and pay 
for it? I scarcely have courage to appeal to country friends for aid, who already 
responded to other appeals, lest I weary them." Members in the Ohio Confer- 
ence previously had agreed to help, so he now appealed to them. He planned a 
$1,000.00 brick church, and believed 200 men could be found on the district that 
would give $5.00 each. He headed the list with $5.00. But money was scarce. 
Responses came slowly. Another appeal was made. Early in 1843 after another 
"Big Meeting", he reported, "Oh, how depressing to the people that they have 
no church." The M. E. Church was available only afternoons on Saturday and 
Sunday. Sunday nights they worshipped in densely crowded homes which 
was a disadvantage in working with penitents. 

On MsLy 31, 1843, A. B. Shafer, pastor, again held a revival service in a 

54 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

home. Afterwards it was decided to find a more convenient place for worship 
and for Sunday School which had been organized. The next clay S. and a 
brother, to their great joy, secured a hall in the City Seminary, corner 4th and 
V/ilkinson Streets, and no rent was charged. On Friday, June 2nd, steps were 
taken for building a church. Trustees were elected, namely; A. Rossner, P. 
Schneider, and J. Guenther. Nearly enough money had been pledged on th'j 
circuit and in Dayton to build a roomy church. The location of the church lot 
was at the corner of Walnut and Sth Streets. The price paid for was $200.00. 
The first church building was erected on the rear end of the lot, costing $400.00. 
The front of the lot was reserved for a larger church building. On Pentecost 
Sunday, 1843, Shafer preached his first sermon in the Seminary Hall. Meetings 
held here were highly spiritual. The new church was dedicated on September 
3, '43, by Shafer as "Bethel" Church of the Evangelical Association. In the 
celebration of the Lord's Supper 100 participated. God's blessings were gra- 
cious. The giving of the emblems was repeatedly interrupted. At the evening 
service penitents were at the altar. It was felt that this was God's approval 
upon this new enterprise. S. held five short revivals this year. Fifty persons 
were saved and joined church. From April 4-8 he witnessed the most powerful 
meeting he ever saw. Penitents from 50-73 years of age sought and found 
pardon. 

Tn May, 1844, John Hall became pastor, '45, Fr. Mayer again; '46, Jacob 
Burket, J. J. Klopp, P. E. The work progressed. The Sunday School was 
growing. A girl in six months memorized the epistles of James and Jude, and 
133 other Scripture verses. In '47, L. Hciss was pastor and J. G. Zinser, P. E. 
On July 23, Bishop Jos. Long visited Dayton this year. A quarterly meeting 
service was in progress. The bishop preached three times to the great enjoy- 
ment of God's people. 

First Parsonage and Second Church 

In May, 1848, Geor.ge F. Spreng was assigned here. This summer a parson- 
age was built out of the first church. Prosperity made it necessary for a larger 
church. In '49 Spreng was returned. On a collecting tour he obtained over 
$400.00 for the new two-story brick church which was erected in 1849. The first 
story was ready for use in the spring of 1850 and the second one in 1851. This 
church, which still stands, was 38 x 50 feet and the cost was $2,700.00. It was 
dedicated October 12, 1851, by A. B. Shafer. 

May, 1850, A. B. Shafer was again pastor. The Sunday School enrollment 
was 80-90. A great religious awakening came upon the churches of the city 
this year. The subject of religion was the daily talk on the streets and in the 
factories. Many once bitter opponents to experiental religion now yielded and 
accepted Christ. In '51, A. Nicolai was pastor and Shafer, P. E. On Monday, 
October 13, 1851, N. preached his farewell sermon, having been appointed as 
Missionary to Germany. Amidst weeping and expressions of good wishes pas- 

, 55 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

tor and people parted. On October 15th Geo. Kaag of Pickawaj' Circuit wa.s 
tranpferrecl liere. He reported pro,a;ress and many people saved. Sunday 
School was now held in the forenoon and in the afternoon. In 1852 A. E. Dreis- 
hach was pastor. January 15, 1853, D. being ill, Schafer began a revival, Chr. 
Glaus of the Indiana Conference and J. G. Zinser and J. H. Wolpert were pres- 
ent and preached with power. Each night as many as 20 penitents were at the 
altar. Many were saved and 20 joined church. A new class was formed. In 
May, 1853, Gottlieb F. Behner was pastor. The venerable John Dreisbach be- 
came pastor during this year. The reason is not given. He reported 18 con- 
versions. '54, Daniel Strohman; '55, L. Scheurmann; and A. E. Dreisbach, P. E. 

DAYTON CEEDED TO INDIANA CONFERENCE 

In May, 1856, the Ohio Conference eeeded Dayton to the Indiana Confer- 
ence and all other appointments in south-western Ohio then a part of the Great 
Miami Circuit. June, 1856, L. Scheurmann was returned as pastor. Dayton was 
added to Whitewater District, A. B. Schafer, P. E. In December, 1856, Bishop 
John Seybert came here on a visit. He reported to the CJiri.slliche Bolschafter- 
"This society experienced in late years severe trials and siftings, which nearly 
shattered the society, but by (jod's aid things begin to look more hopeful." In 
1856 Dayton appointment was made a station. It had a "poor fund" of $70 to 
aid the needy in the church. This fund has since been maintained by quarterly 
offerings, taken at the time of quarterly meetings. In September, 1857-58, M. W. 
Steffej' was assigned here. He writes aliout the difficulties in the society men- 
tioned by the Bishop as follows: "There was a schism in the society over 'works 
and faith' ". One faction called themselves "Evangelicals" who claimed that 
"faith" is all that is needed without corresponding good works. The other fac- 
tion was called "legalists" because they depended too much on mere "works". 
Stefifey, seeing the difficult situation, took a middle course, and asserted, "that 
in one sense they were both right and in another sense both were wrong". He 
taught them, "Faith without works is dead, and works without faith is not 
pleasing to God, and that where true faith exists it will show itself by works." 
Thus he succeeded in reconciling the two factions. Thereupon souls were 
saved and many were added to the church. He had 46 conversions and 40 ac- 
cessions. In '59-60, P. H. Eretsch; '61-62, Fred. Wiethaup; '63-64, J. Fuchs. In 
January to February '65, he had a six-week's revival assisted by his P. E. and 
others, that resulted in 46 conversions and 54 accessions. In '65-66, J. M. Gomer; 
'67-68, M. Hoehn; '69-70, M. W. Steffey; '71-72, M. Klaiber. He reported a 
five-week's revival which resulted in new spiritual life of older and younger 
members, in reconcilliations, in the reclaiming of backsliders and in 80 conver- 
sions and in about 60 accessions. '73-75, J. Kaufman; '76-77, J. K. Troyer; 
'78-79, J. M. Gomer; '80-81, C. F. Hansing; '82-84, M. W. Steffey; '85-87, M. 
Hoehn; '88-90, C. C. Beyrer; '91, C. F. Hansing; '92, J. Hoffman; '93-96, J. Kauf- 

56 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

man; '97-1900, J. M. Haug; '01-04, Fr. Schweitzer; '05-09, J. H. Evans; '10-14, 
B. Schuermeier. For pastors from 187,V1915 see Volume I. '15-19, D. E. 
Zechiel; '20-23, B. E. Koenig, 

THIRD CHURCH 

The present church site was Ijought in 1870 for $2,500.00. The present par- 
sonage was built in 1S73. The Iniilding committee for this church was Peter 
Grimm, C. Weinman, J. Duerr, J. Schoenhcrr, H. Fishljach, C. Mehr, J. Hoehn, 
and Pastor J. Kaufman. The corner-stone was laid April 25, 1875. The old 
church was sold March 22, 1876. for $5,500.00. The new one is 45 x 80 feet on 
a lot SZyi X 116 feet. The tower is 112 feet high. The church was dedicated 
April 30, 1876, by Bishop R. Dubs. The cost was about $15,000.00. In '85 
Hoehn reported that repairs were made on the church while a heavy indebted- 
ness still remained. To add to their difificultics the church treasurer failed in 
business, having considerable church funds at the time in his trust. The Ladies' 
Aid Society undertook to pay the amount equal to the interest on the loss. Re- 
ports that the church must be sold and that the society was about to disljand 
were current. H. heroically undertook to lift the debt. The church tower of 
stone was built at a cost of $1,000.00, which was mostly paid by the young peo- 
ple who nobly stood b3' the pastor. The interior was renovated and later the 
church debt was lifted. The defaulting treasurer was again converted and re- 
stored the lost money. A pipe organ, costing $1,000.00, was then installed, the 
parsonage enlarged, and H's term ended with the society contributing $2,000.00 
for the Wayne Ave. Church. The first year of his pastorate was crowned with 
70 conversions and accessions, mostly young people. 

This society seems to have the distinction of having had the first organiza- 
tion of a Young People's Society'. This organization was effected in 1884. The 
Ladies' Aid Society was organized in 1875, and the Woman's Missionary So- 
ciety, July 24, 1893. The following ministers came from this society: Geo. 
Berstecher, 1872; J. A. Tiedt, 1890; E. W. Praetorius, 1904; and F. Kuebler, 
1921, 

The Memorable "Flood" 

The flood of March 27-30, 1913, brought loss to many of the members and 
sadly affected the church property. The lower stories of the church and of the 
parsonage were flooded — reaching the second stories. The friends of the church 
in the Conference came to the aid of the society as at other places, so that the 
loss was nicely covered and the needed re.iovations and repairs were made. 

DAYTON, SOUTHEAST 

In 1869 a mission was ordered to be established in the southeast part of 
the city on the elevation, and if possible to be supplied with a pastor. The 
boundary line between this mission and the mother society was to be drawn 

57 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

l)y the P. E., the station pastor, and the missionary. No further steps were 
taken. In 71 the plan was abandoned. 

DAYTON, FOUR MILES SOUTH 

John Fuchs reported in February, 1865, that he held a meeting four miles 
from Dayton in the home of one Steiner. This was then served with the Day- 
ton Society. In 1872 it likely belonged to Montgomery Circuit, when E. R. 
Trover served it. He reports that he served a society four miles south of the 
city, in a schoolhouse, where he held a revival meeting. After a two-weeks' 
effort the meetings became very interesting, and sinners were repenting. Then 
the schoolhouse was locked against him. T. now held his meeting in a private 
house. After a few nights, through the efforts of his friends, the schoolhouse 
was re-opened to him, and the meeting continued, finally with the organization 
of a class of 13 members. No further history of this class could be found. 

DAYTON, WAYNE AVE. 

This organization was called forth to supply a long felt need of an EngHsh 
Society in this city to hold our young people in our own church. The first or- 
ganization was effected by members of the Commercial Street Church. In 1884 
Conference ordered the location of an English Mission in Dayton, but it was 
not done until April, 1888. A. O. Raber became first missionary. He organized 
the society June 5, '88, with 29 charter members, namely: Rev. A. O. Raber and 
wife, E. F. and Ida Kimmel, J. F. and Catherine Ditzel, Wm. H. and Louise 
Kimmel, Anna Kimmel, W. H. H. and Clara Ecki, Barbara, Carrie, Mary and 
Jacob Weinman; Harriet Kimmel; Jeannett Lorenz; Silvia Klinkert; Chas. 
Pfaul; Lulu and Cora Pfeffer; Wm. Strahler; Zillian Frank; Judge J. L. Frank; 
Wm. Class; H. L. and Josie Roepkin. Conference appointed a building com- 
mittee, namely: H. Arlen, P. E., C. C. Beyrer, pastor of Com. St. Church, A. O. 
Raber, J. F. Ditzel, Peter Grimm, E. Pfaul, the last two of the First Church, 
and O. D. Casterline of the Raper M. E. Church who later joined this Mission. 
Over $1,800.00 had already been pledged prior to Conference. The pastor raised 
more money, and a church site was soon purchased on the corner of Wayne and 
Xenia Avenues, for $2,500.00. Prior to our beginning here the M. E. Church 
conducted a Sunday School in Billit's Hall on Wayne Avenue. Dissatisfied 
with this locality, the Raper Society surrendered the Wayne Ave. Sunday School 
to a group of workers mainly of the Commercial St. Evangelical Church, who 
had been contemplating an English Mission in this part of the city. These con- 
tinued this Sunday School without interruption until the new frame church of 
the Evangelical Association was ready for service. Here also this newly or- 
ganized society first worshipped. 

First and Second Church 

The first church built was a frame building, erected in 1888, and dedicated 

58 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

October 7th by Bishop J. J. Esher as Wayne Ave. Church. At this time the 
General Board of Missions was in session in the Commercial St. Church. By 
request of the society all bishops participated in the dedication, namely; Dubs 
preached in the morning, Esher in the afternoon, and Bowman in the eveninR. 
The cost of the church with lot was $6,OO0.0U. The first trustees were: E. F. 
Kimmel, J, F. Ditzel, Judge Frank, Wm. Class, and H. L. Roepkin. Ditzel was 
the contractor and did much toward raising the funds and assisting the pastor. 
The Ladies' Aid Society was organized July, '88, and worked hard in securing 
funds to supply the furniture and equipments. On April 24, 1890, a Woman's 
Missionary Society was organized. First cxhortcr was W. H. Kimmel, first 
S. S. superintendent, E. F. Kimmel; first Ladies' Aid Society and W. M. S. 
president, Mrs. A. O. Raber. 









^ '•■_.. 
















^^^\ 






5 ^,_,..„;.,.....„..»^.^--gy. -gAgJJ 


^^^E1 




«s^^ 


-p 


H 


HB|^lEW|r ^ 


m 


m 


^^a 


g?^^^^^^^ 


MKS?^^jB^^wP^|w --MB 


*^^tSSfcgi 


^,ir:^ *•-«»..« 





Wayne Ave., Dayton, Ohio. 

Under the pastorate of G. B. Kimmel, a son of this society, in 1907, the 
society built their present home of worship, a Ijrick structure. It is on the old 
site and has all modern equipments. The cost involved in its erection was 
$20,000.00. This church has a worship-inviting auditorium. It has a pipe organ, 
choir loft and choir rooms. To the rear of the auditorium is the S. S. audi- 
torium with class rooms under and above the gallery. The basement contains 
the Primary Department. This church was dedicated by Bishop S. C. Brey- 
fogel of Reading, Pa., Nov. 4, '07. The indebtedness was more than covered bv 
pledges. The blessing of God rested upon this work and prosperity has been 
continuous. 

59 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

On OctolxT 19, 1913, the mcniliers of this society celebrated the silver an- 
niversary of their organization. The S. S. enrollment was SIS. The church 
membership was 320. Aggressive auxiliary organizations also are prosperous. 

Due to the loss caused by the great flood, March 27-30, 1913, it was thought 
inipracticalde to celeljrate on the anniversary day, June 5th, hence the post- 
ponement. The cancellation of the church indebtedness was undertaken at this 
occasion. The opening service was a S. S. rally. The attendance was 417, the 
collection, $80.00, w'hich was given as help against the indebtedness. Editor 
G. Heinmiller was the chief speaker this day, and rendered most acceptable 
service. At 3 p. m. pastor Breish conducted a reminiscence service. The roll 
of the charter members was called. Messages from former pastors were read. 
Greetings by the pastor of the mother church and by the president of the Day- 
ton Ministerial Association were given in person. The burning of the mortgage 
took place at the evening service. The total amount raised this daj' was $1,338.00, 
surplus, $212.00. During the flood, this society threw open its doors as a reserve 
hospital and lodging station, as the church is located within a square of the 
flood point. Over 500 were fed here each day, and our people distributed much 
clothing to the flood victims and otherwise ministered to their needs. This 
Good Samaritan deed greatly commended itself to the city at large. In this 
tragic flood, the pastor. Rev. J. H. Breish, was caught in an onward rolling 
torrent of water, and was rescued and held marooned for many hours in a dark 
cold attic. Thus increasing financial obligations have always been cheerfully 
met. The material prosperity of its members has not lured them froin the 
church's supreme task, the winning of the unsaved for God's kingdom. 

The first Y. P. A. was organized June 23, 1892, with G. B. Kimmel as its 
first president, and has continued in a prosperous way. All au.xiliary organiza- 
tions have been valuable assets to the church for increasing the membership. 
In November, 1911, a Brotherhood Societj^ was organized by Pastor Breish 
with 80 memliers for Ijetter social purposes. A Missionary Guild for the young 
women was founded by Mrs. Agnes Hirschman, October, 1914, with 50 members. 
They did extensive and intensive missionary work and repeatedly won the 
Y. P. A. banner for the largest missionary offerings in the Conference. In 
honor of its founder, who died a few weeks later, its name was changed to 
"Agnes Chapter". In 1916 the pastor, C. A. Hirschman, organized a "Young 
Men's Club" in an effort to train them better for the services of the church. 

For pastors who served here see Volume I. '14-19, C. A. Hirschman; '20-23, 
A. H. Doescher. 

DEAFLY APPOINTMENT 

This class was a part of the Van Wert Mission in 1886. It had a Sunday 
School. S. S. Albert held a revival here in March, 1886, and received 26 mem- 
bers. The geographic location can not be definitely given. There is no further 
history. 

60 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

DECATUR, INDIANA 

Peter Wiest in 1865 reported that he held a meeting in Decatur in a private 
home. Aljout this time preaching services were held in Chr, Schafer's home, 
located where the present County Infirmary is, which resulted in 10 conversions 
and the same number of accessions. In 1870 S. S. Condo organized a society 
in this place. Charter-members were: Solomon and Mary Linn; Chr, and Cath- 
erine Schafer; Henry and Elizabeth Folk; Jacob and Mrs. Buehler; Elias and 
Anna Wentzel; Fred and Margaret Cook, and Katherine Ahr. Services were 
first held in the old Adams County Court House. This class was then served 
v\-ith Jerusalem, seven miles N. E.; Schafer's, 2^^ miles S. E.; Zion, seven miles 
N. W.; Clocks and Reserve, still further N. W.; Salem, two miles east; and 
Young's schoolhouse, one mile south of present Calvary Church. In 1872 St. 
Mary's Circuit was divided and the English appointments were constituted De- 




Decatur Church, Decatur, Ind. 



catur Circuit. In 1874 Decatur and Salem became Decatur Mission, J. F. Bock- 
man, pastor. 

A frame church, 32 x 50 feet, was built in 1873 and dedicated as "Salem" 
Church by Editor R. Dubs of Cleveland, Ohio, G. W. Freehafer and C. C. 
Beyrer were associate pastors of St. Mary's and Decatur Circuits. First board 
of trustees were: Fred Cook, John Kern, and Elias Wentzel. Kern was a 
member of the Salem Class. This church obtained the nick-name "Frog-eyed" 
church, due to the fact that the church was built on a low place on posts. Water 
collected and often remained a long while under it during the spring months. 
Frogs sang their songs beneath it, while the church people sang within. The 
Sunday School was organized in 1873 and had 90 in attendance the second Sun- 
day after the dedication of the church. After dedication, Freehafer and Beyrer 
held a revival here, resulting in eight conversions and ten accessions. This was 

61 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

a strange kind of meeting to many people here. Many came led by curiosity, 
even the Catholic priest came twice, reported F. In 78 this Mission was re- 
attached to St. Mary's Circuit. 

Tabernacle Meeting 

September 9-18, 1881, a tabernacle holiness meeting was held here, J. M. 
Dustman, pastor, and M. Krueger, P. E. Special holiness workers were here. 
During this meeting a sudden wind and rain storm broke the guyrope. The 
center post broke and buried most of the people under the canvas. No one was 
seriously hurt, nor did any scream from fright. Soon the people were rescued 
and they sang and praised God as though nothing unusual had occurred. When 
the tabernacle was struck by the storm the congregation ^vas singing, "In the 
rifted rock I'm resting. Safely sheltered I abide. There no storms, nor fears 
molest me, While within the cleft I hide". The next morning the tent was re- 
erected. 

In April, 1881, Decatur and Young's (Calvary) Class became Decatur Mis- 
sion. In 1882 the society built a convenient parsonage on the lot adjoining the 
church lot on the south, which was used until 1923. In January, '83, a gracious 
revival resulted in 11 conversions and 14 accessions, and the following Decem- 
ber, Dustman reported another revival with 40 conversions and accessions. He 
served here 'Sl-83; in '84-85, A. R. Shafer; '86-87, J. E. Stoops. During the 
winter of the first year he had a great revival here, resulting in nearly 100 con- 
versions and many accessions among whom were A. Van Camp, Chas. McCon- 
nehey, and E. Elzy, all of them were later licensed to preach. When the people 
here got the word that Stoops was their pastor, they thought the work was 
now doomed. Stoops, having continued the aforesaid revival for two weeks 
without results, the officials suggested the closing of the meeting on Sunday 
night. Instead S. publicly announced, "The officials wanted me to close th'' 
meeting tonight, but I am running this meeting, and it will continue through 
the week." Before the week closed a wonderful revival of religion broke out 
with the above results. The following spring the Indiana Conference session 
was held here, with Bishop R. Dubs, presiding (1888). 

June 23, '89, a Woman's Missionary Society was organized; the Y. P. A. 
after General Conference in 1891; and the Ladies' Aid Society, May 27. '92. 
This last one has proved to be a great and financial asset to the local church. 
J. J. Wise reported, January, '95, a remarkable revival, because the strong con- 
viction first seemed fo have gripped the unsaved. For a while, as it were, it 
seemed the church and pastor had to run to keep up with the tide. He said, 
"The church and pastor were carried far out into the deep ocean of God's 
love. At one service there was sobbing and weeping throughout the entire con- 
gregation. The people came in throngs for five weeks, 64 were saved and 49 
joined the church." '96-97, C. VV. Wendall; '98-99, W. H. Mygrant, who re- 
modeled the church by adding a corner tower containing main entrance. A 

62 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

pulpit recess was built for the choir, Artglass windows were put in, new pews 
replaced the old ones, and a furnace was installed, all at a cost of $1,250.00. 
Editor S. P. Spreng re-dedicated the church. 1900, D. Martz; '01-02, S. I. 
Zechiel; '03, S, S. Albert; '04-07, A. B. Haist; '08-11, D. O. Wise; '12-16, J. H. 
Rilling. In 1916 a new brick edifice was erected on the old site. J. H. Rilling 
introduced Rally Day services to build up the Church Building Fund. Fiv.' 
such services yielded $687.72. On March 4, 1917, the church was dedicated by 
Bishop S. P. Spreng. The cost was $16,700.00. On this day $7,000.00 was raised. 
The previous amounts were largely raised by the heroic efforts of the Ladies' 
Aid Society, S. S., Y. P. A. organizations, raising $2,500, $1,700, and $350, re- 
spectively. Some of these funds were collected under A. B. Haist and D. O. 
Wise, preceding pastors. The church contains an auditorium with gallery on 
three sides, 10 class-rooms, and a choir loft. The total seating capacity is 450. 
The church has semi-indirect lighting system, a coinplete system of ventilation, 
and a well equipped basement for religious and social gatherings. During 
Killing's administration there were 103 conversions and 144 accessions, 70 of 
these during the Honeywell union revival meeting. '17-22, C. L. Haney. April, 
1920, Conference session was held here. During H's time the indebtedness was 
liquidated. For pastors before 1872, see St, Mary's Circuit. 

DEFIANCE, OHIO— BRUNNERSBURG 

The history of this part of Conference missionary work is quite fragmen- 
tary. As a denomination we have labored in and about Defiance since 1846, 
when Wm. Kolb of DeKalb Circuit made a visit to Brunnersburg, two miles 
N. W. of Defiance, and vicinity. In December, 1852, A Nicolai and Fred Schuer- 
man of DeKalb Circuit held a meeting in Brunnersburg, resulting in eight con- 
versions. This place became the means of founding other appointments in 
Defiance County. When Defiance obtained two railroads, Brunnersburg grad- 
ually died out, and with it our work here as a church also. The appointments in 
Defiance County belonged to DeKalb Circuit until 1860, when Defiance Circuit 
was formed of all appointments lying east of the St. Joseph River in Ohio, 
which consisted of 11 regular appointments, all German. For pastors see De- 
Kalb Circuit up to 1860. After Conference session, 1859, Geo. A. Hertel secured 
a parsonage in Brunnersburg for $300.00. One room was arranged for church 
services. In 1861 another more comfortable parsonage was bought by B. Up- 
haus. Here the preachers of this work resided for many years. For pastors 
from 1862-77 see Defiance, Volume I. In 1877 the work in Brunnersburg was 
abandoned and the remaining members were transferred to Salem which now 
was the leading society. 

DEFIANCE, EAST SIDE 
This class was on the east side of the Auglaize River. Preaching began 
here as early as 1855. Services were held in private houses. But at this time 

63 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

G. G. Platz, P. E., held a quarterly meeting in the German M, E. Church. 
I'rom lack of harmony the class soon disbanded. 

DEFIANCE KAISER SCHOOLHOUSE AND GRACE 

The Kaiser Schoolhouse appointment was about three miles west of Defiance. 
It was taken up by J. W. IMetzner in 1902. He held a meeting here, resulting in 
twent}" conversions and the organization of a society of 25 members. It be- 
came a part of Defiance Circuit. In 1906 J. S. Kroft had 24 conversions here. 
In 1909 this class with South Olive and Trinity became Defiance Mission. 
Members having moved into Defiance, J. J. Wise, P. E., in February, 1912, had 
C. D. Ringgenberg and E. H. Baumgartner conduct an evangelistic meeting in 
the Fire Station Hall at the crossing of the Wabash and B. & O. R. R.'s. The 
results were hopeful. The Kaiser Class and West Defiance were now merged. 
1912-14, E. H. Baumgartner, pastor. In April, 1913, this society bought two 
lots in "Pleasant Home" addition, nearer the center of the city, for $375.00. 
The lots were deeded to the trustees of the Grace Society, Defiance, Ohio, 
Indiana Conference, of the Evangelical Association, and their successors. 
1914, E. D. Haley, pastor; '15-17, W. H. Flurkey. Hicksville was added in 1915. 
The society was discontinued in 1918 from lack of cooperation. The two lots 
were sold in 1919 and the proceeds ordered held in trust for Defiance for five 
years. If not re-invested here in that length of time, the proceeds shall flow in- 
to the Permanent Mission, Building Fund of the Indiana Conference. 

DEFIANCE RIVER SIDE 

Some members having moved into North Defiance from the Salem Class, 
F. L. Snyder organized them into a class in '88 or '89. In 1890, S. H. Pontius, 
pastor. The members of this charge pledged $1,100.00 toward a church. J. 
Wales was secured to aid in securing the funds. He stayed two months and so- 
licited $1,800.00 in pledges. Later M. L. Scheidler of Hicksville assisted. One 
night Wales was out late collecting money. Returning to his home, crossing 
the Maumec River bridge, a city policeman stopped him, inquiring why he was 
out so late. W. explained his business and solicited him for help. The police- 
man gave him $10 in cash. In 1890 a brick church was built on the north side, 
east of Main Street, near the river. On December 21, '90 it was dedicated by 
Bishop T. Bowman as "River Side" Church. In '94 F. L. Snyder, pastor, re- 
ported, "Attendance doubled, church not full, and heavily in debt, the city wick- 
ed and spiritually dead." In '95 H. Stcininger reported a great revival here, but 
the fruits did not abide. In 1905 the society ceased to function, the church was 
sold to the "New Light" Christian people who had a College in this part of De- 
fiance. Like some other societies this one proved to be an expense and worry 
to the Conference and with no abiding results. The Conference donated this 
society $1,000.00. 

64 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

DEFIANCE, CALVARY 

This society, 11 miles S. E. of Defiance, near Ayersvillc, Ohio, was organ- 
ised about 1870. !M embers were: Jacoli and Mary Roth, Matilda Roth, Isaac 
aid Eliza Miller and children, Isadore, John, Israel and Ida, Wm. and Martha 
Shupp, Martha Moon, Henry Weisman, and Joseph Drake. It Ijecame a part of 
Deiiance Mission in 1875, comprising- this class, Salem, South Olive, Brunners- 
burg and Springfield. At this time roads often were ahiiost impassable, which 
made it difficult to hold revivals. In '76, due to the scarcity of preachers, this 
m.ission was served with Edgorton. In '79 it was again alone. In August, 1881, 
J. E. Smith held a "Bush Meeting" here. Out of it grew a desire for a place of 
worship. Pledges were taken for the erection of a church. Up to this time 
services were held in a schoolhouse and occasionally in a Baptist Church near 
by, and at other times in private homes. A frame church, 32x45 feet was built, 
costing $2,000.00. $572.18 was raised at the time of the dedication, November 
19, 1882, Wm. Yost of Cleveland, Ohio, officiating. S. S. Albert was pastor. In 
'83 J. E. Stoops reported a nice increase in membership. In the fall of '84 D. E. 
Hoover, in an eight-week's revival, had 49 conversions and 44 accessions with a 
much stronger society spiritually. In '96 H. Steininger closed a revival here 
with 71 saved and 50 accessions. In 1908 this church was put on a new founda- 
tion. D. R. Heil, '16-21, reported 79 conversions and renewals, and 28 accessions. 
Early in its history a Simday School was organized and has since been main- 
tained. 

DEFIANCE, SALEM 

This society was formed about 1846-47. Services were first held in a log 
church, one mile west of Salem Church, which belonged to the Evangelicals, 
U. B.'s and the Reformed Churches in this community. Some of our first fam- 
ilies here were: Helmich's, Kuhn's, Dickman's and Deeppe's. Finally, the 
Union Church was disbanded and our people built a church in 1870, 44x32 feet, 
costing $1,100.00. This church was dedicated August 21, 1870, by M. Krueger, 
P. E., D. J. Pontius, pastor. A Sunday School was also maintained from its 
early history. From this society the church obtained special workers, viz., S. 
Neaderhauser, professor in N. W. College and Reading Seminary; his sister, 
Alice, who was sent as a missionary to China by the Church's Mission Board, 
after serving a few years, married a missionary of another denomination and was 
honorably released by our Board; and Sarah Prueser, a prominent teacher in 
the Defiance College of the Christian Church and the author of a book, 
"Birds and Their Habits of Life". For list of pastors see Defiance, Vol. I. '16- 
21, D. R. Heil; '21-22, L. A. DeWitt. 

DEFIANCE, SPRINGFIELD OR WEISS 

This appointment was located in S. E. corner of Williams Cou:ity, Ohio, 
about 10 miles north of Defiance, and was a part of Defiance Circuit in 1875. 

65 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Members then were: Geo- and Caroline Weiss, Caleb and Phoebe Sullinger, 
Elias Hausknecht, Lucy Replogel, Barbara Buser, Chas. and Katherine Carpen- 
ter, Eliza Allen, L. Yagle, Robert and Ellen Christy. In 1879 the membership 
was 45. In 1880 the class elected trustees to serve as long as they were able, 
and remained members of the Evangelical Association. The wives of A. O. Ra- 
ber and H. E. Xcff, Presbyterian ministers, came from this class. 

DEFIANCE, SOUTH OLIVE OR BETHEL CHURCH 

This society is six miles N. W. of Defiance on the Bryan Highway. Orig- 
inally the church stood two miles S- W. from here, near John Kuhn's farm, and 
was known as the Bethel Church. John Berger, the first Evangelical preacher 
here, organized a class in 1864. Services were held in the Kuhn Schoolhouse. 
Membership in 1875 was: Isaac Carver, wife and children; Jonas Spittkr, wife 
and son Joseph; Jane and Amos Spittler; John and Rachel Kuhn; Henry and 
Katherine Kuhn; Daniel and Sarah Meyers; widow Lydia Meyers; Geo. and 
Caroline SoUenberger; H. and Ellen Moninger; Mary Schelling; Oliver and 
Kezia Hanna. The same pastors served here as at Salem except when it be- 
longed to Edgerton Circuit up to 1896, wdien it was added to Defiance Mission, 
then to the circuit and again to a newly formed Defiance Mission in 1909-17. 
Since 1918 it was served l)}' the Salem pastors. The first church was built by J. 
E. Smith in 1881 and dedicated by M. Kruegcr, P. E. In '85 P. A. Orth had a 
triumphant revival in spite of Catholic opposition, resulting in eleven conver- 
sions and eight accessions. In 1906 the church was moved to the present loca- 
tion by J- S. Kroft and rededicated by D. Martz, P. E., the same year. This was a 
wise move. Due to deaths and repeated removals the class has had a hard strug- 
gle. 

DEFIANCE, TRINITY 

Originally this class was called "Bean Creek'', after a stream of water. Its 
location was five miles N. W. of Salem Society. Services were held in a school- 
house. J. F. Bockman reported in 1872 that a revival was held in this localitj', 
resulting in ten conversions and ei.i^ht accessions. F. L. Snyder reported a re- 
vival here in Feliruary, 1890, with 15 conversions. In 1894, second pastorate, he 
began preaching in the Fiegly schoolhouse, where John Meyer, an old Evangel- 
ical, lived. In '96 H. Stcininger and S. C. Cramer held a special meeting here 
with 30 conversions, 20 accessions and a new organized class. Plans were now 
made to build a church which was carried out by Tracy and Buehler in 1897 
and dedicated Octo1)er 10th liy editor S. P. Spreng. The building cost $1,500.00. 
In 1915 it was added to the Defiance Circuit. The society ceased to function in 
1921. 

DeKALB CIRCUIT— WHAT IT COMPRISED 

This circuit, up to the organization of the Indiana Conference, 1852, was a 
part of St. Marys Circuit. Then DeKalb Mission was established, including 

66 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

the north part of St. Marys Circuit that was lying cast of Elkhart Circuit. The 
first year from a lack of preachers the western part was served by Jos. Fisher 
and B. Ruh of Elkhart Circuit, and the eastern part by A. Nicolai and L. Schu- 
eiman of St. Marys Circuit. This mission comprised Newman's Schoolhouse 
in LaGrange County, Indiana; Bauer's, Miller's, Stroh's, Yodjr's Schoolhouse, 
:ind Gardrer's; all east, northeast, and north of Aulnirn, Dekalb County, Indi- 
ana: Mackendoerfer's or Reinoehl's, north of Coruna, Indiana; Brunnersljurg, 
Ohio; Kuhn's, five miles N. W. of Defiance: Lehman's in Defiance, on the north 
bank of the Maumee River; and Dickler's, four miles from Clarksville; Spencer- 
ville, S. E. part of DeKalb County. Later were added Fish Creek, near Ed.tjer- 
ton; Schott's, south of Edgerton; Hicksville; Oak Grove; Cook's, three miles 
west of Edon, Ohio; County Line, three miles w;st of Hudson, Indiana; and 
other minor points. For pastors of this circuit see Volume I. In 1859 the 
eastern part was detached and called Defiance Mission, and the western part re- 
mained DeKalb Mission, served by M. Alspauch. In '73 the circuit was divided, 
the eastern part becoming Waterloo Circuit and the western, Kendallville Cir- 
cuit, but were served jointly by the same men as the year before. 

DICK'S CLASS, HAMILTON COUNTY, INDIANA 

In 18SS J. Keiper served Hamilton Mission, including Dick's Class, which 
was about three miles south of the Bethlehem Society, Cicero Circuit. Later it 
was merged with Bethlehem. 

DUBLIN, INDIANA, OR PLEASANT HILL 

This is the "Pleasant Hill", or "Zion" Class, al)Out three miles north of 
Dublin, Indiana. Christ'an Auger stein began preaching here in 1845 and is 
therefore one of the oldest societies in the Conference. The first church was 
built by G. G- Platz and dedicated October 31, 1847, by A. B. Shafer. It stands 
on the old Dickover farm. Members in 1849 were: Samuel Dickover's, John 
Schophen's, Andrew Berg's, John Dill's, Tom Will's, Benj. Fisher's, Amos Dick- 
over's, Benj. Hoasert's, John Manning's. There was also a Sunday School here 
in 18S3. Other early families added were Adam Rummcl's, Chas. Knecht's, Chr. 
Mannin,g's, and Jacob Rummel's. 

The first church was remodeled in 1878 by J. Wales and re-dedicated March 
20, 1879. A. Y. Scheidler (local preacher) was Supt. of the S. .S. Many camp- 
meetings were held here on John Dill's farm, on the bank of Simonds Creek, 
near the present church, to the east. The powers of darkness o'ten were in 
great evidence here during encampments, yet God's people achieved many great 
victories. Nearly all of the aforesaid families moved to other places, leaving 
only a remnant of the old stock here. In 1881 A. O. Raber had a glorious re- 
vival here. People said, "We never saw it in such fashion". A Lutheran man 
came to one of the meetings, saying, "I came here to get religion, aid I got it, 

67 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

glory to God." December 27, '86, W. H. Mygrant began a revival which result- 
ed in 14 conversions and 11 accessions. Philip Buehler reported a revival here, 
conducted by Evangelist, C. H. Stull in '94 with 21 saved and IS accessions. The 
same pastors always served here as at East Germantown. See list. This so- 
ciety produced the following ministers: S. Dickover, 1846; A. V. Scheidler, 
1868; B. F. Dill, 1872; M. L. Scheidler and C. M. Pierce, 1887; and W. E. Sny- 
der, 1894. 

An Interesting Historical Fact. 

E. F. Wisller, in his paper, by way of reminiscence a few years ago, said, 
••Before the people had a church at Pleasant Hill, they worshipped in private 
houses. On such occasions when quarterly meetings were held, communion 
services were held in the forenoon, followed by a sumptuous meal, served at 
times to as many as 200 persons. These meetings were held at Fisher's, Dill's 
and Dickover's. (The first family v.'ere grandparents to Mrs. S. H. B., and 
uncle to L. S. Fisher. South Bend, Ind.) These meals were not mere lunches, 
but consisted of white bread, if obtainable, otherwise corn bread, pork, bee^ 
chicken, often with large kettles of soup, potatoes and pies in great stacks. To 
feed such crowds, the women of the neighborhood would get together, one and 
two days before, and get ready for the occasion. These occasions were to these 
pious people spiritual recreations, and afforded opportunities for sociability. 

DUNDORE'S APPOINTMENT 

This appointment was near Lawrenceville, Illinois. It went by the name 
of "Dundore" or Lawrenceville Class. Members here were: Philip Dundore's, 
Felix Wampler's, Miller's, and Kochran's. It was probably taken up soon after 
Mt. Carmel, Illinois, became a preaching place, as it was between Mt. Carmel 
aiid Marshall, Illinois. On August 8, 1852, B. Uphaus held a meeting here, and 
gave the invitation to kneel and seek salvation. A number did so and found 
peace and rest. Many weary pioneer preachers found needed rest here on their 
way from Mt. Carmel to Marshall. The class after some years was abandoned. 

DUNLAP'S, ELKHART CO., INDIANA 

This society is located five miles S. E. of Elkhart on the Lincoln Highway. 
Originally this society was called "Middleport", the village name, which was la- 
ter changed to Dunlaps. The society was organized by M. Krueger in 1854 
while he was pastor of Elkhart Circuit. The services were mostly held in a 
schoolhouse. Charter members were: Wm. Schroyer and wife, Wm. Eisenbeis 
and wife, Mr. Philips and wife, Mrs. Fred Kuhn, Ben Weaver and wife. The 
church was built in 1855-56, and dedicated by Jos. Fisher. At harvest time a 
meeting was held here when D. Stephenson was converted, who later occupied 
a prominent place in the Watch Tower Church in Elkhart. Mike and Ben 
Weaver's and Aumillcr's, from the Weaver Class, three miles east of Elkhart, 

68 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

were later added to this class. Its ministers were those of Elkhart Circuit up 
to 1872, when it became a part of New Paris Circuit, except years given here. 
See lists under Elkhart and New Paris Circuits. In 76 it belonged to Elkhart 
Mission. From '81-85 it belonged to Watch Tower Mission- In '85 D. Martz 
had a wonderful revival here when many were converted and joined church. In 
'86 he held another meeting for J. AI. Dustman and had 71 conversions and 63 
accessions. In 1897 it was added to South Side, Elkhart, and again attached to 
New Paris in 1901 and has since remained so. A blessed district convention was 
held here in 1899 with three saved in the evening meetings. Also the final debt 
was paid and the property deeded to the Evangelical Association. The society 
always maintained a Sunday School and has a Y. P. A. 

EAST COLUMBIA CITY 

In 1862 there was a class two miles east of Columbia City. Joshua Paulin 
and Martin Speck were the pastors. The held belonged to Elkhart Circuit. 
There was a church here, and P. announced a revival meeting for this place. The 
rcwdies in the community were numerous. P. was a radical Republican and the 
people in the Civil War period were rather rebellious to the U. S. Government 
and uncultured. P. made soine strong statements as to their conduct at the be- 
ginning of the meeting, which thej' resented. One evening while he was con- 
ducting the meeting the resentful parties came prepared and shaved bare the 
neck and tail of his horse. The appearance of his horse so chagrined him that 
he closed the meeting and took his horse to a brother on another appointment 
and borrowed another to fill his appointments. The next day he met his col- 
league, told him his trouble and declared he would not go after his horse. Speck 
out of sympathy for his senior, offered to return the borrowed horse, and fetch 
back his own. P. consented to this proposition. There was much laughing 
along the highway and schoolhouses at Speck's expense as he rode along, but 
he, in good humor, laughed and passed on. This class never prospered and was 
aliandoned long a,go. 

EAST GERMANTOWN, NOW PERSHING, INDIANA 

This field first belonged to the western part of Miami Circuit, Ohio Confer- 
ence. In 1844 it became a part of the Indiana District of the Illinois Confer- 
ence. The society was organized in 1838 by Chr. Au.genstein. Bishop J. Seybert 
made a visit here in 1839. In 1840 A. B. Schafer and Levi Heiss, were pastors. 
A camp meeting was held this year on John Dill's farm. In 1841 the Indiana 
part of the Miami Circuit became Whitewater Mission. '42, Adam Stroh and E- 
R. Tobias were pastors, and Zinser, P. E. Stroh died this year. In '43 A. 
Nicolai aid P. Hahn served. They had a hard time, the appointments bein.g 
30-50 miles apart, and roads well nigh impassable. The constituency here was 
too largely English for them to labor to advantage, yet they preached in Eng- 

69 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

lish as best they could. In '44 Fr. Mayer was pastor and A. B. Schafer, P- E. 
In '45 G. G. Platz was V. C. and C. Augenstein, P. E. On June S, '46^ Bishop 
Seybert held a three-day's "Big Meeting" here, and on the 8th the Illinois Con- 
ference convened here. Great C|nickennigs of the Holy Spirit were experienced 
in the evening meetings. Platz was returned to this field. On December 31, '46, 
he started a revival here. Floods greatly hindered the work, but, nevertheless, 
it was a wonderful time and many were saved. The meeting lasted three weeks, 
which was unusually long. His Easter service, April 2, '47, resulted in many 
conversions. In June, '47, C. Clans became pastor, '48, Geo. A. Blank; '49, Hen- 
ry Ragatz; '50, J. Geo. Esher and Geo. A. Blank, P. F2. The pastor held eight 
revivals, resulting in conversions and accessions and a noble support of God's 
cause. Bishop Seyliert made a nine-day's visit here, December 10-19. In '51 J. 
Keiper was pastor. 

At the organization of the Indiana Conference, June, 1852, Peter Goetz and 
M. W. StetTey became pastors of Whitewater Circuit, and Hamilton Mission. 
The East Germantown appointments were: East Germautown, Jimtown, Cam- 
bridge City, Pernville, Jacksonburg. Winchester, Mississinawa in Jay County, 
and Smithlield near Muncie. The members at this time at E. Germantown were: 
Hcnrj' and Kathcrine Ehrhardt, Samuel Cochran, Charles Knecht, Geo. Sper- 
rj' and family, C. Mosbauch and family. .\dam Condo and family, Peter Condo 
and family, Jacob \\'ahrs, A. Long's, Wm. Klingeusegen's, C. Becker's, Adam 
Rummel's, and S.'im Sink's. 

In 1853 G. G. Platz was pastor. This ;>"ear a lirick church was built here 
35 X 45 feet, and was dedicated m 1854 by Philip Bretsch, P. E. The church 
adopted a Sunday School constitution asking for a quarterly report. The Sun- 
day School now had 60 in re.gular attendance in 12 classes. A 4th of July cele- 
liration was also instituted to teach the children patriotism. The pastor read 
the Declaration of Independence whereupon C. Glaus, P. E., preached a 
patriotic sermon. It was a joyful day, and 17 scholars openly confessed their 
Savior before a large audience through questions put to them. For pastors sec 
Volume T. In '65-66 C. Schamo held a revival that resulted in 50 conversions 
and 35 accessions. A. O. Raber, '80-81, reported February, '81, that the revival 
reached an interest so great that the "Adam Condo and Co. Plow Works" shut 
down work at 10 a. m. so that the workmen could attend. Fourteen were saved 
and ten united with the Church; and in '82 he had 26 conversions and accessions. 
In 1882 D. S. Oakes served. Conference session was held here in '83, and 

D. S. O. was elected presiding elder. Philip Orth's first year closed with 85 
conversions. In May, 1884, he organized a Young People's Alliance with 75 
members, and reported 113 saved in 13 weeks over the circuit. '86-87, W. H. 
IMygrant. In '88 he had a revival here in which 58 were saved and 48 joined the 
church. He reported, "The fight was hard, but the victory glorious." In 1901, 

E. J. Oliver was appointed pastor, but he was killed by a R. R. train in Peru, 

70 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

Indiana. A, Weyrick succeeded and served for two years. He rebuilt and 
enlarged the parsonage. '06, Chas McConnchey was pastor. He served only a 
short time when illness necessitated his resignation, and shortly afterwards he 
died. A. W. Feller filled out the year. Repairs to the church were made amount- 
ing to $1,084.00, and the re-opening took place September 8, 1907, by L, S. 
Fisher, P. E. In 1918 the name of the field was changed to Pershing, the new 
name of the town. '15-16. W. I. Weyant; '17-18, J. A. Brewer; '19, E. W. Sha- 
fer; '20, supplied; '21-22, L. J. Ehrhardt; '23, Leroy Geiger. 

Early appointments on this work were; Chambersburg; location not found. 
In May, 1849, a tjuarterly meeting was held here; Hagerstown, 16 miles N. \V. 
of Richmond. Preaching was in the home of David GrolT and continued some 
years; Jacksonburg, four miles N. E. of Pershing taken up in 1849 by .J. Keiper. 
There was some preaching in the Disciples Church here, but mostly in the 
homes of Peter and Thomas Lebenguth. Services were soon abandoned. Milton, 
two miles S. E. of Cambrid.ge City, in 1849 iri the home of David Bej'er; later 
it was merged with East Germantown. Bishop Seybert preached here in a 
schoolhouse. Pennville, the first town cast of Pershing. Wm. Koch's and M. 
Bauhen's families lived here where preaching was held. Potsfield, probably in 
Delaware Co., where J. Keiper preached in making his rounds in 18S1; John 
Potsfield and Jacob Dietrich lived here. Smithfield, this class was 28 miles 
M. W. of E. Germantown, near Muncie, Indiana. Members here in 1849 were: 
the Wm. Dill's, Wm. Will's, John Bothwill's, and Charles Schelty's families. 
Preaching was generally at Dill's. Later it, with Muncie, became Muncie Mis- 
sion, but both places had to be abandoned. 

EAST LIBERTY, ALLEN CO., INDIANA 

This society was three miles south of Monroeville, Allen County, Indiana. 
It formed a part of the English portion of the St. Mary's Circuit in 1871, name- 
ly; Salem and Jerusalem, N. E. of Decatur. S. S. Condo was pastor, Geo. 
Haley was class-leader, John Swartz's and Miller's families lived here. 

EDGEWOOD, ILLINOIS 

In 1863 Wm. Wessler of Vandalia Circuit took up this vicinity, three miles 
N. E. of Edgewood, Effingham Co., Illinois. In 1865 M. Klaiber organized 
"Salem" Society here. Some of the first members were: the Winkler's, Quade's, 
Lieb's, and Stedbacher's families. Worship was held in private homes and 
schoolhouses until in 1884, when Wm. Luehring, pastor, obtained the right to 
move the Altamont church to this place. It was dedicated this year. In 1874, 
K. T. Hochstettler had a gracious revival here, resulting in many conversions 
and 22 accessions. In the spring of '80, M. Koehl organized the first Sunday 
School. This class was served with Altamont, Wolf Creek, and Prairie Classes. 
In 1898 this class was added to Camp Creek Circuit, but later Altamont was re- 

71 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

cstalilished. We had a splendid group of people here, but from want of Protes- 
tant families in this locality, and by deaths and removals of our own people, 
the place was discontinued March, 1912. The church was sold for $60.00, one- 
half of which went to Terre Hautc's new church fund, the other half into the 
Conference Treasury. 

EATON, OHIO 

As early as 1S55 a class existed here, belonging to Miami Circuit of the 
Ohio Conference. Preaching was in private houses several miles around Eaton 
Members who lived around here were; Mathias and Gottliebina Young, Chris- 
tina Couch, Bernhart, Julia, Christiana, Jacob, and Christian Schying; Julia 
■\fars; Gottlieb, Katharine, and Christian Holtzinger; Rev. John G. Woolpert 
hvd wife, Julia; Gottlieb and Susan Young. These isolated members of this 
class lived near to one or the other of these towns, viz: Tippecanoe, Lockington, 
I'nion, Castin, Enterprise, or Salem. 

EDON, OHIO 

In about 1866 J. M. Kronmiller of DeKalb Circuit founded this society. 

Worship first was in houses. In 186 — a church was built and dedicated 

by as the "Salem Church." Some of the 

early members were: David Cook's; Kies', and Rockcy's families. In 1869 a 
debt of $275.00, was still resting on this church. The society was granted the 
privilege to collect funds on the DeKalb Circuit to liquidate the debt. In 1875 
this class was added to Edgerton Circuit. In the winter of '87, W. H. Bright- 
mire, in a six-week's meeting, had 37 conversions and as many accessions. Un- 
der the pastorate of E. E. Meyers, 1892, a revival was conducted by evangelist, 
A. C. Stull, resulting in 19 saved and 13 accessions, followed by the organiza- 
tion of a Y. P. A. Under Chr. H. Burgencr, the church had a tower added with 
a bell, new pews installed, and the interior and exterior repainted. 
In 1912 the church-tower was struck by li.ghtning and was badly damaged, but 
not beyond repair. This class was discontinued in 1918 from lack of real effort 
to build it up and the church was sold and the proceeds flowed into the Con- 
ference Treasury. 

EDGERTON, OHIO 

"Trinity" is the name of this society, locally known for years as "Fish 
Creek" Class, named after a creek near by. J. M. Kronmiller took up this ap- 
pointment in 1866, and Adam Hartzler organized the first class in 1867. Some 
o' the first families were: tieo. Burkhart's, Maurcy's, and Gentzenleuchter's. In 
'69 D. J. Pontius bought the first parsonage, one square south from the present 
one, and built a small church 16 x 28 feet in Edgerton for $400.00. For pastors 
see Volume I. A. R. Sliafer initiated the building of the second church in the 
spring of '81, 2'/; miles north of town, size 32 x 44 feet, with a spire and bell, 

72 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

costing $1,484.00, $500.00 was needed on dedication day, but $600.00 was raised. 
It was dedicated on June 22, 1882, as "Trinity Church", by VVm. Yost of Clevc- 
!and, Ohio, Jr. Pub. Agent. In 1884, Aug. Geist reported 13 saved, some Cath- 
olics, one man 72 years old. In 1901 the present parsonage was bought from 
the Reformed Church, and the old lot joining this on the south was sold. In 
1904 Edgerton belonged to Hicksville, in '07 it, with Edon and County Line, be- 
came Edon Circuit. In '08, County Line was detached and Edon Circuit was 
named Edgerton Mission. On February 22, '08, the Reformed Church (brick) 
in Edgerton was bought at sheriff's sale by the Fish Creek Society from the 
sale proceeds of their church, plus $537.00. A month later a revival was held 
in this church, fruiting in 16 conversions and nearly as many accessions. Pre- 
paratory to the opening of the church, a furnace and new pews were installed, 
the walls repapered, the inside and outside painted, and cement walks and steps 
built, at a total cost of $1,885.00. It was dedicated as "Trinity Church" by 
Editor G. Heinmiller, July 12, 1908. $296.00 was raised on dedication day. Both 
the morning and afternoon dedicatory services were held in a nearby grove, but 
the evening service was held in the church. '14-18, Ira Steele served as pastor; 
'19-21, H. S. Berger; '22-23, R. L. Haley. It belonged to Elkhart District, 1886- 
72; Ft. Wayne District, '73-94; Kendallville District, '95-98; Ft. Wayne District, 
1899-1923. 

EHRET, ELKHART CO., INDIANA 

This class was located three miles N. W. of Wakarusa, Indiana. Worship 
v.as in a schoolhouse. The members were: Jeremiah Hahn, Haun and wife, Mrs. 
Jonathan Willard, Elias Seitz and family. There was a Union Sunday School 
here, which belonged to New Paris Circuit. Rev. C. A. Wright's wife was a 
convert from this society. 

ELBERFELD, WARRICK CO., IND.— JERUSALEM CLASS 

The history of the work of the Evangelical Association in this town dates 
back at least to 1849-50 when C. Glaus and J. Keipcr preached in this vicinity 
at Rosa Friedenberg's, Voelkel's, Wm. Grossman's (exhorter) and Fr. Stuen- 
kel's, and in a schoolhouse. The appointment was known as "Bluegrass". A. B. 
Schafer was P. E. This class was organized by J. Trometer who was assistant 
local pastor in 1850. The charter-members were: Henry Ude, Fr. Thene, Wm. 
Thene, Fr. Sickman, Julius Heimrath and their wives. In 1850-51 Geo. A. 
Blank was P. E., and Fr. Wiethaup, P. C, with B. Uphaus as assistant the first 
year, and Fr. Schuerman the second year. After the organization of the In- 
diana Conference in 1852, P. Burgener and G. Franzen served; in 'S3, B. LIphaus 
and Wm. Beckman; '54, J. Keiper and Wm. Beckman; '55, Wm. Wesseler and 
M. Mayer. Up to this time it belonged to Dubois Circuit with headquarters at 
Huntingburg, Ind. In 1856, this circuit was divided, the western part becoming 
Warrenton Circuit to which Wm. Wesseler was assigned. He built a church in 

12, 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Elberfeld which was dedicated May 4, 1857, by Bishop John Seybert, as the 
New Jerusalem Church. S. Dickover was P. E., Joseph Fisher and Wm. Beck- 
man were present. During the Lord's Supper, the reporter said, "The people 
experienced the dedication of their hearts to God. Pentecost broke through into 
eternal life." For pastors see \^olume I. In 1879 the field name was changed 
to Tabor. In 1899 the second church was built and dedicated by Bishop T. 
P.owman on September 17, 1899, as "Jerusalem Church". Size 32 x 60 feet, with 
corner tower, bell, class-rooms and furnishings, costing $2,550.00. At this time 
this church was the best on Louisville District. In 1900-01, under D. D. Spang- 
ler, the field name was changed to Elberfeld. '15-17, J. W. Feller; '18-'23, C. 
Harms. This field belonged to Wabash District from '52-70; to Evansville, 
'71-92; to Louisville, '93-07; to Evansville, '08-10; to Indianapolis, '11-23. 

The first parsonage was l)uilt by the Tabor Church. It was a log house, 
|iut up in two days in 1849. J. Keiper first occupied it. It stood beside the 
cemetery, between the church and the campground. This was a lonely spot for 
nastors' families to live, as it was almost surrounded with timber. The only 
outlook was toward heaven, and northward to the church. The cemetery, dur- 
ing the pastorate of Bohlander, obtained notoriety as being the place where the 
spirit of a departed man repeatedly appeared to him (Bohlander) at the man's 
grave. To this was added the report that the parsonage w-as haunted. Not only 
Bohlander believed this delusion, but other good folk, and even preachers 
claimed they were disturbed by ghostly noises while they were trying to sleep 
here. It was probably nothing but a rustling wind blowing through a knothole, 
or making a loose shingle to quiver, the product of an excited imagination. 
Bro. Nitsche declined to abide here with his large family, and with the consent 
oi the quarterly conference, built a more commodious home in Elberfeld. This 
was in 1881, and they had the joy of first occupying it. The Tabor people ob- 
jected to this move, but soon thereafter were convinced that it was the thing to 
do. In 1895 the old parsonage was sold and the proceeds flowed into the new 
parsonage fund. With the discontinuance of the campmeetings, there was no 
reason why the pastor should continue to live here, far from the post-ofTice and 
school. 

ELBERFELD, TABOR SOCIETY 

This appointment lies in Gibson County, Indiana, five miles east of Haub- 
stadt. Originally it was called "Warrenton". It was taken up in 1844 as a 
part of Dubois Circuit until June, 1856, when Warrenton Circuit, named after 
-,) nearby village, was formed. It was a part of the Illinois Conference until 
1X52. From a report, J. Trometer was the first missionary of our church that 
labored here. He organized a class in 1845. On October 6, 1847, A. Nicolai be- 
gan a protracted meeting here in the home of J. Winkelman in Warrenton. God's 
people were quickened in spirit. Souls were converted to God and joined the 
Evangelical Association. In 1848 he was returned with H. Esh. In 1849, Chr, 

74 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

Glaus and J. Keiper were pastors. The society now had four classes, namely: 
Taboi': Dietrick and Wilhelmina Luehring; Ludwig and Louisa Buesing; Henrv 
and Dora Bertram and children, Wm., Henry, and Doratha; Mary Miller; Cla- 
mer, Mary and Louisa Fuehling; Henry and Dora Hasselbrink; Henry and 
Louisa Johanning; Daniel, Anna L., Carl, Wm., Henry, and Daniel, Jr., Kramer; 
Plenry and Mina Schuermeier; Fred, Sophia, and Fred Jr. Bremer; Fred, Caro- 
lina, and Sophia Kucher; Geo. and Mrs. Weber; Fred and Louisa Stuenkel; 
Augustina Grossman; Fred Stritmetter. Zoar: Wm. and Fredricka Luehring; 
Mary Dickmeier; Fred and Anna Kuesing; John, Caroline, and Joshua Bren- 
denberg; John, Mary, and Henry Hasshiter; Conrad and Mary Buesing. Beth- 
lehem: Fred and Louisa Kohlmeier; Henry and Henricka Schlotbaum; Chris- 
tian, Conrad, Carl, and Fred Kohlmeier; Henry and Charlotte Silke; Carl, 
Adolph, and Wilhelmina Dassel. Emmanuel: Fred and Louisa Dickmeier; Ja- 
cob and Katharine Winkelinan; Rev. Jacob, Christina, Mary and Christian Tro- 
meter. 

On August 16, '49, a campmeeting was held at Tabor. The ground was on 
the highest hill in the community, commonly called Mt. Tabor, from whence 
one had an extensive view of the landscape. For a description of the general 
arrangement of early campgrounds, see under Bremen. Many such meetings 
vvere held. People would com.e from far and near, both bad and .good, and often 
these meetings became the scene of great spiritual battles between the forces 
of Darkness and Light. But the Almighty did not forsake His people but crown- 
ed their sincere efforts with victory, to the discomfiture of the enemy. In Au- 
gust, 1852, a glorious camp-meeting was held here resulting in 14 conversions; 
backsliders were reclaimed and revived, and believers renewed in spiritual 
strength. Over New-year's, 1853, a wonderful revival occurred here; sinners 
came nightly to the altar; graj'-haired parents with their adult sons and daugh- 
ters knelt side by side, wrestling for salvation. At a camp-meeting held August, 
1854, J. Keiper reported, "One night there was no preaching because of the 
might}' movings of the Holy Spirit upon the people, and because the penitents 
were crying for mercy until they were saved." In August, 1869, the twentieth 
consecutive camp-meeting was held here. Warrenton Circuit now extended 
into Posey, Vanderburg, Gibson and Warrick Counties. In 1867, M. Hoehn re- 
ported that Tabor had a parish school and expressed the wish that such schools 
might become general. 

At a camp-meeting here. Bishop Joseph Long arrived very fatigued and 
too late for service. He slipped into the parsonage, stretched himself full 
length on the floor in a room, allowing his feet to extend through the open door. 
Presently the pastor's wife came home from the adjoining campground, and as 
she was about to step into the house, she saw the feet of a man in the open 
doorway. Much frightened, she ran back to the campground and reported, that 

75 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

she believed there was a dead man lying in the parsonage. Upon investigation, 
It was found to be Bishop Long resting himself. 

Churches Built Here 

A log church was built here and dedicated, December 22, '49, by A. B. 
Shafer. He reported that there was "such spiritual power present that all sin- 
ners present came under deep convictions and to penitence". Keiper reported 
a wonderful Christmas celebration with such spiritual blessings as he never 
had witnessed before. Souls were saved and many people joined church. 

The second church was built in 1876 and dedicated December 9, probably 
by Wm. Wesseler who was one of the two speakers on this day. C. Kohlmeier 
was the other. As the old church was still standing, a farewell service was held 
in it Sunday morning before entering the new one. This church is 34 x 54 feet 
in Gothic style with a tower 80 feet high. On a bright day. it can be seen 
from a certain point 10 miles away. The tower was provided with a well-sound- 
ing bell, bought by men and Ijoys for $238.00. The cost of the entire church 
was $2,382.00. The young ladies furnished the lights, and the mothers the car- 
pets. Some of the best revivals that occurred here were by Speck, Finkbeiner, 
Koch, Nitsche and Cocker. From this society issued five ministers, namely; 
Adolph Dassel, 1862; W. L. Luehring, 1877; S. J. Luehring, 188—; H. Holtz- 
grafe, 188 — ; B. Scheuermeier, 1889. For list of pastors see Elberfeld, Volume I. 

ELBERFELD, SOMMERVILLE-MACKEY 

This society was founded in 1865-66 by Fred Wicthaup. The charter-mem- 
bers were: Ernst Sundermeyer and wife; John Hassheiter and wife; Chr. Kohl- 
meier and wife; Henry Williamsmeyer and wife; Conrad Kohlmeier and wife; 
Dluemlein and wife, and Fred Meier and wife. They worshipped in homes and 
schoolhouses until July, 1869, when their church was dedicated by Bishop J. J. 
Esher. C. Kohlmeier was recommended for the ministry by this class in 1867. 

Historic Articles of Business Adopted, December, 1869 

Art. I. No political speeches, or theatrical doings are to be allowed in this 
church. 

Art II. No debts are to be contracted over $5.00 without the consent of 
the society. 

Art. III. The Trustee Board shall give an annual report at the annual busi- 
ness meeting. 

Art. IV. The trustees shall look after the repairs of the church so services 
can be held in it unhindered. 

Art. V. The church cemetery shall be platted by the society. After distribu- 
ting the lots to the church members, no one, who has been expelled or has with- 
drawn from the church, shall be allowed to sell his lot; but it shall revert to the 
society. (This article was later so modified that lot owners, who moved away, 
could sell to their children, or church members.) 

Art. VI. The deed of the property is to remain in the hands of the oldest 
trustee of the society as also other valuable documents. 

Art. VII. These articles shall be read at each annual meeting, and may be 
changed by a majority vote of those present. 

76 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

Art. Vni. The people who join church and desire a family lot in the ceme- 
tery shall pay $15. 

Art. IX. In 1877 a law was made to ring the church bell every Saturday 
evening, which custom has ever smce been strictly observed, 

A Y. P. A. was organized here by J. Mundorf in October, 1894. A number 
of its unconverted members were converted later and joined church. The Alli- 
ance, however, did not exist long. A Sunday School has been maintained for 
years. Progress has been intermittent. German services on Sunday a. m. were 
abandoned about 1917. In 1921 this society l>y a majority vote decided to re- 
locate to the town of Maekey, and built a church and dedicated it December 4, 
1921. Bishop L. H. Seagcr officiated. The size of the church is 32 .x 54, with a 
basement under the whole church, and a corner tower. The cost of the church 
was $6,000.00. The Sunday School here was organized in the Maekey High 
School building. 

ELKHART CIRCUIT 

Solomon Altimos, a pioneer preacher of the Evangelical Association, be- 
came a pathfinder for his church in Northern Indiana in 1839. He was a mem- 
ber of the Ohio Conference. He lived in Monroe County, Michigan. In 1841 
Ft. Wayne ^lission was established including Northern Indiana with John Hall, 
Missionary. For 1840 and '42 no report is found. In 1843 D. Kern and Geo. 
A. Blank were the missionaries to this section. In 1844 the Illinois Conference 
was organized which included Northern Indiana, which then constituted Ft. 
Wayne Circuit, A. B. Schafer. P. E., and Geo. A. Blank and S. Tobias, mission- 
aries. In 1845 Ft. Wayne Circuit was divided into St. Mary's Missions and 
Elkhart Circuit. G. G. Platz and Wm. Kolb were assigned to the latter which 
now embraced Elkhart, St. Joseph, Marshall and Kosciusko Counties in North- 
ern Indiana, and the western part of Southern Michigan. In 1846 Chr. Glaus 
and Wm. Fichte; '47, G. G. Platz, Fred Wiethaup, and H. Welty. There were 
now 13 organized societies, and other preaching points. In 1848 the Indiana 
District of the Illinois Conference was divided into St. Joseph and Wabash 
Districts, the first embracing the two St. Joseph River valleys, and the latter 
the Wabash River valley. Chr. Augcnstein, P. E. of St. Joseph District, with S. 
Dickover and B. Uphaus, pastors, on Elkhart Circuit. 1849, G. G. Platz, Geo. 
Messner and B. Uphaus. This year, St. Joseph and Wabash Districts were 
served jointlj' by A. B. Schafer, P. E.; but served separately again in 1850 the 
first named, by C. Augenstein. and Elkhart Circuit by J. J. Esher and J. Wolf; 
1851, S. Dickover, P. E., and J. H. Ragatz and Joseph Fisher, missionaries. 

DEVELOPMENTS OF ELKHART CIRCUIT OF INDIANA CONFER- 
ENCE SINCE 1852 

At the organization of this conference, S. Dickover continued as P. E. and 
Jos. Fisher and B. Ruh, pastors. In May, 1853, Fisher gave J. Keiper, his suc- 
cessor, the membership book containing the following appointments: Ott's (head- 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

quarters here was the parsonage and church) S miles north of Syracuse, Indiana; 
then three miles south Ott's schoolhouse; then Canada Class in Union Twp., 
Elkhart Co., Bechtel's in Harrison Twp.; then six miles south to Zoar; then 
back to Goshen where were a few members; then to Bicknel's schoolhouse, 
three miles east of Elkhart; then Smith's class, six miles N. W. of Elkhart; then 
to Harris Prairie in Michigan; then Rough's or Portage Prairie; then to Misha- 
waka; then Coal Bush; then to Zimmer's near Madison; then to Barrens near 
Bremen, then Laudeman's; then Canaan Class or old Panama in Kosciusko Co.; 
then Hepton; then Marshall Co. Class; then Strickler's, south of Warsaw; then 
to Tabor, or Ebenezer, east of Syracuse; then eight miles eastward to Gilead in 
Noble Co.; then Thorn Creek, six miles north of Columbia City. M. W. StefJey 
was Keipcr's colleague; the circuit had 20 appointments; each one made the 
round once in four weeks. Meetings were mostly held in houses and school- 
houses, and were blessed. The historic parsonage had four rooms, two for the 
P. E., who had children, and two for the P. C, who had five children. The 
house is still standing, although enlarged, and is occupied. In 1854, M. W. 
Steffey and P. Goetz; '55, C. Glaus and H. Strickler; '56, A. Nicolai and M. 
Krueger. In 1857 conference convened in September, pastor, Geo. Kloepfer; 
'58, M. Alspaugh and J. Hoffman; '59, R. Riegel and P. Roth; '60-61, Ph. 
Schwartz and P. Roth, first year, and B. Ruh the second; '62-63, Joshua Paulin 
and M. Speck first year, and Geo. Zimmer, second year; '64-65, M. Krueger and 
T. Karstcttcr, second year; '66, Wm. Bocknian and E. E- Condo; '67-68, D. S. 
Oakes and W. Honestedt, first year, and J. K. I'royer the second year. O. and 
K. each built a small kitchen to the Ott parsonage. 1869-70, J. Keiper and S. S. 
Condo, first year and E. T. Hochstettler, the second year. The membership 
per appointment at this time was: Ott's, 40; New Paris, 23; Zoar, 13; Bilman's, 
west of Wakarusa, 5; Strickler's, 23; Middleport, or Dunlaps, 18; St. Joseph's, IS; 
New Bristol's, 7; Eagle Lake, 19; Sparta, 12; Ebenezer, 20; Lake, 11; Webster, 
22; Whitley, 15; Grass Creek, 30; Island, 21. Keiper reported in the summer 
of '71 that in 1853 this circuit was almost entirely German, but now, 1870, is half 
English, He had 150 accessions. 1870-72, D. S. Oakes and W. Wildermuth the 
second year; '7i, H. E. Overmcyer. In 1874 this circuit was divided and the 
greater part of it became New Paris Circuit. 

ELKHART EMMANUEL 

In the fall of 1859, or the spring of 1860, Oakes said, "Three religious, but 
very poor Germans, carpenters, father and two sons-in-law, came from Canada 
to Elkhart. Few European Germans lived here then and there was no German 
preaching of any denomination." They worked for Henry Oakes (D. E.'s 
brother) who could speak some German. He was a member of the M. E. 
Church, but urged Jos. Fisher, P. E., to send German preachers to Elkhart, 
promising to furnish entertainment and a place for worship, on corner Middle- 

78 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

burry and Williams Streets, where several families lived. In May Fisher in- 
structed E. L. Kiplinger of South Bend Circuit to preach here. Both had 
preached once or twice in the M. E. Church here. In September, '60, R. Riegel, 
P. C, took up Elkhart as a regular appointment and organized the first society 
of the Evangelical Association in '61, with these charter-members: Father and 
mother Theiss, two daughters and sons-in-law, Conrad Ziesel, and Wm. Paul. 
This society was served with South Bend Circuit until 1867, for which see 
the list of ministers. On Christmas, 1865, Geo. A. Hertel commenced a revival 
in Ziesel's house which resulted in starting a subscription list for a lot and 
church. $1,243.00 was secured from friends in and out of the city. Prior to 
this, Hertel received 30 members into the church. They bought a lot in March, 
1866, on High Street, on which stood a frame chapel, for $900.00. A little later 
the Elkhart School Board offered this society an exchange of a lot on Division 
Street, near Main St., with a house on, for the church property which they want- 
ed for the Central School Building. The trade was made, but the society re- 
tained the chapel and in addition received $350.00. The chapel was then moved 
on the new site. Eight feet additional ground was botight for $150. The so- 
ciety now had a small church and parsonage. 

On October 26, '66, the Sunday School was organized with IS scholars. 
Jacob Wiegner was the first Supt. In September, 1867, this city was formally 
taken up as a mission with Joseph Fisher, missionary. Bicknel's, or Weaver's 
Class, three miles east of the city, was added. Soon the small chapel had to be 
enlarged to accommodate the people. On Christmas, a seven-week's revival be- 
gan. The Mission was now five months old and had 125 members, 100 acces- 
sions this year. In 1868 Fisher was returned with Weaver's Class detached 
and the Schwartz Class added. The chapel again having become too small, it 
and the parsonage were sold, and moved away, and a brick church was erected. 
By winter it was under roof and the first story was dedicated December 6, '68, 
by R. Dubs, as "Emmanuel Church". Preaching was almost all in German, 
but quite a number of English people were converted and joined the church. 
English singing, praying and testifying was tolerated, but there was no English 
Class formed. The language situation hindered progress and caused some dis- 
satisfaction. 

In 1869-70, J. Fuchs was pastor. The second story was completed and 
dedicated February 13, 1870, also by R. Dubs. 1871-72, Geo. Hertel. Many 
were saved under his labors and joined the church. In September, 1872, the 
conference session was held here. The language question for this place was 
settled by Conference, namely; those preferring German should take a stand 
with Hertel on the east side of the church, and those preferring English with 
Wildermuth on the west side. This was done after the conference session. 
About 70 chose the English and were organized as an English society. This 
year on July 12, Hertel died of typhoid fever. Karstetter and Heiss, local preach- 

19 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

ers, served out the year alternating in preaching. In 73-74, W. G. Braeckly. 
pastor. In 74 the societ)' was made a station with 117 members including the 
Schwartz Class. A new parsonage was built at a cost of $1,325.00. The Con- 
ference released this society of a $448.00 debt and interest for two years. A 
new deed in harmony with the Discipline was also executed. 75, J. Beck; 
76-77, J. Hoffman. In 78, under C. C. Baumgartner, it was again a mission, 
who had 18 conversions. 79-81, M. W. Steifey. The debt of $1,500.00 was re- 
duced to $570.00 He had repairs and improvements made in the church, viz; a 
triple window in the front, a stairway, a gallery, and new pews. The church 
was re-opened by Bishop J. J. Esher, September 19, 79. The cost of these im- 
provements was $870.00. There were, at this time, some peculiar people in the 
church who would not allow the young people to sing alone, threatening that 
they would leave the church if they did. 1882-84, C. F. Hansing. All debts 
were paid, and a Young People's Societj' was organized in '84. Geo. Roederer 
was pastor in '85. A reed organ was installed which caused one family to with- 
draw. $450.00 was paid for missions this year. He had 32 conversions and 33 
accessions. In '86-87, August Iwan reported 14 conversions; '88-90, M. W. 
Steffey. In '89 Conference was again entertained here. '90-91, J. HofTman. 

In 1892, S. Heininger. The church was remodeled at a cost of $5,000.00. 
H. failing to get his credentials from the Ohio Conference could not continiie 
as pastor here. This produced a destructive schism. The society was divided. 
Heininger left with about half of the membership. M. Krueger filled out the 
year. The society never rallied fully from this shock, and became a mission. 
Ip_ 1893-94, I. H. Evans came here under many discouraging circvmistances. 
But he met them bravely and, under the l)lessing of God, and wise management, 
the society rallied commendably. He introduced the English for Sunday eve- 
ning services, and organized a Y. P. A. in the first year, 1895-96, W. L. Lueh- 
ring; '97-98, L. J. Ehrhardt; '99-01, Thomas Finkbeiner, who had a blessed re- 
vival; '02-03, M. W. Sunderman The morning services were now made Eng- 
lish for the second and fourth Sunday of each month. During his second year 
the union of the Division Street and Watch Tower Churches was agitated by 
him and J. O. Hosier. In 1904 the societies were merged with the understand- 
ing that an adequate and modern brick church be built. Both societies razed 
their building, working the material of both into the new one. One-fourth of 
the proceeds of the Division Street lot and the parsonage was voted to the Con- 
ference Church Building Fund; $400.00 to the South Side Society, to be paid 
when it will build a parsonage. $600.00 went to the Bethel Society by Confer- 
ence act, and the rest was applied to the new church. For further history see 
Elkhart First Church. This society always kept pace with forward movements. 
It maintained a good Sunday School, had an active Eadies' Aid Society, a 
W. M. S., and Y. P. A. It recommended to the ministry, T. Karstetter in 1865, 
and D. F. Fox in 1883. 

80 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 
ELKHART, WATCH TOWER 

In 1867, Jos. Fisher, pastor of Emmanuel Church, on Division Street, had 
a revival that resulted in 123 conversions, of which 40 joined the Evangelical 
Association and preferred the English services. An English class was organized 
with Samuel Aurant as first leader. Then an English Sunday School was or- 
ganized with J. M. Barber as the first superintendent. They met in the Division 
Street Evangelical Church. Fisher now preached here on Monday evenings. 

In 1872 the Conference established an English Elkhart Circuit, cmljracing 
Elkhart English, Weaver's, Schwartz's, Zeigler's, Heiss' and Emor's appoint- 
ments, Wm. Wildermuth, pastor. The specific orders of the Conference in 1872 
relative to the English in Elkhart was carried out. The record of the Emman- 
uel Church says, that 70 chose the English. Watch Tower record says 48. The 
Conference of 1872 ordered that "the English society be allowed to worship in 
the German church up to June, 1873, provided it pays its own current expenses; 
and holds its meetings Sunday afternoons, or at an hour that will not conflict 
with German services." 

W. Wildermuth held his first service, September 26, 1872, in the home of 
Fred Kines, and efifected the organization with 58 members. They were divided 
into two classes. Samuel Aurant, leader of No. 1, and Jos. Fisher of No. 2. 
According to Conference orders, the trustees of the Emmanuel, and a committee 
of the Watch Tower Churches, met and agreed that the Watch Tower Society 
shall hold Sunday School in the Emmanuel Church on Sunday at 1 :30 p. m., and 
preaching at 3 p. m., prayer-meetings on Wednesday evenings and a series of 
revival meetings. The English society was to pay one-third of the janitor's 
salary and light and fuel accordingly. B. O. Manchester, W. D. Middleton, and 
J. M. Barber were constituted a committee to draft a constitution for the so- 
ciety. The society now also decided to build a church. Wm. Wildermuth, Jos. 
Fisher, J. M. Barber, S. T. Nemont, and F. Kines were elected as building com- 
mittee, and were authorized to select a suitable site, get the price of lot, and 
report back to the next society meeting. On the basis of their report, the so- 
ciety bought the site where the First Church now stands for $900.00. The so- 
ciety adopted the plans and specifications presented by the building committee 
with a few changes. Watch Tower Church, 36 x 56 x 20 feet, had a vestibule, 
two class-rooms, a gallery and a tower. The erection of the church began in 
the spring of 1873. The cornerstone was laid by E. L. Kiplinger, P. E. In 
August, '73, a committee of 12 women was appointed to canvass the city for 
funds to buy carpets, chandeliers, clock and church supplies. They were suc- 
cessful and received words of praise. On October 12, '73, Cor. Sec'y, Wm. 
Yost of the Gen. Missionary Society dedicated the church as Watch Tower 
Church. The total cost of the church, lot included, was $5,391.12. The amount 
secured on dedication was $2,314.00. The balance remaining was $3,077.12. 

81 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Her Struggles 

Her financial struggles were many. Her people were poor and had a poor 
financial system. Of the pledged money on dedication much was uncollectable. 
Financially the society went down. The Loose Class was added in 1874, Jos. 
Fisher, pastor. The sale of a part of the church lot was granted by Conference, 
the proceeds to be paid on debt. In 73 Fisher was returned, and Schwartz 
Class was attached. In 76 due to the heavy debt, Conference empowered the 
oastor, C. C. Beyrer, to collect funds over the conference. In 77, being pe- 
titioned for further help. Conference appointed a committee to investigate the 
financial needs of the society with power to assume $1,500.00, provided the so- 
ciety will satisfactorily assume the balance. On October 25, 77, the society 
took new pledges to cover the assumed obligation, but again failed to meet her 
part of the obligation. On September 2, '82, the trustees, according to the 
grant of 74, sold the east half of the church lot for $360.00, and applied it on the 
debt. On May 5, '84, the trustees received a loan from the Elkhart Building and 
Loan Association of $2,226.00 to pay off the church debt. The members pri- 
vately agreed to pay 2Sc to $1.00 per month against this new debt. Pastor A. O. 
Raber agreed to collect these sums. Also D. Martz and S. B. Kring, succeeding 
pastors, did the same. It was a long and tedious pull, but the loan was finally 
paid in March, 1890, and the society was out of debt. 

Charter- Members of this Society 

Rev. Jos. and Lydia Fisher, and Gideon, Lorenzo and Sarah, their children; 
Silas and Sophia Fisher; Benj. and Lizzie Fisher; C. H. Redding and wife; S. 
Aurant and wife and daughters, Lucy and Jennie; J. M. Barber and wife; S. P. 
Newman and wife; Chas. Stuck and wife; W. Stuck and wife; Anna Schwartz; 
J. Lonquest; J. Kinzie; B. O. Manchester and wife; E. K. Boyer and wife; 
Perry Gates and wife; H. Martin and wife; B. Kaufman and wife; J. Markel 
and wife; B. Marker and wife; P. Marker and wife; \Vm. Eisenbice and wife; 
Ph. Upson and wife; E. Meek; Wm. Showers and Mary Bauer. 

Special Revivals 

In 1880 J. Wales reported that Savilla Kring, daughter of Rev. S. B. Kring 
of Canton, Ohio, conducted an evangelistic meeting in this society with glorious 
results. She repeated her effort here for two weeks in the winter of '81. Wales 
reported 68 saved and 73 accessions; enrolled in S. S., 180. People came at 
6 p. m. waiting until the doors opened for the service. In January, 1886, D. 
Martz conducted a revival that lasted four weeks and resulted in 30 conversions 
and 33 accessions. In February, 1896, A. S. Fisher held a revival with 125 
conversions, 20 reclaimed and 84 accessions. Other many good revivals were 
held here. See Conference Journals. 

Prayer-meetings here were well attended and often were seasons of re- 
joicings. The old people and many of the young knew the value of real prayer, 
and here obtained their spiritual meat and drink- LInder the pastorate of L. S. 

82 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

Fisher, there were six such weekly meetings, maintained where heaven and 
earth met in blessed fellowship. 

Auxiliary Organizations 

The Ladies' Aid Society was founded in 1886 with Mrs. Gramley, first pres- 
ident. This society has rendered very valuable service to the church ever since. 

The Missionary Auxiliary of the Society has always been active for mis- 
sionary work in the Conference, Watch Tower itself having been a mission 
from 1872-91, when it became a station. 

The Woman's Missionary Society was founded in 1884, and has actively 
maintained itself ever since. Mrs. S. S. Albert, of this society, was Conference 
Branch W. M. S. president for a number of years. 

This society had a Young People's Society organized by S. B. Kring in 
1884. All of its members were on the "lookout committee". On February 9, 
'92, W. H. Brightmire organized the first Young People's Alliance with Geo. 
Weyrick as first president. 

Church Struck by Lightning 

On August 24, 1873, at 4:30 a, m., lightning struck the church tower and 
it burned down level with the church. Other damage was done to the amount of 
$600.00 which was covered by insurance. It was struck a second time July 23. 
5892. The amount of damages amounted to $60.00, also covered with insurance, 

For ministers who served here, see Volume I. The merging of Emmanuel 
and Watch Tower Churches was consummated by L. S. Fisher and C. F. Han- 
sing, P. E. The pastor held the last memorable service in Watch Tower Church 
June 12th. This church here "like the mighty oak of the forest" stood the 
storms and toils of manj' j'ears. No wonder some of its members wept on leav- 
ing the old place of worship, and others rejoiced over the many blessings that 
here were showered upon them. This society recommended to the ministry of 
the Gospel, I. B. Fisher, 1877; G. B. Holdeman, 1884; W. S. Mills, 1893; A. E. 
Weyrick, 1897; Royal Garl, 1897; Geo. C. Lutman, 1902. 

ELKHART FIRST CHURCH 

At the Conference session of 1904 the union of the two societies was en- 
dorsed. Both the old church names were canceled and the merged church was 
incorporated as First Church of Elkhart, Indiana, of the Evangelical Association. 
Thus the German mother and the English daughter formed a happy union, one 
in purpose, love, and work. The First Church began with a combined member- 
ship of the two societies of 414, of this number 109 from the Division Street 
Church, which now included the small membership of the South Side Elkhart 
Society to which it belonged at the time of the merger. At this session, Soutli 
Side was detached and added to Beulah, South Bend. The combined Sunday 
School enrollment was 432, and the Y. P. A. membership, 134. 

After the union was effected, the two church buildings were wrecked, and 

83 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

the erection of the First Church began on the Watch Tower site, including the 
part lot that was sold in '82, but which had been purchased again. Father 
Weiney was the chief contractor. The cornerstone was laid by assistant editor 
of the Evinuidieal ili.sxcmjcr, E. M. Spreng, Aug. 2, 1894, with 200 names of per- 
sons placed into the cornerstone, each having given $1.00 at this time. The 
construction of the church now progressed rapidly and was ready for dedica- 
tion, April 23, 1905. The first sermon preached in this splendid church was by 
the historian, Saturday evening prior to the dedication, by Bishop S. C. Brey- 
fogel, assisted by S. P. Spreng. This was a great day for this societj'. The 
entire cost of this church was $35,000.00. Of this about $11,000 was raised on 
dedication. The basement was fitted for S. S. work, containing a large audi- 




Elkhart First, Elkhart, Ind. 



torium and a dozen or more class-rooms, and the heating plant. The main 
auditorium has an 800 seating capacity, a lecture room of 100 capacity, a large 
gallery with two side class-rooms, a large men's and ladies' class-room, at each 
end of the large foyer, which opens by three doors to the auditorium. The in- 
terior is well lighted, the walls are artistically decorated, and the windows are 
of fine art-glass. The woodwork is mahogany finish and the entire floor is car- 
peted. Pastors who served this society are: 1904-06, L. S. Fisher; '07-10, T. H. 
Breish; '11-13, L. S. Fisher; '14-19, E. W. Praetorius. In October, 1919, the 
General Conference elected Praetorius, General Secretary of Sunday Schools 
and Young People's Alliances. This election necessitated him to resign and 
b. C. Bcrger, whom he succeeded as general secretary, succeeded him as pastor 
of First Church. Berger remained pastor until 1923, when he was elected 

84 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

P. E. Two Conference sessions were held in this chnrch, in 1909 and 1918 
respectively. Three of its young men were licensed to preach the Gospel since 
1904, viz; C. E. Boyer, 1907; M. O. Herman, 1910; C. Berger, 1915. All pas- 
tors here had commendable success, many were converted to God in this 
sanctuary and added to the fold. Various improvements were made to the 
church since its dedication. All auxiliary organizations of this church are ac- 
tive and progressive, sharing the financial responsihility with the other large 
societies in the Conference. 

ELKHART, OAKLAND AVE. CHURCH 

After a prayer-meeting in Watch Tower church, August 23, 1896, a special 
trustee meeting was held to consider the feasibility of locating a mission in 
Wolf's Addition. A committee of investigation, composed of Geo. Weyrick, 
A. B. Weincy, J. Baker, R. Burns, and D. H. Rutter, was appointed to estimate 
the cost. It met and went over the field and selected the N. E. corner lot of 
Wolf Ave, and 7th Street. On September S, '92, they reported to a called 
meeting, at which it was decided to buy the lot and build when $800.00 was 
pledged. At this meeting $261.50 was pledged, and a building committee con- 
sisting of the trustees and A. B. Weiney and A. D. Paulin was elected. Ground 
for the building, 28.x50 feet, was broken September 10th. It was dedicated 
November 27, '92, by Editor S. P. Sprcng. The entire cost was $1,650.00. M. 
L. Scheidler was pastor. 

A Union S. S. that was held in the Public School Building was now trans- 
ferred to the chapel with R. Burns as first superintendent. The school aver- 
aged 140. The membership of the society was 35, some of whom were: John 
Baker and wife; John Warner and wife; F. L. Davis and wife; R. Owen 
and wife; Isaac, Maud, and Jennie Garl; Dan New; D. R. Rutter and wife; 
Maud Carpenter; Rebecca Rigby, John VVilhelm and wife; Mrs. Henry Davis; 
Mrs. A. Ritter; Elmira Straton. In 1893 this society belonged to the Watch 
Tower pastorate, but S. S. Albert, who now located here, served it most of 
the time. In '94 it was added to Bilman's Appointment near Wakarusa and 
served by R. F. Jameson. In '95 it was served by J. Wales, who installed a 
bell. In '96-98 it was served with Smith's Class, N. W. of Elkhart, by A. B. 
Haist, when many were added to the society and the S. S. flourished. In '99-00 
S. I. Zechiel served. The second year a church debt of $100.00 was paid. The 
membership was considerably decreased. In the spring of 1901 the society, 
by its own urgent recjuest, was discontinued, but Sunday School was continued. 
Soon after Conference session, the officials saw their mistake and appealed to 
their P. E. for a supply pastor. S. S. Albert was the only available man, and 
he was secured for them. He, however, in discouragement resigned si-x months 
later, and Thos. Finkbeiner assumed charge of this small flock conjointly with 
the work at Division Street Church. In the spring of 1902, he held a revival 

85 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

meeting at which time the people took new courage. In April, '02, the society 
was added to the Division Street Church, M. W. Sunderman, pastor. In the 
fall revival nine memhers were added to this flock which greatly encouraged 
the society. The S. S. took on new life. In 03, S. was returned and labored 
with success. The salary was doul)led; electric lights were installed; the fur- 
nace reset; the walls repapered; and the pulpit floor recarpeted. In '04 this 
society with Beulah in South Rend, and Tabor and Salem near N. Liberty con- 
stituted West South Bend Circuit. M. W. Sunderman was appointed pastor. 
Though averse to this arrangement, he went to work cheerfully, secured the 




Oakland Ave., Elkhart, Ind. 

assistance of X. !•'. I'latz to preach here alternately Sunday nights and at 
Beulah Chapel. Other improvements were made. A $50.00 fimd was started 
for pews. There were eight accessions. In 'OS L. Newman was pastor. He 
had some accessions. 

In '05-Of) G. C. I.utman was pastor. South Side was alone again and a 
mission. The salary was increased $100.00. The envelope system was in- 
troduced with giiod success. The S. S. again reached the 100 mark. The 
Ladies' .Aid Society paid the pew def)t. In 'OS W. A. Wright was pastor. The 
Y. P. A. was re\'ive(l. .\ catechetical class of 19 completed 17 lessons. He 
had 10 accessions, and organized a teachers' meeting. '09-10, F. Kausch; '11- 

86 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

15, J. L. Buyer. The Garl Class was added the first year, but dropped the 
second- He had 24 conversions and 28 accessions. In 1911 a modern par- 
sonage was built, costing $1650.00. and was paid for in live years, with nearly 
$500.00 in the church building fund. Walks and two sewers were also paid for 
costing $200.00. The provided $400.00 from the sale of the German church on 
Division St. was applied to this parsonage. A new furnace and new carpets 
were added improvements to the church. The membership in April, '16 was 
116; S. S. average, 175; and a working Ladies' Aid Society, a W. M. S. and 
a Young People's Alliance. 1916-22 E. E. Roberts was pastor. In '17 Con- 
ference granted its pastor permission to gather funds for a new church on 
Elkhart District. The location was changed to corner of Oakland and Leonard 
Aves. where a 60x120 foot lot was bought.- In 1920 the Conference voted this 
society $6,000.00 out of the Missionary Society Treasury in six annual pay- 
ments. In 1921 the new church was erected. It is a modern S. S. church cost- 
ing, including the pipe organ of $3,000.00, about $54,000.00. It was dedicated 
on January 1, '22, by Pres. G. B. Kimmel, assisted by E. W. Praetorius who 
had laid the cornerstone in the summer. The Wolf Ave. Church and Parson- 
age were sold for $4,500.00, and the proceeds applied to the new church and 
parsonage on Oakland Avenue. The church is in Grecian type. Its dimen- 
sions are 84x50 feet. Entrance on a level with the street into a large foyer 
from whence are two entrances to the social room in the basement, and two 
' to the main auditorium which has a seating capacity of 300, with a Bible 
room to the rear, galleries on three sides, choir loft, mother's room and 20 
class-rooms. The woodwork is in golden finish. The exterior is in fire-clay 
brick, trimmed in Bedford stone. A grand total of $22,000.00 was secured in 
cash and pledges on dedication day, $6 ,000.00 from the First and Bethel 
Churches in Elkhart, and $5,000.00 from the Conference BTanch Y. P. A. 



which has been previously voted to this society. 

ELKHART, BETHEL 

This society was organized May 28, 1905, in VVillowdale Schoolhouse, Elk- 
hart, by S. H. Baumgartner, P. E., assisted by L. Newman, pastor of Mishawaka 
Circuit. .A. A. Knepper, local preacher in Mishawaka, was appointed to aid L. 
Newman under whose supervision this society was placed. This organization 
resulted from a previous meeting of leading former members of the Willow- 
dale M. E. Church, held in the home of the aforesaid P. E. in Elkhart. These 
men for the most part originally had been members of the Evangelical As- 
sociation at the Smith Class. They were not willing to go to the new location 
of the M. E. Church to which they then belonged, claiming that unfair meas- 
ures had" been used in relocating, that action had been forced against the will 
of the majority. Hence the application to be organized into an Evangelical 
Church society. After prayer and careful investigation he agreed to organize 

87 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

them as alcove stated. The name Bethel was adopted as the society name. 
After reading the Articles of Faith and the Church Rules, an opportunity was 
given to unite with the Evangelical Association, and to subscribe their names 
as members. The following subscribed: Emmanuel Thornton and wife; Levi 
Thornton and wife; A. C. Brouse and wife; W. J. Walters and wife; I. G. 
Vantilberg, wife and five children; Milo Platz and wife; W. D. Spaid au'l 
wife; Frank VVeyrick and wife; Ralph and Clara Plank; Noah Sassaman 
and wife; Geo. Enders and wife; Caspar Albert and Arthur Spaar. Others 
joined soon thereafter. Newman began a revival December S, resulting in 26 
accessions. Late in August, 1905, this society began erecting a brick-veneered 
church on corner Locust St. and Edwardsburg Road. The cornerstone was 
laid Septeml^er 10, at 3 p. m., by Pres. H. J. Kiekhoefer of N. W. C. The 
church was dedicated December 10, 1905, by L. H. Seager, editor of the 
Eviiiigcliral Hmild. as Bethel Church. The cost of the building was $5,000.00. 

On April 6, 1906, this society with Smith's Class was constituted a field 
and named Bethel Mission of Elkhart. C. II. Burgener was pastor for two 
years. New members were received and the spiritual life and work was solidi- 
fied. The Mishawaka Circuit now refunded the Smith's Class equity in their 
parsonage of $600.00, and the $600.00 from the former Division Street Parson- 
age kept in trust by the First Church in Elkhart, as per act of Conference, 
was now paid to the liethel Society, which enaliled it to buy a parsonage May 
6tl), on the N. E. corner of Locust and Simonton Streets, one square east of 
the church. 1908-12 D. D. Spaugler was pastor. In 1909 his revivals resulted 
In 42 conversions and 56 accessions. The remainder of the church and par- 
sonage del)t was paid and minor improvements were made. 1913-18 C. H. Hart- 
man served. Fie had to deal with some unsavory radicalism that threatened 
progress. 1917-18 F. B. Walmer, who had two good years here, was pastor. 1919- 
23 J. H. Heldt served. Some disaffected members withdrew during his pastorate. 
Here operates a prosperous Ladies' Aid Society, a flourishing school and an 
active Y. P. A. Plans for a new modern church are under contemplation. 

EMMETSVILLE, RANDOLPH CO., INDIANA 

The exact date when our church work started here is not found. Early 
members were the families Wise, Zimmerman, Bretsch, and Allman. In 1873 
the class Ijclonged with Winchester to Montgomery Circuit with E. R. Troyer 
as pastor. In '74 it was a part of Greenville, E. R. Troyer, pastor two years 
with E. Bohlander the second year; '75, B, Uphaus and C. F. W. Hansiug; 
'76, E. T. Hochstettler; in '77 it belonged to East Germantown Circuit, J. 
Wales served two years; '79, J. H. Stcdcke. This year a frame church was 
built on I'h. Bretsch s farm and was dedicated by C. C. Baumgartner, P. E., 
August 3, '79. In 18<S(") this society and Winchester was made Winchester Mis- 
sion and again served by J. H. Stedcke; in '81-82, it was served with Rich- 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

mond, Fr. Launer; '83-85, J. Miller with E. E. Meyers the third year. In '84 
Miller reported 24 saved here and new memhership class organized; '86-87, 
Geo. Schmoll with H. E. Neff the second year. They closed a gracious revival 
in December, '86, with seven conversions and live accessions. In January, '88, 
H. E. Neff had 17 conversions here among whom was J. J. Wise, (deceased). 
He reported, "I have never witnessed such earnestness on the part of penitents." 
Schmoll had gone home on Friday before the break came, thinking the meeting 
would come to a close on Sunday night, liut the Lord ordered otherwise. There 
were 13 accessions. In '88, D. D. Spangler. l-'or other pastors see Winchester 
and Ridgeville. 

An incident: One night while going home from a revival here, pastor 
W. E. Snyder and Geo. Wise, Jr., narrowly escaped death. A heavy rain flood- 
ed the creeks. The one just west of the church was overflowing the banks, 
covering the road. The night was very dark. Driving across the bridge, the 
horse was suddenly frightened at the reflection of the lantern-light dancing on 
the water. The horse crowded to the edge of the banister-less bridge, and 
soon horse, buggy and men were precipitated into the cold water. Fortunately 
before very serious results followed, they freed themselves from their perilous 
condition. The horse and buggy also were saved. A Bible and the footheater 
went down the stream liut were afterwards recovered. 

This class recommended to the ministry: J. J. Wise, 1893; J. E. Young, ; 

D. O. Wise, 1905. Due to deaths and removals it has remained snrall but gen- 
erally active and loyally responsive to the calls of the church. 

E.XTERPRISE, ILLINOIS 

In 1856 Jos. Fisher of Mt. Carmel Circuit began preaching in and about 
Enterprise, Illinois. C. Wessling was his colleague. Thejf found entrance into 
the German homes here. '57, C. Kohlmeier. In '58 John Fuchs, pastor, or- 
ganized the first class, namely; Barnhart Kern and family who had moved 
here from Carmi, Illinois. It was he that urged our preachers to preach in 
this community. He opened his house as the preaching place. The Lord 
crowned the efforts with the conversion of the families; Kast's, eight mem- 
bers; Casper Stein's and others. Kern was the first class-leader. This society 
seems to have been served with Mt. Carmel charge until 1876 when the South 
Indiana Conference was organized, and it became a part of West Salem Charge 
and was served by C. F. Matthias. In 1877 Enterprise Mission was formed, 
C, Stier, pastor. In '78 it was served with Carmi by C. F. Matthias and Fr. 
Dauner; in '79-90 it belonged to Grayville. For pastors see Grayville. In 1891 
Enterprise Charge was changed and served by Chr. Heim, but was put back 
to Grayville, with which it was served until 1895, when it and Johnsonville be- 
came a charge served by J. L. Buyer. '96-97, G. F. Winter; '98-00, again with 
Grayville, H. Cocker pastor; in '01-11 to Enterprise Charge; pastors: '01-02, 

89 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

J. A. Ticdt; '03-06, Fr. Reutepoehler; '07, G, A. Stierli; '08, supplied; '09-11, 
G. F. Winter; '12-13, with Grayville, by J. W. Feller; '14-15, with Lancaster, 
F. W. Laimer. He had 22 conversions here. A. W. Feller supplied it the 
greater part of the second year due to L's illness. '16-19, E. L. Gambee, who 
had conversions each year. In 1920, with Grayville, J. A. Brewer served it the 
latter part of the previous year, Gambee having resigned due to illness. 1921- 
23, E. O. Habegger. 

The people here worshipped in homes and schoolhouses. The first church 
was erected by C. Wessling in 1870 and was dedicated November 12th by him. 
At this time members from our church in Clay County, Indiana, and from 
other places, moved here and united with the church, greatly strengthening it. 
In '82, C. Stier had 25 conversions and many accessions. The church building 
having become too small, J. Fuchs, at a quarterly meeting solicited pledges 
prospectively for a new church. Greatly encouraged by this, he succeeded in 
having the contract let February 12, '83, to Louis Barth for $1,500.00, and he 
as the pastor was to collect the money. The church was dedicated August 12, 
'83, by J. Fuchs. It cost $1,552.40. A sweeping revival followed soon after. 
When J. Mode died in October, '86, Fr. Theiss was appointed to fill the vacancy. 
At a revival in November, '87, there were 19 conversions and 17 accessions. In 
October, '87 a convention was held here at which Bishop T. Bowman was the 
main speaker and this convention was followed by the Annual conference ses- 
sion. A Mrs. Schneer from here remembered the missionary society of the 
church with a 1)equest of $200.00. In 1889 John NefT of Johnsonville, "Wayne 
Co., Illinois, bequeathed to the South Indiana Conference two lots with a build- 
ing which was remodeled into a small church, but in 1899 this class disbanded 
and the church was sold for $75.00 of which $50.00 went to Enterprise for re- 
pairs on their church, the rest into the Conference treasury. In 1900 H. Gocker 
closed a blessed revival with 23 conversions and 22 accessions. Also G. F. 
Winter had many converts and accessions here. This society had maintained 
a Sunday School since 1870 and a Y. P. A. intermittently. Since 1914 the serv- 
ices are all English. This society belonged to Wabash District from 1856-70; 
to Evansville Dist., '71-83; to Olney Dist., '84-91; to Evansville Dist., '92-93; 
to Louisville Dist., '93-07; to Evansville Dist., '08-10; to Indianapolis Dist., 
'11-23. 

EVANSVILLE, SALEM 

In 1844, Rev. Lutz, a Pennsylvanian, member of the Evangelical Associ- 
ation, moved to Evansville, Indiana. He began to preach here with some re- 
sults in conversions. He solicited aid through Dr. Nast of Cincinnati, Ohio. 
Xast sent Rev. Shoemaker, who came and organized a M. E. Church society. 
But Lutz later withdrew, due to different views of a genuine spiritual life. In 
1845-46, J. Tronieter, the pioneer of Southern Indiana, now serving Dubois 
Mission, hunted up this Rev. Lutz and arranged to preach in his home. A 

90 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

Mr. J. Bleuth and wife were converted, and opened their home for meetings. 
Ph. Bretsch succeeded Trometer in '46 when this flock increased to six fam- 
ihes. A. B. Shafer, P. E., also made visits here. These men encountered many 
difficulties. Few people came to services. Schafer advised our members to 
sell out and locate where our denomination was established. Some did so, 
and the rest disbanded. In 1848 Mr. Bleuth returned to this city, joined the 
M. E. Church, but being convinced that the Evangelical i\ssociation had a 
mission here, he withdrew and again joined the Evangelical Association with 
the families, Henry Kraft and John Huber, and renewed the effort to gain a 
real foothold here. They held prayer-meetings in their homes and preaching 
in a schoolhouse. God prospered them with a glorious awakening. A. Xicolai, 
C. Glaus, J. Keiper, and Fr. VViethaup from Warrenton Circuit again made 
visits here. Wiethaup re-estalilished the class just before going to Conference 
June, 1852, when the newly formed Indiana Conference estalilished a mission 
here. G- o. Messner was stationed here as missionary, but for some reason he 
resigned. E\-ansville was then served with Dul)ois Circuit with C. Burgener 
and G. Franzen, missionaries. In 1853 Fr. Wiethaup liecame pastor. The 
mem1)ership was now 22. A church lot was 1)0Ught on corner Division and 
8th Streets for $360.00. Mem1)ers on Dubois Circuit paid $175.00 of it. The 
Conference ordered the building of a church not to exceed $1,200,011. G. Glaus, 
P. E., the pastor and one other man were the building committee. The church 
was l)uilt and was dedicated April 2, '54, by C. Glaus as "Salem Church". Each 
active preacher was instructed to secure cash and pledges, on their fields for 
this church, and all gave a personal pledge. In 1854 the Conference empowered 
the pastor (Wiethaup) and society to 1;orrow money and pay the deljt. In 
1855 each preacher by Conference act was to pay $25.00 for this debt with the 
privilege of collecting it on their charges. .\11 complied with the action. A 
parsonage, not to exceed $300.00 was ordered built. Jos. Fisher, P. C, S. 
Dickover, P. E., and Jacob Bleuth were the building committee who carried 
out the order. There were now 35 members divided into two classes, Jacoli 
and Ludwig Voelkel were the class-leaders and J. Bleuth and Ger. Bnrrecker, 
e.xhorters. 

In 1856, M. Hoehn was pastor. He found Evansville a veritalile malaria 
center. Swamps close to the parsonage were covered in the summer with a 
thick green scum infested with malarial germs. There was only one good 
well in this section of the city, and it was quite far from the parsonage. "But,"' 
said be, "I could only get water when I had no fever." He and his wife Ijoth 
suffered much, he with a six-week's headache and she, "had her health so im- 
paired that she never fully recovered''. .\n old German doctor recommended 
for them, "good, old lager-beer,'' but they would not imbibe. Bishop SeyVjcrt 
visited Evansville at this time and found H. down with a fever. Members 
doubted whether he would recover. (Jne brother said, "If be dies for us, we 

91 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

are not worthy of a good preaclier". Such experiences occurred throug-hout the 
Conference territory. It was no wonder that Indiana bore the stigma, "Fever- 
nest". Tliis tact greatly liindered ministers from doing their best work. 

In 1857 J. Trometer was missionary. He had nine accessions, but eleven 
expulsions. '58, H. Kramer. Due to immoral conduct he was tried, found 
guilty and deposed. His act almost wrecked the society and greatly hurt the 
Christian influence it exerted in the city. J. M. Kronmiller and C. Wessling 
on separate lields now preached here alternately every two weeks until Con- 
ference session, thus the society received meagre pastoral care. In 1859-60 
.\. P). Schafer rallied the scattered flock. Geo. Burrucker, about the only real 
loyal member, died March 17, '60. At the time of his death he held all the 
church offices. But by discreet management S. restored order, elected officers 
and regained the public's confidence, and built up the society. In his second 
year the debt of $250.00 was paid. The church and parsonage were improved. 
S. did all this work. In December, 1860, he held a quarterly meeting of great 
j.ower. On Monday many came to the altar for a deeper work of grace. The 
future was now promising. 1861-62, J. Fuchs. He had a large increase of 
members. During the Civil War he had opportunity here for doing Samaritan 
work in the camp among the returned wounded soldiers, both bodily and spir- 
itually. He also preached three miles away from the city where he organized 
a class. The location is not found. In 1863-64, M. Mayer. The membership' 
was raised to 96. In 1865, H. L. Fisher. The membership decreased but the 
strength increased. 1867, Chr. Matthias. M. Hoehn, P. E., reported that "the 
society was now entirely free from the use of tobacco and beer". 1868-69, Fr. 
Wiethaup; '70-71, Jos. A. Maier. On December 23, '70, he began a five-week's 
evangelistic meeting which resulted in a glorious victory and 26 accessions. The 
offering for the Orphan's Home w"as $128.00; for benevolences and missionary 
work, $290.00. The society had over 100 members. 1872-73, J. L. Fisher was 
pastor again. The last year the church was enlarged to its present capacity 
(1922), and was rededicated August 3, '7i, by M. Mayer, P. E. The society 
this year became a station. In '74-75, M. Hoehn was pastor. From want of 
room some of the personal effects of the pastor's family had to be stored in 
the woodshed, and were stolen. This led to a second story being added to 
the ijarsonage to accommodate larger families with their house furnishings. 
On a Monday morning, while the family was yet sleeping, the carpenters were 
on hand and began tearing off the roof. In two months the work was done 
at a cost of $800.00. In '75 this society again became a mission and remained 
so for many years except in 1884 when it was self supporting. In 1876 Evans- 
ville naturally became a field of the newly formed South Indiana Conference. 
During the existence of the South Indiana Conference it was served by M. 
Mayer, '76-78. Many S. S. scholars were converted and united with the church. 
'79, H. Haas. He served only until September when he withdrew from the 

92 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

church under serious charges. J. Mode finished the year, and served the next 
year with 20 conversions. '81-83, W. G. Eraeckly. In these years he had 41 
accessions. He repaired the church at a cost of $245.00 

In 1883 the Conference session was held here. 1884-86, C. Stier. Spiritualism 
invaded the flock. Stier lost 41 members and gained 26. 1887, E. Bohlander. 
In '88, under N. F. Platz, the church was re-roofed with slate. '89-90, Fr. 
Schweitzer. His labors resulted in marked progress; '91-92, W. G. Eraeckly 
was again pastor. Street improvement, costing $502.00, was made. '93, L. J. 
Ehrhardt; '94-96, B. Schuermeier, under whose supervision the church was re- 
paired at a cost of $1,000.00. '97-00, W. L. Luehring, who made minor church 
repairs, costing $300.00. A former debt of $350.00 was paid. L. had 58 acces- 
sions. 1901-03, C. Harms; '04-07, W. L. Luehring. During one week's revival 
in 1907, 44 were saved and 15 found perfect love. 1908-12, M. W. Sunderman. 
.All services on Sunday now became English. A $1,500.00 pipe organ was in- 
stalled. A considerable number were saved and joined church. The society 
a.gain became a station in '12. In '13-17, M. L. Scheidler. In May, 1916, another 
parsonage was bought at 21 Mary Street, for $3,800.00. Dave Hill held a meet- 
ing here in 1916 which closed December 19. Ninety were at the altar during the 
meeting, most of whom had never before been converted. 1918-19, B. Schuer- 
meier again, and '20-23, A. B. Aegerter. The society bought two church lots in 
1920 and paid for them; but they were again sold in 1922 and the proceeds were 
applied to the enlarging and modernizing of the old church. In 1916 the old 
parsonage was converted into a janitor's home and class rooms. This society 
has maintained a good Sunday School, a Ladies' Aid Society, and a Y. P. A. 

EVANSVILLE, LINNWOOD 

In 1911 pastor of the Salem Church of this city, M. W. Sunderman, started 
a Sunday School in "Villa Sites" Schoolhouse on the Green River Road, skirting 
the city to the southeast. This S. S. was supported by the Salem Society. L^n- 
fricndly hands tried to hinder the undertaking but failed. Prior to this the 
pastor and his P. E. made inspection tours in prospective localities of this rapid- 
ly growing city, and then reconnnended to Conference in 1911 that a new mis- 
sion be established somewhere in this city. The location to be selected by the 
Conference Committee on Locatio.' of Churches and Missions with the Dis- 
trict P. E. and the Salem Pastor. They also recommended that this committee 
should endeavor to obtain two lots gratis from the "Vulcan Steam Shovel Co.", 
or its "Booster Agency", or in the Green River Road section and to buy an 
additional one, the P. E. to collect the money for payment of the same. In 1914 
the Conference established a mission under the supervision of the pastor of 
Salem Charge. Prior to this the quarterly conference of the Salem Society on 
A.ugust 1, 1913, took the location of a mission under consideration. L. M. Sun- 
derman, G. Alpers, Chas. Small, W. L. Luehring, and M. L. Scheidler were ap- 

93 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

pointed to investigate and then report. They did and reported November 7, 
'13, to the quarterly conference session that negotiations had been entered into 
with the "American Trust and Savings Bank" for three lots at the corner of 
Evans and Wagner Streets for $900.00. This was then reported to the annual 
conference, April, 1914, with action as above stated. On May 25, '14, the above 
named conference committee met in Evansville, and adopted plans for a mission 
church and authorized the erection of the church. J. J. Wise and M. L. Scheid- 
ler were appointed to collect the funds. Bonds were issued to the amount of 
$5,000.00. On August 12, '14, the name "Linnwood Bible School Building" was 
adopted for the mission. The building contract called for $7,800.00 not including 
glass, wiring, lights, furnitures and fixtures. The excavation began September 
18th. The corner-stone was laid the 25th. The total cost of the building was 
$11,000.00. It was dedicated February 14, '15, by Bishop S. P. Spreng. Wise 
and Scheidlcr deserve much credit for this achievement. The building is of 
brick, 34 x 58 feet, with basement under the entire structure. It has a S. S. 
auditorium with class-rooms and gallery on three sides. Seating capacity is 
300. It is heated with steam, lighted with electric brascelites, and has art-glass' 
windows. The Conference Branch Y. P. A. paid $3,000.00 to this project and 
over $500.00 was received from the sale of the New Harmony Church. $1,109.55 
was secured on dedication day. 

M. L. Scheidler was the first missionary in 1915, with I. G. Roederer, as- 
sistant. On July 4th, the S. S. was changed from a. m. to p. m. with 40 in at- 
tendance. The pastor was made superintendent when the Bible School was 
organized, February 21, '15. Regular morning and evening preaching began 
July 4, 1915. On August 8, '15, the first Lord's Supper was held by M. L. 
Scheidler. The society was organized with 17 charter-members: L. AI. Sunder- 
man and wife, Nellie, and Eugene; Mrs. A. Schwitz and son Otto and daugh- 
ters Nellie and Ada; Mrs. Emma and Miss Amelia Hodson; Mrs. Edna Adams; 
Mrs. Sarah Geil; Mrs. Mary Hack; Flora Linweiler; Bert Martin; May Stans- 
berry and Pastor Roederer, who was first class-leader. Eleven of these were 
transferred from Salem. A Ladies' Aid Society was organized November 17, 
'16, with 13 members. First president was Mrs. E. K. Scherer. The Loyal 
V/orker's was organized, composed of young ladies to promote community 
social life. The first revival was conducted by E. M. Kerlin of West Salem, 
IHinois, and the second by I. G. Roederer, who almost doubled the membership 
the second year. 1917-'19, W. R. Kimmel. This society received one-half of 
the Conference Mission Building Fund in 1918-19, and in 1920 the S. S. Alission 
money of the Indianapolis District. 1920-23, B Schuermeier. There is a big 
field here, though progress has been rather slow. 

FREMONT, STEUBEN CO., INDIANA 

The society here first belonged to Indiana Conference in 1861 but was ceded 
to the Michigan Conference in 1865 by action of General Conference. Also 

94 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

Pleasant Lake, Michigan, and Lima, Indiana, Classes originally belonged to 
DeKalb Circuit of the Indiana Conference. 

FIESTER APPOINTMENT 

This class belonged to Bremen Circuit in 1875 and to Warsaw Mission in 
1876. The exact location is not found. 

FLORENCE, OHIO 

In 187S this society with Edgerton, Buffalo, Schotts, Edon or Salem, Bryan 
or Oak Grove, and Hicksville, constituted Edgerton Charge. A church was 
built here by A. B. Shafer in 1879 and dedicated by Bishop T. Bowman. Loca- 
tion not found, nor when it ceased to function. 

FIVE POINTS, ALLEN CO., INDIANA 

This Society, twelve miles southwest of Fort Wayne, Indiana, was organ- 
ized about 1850. Jacob Voltz, a pious man, was the father of this society. He 
held prayer-meetings in his house with his neighbors when he was j'et a mem- 
ber of the Lutheran Church. In 1851, Peter Burgener, pastor of St. Mary's 
Circuit, held a very precious meeting here. December 24, 1852, A. Nicolai and 
Fr. Schuerman. from St. Mary's Circuit, held an evangelistic meeting here last- 
ing to January 6, 1853. The power of God wrought such intense contrition of 
heart that preaching had to be abandoned twice, and instead they were neces- 
sitated to labor with penitents. About twenty adults were converted and nine- 
teen joined the Evangelical Association. Services were conducted in private 
homes. This society was mostly served by pastors from St. Mary's Circuit 
until it was abandoned. For pastors see under St. Mary's Circuit. 

In 1882 a brick church was built here by I. B. Fisher and was dedicated 
Alarch 18, 1883, by Bishop R. Dubs, as "Emmanuel" Church. The name "Five 
Points" was derived from the fact that five public roads meet here which gave 
it prominence. Near this junction stood our church, and also a Lutheran 
Church. Due to local trouble in the society, this once strong society underwent 
a rupture. G. G. Platz, after futile efforts to effect a reconciliation by disciplin- 
ary methods, on a certain Sunday morning publicly expelled the entire member- 
ship, and immediately thereafter reopened the church door and invited all who 
would hereafter live peaceably together, to rejoin the church. Some came back 
and the rest became a nucleus for a U. B. Society at this same point. 

FORT WAYNE MISSION 

This mission was established by the Ohio Conference in 1841. It extended 
into Adams, Wells, Huntington, Wabash, Allen, DeKalb, Noble, Elkhart, and 
probably Kosciusko and Whitley Counties. Previous to this, in 1839, Solomon 
Altimos, from Monroe County, Mich., made a trip over northern Indiana, coni- 

95 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

ing as far south as Ossian, Wells County, and Five Points in Allen County, 
Indiana, inspecting the country and establishing preaching places. In Fort 
Wayne he was cordially received by one Mr. Stetzel, He met with encouraging- 
success. No report found for 1840. In 1841 John Hall was assigned to this 
mission. He labored hard amidst many difficulties and deprivations. There 
were only a few Germans in this territory, and were very poor. The roads 
were almost impassaljle, swamps abounded and, for most of the year, were 
flooded. Streams were unbridged, the atmosphere full of malarial germs. Hall, 
however, succeeded better in resisting malarial troubles than did some of his 
successors. He formed a number of small classes. In 1842 this mission was 
extended south to the Wabash River, east to Willshire, Ohio, thence north 
through to Michigan and had thirty-two members, and one regular appointment 
Avith a fixed service. 

On June 24, 1842, Bishop John Scybert and John G. Zinser, presiding elder, 
(Chr. Bot. 1842, p. 144), made a missionary tour to Illinois. They arrived on the 
eastern hem of Ft. Wayne Mission, (Waynesworth), Van Wert County, Ohio, 
where they held a several days' meeting with good attention. There was pres- 
ent a Lutheran missionary from Germany who preached once and showed a 
'.-cry brotherly spirit. Seybert and Zinser traveled hither and thither on this 
mission and arrived in Fort Wayne Tuesday, June 28. On this day the Bishop 
preached in the Methodist Church to an attentive audience. This no doubt was 
the first sermon preached in Fort Wayne by a preacher of the Evangelical As- 
sociation. A. Nicolai was added to this mission this year. The missionaries 
toiled hard with meager results. They encountered bitter opposition from min- 
isters of other denominations. In 184.3 this mission became a circuit and was 
assigned to Daniel Kern and Geo. A. Blank, with J. J. Klopp as presiding elder. 
These missionaries arrived May 30, and by July 28 had made two rounds. Four 
new appointments were taken up by them, bringing them up to twenty-six. 
The field looked promising. The people were glad to receive them. Others 
sought them and urged them to come and preach for them. Between 
sixty and seventy were added to the Church this year. They reported (Chr. 
Bot., '43, page 134), "We still hear of other German settlements. The harvest 
is great, but the reapers are few." Under date, December 11, '43, D. Kern re- 
ported, "That they held a meeting over Sunday, November 1, near Willshire, 
Ohio. At first the offort to win souls went hard; but Sunday forenoon, with 
the celebtation of the Lord's Supper we obtained a great victory, 'Durchbruch', 
and in the evening there were some seekers for salvation." Some of their ap- 
pointments were Willshire, Ohio; Young's in Wabash County, Ind.; Zion (Fuhr- 
nian's), seven miles northwest of Decatur; Five Points, twelve miles southwest 
of Fort Wayne; Leibradt's, in Allen County; Bethlehem or Clock's, Wells 
County; Ott's, near Benton; Canada and Waterford, in Elkhart County, and 
other points in Ohio and Michigan. At Leibradt's, after the close of a meet- 

96 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

ing- over Christmas, 1843, a class was formed and prayer meetings were now 
instituted. January 1, 1844, a meeting was held in Whitley County, near Colum- 
liia City, or Silver Lake. They reported, "Nearly everybody in this community, 
with tears streaming down their faces, began to pray earnestly for pardon of 
their sins." On April 22, 1844, they reported, "That many were converted and 
some sixty united with the Church." 

At the Ohio Conference session, in May, 1844, the Illinois and Indiana Dis- 
tricts were detached and formed into the Illinois Conference, as ordered by the 
General Conference in October, 1843. This year Fort Wayne Mission was as- 
signed to Geo. A. Blank and Simon Tobias with A. B. Schafer, presiding elder 
of the Indiana District, of this new Conference. Brother Blank reported, "That 
this year seven big meetings were held, and all were crowned with conversions 
but one." Many of their appointments could only be served once in five or 
si.x weeks. Blank was alone from September on, as his colleague, due to sick- 
ness and business aflairs at home, quit the field. In 1845. Fort Wayne Circuit 
V. as divided into Elkhart Circuit, and St. Mary's Mission which included Fort 
Wayne and contiguous appointment. The name "St. Mary's" was derived from 
the appointments in the St. Mary's River valley in Indiana and Ohio. For 
further developments of this field see under St. Mary's Circuit. 

FORT WAYNE, BETHEL 

In 1867 there were in Fort Wayne 12,000 Germans. The German M. E. 
Church had a mission in this city, but did not prosper. So it was thought by 
many, if they could not succeed neither could the Evangelical Association. 
Steffey, however, was determined to try. So in May, 1867, he held a protracted 
meeting. He promised God if He would give him converts that this should be 
the sign that God had a work for our church in this city. Arrangements were 
made for a meeting. One brother was to look for a place to hold the meeting. 
At the appointed time S. came from South Bend by way of Plymouth, Indiana, 
but because of a breakdown of the R. R. engine he did not arrive in Ft. Wayne 
until 11 p. m. He at once went to C. H. and learned that no place had been 
found to hold a meeting. Not even the M. E. Church was willing to open her 
church building for a meeting. S. told C. H. next morning, "You cannot go to 
work until we have a place to hold a meeting." They started out and saw Dr. 
Lowry, pastor of the Third Presbyterian Church, corner Calhoun and Holman 
Streets, who granted them the use of his chapel which up to that time had never 
been opened for preaching, being used only for S. S. As there were no lamps, 
S. borrowed some on Saturday and had the chapel ready for preaching Satur- 
day night. Brother Oakes then came from St. Mary's Circuit, but exhibited lack 
of faith. But S. prayed for victory. On Sunday night a few seekers came to 
the altar. On Monday came a few more. By Wednesday there were four con- 
verts. This was the sign that God had a work for the Evangelical Association 

97 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

in Fort Wayne. Oakcs left for the Leininger Society while S. stayed in Ft. 
Wayne. He said he would not leave until he had a place for Oakes to preach 
in this city. O. was to set a Sunday afternoon to preach here. S. searched 
and after many futile efforts, obtained permission to hold services in the reading 
room of the Y. M. C. A. building opposite the court house on Calhoun Street. 




Fort Wayne, First, Fort Wayne, Ind, 

A more suitaljle place could not have been found. Truly the Lord's hand was 
in this. From this time the brethren Oakes and Jos. Maier preached here reg- 
ularly until Conference time. At the Conference session of September, 1867, 
Ft- Wayne with the Furthmiller Class, one mile east of New Haven, Indiana, was 
taken up as a mission and M. W. Steffey jjecame the first missionary in this 

98 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

city. Previous to the aforesaid meeting, which S. held, D. S. Oakes had preach- 
ed some in private homes in this city in 1866. A class of 16 was organized May 
18, 1867, with the following charter-members: Daniel and Henrietta Renschler, 
Peter and Sophia Gabel, Jacob and Melvina Lehman, Catherine Hettler, Doro- 
thy Imbody, Margaretha Hilt, Dorothy Baierlein, Henrietta Hettler, Mary 
Rabers, Esther Biekcr, Helena Wibge, Christian Roehm and Dorothea Seibold 
(Engel). Daniel Renschler was the first class leader. 

The Sunday School was organized in 1868 with M. W. Steffey as super- 
intendent, enrollment fifty scholars. Membership in March, 1868, was 46. 

First Church Built 

At the Conference session of 1867, a building committee was appointed con- 
sisting of M. W. StefTey, missionary; M. Krueger, presiding elder of Elkhart 
District, to which Fort Wayne then belonged, and T. F. Furthmiller. They 
were empowered to lease a lot and build a temporary church thereon, the cost 
of it not to exceed $1,500.00. This committee was authorized to borrow the 
money for this purpose. Steffey was to collect funds in and out of the city 
for the erection of a church. The first board of trustees consisted of David 
Renschler, John Rabus, and A. F. Schock. In September, 1868, this committee 
reported to Conference that a lot was leased on the corner of Clinton and Hol- 
man Streets (northeast), for eight years at .$40.00 per annum. That a frame 
church was built at a cost of $1,503.99. Collected and applied on debt, $1,079.50. 
Unpaid pledges, $191.15, leaving an unpaid debt of $352.14. This church was 
dedicated December, 1867, by Bishop J. Long as the Bethel Church of the 
Evangelical Association in Fort Wa3'ne, Indiana. 

First Parsonage 

At the session of 1867, the Conference ordered that a parsonage should be 
built on the north end of the leased lot not to cost over $800.00. The money for 
its construction was ordered to be borrowed. The church building committee 
was reappointed to build the parsonage. 1869 the indebtedness on the church 
was more than covered, and the parsonage cost $876.93, and was occupied De- 
cember, 1868. Debt on parsonage was $861.64. 

In September, 1872, the debt on church and parsonage increased to $1,027.24. 
In 1874 the money was borrowed to pay off this and other church property 
debts. In 1883 the original church was enlarged by Jos. Fisher at a cost of 
$600.00, about twelve feet was added to the front of the church with a belfry. 

Second Church 

The old church site having become a very undesirable location, and the 
last lease on the lot expiring August, 1899, it was resolved in May, 1895, not to 
cease missionary operation in this growing city as some lay members suggested, 
and as some ministers of the Conference believed was the inevitable, but to re- 
locate to a more hopeful locality. This required much urging in private and 
public by the pastor, S. H. Baumgartner, Some said, "We cannot build such a 

99 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

rhurch as the age and city morally demands, and that would appeal to the pub- 
lic." The majority, however, were reluctant to take such a gloomy look at the 
situation and utterly abandon the mission. The pastor's predecessor gave a 
very pessimistic outlook of the future here, and said to his successor, "If you 
build a new church in Fort Wayne you are the biggest preacher this mission 
ever had," and chuckling, turned away from the preacher of only seven years' 
experience who had never even built a house. And a few of the laity said, "If 
the big preachers we had were afraid to undertake a relocation (as was now 
advocated by the pastor) what will you do?" Indeed this situation was gloomy 
and disheartening to a j'oung man. His presiding elder when he was asked to 
encourage the membership to take new courage, answered, "I have lost faith in 
this mission, and have not the courage to urge them on." The society was 
rapidly retrogressing. 

The incentives to work here were gloomy; but all this aroused the pastor's 
determination that this work shall not die on his hands. If a future is to be 
obtained for this society it must begin now or never. The first year passed by 
'vith four accessions and two soon withdrew. The Sunday School had an en- 
rollment of 74, average about 40, church membership, 83; with about half in 
attendance mornings, and less than 20 evenings. The Sunday evening services 
were now made English, which gradually increased the attendance. Morning- 
services remained exclusively German. At the Conference session of 1895 a 
presiding elder said to the pastor here, Sunday afternoon before the stationing 
report was read, "Would you like to move?" After a moment's reflection he 
answered, "No, I believe the Lord has a mission for me in Fort Wayne." Notli- 
irig further was said. The pastor was returned, thank God; though an ominous 
cloud still hovered over the society. Soon after his return he called a special 
congregational meeting, laid the matter of relocating before them. The matter 
was voted down for the present. Final action was yet to come. He said he 
would not call another meeting for this purpose unless asked to do so by one 
or more trustees, and dismissed the meeting. Prayer was made for more light. 
About half were ready for immediate relocation. Others feared the effort 
would be disastrous. 

Already the next morning one of the trustees, Isaac Miller, w-ho had urged 
relocation, came to the parsonage urging the pastor to call another congrega- 
tional meeting. He complied. The call was made. The purpose restated. 
The vote was taken and carried to relocate and to buy a lot this year. The 
board of trustees were empowered to buy a previously selected lot. They at 
once got busy. The northeast corner lot on DeWald and Clinton Streets was 
bought for $2,000.00. 

On New-year's day, 1896, the society numbering 85 members decided to 
build a modern brick church. Young and old now became enthused. The Ladies' 
Aid Society in 1890 had started a building fund with seven shares in a Building 

lOO 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

and Loan Association. These were the hopeful ladies of the chnrch. This fund 
was to buy the church furnishings. Mrs. Katherine Hcttler was the energetic 
president of the Aid. Her husband was a director of the Building Association. 
The Sunday School took on new life and rapidly discarded contributing pennies; 
nickels, dimes and quarters were from now on contributed. Only little folks 
and the very poor brought less than nickels. 

The building committee consisted of the three trustees, Isaac Miller, Henry 
Miller, Geo. F. Bandtel, and S. H. Baumgartner, pastor, Jonas Wicst, A, F. 
Schoch, and Geo. Flaig. and Capt. C. Hettler as advisory member. Before the 
close of this Conference year plans and specifications were completed. At the 
session of 1896 the right to collect funds on the Conference fields was granted. 
The old church and parsonage were ordered to be sold and the proceeds to be 
applied to the building of the new church. The pastor was returned with J. H. 
Evans as presiding elder, who gave his influence and time to assist as his office 
permitted. After the society had decided to Ijuild, Bishop T. Bowman visited 
this society, preached and concluded his sermon with giving the society praise 
and encouragement for their undertaking. It had a ver-' •nanirational effect 
upon the project. 

At the close of the year, 1896, the old church was sold for $300.00, and the 
parsonage for $100.00. The new church was finished January, 1897, and dedi- 
cated the 17th of this month by Bishop T. Bowman, as Bethel Church of the 
Evangelical Association in Fort Wayne, Ind. The day was not auspicious to 
raise over $3,000.00, for the weather was cold, and the snow was driven with a 
high wind, however, subsiding in the afternoon. In the forenoon the auditorium 
was about two-thirds full, but in the afternoon and evening it and gallery were 
full. The cash collections and pledges more than covered the remaining in- 
debtedness for which all felt very grateful to the Lord. 

Brief description of the church: Built of brick, with two corner towers, 
each with an entrance to the auditorium, one side entrance to Church and Sun- 
day School auditoriums and gallery and a rear entrance. Slate roof, art glass 
windows, most of them memorials, church auditorium is well proportioned and 
bowled, seated with circular pews. The gallery forms a complete semi-circle, 
electric and gas light fi.xtures combined, entire floor carpeted, organ and choir 
loft back of the pulpit on the east side. Sunday School auditorium to the 
right from the pulpit, with a large class room, basement for furnace, toilets and 
store room. Total cost including a small pipe organ, donated by Captain Heft- 
ier, $13,000.00. 

New Parsonage 

The old parsonage was sold. In the fourth year the new parsonage was 
built on the rear end of the church lot. It was built with bricks, in harmony 
with the church building, at a cost of $2,000.00, and is modern throughout. This 
brought the value of the entire church property up to $17,000.00. L^p to April, 

101 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

1898, the money paid in on subscriptions and cash collections for lot, church 
and parsonage, was $14,114.72. Uncollected pledges, $550. The rest was the 
earnings of the faithful and energetic Ladies' Aid, amounting to near $4,000.00, 
\\hieh more than covered the balance of the indebtedness, and matured soon 
afterwards. From Conference fields the pastor received some over $500. 
Captain Hettlcr, not a member, took a deep interest in the project, paid over 
$1,500.00. and secured from business friends $1,100.00, and presented the church 
«ith a small Kimball pipe organ. Nearly all church members did their full 
share gladly. 

The first revival in this new church resulted in thirteen conversions and 
sixteen accessions. Rev. M. L. Sheidler assisted. The regular attendance at 
church and Sunday School was soon doul)led. The choir and organ proved a 
very helpful part in the services. H. Miller was the first Sunday School super- 
intendent in the new church. Contrifintion for Sunday School work and on its 
cliiirch Iniilding pledge per Sunday, per Sunday School member, averaged $2.00 
this year. In the four years of his pastorate the pastor had 32 conversions, 54 
accessions, total inembership, 100. 

A v. P. A. was organized in the old church in 1896, which has ever since 
l)cen very active. Geo. Stecher was the first Y. P. A. president in the new church 
ill 1897. Dora Brandt, the first superintendent of the infant department. Lizzie 
Scliock, the first organist. 

On April 18, 1900, under the administration of J. H. Evans, this society 
purchased a half lot with a house on it, joining the church property on the east 
side, for $1,300.00. The house was remodeled into a modern house at a cost of 
$1,400.00. This home was rented and the rentals applied to the cost of im- 
provements made. This administration enjoyed splendid temporal and spiritual 
progress. Under D. F. Zechiil's administration healthy and substantial devel- 
opments in all church activities continued. Mrs. Katharine Hcttler installed a 
new and larger pipe organ in memory of her husband, C Hcttler. In April, 
1907, for the first time an Annual Conference session was held here. During 
C. E. Boyer's first administration the church was extensively remodeled in the 
basement by deepenin.g it under the Sunday School auditorium and was fitted 
up for the Primary Department, all at a cost of $3,000.00. In 1915 a great gain 
of membership, 141, resulted as a partial result of the "Lyon's Union Evangel- 
istic Meeting." E. Q. Laudeman was pastor. During C. E. Boyer's second 
administration in 1918 the Katherine Hettler (deceased) property on E. DeWald 
Street, was obtained as a donation for the society through the efi^ort of the pas- 
tor. The society has outgrown the accommodations of the church, and prepara- 
tions are under way to reconstruct. 

The Following Pastors Served This Society 

1867-68, M. W. Steffey; 1869-70, J. M. Gomcr; 1871, M. Krueger; 1872-73, 
J. Sebmidli; 1874-75, Edw. Evans; 1876-77, P. Roth; 1878-79, Jos. Fisher; 1880- 

102 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

82, M. Hoehn; 1883-85, Jos. Fisher again; 1886-87, J. Miller; 1888-89, D. D. 
Speicher; 1890, C. F. W. Hansing; 1891-93, G. Schmoll; 1894-97, S. H. Baum- 
gartner; 1898, J, F. Bockman; 1899-1902, J. H. Evans; 1903-06, D. E. Zechiel; 
1007-08, E. Q, Laudeman; 1909-11, C. D. Rarcy; 1912, C. E. Boyer; 1913-17, 
E. Q. Laudeman again; 1918-20, C. E. Boyer again. The society granted Boyer 
six months' leave of absence and C. H. Burgener filled out the year. 1921-23, 
M. W. Sunderman. 

The Presiding Elders Who Served Here: 
Elkhart District, 1867-70, M. Krneger; to Fort Wayne District, 1871-74, 
M. W. Steffey; 1875-78, E. L. Kiplinger; 1879-82, M. Krueger; 1883-86, D. S. 
Oakes; to Indianapolis District, 1887, J. Berger; 1888-91, H. Arlen; 1892, C. F. 
Hansing; to Fort Wayne District again, 1893-94, D. S. Oakes; 1895-96, J. H. 
Evans; to Indianapolis District again, 1897-98, D. S. Oakes; to Fort Wayne 
District again, 1899-1902, D. S. Oakes; 1903-04, S. H. Baumgartner; 1905-07, 
D. Alartz; 1908-11, J. J. Wise; 1912-14, S. H. Baumgartner; 1915-16, J. W. Metz- 
ner; 1917-21, J. O. Mosier; 1922, S. H. Baumgartner; 1923, F. C. Berger. 

FORT WAYNE CRESCENT AVENUE CHl'RCH 

In June, 1909, the Quarterly Conference of the Bethel Evangelical Church of 
Fort Wayne decided to found a new mission somewhere in the city. A com- 
mittee was appointed consisting of J. J. Wise, presiding elder; C. D. Rarey, 
P. C; W'm. ilertz, James Trythali, Isaac Miller, O. B. iloore, and Katherine 
Hettler. On August 2nd this committee inspected various localities and then 
decided upon Lakeside Addition as the most promising field. This same inonth 
the Indiana Conference Branch Y. P. A. assembled in annual convention at 
Oakwood Park, and this matter was brought to its attention. This convention 
decided to support a mission in the City of Fort Wajme. 

On August 23, 1909, the mission was definitely located when two lots were 
bought on Crescent Avenue in Lakeside Addition. On September 6th the build- 
ing committee was elected at the Bethel Church from among its members and 
also organized, namely: T. M Nantz, president; H. Gabel, secretary; C. F. 
Sweney, treasurer; S. J. Gerard, J. J. Wise, Wm. G. Lew, assistant secretary; 
Wm. E. Ronk, Katherine Hettler, and C. D. Rarey, P. C. 

On October 10th the Crescent Avenue Sunday School was organized in the 
Lakeside public school building with Rev. F. J. Stedcke as first superintendent: 
H. A. Gabel, assistant. 

The First Crescent Avenue Church 

The building of the church was undertaken and in April, 1910, the basement 
of the church was ready for the Sunday School to move in and begin operation. 
H. A. Gabel now served as superintendent until January 1, 1911, when H. J. 
Kirkwood was elected to the office. The building of the church began October. 
1909. On November 28th the cornerstone was laid by C. E. Boyer, Indiana 

103 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Conference Branch Y. P. A. president. March 10, 1910, Andrew Carnegie agreed 
to give $600.00 towards a pipe organ. The first session of the Sunday School in 
the basement was held in April. At the April Conference session Carl A. 
Kirschman was appointed as the first missionary here. He, however, did not 
assume charge of this mission until September 1, 1910. On September 11, of 
this year, the church was dedicated by Bishop S. C. Breyfogel of Reading, Penn- 
sylvania, as the Crescent Avenue Church of the Evangelical Association in Fort 
Wayne, Indiana. 

On June 22, 1911, the Crescent Avenue Society was organized and incor- 
porated by the pastor with 46 charter-members as follows: Merto W. and 
Mrs. Arnold, Mrs. E. E. and Jesse M. Beisel, Wilburn and Mrs. Bloom, Mrs. 
D. L. and Janet C. and Harold J. Bower, G. G. and Mrs. Burry, Mrs. W. G. 
Clark, Irene A. Davis, M. Wayne Dochtcrman, Mabel I. Dunkel, John T. Fer- 
guson, Mrs. Nellie H. and Trindale Ferguson, Ethel Hamilton, Rev. Carl A, and 
>,Irs. Hirschman, Mrs. T. F. and !Mabel Hocker, Henry L. and Mrs. Jamison, 
Mrs. L. M. Kelsey, J. Harveu and Mrs. Kirkwood and son, Melvin, Charles I. 
and Mrs. Lock, Raymond Loranger, Walter J. and Mrs. McDaniel, Charles E., 
Mrs. and Dorothy G. McFarrcn, Mrs. Rose. Blanch E. and Harry L. McNally, 
Mrs. Amelia and Miss Ellen H. Rhae, John L. and Mrs. Roussey, Gladys ^', 
and Henrietta Zimmerman. Eight of these by letter. And the young people 
were also organized into a Y. P. A. October 21, 1911, with twenty-five charter 
members. 

A fire which threatened to consume the church Ijroke out in the basement 
on January 27, 1911, but was in time extinguished. Some repairs were necessary. 

February 8, 1911, the first board of trustees was elected and organized as 
follows: C. E. McFarren, president; G. G. Burrjf, vice-president; H. J. Kirk- 
wood, secretary; H. L. Jamison, treasurer, and H. A. Gabel. First board of 
stewards: J. T. Ferguson, G. G. Burry, H. L. Jamison. A Ladies' Social Circle 
was also organized February 9, 1911, with sixteen charter-members, and an Adult 
Bible Class was organized April 27, 1911. January 9, 1912, the first annual con- 
gregational meeting was held. D. O. McComb was elected trustee to succeed 
H. J. Kirkwood. On January 14, 1912, a special evangelistic meeting was begun, 
conducted by Rev. W. F. Klein of Reading. Pennsylvania, which resulted in 
fifteen decisions. October 6th a Junior Y. P. A. was organized with forty mem- 
bers. January 13, 1913, the second yearly meeting of the congregation was held. 
March 27-30 was the great flood period that damaged the basement to the ex- 
tent of $550.00. This outlay of money for repairs was furnished by donors in 
the Conference who cheerfully responded to the call of Conference for aid. The 
homes of the pastor and of many members of the church suffered heavy damage 
by this flood. In the winter of 1914 in a series of revival efforts twenty were 
converted and joined the church. 

In the fall of 1914 a commodious parsonage was built on Crescent Avenue, 

104 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

two blocks north from the church. Cost of lot $1,052.00; and parsonage, $3,400.00. 
C. E. Boyer's were the first to live in it soon after Conference session of 1915. 
This is the most up-to-date modern parsonage. 

During the Lyons Union Evangelistic meeting in January and February, 
1915, this society reaped eighty accessions, and the winter following fifty-eight 
accessions. A separate Primary Sunday School organization was now launched. 
Also a Men's and Women's Class was now organized, giving new impetus to 
the work. 

February 2, 1916, a congregational meeting was called at which time it was 
decided to enlarge the church, it having become inadequate for larger develop- 
ments. A building committee was elected and authorized to begin enlargement 
as soon as $10,000.00 was secured in pledges and cash. On June 16, 1916, the 
work began. July 23, the cornerstone was laid by the first pastor, Carl A. 
Hirschnian. The new addition provided for a large auditorium, a modern 
Sunday School room, a basement under the entire church. February 11, 1917, 
the rededication took place. Bishop L. H. Seagar officiated. The total cost of 
enlargement $18,835.35. Of this $5,100.00 was unpledged, but raised on dedica- 
tion day. Mrs. Katherine Hettler, of Bethel Church, gave great impetus to this 
undertaking by a personal gift of $10,000.00, including a check from her son of 
$5,000.00. Without this admirable gift the enlargement of the church at this 
time could not have been carried out. In deep appreciation of this gift the 
society placed a tablet in the main entrance to the church with this inscription : 
"In memory of Mrs. Katherine Hettler, whose loving interest 
and cheerful generosity helped to make this church possible." 

The building committee was: E. C. Holt, president; H. L. Jamison, vice- 
president; J. L. Roussey, secretary; C. W. Eninger, treasurer; B. M. Hollopeter. 
G. G. Burry, O. E. Anderson. Advisory members were: F. C. Forney, archi- 
tect, and C. E. Boyer, pastor. 

February, 1916, a W. M. Society was organized with twenty-five charter- 
members. 

Ministers: 1910-13, Carl A. Hirschman; 1914-17, C. E. Boyer; 1918, H. E. 
Eberhardt; 1919-22, W. R. Loose; 1923, O. O. Lozier. For presiding elders see 
under Bethel Church. 

FORT WAYNE NEW HAVEN SOCIETY 

The first bit of authentic history of this class dates back to March 7, 1856. 
when Peter Goetz and Charles Wessling served St. Mary's Circuit, when they 
reported that they held a meeting just about one mile east of here in the Furth- 
miller neighborhood. They reported: "At first we encountered unpleasant 
things, but victory was achieved, the meeting became one of the most powerful 
we ever witnessed in Indiana. A goodly number of young folks were converted 
and joined church." Then in December, 1856, Peter Burgener, Fr. Geisel were 

105 



INDIANA CONFERENCE _ 

pastor and A. B. Schafer presiding elder of Whitewater District. They held a 
meeting here over Christmas which was a glorious time for God's people, three 
were saved, one being Burgener's own child. This class was served with St, 
Mary's Circuit until 1867, when it became a part of the Fort Wayne Mission 
a!id was served with it until the class was discontinued and the members incor- 
porated with the city appointment, and continued to receive pastoral care. 
There never was a church building here. It had good and loyal members. Mrs. 
Katherine Hettler's parents, brothers and sisters resided here to their end. 

FORACKER, INDIANA 

In 1909 J. J. Wise, pastor of New Pans Circuit, began preaching in this 
\illagc. He organized a class with Ivlr. Detweiler and daughter, Mrs. Swove- 
land, Mr. and Mrs. Blosser, Mr. and Mrs. Weaver, Mr. and Mrs. Holdeman, 
Mr. and Mrs. Billman, of the old a1)andoncd Billman class, west of Wakarusa 
A small frame store building in Foracker was bought in September, 1900, and a 
committee appointed to convert the same into an inviting place for worship. 
December 1, 1900, the first service was held in it, and Sunday, the 2nd, forenoon, 
after a debt of $52.25 was wiped out it was dedicated as "Hope Church" of the 
Evangelical Association. December 7, the first Sunday School session was held 
with seventy-eight present. But the class failed to make progress. Some died, 
otliers moved away and the community was largely occupied by other denomina- 
tions. In 1911 the Conference ordered the property to be sold, that one-third 
of the proceeds be given to the New Paris Circuit which was $83.33, for the re- 
pairs of its parsonage, and the balance flowed into the Conference Treasury'. 
This order was duly carried out. This appointment was served with New Paris. 

FULTON, FULTON COUNTY, INDIANA 

This was one of the first regular preaching places in Fulton County, Indiana, 
by the Evangelical preachers. Jacob Keiper preached here in 1852 and probably 
Jos. Fisher already in 1851, in the homes of Jacob Goss, John Plunk, John and 
Sophia Zwingeisen, John Ream. Later this class was merged with Salem Socie- 
ty nearby, and Plunk's and Zwingcisen's moved to Rochester, Indiana. 

GERMANTOWN, OHIO 

This appointment was in the S. W. corner of Montgomery Co., Ohio, on 
Twinn Creek. Our ministers preached here as early as 1850. Ph. Porr was 
pastor in '55, and J. Keiper in '56. Members then at this place were: Wm. and 
Christian Wcrtz; John and Cath. Orth; Anna Eibel; Hannah Davis; Sarah 
Ileiss; Nickolaus Schafer, son Henry and daughter Ellnoria; Eliza Emrich; 
Eliza Eechtel; Cath. Been; Anna M. Kramer. Sunburj- near here was also a 
preaching place. These classes formed a part of Miami Circuit of the Ohio 

106 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

Conference until 1856 when the circuit was added to the Indiana Conference. 
The time when this appointment was abandoned is not found. 

GERTY CLASS 

In 1853 this appointment, located about two miles east of Gilead, Miami 
Co., Ind., was taken up. Services were held in a schoolhouse. J. Keiper held a 
meeting April 22-24, 1853. On a Sunday evening he could not preach by reason 
of the prayers of the penitents. Later this class was merged with the Barnheisel, 
or Emmanuel Society of Akron Charge. It was also called Gilead Class. 

GETTYSBURG, OHIO 

In 1855 the Gettysburg Class was served by Ph Porr. It was about seven 
miles east of Greenville, Ohio, and was served by J. Keiper and P. ("ioetz in 
1856. Members here were: Geo. Jacol)s and wife, Jacob Erisman, Samuel and 
Eliza Witmer, Jacob and Nancy Rissen, Levi and Mary Gilbert, John and Re- 
becca Weismantel, John and Eliza IMerkel, Samuel and Lucinda Paulin, J. Brei- 
beegen, Ben. and Christina Gilbert, Mary Kropp, Chr. and Eliza Brubaker. 
Rebecca Babel, Joshua and Leah Paulin (likely Rev. Jos. Paulin). It also be- 
longed to the iliami Circuit of the Ohio Conference until 1856. 

GILEAD, NOBLE CO., INDIANA 

This class was eight miles east of \\ awasee Lake in Noble Co., Indiana. In 
1852 Jos. Fisher of Elkhart Circuit served here. In 1853 he revised the mem- 
bership book. The members were: Isaac and Mary Steward; Henry and Mrs. 
Nailer; Gottlieb and mother Gugler; Jacob, Christian, and Louisa Gugler; Fr. 
and Rosina Byer; Riga Leylcr; Mary Wilson; Rosina Fiddler. F. said that this 
class was not in good condition. Few of them had any religion. There were 
no prospects for conversions. The class soon died. 

GOSHEN, INDIANA 

On May 18, 1853, Jos. Fisher reported that many Germans lived in Goshen. 
"I preached in the home of Ijrother John Gyse. Prospects in Goshen are fair." 
M. W. Steffey preached in the school house here on June 8, 1853. J. Keiper was 
pi-esent and preached June 10. They lodged with one Rev. Kramer. Members 
were: Roman and Matilda Straub, Sarah Arndt, Jacob Kramer, John and Susan 
Gyse. When and why this class ceased is not known. Later attempts were 
made to enter this city but were not successful. 

GRAND PRAIRIE, OLNEY, ILLINOIS 

This place was three miles N. E. of Olney, Illinois, in Richland Township. 
Chr. Augenstein began preaching here in 1842 in private houses. He had great 
opposition. In 1843 the Ohio Conference took up this section of Illinois, em- 

107 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

bracing Richland, Wabash, Edward, Lawrence and Clark Counties and Dubois 
County in Indiana. It was called Mt. Carmel Mission. Chr. Lintner and A. 
Nicolai were the missionaries. Before going to Conference, H. Zwallen was 
asked if it was worth while to continue to preach here. He begged that the 
effort might continue one more year. It was done, and not in vain. A. Nicolai 
and G. G. Platz were the missionaries in 1844, and they had considerable success. 
Many were saved and joined the church, and prayer-meetings were now held 
V ithout a regular organization. At the organization of the Illinois Conference 
in 1844 this territory became a part of the Indiana District of this new confer- 
ence with A. B. Schafer as P. E. Simon Tobias and Ph. Bretsch were the pas- 
tors and organized the class before May, 1845, as Grand Prairie Class. Charter- 
members were: The families, H. Zwallen, Chr. Weiss, Chr. Von Allman; G. 
Schwartz, and B. Millman. These were Swiss immigrants. Henry Zwallen was 
the first class-leader. The services were very spiritual this year, but mockery 
and storms of opposition also abounded. In 1846 John G. Miller, and Jacob 
Trometer served. Their work extended up into Effingham and Shelby Coun- 
ties, where Miller was sent to look up new territory. In 1847 Wm. Fichte was 
oastor. He soon took sick and had to quit and Chr. Glaus from here took his 
place. He was called iiy outsiders in derision, "der Geiszhirt" — ".goat shepherd", 
for such had been his occupation in the old country. But he soon gained the 
confidence of the people and demonstrated his abilitjr beyond expectation. 
Souls were saved for God and the church. He also served in 1848. In 1849 
S. Dickover. A. B. Schafer resigned as P. E. in 1850, and Geo. A. Blank was 
elected, and stationed on Wabash District which covered the west portion of 
the former Indiana District which was this year divided. The north portion 
was named St. Joseph District. Mt. Carmel Circuit was also divided, the north- 
ern part of it becoming Marshall Circuit, and S. Tobias was assigned to Mt 
Carmel Circuit. The first church here was built and completed in 1850, and be- 
came the spiritual birthplace of many souls. In 1851 Geo. Messner and T. Wolf 
with Marshall Circuit attached. At the organization of the Indiana Conference, 
I\ft. Carmel Circuit embraced Mt. Carmel. Grand Prairie. Lancaster, Timber- 
ville, Bompus, or "Dutch Flats", and was served by Fr. Wiethaup. In 1853 
Grand Prairie Mission was formed, P. Burgener, pastor. He had 13 conver- 
sions and 14 accessions. Two new classes were now formed, one in Olney, and 
one called "Fox River" Class, three miles west of Olney. For further history 
see Olney. 

GRAND VICTORY, VAN WERT CO., OHIO 

This society, six miles N. E. of Van Wert, was locally known as "Mohr's" 
Class, named after the Mohr families that lived here. Its historic name was 
Zion. Our missionaries, A. Nicolai and Fr. Schuerman, began to preach here 
in 1852. But Bishop John Seybert and J. G. Zinser, in June, 1842, journeyed 
through Van Wert County, and held a few days' meeting somewhere in this 

108 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

county. Nicolai organized this class in Maj', 1853, with several Mohr famihes. 
In 1853, N. with J. Fuchs served St. Mary's Circuit to which this class belonged. 
In 1854 J. M. Kronmiller and Henry Strickler held a meeting here over the 
New-year season, 1855, when the Lord revealed His power as K. never saw 
it belore. Eight persons were gloriously saved. It was probably at this meet- 
ing where Strickler, after seven persons were saved in one night, fell into a 
trance that lasted from 8 p. m. to 8 a. m. next day. Some thought he was dead. 
One man declared, "If this man will come to life again I will believe in this 
work." This occurrence had a salutary effect on others. For pastors up to 
1862, see St. Mary's Circuit. In 1863 St. Mary's Circuit was divided and the 
Ohio appointments constituted Van Wert Mission. G. A. Hertel, pastor, '63-64; 
'65-66, Chr. Wessling; '67-68, Ph. Porr; '69, Wm. "Wesseler; '70, this class and 
St. Peter's, and St. Paul's were reattached to St. Mary's Circuit. Pastors P. 
Roth and S. S. Condo, who also served in '71. Van Wert Mission was re- 
established when the services were now entirely English. 1872, J. Keiper; '7?i, 
J. F. Bockman; '74, J. Wales; '75, C. C. Beyrer; '76-77, again with St. Mary's 
Circuit served by S. S. Albert, and supplied the second year. In '78, again to 
Van Wert Mission, pastor, S. S. Albert; '79, back to St. Mary's Circuit, pastor, 
B. F. Dill, and Wm. Ackerman. The latter had 90 conversions here and 56 ac- 
cessions. '80-81, B. F. Dill; '82-84, J. E. Smith; '85-86, S. S. Albert; '87, H. 
.■\rlen who preached three months when he was elected by the district as P. E. 
to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of J. Berger due to illness. J. H. 
Evans of Mendon, Ohio, succeeded Arlen. '88-90, F. Rausch; '91, J. E. Smith. 
In '92 this class was added to Payne Mission, served by Wm. Ackerman but 
returned to Van Wert Mission in '93 and served by Ackerman for two more 
years. Here he organized a Y. P. A. in '93, with 40 members. In 1895-96, 
D. D. Spangler; '97-99. D. D. Speicher; '00-02, D. B. Koenig; '03, Aug. Geist, 
and C. D. Ringgenberg; '95 the name Cavett was changed to Scott, where the 
parsonage was now located, with S. D. Rainey, pastor, who died the third year. 
The vacancy was filled by F. J. Stedke. '08-09, A. D. Kroft; '10-13, G. F. Zuber; 
'14-15, A. B. Aegerter; '16-18, J. H. Heldt; '19-23, Ira Steele. 

The first church was built in 1853 and dedicated November 25. In 1887 the 
second frame church was built and was dedicated October 30, as Zion Church 
by Prof. Fr. W. Heidner of Naperville, Illinois. It had a high tower, which 
later endangered the building so that on stormy Sundays people were afraid to 
attend the services. One Sunday night while the historian opened the services, 
a storm arose suddenly. The people started for home, and only a few remained. 
Soon after this a storm moved the church off its foundation. This necessitated 
the building of the third church. The cornerstone was laid June 22, 1913, by 
I. Newman, then conference evangelist. The names of 220 members, a short 
history of the church, and other documents were placed in the hollow of the 
stone. This church was dedicated December 21, '13, by Editor G. Heinmiller 

109 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

of Cleveland, Ohio. The cost of the church was $13,860.00. $6,140.00 was se- 
cured on dedication day. This was a surplus of $300.00 above the indebtedness. 
This church has a basement under the whole church. It is built of red, im- 
pervious, rough-faced bricks and Bedford stone trimmings, dimensions 61 x 56 
feet, with two towers; large auditorium, pulpit alcove, five class-rooms, art- 
glass windows and hot air furnace. F. C. Wacknitz of St. Peter's Church 
preached the first sermon in it. 

In 1904 a parsonage was built in Scott, Ohio, a town near to this church. 
It was sold in 1919 for $600.00. The proceeds were applied in the purchase of 
a parsonage on N. Walnut Street in Van Wert, Ohio, October, 1919. The sum 
of $3,000.00 cash was paid for this property. 

GRAND VIEW, SPENCER COUNTY, INDIANA 

This was a small class composed of people who lived in and around Grand 
View, a small village on the north bank of the Ohio River, about six miles 
N. E. of Rockport, Indiana. Our ministers began to preach here about 1852. 
For earl}' pastors see Huntingburg. Families who were members in 1854 were: 
Rev. Gerhart and Mary Koch, Ernst and Sophia Hassel, Carl and Mary Meuser, 
Peter Halthaus. The class never undertook to build a church. Services gen- 
erally were held in the Lutheran Church and in private homes. The people 
gradually moved away. About 1875 the remaining members were merged with 
Rockport Society. The last member in this town was Carl Meuser, Jr., who 
died in the summer of 1917. Sometime prior, he remembered the Orphan's 
Home at Flat Rock, Ohio, with a $5,000,00 annuity note, and also N. W. 
College with $5,000.00, To this class belonged "Sandy" appointment with which 
it was merged. In 1868 it was with Rockport, having been detached from Hun- 
tingburg Charge, 

GRAND VIEW, FULTON COUNTY, INDIANA 

This class for years was known as "Whippoorwill" Class, named after the 
bird of that name that alighted on the schoolhouse across the road from the 
church, when it was finished, and there lustily sang its evening song. It is 
about seven miles N. W. of Rochester, Indiana. Its real beginning dates back 
to 1880 when Henry Prechtel of Twin Lake Circuit held a meeting here, closing 
with 23 conversions. Preaching was in a schoolhouse across the road from the 
present church. Previous to this, Samuel Plantz and also D. S. Oakes preached 
here frequently. In 1884 it became a part of the newly formed Tippecanoe Cir- 
cuit, but was restored to Twin Lake in 1885. In 1886 it was added to Rochester 
Circuit where it remained until 1896, when it once more was added to Twin. 
Lake Circuit, and pastor P. S. Speicher had a glorious revival here closing with 
32 conversions, 11 reclaimed, and 30 accessions. A Y. P. A. was now organized 
with eight members. In 1897 it again was attached to Rochester Circuit. 1901- 

110 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

07 to Tippecanoe Mission, served by C. D. Ringgenberg, '01; by J. Bohycr, '02; 

D. A. Kaley, '03; A. E. Wcyrick, '04-05; L. E. Smith, '06-07; to Akron Charge 
'08, I. Steele; '09, to Rochester Mission, G. A. Weishaar; '10-12, Ph. Buchler; 
'13-14, Culver Circuit, J. A. Tiedt with C. L. Haney first year and Ph. Haney 
second year. 1915, to Rochester Circuit, Ph. Haney, pastor. He had 27 con- 
versions and 23 accessions. '16-17, L. A. DeWitt; '18-19, J. S. Kroft; '20-21, 
F. L. Snyder; '22-23, J. M. Kistler. The church here was built in 1885 and dedi- 
cated January 3, 1886, by Bishop Thomas Bowman. This society has from the 
beginning maintained a Sunday School. 

GRAYVILLE, ILLINOIS 

In 1866 C. F. Matthias of Carmi Circuit, with a passion for souls, endeav- 
ored to win German settlers for Christ in and about Grayville. He found an 
open door at David Negely's for lodging, and preached in the Fieber School- 
house. Vital Christianity was not found here. His efforts were wonderfully 
effective, and hearers soon Ijecame deeply interested in their eternal welfare. 
In 1867 J. Berger and Philemon Miller, from Mt. Carmel Circuit, held a meet- 
ing here and had conversions and accessions to the Evangelical Association, viz: 
Fr. and !Marg. Dauner, Jacob and Dorotha Helck, David Singer, Marg. Negely, 
Jacob and Mary Mode. These were organized into a class in 1868 by Fr. Launcr 
and became a part of Carmi Circuit. Fr. Dauner was first class-leader. Launer 
was returned in '69. In '70, J. M. Kronmiller. 

1871 C. Wessling and Herman Schleucher were pastors. This year a church 
was bnilt 30 x 40 feet in the N. W. corner of Grayville. During the time of 
building a revival was held closing with 17 conversions and accessions. The 
church was dedicated September 3, '71, by Bishop J. J. Esher as "Bethlehem 
Church". In the fall of 1917 this church was sold for $250.00 and the proceeds 
applied to the new Church Building Fund. Trustees of the first church were: 
J. Mode, Fr. Dauner, and J. Helck. '72-73, C. Wessling and H. Schleucher and 

E. Bohlander, respectively, were colleagues; '74-75, J. M. Kronmiller and J. 
Afode first, and C. Stier the second year. In '76, M. Speck and C. Stier; in 1877 
this society was served with West Salem Circuit by C. F. Matthias and W. L. 
Luehring. In March, 1878, Grayville was attached to Carmi Circuit and with 
Enterprise again served by Matthias and Fr. Dauner. In 1879 this society with 
Enterprise became Grayville Circuit, with Matthias as pastor. 1880, H. Schleu- 
cher. 1881-83, C. Stier. One day, S. a corpulent man, wanted to clean out the 
parsonage well. He asked his wife to let him down into the well with the wind- 
lass. He stepped into the bucket and started down, but alas! She could not 
hold him steady. With a mighty thud he landed unharmed in about three feet of 
water. Frantically she called for help. Men came running and hoisted him up 
with the windlass. After the first fright was over without harm, the cleanin.g 
of the well proceeded. 

in ■ 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

1884-85, C. Wessling; '86, J. Mode; '87-88, E. J. Nitsche; '89-90, E. Boh- 
landcr; '91-93, G. Koch. In his last year Grayville Circuit became a mission. 
1894-95, R. Tiersch. In his last year the society was badly disrupted by internal 
contentions. A number of the substantial members withdrew from church and 
organized another society which seriously crippled the work here, and finally 
proved perilous for both sides. 1895-97, O. Markman; '98-01, H. Cocker; '02, 
J. Mundorf; '03-04, B. E. Koenig; '05, S. J. Luehring; '06-'10, I. H. Criesemer; 
'!1-14, J. W. Feller. In the spring of 1914 steps were taken towards building a 
new church when S. H. Baumgartner, P. E., secured over $3,000.00 in pledges 
for the new church. The membership was about 45. Under Pastor Feller and 
J J. Wise, P. E., in 1914, a new centrally located site was bought for the new 
church. The cornerstone was laid by L. Newman, November 13, and the church 
was dedicated May 3, 1915, as First Church by Bishop S. P. Spreng. The build- 
ing is of brick, 42 x 6Z feet, w'ith a basement under the whole church. The cost 
of the church was $10,277.00. Funds raised on dedication day amounted to 
$4,791.00. It has several classrooms and a gallery on two sides for class work. 
In '15-17, G. S. Lozier. In 1917 the society's request to sell the old parsonage 
was granted and a new one was to take its place nearer the church. In June, 
1916, the Indianapolis District Y. P. A. and S. S. convention was held here. The 
Ladies' Aid Society was organized July 3, 1917. 1918, Ph. Haney, pastor; '19-20, 
J. A. Brewer; '21, B. C. Earhart; '22, Carl Koertge; '23, this society federated 
with the Congregational Charge near Grayville, served by its pastor, but retains 
its Evangelical identity. The old parsonage was sold in 1922 and the proceeds 
kept in trust for a new one until May 15, 1927. 

GREENVILLE, OHIO 

The work of the Evangelical Association, from reports in the ChrL'sUichc 
Botschaflcr began near here in the summer of 1836 with a camp-meeting. On 
December 31, '36, John Lutz and A. B. Schafcr began a "big meeting" near Ft. 
Brier in Darke Co., Ohio, where lived D. Wolf's, Jacob Freybergers, and Jacob 
Wingert's. There was great opposition; but the results were glorious. No 
further report found until August 22, '42, when a camp-meeting began near 
Greenville, Ohio, on the farm of Wni. Koenig. Friends came from all direc- 
tions with a purpose to serve God earnestly. J. G. Zinser said, "At first we had 
a hard struggle, but it did not last long until there was triumph in the camp. 
Heaven was disclosed with great power over the people." In '43, Aaron Yam- 
bert and Fr. Mayer served Miami Circuit to wdiich Greenville belonged. In '44, 
Yambert again with P. Becker. '45-49, no record found; 'SO, John Honecker, 
and Peter Pontius; '51, Abr. Dreisbach and G. M. Young; '52-53, G. G. Wol- 
part, vv-ith M. Hoehn first year and Ph. Schwartz the second; '54, Reuben Rigel 
and Simon Schwartz; '55, Ph. Porr and Samuel Hay. 

In 1856 Greenville with Miami Circuit became a part of the Indiana Con- 

112 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

ference. The membership here was: Peter Rotli (leader) and wife, Carl Schamo 
(Ex.) and wife Rachel, Rebecca Tobias, John and Kath. Holzapple, Fr. and 
Mary Schaub, Mm. and Eliza Koenig, Jacob and Kath. Rude, Peter Klein, 
Michael and Mary Schaub and son John, John and Eliza Schmidt and daughter 
Hannah, Fr. and Mary Silber and son John, Barbara Renchler, Sam and Mary 
Spittler, Elizabeth Klein, Henry and Dora Alspach, John Wyandt, Geo. Hof- 
ferbert, Elizaljeth Dressier, Daniel and Dora Eppreeht. Miami Circuit now be- 
came a part of the Whitewater District with A. B. Schafer, P. E., and Jacob 
Keiper and Peter Goetz, pastors. The preaching was yet in private houses and 
sometimes in the ^I. E. Church and other churches, especially on "Big Meeting" 
occasions. 

At this time there was a parsonage here. The circuit route, as given by 
Ph. Porr to J. Keiper, was Greenville, then north to John Smidt's, then to Allen 
Township and IMississinawa, one society in two classes, then east and south 
past Greenville to Gettysburg, then to Troy, S. E. of G., and then to Vandalia 
where there was a church. From here back to G., then 8 miles north to Salem 
or Lightsville Class where there was a church; then 15 miles south to Phillips- 
burg; then a long stretch of 23 miles south to Gcrmantown in southern part of 
Montgomery Co., to John Orth's home and one class four miles north to Bro. 
Steiner's, then north to Matthias Young where preaching was usually on Sun- 
days a. m., then north to Eaton, Ohio, where preaching was at Stroh's at 3 p. m., 
then back to G. In 1857-58, Chr. Glaus and B. Ruh first year, and Ph. Schwartz 
second year. 

The first church was built of brick in 1858 in Greenville, and was dedicated 
November 14, '58. This church became a place of many blessings to worship- 
pers. The church was remodeled at a cost of $3,000.00 under Geo. Eastes in 
1911, J. J. Wise, P. E. A 10-foot addition was built to the front for a class- 
room, and a corner tower, inclined floor, opera chairs, new art-glass windows, 
electric lights, basement, and furnace were installed. It was rededicated by 
Bishop S. P. Spreng. 

In 1859 Miami Circuit was divided into Montgomery Mission and Green- 
ville Circuit. In 1873 Greenville Circuit embraced Greenville, Madison, twelve 
miles west; Reiser's and Wiermantal's, eight miles cast; Schweitzer's or Wood- 
ington (English) near Union City; S. Mississinawa and Stofifer's; Haley's; 
Heneiser's, two miles east of Ridgcville; Emmetsville; Ulrich's, four miles from 
Ridgeville; Winchester; Smithfield and Muncie. In 1881 it was added to Mont- 
gomery Circuit and in 1883 it was added to Winchester Mission. In 1892 Green- 
ville Mission was re-established. In '95 Ph. Buehler had the church renovated 
and the parsonage reroofed. For pastors from 1859 to 1915, see Volume I. 
'16, J. E. Young; '17-21, D. D. Speicher; '22 served with Pershing by L. J. 
Ehrhardt and '23, A. J. Stemen. Presiding elders were always the same as at 
Dayton. 

113 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

HARMONY HILL, INDIANA 

This was a schoolhouse appointment on Noblesville Charge, in 1889-'90, 
when E. E. Meyers served it. A S. S. was organized here in May, '89, but soon 
ceased. 

HARRISON CENTRE, ZION, ELKHART CO., INDIANA 

This class also known as Bechtcl Societj', was in Union Twp, about 12 
miles west of Goshen, Indiana. The appointment was taken up about 1850. 
Membership in 1853 was Jacob and Anna Bechtel, Henry and Mary Delcamp. 
The preaching was in Bechtel's home. Jos. Fisher reported "many Dutch" here; 
that Sunday services were largely attended. This was a Mennonite community. 
For pastors see Elkhart Circuit. In 1860 Ph. Schwartz reorganized the class. 
Preaching up to this time was irregular in the Harrison Schoolhouse where the 
first S. S. was organized. In 1862 Joshua Paulin built the first church and it 
was dedicated as "Zion Church" of the Evangelical Association. A Miss Det- 
weiler was the first convert in this church. A church cemetery lies just south 
of the church. 

In 1872 this society became a part of the New Paris Circuit, with Jos. Fisher 
as pastor, and remained with it until it ceased in 1920. On April, 1872, the male 
members met and framed and adopted a constitution of ten articles by which 
to govern the society affairs. Its name was now changed to Harrison Chapel. 
Article 5th only allowed licensed preachers to preach here. Article 8 prohibited 
the use of any kind of musical intrument in public worship, but it was later 
allowed in Sunday School. This article could only be changed by a unanimous 
vote while all others by a two-third vote. In November, 1883, the society en- 
joyed a gracious revival, in which 17 were saved and 15 joined the church. In 
April, 1894, an addition of one-half acre land was bought, adjoining the ceme- 
tery, for $117.89. Due to the limited field, deaths and removals, the field was 
abandoned as a preaching place in 1920. 

HARTUNG CLASS, NOBLE CO., INDIANA 

This society was in the S. W. part of Noble County, Indiana. The exact 
location is not found. There was a church here in 1871. The P. E. of Elkhart 
District was ordered to look after the insurance, at this time, which evidently 
indicated that the class had been discontinued. 

HEAVENLY SOCIETY, CLAY CO., INDIANA 

This class was three miles from Williamstown, Clay Co., Indiana. In Dec, 
1852, the pastor had a blessed meeting here resulting in some conversions. 
Members here were: Ell's, Fleishman's, Kehler's, Leberer's, some of which later 
joined Brazil Society. 

114 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 
HEIM SOCIETY, MARSHALL CO., INDIANA 

This class was four miles N. E. of Plj'iiiouth, Indiana, in 1853, when J. 
Keiper was in charge of Elkhart Circuit. Preaching was in Anthony Helm's 
home, later in a schoolhouse. It had a small Sunday School in 1873 when Aug. 
Geist preached here. It was ahandoned about 1875. 

HENEISER SOCIETY, RANDOLPH CO., INDIANA 

This class was two miles east of Ridgeville. It already existed in 1851 when 
J. Keiper served it with E. Germantown Circuit. In 1873 we had about the 
last report of it when E. R. Troyer served it with Greenville Circuit.. Fred- 
rick Heneiser was the main supporter here at whose house preaching was main- 
tained. 

HEPTON, AIARSHALL CO., IND. EBENEZER 

Ebenezer Society was originally known as "Upper Settlement", or "Yellow 
River", and "Hepton", near the post-office of that name, six miles S. E. of 
Bremen on the east line of Marshall Co. This community was first visited by 
G. G. Platz of Elkhart Circuit in the summer of 1845. It then Ijclonged to the 
Indiana District of the Illinois Conference. Wm. Kolb was P's colleague. A. B. 
Schafer was P. E. The names of the first settlers here were: Peter Burgcner 
and wife, John Burgener, Chr. Ringgcnberg and wife, Peter Wiest and wife, 
Casper Conrad and wife, L'lrich Bucher and wife, and John Conrad and wife. 
These held prayer-meetings, but none were yet converted, only awakened, and 
were seekers of salvation. A Lutheran preacher, Schultz, lived in the county 
who became very bitter towards ministers of the Evangelical Association be- 
cause they entered this settlement to preach e-xperiential salvation. These 
people having heard of G. G. Platz doing missionary work in and around 
Mishawaka, Ind.. commissioned a Swiss man, a saddler by trade, who was going 
to Mishawaka, to look up the missionary Platz, and urge him to come here to 
preach to them. This was done and Platz came at once with him and preached 
in Peter Wiest's house. P. was urged to continue which he gladly did. Rev. 
Schultz, with bitterness, ordered the saddler to take P. back to the place he got 
him, but he would not obey, nor would any one else. This greatly incensed 
Rev. S., but only to his own defeat. 

From November 7-8, '46, A. B. Schafer, P. E., and Chr. Glaus and Wm. 
Fichte held a meeting at Peter Wiest's. The Holy Spirit powerfully awakened 
the people, and they were wonderfully blessed. They saw the error of their 
ways, and that they needed conscious salvation. Conversions now occurred. 
The wife of a neighbor to P. Burgener was the first convert, then Mrs. Bur- 
gener, then Peter in the clearing where he often resorted to prayer. At the 
close of this meeting a class was organized and added to Elkhart Circuit. On 
January 29, '47, C. Glaus reported, "On Christmas, 1846, we held a meeting at 

115 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Wiest's, Marshall Co., at which time the preached Word wrought deep convic- 
tion and contrition on the part of the hearers. Quite a number came to the 
altar as true penitents, and some found peace for their souls. There was great 
rejoicing." The class had now a promising future. The members lived in the 
"bond of peace and love". A meeting held here on Pentecost Sunday, May, '47, 
lasting four days was reported by Schafer "as one of the best he ever attended". 
Sinners were converted and joined church. In .Time, Platz was returned with 
H, Welty and Fr. Wiethaup as colleagues. 

First and Second Church Built 

In 1847 a log church was built and dedicated by G. G. Platz. It stood i'l 
Kosciusko Co., one mile S. E. of the present Hepton Church. On January 1 
1875, this church was consumed by fire. The second church (frame) was then 
built on the Kosciusko and Marshall County line and dedicated January 23, '76. 
by M. VV. Steffey as "Ebenezer Church" of the Evangelical Association. Manv 
victories were achieved here. Probably one of the greatest here was in the 
winter of 1905-06, conducted by J. W. Feller, pastor. Scores of adults were 
converted and joined church, and the spiritual life of the society was wonder- 
fully quickened. In the summer of 1895 this church was remodeled, including 
the addition of a corner tower, installation of new pews, a furnace and modern 
lights. 

Members in 1853 

The members of the West Class were: Peter and Margaret Wiest, Ulrich 
and Kath. Bucher, Chr. and Kath. Ringgenberg; Casper, Katherine, and Marg. 
Conrad; Henry and Lorian Smith and children, Elizabeth, Ludwig and Mary; 
.Samuel and Anna Huffer; Peter and Elizabeth Moser and daughter Elizabeth; 
Magdalena Ross; John and Anna Ringgenberg; Chr, and Cath, Harshberger, 
The East Class by the log church was named "New Jerusalein" and also 
"Canaan". Members here were: John and Anna Ringgenberg, Chr. and Cath. 
Ringgenberg and children Elizabeth and Catherine, David and Cath, Siechrist, 
John and Christina Burgener and mother Catherine Burgener, Geo, and Mary 
Huffard. 

Camp-meeting Held Here 

A camp-tneeting was held on Peter Wiest's farm June 2, 1849. After the 
sermon by Rev. Eiterman, seven to eight penitents were seeking salvation, and 
on the 3d there were 20 penitents. Another one was held August 17-23, 1853, 
at the same place. There were some conversions, and believers were newly 
quickened. 

Bishop Joseph Long's Visit 

In October, 1849, Bishop Joseph Long visited this locality. He reported, 
"that some of the Germans were formerly Roman Catholics, but now, thank 

116 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

God, instead of going to Mass before priests, they now go to Jesus who alone 
can forgive sins". He further said, "The people here live in dense forests, and 
with very hard work have to eat their bread in the sweat of their brows; but 
they are happy and satisfied." He eulogized their singing as being good and 
unctuous. They sang from our German Hymnal. "It was harmonious, and 
heavenly", M. Krueger told the historian that the afore-mentioned saddler was 
"full of good religious songs which he brought along from Switzerland". 

The same pastors served here as at Bremen up to 1893 when Hepton with 
Panama became a part of Nappanee Mission. (Find list of pastors under 
Bremen). 1893-96, H. H. Reinoehl; '97-98, S. Hofferbert; '99-00, H. H. Reinoehl. 
In 1901 Hepton and Panama with Billman's Class, two miles west of Wakarusa, 
constituted Yellow River Mission. F. B. Walmer, pastor; 1902-05, J. W. Feller; 
1906-07, L. J. Ehrhardt; 1908-09, Ph. Buehler. In 1903 the name Yellow River 
was changed to Bremen Mission. In 1910 Hepton with Panama constituted 
Bourbon Circuit. In 1911, Nappanee Circuit was formed of these two societies, 
and the Island Class. '14-16, Edw. Greiner; '17-19, W. I. Weyant; '20, E. E. 
Miller; '21-22, F. F. McClure; '23, E. E. Miller again. 

HIBBARD, INDIANA 

Hibbard Society is in the village where the Nickle Plate and 'Vandalia R. R. 
cross each other, three miles N. E. of Culver. Thos, Russel of Culver Circuit, 
February, 1912, held a revival here in the schoolhouse, and had 24 conversions, 
and about as many accessions to the Evangelical Association. A Y. P. A. and 
Sunday School were then organized. The building of a church was begun in 
the summer of 1912, but for lack of means the project was postponed. In 1913 
J A. Tiedt, pastor, through the help of Christian Hook of Elberfeld Circuit, 
was able to finance the project. This achievement stands to the credit of Pas- 
tor Tiedt. M. F. Albert, W. Allman, and Chas. Cooper were the trustees. J. M. 
Livinghouse, M. F. Albert, Chas. Cooper, Glenn Snapp and Sam Swaisgood 
were the building committee. The church is built of cement blocks. It has a 
class-room to the rear of the auditorium, and it is heated with a furnace. The 
cost of the church was $2,100.00. It was dedicated December 14, 1913, by L. S. 
Fisher, then pastor of the First Church in Elkhart. $1,000.00 was needed on the 
day of dedication and $1,128.00 was raised in cash and pledges. Tiedt served 
three years. 1916, F. W. Launer, who resigned in the fall, and S. J. Kroft took 
the field and served until 1917. In 1916 the name "Culver Circuit" was changed 
to Hibbard Circuit, since the parsonage was now at Hibbard. 1918-19, R. I,. 
Handschu. He put in an upstairs room in the parsonage. 1920, E. Zollar; '21-22, 
C. L. Davis; '23, C. L. Haney. 

Charter-members here were: M. F. Albert and wife, children Ada, Estella, 
Inis, and Howard; S. Swaisgood and wife, children Hazel, Erman, and Reed; 
C. Cooper and wife; Lovina and Hattie Lichtenberger; Pearl Bordner; Mrs. 

117 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Alice Wise and daughters Lola and Gladys; Mrs. Frizingcr; Neda Livinghouse, 
and W. H. Bradley. 

HICKSVILLE, OHIO 

In 1852 A. Nicolai and L. Schuerman began preaching in this community. 
They served St. Mary's Circuit and DeKalb Mission. No class organization 
took place until 1856 by B. Uphaus. Locally the society was known as "Penn- 
sylvania Class" being largely made up of Pennsylvanians. It was a part of De- 
Kalb Mission until 1859 when the appointments east of the St. Joseph River 
constituted Defiance Mission, of which Hicksville became a part. For pastors 
see under Defiance, Brunnersburg, up to 1871, when this society was added to 
^^an Wert Mission and served by A. Hartzler and J. F. Bockman. In 1872 it 
was re-attached to Defiance Circuit where it remained until 1875 when Hicks- 
ville, Schott's, Edgerton, Oak-Grove and West Buffalo, N. W^ of Bryan, Ohio, 
Salem, near Edon, Ohio, and Florence were detached from Defiance Circuit and 
together became Ed.gerton Circuit. For pastors now, see under Edgerton up to 
1885 when Hicksville and Hort appointments were detached from Edgerton 
Circuit and together constituted Flicksville Mission, and was left to be supplied 
S. B. Kring, who had moved here from Pittsburgh Conference, took up the 
work and served it three years. For pastors see Volume I. In 1899 Hicksville 
and St. Paul near Payne, Ohio, became a mission. In 1907 it belonged to 
Waterloo, but in '08 Hicksville Mission was restored. In 1912 it was again 
assigned to Waterloo. 1915-17, it was served with Defiance by W. H. Flurkey. 
1918-20, with Edgerton. In 1921 it was discontinued and the sale of the church 
was placed in the hands of the Conference trustees in 1922. 

Church members in 1871 were: John and Lovina Smith, John and Rebecca 
Stoll, Geo. and Eliza Stoll, Geo. StoU, Jr., Henry and Matilda Price, Anna and 
Priscilla Kring. A. Hartzler built the first church, 33 x 55 feet, in 1872, in the 
S. W. edge of Hicksville. It was dedicated September 22, '72, by Editor R. 
Dubs of Cleveland, Ohio. The cost of the church was $2,680.00. $1,100.00 was 
raised on the day of dedication. In the winter of 1881 Savilla Kring held a re- 
vival here which resulted in many conversions and 40 accessions to the church. 
At the first communion after this revival 125 partook of the Lord's Supper. 
Under Thompson a temperance schism arose, from which the society never 
recovered, and by deaths and removals the society gradually dwindled down to 
a few members when it was discontinued. 

HOPEWELL, INDIANA 

This class was about five miles N. E. of Cumberland, Indiana. There was 
a small church here in 1890. J. Rees reported January, '90, that a revival re- 
sulted in some conversions and accessions. It belonged to Julietta Mission. 
The class was discontinued in 1896. 

118 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

HUNTINGBURG, INDIANA 

Jacob Trometer, a local preacher of the Evangelical Association, and a 
irember of the Conference, was providentially led to move to Huntingburg, 
Indiana, in 1840. This country was then "a veritable moral wilderness of 
rough and stiffnecked people". Constrained by the love of God, and by a great 
passion for saving lost souls, T. resolved to preach here every alternate Sunday. 
The people lived in log cabins wherein he preached. Soon he preached every 
Sunday, which was oftener than some cared for, as it uncovered their gross 
sins more and more, which they were not willing to confess, or part with. 
Often when T. was through preaching, and the meeting was closed, people 
would surround him, and deny his interpretation of the Scripture. This neces- 
sitated him to restate and reiterate statements he made in sermons for further 
elucidations to avoid misconceptions, and to make the Word effective and fruit- 




Emmanuel Church, Huntingburg, Ind. 



ful. He was very conscientious in his efforts. Gradually he gained favor with 
the people. In his characteristic way he pushed the battle to the gates. Then 
he began holding prayer-meetings which was a diversion from old custoins in 
the Lutheran Church. After hard labor for eighteen months, amidst severe op- 
position, he saw stubborn wills yielding, and hard hearts breaking open to the 
wooing of the Holy Spirit. Conversions now followed. Fr. Wiethaup was the 
first convert, who later entered the ministry. He organized a class of 20 mem- 
bers. 

119 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

In May, 1843, Chr. Lintner and A. Nicolai were sent here. They held the 
Tirst "Bis Meeting" in Gerhardt Niehaus' home, just west of Huntingburg, 
November, '43. The class increased in numbers and was reorganized. The 
mcmliers were: Fr. Wiethaup; Gerhart and Gertrude Koch; Wm. and Mrs. 
Wesseler; Gerhardt and Mrs. Niehaus; Fr. and jMrs. Wesseler; Margaret, Henry, 
Christian and mother Katterhenry; Henry Niehaus; Wm. and Mrs. Katter- 
henry; Fr. and Mrs. Steffen; Henry Kuhlmeyer; Christopher and Mrs. Duffen- 
dach; Geo. and Mrs. Ott; Chr. and Mrs. Schwartz; Wm. and Mrs. Hemmer; 
Fr. and Mrs. Hemmer; H. W. and Mrs. Heinmcr; C. Arnsman and Herman 
Elshof. These were mostly Trometer's converts. He had sent a "Macedonian 
Call" to Lintner and Nicolai who were missionaries on Mt. Carmel Mission in 
Illinois, which was then a part of the Ohio Conference. They came and in- 
spected T's work, found it good and took up this place as a re.gular appoint- 
ment. When these men came the people wept for joy. Their first meeting rc- 
suhed in twelve seekers and six accessions. 

In May, 1844, wlien the Illinois Conference was organized it included this 
place. A. B. Schafer, P. E. of Wabash District, made a visit here this year. He 
reported, "I found T. surrounded with two classes of 18-20 members each. These 
united in buying a camp-ground of 40 acres in 1843 near Huntingburg, knowr 
as Maple Grove." Cost of this camp-ground bou.ght from the Government was 
$50.00. The charter-members above named constituted these two classes, one in 
Huntingburg and the mother society at Maple Grove. A log church was built 
at M. Grove and dedicated September 14, '45, by A. B. Schafer. It was a time 
of "great solemnity and joy. The people re-dedicated their hearts to God." 
A number of conversions and accessions occurred on this occasion, as God's 
seal upon their work. There were this year 24 conversions and accessions. At 
a meeting held September 13, Fr. Wiethaup and G. Koch had quarterly con- 
ference license voted them. Under date October 9, '45, T. as pastor, reported 
14 appointments on Dubois Circuit, extending over southern Indiana, and that 
opposition was waning and the truth gainmg ground. 

On June 27-28, .'46, Bishop John Seybert visited this place and rejoiced over 
llie work done. Ph. Bretsch became pastor June '46. A. B. Schafer, P. E., be- 
gan a meeting at Maple Grove, August 28, resulting in great good. June, 1847, 
A. Nicolai and Henry Esch became pastors. On August 12, '47, the first camp- 
meeting started on the camp-ground. Bishop Jos. Long was present. He de- 
scribed the camp-ground in the Christliche Botschafter thus: "The pulpit stand 
is well arranged with seats for the people in front of it. The 22 uniform log-huts 
were budt close to each other on three sides of the meeting place, in straight 
rows. The ground was lighted up at night with eampfires which gave it a 
heavenly appearance, and was awe-inspiring." He further said, "The people 
took an active part in singing, praying and working at the altar with penitents. 
The preaching was spiritual and showers of blessings fell upon the people from 

120 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

God's throne." The bonfire was on a high mound of earth. Enclosed in a pen 
of posts was the fire-altar on top of which the fire was kept burning. People 
walked from Warrenton, Evansville and Rockport in these days to the camp- 
meeting here. Later they came in ox-carts, farm wagons, spring wagons and 
buggies, and now in fine automobiles. On December 31, '47, a "Watch Night" 
service was held in Maple Grove church that resulted in conversions and 11 
accessions. Camp-meetings continued annually in August. Many persons were 
saved here and God's children requickened spiritually. In 1849 Chr. Glaus and 
Jacob Keiper were pastors. They had nine accessions. The latter being a car- 
penter by trade, worked on the new church v.hich was now built in Hunting- 
burg. Preaching in H. had been in private homes and schoolhouses. This 
church (brick) was dedicated April 28, 1850, by A. B. Schafer. June, 1850, Fr. 
Wiethaup and B. L^phaus were pastors, and Geo. A. Blank, P. E. Fourteen 
persons joined church this year. In 1851 Fr. Wiethaup and Fr. Scheurman, 
pastors. They had five accessions. In 1852 when the Indiana Conference was 
organized, it embraced Dubois Circuit. Pastors this year were P. Burgener and 
(i. Franzen, and C. Glaus, P. E. This year Wm. Bockman of Rockport, In- 
diana, received quarterly conference license. 1853, B. Uphaus and Wm. Bock- 
man. In 1854 the following were members of the classes: Huntingburg — Chris- 
topher Wesseler (leader) and wife; Herman Buhmer and wife and son. Chris- 
tian; Michael and Chr. Krueger; J. and Ben Schaly; J. and Anna L. Miesner; 
Anna E. Wiethaup; Ludwig and Louisa Voelkel; Geo. and Elizabeth Warm- 
brod; Carl Heiden (Ex.) and wife. Zion — Fr. (leader) and Mary Wesseler; 
Christopher and Elizabeth Dufendach; Fr. and Mary Arnsinan; Henry and 
Mary E. Meyer; Domikus and Mary Salat; John and Mary Voelkel; and John 
Harms. Bethlehem — Henry (leader) and Mary Hastedt; Ger. and Kath. Nie- 
hause; Wm. and Kath. Wesseler; Sophia Mangels; Christoph Heiden; Fr. and 
Christian Steffen; Herman and Christian Reutepoehler; J. and Mary Rausher; 
Wm. Blesch; Fr. Erkstein. Zoar — Henry and Christian Katterhenry; Wm. 
Bockman (pastor) and wife; Gottlob and Eliza Rauscher; Geo. and Mary Ott; 
Wm. and Sophia Stroh; John, Mary, Wm. and Fred Heikerman. Salem — Fr. 
and Christina Sunderman; Wm., Christina and Elizabeth Katterhenry; Herman, 
Christian and Elizabeth Elshoff; Peter and Fredricka Mangels; Fredricka Hem- 
mer; Henry Sunderman. Hebron — Henry (leader) Alpers; Henry Hemmer; 
Henry and Mary Huelsmeier; Wm. and Elizabeth Hemmer; Mary Arnsman; 
Fr. W. and Christian Stockhowe; Seibold Sunderman. 

In 1855 Wm. Wesseler and Mel. Mayer. Wesseler was licensed by a quar- 
tcrlj' conference here. The field now extended into Dubois, Spencer, Warrick, 
Gibson, Vanderburg, and Posey Counties. Fifteen persons were added to the 
classes here. 1856, Ph. Bretsch. This year while the camp-meeting was in 
progress Saturday afternoon, Bretsch's house was set on fire, presumably by 
incendiaries, and house and contents were consumed. Distraction of mind, and 

121 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

prevailing moral darkness militated against success in the camp-meeting. The 
friends of pastor B. nobly helped him to clothing, etc. The parsonage which 
was under construction at this time was far enough along so that he could move 
in. He had 11 accessions. A young people's class was organized with Fr. 
Wesseler and Ger. Niehaus as leaders. In 18S7 Ph. Bretsch was elected P. E. 
for Wabash District. M. Hoehn and Chr. Wessling became pastors. Dubois 
and Warrenton Circuits and Rockport Mission were served jointly this year, 
1858, C. Wessling; '59-60, John Fuchs and E. L. Kiplinger. For pastors from 
1860 to 1915 see Volume I, In 1866 steps were taken to build a new church in 
H. In January, 1867, M. Hoehn, P. E., reported that the society was building 
a parish schoolhousc. The second brick church was dedicated December IS, 
'67, by Chr. Wessling. The cost of the church was $3,700.00. Size 40 x 56 with 
a tower and a 527-lb. bell. In 1876 the south portion of the Indiana Conference, 
including Cincinnati, Ohio, Louisville, Ky., and southern Indiana and Illinois, 
became South Indiana Conf. In 1880 G. R. Koch built the frame church at 
Maple Grove and it was dedicated August 8, 1880. G. M. Hallwachs was licens- 
ed as preacher on probation in 1880. In 1881 a two-story frame parsonage 
was built at a cost of $1,075.00. In 1883 Gerry Koch was licensed to preach. 
The conference session was held here in 1886. No changes were made in sta- 
tioning as the conference year was only six months long. At the camp-meeting, 
August, 1900, on the 6th evening, 25 penitents came to the altar and nearly all 
were gloriously saved. The shouts of God's people filled the air with thanks- 
giving. Bishop S. C. Breyfogel preached the fourth and fifth nights with power 
and effect. 

At the camp-meeting, August, 1913, $551.00 was given in cash and subscrip- 
tions toward the founding of Linwood Ave. Mission, Evansville, Indiana. Everv 
dollar was paid and all but $50.00 was given by the two congregations, Emman- 
uel and Salem. This noble offering made it possible to purchase the lots for the 
new mission. At the camp-meeting of 1915 six members pledged $100.00 each, 
to be paid in four years, for the education each of a boy in China. Four of these 
were members of the same societies. 

The third brick church in Huntingburg was built in 1904 on a new site. 
The cost of the lot was $2,000.00. The cornerstone was laid by the pastor June 
12th. Also a new parsonage was now built at the new church. The church was 
dedicated November 20, '04, by Bishop S. C. Breyfogel. This church has a 
large auditorium with a S. S. annex and two class-rooms. The illumination is 
by electric lights. It is heated by furnace and has art-glass windows. The 
floor is inclined with circular pews, and beautifully decorated walls. The cost 
of this church was about $20,000.00. Luehring in '08 secured the pipe-organ 
gift from Carnegie. The organ was installed at a cost of $1,541.00 including the 
gift. It was dedicated Feb. 14, 1910. W. G. Braeckly died here soon after the 

122 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

Conference session of 1913. A. B. Haist, 1913-16; D. A. Kaley, 1917-19; W. R. 
Kimmel, 1920-22; C. P. Maas, 1923. 

A Woman's Missionary Society was organized August 20, 1883, on the 
last day of the camp-meeting, with 43 charter-members. Later this society 
drifted into a Ladies' Aid Society, but annual missionary offerings were made 
to the church and conference. The W. M. S. spirit was again revived under 
the labors of A. B. Haist. The Sunday Schools on this charge were organized 
early in the history of this charge. The Sunday School in H. is one of the 
larger ones in the conference and is doing splendid work. Also a Y. P. A. was 
duly organized and maintained as a live institution in the church, and willingly 
contributes to the various enterprises of the church and conference. 

HUNTINGTON, INDIANA 

The community around Huntington was first taken up in 1855 by Peter 
Ooetz of St. Mary's Circuit. He organized a class at the Henry Stoetzel and 
Adam Beck Settlement, two miles up the little Wabash River from Huntington. 
The charter-members were: Henry Stoetzel and wife, Adam Beck and wife 
In 1856-57, Peter Burgener with Fr. Geisel and Josh. Paulin, the first and second 
year respectively. In 1857 B. and P. held a meeting, nine miles south of Hunt- 
ington, resulting in 21 conversions and accessions. Exact location of this place 
not found. 1858, A. Nicolai and E. L. Kiplinger. 

In 1859 the Huntington Circuit was formed of the appointments west of 
the "Reserve" or Bethlehem in Wells Co., five miles east of Ossian, Indiana, of 
the St. Mary's Circuit. It comprised the Stoetzel, Leininger, Meyer, Zion and 
Young's appointments. B. Ruh was assigned to this field. He took up Jacob 
Backe's appointment, 3j4 miles N. E. of Huntington. In 1860 this circuit was 
changed to a mission being too weak to support a preacher, M. Krueger, mis- 
sionary. 1861, Josh Paulin. He had ten appointments. He reported blessed 
meetings. A parsonage was secured at the Leininger Church, this being the 
most central class. For pastors see Volume I. In '66 this mission was served 
conjointly with St. Mary's Circuit. In '68 it was again inade a circuit. In '71 
this field was transferred to Ft. Wayne District; '74, served with St. Mary's; 
'75, Five Points, Zion or Mygrant, Stoetzel, Leininger and Meyer appointments 
again constituted Huntington Circuit. In '80-81 it was again a mission. 

HUNTINGTON CITY 

In 1882 D. J. Pontius was assigned to Huntington Mission. The Stoetzel 
Society now had nine members and a small chapel one mile east of the city. It 
was 16 X 32 feet and stood on Adam Beck's farm near the little Wabash River. 
Pastor and people got a vision, and concluded to transfer their place of worship 
to the city. In the fall of 1882 a brick church was erected in the S. E. part of 

123 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Huntington, on Front St., now River Drive. At this time Leininger, Meyer, 
West Point (Bippus) and Stoetzel Classes constituted Huntington Mission. 
Pontius, the church builder, two months after Conference session, canvassed 
the members and friends for funds to build the church. Then a lot was bought. 
On August 5th a board of trustees was elected, namely: Adam Beck, Geo. Daub, 
and Jacob Leininger. The first two and Pontius were the building committee. 
The erection of the church started September 18, and the church was dedicated 
December 17, '82, as Bethel Church by Bishop R. Dubs. The dimensions of the 
church were 34 x 56 feet with tower in front and high arch ceiling. It was 
built in 88 days. 

In 1883-85 I. B. Fisher was pastor. In '84 Conference permitted him to 
collect money on adjoining fields toward the debt on this church. The Leininger 
parsonage was now moved into the city, west of the church, and has since been 
the preacher's home. On May 12, '84, Fisher closed a revival here with 33 
saved and 31 accessions, mostly heads of families. Membership in church and 
S. S. doubled this year. On March 5, '86, he closed a nine-week's revival with 
55 conversions, and SO accessions, mostly married folks. In 1886-87, Jos. Fisher 
'vas stationed here. 1886 being political campaign year, Satan caused a political 
division. The promising society was well-nigh ruined. Some of the most sub- 
stantial members left the church. Bro. F. was a radical R. and man.y members 
were unconvertably firm D's. Thus wounds were made that left an ineffaceable- 
scar. In 1888-89, D. Martz followed. After hard work he got the divided so- 
ciety partly reunited and it again started on the upward grade. 1890, H. W. 
Fisher, pastor, but due to illness, he resigned before the year closed. 1891, Wm. 
Ackerman pastor with Zion and Markle added. In Feb., '92, he had a glorious 
revival, 38 being saved, mostly S. S. scholars. In 1892, J. Wales, pastor, this 
society borrowed $750.00 from the Conference under mortgage security return- 
able in two years. The trustees gave W. permission to make such church im- 
provements "as he saw fit". This was giving him quite a latitude. W. held to 
the theory that to wipe out an old church deljt, it was necessary to make new 
improvements to arouse the people to a renewal of church interests and activi- 
ties, and then lump the old and new debt, and have a re-opening by a prominent 
churchman to get new pledges to wipe out the whole debt. So he did here with 
marked success. In '93 the Conference made this society a donation of $500.00 
from the Conference Missionary Society to be paid in five $100.00 installments 
to lift the final indebtedness. H. Steiningcr in '97 reported, "a great revival, 
city is moved, church crowded, two services held nightly to accommodate the 
people, scores saved, 87 have united with the church". He urged the enlarge- 
ment of the church, but the main members, fearing a slump, prevailed against 
immediate enlargement, which plan proved to be wisest. In 1905, under J. J. 
'\Vise, the church underwent a complete remodeling by adding an alcove on the 

124 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

v^•est side for the choir, an extension on the east side with a gallery, and the 
south part reconstructed into class-rooms and gallery above. The front tower 
was taken down and a corner tower built, an inclined floor with new circular 
pews, art-glass windows, electric lights, and furnace were installed, all at a cost 
of $3,000.00. The church was rededicated by Editor S. P. Spreng. Wise had 
good revivals here. '15-18, R. W. Loose. Evangelist C. A. Glass held a revival 
here November-December, 1915, with 59 saved. 1919-22, P. L. Browns. During 
his pastorate a new parsonage fund of $3,000.00 was raised. 1923, L. E. Smith. 

This society organized a S. S. in 1882 and has since been maintained. It 
has a working Ladies Aid Society and a Y. P. .'\.. This society sent forth into 
the Gospel ministry, Samuel Beverly, 1892, died Feb., 1894, after serving as pas- 
tor only six months; R. F. Jamison. 1892, who served a number of years in the 
Conference, then moved to Oregon and entered the Presbyterian ministerial 
ranks; D. D. Suit, 1896, who never actively engaged in the ministry; G. D. 
Eastes, 1907. He served a few years with us, and then joined the "New Light" 
Christian Church. 

HUSSELMAN CHURCH 

This society was a few miles S. W. of Waterloo. It existed already in 1846. 
G. A. Hertel built a church here in 1861 which was dedicated November 23, '62. 
In 1876 A. Geist built a new church, which W. H. Mygrant moved into Water- 
loo in 1889. At this time the class ceased, and its members were transferred to 
Waterloo. 

INDIAN CREEK SOCIETY 

This society had the names, "Kloepfer", "Indian Creek", "Sulphur Springs", 
and "Spring Valley" Class. It was located in the N. E. corner of Marion Co., 
Indiana, just at the N. E. edge of the Ft. Benjamin Harrison grounds, on the 
bank of the Spring Valley Creek. Preaching began here about 1840 in Geo. 
Kloepfer's home, and in a schoolhouse. In 1843 A. Nicolai and P. Hahn held a 
camp-meeting here. It was reported as fruitless, "because adherents of another 
church here prejudiced the settlers against the Evangelical Association". In 
1852 this class belonged to Hamilton Mission (now Cicero) which was composed 
of Indian Creek, Stoney Creek, Dick's, Clarksville, Cicero, and Pendleton Classes. 
M. W. Steffey was pastor. In 1855, J. Keiper named the following members 
here: Geo. Kloepfer's, Hassenfuss', Schneider's, and Becker's. On December 
31, '55, a "Watch Night" service was held here. There was a small parsonage 
here at this time. In 1867 these classes, except Cicero, constituted Cumberland 
Mission. In 1869 the field name became Sulphur Spring. In 1871 they were 
added to Cicero, and in 1873 renamed Noblesville. There was an old abandoned 
church here, which our people bought in later years, but the class was discon- 
tinued in 1896. 

125 ' 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 
INDIANAPOLIS FIRST CHURCH 




A number of ministers of the Evangelical Association, pre- 
vious to 1852, sought entrance into Indianapolis, but failed. There 
were then a few awakened and converted members in the Zion 
Church who desired a church government that would grant them 
the privilege of holding prayer-meetings, to which the majority 
of the church was opposed. Then the awakened members, with 
Pastor Reile, withdrew, and organized themselves into an inde- 
pendent society with Reile as their pastor. First they worshipped 
in a schoolhouse and held prayer-meetings in their homes. Then 
they built a frame house for worship, and united with 
the Congregational Church. Soon after this they 
built a brick church on N. Jersey Street, and dedi- 
cated it as the German Congregational Church. For 
some time all seemed to move along well, but the 
pastor's zeal waned, and he became negligent to his 
trust. On a certain Sunday while Reile was preach- 
ing, some deeply convicted persons began calling on the Lord for mercy. He 
stopped preaching and came down from the pulpit, saying, "My God, what can I 
do?" Then he took his hat and left. The society at once voted him out of his 
pastorage. They now sought for another minister, but soon learned that their 
denomination had no German preachers They sought affiliation with a live 
German denomination in which they could worship God in truth, and hear 
preachin.g by converted ministers. These people often gathered in a basement 
praying for each other until midnight, and counseling together whether they 
should unite with the M. E. Church, or the Evangelical Association. They de- 
cided to unite with the latter. 

Before this time, Geo. G. Platz, pastor of Whitewater Circuit, left an ap- 
pointment in this city for September 16, 'S3, but "by falsehood, trickery and un- 
friendliness", the meeting was not announced and his purpose was thwarted. 
The Congregational Church, not having a German Hymnbook, this society had 
bought such from the Evangelical Association for worship. Through the use of 
these, they became more acquainted with the Ev. Association, and were led to 
the above decision. Usually a denomination seeks her field for operation, but in 
this case, the field sought the denomination under whose banner it could wor- 
ship God truly, and save men. The society therefore sent out a committee to 
find a preacher of the Ev. Association on a nearby field. Wm. Koehler went 
to Greenfield and there learned of one living at Indian Creek. Carl Helwig 
then went there and found Geo. Kloepfer, a local preacher, and also met G. G. 
Platz. Arrangements were made for these two men to come to Indianapolis to 
preach alternately every two weeks in their church until Conference would meet 
ill Tune, 1855. This society then ■^lade this proposition to the Indiana Confer- 

126, 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

ence, viz; that if the Conference would buy their church property and assume 
the indebtedness thereon, and give them a missionary, then they, as a society, 
would join the Ev. Association. This was done. Indianapolis was taken up as 
a mission, and M. W. Steffey became the first missionary in June, 1855. 

The Beginning of the First Church 

The first Sunday after Conference session, G. G. Platz preached in the 
morning, and then introduced Steffey as the first pastor. In the afternoon an 
experience meeting was held, opened by Platz. He and Steffey were to have 
charge of this meeting, one on each side of the auditorium. During this meeting 
S. went to a man who sat back, and asked him, "What have you to say?" This 
man, Geo. Stump, in rage replied, "You think that you have Christians to deal 
with, but you are mistaken, they are a set of hypocrites, scoundrels, a good-for- 
nothing, miserable, dishonest set, etc." S. thought possibly he was demented, 
but Platz knew him, and said, "Let us pray". Before S. was on his knees this 
man in ridicule said, "O Lord, have mercy on these miserable, good-for-nothing 
scoundrels, and hypocrites, this miserable, unjust and unrighteous set, etc.," and 
then left. 

Soon after Steffey arrived, as agreed by Conference, their property was 
bought, the debt of $1,900.00 was assumed and the legal transfer was made. The 
purchasing committee was Steffey, S. Dickover, and Geo. Kloepfer. Some of 
the society refused to join the Evangelical Association, because the rules were 
too strict for them. The charter-members were; John and Elizabeth Schaub, 
Wm. and Anna K. Koehler, Daniel and Henrietta Miller, Carl and Anna Helwig, 
Carl and Wilhelmina Aldag, Aug. and Mrs. Aldag, Ludwig Aldag, Carl and 
Maria C. Hartman, Carl and Sophia Rehling, Charlotte Westphalen, Geo. and 
Dora Belzer. At the first, the growth was slow. There were 33 members after 
three years. 

Geo. Stump in the Congregational Society, who was in discord with this 
move, by agitation influenced others against it. These few organized them- 
selves into a German Congregational Society, and under this name laid claim to 
the aforesaid property. The original deed was made to the trustees of the Ger- 
m-an Congregational Church. Litigation was started and continued for several 
years before it was finally adjudged in favor of the Indiana Conference. 

In June, 1855, the Conference appointed S. Dickover, P. E. of Whiterivcr 
District, G. G. Platz, P. E. of St. Joseph District, and J. Keiper of Hamilton 
Mission as collectors for funds to liquidate the debt on this church. The first 
two, who were delegates to the General Conference held in Pennsylvania, were 
authorized to collect funds from friends in Penn. Conference, and K. was to 
collect funds in the Ohio Conference. The Conference also ordered that if a 
parsonage could be built for $400.00 and the money for it could be borrowed 
at 6%, it should be done. The above named collectors were constituted a build- 
ing committee. Carl Helwig agreed to build it for said sum. It was erected on 

127 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

the rear end of the church lot. The Conference appropriated the $400.00. On 
November 12, '55, the brick parsonage was finished and consisted of two rooms, 
garret and cellar. After moving in, S. had to go to bed, being ill with typhoid 
fever, which disabled him for work for five weeks. But all were happy that their 
preacher had a home. The S. family consisted of the parents and five children. 
Here other preachers with large families were housed. The children had to 
|)lay in the cellar from lack of a yard. After 15 years another story was added 
to the parsonage. 

The Conference was yet in its infancy and therefore unable to finance big 
missionary enterprises. In October, '55, Dickover and Platz collected funds 
with success in Pennsylvania and received an expression of gratitude from the 
Conference in June, '56. J. Keiper having been unable to carry out his orders, 
was instructed to do so in 1856. He secured over $800.00, and he and the Ohio 
Conference received a vote of thanks. A debt of $325.00 still remained and A. B. 
Schafer was appoint'ed to promptly collect in the unpaid pledges. Likewise 
all pastors on the Wabash District were ordered to collect on their respective 
fields for this same purpose. It was done. In June, 1857, Steffey reported 39 
pious and active members. He had 21 accessions, six of these were: Mother 
Keppler, Conrad Gemmer and wife, John Abrams and wife, and Wilhelmina 
Aldag Kramer. In 1857 Henry Kramer was pastor. Regina Haas Aldag united 
this year. The society still grew slowly. Few strangers attended the services, 
due partly to the litigation over the church property. In 1858 M. Hoehn be- 
came pastor. After his arrival he went to a store to make a purchase, and was 
robbed of his purse containing $50. Later, while he was preaching in the church, 
thieves broke into the home, ransacking everything, but finding only a little 
money. Hoehn had commendable success. Gaslights were installed this year. 
In Sept., 1859, Conference session was held here. H, was returned and closed 
this year with a membership of 56. He organized the first missionary auxiliary. 

In 1860-61, M. Krueger was the successful pastor. He had 29 new acces- 
sions. On December 31st, a blessed Watch-night service was held. In 1862 
A. B. Schafer served here. He had 29 accessions; '63, G. G. Platz. The church 
was re-decorated; '64, J. M. Gomer, 15 accessions. '65-66, J. Fuchs, 24 acces- 
sions; '67, Fr. Wiethaup, nine accessions; '68-69, J. Kaufman, 30 accessions. In 
his first year a gallery was built, a melodian installed, and a choir organized. 
In 70 C. Tramer had 15 accessions. The third story was added to the parson- 
age, costing $500.00. In '71-73, M, Hoehn was again pastor. To date there were 
i43 accessions to this society, 13 had died, 131 were members at other places, 
and 155 had moved away, withdrew or were expelled. The present membership 
was 110. The first year he had a loss due to some members joining the new 
mission in the N. E. part of the city. In three years he had 96 accessions. A 
church record was bought. Hoehn, C. Aldag and Wm. Koehler as a committee 
wrote up the history of the society to date, which was read to the society Feb- 

128 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

riiary 9, '74, by the pastor, and was then adopted. On September 4, 74, the 
society ordered that the pastor should p;ive a regular course of systematic cate- 
chetical instruction for the children, and to conclude the work with a public ex- 
amination, and to preach an appropriate sermon for the occasion. In Septem- 
ber, 1874, H. L. Fisher became pastor. He organized a Young Men's Society. 
In 1875-77 C. Tramer had 22 accessions. The last conference year was only 
si-x months long, time of conference 5essions having been changed from fall to 
sijring. In 1878-79, C. F. Hansing was preacher. The second year the first 
steps were taken for the erection of the present church. A lot was bought on 
the S. E. corner of East and New York Streets for $4,900.00. He had 32 con- 
versions, 27 accessions. In 1880-83, Jos. Fisher was appointed here. He began 
his term with great concern. The Conference ordered that the Mission Church 
people be re-incorporated with the First Church, inasmuch as their church was 
badly wrecked by a cyclone, and could not afford to rebuild. This at first dis- 
p'eased the Mission people. However, the First Church people approached 
them so cordially that the reunion was etfected with scared}' any loss of mem- 
bers from the Mission. 

Second Church Built 

During Fisher's second year, the erection of the present church began. The 
first stor}' was ready for dedication, November 5, '82. Bishop J. J. Esher offi- 
ciated. The society changed its name from "Salem" to "First Church". The 
design of the building was appropriate to the Capital of Indiana, and in keeping 
with the ability of the society. The attendance now greatly increased. In 1883 
M. Hoehn began his third term here. The second story of the church was now 
completed and dedicated, free of debt, on December 30, '83, by Bishop R. Dubs. 
The total cost was $35,000.00, with but little outside help. The model of the 
pulpit and the altar, Hoehn said, "came from Germany". A pipe organ was 
also installed. At this time the church was declared to be the most beautiful 
one in the Evangelical Association, and one of the nicest German churches in 
Indianapolis. The present parsonage was also built at this time. M. Hoehn 
and his family were the first to live in it. He was returned in 1884, and had 49 
accessions; 1885-87, M. W. Steffey was returned. In the second year he held .a 
nine-week's revival meeting which resulted in S3 conversions, 20 reclaimed and 
42 accessions, total membership now, 250. He organized a Young People's So- 
ciety of 65 single members, and a junior class of boys and girls. All prayed and 
told their experiences. In 1888-90, C. F. Hansing was pastor. During his term 
"Christian Science" teaching in the city influenced some members to leave the 
church. The remaining indebtedness was paid. A mission-house was erected 
ni the south part of the citj'. See Second Church. 

1891-92, J. M. Haug. He organized the first Y. P. A. on Aug. 29, '92, with 
36 members. First president was F. Goctz; V.-Pres., E. Mchl; Rec. Sec'y, W. 
Bergman; Treas., F. Krause; Cor. Sec'y, Kath. Haug. In October, 1891, the 

129 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

delegates of the General Conference assembled here. This was the time the 
Evangelical Association was rent in twain. At this General Conference the 
Young People's Alliance was launched. Here S. C. Breyfogel and Wm. Horn 
were elected bishops, and S. P. Spreng and G. Heinmiller editors of the Evan- 
f/cHcal Messenger and Christlichc Botschafler respectively. In 1893, H. Schleueher 
was pastor. He had Evangelist Grobe to hold a meeting. One hundred persons 
professed to be sanctified and 35 converted, and 30 joined church. 1894-96 Fr 
S'-hwcitzer was pastor. Fifty-one members from the First Church united with 
the newly established Second Church. His years were fraught with good re- 
sults. 1897-98, Wm. G. Braeckly was pastor. He was a spiritual son of this 
society. He had 33 accessions. In 1899-02, Fr. Rausch was stationed here. On 
February 26, '01, English services were begun for Sunday evenings, by a vote 
ot 4,'^ to 4, and the revised constitution of 1900 was again revised to accord with 
this change. A new financial plan was adopted. Eight members joined Grace 
Mission this year, and five a year later. In 1903-06, J. H. Breish was stationed 
here. In 1904 the church was re-frescoed, electric lights were installed, the 
floor was recarpetcd, and a new furnace was installed. On November 16-19, 
190S, the society celebrated its fiftieth anniversary. Prof. S. L. Umbach of 
Union Biblical Institute of Naperville, Illinois, was chief speaker. He gave a 
lecture on "Observation in the Lands of the Bible", and two sermons on Sun- 
day. Sunday afternoon old time reminiscences were given. Bishop Thomas 
Bowman preached on Monday night, and C. F. Hansing on Tuesday night. On 
January 1, '07, the opening Sunday School exercises were conducted in English, 
and the English Hymnal was introduced for Sunday evening services. 

In 1907-08, S. H. Baumgartner was pastor. The first year he had 18 con- 
versions and 24 accessions. Evangelist J. Klein of Pennsylvania was called for 
a ten-day's meeting in 1908. The meeting was preceded for two weeks by 
group prayer-meetings and by a week of preaching. The results were 30 con- 
versions and 22 accessions. A church survey of thirty squares was made by 
S. S. workers for new recruits to Sunday School. Adult Bible classes were or- 
ganized. The Y. P. A. gave for mission work, $443.82. A catechetical class 
finished a course with a public examination. 

In 1909, '13 G. B. Kimmel was pastor. During the time of Conference ses- 
sion this society held a congregational meeting, and decided that henceforth all 
public services should be in English. K's revival was preceded by a canvass of 
42 sciuares. Result of meetings, 17 conversions and 28 accessions. The Y. P. A. 
paid for missions $565.00. $1,200.00 was spent for new furnaces. The second 
year a much larger missionary policy was adopted at a special rally meeting. A 
missionary board of ten members was appointed, and an every-member canvass 
was made in ten days, netting $1,250.00 for foreign missions; for N. "W. C. En- 
dowment Fund $2,600.00 was secured. At the above rally meeting, Mr. and 
Mrs. C. L. Hartman announced that they would assume the support of Dr. F. C. 

130 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

Krumling" in China. The society supported O. R. Staufachei, missionary in 
Japan. The second year Kimmel had 26 conversions and 37 accessions. The 
third year he organized a Brotherhood with 65 members. The revival resuUed 
m 18 conversions and 26 accessions. The fourth year an annex was built to 
the main S. S. auditorium. The church received a general overhauling at a cost 
of $6,000.00. In 1913 the German prayer-meeting was discontinued. A Young 
Women's Missionary Circle, auxiliary to the W. M. S. was organized, also a 
chorus class of 30 voices with C. Parker as director. This year K. was appointed 
as a professor in the Evangelical Theological Seminary in Naperville. He, how- 
ever, finished his year here with his Seminary work. 

In 1914-16 J. H. Breish again served this society. The budget system was 
introduced. The society's constitution was revised. He had 57 accessions. In 
the second year Dr. G. Guille of the Moody Institute conducted an eight-day's 
Bible study. In the third year of his ministry here, a disease lay hold of B. 
to which he succumbed on July 17, '16, after an operation. This was the first 
time this society had lost a pastor through death. C. P. Maas, who had planned 
to begin evangelistic work in the fall, was secured to fill the vacancy. He enter- 
ed upon his work in September, and continued in service here until May, 1923. 
The parsonage again was improved. His first revival resulted in 54 conversions 
and 27 accessions. The general progress was maintained throughout his admin- 
istration. During his time, the pastor's salary was increased annually until it 
reached $2,600.00. He closed his work with a membership of 402, with all church 
organizations in a good working condition. In 1917 the society sent its pastor 
to Washington, D. C, to attend the National Temperance Convention. In 1918 
a new pipe organ was installed as an expression of gratitude to Almighty God 
for bringing back all soldier boys from the church without injury to any of 
them. The organ was designed by one of the soldier boys, Leroy Baumgartner. 
The cost of it was $9,000.00. It was then one of the best in the city. Dr. G. B. 
Kimmel officiated at its dedication with an appropriate sermon, and the de- 
signer presided at the organ. 

Men that entered the mmistry from this society were: Wm. G. Braeckly, 
1870; John Abrams, 1871; C. F. Brauer, 1872; C A. Hirschman, 1906; H. E. 
Eljerhardt, and H. L. Meyer, 1914; and Miss Rose Pecker as deaconess, and 
later as a missionary to China. Annual Conference sessions were held here Sep- 
tember, 1859, 1861. 1864, 1870, April 1880. 1894, 1903, 1913, May 1924. One Gen- 
eral Conference, October, 1891, was held here. 

INDIANAPOLIS NORTH SIDE 

In 1871 the Conference estaljlished a new Mission on Peru Street and Chris- 
tian Ave. J. Fuchs, J. M. Gomer, M. Hoehn, G. Helwig, and J. Schaub were the 
committee to select the location. The people of the First Church supported the 
erection of the church liberally, which, mcluding the lot, cost $7,000.00. By per- 

131 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

mission of Conference this mission had the right to collect funds for the build- 
ing of the church on the Indianapolis District. Rev. Hoehn reported that 22 
members of the First Church became charter-members of this new mission. At 
first the work developed hopefully, but the heavy debt and other circumstances 
hindered substantial growth. The Conference assumed the parsonage debt of 
$1,600.00. The mission met with a sudden misfortune. The church was badly 
wrecked by a cyclone, March 14, 'SO, at 10:30 p. m. It was moved three feet to 
one side. The tower fell in. The Conference did not feel able to assume 
further obligations under existing conditions. It, therefore, urged the Mission 
people to abandon the place and reunite with the First Church, which they did 
reluctantly. In 1881 the church was sold, and the proceeds, by order of Con- 
ference, were entrusted to a committee to secure a new location in the south 
part of the cit3-. In 1890 this instruction was carried out. See Second Church. 
Pastors here were: 1871-72, J. M. Comer; 73-74, M. Klaiber; 75-77, C. F. 
llansiug; 78-79, C. Tramcr. 

INDIANAPOLIS, WEST SIDE 

In 1885, the Conference provided for a Mission in West Indianapolis. A 
committee of the P. E and pastors of the F'lrst Church, Indianapolis, and of the 
Dayton Churcli, with a committee of the First Church, were to choose the site 
and erect a church, not to cost over $1,500.00 to $2,000.00. The P. E. was to 
supply the Mission with a missionary. The project was never imdertaken." 

INDIANAPOLIS, SECOND CHURCH 

The proceeds from the sale of the North Side Mission church, as ordered 
l)y Conference, were in 1890 used in the purchase of two lots on the N. E. cor- 
ner of Church and Wilkens Street.-;. A mission house was Iniilt on one lot, and 
dedicated .August 3, '90, by C. F. Hansing, pastor of the First Church. This 
building cost $1,000.00 and was partly covered by pledges of the First Church 
people. 

A Sunday School was organized and carried on by members of the First 
Church until in 1896 it was established a mission with Thomas Finkbeiner as 
missionary. Fifty-one members of the First Church, living in this section of 
ihe city, became the charter-members. With it was served Julietta, eight miles 
S. E. of Indianapolis. The year was closed with 78 members and with a Sun- 
day School enrollment of 169. F. served this Mission three years; 1899-01, I. H. 
' iriesemer. On April 11, 1900, the pastor called a congregational meeting to 
consider the feasil)ility of building a church. It was decided to build. A build- 
ing committee was elected, consisting of the pastor, I. H. Griescmer; C. F. 
Hansing, Wni. Keck, R. Botke, and H. Pintzke. The construction of the church 
l)egan in July, and on October 14, 1900, the church was dedicated by Bishop 
\Vm. Horn as the Second Church of the Evangelical Association, Indianapolis. 

132 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

This church with the remodelling of the mission house into a parsoiiaRe cost 
$4,300.00. This amount was all provided prior to dedication. The church has a 
line auditorium, two class-rooms, choir loft, basement, electric lights, and fur- 
nace. G. had 21 accessions. 

In 1902-04, J. Kaufman was pastor; '05-06, Fr. Schweitzer; '07, C. Harms; 
'm. C. F. Hansing: 'Oy-lO, D. D. Speicher; '11-15, E. J. Nitsche. In '13, a class- 
room was fixed up in the basement for the men's Bible class, costing $434.00. 
In 1916-17, L. J. Ehrhardt; '18-23, M. L. Scheidler. With him all public serv- 




Secoiid Church, Indianapolis, Ind. 

ices became English. The society has an active Y. P. A. and a Ladies' Aid So- 
ciety, and Young Women's Missionary Circle. This society has become sur- 
rounded by a foreign people that limit its field and threatens its existence. 

INDIANAPOLIS, BEVILLE AVE. CHURCH 

In April, 1900, the Conference located an. English mission in Indianapolis. 
This was an important step toward maintaining the future of the Evaiigelical 

133 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Association in the metropolis of Indiana. G. B. Kimmel became tlie first mis- 
sionary. His activities began in September. The first month was devoted to a 
cprcfnl study of the field. In a house to house canvass between Arsenal Ave. 
and Rural Street, from Washington to 10th Street, calling on 900 families, be 
found 275 families having no church home. Many of these had not even a 
church preference. It was then decided to locate the mission in this territory. 
After some searching for a suitable building in which to worship, the Lord in 
an unlooked-for way, provided a store-room at 2305 E. Michigan Street. Through 
the aid of the Second Church, and Wayne Ave, Dayton, Ohio, 100 chairs were 
obtained. Andrew Kramer gave the organ, and a stand, the other friends con- 
tributed other necessary furnishings. On October 7, an opening Rally S. S. 
service was held with an attendance of 142. Brief addresses were given by F. 
Rausch, First, and I. H. Griesemere, Second Church, and A. Kramer, and G. I!. 
Kimmel, the acting superintendent. G. A. Neerman was appointed Sec'y-Treas - 
urer; Flora Kramer, organist; and Wm. Gielow, librarian. The first S. S. teach- 
ers were: A. Kramer, Mrs. A. Kramer, A. Neerman, Mrs. C. R. Jones, Mary 
Neerman, Martha Neerman, Anna Sanders, Emma Gilliom, L. E. Brown, Lila 
Brandt, Mable Canary, Nellie Truelove, Mrs. Wright, P. A. Canary; Primary 
Department, Mrs. Emma Neerman, and Minnie Sanders. 

On Wednesday, October 10th, the first mid-week prayer-meeting was held 
which became the power-house of this mission. On October 21st (evening) the 
first sermon was preached. ("Jn December 16, (irace Missionary Society was 
organized; Pres., A. Kramer; A'. Pres., E. G. Eberhardt; Secy., Wm. Gielow-; 
Treas., C. L. Hartman. On -January 6, 1901, the first revival began at which 39 
'vcre saved. On Feb. 7, at the call of the P. E., the people who had joined the 
Evangelical Association were now organized into a society, and adopted as 
their name "Grace Mission". The charter-members were: Gus. A., Martha, 
Marv, .Alfred, Cloe, AValter, and Emma Neerman; .Anna and Minnie Sanders; 
Geo. and Walter Krause; J. R. Parker; Edw. and Mrs. Smith; G. Enderline; 
F. Trissel; R. Wenner; .Anna Thiesing; J. Herman; L. E. and Mrs. Brown. 
The following united soon after: Mrs. Jesse Night, Nellie Jones, Geo. and Mrs. 
Snider, Emma Gilliom. On March 12, under the chairmanship of the P. E., the 
following officers were elected: G. B. Kimmel, class-leader; E. L. Brown, ex- 
horter; G. A. Neerman, J. A. Parker, and E. H. Smith, trustees. In April, 1902, 
K, was returned. The Conference gave the society a loan of $1,500, at 5% in- 
terest for aid on their church. On April IX, it was decided to build. Two lots 
on Beville Ave. were bought for $1,000.00. The building committee was G. B. 
Kimmel, G. A. Neerman, J. A. Parker, E. A Smith, A. Kramer, and F. Hirsch- 
man. The pastor now solicited funds. Plans for the church were adopted. 
The cornerstone was laid on June 30, by F. Rausch, aided by pastor and I. H. 
(iriesemer. On Septcndn'r 5, 1902, the church was dedicated by Bishop T. Bow- 
man, as "Grace Church". The cost, exclusive of lot, was $3,200.00. A Junior 

134 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

and a Senior Y. P. A., a Young Men's Prayer Band, and a Younp; Ladies' Mis- 
sion Band were organized. He closed the year with 125 memljers, and 343 S. S. 
scholars. In April, 1904, J. O. Mosicr was appointed pastor. The average at- 
tendance at S. S. was 300. This made larger accommodations imperative. At 
a called congregational meeting, plans for enlarging the church were adopted, 
and a building committee elected, namely. P. W. Soltau, G. A. Neerman, L. 
Schurr, Emma Gilliom, Carrie Johnson, and the pastor. The cost of enlarge- 
ment was $4,985.00. Bishop S. C. Breyfogel rededicated the church. The debt 
was over-subscribed bj' $500.00. In the three years that M. was there, he had 
76 accessions, net membership gain, 40. A Ladies' Aid Society was organized 
and a circulating library was founded. In 1907-08, D. E. Zechiel was pastor. 
In two years, he had 29 conversions, and 41 accessions, and paid on debt $2,098, 
leaving a balance of $100. He left with all departments in good condition. In 
1909-10, C. E. Boyer served this charge. On July 9th, the S. S. hour was changed 
from afternoon to forenoon. The enrollment decreased, but the change, never- 
theless, proved satisfactory. The balance of the debt was paid, and the surplus 
in the treasury- was set apart as a Parsonage Fund. The church was repainted. 
A A\"oman's Missionary Society was organized with 20 members. A vocalion 
organ was bought, and augmented the interest in song services. The duplex 
collection envelope system was introduced. In 1911, J. W. Carter was pastor. 
Prosperity continued, though few were saved and added to the church. In 
1912-14, F. Hartman was preacher in charge. A piano was bought the third 
year. In 1915-20, M. W. Sunderman was pastor. During his time the church 
was repaired and repainted. A new workers' library was installed. In the fall 
of 1916, a parsonage lot was bought, costing $800.00. A new heating plant was 
installed. An orchestra was organized. He had 116 conversions, and 122 acces- 
sions. In December, 1917, the Brotherhood Society sent him to represent the 
congregation at the Washington, D. C, National Temperance Convention. This 
society has alwa}'s taken an active part in the work of temperance and social 
reform. In 1918 a modern parsonage was built at a cost of $6,000.00. On Oct. 
3, 1920, the 20th anniversary of the organization of the society was celebrated. 
In 1921-23, D. A. Kaley was pastor. In 1922 the society's name was changed to 
Beville Avenue Church. Success continued in all departments. 

ISLAXD, NAPPANEE CIRCUIT 

Ministers of the Evangelical Association entered this neighborhood about 
1850. This appointment lies in Kosciusko Co., four miles S. W. of Milford, In- 
diana. For some time the services were held in the Hastings Schoolhousc, and 
in private homes. A few German families lived here, namely: Rudolph and 
Christian Ringenberg's and Oster's, a-nd others who joined the Evangelical As- 
sociation. The preachers came from Elkhart Circuit. In 1857 it became a part 
of the New Paris Circuit until Nappanec Circuit was formed in 1893. It remain- 
US 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

ed a part of this circuit until 1911 when Nappanee 1)0came a mission, and the 
Island, Hepton and Panama Classes became Nappanee Circuit. For ministers 
see list under Elkhart Circuit up to 1857, then see those on Yellow River and 
Bremen Circuit. In 1869-70, Jacob Keiper of Fllkhart Circuit served here with 
S. S. Condo and Eli Hochstettler, the first and second years respectively. K. 
held a revival in the Lichtenwalter Schoolhouse in the Pinkerton settlement 
where he organized a class of 18 memljers. Wesley Pinkerton, who later be- 
came a local preacher, was elected class-leader. This class was about three miles 
S. E. of the Island Church, with which it was later merged. In 1871 D. S. Oakes 
and Wm. Wildermuth served here. From 72-92, it was with New Paris. Froni 
1893-10, see Nappanee; 1911-1.?, A. B. Aegerter; 1914-16, Ed. Greiner; '17-19, W 
I Wcyant; 70, E. E. Miller; '21-22, F. F. McClure; •23, E. E. Miller. 

The first church here was built in 1876-77, and was dedicated May 27, '77. 
D J. Pontius was pastor. It remained unaltered until 1912 when A. B. Aegerter 
remodeled it by building a corner tower and pulpit recess, and installed circu- 
lar pews. It was rededicated by L. S. Fisher in the fall of 1912. This society 
maintains a Sunday School which measures up to the average country S. S. 
This society recommended three candidates to the ministry: Wesley Pinkerton, 
1878, who, however, never took up the active work; Lloyd C. Haney, 1911; and 
Lcroy Cciger, 1922. The last two are in active work. 

JERUSALEM, OR PANAMA, NAPPANEE CIRCUIT 

This society is three miles north of Bourbon, Indiana. It was originallv 
known as Panama Class. A few families had moved here from Ohio. Chr. 
Glaus organized this class in 1848. Preaching was in private houses and school - 
houses. Later this class, 1;/ miles east, and Johnson's Schoolhouse Class, one 
mile west of the present church, were merged into one society. In 1880 E. R. 
Troyer built the first church which w-as dedicated September 21, '80. In 1881 
this society was allowed to sell a part of the church lot to apply the proceeds 
on the church debt. The early history of this society was much the same as 
that of Hepton and Bremen. The same pastors served here as at Hepton. This 
society has for years maintained a good Sunday School, and has otherwise been 
active. 

In 189,3 this class with Hepton was detached from Bremen Circuit, with 
which it was served since its be.ginning, and became a part of Nappanee Circuit, 
In March, 1894, H. H. Reinoehl closed a very blessed five-week's revival here 
which resulted in 52 conversions and i7 accessions. In 1903 it, with Hepton 
and Madison, north of Bremen, became Bremen Mission, and it was served 
three years by J. W. Feller. In 1906 the nnssion was made a circuit and was 
served two years by L. J. Ehrhardt. In 1908 the circuit w^as again made a mis- 
sion, and was served two years by Ph. Buehler. In 1910 Jerusalem with Hepton 
and the Island Classes became Bourbon Circuit, with G. A. \\'eishaar, pastor. 

136 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

Ir 1911 the name of the field was changed to Nappanee Circuit, with A. B. 
Aegerter, pastor for three years. In 1913 the first church was enlarged with a 
wing added to the west and a corner tower built, inclined floor put in, circular 
pews installed, a pulpit recess built, and a basement with furnace, all at a cost 
of $3,700.00. The auditorium is 30 x 44 feet, class-room, 18 x 28 feet. The church 
was rcdedicated by J. W. Metzncr, P. E., September 14, 1913. In the winter of 
1914, in a revival held here, A. reported 28 conversions. His successors 
also had good revivals here. See list of preachers under Hepton. 

JERUSALEM, ST. MARY'S CIRCUIT 

This society was located about seven miles N. E. of Decatur, Indiana. This 
class existed as early as 1866 when Peter Wiest preached here. It was then a 
part of the English Huntington Mission which was served jointly with St. Mary's 
Circuit. He held a revival here, February, 1867, resulting in 20 conversions, 
and nearly as many accessions. This class was locally known as "Miller's" 
Class. A brick church was built by Jos. Maier and was dedicated September 1, 
1867, by M. W. Stefley, P. E. Some of the early members here were: Miller's, 
John Swartz's, Geo. Haley's, and Brodbeck's. The society always belonged to 
the St. Mary's Circuit except in 1885 when it belonged to Decatur Mission. 
S Hofferbert was the last pastor who served here in 1889-90. The church was 
sold by order of Conference. 

JERUSALEM, OR BURTON, FULTON CO., INDIANA 

This society is located seven miles west of Rochester, Indiana, and known 
as the Burton Appointment. In the earl}' eighties Evangelical preachers preach- 
ed in a schoolhouse, one mile east of the present church. Methodist people and 
United Brethren began about the same time. The M. E.'s began building a 
brick church, but being unable to finish the building the Evangelicals and United 
Brethren were invited to help carry through the undertaking. They agreed, by 
written contract, that each denomination could hold regular services in the 
church for an indefinite period. The proposition was accepted, and thus a 
Union Church was formed working quite successfully together in union revival 
meetings, which had to be held together. Each pastor took his turn to preach. 
When the revival closed each pastor stated the conditions for membership in 
his church. Then the persons who wished to join church walked forth and 
lined up with the pastor whose denomination they wished to join. This pro- 
cedure at times proved embarrassing to the pastors, and required grace to keep 
er.vy out. Few union churches, however, worked as harmoniously as this one. 

But in the course of time, the membership of the M. E. Church dwindled to 
a few, and in 1914 they sold their interest to the other two denominations, giving 
each equal rights to the property. In the spring of 1916 these two denomina- 
t'ons decided to tear down the old church, and build a new one with adequate 

137 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Sunday School accommodations. It was built of cement blocks at a cost of 
$5,550.00, and $1,000.00 was donated in labor. The church was dedicated No- 
vember 12, 1916, by Bishop L. H. Seagcr of the Evangelical Association, and 
Dr. J. E. Grimes, district Supt. of the U. B. Church. This church has a seatin.g 
capacity of 300. It has a double class-room, a choir loft, a basement arranged 
for S. S. work. 

The charter-meinljcrs of the Evangelical Association here were: Michael 
Wales and wife; Jacob Neff, wife and children; John Kennel and wife; Daniel 
Wildermuth and wife; Mrs. Hiatt and others. For list of pastors see Grand 
^ icw. H. E. Neff went forth from this class as a minister of the Gospel. 

JOHNSONVILLE, ILLINOIS 

This society was located a few miles west of Cisne, Illinois, Wayne Co. 
In 1889 John Neff donated two lots and a house to the South Indiana Confer- 
ence. The house was remodeled into a church while E. J. Nitsche was pastor 
at Graj'ville and Enterprise jointly. In 1894 this society was allowed to sell 
one lot and apply the proceeds on the dcljt of the church. The work here failed 
to develop, and in 1898 the church was sold for $75.00, of which amount $50.00 
was given to Enterprise Society to repair their church, the balance flowing into 
the Conference Treasury. 

JONESBORO, ILLINOIS 

Jos. Maier took up this place in 1874 and served it with Mound City, and 
Cairo Mission in Southern Illinois, which was about 55 miles from headquarters. 
These points were in Alexandria, Pulaski, LTnion, and Jackson Counties. He 
found the people ready for the Gospel. At this time a church was bought. A 
country class was served with it. A Sunday School was organized in 1874. In 
1875 Jonesboro was taken up as a mission and served by Maier. In February, 
'76, he reported that a glorious (luarterly meeting was conducted here by J. 
Fuchs, when souls were converted to God. 1876-78, J. C. Young; 79, H. 
Schleucher; '80-82, C. F. Matthias; '83-84, E. J. Nitsche; '85, C. F. Matthias; 
'86-87, M. Speck; '88-89, C. Stier; '90, C. Kohlmcier; '91, J. Mundorf; '92, G. F. 
AN'inter. At the time of the division of the church this field went with the 
I'. Ev. Church. 

JULIETTA, MARION CO., INDIANA 

Soon after the Civil War, Carl Hartman, member of the First Church of 
Indianapolis, bought a farm one-half mile south of Cumberland, Indiana, and 
moved on it. He believed this to be providential. His pastor, J. Fuchs, and 
members of the First Church occasionally came out and held services in his 
house. The Germans in the community were invited. Most of the people who 
heard the heart-searching sermons were members of the Zion Church of the 

138 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

Synod of the West. Fredrick Schmoc also opened his house for a preaching 
place. Here the first protracted meeting was held in 1867. The aforesaid Zion 
Church was on the verge of dissolution because of the immorality and drunk- 
enness of several of its ministers. These people had an old log church one mile 
cast of Julietta. At a service held m Schmoc's house, the power of God was 
wonderfully present while E. preached. A "tramp" preacher of this Synod was 
present. Seeing a sinner, his host, Ernest Schmoe, fell to the floor as though he 
were shot, this preacher jumped up, shouting, "Deceivers, false teachers, wolves 
in sheep's clothing! Oh, come, let us flee from this place." But none left except 
himself, cursing the speaker the while. Brother Schmoe was gloriously con- 
verted, and this preacher packed his grip and hurriedly left for parts unknown. 
Among the conversions of this meeting were these: Mother Hansing and Mrs. 
Fred Schmoe. A class was now organized with C. Hartman as leader. Charter- 
members were: Carl Hartman and wife, Fred Schmoe and wife, C. Miller and 
family, C. Meyer, Henry Fink and family, Ernest Schmoe and family. Father and 
?,[other Ostermeire. Chr. Hansing and family, Eleanora Koester, Conrad Geisel 
sad wife. 

In 1868 the Conference took up this place and with other appointments 
formed lulietta Mission with Wm. Wcsseler as missionary. In the following 
winter the above named log church was secured for a meeting. The Lord was 
present with convincing and convcrtmg power. Opposers tried to break up the 
revival. On a Saturday night ever\' window was broken to prevent the celebra- 
tion of the Lord's Supper on the next Lord's Day. When the janitor arrived, he 
found this condition. He cleaned up the wreckage, built a good fire, and boarded 
up some windows. The revival increased in interest, and old people and young 
people were converted. Among others was C. F. Hansing. A Mr. Miller was 
saved on horseback while riding home. But hostile people threw stones and 
clubs at the church and worshippers, hailing thcin in derision. The church was 
abandoned, and the meeting transferred to a schoolhouse and private homes. 
The revival went on. A young woman came to a prayer-meeting, followed by 
an enraged father. She became penitent and cried for mercy. The father's 
wrath was augmented. When she arrived home he drove her out of the house, 
and closed the door of his home against her. The next day he found her at her 
brother's home where he again beat and kicked her until she was nearlj' dead. 
Later his son threatened to kill Pastor Wesseler for persuading his sister to for- 
sake the Lutheran faith. W. heard of it, and avoided him by going home an- 
other way. When the would-be assassin's plans miscarried, he met G. Pullman 
on the highway and beat him so severely' that he had to be taken home in a 
wagon. But the work of the Lord went on. 

Soon after the above assaults this society began building a church. Many 
souls were saved here. Two ministers, C. F. and C. F. W. Hansing, and two 
minister's wives, Mrs. Schuh and Mrs. Bruckert, came from this class. The 

139 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

names of the field to which Julietta belonged were: Cumberland, 1867-68; Sulphnr 
Spring, '69-70; to Indianapolis Mission, 1871-74; Sulphur Spring, 1875; Julietta, 
1876-83; to Indianapolis Station, 1884; Julietta, 1885-92, except the year '86; '93, 
to Second, Indianapolis; 1894-95, Cumberland; 1896-98, to Indianapolis Second. 
In 1899 the class was abandoned and its members incorporated with the Second 
Church, Indianapolis. In 1894 the church lot was sold and the proceeds given 
to the Second Church, Indianapolis. 

KENDALLVILLE, INDIANA 

In 1851 two Evangelical Classes started, one east and one west of Kendall- 
^■il!e. H. Ragatz and Jos. Fisher, of Elkhart Circuit, in 1852, were the first regu- 
lar missionaries here. The east, or Ackerman Class, was organized by Fisher 
in June, 1853, just before Conference met, consisting of Jacob Ackerman's, Ste- 
phen Eardon's, Geo. and Jacob Diegel's, and Chas. Knecht's. The west clas^, of 
Father and Mother ilunk, Geo. Wahl's, Mr. and Mrs. Deuschle's, J. Kurley, 
W'ni. Ludder's and Schlichtemeier's. In 1860 the members of these two classes 
united in an organization in Kendallville. There was then quite a German set- 
tlement around K. Fisher reported that the prospects were good for conver- 
sions. Prayer-meetin.gs were held. In 1853, J. Kciper and M. W. StefTey were 
pastors of Elkhart Circuit, which still included this section. Keiper mentioned 
the fact in his diary, that a several days' meeting was held at the Miller and 
Hoke settlement, April 22-23, 1854. In June this section was included in DeKalb 
M ission. 

In 1859 an Easter Sunday service was held in the vicinity of Kendallville by 
M. Mayer and D. Bartholomew, resulting in conversion and accessions. In 1861 
Fr. Geisel, pastor, reported that a church lot was bought in Kendallville. In 
1S62 G. A. Hertel, the pastor, reported that "The German population in and 
about K. lived in sin and debauchery. Sabbath desecration and other great im- 
moralities were encouraged by their pastors' attitude." He built the first par- 
sona.ge on the church lot. He secured $300.00 towards it from members ami 
friends, and was able to move into it August 26. '62. The building of a brick 
church Avas under contemplation at this time. He secured $800.00 for this proj- 
ect. But the church (frame) was not erected until in 1865 by J. M. Kronmiller. 
size 32 X 40 feet. It was dedicated by Bishop Joseph Long, September 3, 1865. 
Ministers who preached here up to 1872 were from DeKalb Circuit under which 
one will find their names and years. 

In 1873 Kendallville Circuit was formed from the western part of the De- 
Kalli Circuit, including Kendallville, Woodruff, and Trinity in LaGrange Co., 
and Dutch Street Church, one mile S. E. of Wolcottville, and Miller's, three 
miles N. W. of Avilla. This circuit was served jointly with DeKalb Circuit this 
year. In 1875, M. Krueger reported a four-weeks' revival, resulting in IS con- 
A'crsions and 20 accessions, and a glorious quickening of the spiritual life of the 
church. In May, 1882, improvements were made on the church property amount- 

140 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

ing to $250.00. Pastor J. Wales conducted a three-weeks' revival here in Jan- 
uary, '8.3, in English and German, resulting in 28 accessions. 

Second Church was built by Jos. Fisher in 1888. The old frame church wa, 
sold and moved across the street where it now stands as a dwelling house. The 
new brick church stands on the old site. Its erection cost $4,000.00. This church 
had a large class-room in the front of the basement, and a furnace under the 
rear half. The auditorium was 36 x 56 feet, seated with opera chairs in a 
semi-circle. It also had a large corner tower with a good bell. Windows were 
of plain art-glass. It was dedicated January 13, 1889, by Bishop T. Bowman. 
$1,300.00 were pledged on Dedication Day, leaving $700.00 unprovided. Many 
pledges could not be redeemed. The Conference later paid $1,000.00 to lift the 
financial burden. S. H. Baumgartner in 1892-93 liquidated the remaining debt 
of $1,500.00. A church trial in 1892 threatened the very existence of this society, 
but a glorious revival in February, 1893, vindicating the church, resulted in many 
adult conversions and in 25 accessions. Thus the society w-as again placed in a 
prosperous way. In 1894, W. H. Mygrant, pastor, the parsonage was thorough- 
1_\ remodeled by adding a new two-story front and porch. Inspirational revivals 
followed and greatly helped to develop the society. 

The third church here is the second one thoroughly remodeled and modern- 
ized. This was done in 1913 while W. H. Freshlej' served as pastor. A large 
addition was added to the east. The whole church is 57 x 67 feet. The outsid; 
walls are covered with imitation stone, and roofed with asljestos slate. The 
basement contains furnace room, prayer, and S. S. Primary room, and room for 
social gatherings. Above is the auditorium with galleries on three sides. These 
are divided into class-rooms for Sunday School work. Below the galleries class- 
rooins with accordion doors are provided. It has a large foyer, two tower en- 
trances, a pipe-organ, and choir room, indirect electric lighting, and fine art- 
glass windows. The church was dedicated November 23, '13, by Bishop S. P. 
Spreng. The remodelling cost $15,000.00, including the new parsonage lot and 
moving of the parsonage. About $8,000.00 was raised on Dedication Day in 
cash and pledges. F. during five years reported 215 accessions, and increased 
S. S. attendance from 125 to 455. The building committee consisted of A. Acker- 
man, A. W. Shafer, J. A. McDonald, M. E. Sherman, H. V. Gorrell, Geo. 
Adams, S. A. Eckhart, W. D. Mains, and C. S. Wert. The first Sunday School 
here was organized in 1881 with P. C. Isbell, superintendent. The first Y. P. A. 
was organized Feb. 1893. The Sunday School observed a Rally Day service in 
1020; attendance, 453; offering, $509.00. 

For ministers who served here see under DeKalb from 1854-73. For minis- 
ters from 1873-1914, see Volume I. '15-18, J. H. Evans; '19-22, D. D. Spangler; 
'23. W. R. Kimmel. 

KOCH'S SCHOOLHOUSE 

This appointment was a part of Cicero Mission in 1858, located S. W. of 
Cicero. 

141 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 
KOKOMO, INDIANA 

In the summer of 1890 S. H. Baumgartner of Bunker Hill Circuit began to 
preach in Kokomo every alternate Sunday afternoon in an independent church 
near the Clover Leaf R. R. station. At this time this society contemplated 
luiiting ^Yith a spiritual denomination. D. S. Oakes, P. E., was asked to preach 
to the people on a Sunday afternoon and inspect the field with a view of taking 
oier the society with its property. But the proposition seemed impractical to 
him, fearing it would become a burden to the Conference. From a lack of 
hearty cooperation of the Bunker Hill Circuit people, the field was dropped. 
I^ater this field was entered by another denomination with good results. 

Substantial Evangelical members having moved into Kokomo, about 1900, 
s new interest for a mission in the growing city was awakened. At the annua! 
convention of the Conference Branch Y. P. A., held at Oakwood Park in August, 
1901, the young people in Convention resolved to petition Conference to es- 
tabhsh a mission to he supported for tlirec years by this Conf. Branch. At the 
session of 1902 the petition was presented and referred to the Committee on 
Boundaries which recommended the establishing of a Mission in the eastern 
part of Kokomo, a recommendation which the Conference endorsed. See Conf. 
Journal 1902, page 34. A. S. Fisher, who was deeply interested in his home city 
and people, was appointed first missionary. The charge was accepted with some 
reluctance and with a realization of the magnitude of the task. After a four- 
week's search he found a house in which to live. An unoccupied laundry build- 
in.g, IS X 120, was secured for a Mission Hall. The location was good. Soon 
tlie place was ready for work and the hall was dedicated July 27, '02, by J. O. 
A'^osier, Conference Branch Y. P. A. president. Besides the missionary's family 
there were a few other families of the Evangelical Association here, and were 
available to render assistance, principally Rev. A. J. Trover, and John N. Loop 
who was a memlier of a sister church. 

On Ume 1st the first Sunday School session was held with ,52 present. J. N. 
Loop was appointed temporary superintendent; Maud Troyer, secretary and 
organist, and A. J. Troyer, treasurer. The missionary, superintendent, treasurer, 
■j.nr[ Minta Fisher were the first teachers. The average attendance for the year 
was ,30. Regular preaching services also began in June, and weekly prayer- 
meetings were conducted by Rev. Troyer, the class-leader. The attendance was 
at first small. The first revival was begun November 12th. G. B. Kimmel of 
Grace Mission, Indianapolis, ably assisted one week. While there were not 
many conversions, an interest in the mission was created among the people. A 
society was organized March 29, 1903, consistin.g of A. S. and Elizabeth Fisher, 
and daughters, Minta and Fern; A. J. Troyer and daughter, Maud; Caroline 
Stutsman; Rev. C. D. and Luella Rarey. This was truly a "day of small things", 
Ijut dear to the Y. P. A. of the Conference. 

The second year of this mission was yet more trying. But this little band 

142 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

felt it had the prayers and support of the young people, though it was keenly 
conscious that inore visible results were expected. The small working force 
in the Sunday School, and the lack of public confidence in the mission were 
the chief difficulties. Too many looked upon the enterprise as a "Rescue Mis- 
sion" and wished it would fail. During this year a local Y. P. A. was organized 
with Minnie Schrock, first president. This helped to maintain interest. The 
third year the membership increased slightly. The need of a church was agi- 
tated. On May 4, '04, a Ladies' Aid Society was organized with 21 members, 
Mrs. .A. R. Stockton, first president. With enthusiasm they began to raise 
money for a church. On October 20, '04, Jacob Schrock, Sol. Fisher, and A. S. 
Fisher were elected a board of trustees. In March, 1904, an option was obtained 
on a property on the S. E. corner of Taylor and Purdum Streets. Conference 
approved this purchase and urged vigorous efforts to build a church. This prop- 
erty cost $1,200.00. The house on it was sold for $300.00. A building committee 
was appointed, viz.: A. R. Stockton, J. N. Schrock, S. Fisher, A. J. Troyer, 
J. N. Loop, Wm. Smelser, and A. S. Fisher. The breaking of ground began 
June 23, '05. Pledges from members and friends were obtained to about one- 
half of the amount needed. The cornerstone was laid July 22nd by F. F. Mc- 
Clure, substituting for C. F. Hansing. The church was dedicated November 
19, '05, by Bishop T. Bowman as First Church. Total cost including lot was 
54,225.00, of which $2,048.00 had been previously raised. The Conference Branch 
V. P. A. paid $300.00. Pledges on dedication day amounted to $1,882.00. 

In 1906-07, J. J. Wise was missionarj'. He had a good revival, and as Fisher 
= aid: "The little craft now seemed to be over the riffles, and was moving in a 
more favorable current." 1908-12, M. L. Scheidler was pastor. The basement 
was fitted out for additional S. S. work at a cost of $200.00. On April 2i, '11, 
this society took up a mission-field in South Kokomo as a result of a revival 
held here in March. A society was organized with 30 members, but was dropped 
by his successor, by reason of lack of community support. Its members were 
incorporated with the First Church. 

Through the generous bequest and gifts of Sol. Fisher and wife, Matthew 
Anacker and wife, J. Schrock and wife, members of the society, a parsonage 
property was bought. The Ladies' Aid Society also gave hearty assistance. In 
1912-15, B. G. Smith served the field. On April 1, 'IS, the society had 110 mem- 
bers. In 1914 Taylor Street, on which the church faced to the north, was paved, 
entailing a heavy expense. The choir loft was enlarged, and improvements in 
the basement were made. New steps were made to the front entrance. In 
1916 W. S. Mills served; 1917, B. Schuermeier. The church was repainted in 
side and outside. 1918-19, A. B. Haist; 1920-22, I. G. Roederer. In 1921 a base- 
ment was constructed under the entire church, containing a social room and 
kitchen. A new furnace, electric fixtures throughout the church, and outside en- 
trance to basement were the additional improvements made, all at a cost of 

143 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

$2,700.00 Prof. J. S. Stanim of the Ev. Theo. Seminary dedicated the basement 
Sunday afternoon, July 10, '21. 1923 Elmer Smith was pastor. 

LAFAYETTE, INDIANA 

Lafayette and vicinity was taken up as a mission in 1859 with Geo. Kloepfer, 
missionary. In January, 1860, he found four members here that had belonged 
to the Evangelical Association in Pennsylvania. These lived north and south 
of the city where nearly everybody was English. Two meetings were held 
south of the city at Bro. Witter's home where eight professed salvation, and 
were organized into a class. The second one was held over New-year's Day, 
and was one of great demonstration. This filled the people here with astonish- 
ment. The north appointment was 3J/ iniles from Lafayette at G. Eichholz''; 
home. Another appointment was in the city where "Satan had a stronghold 
among the Germans who loved their whiskey and lagerbcer". In 1860 Con- 
ference ordered, if deemed practical by the P. E. of the district, to add the west- 
ern part of Fulton Circuit to Lafayette appointments and to supply them with 
a pastor for whose salary the Missionary Society made an appropriation. The 
record does not show that this was done. In 1861 Lafayette Mission was served 
jointly with Fulton Circuit by D. Bartholomew, Geo. Kloepfer and P. Roth. In 
1862 Lafayette and vicinity, Covington, Ind., county seat of Fountain Co., and 
Danville, 111., became Wabash Mission, and was left to be supplied. In 1863 Ph. 
Schwartz was missionary. In '64 it was added to Medaryville Mission and 
served by Bartholomew. In 1865 it was detached from Medaryville Mission and 
was served alone by D. S. Oakes; 1866-67, E. L. Kiplinger. In 1868 the mission 
was divided into Danville Mission (see Danville) and Spring Grove Mission 
(sec Spring Grove). 

LAKE BRUCE, INDIANA 

The legal name of this society is Pleasant Hill. For a long time it was 
known a? Greenland. It obtained this last name when Peter Overmeyer, then 
a Baptist, crossing the sand ridge on which Pleasant Hill Church stands, would 
sing, "From Greenland's Icy Mountain", on his way to worship. This society 
also for many years was known as Bruce Lake, named after the R. R. town, five 
miles east of this place. But when the town of Lake Bruce was laid out near 
the church on the east shore of Lake Bruce, the circuit's name was changed to 
the present one. 

In 1852 J. Keiper took up this appointment in a log scboolhouse, two miles 
east of the church. K. and H. Strickler, his colleague, and S. Dickover, P. E., 
held a revival meeting here in March, 1853. Opposition was great, and the first 
efforts seemed fruitless. K. thought best to quit, but the others believed they 
should continue. The roads were so bad that wagons mired in coming to meet- 
ings. "But victory came", says John Stamm who is still living here. About 

144 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

20-22 people of various social standing were happily converted and united with 
the Evangelical Association. Among them was a "fiddler" who a few days pre- 
vious had a dance in his own house to show his hatred for the meeting. He 
played the dance music. First all went satisfactorily, but suddenly he was 
sei.-^ed with great and painful conviction. He yielded and was converted. Then 
he consigned his "fiddle" to the fire, lest it should tempt him to do evil with it. 
He became a regular attendant at divine worship. A few months before, there 
was a single member here, but now a class was organized of the following per- 
sons: John and James Stamm; Daniel Bruce and his mother Sarah; Crossgrove 
and wife; Jacob Overmeyer and wife; Henry Evans and wife; Valentine Kolp, 
wife and son John; Julius Deibert; David Overmejer; and Jacob Huff and wife. 
Crossgrove was the first class-leader. 

Rev. Jacob Keiper said that during this meetin.g an elderly man, (Bruce) 
dccpl}' under conviction and distressingly penitent, came forward to the altar, 
crying pitifully to God for mercy. His distress grew to the point of utter help- 
lessness. Then he called upon the friends about him, saying, "O boys, come 
^nd help. I am in an awful snap". The Lord delivered him. 

Pastors 

From 1852 to 1866, see under Akron, Barnheisel Class; 1867 it was a part of 
Pulaki Circuit, served by J. Keiper; 1868 to 1880 to Fulton Circuit, (see imder 
Akron). 1881 it was added to Twin Lake Circuit where it remained until 1895, 
(see under Culver). In 1896 Twin Lake Circuit was divided and this class with 
River Bank and Lucerne became Bruce I^ake Circuit, served by J. Wales. In 
1897 R. Rainey was pastor, but he died this year. In '98 E. E. Meyers was ap- 
pointed here. '99 this society was added to Royal Centre with W. E. Snyder, 
pastor, and E. Werner, assistant; 1900, J. Wales, and E. Werner. (The name 
Bruce Lake was restored this year.) In 1901 the field name was changed to 
Tippecanoe and assigned to C. D. Ringgenberg. In 1902 Jacob Bohyer was the 
pastor; 1903, D. A. Kaley; 1904-05, A. E. Weyrick; '06-08, L. E. Smith with the 
field name changed the second year to Leiters Ford, and the third year to Lake 
Bruce; 1909-11, I. Steele; '12-14, C. W. Schlemmer; '15-17, R. L. Handschu; 
'18-19, L. A. Dewitt; 1920, C. L. Davis; '21-22, A. W. Feller; '23, J. M. Kistler. 

The first church was built in 1880 and dedicated January, 1881, by B. F. 
Meyer of South Bend, Indiana. The building committee was Joseph and Daniel 
Bruce, and John Stamm. In 1892 when D. D. Spangler was pastor, two lots 
were bought in Kewanna, Indiana, for a parsonage. Part of the lumber was 
furnished and was on the ground. But from lack of unity, the parsonage was 
not built. In 1898 by order of Conference, the two lots were deeded to the 
trustees of the Pleasant Hill Class in lieu of the $200.00 assumed by them, thus 
releasing Conference from further obligations. In 1908 a parsonage was built 
in Lake Bruce. Many blessed revivals were held here. This society has main- 
tained a good Sunday School for many years. 

145 

10 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

LAKE CREEK, ILLINOIS 

This class was near Marion, Williams Co., Illinois. It was taken up in 1875 
by J. Mode, and by Conference in September, as Lake Creek Mission. A frame 
church was built and dedicated by Carl Stockhowe, June 27, 1880, as Emanuel 
Church, H. L. Fisher, P. E., shortly before he died. In 1888 the appointment 
'vas dropped. Another denomination tore down the church and used the lum- 
ber for building a church, and another took the furniture, leaving us nothing but 
the bare lot, which S. H. Baumgartner, P. E., sold in 1909 for $100.00, and 
ji'aced the proceeds in the Conference Treasury. 

LANCASTER (EMMANUEL), ILLINOIS 

This class started in a schoolhouse about three miles north of Lancaster, 
Illinois, where some of the Lancaster society members lived. In 1880 a small 
frame church was built by M. F. Finkbeincr who had previously organized a 
class known as Starkman Class. A revival of three weeks resulted in 10 con- 
versions. A brother, H. G., who had resisted the prayers of pious parents for 
40 years, was deeply convicted of sin one evening, and began seeking the Lord. 
After struggling until 2 a. m. he was saved. Another man under deep convic- 
tion went out to his wagon to escape, but there got into such trouble that he be- 
gan to pray audibly. On reaching home he was so sinsick that he became help- 
less and had to be carried into the house. The friend not understanding the 
case, rubbed him vainly with camphor. But God only could help him by par- 
doning his sins, and giving him peace. In 1904 the class was abandoned, the 
Conference ordering the church to be sold which was done in 1905. The pro- 
ceeds were given to Lancaster Society, and also its few remaining members 
were added to the society in Lancaster. 

LANCASTER, LITTLE WABASH CLASS 
About 1851 Nicholas Earnhardt's and Guyot's, members of the Evangelical 
Association in Wabash Co., Illinois, moved into Shelby Precinct, Edwards Co., 
about seven miles west of West Salem, Illinois. Soon thereafter P. Burgener of 
Olney visited them, and took up this place as a regular appointment, and a so- 
ciety was organized of the aforementioned families. N. Earnhardt was elected 
class-leader. For some years services were held in his house. Services were 
exclusively in the German language. This was the beginning of the religious 
work of our denomination in Edwards Co. It belonged to Mt. Carmel charge 
up to 18SS when it became a part of Olney Mission, but in 1857 it was again with 
Mt. Carmcl. In 1868 it became a part of West Salem Circuit, and was served 
by its pastors until 1915, when it became a part of Lancaster, and Enterprise, 
from wdiich it was again separated in 1916. For pastors see under these above 
named fields. 

In the spring of 1879 C. Wessling was pastor. At a specially called meeting 
it was decided to erect a church on F. Gaedecke's farm. Immediately subscrip- 

146 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

tions were secured. The building contract was let to Henry Buscfink of West 
Salem; for a frame church 26 x 40 feet. The consideration was $700.00. The 
church was dedicated as Zion Church by H. L. Fisher, P. E., November 23. 
1879. The winter previous meetings were held in an inadequate and extremely 
cold house. After the dedication of the church, a revival was held resulting in 
30 conversions and 26 accessions. The contributors to the building of this 
church now said, "We have been richly rewarded for our sacrifices in the build- 
ing of this church." A new building is now (1923) under contemplation. Pledges 
for this purpose have been secured. H. Hasewinkel is the pastor here now. 

LANCASTER, ZION, WABASH CO., ILLINOIS 

Rev. C. Augenstein of Mt. Carmel Circuit began preaching here in 1842, in 
a place called "Timber Settlement", two miles north of Allendale, Illinois, and 
also organized a class. The place was abandoned and preaching began in and 
.ibout Lancaster. Many Pennsylvanians moved here. The first members were: 
M. Barnhart, J. Fornhoff, M. Marx, G. S. Schaum, and others. Services were 
held in private homes. For a long time Lancaster had a LInion Church in which 
all the denominations represented could worship. The exact time when our 
preachers began to preach in Lancaster is not known, but in 1860 J. Hoffman 
from Mt. Carmel held a revival here, resulting in 11 conversions, and great 
quickening of the spiritual life of the believers. This indicates that a class was 
already in existence. HoiTman served two years. In 1865 a frame church with 
a low tow er was built, costing $2,000.00, of which $600.00 was needed on the day 
of dedication, which took place October 28, by either C. Glaus, or M. Hoehn. 
P E. One singular thing about the building of this church was the fact that 
men who were not members of the society initiated the building of it. The mem- 
bers then gave assistance. Dedication ot the church was a glorious occasion, 
for the people also dedicated their lives to God, and a number of souls were con- 
certed. In a meeting on Monday the people made up a purse for their new 
pastor to buy a horse. In 1868 Lancaster was detached from Mt. Carmel and 
attached to West Salem. On Mar. 3, '69, Hoffman reported a glorious revival 
with 16 conversions. In 1880 this place, with Starkman and Dutch Flat Classes, 
became Lancaster Circuit, F. Finkbeiner, pastor; 1881-82, W. L. Luehring; '83, 
C. Wessling; '84-85, M. F. Finkbeiner again; '86-87, N. J. Platz; '88, W. L. 
Luehring again; '89-90, J. H. Schnitz; '92-93, J. Mundorf; '94-95, P. L. Browns; 
'96, served jointly with West Salem by H. Gocker and B. E. Koenig; '97-98, 
\ H. Rilling; '99-00, J. H. Schnitz; '01-03, Chas. McConnehey; '04, C. P. Mass; 
'05, F. Hartman. In 1906 this mission was discontinued and added to West 
Salem, and served by H. Gocker. In 1907-10, it was again a mission and served 
bv Fr. Reutepoehler; '11, R. Wise; '12-13, G. F. Winter; '14-16, now called Lan- 
caster and Enterprise charge, served by F. W. Launer; '16-17, C. Harms; '18-19, 
J E. McCoy; '20-23, H. E. Hasewinkel. 

147 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

In 1882 W. L. Luehring succeeded in buying a parsonage. Fr. Reutenpoch- 
ler had a kitchen built to it, and C. Harms rel)uilt the barn. Hasewinkel added 
two porches, and repainted it. Worship in the German language was discor.- 
tinued under P. E. Browns' pastorate. The society is making slow progress. 

LANDES APPOINTMENT 

This appointment was between Mississinnawa and Greenville, Ohio. It 
dates from the year 1856. The members here were: Jacob Landes and family, 
T. Young's, Sam. Riegel's, and W. I\Iiller's. 

LAPORTE, INDIANA 

In September, 1876, Laporte Mission was established. J. M. Gomer was the 
first missionary. An effort had been made 25 years previous by Jos. Fisher who 
preached here once. But from lack of funds and adverse conditions, the effort 
ceased. In 1872 a converted family here urged J. Bergcr of South Bend to 
come and preach. He did so occasionally on a week-day evening. Also M. 
Krueger, P. E., and others in going through here stopped to preach. There 
were some conversions. In September, 1876, a good brick church and lot were 
offered to our people by General J. Orr for about half price. It stood on the 
corner of Indiana Ave. and Harrison St. This seemed providential. The Con- 
ference bought the property for .$4,000.00 and made repairs costing $34.18. 
$1,027.50 was secured in pledges previous to Conference session. Gomer was 
authorized to collect funds for it in the Conference bounds. The society had 
now 10 members. The church was dedicated October 8, '76. by Bishop J. J. 
Esher, as the Centennial Church of the Ev. Association. M. W. Steffey, P. E., 
w.'is present. On October 15, '76, a Sunday School was organized with 14 chil- 
dren and adults, and soon grew to 50. Not much collecting of money was done 
this year due to hard times. But in the spring and summer of 1877, up to 
September, he had collected $3,000.00 in cash and pledges. Eight promising 
adults joined church as a result of a revival held in the spring. Membership 
now W"as 20. 

In September 1877 Gomer was returned and finished collecting, bringing 
the total up to $3,807.24. The work progressed. There were this year nine con- 
versions and accessions. Net gain, seven. Attendance at Sunday School, 60-90. 
The work among the Germans was difficult. There was paid on debt $3,168.30, 
leaving a balance of $1,173.50. In 1878-80 J. Hoffman was the missionary. He 
had some conversions and accessions. In 1880 five persons were converted in 
prayer-meetings. Anyone desiring salvation was brought to such meetings, 
wliich then would be held almost every night until such was saved. In 1881-83 
Geo. Schmoll served this place; '84, Aug. Iwan; '85, left to be supplied; '86, 
served with Wanatah Circuit. The services were too exclusively German for 
growth and prosperity. The church was sold and the proceeds flowed into the 
Conference treasury. 

148 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

LARWILL, INDIANA 

This place was taken up in 1879. There were eight to ten members here. 
J. Bruckert served three years. At first opposition was great, and conditions 
disheartening, but they were gradually overcome. Some months previous to 
Oct., 1882, the class bought an old two-story schoolhouse, 28 x 40 feet, for $5.S0.00, 
and spent $400.00 for improvement. It was the most desiraljle location in town. 
It was seated with chairs and was dedicated October 1, '82, by D. S. Oakes, P. E. 
.August Geist was now pastor. The membership was 21. In 1883 W. H. Bright- 
mire was pastor. He reported 14 saved and 18 accessions. In 1884 J. Wales; 
1885, W. H. Brightmire again; '86-87, G. B. Holdman; '88, J. F. Bockman; '89-90. 
F. E. Zechiel; '91-92, S. H. Pontius; '93, S. Beverly. About 1894 the property 
was sold. 

LAUDEMAN CLASS 

This class was about three miles S. W. of Bremen. The class was taken up 
about 1852 when Jos. Fisher preached here. Its name was Emmanuel. For 
more history see Bremen. 

LAWRENCEVILLE, ILLINOIS 

This appointment was near Lawrenceville, Illinois. C. Augenstein preached 
here in 1842. Concerning it he reported, September 5, "The people in Lawrence 
Co., Illinois, are earnestly working out their salvation". On August 29th he be- 
gan a camp-meeting on Ph. Dundore's farm. Thirteen tents were put up. A. 
was assisted by brother Schreffler, a local preacher. The meeting resulted in 
conversions and 12 accessions. The meeting was closed with the Lord's Supper, 
when the people were overcome with great emotion. It was reported "The 
conduct of sinners was better than that of false preachers". Bishop J. Seybert 
also visited this place in September, '42. On August 30, 1848, another camp- 
meeting was held here by A. B. Schafer, P. E., A. Nicolai, and G. G. Platz, re- 
sulting in six conversions and some accessions. March 8-9, '49, a successful 
meeting was held in Felix Wampler's home. On October 20-21, '49, A. Nicolai 
and S. Dickover of Mt. Carmel, Illinois, held a meeting at Dundore's and one in 
Crawford Co., at the home of J. Tohill, both with success. In 1850 this section 
of Illinois was added to Marshall Circuit with J. Ragatz, pastor, and Geo. Blank, 
P. E. Up to 1844 it belonged to the Ohio Conference, but now to the Illinois 
Conference, until 1852 when it became a part of the Indiana Conference. Time 
of its abandonment is not found. 

LEININGER, HUNTINGTON CO., INDIANA 

This society was founded in the fifties and continued to about 1895. The 
location is about five to six miles north of Huntington, Indiana. It was for a 
long time headquarters of Huntington Mission. Here was the parsonage, which 

149 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

was, by order of Conference in 1884, wrecked and moved to Huntington. Many 
SDlendid meetings were held in the Leininger Church in pioneer days. But 
finally the place had to be abandoned from lack of unanimity among the mem- 
bers. A turkey straying from its owner's premises unto a neighbor's farm was 
the initial occasion of trouble which led to the disintegration of the society. 

LETTER'S FORD, INDIANA 

The members of this society lived on both sides of the Tippecanoe River 
near and around the town of Leiter's Ford. In the winter of 1852-53, J. Keiper 
and H. Strickler, pastors, of Miami Circuit, held a "Big Meeting" in C. Schoch's 
home, west of this town. A great awakening resulted among the representative 
families, and 15 joined the Ev. Association. A society was organized consisting 
of: Henry Guinther and wife; Samuel, Jacob and Michael Schadel and their 
wives; C. Schoch and wife; and Peter Ettinger, whose home was dedicated Jan- 
uary 1, 1853, for religious services. He lived on the north side of the river. The 
Methodist Church people and our members here then built a Union Church in 
I.citer's Ford. But the M. E. services, being English, soon absorbed the few 
Cermans in this community and we had to abandon the field. In August, 1855, 
a splendid camp-meeting was held here in charge of S. Dickover, P. E. Other 
ministers present were: L. Scheucrnian, A. Nicolai, M. W. Steffey, J. Keiper, 
J. Ruckstuhl, J. Fuchs, J. M. Kronmiller, P. C, and P. Goetz. 

LIBERTY, OHIO 

This was a part of the Miami Circuit in Ohio in 1856. J. Keiper was pastor. 
He preached in a United Brethren Church. Bro. Peter Walmbold lived here. 

LIBERTY MILLS, INDIANA 

There was a class near here, but the exact location is not known. D. J. Pon- 
tius reported that there was a church here in 1889, probably of another denomina- 
tion. 

LIGHTSVILLE, DARKE CO., OHIO 

In 1851 J. Keiper started to preach here when on East Germantown Circuit. 
The society was located in Allen Twp., Darke Co., Ohio, ly^ miles west of 
P.ossville, about midway between Ft. Recovery and Greenville. It first be- 
longed to Miami Circuit in Ohio, then to Greenville Circuit, and later to Missis- 
sinnawa Charge. It was also called Jefferson Class. Early in 1852 a class was 
organized here, just prior to the organization of the Indiana Conference. This 
class remained a part of the Ohio Conference and was served in 1853 by J. G. 
Wolpert, and Ph. Schwartz. They held a successful meeting here, after which 
steps were taken to build a church on Dan. Riegel's farm, which was dedicated 
October, 1854, by A. B. Schafer, P. E. In 1854 Ph. Porr was pastor and report- 
ed these members to Conference: David and Mary Juddy; Jacob and Lucy Ben- 

150 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

der; John and Rebecca Young; Wm. and Elizabeth Miller; Caroline Hittle; Mrs. 
Sarah, Samuel and Sarah, Jr., Riegel; Jacob Landcs; Kath., Walter, and Rebecca 
Hollinger; Chr. Dientz. 

When H. H. Reinoehl was pastor in 1897, while he was holding a revival 
here, a set of lawless young men attended who delighted in disturbing religious 
meetings. They had been threatened repeatedly in previous meetings that the 
law would be called into service. The nonfulfillment of this threat only made 
them bolder. One night in R's revival, their conduct was extremely rude. R. re- 
buked them mildly. The next night five or six returned, and on entering, while 
R. was preaching, they boisterously threw themselves into benches and began 
spitting tobacco juice into the aisle. R. then weighed 180 lbs. He stopped 
preaching, rolled up his sleeves, walked back to them, and said, "I xinderstand 
you have often been threatened with prosecution, I will not do this, I have 
enough law in my muscles to thrash you from first to last if you do not be- 
have." They were much dismayed by this move. The next day this set met 
one of R.'s members and asked him if he thought this preacher would fight. Ho 
replied, "If you know what is good for you, you will let him alone, for he is an 
old soldier that has smelled powder." R. had no further trouble with them. But 
the work of the Lord did not prosper and soon thereafter the organization ceas- 
ed. 

LINN GROVE, VERA CRUZ AND SALEM 

B. Uphaus was the pioneer minister who began preaching in this locality 
in 1858. Chr. Glaus organized a class here in 18S9. Preaching was in German 
and mostly in the Baptist Church, one-half mile N. W. of Linn Grove, Indiana. 
Progress was slow at first. Only a few members lived here, namely Emmanuel 
Niederhauser and wife, Chr. Lehman and wife, John Schaup and wife, John 
Nusbaum and wife, and Mr. Ensley and wife. In the winter of about 1868, 
John Fuchs, pastor, held a revival in the Baptist Church which resulted in con- 
versions and accessions, among whom was Dr. C. C. Baumgartner and his wife, 
who now joined the Ev. Association. They were previously Mennonites. He 
later became a prominent minister in the Indiana Conference and contributor 
to the church papers. 

First Church 

In 1870 Geo. A. Hertel, pastor, the first church, 36x50 feet, was built in 
town with a front tower and bell. It was dedicated September 10, 1870, by 
Bishop J. J. Esher. $700.00 was raised to cover the indebtedness. This year 
there were 29 conversions and 22 accessions. (Permit the historian this remark: 
This church is precious to his memory for in it, after eight nights of seeking at 
its sacred altar, he found peace to his soul, January 30, 1881.) Many souls were 
born into the kingdom of God in this church, and great were the victories 
achieved. One Conference session, 1877, was held in this church. 

151 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Second Church 

The present church was built in 1911, D. R. Heil, pastor, He did much hard 
work in its construction. Some initiatory steps towards its erection had, how- 
ever, been taken the previous year by T. Rees, who had secured many major 
pledges. This is a brick structure with a corner tower for main entrance to 
auditorium and a side entrance to S. S. auditorium and class-rooms. It has a 
basement under the whole church for furnace and social rooms. The main 
auditorium is seated with circular pews, and has beautiful stained glass windows, 
and electric lights. To the rear of the pulpit is the choir loft. It was dedicated 
May 5, 1912, by Editor G. Heinmiller. In February, 1914, Heil had a glorious 
revival closing with 30 conversions and 25 accessions. In April, 1914, the annual 
Conference session was held in this church. Bishop S. P. Spreng, chairman. 
Noon and evening meals were served in the basement of the church. This was 
A very spiritual conference. 

The first parsonage was located in Vera Cruz, Indiana, about 1857. It un- 
derwent several remodellings. In about 1899 it was sold and another one was 
bought in Linn Grove. Prior to the first parsonage, the ministers lived in the 
country about one mile west of Vera Cruz. y\n avowed reason for this was 
that the minister's family should set a good exainple to the laity in going to 
church under ■\-aried weather conditions. But better judgment prevailed and the 
parsonage was established in town. 

This field originally belonged to St. Mary's Circuit, but in 1854, the appoint- 
ments in Newville, or Vera Cruz, Salem or Gottschalk, were detached from this 
circuit, and with Zion, or Haley's appointments in Jay Co., constituted a new 
field called Newville Circuit. In 1891 this field was renamed Vera Cruz after 
the name of the Post Office, and when the parsonage was changed to Linn 
Grove, it was named after the post-office here in the town of Beuna Vista, viz, 
Linn Grove Circuit. For the years 1850-51, Newville and Salem belonged to 
the Illinois Conference. In June, 1852, it became a part of the Indiana Confer- 
ence just organized. A. Nicolai and Fr. Scheuerman were the pastors. In Oc- 
tober J. Fuchs of Salem Class was added. In 1853 A. Nicolai and J. Fuchs had 
charge. In 1854 Newville Mission was formed and was served by J. Fuchs. In 
'55 the mission was made a circuit and was served bj' Fr. Wiethaup for two 
years. For the remaining pastors see Volume I. In 1916-18, B. G. Smith served; 
'19, E. H. Haley; '20, F. D. Stemen; '21-23, F. W. Launer. The field belonged to 
St. Joseph District from 1852-55; to Whitewater, '56-63; to St. Joseph, '64-68; 
to Indianapolis, '69-70; Ft. Wayne, '71-86; to Indianapolis, '87-90; to Ft. Wayne, 
'91-96; to Indianapolis, '97-98; to Ft. Wayne, '99-23. 

■Vera Cruz and Salem Jointly. 

The history of these two societies are so interwoven that they are sketched 
together. At the Illinois Conference in June, 1850, Peter Goetz and B. Uphaus 
were sent to St. Mary's Circuit, including Newville and Meyers, two miles west 

152 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

of Salem. The circuit then covered seven counties in Indiana, viz: Wells, Adams, 
Jay, Allen, DeKalb, Noble, and LaGrange; and five in Ohio, naniely; Williams, 
Defiance, Paulding, Van Wert, and Mercer. On February 27, 'SO, P. Goetz re- 
ported a quarterly meeting that was held Feb. 16-28 at the home of Mrs. Flora, 
3 widow in Wells Co.. Indiana. In 1851 B. Uphaus and P. Burgener were pas- 
tors. Sometime during the year Uphaus preached on a Sunday morning in the 
home of a Mr. Sauer who then owned the farm on which the Salem Church 
now stands. He later gave a church lot and burial-ground. When Uphaus ar- 
rived, Air. Sauer said, "I cannot allow you to preach any more in my house be- 
cause of opposition of neighbors." After preaching, U. asked, "Is there anyone 
here willing to open his home for preaching?" Father Kreps, who lived one-half 
mile N. E. from Salem Church, said, "You may preach in my house". This in- 
vitation was gladly accepted. Here then was the cradle of the work of the Ev. 
Association in this section of Wells and Adams counties. From a report of P. 
Burgener, April, 1852, he and S. Dickover and others, held a "Big Meeting" in 
the "Lindsey Schoolhouse", one-half mile south of the Salem Church, at which 
time a number of penitents knell and prayed for salvation, and found peace, and 
joined church. Among the joiners was John Fuchs, a converted inan just from 
Germany. In 1852 he obtained license to preach at a quarterly conference held 
at Fuhrman's Class, seven miles N. W. of Decatur. 

In February, 1853, A. Nicolai and L. Scheuerman, pastors of St. Mary's 
Circuit, held a protracted meeting in the Gottschalk settlement, lasting eight 
days, resulting in eight conversions and nine accessions. In 1853 Nicolai and 
Fuchs had considerable success in Salem vicinity and also in Newville where 
the meeting was held, in the home of Emmanuel Niederhauser. N.'s diary shows 
that as he read the Word of God audibly to a public assembly, Niederhauser 
declared that the French Bible did not read as Nicolai's Bible did. But by ma- 
king comparison he was surprised to find that his harmonized exactly with N.'s. 
This deeply affected him and led him to repentance and salvation. The first 
class organized in Newville was in 1853, by S. Dickover, P. E., and Nicolai. 
The members were: Emmanuel and Mary Niederhauser; Wm. and Anna Mertz; 
Ulrich and Christian Mosiman; Jacob and John Sutter; Samuel and Verena 
Baumgartner; Jacob and Elizabeth Gottschalk; Fr. Mosiman; Luisa, John and 
Magdalena Merilat; Jacob and Elizabeth Mosiman; John and Kath. Gentis; 
Chr. and Marg. Kober; Michael and Maria Miller; Anna Barbara, Sarah, and 
Elizabeth Moser. 

On June 30, 1854, S. Dickover reported that at a revival held in Nieder- 
hauser's home, "there was such a divine power present in this meeting that the 
ministers present could not remain on their feet, and the noise of the meeting 
could be heard at quite a distance. At the same time there was a dance held 
near by in the hotel. The dance suddenly 'broke up' . The participants, as in 
fright, rushed out of the dance-hall, and came to the religious meeting, to learn 

153 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

the meaning of this strange noise and shouting." This village was then des- 
perately wicked, J. Fuchs said of this meeting: "There were so many seekers 
that they could not be counted, as there was no room to keep them apart from 
the rest. Some found the pardon of their sins." In a personal letter to the 
historian in 1914, he said, "This protracted meeting in the field continued for 
si\ months, resulting in 113 conversions. Some were converted while in the 
harvest fields. Many of them were Mennonites." Bishop J. Seybert was with 
Fuchs, November Z-1 , at a quarterly meeting at Gottschalk's Class, preaching 
six times. S. Dickover was also present. He mentions the names of the fol- 
lowing converts in particular: Father Mosiman, S. Baumgartner, Peter Lehman, 
Emmanuel Niederhauser, and father Ellenberger. He said, "One evening there 
were 28 seekers, 17 found pardon, 18 united with the church, many were still 
seeking. There were 300 German families in this section of Wells and Adams 
Counties. Some were so afraid of Fuchs, that when he called at their homes, 
they would run out and leave him alone in the house, fearing that he would per- 
vert them from the faith. There arose great opposition to the spiritual work of 
the Ev. Association. Great confusion among the churches generally prevailed, 
and as C. C. Baumgartner put it, "Some were teaching this, and others that, but 
all tenaciously holding to their particular creeds, and forms of worship, more 
Ihan to vital godliness and experimental religion. There was a religious war 
raging between the various sects." Some converted sons and daughters were 
compelled to leave home for conscience's sake and others for being persecuted 
and bemeaned. 

In 1854 preaching began in the French Township Election Schoolhouse 
which then stood on the N. E. corner of Samuel Baumgartner's farm. In 1855 
this east country class had regular weekly services, alternating week-day eve- 
nings and Sunday afternoons. Sometimes preaching was held in barns to better 
accommodate the crowds. The ungodly, also, would gather at such times, pri- 
marily to disturb the meetings. There never was a church built by this class. 
It was discontinued about 1884, and was merged with the Vera Cruz Class. 
In 1872 J. K. Troyer reported 38 conversions and 25 accessions at Vera Cruz. 

' The church at Newville was built under Wiethaup's administration in 1856 
and was dedicated November 9th, by Bishop J. Seybert. About 1877 a tower 
was added with a bell, and the interior was re-arranged. Many blessed revivals 
were held in this church. Here the historian attended Sunday School and church 
services. For many years this class was the leading society on the field. But 
through death of the old members and the removal of the younger people, this 
class gradually decreased in numbers, and was discontinued in 1918, at which 
time the church was sold. 

Salem Society was organized into a separate class about 1854. In 1855 this 
society built a small frame church which was dedicated by Bishop J. Seybert in 
September, 1855. Fr. Wiethaup was the pastor. Many glorious revivals were 

154 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

hold here. The second church was built on the same site under E. R. Troyer, 
and was dedicated September, 1877, by Bishop J. J. Esher. This church was 
completely remodeled under J. H. Rilling's labors, and rededicated February 16, 
1902, by Bishop T. Bowman. In 1913 the church was raised several feet, and a 
furnace installed. D. R. Heil was pastor. In the second church Geo. Roederer 
closed on January 2, '80, a six-week's revival with 44 conversions. He had no 
seekers until the 5th Sunday night. This meeting was followed by one at Linn 
Grove, where many were saved, among them the historian. The third meeting 
was held in Vera Cruz where also some were saved. In all about 100 .were 
converted and about 80 joined with the church this year. Many blessed expe- 
riences linger in the memory of S. H. B. that occurred on this field. This is 
still one of the best country charges in the Conference. 

LOGANSPORT, INDIANA 

This city w-as occasionally visited b^' J. Keiper in 1853. He found lodging 
with David Klapp. He preached here on September 25, 'S3, to a small German 
audience, but no definite steps were taken to preach regularly in this city until 
1873, when Wm. Koenig of Bunker Hill Circuit started to hold services in the 
Eighth Street Schoolhouse for German families who already had in part es- 
poused the faith and practice of the Evangelical Association. In 1874 an or- 
ganization was effected, composed of Gottlieb Schafer and wife, John Kies and 
wife, Fred Market, Dan. Rumbold, Chas. Felker, Wm. Kies, J. Jacobus and 
Herman Bettischer and his wife. There was a Sunday School here before a 
church was organized. In 1875 Logansport, Ford's Crossing, Common Centre, 
and White County Ridge Class constituted Logansport Mission with Wm. 
Koenig as pastor. In 1876 the mission was merged with Fulton Circuit, and was 
served by Wm. Wildermuth and a supply. 1877-78, August Iwan had charge. 
He undertook a public discussion with a Lutheran minister on church doctrines, 
etc., hoping to defeat him, and gain favor with his flock and the Ev. Association. 
But this did more harm than good. Services here were held in a schoolhouse 
and in the court-house.. On January 1, 1878, a church-lot was bought on corner 
Brown and Wheatland Streets. A small frame church was built, and was dedi- 
cated December IS, '78, by Bishop R. Yeakel. The cost of church and lot was 
$1,625.00. 

In 1879 M. Hoehn was pastor. He says in his autobiography, that his in- 
come here was very meager, and that their table expenses for seven members 
Vi'as 8c a day, or $30 a year. They were not in debt one cent at any time during 
the year. In '80, C. Tramer was preacher; '81-82, J. C. Schuh. In his second 
year Logansport Mission was re-established. The German services gave way 
to English. In 1883 H. Arlen served; '84, J. H. Schnitz. He soon resigned and 
D. J. Pontius filled the year; 1885-86, H. E. Overmeyer; '87, D. D. Speicher. 
He had a gracious awakening, resulting in 20 conversions and 27 accessions. 

155 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

In 1888-89, G. B. Holdeman was pastor. He died just after Conference '89, be- 
fore he could return. This was a hard stroke for the society. The charge was 

supphed by . In 1890-93, Jos. Fisher served the charge. He 

added a corner tower with a bell and a class-room to the south, placed new win- 
dows and repainted the church at a cost of $800.00. D. S. Oakes rededicated the 
church. The Conference, on request, granted the society the right to sell the 
rear end of the lot, and to apply the proceeds on the church debt. In '96 when 
W, E. Snyder was pastor, the church again underwent remodelling at a cost of 
$1,039.00, and was reopened by Bishop S. C. Breyfogel. Business men contribu- 
ted freely. The membership then was 60. For pastors from '94 to 1915, see 
A'olume I. In '15-16, J. W. Carter served the charge; '18-23, F. C. Wacknitz. 

The flood of March, 1913, did great damage, entailing great loss to the 
struggling society. New pews, pulpit and organ had to be replaced, causing an 
expense of $400.00, which friends of the Conference donated. On March 8, 1916, 
tins society unanimously decided to relocate their church. The Conference in 
1917 granted the society this right. On March 13 the Conference Committee on 
Location and Erection of Mission Churches met here and decided to relocate on 
the corner of Third and Columbia Streets. The local trustees took an option 
on said property for $2,300.00. On April 16th the sale was consummated. A 
Sunday School auditorium, with 14 class-rooms, and basement was built and 
dedicated as the First Evangelical Church of Logansport, Indiana, May 20, 1917, 
by Editor Chr. Staebler. The moving of the old church to this site was at- 
tempted, but the building collapsed enroute, and had to be torn down. The lum- 
ber in it was utilized in the new brick structure. The cost of the church was 
$12,000.00. including the lot and a five roomed cottage on it which serves as a 
parsonage. At the dedication a considerable sum remained uncovered by pledg- 
es. In 1918 the Conference ordered that one-half of the proceeds of the Mission 
Building Fund during the years, 1918-23, be paid on the indebtedness. Under 
the pastorate of Wachnitz this society enjoyed a steady increase in Sunday 
School attendance, and the church membership grew to 101. The Y. P. A. was 
first organized April, 1892. 

LOUISVILLE, IvY., ZION 

The history of this society began with a Sunday School organization in 
1864. At this time the Conference located a mission in Louisville, but left it 
luisupplied for one year, likely from lack of ministers. In 1865 the Conference 
sent Melchior Mayer here as first inissionary. M. Hoehn says in his autobi- 
ography, "When ministers of the Ev. Association first came to Louisville, there 
were no members of our church here. M. Mayer one day stood by the Market 
House looking towards heaven. A good German saw this, and on returning 
home, said to his wife, 'Today I saw the new Evangelical preacher by the Mar- 
ket House looking up into heaven . He has no members }'et. We must go and 

156 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

hear him and help him.' They did so, and were among the first members of the 
Ev. Association here." Many German people lived in this city. Our visiting 
preachers to this place felt impressed that God had a mission here for our 
church. At the Conference session in September, 1865, M. Mayer reported that 
a good brother Schmidt who owned a church here offered it rent-free to preach- 
ers of the Ev. Association. This liberal offer was accepted. A Sunday School 
had already been organized with 40 scholars enrolled, and the S. S. Messenger 
introduced. When Ma.ver arrived he soon gained adherents. Jos. Fisher was 
the P. E. He held his first quarterly meeting November 5, '65, and organized a 
society with 20 members, namely: Erasmus and Henrietta Gripf; Marg. Meyer; 




Zion Church, Louisville, Ky. 



John, Catherine, and Elizabeth Fisher; Jacob and Marg. Miller; Henry and 
Wilhelmina Mansz; Jacob Appel; Henry Kraemer; Henry and Magdalena 
Hartman; Caroline Meyer; Fred and Mrs. Schmidt; Mrs. Sauer; and Cath. 
Bauer. Sister Elizabeth Fisher is the only surviving charter-member now, 1923. 
The members of the quarterly conference were: H. Kraemer, H. Hartman, J. 
Fisher, J. Miller, and E. Gripf. First board of trustees were: H. Kraemer, H. 
Hartman, G. Miner, J. Fisher, H. Mansz. 

In 1866 M. K-fayer was returned, and with Jos. Fisher and J. Fuchs, con- 
stituted a committee who were empowered by Conference to borrow money to 
buy the church on Walnut Street between Campbell and Wentzel Streets. They 
were not to pay more than $6,000.00 either for the purchase price of a church or 

157 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

the building of one. A collector was appointed to obtain funds. After some 
delay an agreement was entered into for $5,500.00, including parsonage, with 
$1,500.00 cash and the balance in payments of $1,500.00, $1,000.00, $1,500.00; with 
6% interest from date of purchase on January 1, May 1, '67, and January 1, '68, re- 
spectively. After necessary improvements the total cost amounted to $6,200.00. 
J. M. Gomer was appointed by Conference, to be collector for the year with a 
salary equal to those of his standing. At the next session, September, 1868, he 
reported cash applied on debt $3,303.25; unpaid pledges, $1,935.81; unprovided, 
$514.89. A few years later the debt was fully paid. M. Klaiber reported this 
year 25 accessions. In 1872 the societj^, six years old, had 114 members. M 
Speck reported in 74, 35 conversions and 30 accessions. 

In 1891 this church was rebuilt at a cost of $4,000.00. A new front was 
added and below a Sunday School was provided. The first parsonage was in 
the basement consisting of a few rooms only. The second parsonage was built 
ill 1884 on the rear of the church lot at a cost of $1,500.00. This society was a 
mission for only six years, becoming a station in 1872. About 20 years ago this 
societi' started a new Church Building Fund. All church organizations helped 
in this project. After a number of futile efforts to relocate, the society, in 1919, 
bought a new site for an up-to-date church on the corner of Hepburn Ave. and 
Edwards Street for $5,250.00. This included the large dwelling on the lot. In 
l')22 this house was moved to the rear end of the lot, facing on Edwards Street. 
It was reconstructed for a parsonage at a cost of $3,500.00. Also this year the 
foundation of the church was laid. E. W. Praetorius laid the cornerstone and 
new pledges were taken for the new building. On October 21, 1923, the new 
church was dedicated by Bishop L. H. Seager as Zion Church, Geo. S. Lozier, 
pastor, and J. O. Hosier, P. E. The total cost of church and equipments is 
$55,000.00. It is classic in design. The first floor is adequately equipped for 
modern Sunday School activities. The seating capacity of the main auditorium 
v;ith balcony is 450. The main floor is seated with pews and the balcony with 
chairs. The heating plant is the vapor system. The lighting is semi-direct. 
The windows are art-glass, the colors showing good taste in their harmony. 
A $3,500.00 pipe organ was installed also. On dedication day $13,000.00 was 
raised to cover the balance of indebtedness. The first communion service in 
this church was held October 28, 1923. 

The Sunday School was organized in 1864. The first Y. P. A. was organ- 
ized in 1891, also the W. M. S. and the Ladies' Aid Society in the same year. 
All these organizations have ever since been active. From June, 1922, to 1923, 
the society with all its departments contributed $20,000.00. 

From this society went forth the following ministers and ministers' wives: 
Fr. Maurer, 1869; Geo. Roederer, 1874; John Bruckert, 1875; Geo. F. Winter, 
licensed by Ger. M. E., but joined Zion, Louisville, 1890, from whence he went 
out; F. C. Stierle, 1892; G. A. Stierle, 1899; J. J. Maier, 1904; I. G. Roederer, 1911; 

1S8 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

Mrs. Geo. Roederer, Mrs. J. C. Young, Mrs. F. C. Sticrle, Mrs. Braeckly, Mrs. 
Lutz, Mrs. Erne, Mrs. Winter, Mrs. McConnehey, Mrs. Maicr, and Mrs. D. B. 
Koenig. 

For ministers who served here see Volume I. In '15-17, B. E. Koenig served 
here; '18-23, Geo. S. Lozier. Under L.'s pastorate the new church was huilt, 
and he serves at this writing, 1924. 

LOUISVILLE MISSION, NO. 1 

This mission was ordered in 1865 to be located in, the western part of the 
city and was to receive a pastor. But it went by default. In 1872 the location 
was taken up with Jacob Maurer, missionary. The Conference gave authority 
to build a church which was not to cost more than $4,500.00, including the lot, 
and donated $3,500.00. Zion Church and friends in the city were to make up the 
balance. J. Fuchs, C. Tramer, J. Maurer, and two laymen, E. Kripp and II. 
Scharabier were the committee to buy the lot and build the church. It was 
done. The church was dedicated December 15, '72, by Bishop R. Yeakel. In 
1873 it was reported that the church cost $4,276.65 with the accrued interest of 
$295.00. Cash and pledges secured to the amount of $2,419.50; unprovided, 
$2,152.15. In the winter of 1874 a society with 20 members was organized, and 
had a prosperous Sunday School with Kripp as Supt. In 1876 the field was 
ceded to South Indiana Conference. The mission was abandoned in 1877 and 
the membership incorporated with the Zion Church. 

LOUISVILLE, TRINITY 

In September, 1888, the S. Indiana Conference re-established the West End 
I\Iission in Louisville. H. Schleucher, P. E., and C. Stockhowe, pastor of Zion 
Church, and the lay members, Ernst Miller, Geo. Maier, and Wm. Braitling 
were appointed to locate the mission. They selected an upstairs hall on the 
S. E. corner of 19th and Duncan Streets. Here a Mission Sunday School was 
started September 18, 1888, with 30 scholars. At 3 p. m. Stockhowe preached to 
25 persons. In July, 1889, this committee bought a lot on N. W. corner of 24th 
and Cedar Streets, 65x140 feet, for $1,750.00. The pastor of Zion Church 
served this mission. At the Conference session of 1889, C. Stockhowe became 
the first missionary. A frame church, 28x48 feet was built and was dedicated 
November 24, '89, as Trinity Church by Bishop Thomas Bowman. On October 
27th, the first Sunday School and preaching service was held in it. The cost of 
the church, shed and fences was $2,392.00. A six-roomed parsonage was also 
built at a cost of $1,200.00. It was ready to move into on November 18th. The 
first prayer-meeting was held in the class-room, December 4th. The attendance 
at Sunday School and church services now increased 25 per cent. S. served two 
years. In 1891 J. C. Young was the missionary. Stockhowe left the Ev. Asso- 
ciation and joined the United Evangelical Church. His effort to persuade the 

159 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

mission to join the United Evangelical Church failed. J. C. Young reported a 
Watch Night service, December 31, '91, when some souls were converted and 
then continued an evangelistic campaign for 11 weeks, resulting in 46 accessions. 
The Sunday School now numbered 100. $300.00 was paid into the Sunday School 
and church treasury this year. 

In 1892-93, B. Schuermeier was pastor. In 1893, the society became a part 
of the Indiana Conference. In 1894-95, I. H. Griesemer served as pastor. He 
had a great loss in '95 by removals of many of the main members. He had 
seven accessions, and took up a new appomtment Mar. 4th in the southern part 
of the city. Here he had four conversions. In 1896-97, D. B. Kocnig was the 




Trinity Church, LouisviUe, Ky. 



missionary. After a revival in November, '96, he reported 3S conversions and 
many accessions. Many of these were English. K. called a society meeting in 
December, '96, when the society decided that from henceforth all public services 
should be held in English except the first Sunday afternoon of each month when 
a German service should be held. In 1898 S. I. Zechiel was pastor; '99-02, R. F. 
Jameson; '03-06, F. S. Erne; '07-11, E. W. Praetorius. The first years of the 
latter's labor here he created a desire for a modern church. There was no 
money at hand. All the members were day laborers. Faith and prayer brought 
pledges. The old building was turned to face south for a Sunday School audi- 
tornim, and a new auditorium, class-room, study and corner tower was built 
facing the east. The church was seated with circular pews, and organ and choir 

160 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

loft was provided, furnace and electric lights installed. The windows are ot 
srt-fflass. The new church was dedicated December 8, 1908, by J. H. Lamb of 
Cleveland, Ohio. The cost of the church was $11,000.00. Things now began to 
move forward. A special men's Sunday School class was organized the last 
year. 

In 1912-14, D. O. Wise was pastor. The church and parsonage were re- 
painted and refrescoed, and a piano for the Sunday School was purchased. A 
Ras furnace was set up at a cost of $600.00, and $1,000.00 was paid on the church 
debt, leaving only $1,800.00. In 1915-18, L. E. Smith was pastor. He bunt a 
new Sunday School auditorium in 1916 at a cost of $8,500.00. The Sunday 
School equipment is modern. The basement is well adapted for social gather- 
ings. The S. S. auditorium has a balcony on three sides, divided above and 
below into 23 class-rooms, separated bj' sliding doors, with a maximum seating 
capacity of 500. It has separate departments for beginners and cradle roll 
work. This addition was dedicated November 5, 1916, by Bishop L. H. Seager. 
$2,600.00 was pledged on dedication day. Pledges arc taken yearly on the anni- 
■I'ersary Sunday until the whole debt is paid. '19-22, Geo. C. Pullman was pas- 
tor. He introduced a new financial system. The intellectual and spiritual life 
continued to develoD. Success marked his adiministration. 1923, A. B. Haist. 

LUCERNE, CASS CO., INDIANA 

Lucerne is about seven miles north of Logansport. A Sunday School was 
organized in 1890 and held in Williams Hall. The societj- was organized by S. S. 
Albert in 1890. J. Wales built the cluirch which was dedicated Nov. 1, 1891, by 
Editor S. P. Sprcng as Neljo Church. The cost of the church wa?. $1,550.00. The 
i.-harter-members were: Adam LTnbehauen, wife, two sons and daughter; J. Baker 
and wife; S. Sweigart; J. Crites and wife; L. Newman (class-leader) and wife. 
Here L. Newman Avas recommended for the ministry. This appointment was 
discontinued in 1910 due to removals. The church was sold in 1911 for $1,000.00 
and the proceeds flowed into the Conference treasury. This class belonged al- 
ternately to Logansport and Bruce Lake. 

LYDICK, ST. JOSEPH CO., INDIANA 

This society is seven miles west of South Bend. On October 18, 1908, F. F. 
McClure of Beulah Chapel, South Bend, jjegan preaching here. Services were 
held in the W. O. W. Hall. In 1909 L. Newman took up the place regular!}' 
every two weeks on Sunday night. He built a small cement block church in 
1909. In March a revival was held. N. F. Platz assisted, and at the close of this 
meeting he organized a class with seven memljcrs. Soon seven more joined the 
class. In 1910 this class was allied with Beulah Chapel, and Platz served it two 
years. On April 28, 1910, a board of trustees, a class-leader and a steward were 
elected. In 1912 Lydick was added to Lakeville Mission. In 1913, with So. 

161 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Bend Grace, service was supplied. In 1914, with Coal Bush and Auten, it be- 
came So. Bend Circuit, H. H. Reinoehl, pastor; 1915, F. Rausch; 1916, C. L. 
Haney; 1917, W. H, Mygrant; 1918-19, L. S. Fisher; '20, W. H. Flnrkey; '21, 
E. Zoller; '22-23, E. F. Snyder. In 1922 a parsonage was built here by the 
Coal-Bush and Lydick people. 

MADISON, ST. JOSEPH CO., INDIANA 

This society is located in Madison Twp., St. Joseph Co., Indiana, four miles 
north of Bremen. G. G. Platz, of our Church, began preaching here in 1845. 
Originally this class was known as "Zimmer's" Class of Elkhart Circuit. It was 
later organized in 1846. The membership in 1853, as given by Jos. Fisher, was: 
Michael Zimmer (leader) and Elizabeth Zimmer; Michael Smith (exhorter) and 
Marg. Smith; Jacob and Magdalena Zimmer; Geo. and Mary Frei; Geo. and 
Sophia Wies and Geo. Wies, Sr.; Philip and Elizabeth Berger; Kath. Ziegler; 
Chr. Eslinger; Wilbert Newhart. Fisher reported this class as being very 
faithful. Preaching was in a schoolhouse. 

The first church was built by Uphaus and dedicated October 29, 1865, by 

. In 1873 this society was authorized to sell a part of 

the large church lot, and to apply the proceeds on the church debt. Again in 
1896, 20 feet more along one side was sold. In 1880, under E. R. Troyer, the 
church was enlarged. Many glorious meetings were held here. In 1902-03, the 
diagonal public road passing this church on the west was closed up, and the one 
on the cast side, runnmg north and south, was opened up. This necessitated the 
church to be swung around to face east. New pews were then also installed and 
other improvements made. Up to 1902 the same pastors served here as at Bremen 
(see Bremen, Volume I.) This year this society with Hepton and Jerusalem 
was constituted Yellow River Circuit and was served by J. W. Feller for four 
years. In the winter of 1899, W. G. Braeckly had a great revival here resulting 
in about 40 conversions and many accessions. One night the P. E. was present 
and preached. In his sermon he mentioned the fact, that in a certain place, a 
man thought his religion consisted in possessing a certificate of confirmation, 
and one day, after being in a heart-searching revival meeting, he brought out 
his religion from his musty trunk to inspect it, and to his surprise found that 
m.ice had nibbled through the folded edges. He thought seriously about this, 
inspected his own religious condition, and then concluded that his moral being 
was like his confirmation certificate, ragged and full of holes, utterly unfit to 
trust in. Then he besought the Lord for the true Christian religion, and soon 
possessed it. This statement aroused the curiosity of a young man in B.'s re- 
vi\'al meeting. He went home and inspected his confirmation certificate, and 
considered it insufficient to meet death with, and shortly afterward he was out 
at the altar seeking to become confirmed to the Word and will of God, and 
soon was gloriously saved. 

162 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

In 1903 this circuit was made a mission, and in 1905, again a circuit. In 
1Q06-07, L. J. Ehrhardt was pastor. A mission again in 1908-09, served by P. H, 
Puehler. In 1910 with Tabor it constituted Lakeville Mission and was served 
by H. H. Reinoehl. The class lost greatly for several years through deaths 
and removals. In 1912-16, N. F. Platz was pastor. The second year this society 
had a gracious spiritual uplift and a good ingathering of young folk. Also in 
1916 he closed a three-week's revival with 22 saved and 18 accessions, gained five 
new families, organized a Y. P. A., and increased the Ev. Messenger list from 
six to 24. In 1917-20, E. Greiner was pastor. In 1921-23, F. I. Wilmert. In 
1922 a small parsonage was bought in Lakeville, Indiana. This year this field 
again became a circuit. In 1923 the parsonage was sold, and a new and larger 
one was built costing $3,500.00. 

MADISON, OHIO 

This class was 12 miles east of Greenville, Ohio, and was served with Green- 
ville Circuit by E. R. Troyer. No further history is found. 

MARKLE, INDIANA 

A few members of the church, Joseph and Julius Yoss of Linn Grove, In- 
diana, and a Mr. Mygrant from Zion, and their wives, having moved here, D 
Martz, P. E. of Huntington Charge in 1888, took up this place as an appointment 
and also served it in 1889. In 1890 a frame church was erected with a corner 
tower. It was seated with chairs. The pulpit was in the entrance end, which 
often caused the speaker great annoyance when people came in late. This church 
was dedicated b3' Editor S. P. Spreng of Cleveland, Ohio, Sept. 7, 1890. This 
was a great imdertaking for a few members. Quite a bit of opposition was felt 
from other denominations. The debt on the church became a burden. Help 
v.as needed. Conference granted their request to collect funds on Elkhart 
District to help meet the debt. 

In 1892 Markle, Mt. Zion, Leininger, and West Point (Bippus) were con- 
stituted Markle Mission. W. S. Tracey was pastor two years. 1893 West Point 
was detached, and Five Points in Allen Co. and Bethlehem in Wells Co. were 
added. 1894 J. M. Rogers was pastor. There was still a debt of $700.00. Con- 
ference ordered that each minister collect $5.00 from his field within three 
months. The Conference treasurer was made custodian of this money until 
Markle Society had gathered their part. In this manner the obligation was suc- 
cessfully met. For pastors see Volume I. In 1897 the name was again changed 
to West Point, but in 1900 the name Markle Mission was again restored. In 
'06 a parsonage was built. The wife of P. L. Browns, who was pastor here in 
'06, died here. 

In 1912 the present brick church was built. An additional lot to the north 
was bought. The main entrance is in the tower on the N. W. corner. The size 

163 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

of the church is 56 x 63 feet. The church is constructed of impervious brick, 
with Bedford stone trimmings. It is now equipped with electric hghts, has art- 
E;lass windows, a slate roof, arched ceiling, frescoed walls, bowled floor, a gal- 
Icr}' on two sides of the auditorium, with class-rooms below, a mother's room, 
a choir loft, library room, and a well equipped basement for social gatherings. 
The seating capacity is 650. The cost of the church was $16,000.00. It was 
dedicated April 21, 1913, as Salem Church by Bishop Wm. Horn, assisted by 
S. H. Baumgartner, P. E. A large sum was raised on this day. The last debt 
on the church was paid in 1922 with a jubilee service to celebrate the occasion. 
Markle was made a station in 1914, and entertained the Annual Conference in 
X'^VJ , with Bishop S. P. Spreng, chairman. In 1915-17, C. W. Schlemmer was 
pastor. He installed the electric lights. He had 26 conversions and 20 acces- 
sioris, mostly young inen and boys. In 1918-19, C. H. Burgener; 1920-22, A. J. 
Stcmen; 1923, F. F. McClure. 

MARSHALL CO., INDIANA 

This class was about eight miles S. W. of Hepton, known as "Dutch Set- 
tlement", or ^larshall Class. Tos. Fisher's revised membership book in 1853 
gave as members: Henry Haus and wife, and children, Anthony, ilary, Simon, 
Christian and Aaron. Prospects did not warrant continuance. 

MARSHALL, AUBURN, ILLINOIS 

This class was often called the "Freudenberger's" Class, about five miles 
west of Marshall, Illinois, on the National Road near Auburn, Illinois. Mem- 
liers here were: Christopher and Mary Bierbaum; Adam, Lizzie, Peter and 
Kath. Freudenberger, and Wilhelmina Fahlbush. This class existed as early as 
1843, but later was merged with Marshall Society. 

MARSHALL, GRAND TURN 

In 1840-42, when Illinois was yet considered a far western state, people 
from Ohio located here, five to seven miles south of Marshall. Among theni 
were some members of the Ev. Association wdioni God blessed and prospered. 
They brought their religion along. In 1842 Chr. Augenstein was sent to Mt. 
Carmel Circuit and began operations in this county. In 1843 C. Lintner and A. 
Nicolai were sent to Mt. Carmel Circuit. There were then three appointments 
in Clarke Co., namely, "Mill Creek" now Grand Turn, or Emmanuel, "Big 
Creek", or Zion, and Freudenberger, or Auburn Class. When the Illinois Con- 
ference was organized in 1844 it embraced Clarke Co., Illinois, and remained a 
part of Mt. Carmel Circuit. A. Nicolai and G. G. Platz were pastors, and A. B. 
Schafer was P. E. In March 15-16, 1846, a "Big Meeting" was held at the home 
o! C. Seenian, five miles south of Marshall, resulting in some conversions and 
accessions to the church. Between services the preachers made house to house 

164 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

visits, pleading with tine people in the interest of theii' salvation. In Jnnc 1845 
Simon Tobias and Ph. Bretsch were pastors. On Angust 3()th A. B. Schafer 
began a meeting here, resulting in glorious conversions and many accessions. 
In 1846 G. Miller and J. Tromcter were pastors. This year the first tent meeting 
was held on Henry Tobias' farm, near Grand Turn, and another was held here 
in 1847. Wm. Fichte as pastor served only a short time when he resigned, 
and C. Glaus filled the vacancy. Bishop Jos. Long attended this camp-meeting 
where he met manj' people he formerly knew in Pennsylvania. This occasion 
gave him great joy. On August 10, 1848, another camp-meeting began here, 
Geo. A. Blank was P. E. and C. Glaus was pastor. Already the second day 
there were penitents, new ones came to the altar at each invitation, and many 
were saved. Few such meetings had been witnessed before 1)y the P. K. In 
1849 Fr. Wiethaup was pastor. On Sunday, Deceml)cr 23, Nicolai came to hold 
a revival at J. Haller's, seven miles S. E. of Marshall. David Tobias and J. 
Beier were now resident local preachers here. N. reported, "At first everything 
seemed to be hard as flint, but later, things mellowed and two were saved." In 
18.50 J. Ragatz, pastor, and in 1851, Geo. ilcssncr, and J. Wolf. 

In 1862 Melchior Mayer, P. C, built and dedicated a log church here. 
Many were "born again" in it. In 1887 C. F. Matthias, pastor, 1)uilt a frame 
church which was dedicated by John Kaufman, P. E. The trustees were: Fr. 
Holtzwarth, Geo. Weitzel and John Carrer. A Sunday- School has been main- 
tained here many years. In 1915 a Y. P. A. was organized by L. J. Ehrhardt, 
pastor. For ministers who served here to date, see Marshall City. 

MARSHALL CITY, ILLINOIS 

This place was taken up in 1845 by S. Tobias and Ph. Bretsch. Services 
were held in the homes of Bro. Riehm and Bro. Merkel, and in a schoolhouse. 
Some of the first members, before 1850, were: Rebecca Romer: Peter and Ma- 
hala Dietrich; Edward, Katherine, and John Schneider; Dora Merkel; Emelia 
Glattfelter; Benjamin, Rosina, and Elizalieth Dawson; Aug. Price; Geo. and 
Elizabeth Freudenberger; \Ym. Yoight; John and Fredericka Schneider; Wm. 
and Judith Schneider, and the Riehm family. 

In 1849 a church was built by Fr. Wiethaup, block 15, lots 5 and 6, which 
were donated by W. B. Archer for a "meeting house" as shown on his own 
individual plat. There never was a deed given to the society. The lots arc 
66 X 132 feet. Twenty years' possession .gives the church a legal right to the 
property. In 1850 the appointments in Clarke and Fayette Counties, Illinois, 
and Terre Haute and of Clay Co., Indiana, were detached from Mt. Carniel 
Circuit, and became Marshall Mission. In June, 1852, when the Indiana Con- 
ference was organized, Marshall Mission remained with the newly formed Con- 
ference. B. Uphaus, pastor, C. Glaus, P. E. On December 31, '52, a "Watch 
Night" service was held. A parsonage was built in 1856, which is still in use, 

165 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

tliough it has undergone several improvements. In 1857 Bishop J. Seybert 
greatly praised the arrangement he found at the camp-meeting here in Marshall 
Co., Illinois. He said, "The encampment was enclosed, and the 24 tents were 
of hmiber with doors that could be locked. It was so arranged that after serv- 
ice at night, everything could be locked out that was objectionable." The 
Bishop saw the feasibleness of the plan, and recommended it to others. In 
1858 the western part of Marshall Circuit became Yandalia Circuit. 

For ministers who served Marshall Circuit since 1852 see Volume I. In 
'63 the Annual Conference was held here. In '66 Marshall became a circuit 
with Phil. Miller, pastor. In the summer of 1872 a camp-meeting was held on 
F. Berner's farm, five miles S. E. of Marshall, and continued to be held here 
annually for a number of 3'ears. At the organization of the South Indiana Con- 
■ ference in 1876, said Conference emliodied Marshall Circuit. In 1883, under 
E. R. Troyer, the parsonage was improved, liarn, cistern and fence built at a 
cost of $265.00. The next year the church Avas repaired at a cost of $325.00. 
In '92 W. H. Weishaar, who was pastor, served only seven months when the 
South Indiana Conference was re-incorporated with the Indiana Conference. 
In April, 1893, J. A. Tiedt, pastor, over one hundred members, minority sym- 
pathizers, left the church. C. Harms was the first preacher who regularly 
preached English here. He had quite an increase of memljers. In '04-05, J. 
Mundorf had a new foundation put under the parsonage, raising it two feet. 
A front and back porch with summer kitchen were also added, concrete walks 
built, and electric lights installed. M. F. Finkbeiner gave $100.00 for these im- 
provements. A Ladies' Aid Society was organized and the church improved 
under E. J. Nitsche, '06-10. In '16-17, J. L. Buyer was pastor. He died Octo- 
ber, 1917, and J. Mundorf finished the year, with Stewardson Charge. In 1917- 
19, J. W. Feller, pastor. A cement walk was built on the west side of the par- 
sonage. In 1919 the Conference ordered the sale of the church property and 
the proceeds to be used for another property, but it is not yet sold. In 1920 it 
was served with Stewardson by Mundorf. In 1921-22, it was served alone by 
J. Mundorf for whatever remuneration he could get. In 1921-23, J. E. McCoy 
served Grand Turn and Zion. 

MARSHALL ZION, OR BIG CREEK 

The early history here is the same as that of Grand Turn and Marshall. 
Some members in 1852 were: Manherz's, Schafer's, Haller's, Hcmmerly's, Gei- 
crt's and C. Finkbeiner's. C. Augenstein organized this class in 1842. A number 
of camp-meetings were held in this community, which were seasons of victory 
and refreshing from the Lord, and many were converted, especially at the one 
held in 1873 when 19 were saved, and scores were still seeking when the meeting 
closed. The one of 1874 is also noteworthy, when 12-15 were saved. The shout- 
ing and praising could be heard far from the camp-ground. There were 22 

166 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

members from Indianapolis present with pastors, Hochn and Maurer. 

At this class the people worshipped in a schoolhouse and in private homes. 
In November 9, 1855, at a quarterly meeting held by S. Dickover, six heads of 
families w^ere converted and nine joined the church. In 1859, under Jos. Paulin, 
a log church was built. Trustees were: John Beltz, Gottlieb Bamsberger, and 
F. Benner. The second church, a frame one, was erected under the labors of 

Geo. Berstecher in 1881 and- was dedicated November 6, of this year by 

. This society recommende3 to the ministry, M. F. Finkbeiner 



in 1859; John Mundorf in 1884, and Benjamin Buehler in 1899. The latter, how- 
ever, entered the ministry of another denomination. A good Sunday School has 
been in existence here for many years. 

MARSHALL, STUMP CLASS 

After a stirring awakening in the locality known as "Stump Schoolhouse" 
by C. Harmes, three miles S. E. of Marshall, a class was organized, February 
10, 1898. The charter-members were: John McDonald (class-leader); Chr 
Salter, wife and children. May, Edith, Clara, Edwin, John, and William; Amanda 
and Wm. Kibby; Wm., Lucinda, Daisy, Clara and Robert Layton; Henry and 
Atartha Weyrick; Blanch Spangler; Geo. and Lena Schadt; Bessie Dillcline; 
Ella, Daisy, and Lillian Kuhn; Edwin, Emma, and Edith Ditman; Marion Simp- 
son; Ella Roades; Clay Nolan; Clay Puffenberger; Effie Hewey; Vern and 
Emma Washier; Esau Beasley. In 1900 this class was discontinued and the 
members were merged with the Big Creek Society near by. 

MATTOON, ILLINOIS 

About 1866 the Ev. Association began work in this city. At first it was 
served with Shelby Mission which then embraced Mattoon, Siegels, Prairie near 
Stewardson, Illinois, Daits, Gayer, Buckey Schoolhouses, and Bluepoint. M. 
Klaiber and F. Launer served it jointly with Vandalia Mission (Camp Creek). 
The last named also served it 1867. In 1868-69, John Berger with Fr. Maurer 
served the second year. Berger built a church at the edge of town which was 
dedicated September 18, 1870, one week after Conference session, when J. Hoff- 
man and L. Grim became pastor. The latter, however, died shortly after he 
reached his appointment. H. served three years. 1873, C. Stockhowe; 74, J. 
Miller; 75, N. J. Platz; 76-78, M. Koehl; 79-80, C. Stier; '81, F. Theiss; '82-84, 
M. Koehl again. In 1885 the name of the field was changed to Mattoon, J. 
Fuchs, castor three years. In 1888 it Ijecame a part of Stewardson Circuit, E. 
Bohlander, pastor. In '89-90, E. Breach served. In 1891 the society being in 
sympathy with the United Evangelical Church, withdrew from the Ev. Asso- 
ciation, and joined the said church, except four members. Later the society dis- 
banded. The Indiana Conference retained the church and sold it in 1893. 

167 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 
MEDARYVILLE, INDIANA 

III 1861 D. Bartholomew l)egan preaching in the vicinity of Medaryville, 
coming from Fulton Circuit. In 1863 Philip Schwartz from Wabash Mission, 
near Lafayette, Indiana, preached also five miles N. E. from Medaryville, now 
known as Bethlehem Class of San Pierre Circuit. A class was organized here in 
1S63. In 1864 this community with Rosclle, Indiana, one mile south of Wanatah, 
Indiana, was taken up as Medaryville Mission and the Lafayette appointments 
Avere added to this mission and served by Bartholomew. In 1865-66, Chr. Ade 
served this class. AVith Royal or Common Centre, Zion or White Ridge, and 
River Bank, near Winamac, Indiana, it constituted Pulaski Circuit with A. 
Parker assigned. In 1867 J. Kciper \\as again sent to Medaryville Mission; 
'68-69, C. Heim; 1870-72, Wm. Lueder. It became a circuit in 72. In 73 the 
name was changed to Wanatah, and served two years by P. Roth; 75-77, J. 
Aliller; 78-80, W. Koenig; '81-83. A. Iwan; the last year the appointments south 
of the Kankakee River were detached from Wanatah and again made Medary- 
ville Alission. In 1884-86, C. F. W. Hansing; '87-89, H. Weishaar; '90-92, J. A. 
Tiedt; '93-94, E. Bohlander, who during the second year accidentally shot him- 
•■-i-lf in the parsona.ge at Bethlehem. H. Weishaar and C. Kalwitz finished out 
the year. '95-96, M. Krneger; '97-99, J. Mundorf; 1900-01, J. W. Feller. In 
1901 the name of the field l)eeainc San Pierre. Here the preachers resided since 
1894. For pastors from 1901 to 1915 see San Pierre, \'olume 1. 

Later in 1867 the l)uilding of the Bethlehem Church began, but was not 
ready for dedication until Septemlier 20, 1868. Piishop Jos. Long officiated. 
J. Iveiper was pastor. This church still stands and is now (1923) used only for 
funerals, the cemetery being located liere. The membership is now merged 
v'ith the San Pierre Society. The first |)arsonage of this field adjoined this 
church. l"or further history see under San Pierre. 

MYERS CLASS, HliNTINGTON CO., INDIANA 

Jonathan and Agnes, parents of Rev. J. M. Dustman, moved from eastern 
Ohio to Jackson Twp., Huntington Co., Indiana, five miles N. W. of Roanoke, 
Indiana. In the spring of 1850 they heard of an Evangelical preacher, Jos. 
Fisher of Elkhart Circuit, who had an appointment near Huntington, Indiana, 
12 miles south. Mr. Dustman was a member of the Ev, Association in Ohio. 
He invited Bro. Fisher to visit the community. The only road they had was 
by the l)lazing of trees. Fisher took up this place as a regular appointment. 
D.'s house was the place of worship. A prayer-meeting was now started in 
the community. Other families who moved here were: Meyers and Koch's. In 
1850-51 this society belonged to Elkhart Circuit; '52, to Miami; '53-55, to Ful- 
ton; '56-58, to St. Mary's Circuit, and in 1859 to Huntington Mission, and was 
served by B. Rub. In 1862 Phil. Schwartz held a protracted meeting in D.'s 
house before it was finished, resulting in 25 conversions. Among them were 

168 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

Cyrus, Hiram, and J. M. Dustman, and Jacol) and Louis Meyers, who later 
moved to Dunlaps, Indiana, liecoming leading members of our ehurch there. 
In 1867 S. S. Albert had a revival here, lastin.g five weeks. After resting two 
weeks, it was continued for three weeks more. Al)OUt 40, mostly young people, 
were converted and joined the church. This meeting was held in D.'s hous^.-. 
A church was now built and dedicated by Bishop Jos. Long, as "Salem Church", 
named after Salem S. Albert, pastor. A Sunday School also was organized. 
J. M. Dustman got his recommendation from this class. In 1875 this class was 
detached from St. Mary's Circuit and allied with Huntington Circuit. About 
this time there was a general exodus of the more progressive members, until 
1881, when the field was abandoned, and later the church was sold for $75.00. 

MILTON, WAYNE CO., INDIANA 

This class was organized in the forties. It was in a small town three miles 
S. E. of Cambridge City, Indiana, and was later merged with E. Germantown. 

MISHAWAKA, INDIANA 

Operations of the Ev. Association began in this city, November, 1846, with 
A. B. Schafer, P. E., and C. Glaus, and Wm. Eichte, pastors. The society at 
this time belonged to the Indiana District of the Illinois Conference, and was a 
part of Elkhart Circuit. This year Schafer, with the pastors, held the first "Big 
Meeting" in ^lishawaka. The Lord wrought powerfully through the Word, 
Pishop Scybert also was present. Having regained strength sufficiently from a 
previous illness, he preached Sunday mornin.g, and his "shepherd voice" reached 
the hearts of the hearers. On the last evening of this meeting, quite a number 
united with the Ev. Association, and a society was at once organized. In 1847 
;hese men again held a meeting with good results. After the session of the 
Illinois Conference in May, 1847, the first quarterly meeting was held here in 
June 3-5, by A. B. Schafer. Bishop Seybert, Ph. Bretsch, S. Dickover, Fr. 
Wiethaup, and H. Welty were present, who were homeward bound from the 
Conference session. On Sunday the Bishop preached to a large audience. Two 
persons were saved during preaching. The weeping of the people, and the 
praises to God, silenced him in preaching. G. G. Platz, Fr. Wiethaup, and H. 
Welty were now the pastors. On Sept. 17th they began a meeting here and 
had conversions. In 1848 S. Dickover and B. Uphaus were the shepherds. In 
September, 1848, Seybert was again here at a communion service when 100 
persons participated. 

The First Church 

On November 29, '49, G. G. Platz, Geo. Messner, and B. LIphaus, pastors. 

with the members of the society, met and decided to build a church 24 x 34 feet 

on Third Street, south of the river. The trustees were: C. Bucher, A. Berg, Fr. 

JMaurer, and they with C. Wilhelm and Michael Zimmer constituted the build- 

169 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

ing committee. The church, D. S. Oakes recorded, was used a number of years 

before it was finished. It was dedicated April 6, 1856, by . 

J. Fuchs was pastor. In June, 1850, J. J. Escher (later Bishop E.), and J. F. 
Wolf; C. Augenstein, P. E. In 1851 S. Dickover, P. E., and F. C. Ragatz and 
Jos. Fisher, pastors. At the organization of the Indiana Conference in June, 
1852, Jos. Fisher and B. Ruh became pastors. The members in 1853 as revised 
by J. Fisher were: Chr. and Mary Wilhelm, Fr. and Kath. Maurer, Bernhart 
and Anna Beiter, Dora Yost. He reported that many Germans were located 
here but few came to the services. J. Keiper and M. W. Stef?ey were the pastors, 
and in 1854 M. W. StefTey and P. Goetz. In 1855 Mishawaka became a part of 
South Bend Circuit, which emljraced Coal-Bush, Smith's and all appointments 
west of Elkhart Co. line and north on Yellow River. J. Fuchs and B. Ruh 
served this field up to September, 1857, at which time the annual conference ses- 
sions were changed. September, 1857-58, J. Fisher was pastor. These were 
years of prosperity. In 1859, E. L. Kiplinger; 1860, R. Riegel; '61, A. B. Schafer, 
and M. Speck; '62, Wm. Bockman and C. Ude; '63, J. M. Gomer; '64. P. Roth. 
A parsonage was bought this year for $800.00. In 1865-66, Geo. A. Hertel, pas- 
tor. The parsonage was improved and the debt fully paid. In 1867, C. Ude; 
'68-69, Bait. Hoffman, pastor. He resigned the second year due to impaired 
health, and Sam. Kiplinger filled out the year. He then served two more years 
with the assistance of H. L. Fisher the last year. 

The building of a new church, agitated for three to four years, now took 
place (1871). It was located on the S. W. corner of First and Mill Streets. 
The old church property was sold. The new one was dedicated September 8, 
1871, by M. Hoehn. In 1872-73, M. Krueger was pastor. In 1872 the name of 
the field became Mishawaka Circuit. For pastors who served here after 1874 
see Volume I. In 1878 a new parsonage was built on N. West St. In 1879 
there was a great loss by deaths, removals and withdrawals. In 1883 this society 
with Coal-Bush became Mishawaka Mission with D. F. Fox, P. C. 1884-85, C. 
Tramer. In 1886 it again became a part of Mishawaka Circuit. A. R. Shafer 
was assigned in 1886, but he was released by the summons from on high before 
he could take charge of his work, and J. Bruckert, who had just located, was 
appointed to this field, serving it two years. '13-19, D. D. Spangler served; 
'20-23, J. H. Evans. 

The third church (cement block) was built on the north side of the river, 
on the S. E. corner of Grove and Elizabeth Streets. It has a large class-room, 
a corner tower, and bell. The church is heated with a hot-air furnace, equipped 
with electric lights. The church was dedicated bjf Bishop S. C. Breyfogel of 

Reading, Pa., , 1904. A new modern parsonage was also erected 

at this time just south of the church. The old one was sold, and the proceeds 
applied to the new one, except an equity that belonged to the Smith Society 
N. W. of Elkhart, Indiana. 

170 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

During the pastorate of A. S. Fisher there were 79 conversions and acces- 
sions, and the debt on the church was reduced to $200.00. H. Schlcucher held a 
four-week's revival that resulted in 33 conversions and many accessions. In 
1915 a primary room was fitted up in the basement at a cost of $300.00. The 
membership now was 202, the weekly attendance at prayer-meeting from 30-50. 
Further repairs and improvements were made at a cost of $700.00. As a result 
of the "Billy Sunday Meeting" there was an addition of 28 members. At an- 
other meeting held January, 1915, 49 bowed at the altar, and 11 joined church 
this year. Mishawaka was made a station in 1919. Under J. H. Evans the so- 
ciety continued to prosper. Steps have been taken to secure funds for a modern 
equipped church. This society maintains a flourishing Sunday School, an E. L. 
C. E., a W. M. S., and a Ladies' Aid Society. 

MISSISSINAWA, OHIO 

This society was located in Allen Twp., Darke County, Ohio. Up to 1856 
this class belonged to Miami Circuit, Ohio Conference, when it was transferred 
to the Indiana Conference, and became a part of the E. Gcrmantown Circuit 
with J. Keiper, pastor, ilemljers here then were: B. Hittle's. Peter Lehr's, Al- 
spach's, Jacob Riegel's, Jacolj Haldemann's, John Petri's, Zachariali and Henry 
Lindcnberg's. Rev. P. Porr remarked concerning this class: "At this place or,'- 
has to deal with unyielding heads. There are too many office seekers, but there 
are also ;ome .good people." Due to much internal strife, pcnuriousness, and 
doctrinal radicalism, the society lost out. The church was sold for $340.00 in 
1905. A numljer of good camp-meetings were held here in 1856-57. 

MONTEREY, FULTON CO., INDIANA 

This class was about midway between Monterey and Lake Bruce, Indiana, 
and was known as "Light's Schoolhouse" appointment. It belonged to Roches- 
ter Circuit in 1880. J. M. Dustman held a gospel meeting here, resulting in six 
conversions and some accessions. Joseph Coehley and Sullivan Light, and his 
father, who was a local preacher, lived here. The class did not continue long. 

MOOS CLASS, SAN PIERRE CIRCUIT 

This class was organized by A. Parker in 1864. The worship here was in a 
schoolhouse, about 13 miles S. E. of San Pierre, Indiana. It has been a part of 
Medaryville, Wanatah, and San Pierre Circuit. No large success was attained 
here. A few good German families gave good support. Before 1876 the class 
belonged to Fulton Circuit, and in 1916 to Lake Bruce. It was abandoned in 
1920. Some precious souls were led to God here in 1915 when F. F. McClure 
had 11 conversions in a meeting. 

MORGAN, LAPORTE CO., INDIANA 
A. S. Fisher took up this class about six miles east of Wanatah, near the 

171 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Penn. R. R. in 1887-88. A gospel meeting was held here with two eonversions. 
His successor aljandoncd it. 

MORGANTOWN, NEAR JLTLIETTA, INDIANA 

In 1894 this appointment became a part of Cumberland Mission when it was 
organized and continued a few years, F. Reutcpoehlcr, pastor. 

AIOUND CITY. ILLINOIS 

ilound City Society l)clonged to ilound City Mission in 1874 when it was 
e: tablished by the Indiana Conference. It was in the extreme southern part of 
Illinois. The mission emliraced thi.s place and Cairo, Illinois, which were six 
miles apart. Jos. Maier was the first missionary here. In 1875 the mission was 
n;imed Jonesboro. At Mound City, the missionary erected his standard, and 
coura.geously unfurled the banner of Christ, but he found it very difficult to 
gather an audience. The people were indifferent to religion, and many w'ere 
skeptical. When M. would visit the people, some would laugh in his face, scofi: 
and deliberately mock about holy things, going on in their way, eating and 
drinking, saying, "Away with the Bible and Pfaffentum, (Popery)". After a num- 
ber of years of futile efforts, the place was given up. 

MT. PLEASANT, WABASH CO., INDIANA 

This society was located about three miles south of Rich Valley, Wabash 
Co., Indiana. In 1911 Ira Dawes of Spikerville Charge held a meeting here in 
an old abandoned church. He had a number of conversions and then organized 
a class of the Ev. Association. In 1912 B. G. Smith remodelled the church at 
a cost of $600.00. For a while prospects were favorable, but some deaths and 
removals necessitated the abandonment of the place in 1920. 

MUNCIE, INDIANA 

This city was taken up as a preaching place quite early in the fifties, and 
belonged to E. Germantown Circuit. In 1865 this society witli Smithfield was 

dded to Mississinawa Mission with Geo. Kloepfer assigned as preacher. In 
1866 it belonged to Greenville Circuit; 1868 to E. Germantown again. In 1869 a 
committee was appointed to thoroughly investigate the situation in Muncie and 
dispose of the property in the best way. The indebtedness on the church was 
t!ie main drawback, which increased rather than decreased. The Conference was 
then in its infancy and money was scarce. In 1872 the committee reported an 
indelitedness of $1,948.48, and that the church was sold for $1,850.00, leaving 
$100.00 for the Conference to pay Other causes for quitting here W'as the per- 
sistent demand to hold tlie ser\ices in German, and the non-dependable char- 

cter of the constituency. The M. P. Church bought the property and built up 
a strong society. In English we would, no doubt, have succeeded. 

172 



a 



a 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 
MURPHYSBORO, ILLINOIS 

Murphysboro Mission was established in 1875. In 1876 it was ceded to the 
South Indiana Conference. Geo. Berstccher was the first missionary. In 1877 
he wrote, "When this work was started the people showed a distant attitude to- 
ward the Ev. Association. Most of them had not heard the Gospel preached for 
1^^-20 years, many not since they left Germany." After many discouragements 
to the pastor, light began to penetrate through the darkness. Some were con- 
verted. Prayer meetings were fairly well attended. On Christmas of 77 the 
society received a church as a Christinas gift. The only drawback to it was 
its smallness. In 1878 J. Alode served here. In 1879-81 it was served with 
Lake Creek Mission by E. Bohlander. 1882-84, F. Thiess; 1885-86, E. J. 
Nitsche; '87, J. H. Schnitz; '88, Casper Doering; '90, with Jonesboro by 
C. Kohlmeier; '91, alone by E. Braech; '92, with Jonesboro by G. F. Winter; '93, 
uusupplied; '94 the church was sold for $150.00 of which $25.00 was used for 
selling expenses, and the balance flowed into the Conference treasury. 

MT. CARMEL, ILLINOIS 

The initial work of the Ev. Association began in and around Mt. Carmcl, 
Illinois, in 1836. Some Pennsylvanians from Lehigh Co. moved here this year. 
The church historian says, "Here the first conversions took place in Illinois by 
means of our ministry". John Butz, a class-leader, was one of the active mem- 
bers. In 1837 he reported, "I am like a solitary bird upon a roof, and meet with 
sore opposition, but the Lord has thus far been with us. Three souls have been 
converted to God in our prayer services. The Lord alone be praised." At th'^ 
session of the West Penn. (Ev. Landmark) Conference in May, 1838, Mt. Car- 
mcl and vicinity was taken up as a mission with Peter Wiest as missionarjr. 
From 1839-41 no record found. In 1842 all appointments in southern Illinois 
and Indiana along the Wabash River constituted the Mt. Carmel Mission in the 
Ohio District of the West. Penn. Conference with C. Augenstein, missionary, 
and J. G. Zinser, P. E. Nearlj' 100 persons joined the Ev. Association on this 
field this year. The mission extended over parts of Wabash, Edwards, Law- 
rence, and Clarke Counties in Illinois, and into Dubois, Perry and Vanderburg 
Counties in Indiana. Augenstein preached salvation from sin through faith in 
Christ, wherever he could find German people. Wabash County, Illinois, was 
headquarters and received first attention. The work was hard, but not in vain. 
In 1839 it became a part of the Ohio Conference which was organized this year. 

In 1843 Chr. Lintner and A. Nicolai were pastors with John J. Kopp as P. E. 
This year, on September 14, Bishop J. Seybert made a visit here, and also to St. 
Louis, Mo., bjr invitation of the missionary of the Ger. M. E. Church, and 
preached for him and assisted in the observance of the Lord's Supper. Mt. 
Carmel now had 22 members. At the organization of the Illinois Conference in 
May, 1844, this field became a part of it and a part of the Indiana District with 

173 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

A. B. Schafer, P. E., and A. Nicolai and G. G. Platz as pastors. On September 
7th Schafer and Platz held a meeting, resulting in conversions and 18 accessions. 
At this meeting trustees were elected. The society obtained a church lot 
gratis. A small brick church on 4th Street, near Cherry Street, was built and 
dedicated December 24, 1848, by A. B. Schafer. In December, 1844, fourteen 
Christliche Botschafters, and six Evaiigcliciil Messengers came to Evangelical homes. 
A Sunday School was also organized this year. In 1845 S. Tobias and Ph 
Bretsch were assigned here. The Indiana appointments were now detached 
from Mt. Carmel Mission and formed into Dubois Mission, and Mt. Carmel 
Charge became a circuit. September 4-9, '45, a camp-meeting was held nine 




Mt. Carmel Church, Mt. Carmel, 111. 

miles west of Mt. Carmel on Adam Stoltz's farm. God's people were greatly 
revived and some souls were converted. On July 4, 1846, Bishop J. Seybert ar- 
rived from Cincinnati, accompanied by J. Trometer, one of the pastors who had 
become seriously ill on the way with a fever that threatened his life. The Bishop 
in great concern fell upon his knees at T's bedside, beseeching the Lord to re- 
store the sick brother, if in accordance with His will. Presently T. arose and 
they resumed the journey to Mt. Carmel riding 30 miles that day. The Bishop 
praised God greatly for the speedy answer to his prayer. Seeing how wickedly 
the town celebrated the Independence Day, he ordered the church bell to be 
rung to invite people to services, determined to demonstrate how this day could 
and should be spent. In his diary an account of this day reads, "The ungodls' 
ct'ebrated the Fourth with gluttony, drinking, swearing, shooting, and howling, 

174 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

besides other Satanic exercises. I, however, was on my feet betimes, visited 
nine families in the morning, greased my boots, shaved, bathed, put on clean 
clothes and rode 30 miles that day." 

A. B. Schafer, P. E., again held a camp-meeting on Stoltz's farm in August, 
1846. J. G. Miller, assistant pastor, reported December 17th, there are many 
here that earnestly work out their salvation. He was absent from the field eight 
months as ordered by his P. E. to hunt up appointments in the vicinities of 
Vandalia, Decatur, Springfield and Pulaski, Illinois. This was a round-trip of 
600 miles. Pie also prospectively visited southern Illinois "Hochland" and St. 
.Louis, Mo. Due to illness, Trometer was unable to serve three months. In 1847 
Wm. Fichte was pastor. Due to illness he resigned and Chr. Glaus served his 
charge with Olney Circuit. He labored with much success. Another camp- 
meeting on Stoltz's farm. Bishop Jos. Long was present Sunday, August 3rd. 
Nearly the whole population of Mt. Carmel was present. At each invitation 
penitents came to the altar. Many were converted and joined church. The 
celebration of the Lord's Supper and the closing services were exceptionally 
spiritual and precious. 

On quarterly and special meetings the Evangelicals in Wabash and adjoin- 
ing counties gathered in the Mt. Carmel Church "to have a good time". This 
church became the spiritual birthplace of many souls. In 1849 S. Dickover, 
P. E., and C. Glaus, pastor. In 1850 Mt. Carmel Circuit had 550 members, and 
was now divided, the northern part becoming Marshall Circuit with H. Ragatz, 
pastor of Mt. Carmel Charge. In 1851 Geo. Messner and J. Wolf were assigned 
to Mt. Carmel. They reported blessed results. 

In 1852 the Indiana Conference was organized and Mt. Carmel became a 
part of it. For ministers see Volume I, Mt. Carmel, circuit and station. S. 
Dickover, P. E., reported a quarterlj- meeting held September 19, '56, at which 
time he said, "The harps of praises sounded forth wonderfully from Carmel's 
elevation, especially Monday during the experience m^eeting and celebration of 
the Lord's Supper. It was heavenly! Never before was I at such a melting 
testimony meeting. Tears of joy flowed freely. Yea, it was a Pentecost." In 
1861 Carmi Circuit was jointly served with Mt. Carmel Charge. In June, 1861, 
the first "District Meeting" was held on Wabash District. All present were 
convinced that such meetings are of great importance to the preachers, being 
rich in blessings and general benefit. Following are some of the themes that 
were considered: "The Fall of Man"; "The Free Will of Man"; "Repentance' ; 
"Faith"; "Righteousness by Faith"; "Regeneration"; "Holiness"; "I Cor. 3. 
10-15"; "Rom. 5:18; 6:12-14"; and "Mark 13:32". In 1868 Mt. Carmel with Sugiir 
Creek Class became a station. In 'li the societv was granted permission to sell 
their first church and to applv the oroceeas to a new brick church wM n was 
built this year and dedicated Jan. 4, 1874, by Bishop Thomas Bowman. It was 
placed on the corner of Elm and 6th Streets. It was then one of the most at- 

175 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

tractive churches in the Conference. The cost of it was $4,800.00. In 1876 Mt. 
Carmel Ijecame a part of the South Indiana Conference. On June 4, 1876, Mon- 
day, a terrific storm passed over Mt. Carmel, when 14 persons were instantly 
killed and 75 fatally wounded. One hundred houses were levelled to the ground. 
The M. E. Church suffered great damage. The Presljytcrian Church was to- 
tally ruined, and our church also was much damaged. The most of our people 
suffered by it. Some saved their lives only, becoming dependent on public 
charity for a time. H. Schleucher made a successful appeal for help for our 
people through the church papers. 

In the summer of '87 a new two-story parsonage was built. G. M. Hall- 
wachs was pastor at this time. He had 36 conversions and 31 accessions. The 
revival lasted nine weeks. He organized a W. M. S. this year. Monthly meet- 
ings were held. There were 38 members. In '91, under Fr. Theiss, the church 
was remodelled at a cost of $400.00. C. P. Maas, '06-08, organized a local La- 
dies' Aid Society in July, 1908. '15-16, D. O. Wise was pastor. Under his ad- 
ministration about $7,000.00 was secured in pledges for a new church, and a 
building committee was elected. '17-20, C. H. Hartman. The church was rebuilt 
in colonial style, costing $16,000.00. It was dedicated by Bishop S. C. Breyfogcl 
April 14, 1918. The Ladies' Aid Society and Sunday School each raised $1,000.00. 
This church is constructed with an auditorium, two galleries with class-rooms 
below and above, basement under the whole church, equipped with electric 
lights, steam-heat, straight pews, chairs and choir loft. The seating capacity 
is 600. On dedication all departments of the church again pledged heavily to 
cover the indebtedness. The building committee consisted of pastor, J. C. Brun- 
ner, Jr., Wm. Beck, W. E. Brunner, H. Mayer, Ed. G. Seitz, and O. A. Unbc- 
hauen. O. A. Overholser was appointed here in 1921, and serves at the present 
writing, 1923. 

MT. CARMEL, ADAMS CO., INDIANA 

This appointment lies eight miles S. E. of Berne, Indiana. H. Arlen re- 
organized the society as Bethel Class in 1886, but it later was named Mt. Carmel. 
Previously as an unorganized class it belonged to St. Mary's Circuit up to 1875, 
when it was added to Decatur Mission. In 1876 it was added to Celina Circuit. 
I". 1895 Wm. Ackcrman had 23 conversions and 25 accessions. In 1897 it be- 
longed to Berne Circuit, and then back to Celina in 1898. In 1905 the P. E. in- 
formed the pastor, J. L. Buyer, "You can drop, or continue this class as you 
feel about it." The class was revived. J. M. Lantz rebuilt the church and or- 
ganized a Sunday School. In 1910 it became a part of Chattanooga Mission. In 
1915 it belonged to Berne Circuit again. For pastors see St. Mary's, and Celina 
until 1910 when it was served Ijy E. R. Roop; '11-12, E. B. Jones; '13-14, J. L. 
Buyer, Jr.; '15, E. E. Roberts; '16, E. O. Habegger; '17, J. E. McCoy; '18-21, 
E. H. Baumgartner, It was added to Bryant Circuit, F. J. Stcdcke, '22-23. 

176 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 
NAPPANEE, INDIANA 

In April, 1891, Aug. Geist and J. W. Metzner were assigned to New Paris 
Circuit, and were to take up this place as part of their work. In the latter part 
of 1890, D. S. Oakes preached in this town. A few Evangelical families from 
other fields had moved here. In the fall of 1891, A. Geist organized a society in 
father Jacob Phend's home, namely: J. Phend and wife; Samuel and Caroline 
^fosiman; John Moyer and wife. Soon thereafter Sol. Yodcr and wife; Enos 
Newcomer and wife; John Ruhl and wife; and Mrs. Carl. S. Mosiman was the 
first class-leader, serving 12 years to 1903, when she moved away. 

At the first, services were held in the Hartman Hall, then in the Coppes 
Hotel Hall. The first church (frame) was built in 1892 by the Mennonite Breth- 
ren in Christ, and the Ev. Association as a Union Church. It was dedicated 
in the fall by S. Heininger of Elkhart Division St. Church. D. Martz was P. E. 
The two denominations held a Union Sunday School. This partnership con- 
tinued five years when in 1897 the Evangelicals bought out the half interest of 
the other church for $900.00, and paid $400.00 cash. S. Hofferbert was pastor at 
this time. The church was then rededicated. fmprovemcnts which cost .$3,000.00 
were made. In the spring of 1897 Conference granted its pastor the privilege 
to collect funds on Elkhart and Kendallville Districts to liquidate a $500.00 debt. 
In 1893 Nappanee, Island, Panama, and Hepton Societies became Nappanee 
Circuit. 

The first board of trustees here were S. Mosiman, J. Phend and I. Moyer. 
This board with A. Miller, Engelmeier and Watterman of the M. B. Church, 
constituted the building committee. The Sunday School dissolved partnership 

during Reinoehl's second term. In the church caught fire and suffered 

considerable damage, which, fortunately, was covered by insurance. Repeated 
improvements and repairs were made. Also street and sewer improvements 
were made at considerable cost. In 1903 the society bought an additional lot 
and built a commodious parsonage. The building of a modern church is now 
(1923) contemplated. The society has enjoyed a gradual and substantial growth 
from the start, the increase coming largely from the country appointments. 

For ministers who served here, see Volume I. '14-16, E. E. Miller served; 
'17-19, A. H. Doescher; '20-22, A. B. Plaist; '23, C. H. Hartman. Presiding el- 
ders always those of Elkhart, except 1897-98, Vv-hen it belonged to Kendallville 
District. 

NEW CARLISLE, INDIANA 

In 1877 J. M. Gomer took up this place where six persons united with the 
Ev. Association. Nothing further is found. 

NEW PARIS, INDIANA 

New Paris Society was first organized in 1862 by Joshua Paulin who first 
preached here. Charter members were: D. D. Rohrer, John Unbehauen and 

177 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

vife, J. D. Unbehauen, M. Zimmer and wife, George Zimmer, David Dausman 
and wife, Elizabeth Croop, John Castetter and wife, John Swart and wife, James 
Philips and wife, Geo. Phillips, John Spiker, T. J. Heriman and C. A. McComb- 
er. M. Zimmer was the first class-leader; J. Phillips, exhorter; J. D. Unbehauen. 
S. S. Supt. All services were held in the German language in the old M. E. 
Church. 

The first church (frame) was built in 1862 and was dedicated December 2, 
'62. The trustees were D. D. Rohrcr, David Dausman and John Castetter. The 
cost of the church was $1,400.00. This church was found to stand in the street 
and was moved to its present location in 1870 and was remodelled and rededi- 
cated. In 1897 it was sold to the Progressive Brethren after the present brick 
church had been built, which J. Rees commenced and W. H. IVIygrant finished 
in 1897. The cost of this church was $6,000.00. The dedication, however, had 
to be deferred, due to the financial burdens that involved the society, until Janu- 
arj' 22, 1899. Editor S. P. Sprcng officiated at the dedication. This church is 
41 X 49 feet, seated with circular pews, has a class-room, corner tower, art-glass 
windows, hot-air furnace, and has a part of the basement equipped for S. S. work. 

In March, 1881, S. S. Albert reported that a revival meeting closed at New 
Paris, conducted by Savilla Kring, at which 70-80 bowed at the altar, of whom 
many were converted and 42 joined the Church. On January 13, 1885, D. Martz 
reported a meeting here declaring, "Old time religion and methods of work, 
had been pushed into the background to the regret of many members. Old 
time methods and gospel preaching were again tried for three weeks with no 
favorable results. But the few earnest ones became more determined. Then 
God sent the power in streams of light, showing the need of deliverance from 
sin. A real revival was on now. 47 persons were gloriously saved, 22 of them 
heads of families, and 35 joined the Church." 

New Paris Society belon.ged to Elkhart Circuit until 1872 when Middleport, 
(now Dunlaps) Moors, (Ebenczer east of Syracuse), Harrison Centre, Island, 
Ringels, Billman's (west of Wakarusa) with New Paris was constituted New 
Paris Circuit. For pastors from 1862-72 see Elkhart Circuit. The following 
ministers then served: 72-73, Jos. Fisher; '74, H. E. Overmeyer; '75, D. J. Pon- 
tius; ne, J. F. Bockman; '77-78, A. R. Shafer; 79-80, S. S. Albert and H. Arlen 
the first year; '81-82, C. C. Bcyrer; '83-84, D. Martz; '85-87, J. M. Dustman with 
D. D. Speichcr the second year. For pastors from 1889 to 1915 see Volume I. 
'15, J. E. Young, '16-19, G. A. Weishaar; '20-23, R. L. Handschu. The presiding 
ciders are those of Elkhart, except for 1897-98, when it belonged to Kendall- 
ville District. 

The New Paris parsonage was built in the fall of 1881. In 1886 a new one 
was bought by the parsonage trustees: E. Sharpie, Levi, Stahley and Frank Ott, 
and has since been the home of the pastors. The first Y. P. Alliance was or- 

178 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

gaiiized in 1894 with Mrs. Ida Buttsfield, Pros., and the first Ladies' Aid Society- 
was organized in 1895 with Orpha Maurcr as president. 

NEW HARMONY, INDIANA 

The work here had its origin at Stewartsville, Indiana, formerly known as 
Paris, five miles N. E. of New Harmony. In 1842 Mt. Carmel Circuit preachers 
preached here. In 1843 this place became a part of Dubois Mission and was 
served by its pastors until Warrenton Circuit was formed when it was added to 
this field. The members in 1849 were: John and Caroline Hain; Emmanuel 
Rhein; Lndwig Miller; Father Weiss; Louis Miller; and Jacob Schnad with 
tlieir families. Jacob Keiper was pastor in 1849 and also in 1854, when he lames 
also these members: Ludwig and Catharine Barth, Mary Buckel, Fr. Keller, 
Chr. Rhein, Sam and Lizzie Brown, F. and Lizzie Schneck, John Kehler's, Her- 
man Pretzst's. The preaching was in private homes. On March 5, 1S55, a mis- 
sionary auxiliary was organized and pledges taken amounting to $45.75, after 
C. Glaus had preached a missionary sermon. At a revival meeting held this 
year in March, Keiper had to cease preaching one night because of the crying 
for mercy by penitents. They were all saved. 

In 1859 M. Klaibcr of Warrenton Circuit came into the vicinity of New Har- 
monj' to preach to the German families, who heartily responded to the Word as 
preached. Some were converted and a class was organized, namely: E. Miller 
and wife, Henry Miller and wife, C. Trometer, Elizabeth Schnarr, J. Hickman 
and wife, L. Hibner and wife, John Hein and wife. E. Miller was class-leader. 
The work prospered, but thej' had no church here. Worship was held in a 
Union Church. The other denominations here were English. By deaths and 
removals this society gradually died out. Some members moved closer to and 
into New Harmony. In 1899 this place was abandoned and its remaining mem- 
bers were merged with the society that was now organized in New Harmony. 
An eye-witness said about this abandoned society in early days, "The Spirit of 
the Lord so came upon the people that they broke out into loud praises and 
shoutings. Often services continued until midnight. Some would fall into a 
trance and remain so for hours after dismissal of the meetings." Part of the 
time this class was attached to Carmi Circuit, then to Enterprise, and last to 
Grayville Charge. 

NEW HARMONY CLASS 

The beginning of this society was in April, 1889, when E. J. Nitsche of Gray- 
ville Charge effected the organization. On July Ilth a lot was bought for $175.00 
and a small frame church was built (26 x 40 feet) and was dedicated as Salem 
Church by J. Kaufman, P. E. Some of the charter members were: Ernest, 
Minnie, Mary, Caroline, and Emma Sundermeier; Albert and Louis Schumaker; 
John and Caroline Hain of Stewartsville; Albert and Mary Lauger; Fred and 
Marg. Sickman; Louis and Marg. Miller of Stewartsville, and Elizabeth Schnarr 

179 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

of Griffeth. A. Lauger was first class-leader. At first the work developed fairly 
well, but later the enthusiasm waned and the class lingered along until 1918 
when the property was sold, as ordered, for $1,100.00. Half of it, by order of 
Conference, was given to the Linwood Church in Evansville, Indiana, towards 
its debt, and the other half to Grayville Society towards a new parsonage. For 
the most part, this society was served with Grayville, except five years when it 
was alone. During this time new life was manifest, but soon died out again, fol- 
lowed by an occasional reviving of the work. From this society went forth 
Victor Chafin as a missionary to Japan under another church mission board in 
which service he died. 

NEW FIOPE, OHIO 

This class was situated in Preble Co., Ohio, north of Eaton. J. Keiper 
preached here in 1852. It was then a part of Miami Circuit of the Ohio Confer- 
ence, and at the organization of the Indiana Conference remained with the Ohio 
Conference. In 1856 it was ceded back to the Indiana Conference, and was 
served by J. Keiper and P. Goetz. The members then were: John Breuscher's, 
Geo. Grenzlein's, C. Mangus', John Schafer's, Wm. Miller's. This society be- 
longed alternately to Miami and Montgomery Circuits; in 1883 to Greenville, 
then to Richmond Mission, and then to Vandalia and then to Phillipsburg Cir- 
cuits. There was at one time a parsonage in Mt. Hope. The time of the aban- 
donment of this society is not known. 

NEW LISBON, INDIANA 

In the summer of 1847, G. G. Platz reported that the people here were build- 
ing a church which was dedicated in the fall as Zion Church. C. Glaus was 
pastor. The class had been organized several years before. Early members 
were: Habel's, Deublcr's, Hartzler's, and Berg's. In 1848 C. Glaus organized 
the first missionary auxiliary. In 1849 H. Ragatz reported three Christmas 
meetings in which 10 souls were saved. For list of pastors see E. Germantown. 
There was a Sunday School here in early days. The appointment was some- 
times called "Jimtown". A church was built in 1866 and dedicated November 
18th. The society died out and the church was sold for $175.00 in 1905. From 
this society went forth three ministers: Adam Hartzler and S. S. Albert in 1865. 
and Jacob Huntsinger in 1872. 

NEW MADISON, OHIO 

The class of New Madison was near the town of this name and was about 
ten miles S. W. of Greenville, Ohio, near the Penn. R. R. No further history 
was found. 

NEWPORT, KY. 

G. M. Hallwachs, when he was pastor in Cincinnati, conducted a Sunday 
School in this town just across the river from Cincinnati. After S. S. he would 

180 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

preach to the people. He had a fair start, but when Cincinnati was abandoncil 
this place also was dropped. 

NOBLESYILLE, INDIANA 

Jacob Keiper, when he served Hamilton Mission in 1855, preached some- 
times here in the court house and in the Presbyterian Church. A. Erbe and a 
brother Gerberich of the Ev. Association lived here then. In the vicinity of 
Noblesville, A. Nicolai and M. W. Steffey preached sometimes. The class in the 
city was organized in 1862 by E. L. Kiplinger. 

In 1870 the Conference ordered the trustees of the Arcadia Society, Cicero 
Circuit, to sell their church, and apply the proceeds for the purchasing or build- 
ing of a church in Noblesville. Ruben Riegcl was the pastor. In 1871 a frame 
church was bought in the heart of Noblesville, and was remodelled and rededi- 
cated. At first the society seemed to prosper, but soon conditions changed. We 
never had enough substantial people here to give much prestige to the society. 
It belonged to Cicero Charge. In 1872-73, J. Wales was pastor; in '7i the name 
of the field was changed to Noblesville Circuit; in 1874, G. W. Freehafer; '75-76, 
A. R. Shafer; 77-78, A. Hartzler who died here; 1879, A. Geist; '80-81, D. Martz. 
In March '81, Martz reported, "This society is down to the verge of utter ruin, 
having dwindled down to less than 20 members, and with no S. S. and no prayer- 
meeting." He overcame certain difficulties and had a good revival with seven 
accessions the first year, and 25 the second, and reported 60 members, January, 
1883. For pastors see under Cicero. A revival held here by Smith and Scheid- 
ler assisted by Miss Shawhan in 1888, resulted in 32 accessions. While E. E. 
Meyers was pastor he planned, for a Christmas entertainment in the church, a 
derrick, shaped like a natural gas-well derrick, and covered it with cotton bat- 
ting. It was ornamented with many tapers and presents. But alas! In the 
midst of the program the burning tapers set the cotton on fire. The people, 
seized with fright, scrambled for the exits. But some heroically grappled with 
the fire and soon extinguished it after about three-fourths of the presents were 
destroyed. Nothing else was seriously damaged, and on December 31, the 
scheme was repeated, and all went well. 

In 1892 H. E. Overmeyer reported conditions deplorable. Less than half 
of 84 members paid any salary. C. D. Rarey reported October, 1897, "This so- 
ciety had a red letter day". The interior of the church was remodelled, the ex- 
penses were more than met, and S. P. Spreng, editor, was present and reopened 
the house with special services. In 1893 efforts were made to sell the church and 
parsonage and to apply the proceeds toward a new church, but instead, the build- 
ing was repaired and remodelled, with the hope of succeeding more substantially. 
But after repeated hopeful efforts and promising revivals the field had to be 
abandoned in the spring of 1912, and the Conference ordered the sale of the 
church property which brought $3,500.00, of which $500.00 was refunded to the 

181 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Cicero Circuit for a new parsonage. The balance was applied as follows: $1,000 
to Brazil new church, and the rest was loaned to societies where new churches 
were being built. Charter members here were: Dr. D. Miesse, Daniel Miesse, 
Wm. Lieb's, Mr. Buck and their families. 

NORTH LIBERTY, SALEM 

Salem Society was about four miles north of North Liberty, cominonlj- 
known as the "Souselejf" Class. This class dates back to 1864 when P. Roth 
took up this place. In 1866 this class. Tabor, Lakevillc, and Roselle, about one 
mile south of Wanatah, became North Liberty Mission. In 1867 this mission 
was discontinued and the appointments re-attached to South Bend Circuit, except 
Roselle. In 1880 it was again a part of North Liberty Mission, and in 1881 it 
was joined to Mishawaka Circuit. On August 7, 1881, the brick church here was 
dedicated bj' Editor T. C. Clewell. Some of the leading members were Sous'.'- 
ley's, Flora's and Grove's. In 1898 this society asked Conference to allow it 
to move its church to North Liberty or to sell it, and apply the proceeds to the 
building of a new church in this place as it might be most feasible. Both were 
granted but neither was done. In 1901 North Liberty Mission was restored, 
including Salem. In 1903 it belonged to West South Bend Mission. In 19().t 
to Bremen Circuit. In 1908 services here ceased. For pastors see Tabor. 

NORTH OLIVE, DEFIANCE CO., OHIO 

This society was three miles south of Bryan, Ohio. The class was organ- 
i7ed about 1882, or '83, by S. S. Albert who reported, Feb. 19th, that a pro- 
tracted meeting was in progress with 13 seekers. A brick church was built and 
dedicated by Bishop J. J. Esher, February 4, 1884, as North Olive Church. The 
cost of the church was $1,500.00. The membership was then 20 consisting of 
Hummel's, Boucher's, Schmarktenberger's. It belonged to Defiance Circuit, 
but in 1892 it became a part of Edgerton Circuit. In 1904 the society chose to 
discontinue their organization from a want of a future. The furniture was sold 
for $25.00 and the church reverted to the owner of the farm of which this land 
was originally a part. 

NORTH WEBSTER, INDIANA 

This place was originally a part of Elkhart Circuit. In 1850, J. J. Esher 
and J. Wolf were the pastors and it then belonged to St. Joseph District of the 
Illinois Conference. Preaching was held in homes and schoolhouses. The mem- 
bers were then a part of the Ebenezer Class east of Syracuse, called "Beyrer's" 
Class. In June 1852 it became a part of the Indiana Conference. For pastors 
see under Elkhart Circuit up to 1872, when it became a part of Benton Circuit 
^vith P. Roth and Aug. Geist as pastors. In 1879 Webster Mission was formed, 
composed of N. Webster, Calvary, five miles south; Trinity (Snyder), and Beth- 

182 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

cl, west of Columbia City; Larwill and Silver Lake, and was added to Ft. Wayne 
District. For pastors, see Volume I. '14-16, J. AL Kistler; '17, F. C. Wacknitz; 
'18, B. C. Earhart. In 1919 the place was abandoned. 

Charter members were: Chas. Bougher and wife; Chas. Bougher, Jr., and 
wife; Jacob and Elizabeth Stemler; Henry and Christian Klein; M. Gugler and 
wife; Peter Young and wife and daughter Kath.; Adam Schercr and wife; John 
and Thelitha Bougher; Jacob Bougher; Matilda Klein, later wife of J. F. Bock- 
man; H. Klein, first class-leader. 

In 1864 the first church was built by M. Krueger near the west bank of 
Webster Lake. The trustees were Henry Klein, Chas. Bougher, Sr., and Chas. 
Bougher, Jr. Before the church was built, the Sunday School was held in what 
later became John Klein's warehouse. Then in an old schoolhouse where the 
first religious services were held. This was during the Civil War time. The sec- 
ond church was built by A. D. Kroft on Main Street, and was dedicated by S. H. 
Eaumgartner, P. E., on November 23, 1913, under rather embarrassing condi- 
tions, as no bishop could be obtained, and L. S. Fisher had declined. When the 
P. E. arrived, he was informed that he inust dedicate the church without all the 
windows in. There was no altar and pulpit, and the seats were not assembled: 
but work of setting up the pews, and fixtures continued until lip. m. Saturday. 
The church was dedicated on above date at which time $2,500 was raised in cash 
and pledges. The total cost of the church was $5,000.00. Opposition, indififer- 
ence, a*ld disaffection in the society caused a gradual decline. The church and 
parsonage were sold in 1920 for $5,390.00 and the proceeds applied for a new par- 
sonage in Columbia City, Indiana, costing $4,550.00 leaving a surplus of $774.72 
to flow into the Conference treasury, which was applied towards building the 
Oakwood Park superintendent's home. This society worshipped in English 
since about 1884. It maintained a Sunday School to the end. It had a parson- 
age for many years. 

NORTH WEBSTER, BETHEL 

This appointment, sometimes called "West Columbia Class", lies three and 
one-half miles west of Columbia City. It dates back to 1870. For a long while 
this class worshipped in a schoolhouse, near where the church now stands. 
Charter members were: Father Haas and family, L. C. Mosher and family, 
Markwalter's, Harris', and others. The work developed slowly. A Sunday 
School was also maintained. Not until 1908, under the labors of D. R. Heil, did 
the society build a church. John Harris donated an acre of land. The Dunkard 
Church near here was bought, and rebuilt at a cost of $850.00. Of this amount, 
$635.00 had been pledged before dedication at which time the balance was se- 
cured. F. L. Snyder, a son of North Webster Circuit, dedicated the church in 
the fall. The dimensions are 30x40 feet. It has a tower and a pulpit recess. 
This class has always belonged with Webster except one year to Bippus Cir- 
cuit. Since 1919 it is a part of Columbia Cit3' Charge, served by B. R. Hoover 

183 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

three years with success; 1922-23, B. C. Earhart, The field was transferred to 
Ft. Wayne District in 1920. 

NORTH WEBSTER, TRINITY 

This class was long known as the "Snyder Schoolhouse" Society. The Sny- 
der family being the prominent one here. Also a Hoffer family lived here. The 
exact time when our church began to work here is not found. But Jos. Paidin 
and M. Speck preached in the vicinity in 1862; it was then called the Whitley 
County Class. The same ministers served here as at Webster. In March, 1884, 
W. H. Brightmire held a four weeks' revival, resulting in 23 conversions and 27 
accessions, mostly heads of families. In January, 1886, another one was held 
lasting six weeks. F. L. Snyder, likely a convert of the previous revival, began 
to exhort in this meeting with great liberty and success, and 57 persons, mostly 
young people, were saved, and many joined church. Froin this society issued 
three ministers: B. F. Snyder, 1886, who later joined the M. E. Church in Dako- 
ta; F. L. Snyder, 1887; and F. W. Hart, 1888, who later joined another denomina- 
tion. In_1908 D. R. Heil built a church about one mile west of the Snyder 
Schoolhouse and it was dedicated as Trinity Church by Editor C. Staebler, of 
Cleveland, Ohio, May 10, 1908, at a cost of $1,912.47. The class remains small 
but maintains a Sunday School. 

OAK GROVE, INDIANA 

This was Oak Grove Schoolhouse Class in Fulton Co., three miles S. W. 
of Rochester, Indiana. It was taken up by J. Wales with Rochester Circuit. 
Some of the members were: Hunter's, Philip's, Perry Rice, Henry Anlt's, and 
White's. Most of the people were renters, and therefore no permanent work 
could be established. Later some moved into Rochester where they joined our 
church, and some joined at. Burton. L. Newman was about the last minister. 
He preached here regularly for four years. A church lot was bought, but a 
church was never l)uilt, for reasons above given. The lot was later sold. 

OAK GROVE, WILLIAMS CO., OHIO 

J. M. Kronmiller took up this place about seven miles N. W. of Bryan, Ohio, 
ir. 1852. The class is also known as Jerusalem. K. organized a class here. 
Services were held in a schoolhouse alternating with the M. E. and the \J. B. 
people. Our services were then exclusively German. This society was a part 
of DeKalb Circuit until 1859, when it became a part of Defiance Mission which 
now embraced the appointments east of the St. Joseph River. In 1875 this class 
with Edon, West Buffalo, Florence, Schotts, Hicksville, and Fish Creek (Edger- 
ton) became Edgerton Circuit. In 1878 this field was served jointly with De- 
fiance by B. F. Dill and A. O. Raber. In 1879 it was alone again. From 1852- 
65 this class belonged to St. Joseph District wdien the name was changed to 

184 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

Elkhart District, and remained with it until 1871 when it became a part of Ft. 
Wayne District, until 1895 when it became a part of Kendallville District for 
four years; then it was placed back to Fort Wayne District where it has re- 
mained since. For a Hst of pastors see DeKalb Circuit up to 1859, then under 
Defiance up to 1875, then to Edgerton up to 1903, then to Hicksville up to 1907, 
then again to Edgerton to 1923. Edgerton became a mission in 1901 and a 
circuit in 1912. 

In 1881 the first ch\irch (frame) 32 x 46 feet was built on a stone foundation 
with a small belfry and bell. A. R. Shafer was the pastor. It was dedicated 
December 20, 1881, by D. S. Oakes, substitute for M. Krueger, P. E., who was ill. 
Over $300.00 was raised on dedication day. In 1881 the schoolhouse was closed 
against our people. They were not well-to-do. Building a church was a great 
undertaking. In December, 1881, after dedication, S. S. Albert held a revival 
here resulting in 35 conversions and 26 accessions. Thus God's approval was 
given. The progress of this society has been rather slow, partly due to three 
similar denominations working here in close proximity. The worship became 
.English about 1890. There has been a Sunday School maintained from the 
beginning. This class furnished four ministers; Henry Maier in 1861. He be- 
came a Civil War Veteran in 1864. See Vol. I. Rob. Rainey in 1882; G. F. 
Zuber, in 1896, son-in-law to R. R., and Schuyler D. Rainey, son of R. R., in 
1904. 

OLIVE CENTER, INDIANA 

This class was near New Paris. In 1884 when D. Martz held a meeting here 
in September, four persons were reclaimed. 

OAKWOOD, OHIO 

This class lies five miles east of Bryan, Ohio. In the spring of 1922, H. S. 
Berger of Edgerton Circuit, took up this abandoned M. E. community. He 
held a revival meeting here resulting in a score of conversions. In April, 1922, 
his successor, R. L. Haley, organized a society with 11 members. He held a 
revival in the winter of 1923 when more united with the Evangelical Church. 
The old M. E. Church property was bought for $225.00. Some repairs were 
made and the church was dedicated by S. LI. Baumgartner, P. E., April 29, 1923, 
as the Oakwood Church. We have a good frame church here with circular pews 
in it. It has a corner tower with bell, and a pulpit recess, a total value of 
$3,000.00. 

OLNEY, PRAIRIE CLASS, ILLINOIS 

The work of the Ev. Association in Richland Co., Illinois, had its beginning 
in what was known as "Grand Prairie" about three miles N. E. of Olney. This 
was in 1842 when Chr. Augenstein of the Ohio Conference served here. He 
preached in private homes. He had great opposition. In 1843 the Ohio Con- 
ference took up this community as a mission which embraced Wabash, Edwards, 

ISS 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Richland, Lawrence, and Clarke Counties in Illinois, and Dubois County, In- 
d-ana. Chr. Lintner and A. Nicolai were the first missionaries. Under their 
hhor Henry Zwallen was converted to God and was the first to join the Ev. 
Association. Before going to the Conference session in 1844 Zwallen was asked, 
"Is it worth the effort to continue here?" He begged that efforts might con- 
tinue one more year. It was done and fruits began to show'. A. Nicolai and 
G. G. Platz were now pastors. The Illinois Conference was organized to which 
this mission now belonged. Souls were saved each year and joined the church. 
Prayer meetings were held without a regular organization. In 1845, by dividing 
this mission, Olney and vicinity became a part of Mt. Carmel Circuit. Simon 
Tobias and Ph. Bretsch were the pastors. They organized a society with the 
following members: Henry Zwallen's, Chr. Weiss', Chr. VonAllman's, C. 
Schwartz's, and B. Willeman's. Zwallen was the first class-leader. Their serv- 
ices were often very spiritual. Outsiders freely indulged in mockeries and Sa- 
tanic revenges. In 1846 J. G. Miller and J. Trometer were pastors; 1847, Wm. 
Fichte. Sickness compelled him to resign. Then Chr. Glaus took his place. 
Some souls were saved and joined church. In 1848 C. Glaus again was pastor. 
In 1849 this field was divided, the northern part becoming Marshall Charge, 
Ohiey remaining with Mt. Carmel Circuit. S. Dickover was pastor; 1850, H. 
Ragatz. A church was now the great need. The undertaking was great but it 
was built and dedicated in May, 1851, presumably by Geo. A. Blank, P. E. In 
the 1851 session of Conference, Geo. Messner, and J. F. Wolf were appointed, 
who served both fields, Mt. Carmel and Marshall. Many souls were converted 
in this church, but later the work centralized in Olney and this class was dis- 
continued and the church was sold. 

OLNEY, FOX RIVER CLASS 

This class was about three miles west of Olney. LI. Feuchts lived here. It 
was organized in 1853 by P. Burgener. It never had a church building. Several 
camp-meetings were held here. 

OLNEY CITY SOCIETY 

The organization of this society resulted from an influx of members of the 
above two classes in 1853. At this time the Mt. Carmel Circuit was divided and 
the northern part became Olney Mission with P. Burgener, assigned. With a 
depressed spirit and fear he took up the task. He had 13 conversions and 14 
accessions. Then he organized a society with the following members: P. P. 
Bauer (class-leader) and wife; Chr. Hcim and wife; Mr. Huegel and wife; John 
Bohren, son and wife; and Minnie Schwebel. Later Ameter's, Stahley's, and 
Zimmerly's moved in from Grand Prairie, and Guyot's from Little Wabash, \J. 
Feuchte from Fox River, Yelch's from Marshall and Volmer's from Big Creek 
i^farshall Circuit, and Nuding's from Ohio. 

186 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

The first quarterly conference held in Prairie Class consisted of Chr. Glaus, 
P. E., P. Burgener, P. C, C. Schwartz, and P. P. Bauer, class-leaders, Ulrich 
Feuchte and H. Zwallen, exhorters. The second one was held in OIney in a 
schoolhouse. This meeting- resulted in six saved and 14 accessions. At the close 
of this year's work, $700.00 was secured for a church in town. A lot was bought 
from P. P. Bauer. In March, 1854, work began, but the building was not finish- 
ed until July IS, 1855, when it was dedicated as "Emmanuel Church" by S. Dick- 
over, P. E. In 1854, P. Burgener was returned. He conducted a catechetical 
class, and some of the catechumens were converted during this year, to his great 
joy. There was prejudice against such work, fearing it would lead to mere con- 
firmation, but this fear gradually vanished. A parsonage also was built this 
year, and was constantly in use until 1885. It appears, however, that in 1862 
Wesscler bought the house and moved it east beyond the present grist mill 
where it continued to be used as a preacher's home to above date. 

In June, 1855, B. Ruh was pastor; 1856, Jos. Fisher and C. Wessling. They 
served this field jointly with Mt. Carmel. In 1857-58, J. Fuchs served this charge 
with D. Bartholomew and C. Kohlmeier first year. They served Olney, ]\It. 
Carmel and Carmi fields together. In 1858 Olney was alone. A cainp-ineeting 
was held this year in July, four miles N. W. from here on Laur's farin, and also 
i:i August, 1859. In 1858 a church bell was installed and the church debt paid 
in full. C. Heim received quarterly conference license January 22, 1859. In 
Jr.ne, 1859, Olney was made a circuit with C. Wessling, pastor. He had SO con- 
versions and 53 accessions; 1860, C. Kohlmeier was pastor. At the 4th quarterly 
conference Jacob Grueneisen of Olney and C. F. Matthias of West Salem were 
licensed as preachers on probation. In 1861-62 Wm. Wesseler served this place. 
In August, 1862, a camp-meeting was held on the farm of Bro. Bushone, three 
miles from town. 1863, Geo. Schmoll. In 1864 Olney was served with Mt. Car- 
mel by H. L. Fisher and A. Parker; 1865, J. Berger. He had great success. 
1866-67, C. Glaus; 1868-69, J. M. Kronmiller; '70-72, J. Kaufman. Many were 
saved and the present church lot was bought and the third year Olney was made 
a station. 1873-74, C. Tramer. 1875-77, Wm. G. Braeckly. The last year was 
only six months due to the organization of the South Indiana Conference. He 
compiled the historj' of Olney up to date. The second church (brick) was built 
in 1877. It was dedicated September 30, '17 , by Bishop T. Bowman. The cost 
of the church was $12,000.00. The size was 45 x 75 feet with a tower 137 feet 
high and an 840-lb. bell. In the rear are two galleries, one on each side of the 
tower and two class rooms below. $2,100.00 was raised on dedication day. He 
bad 26 conversions and accessions. 

In 1878 M. Speck was pastor; "79-80, J. C. Young; '81-83, H. Schleucher: 
'84-85, Wm. G. Braeckly again. A parsonage was built in 1884 costing $842.00. 
The Conference voted the society $600.00 to apply on the $900.00 church debt. 
1886-87, W. L. Luehring served here. In his second year English preaching wa^ 

187 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

introduced for everj- alternate Sunday evening. 1888-89, E. R. Trover was pas- 
tor. 38 were saved and joined church. 1890, Wm. Koenig; '91-92, E. Bohlander. 
He resigned soon after Conference session in the second year, and C. Kohhiieier 
filled the vacancy; 1893-94, F. Rausch. On May 18, '93, the society voted SO to 7 
for English evening services. This was ratified by Q. Conference. In Feliruary, 
1894, Rausch reported 36 saved and 22 accessions. '95-97, Geo. Roederer. He 
had 74 conversions and 50 accessions. The Y. P. A. and S. S. bought, in 1895, 
a $300.00 organ. In 1896 the Ladies' Aid Society enlarged the class-rooms. In 
the fall of 1897 the Louisville District Y. P. A. convention was held here, fol- 
lowed by a revival resulting in 34 conversions and 22 accessions. 1898-99, D. B. 
Koenig. In '98 Olney became the second time a station. Koenig had 42 con- 
versions. He improved the church and the parsonage during his second year, 
and organized a W. M. S. 1900-02, B. Schuermeier, who had 26 accessions. The 
church tower was struck by lightning and was then lowered to its present height 
for $144.00. '03-04, D. D. Spcicher. J. M. Haug died in the fall of 1904, and 
Speicher was elected in his place for the district, and N. J. Platz and C. Kohl- 
meier took pastoral charge. It became a mission again in 1904. '05-07, M. W. 
Sunderraan. The German Sunday A. M. worship now entirely ceased. In 1906 
Bompus was served with Olney. A furnace was installed this year. The par- 
sona.ge was remodelled. A Alen's S. S. class was organized. Sunderman had 
many conversions and accessions. Olney was again made a station in 1907. 
'08-12, A. B. Haist. In all he had 69 conversions and 53 accessions. Electric 
lights were installed, graded S. S. lessons were introduced; a piano was bought 
by the Y. P. A. and the Ladies' Aid re-decorated the auditorium. In 1911 an 
orchestra was organized; cement walks built and the church building fund start- 
ed. In 1913-14, M. W. Sunderman again. The parsonage was enlarged and 
modernized. '15, C. P. Maas. The woodwork of the parsonage was repainted. 
'16 17, H. E. Eberhardt. The first year the parsonage was raised, and basement 
cemented, and a cement porch added, and other needed repairs made, all at a 
cost of $700.00. Eberhardt introduced the duplex envelope system for support. 
'18-23, J. W. Thomas. His administration was marked with progress and had 
up to 1923, 39 conversions and 52 accessions. Olney belonged to the following 
districts: 1852-70, Wabash; 1871-75, to Evansville; 1876-92, to Olney; 1893-07, to 
Louisville; '08-09, Evansville; 1910, to Indianapolis. 

OTTS, SOLOMON'S CREEK, SALEAI 

John Hall was the first Evangelical preacher that visited this place in 1842. 
This society lies two miles south of Benton, Elkhart Co., Indiana. On a Sunday 
in November, 1843, Geo. A. Blank and Daniel Kern held a meeting here. As 
yet there were no members here. They were however hopeful. This territory 
then belonged to Ft. Wayne Mission of the Indiana District of the Ohio Con- 
ference. In May, 1844, at the organization of the Illinois Conference, it became 

188 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

a part of it, with Geo. A. Blank and S. Tobias, pastors. In 1S45 when Ft. Wayne 
Mission "was divided into St. Clary's Mission, and Elkhart Circuit, this place 
st,a}'ed with the latter field. The dividing line was running north and south, a 
little west of Huntington and Kendallville. Geo. G. Platz organized this class 
(Salem) February 1846, with 15 members. Samuel Ott and wife, Jacob Ott and 
wife, Michael Ott, John Ott and wife, John Black and wife and daughter, James 
Rookstool were the members. (Three missing.) In 1846 Platz and Wm. Kolb 
were pastors. The first church, 30x30 feet, was now built and dedicated Octo- 
ber 18, '46, by A. B. Schafer as Salem Church, it was the second one in the Ev. 
Association in Indiana, the first one being in E. Germantown. On Saturday, 
Oct. 17, the first service was held in it, and the meeting continued until Wednes- 
day. Sinners were saved, and jointly with the dedication, the Lord's Supper 
was celebrated amidst much weeping. Believers were quickened in spiritual life 
and reconsecrated themselves to God. L'nity of spirit prevailed. Just a year 
before had occurred the first conversions here. This church was replaced bj' a 
massive brick building in 1874. Dimensions were 36x54 feet. It had a high 
tower and good bell, and furnace. This was dedicated January 17, 1875, by 
Bishop R. Dubs. He reported, "To date I have not seen a more beautiful coun- 
try church anywhere in the Ev. Association." $2,000.00 was needed. One broth- 
er pledged SI. 000. 00 and one $900.00, these were big sums for this time. 

In May, 1847, a "Big Meeting" was held here by A. B. Schafer, P. E., and 
pastors, C. Glaus and Wm. Fichte, resulting in some saved. In 1848, S. Dick- 
over and B. Uphaus; '49, G. G. Platz, Geo. }ilessner and B. L'phaus; '50, J. J. 
Esher and J. F. Wolf and C. Augenstein, P. E. This year the first parsonage, 
20x28, was built by order of Q. Conference. It was the parsonage until 1875. 
It was repeatedly occupied by two families. It had four rooms until D. S. Oakes 
and J. K. Troyer together moved into it. They added each a room, and thus 
peacefully lived under the same roof. This historic building still stands on the 
old site. 

On November 30, 1852, Esher began a meeting here. The Lord was present 
with great power the first night. On Saturday many were at the altar, Sundav 
night the spiritual power was overwhelming, preaching had to cease, meeting 
lasted day and night with brief intermissions. All secular work that could wait 
was dropped. There were IS conversions and 10 accessions. Esher reported, 
"I never before enjoyed such a joyful communion with God". He characterized 
this meeting for the circuit as "Elijah's rain on the parched land of Israel". In 
1851, J. H. Ragatz and Jos. Fisher; 1852, Jos. Fisher and B. Ruh. At the close 
of this year Fisher revised all the class-books for his successor. Members then 
were: Michael Ott, leader; Jacob, Margaret, John, Ellen, Samuel, Anna Kath- 
arine, Emelia, Susan, and Lucinda; Levi Alaway; Fr. Black, exhorter, and John, 
Magdalena, Sally, Isabell, Susan; Peter and Susan Darr; Martha and Susan 
Kiston; Nimrod and Anna Pricket; John and Sophia Kiston; John and Kath. 

189 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Eookstool; Jacob, George, Mary, Michael, Katharine, and Daniel Ott; Marg., 
Kath. and John Rookstool; J. W. Hire. Fisher characterized them as "a fine 
society, some are working earnestly for the Lord, but some of the younger are 
lukevvarm". The society was divided into two classes, the second one being 
three miles south of the parsonage and worshipped in a schoolhouse near to 
Mike Ott's where only English was preached. At the church there w-as some 
English preaching. 

For pastors up to 1871, see Elkhart Circuit. In 1872 it became a part of 
Benton Circuit with P. Roth and A. Geist, pastors. In 1873-74, Adam Hartzler; 
75-77, Fr. Launer; 78, D. S. Oakes; 79, it was added to New Paris Circuit 
where one finds list of pastors up to 1899, when the members here were merged 
with Syracuse Society. On October 18, 1896, it held a semi-centennial anniver- 
sary service with D. S. Oakes, P. E., as speaker. He said, "Just 50 years ago on 
tliis date and place, the first church of the circuit and of the Ev. Association 
in Northern Indiana was dedicated. Of the 15 charter members there remained 
Michael Ott, Sr., 83 years old, and Michael Ott, Jr., 68 years old. This society 
nas the nucleus for our work in Northern Indiana. Here, until 1875, was the 
parsonage for Elkhart Circuit, planned by J. J. Esher. Up to 1896 the Elkhart 
Circuit was divided and subdivided into 25 charges and nearly 50 churches." In 
the afternoon a short history of the society and work was given by O. Also 
testimonies and tributes were given by the members and descendants of pioneers, 
interspersed' b}' the singing of inspiring songs. It was a blessed day. In the 
evening an interesting Y. P. A. meeting was conducted by Mrs. Orpha Maurcr 
of New Paris, followed by another sermon. 

.'\t the session of 1899 the society petitioned Conference to permit them to 
sell the church and use the proceeds for building a new church in Syracuse, In- 
diana. This was granted. The members here were merged with Syracuse So- 
ciety which was organized by J. J. Wise, pastor of New Paris Circuit, just before 
the Conference sessions of 1900. The reason for this transfer grew out of the 
fact that the old members had died, and many of the younger ones had moved 
away, and chiefly because the U. B. Church had wedged itself into this commu- 
nity previously with a church within a stone's throw of ours for proselyting at 
our expense. Thus the field was divided, and the work made hard. The church 
was sold to the Dunkard Brethren. For further history see Syracuse. 

An Incident: At the Conference session held here in 1855 the stationing 
committee was about to read the report, when the sudden appearance of a strang- 
er halted proceedings. He handed a document to the Bishop, who read it, and 
then handed it to the presiding elders. The committee retired once more. This 
s< ranger had just arrived from Philadelphia, Pa., where he had applied for work- 
in the Penn. Conference. Not being needed there, he was told to go to the In- 
diana Conference. He had on a satin vest and wore a "goatee" beard. Men in 
lliese days were to be clean shaven. While the committee was out, this stranger's 

190 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

appearance received some consideration by the waiting members. "Goatees" 
vere not supposed to be worn by converted men. One Peter G. was very em- 
phatic against such things. But when the stationing report was read, the man, 
C. Wesshng, was stationed with Peter G. on St. Marys Circuit. Peter hung his 
head. He did not want this man for colleague. He left the session without 
signing the proceedings, or saying a word to his young colleague. Wessling had 
come from Basel, Switzerland, where he had attended a theological school. He 
had a hard time to get started in the ministry, but by hard study he became very 
proficient and successful and was later sent to Texas as a missionary of our 
denomination. 

A Serious Episode: At a camp-meeting in 1854, at Ott's, one night the 
devil let his imps loose in the personnel of a rough gang of men, after the close 
of the night service. The people had retired when this gang broke in upon the 
encampment, cutting tent-ropes and setting fire to the tents. M. W. Steffcy and 
S. Dickover, watchmen, aroused the sleeping men for help to catch some of the 
intruders, and tie them with ropes and straps. The ringleader tried to throw a 
club at Steffey, but missed him and hit one Klein, who fell to the ground un- 
conscious. Another of the gang j'elled out, "Lacy, you hit the wrong man", and 
all made their escape. But the next day Lacy was arrested and arraigned before 
a civil magistrate and was heavily fined. Lacy sought revenge on Steffey and 
Dickover, but failed in his wicked intentions. Shortly afterwards the civil au- 
thorities sought him for attempted horse-stealing. He eluded them, and left the 
community and there was no further disturbance. 

PARIS, INDIANA— POSEY CO. 

This class existed already in 1853 when B. Uphaus preached here in the 
homes of Miller's, Brown's, Earth's, Riehm's, Schneck's. Later this field name 
was made Stewardsville, which is five miles N. E. of New Harmony, Indiana. 
See under last name. 

PERU, INDIANA 

Fr. Geisel of Waupecong Mission, in 1854, states in ChristUche Botschaftrr 
that he preached in Peru, but that only a fev/ attended though many Germans 
lived here. Later this city was again taken up by Bunker Hill pastors, as an 
appointment in the home of Mr. Ulrich, a wagon-maker, who moved here from 
Iowa. S. H. Baumgartner was the last one to preach here in 1890. By request 
of the family he quit due to the fact that U. became a "hobbyist" on Christ's 
second coming, and insistently brought up the subject after the close of each 
service. This greatly embarrassed the family, and therefore they made the above 
request. Previous to this time some preaching was done by our pastors, two 
and three miles W. of Peru in the Spangler neighborhood. 

A number of Evangelical families having moved into and near Peru in 1897- 
98. J. 'Wales of Logansport, Indiana, held religious services here early in 1898 

191 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

!>>■ instruction of his P. E., J. H. Evans, on every alternate Sunday. Meetings 
were first held in the African M. E. Church, then in the Wesleyan Church in 
North Peru. On November 26th, the society was organized in the home of Geo. 
\'anblaricom by Wales. Charter members were: Dora P. Daufel; Geo. Var.- 
lilaricom; Alva Harrington; Leonard and Susana Lippold and daughter Anna; 
Leona Crowder and Elizabeth Collins, with Vanblaricom, class-leader, and Miss 
Daufel, exhorter, and secretary of the society, and Harrington, stew^ard. The 
society named itself, "The Band of Workers". On December 6, 1898, the "Bears 
Hall" upstairs on E. Third Street, near Broadw-ay, was secured for a place of 
worship for $6.00 rent per month, and $3.00 for gas. On Sunday, December 11. 
with three Evangelicals and one other present, the first sermon was preached 
here in the hall. On Wednesday, December 14, the first prayer meeting was 
held with six present. On New-year's Day, 1899, J. H. Evans, P. E., preached 
here and encouraged the continuance of the work. The Sunday School was or- 
ganized February 19, '99, with A. Harrington, Supt. The first Sunday School 
session was held February 26 with 17 present. 

In April, 1899, Peru was taken up as a mission and E. J. Oliver became pas- 
tor, and S. H. Baumgartner, P. E. The first quarterly meeting, April 14, was a 
blessed one. Henceforth preaching was regular, twice each Sunday. On No- 
vember 23, 1899, at a society meeting, it was decided to build a church. Decem- 
ber 4th a Gospel meeting was held in the "little upper room". Estella .Stevens 
was saved, and was the first child to join church and receive the rite of baptism. 
During this year there were three conversions and six accessions. In 1900 Oliver 
wa= returned. The first Children's Day service was held this year. On August 
S. 1900, the first W. M. S. was organized. He had three accessions. On April 
7, 1901, he preached his last sermon from Matt. 28:16, "He is not here for He is 
risen". On April 8th he hastened to conference session at Berne, Indiana, where 
he was assigned to E. Germantown. On his way home in Peru he met his 
tragic death. See \'olume I. F. F. McClure became pastor in 1901. May 9th 
the society's name became "First Evangelical Church" by its own action. Trus- 
tees were now elected, namely: Geo. Lippold, Geo. Vanblaricom and F. F. Mc- 
Clure. Also a building committee, namely: Dora P. Daufel, Anna Lippold, Geo. 
Vanblaricom, Alva Harrington, Mr. McCurdy, Elizabeth Collins and Milo Baker. 
May 18th the trustees bought a lot on N. W. corner of Fifth and Water Streets 
for $1,000.00, $350.00 cash, the balance on July 1st following. September 23, 
K'Ol, the contract for a S. S. aucHtorium, on the center of the lot, was let. Jan- 
uary 12, 1902, the last service was held in the hall and January 19, their new place 
of worship was dedicated to God, by Bishop T. Bowman. The day was crowned 
with glorious success. This auditorium is 28x43 feet, built of brick with slate 
roof, artglass windows, one a memorial to Rev. Oliver, and is furnished with 
electric lights, carpets, chairs, and pulpit. The cost was $2,400.00 which amount 
was nearly all raised this day. 

192 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

A scries of Gospel meetings followed resulting- in IS accessions. In Feb- 
ruary, 1902, the society borrowed $500.00 to pay off all deljts requiring immediate 
settling. In '02-03, McClure was returned. On March 18, '03, a Y. P. A. was 
organized with 29 members. This year resulted in five conversions and 16 acces- 
sions. In 1903 he had 17 accessions. 1904, B. Schuermcier had two conversions 
and four accessions and organized a Junior Y. P. A. 1905, F. F. McClure again 
On December 21, '05, Mother Newman died, leaving by will $500.00 to the so- 
ciety towards completing the church. January, 1906, McClure conducted a re- 
vival, resulting in 37 conversions and reclamations, and 15 accessions. 1906. 
VV. E. Snyder, pastor. This year the foundation of the main church was laid 
at a cost of $585.00. 1907, S. was returned and had 14 accessions, and obtained 
the bequest of Mrs. Newman. '08, C. Harms. Due to illness he resigned in 
October, and J. L. Speicher filled the vacancy. He was returned in 1909 and 
Ijuilt the main auditorium, which was dedicated November 7, '09, by Bishop S. C. 
Breyfogel. The cost of the church was $5,487.25. $2,200.00 was obtained in cash 
and pledges on dedication day. 1910, E. C. Ewald, pastor. He worked faith- 
fully until he fell a victim of typhoid fever, March 9, 1911. C. W. Spangler fin- 
ished the Conference year. '11-14, C. P. Maas. The last year, as a result of the 
"Bob Jones Union Meeting" in Peru, he had 97 accessions, and 108 for the year 
jMeinbership was now 167. Durin.g the flood in March, 1913, the church was 
badly damaged by it, requiring a big expense to refit it for service. Through a 
general flood fund of the Conference, for all damaged churches, the repairs were 
made. This Samaritan act was much appreciated. '15-16, F. J. Stedcke. Un- 
diT his supervision the spacious modern parsonage was built on the rear end of 
the church lot at a cost of $3,000.00. On March 26, '16, closed a four weeks' 
revival, conducted by Evangelist C. A, Glass, resulting in 30 saved, 11 accessions 
The first Teachers' Training Class was graduated here this year. '17-20, C. 
Geist. Necessary improvements were made in the basement, costing about 
$700.00. 1921-22, C. Hartman. Some repairs were made. 1923, Geo. J. Long. 

PHILLIPSBURG, OHIO 

We will first give a brief history of Montgomery Mission, originally called 
Miami Circuit. It belonged to the Ohio Conference up to 1856. Services liy our 
preachers in this section began early in the forties. In 1852 J. G. Wolpert (later 
missionary to Germany) and J. Walz held a "Big Meeting" in the U. B. Church 
in Vandalia, Montgomery Co., Ohio. It resulted in a new spiritual awakening in 
(his county. The opposition was great but continued prayer and faith in Ciod 
brought victory. Souls were converted and joined the Ev. Association. 1853. 
Wolpert and Ph. Schwartz. In November a special Gospel meeting was held 
in the home of S. Seibel near Phillipsburg. Day after day penitents came to the 
altar and were saved. Another was held at S. Witmer's in Miami Co., and a 
third one in Darke Co., at Wm. Miller's, all with good results. At the last place 

193 

13 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

arrangements were made to build a church. 1SS4, Ruben Riegel and Simon 
Schwartz. 185S, Ph. Porr and Samuel Hoy. 1856 Miami Circuit was transferred 
to the Indiana Conference with J. Keiper and Peter Goetz as preachers, and A. 
B Schafer, P. E. of Whitewater District. This circuit then included Darke, 
"Nlipmi, ^Montgomery and Preble Counties in Ohio. Members in and around 
Phillipsburg as found on Porr's record were: And. Seibel (leader) and wife, and 
children, Magdalena, Elizabeth, Samuel, Eckhart, and Christopher; Henry and 
Anna E. Stockum; Elizabeth, Henry, and Mary Stuhlman; Anna C. Scheideman; 
Cath. Wittekind; John, Mary, and Mary, Jr., Hebcrling; Joseph and Lucinda 
Bartel; Henry Schafer; Elizabeth Breidenbach; Henry and Mrs. Erbe and son 
John; Henry and Mrs. Emrick; Mary Stauman; Geo. Basch; and Sabastian 
Monch. 

For pastors see Volume I. In 1859 Miami Circuit was divided into Mont- 
gomery Mission and Greenville Circuit. The same year D. Bartholomew or- 
ganized a society in Phillipsburg, which then belonged to Montgomery Mission, 
which embraced this society, Troy, Vandalia, New Hope, Eaton, Germantown, 
Ohio, Seibel's, and Witmer's, etc. In '65 the mission became a circuit now in- 
cluding Harrisburg and Schring's Classes. In 1868 it belonged to a circuit with 
Richmond Mission, served jointly with it by Jos. Maier. 1873-75, New Hope, 
Glucks, Richmond and ^tiller's Classes were detached from the circuit, leaving 
with it Phillipsburg. In '92 this circuit was now divided into Greenville and 
Phillipsburg !\Iission. '16, W. H. Mygrant served; '17-18, E. D. Haley; '19, C. 
Coverstone; '20, B. C. Earhart; '21, P. S. Speicher; '22, B. R. Hoover; '23, W. 
Zimmerman. 

In 1861 a parsonage was built in New Hope, Ohio, costing $300.00. On Jan- 
uary 15, '82, the church at this place was dedicated to God by C. C. Baumgart- 
ner, P. E., jointly with a quarterly meeting. The present parsonage in Phillips- 
burg was bought 1881 for $190.00, and has since undergone extensive repairs and 
improvements. The society is small from lack of unanimity, aggressiveness, and 
determination. A small S. S. is maintained here. The field is somewhat limited. 

PIERCETON, INDIANA 

This class was five miles north of Pierceton, Kosciusko Co., Indiana. It 
was also known as "Calvary" and belonged to N. Webster Charge. The class 
was founded in the summer of 1869 as a result of a protracted meeting held here. 
A church was built and dedicated December 25, 1870, by Editor R. Dubs. $700 
was needed on dedication day. The weather was cold and snowy. The preach- 
ing was in English. Moses Beyers and Father Klein were present, each giving 
$50.00. Dubs reported, "It was understood that a certain sister denomination 
should have the use of the building if she helped to pay the debt. At first the 
Baptist friends hesitated to help, rather assuming that the Albrights could not 
pay for it, and that they could then get it cheaply. But to their surprise they 

194 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

saw already in the morning that the debt was going to be covered, and so to- 
wards the last in the evening service these people hurriedly helped to cover the 
balance so they could claim the use of the church. Why the class ceased to 
function is not fully known. In 1891 the church was ordered to be sold and the 
proceeds to be applied to the building of a parsonage on N. Webster Mission. 
In 1893 the church was sold to the Baptist people for $135.00. The same pas- 
tors served here as in N. Webster. 

PLE.A.SAXT PLAINS, ELKHART CO., INDIANA 

This class about two miles east of Elkhart was taken up by M. W. Steffey 
in 1853, but it never developed sufficiently to warrant continuance. 

PLEASANT VALLEY, OR BLACK OAK, FULTON CO., IND. 

Pleasant \'alley Class has mostly belonged to Rochester Circuit. In 1887 
J. Wales took up this appointment known as "Black Oak" Schoolhouse (Dist. 
No. 4). Meeting with encouragement he organized a class composed of Daniel 
Struckman and wife, Isaiah Goss and wife, Oscar Baldwin and wife, Wm. Paul- 
son and wife, Mrs. Tohn Cnmmings, Mr. Gaskel and wife, Laf. Fenstcrmaker 
and wife, Wilson Bolls and wife. First it belonged to Twin Lake Circuit. The 
first board of trustees were elected January 31, 1887. They were W. Bolls, I. 
Goss and Wm. Paulson. The church was Ijuilt in 1887. D. S. Oakes was to 
dedicate it August 14. 1)Ut due to heavy rains it was postponed to September 4, 
and was dedicated by A. O. Raber of Rochester, Indiana. Only a small sum 
was needed to cover the debt. This class had a Y. P. A in 1893. Fel^ruary, 1894, 
it had a membership of 85. By many removals and lack of spiritual depth, the 
society dwindled to a much smaller membership. The class was discontinued 
in 1905 and the members were merged with Rochester Society. In 1909 the 
members of this communit\" were again reorganized and detached from Roches- 
ter Station and attached to Rochester Mission. In 1913 it was added to Culver 
Circuit, but in 1915 it was again merged with Rochester Circuit. This class is 
still existing, but is small from lack of permanent farmers here, and spiritual 
indiil^erence of many who lived here. For pastors see Grand View. 

PIQUA, OHIO 

There was a class near here in the fifties, and belonged to Miami Circuit 
in Ohio. It, however, was short-lived. 

PORTLAND, INDIANA 

E. R. Troyer claimed to have been the first Evangelical preacher that 
preached m Portland, which was in 1873, while he served Greenville Circuit, 
which then included Bethel, south of Ft. Recovery; Emmettsville, west of Ridgc- 
ville, and Haley's, N. E. of Portland. The work around Portland had continued 

195 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

from 20 years before. But in 1885 Portland Mission was established erabracint,' 
Bethel, Haley (Zion) and Pleasant Plain, L. S. Fisher, pastor. The work in 
Portland was brought about by Evangelical members moving into the city. 
These, Fisher organized into a society, and also organized a S. S. Worship was 
in an upstairs hall. This was inconvenient for old people. To build a church 
here was a herculean task. In 1886 Portland City was alone. L. S. Fisher was 
returned. Before the year closed he was appointed by the board of missions to 
go to Oregon as a missionary. He was succeeded in Portland by his brother, 
I. B. Fisher, for 1887-88. 1889-90, W. H. Brightmire. June 24, 1889, the build- 
irg of a brick church was undertaken, and was ready for dedication January 24, 
1890. Bishop T. Bowman officiated. The size was 40 x 65 feet, with a corner 
tower with entrance, two class-rooms and gallery. The cost, e.xclusive of lot, 
was $4,500.00. The society's accrued interest in a Building and Loan Associa- 
tion of $1,000.00 was now drawn and applied to the church debt. The dedication 
day was extremely discouraging as it rained all day. People stayed at home. 
The pastor was prostrated from over-work. But nevertheless, the Lord dispelled 
fear from the people's hearts. James Graves, not a member, gave noble finan- 
ical aid and besides collected between $600.00 and $700.00. The building com- 
mittee was composed of the pastor, and Wm. and John Easterdaj'. '91-93, F. E. 
Zechiel. He closed a revival in February, 1894, with 46 conversions and the 
year with 54 accessions. For ministers from '94-15 see Volume I. In 1896 the 
membership was 139, and the S. S. was the second largest in the city. A Y. P. A. 
and a Band of Hope was organized. The field was attached to Indianapolis 
District in 1899. F. S. Erne, '07-08, had a great loss of membership. In 1907 a 
parsonage was bought which added greatly to the convenience of the incoming 
pastor. But soon, due to heavy indebtedness, and reduced membership, and 
remodelhng of the church costing $2,000.00, the parsonage had to be sold to 
pay the church debt. L. E. Smith enlarged the gallery and pulpit rostrum, re- 
seated the church with circular pews at a cost of $1,000.00. '15-17, J. H. Arndt; 
'IS, R. Gaunt, who resigned before the year was up. 1919-22, F. B. Walmer. 
Both Arndt and Walmer labored praiseworthily. '23, C. H. Burgener. This 
society sent out the following men to preach: John Rees, 1888; W. H. Stowell, 
1909; E. D. Haley, 1912; Geo. W. Shanyfelt, 1923. 

PORTLAND CIRCUIT— BEAR CREEK 

This class was organized about 1880 by E. T. Hochstettlcr. Charter mem- 
bers were: Wm. Metzncr and wife, Edw. Pape and wife, Sam. Jones and wife, 
Geo. Flauding and wife, Henry Flauding, George Logan and wife. For some 
years prior services were held in an unfinished church. But it was finally fin- 
ished and was dedicated October 30, 1881, by C. C. Baumgartner, P. E., as 
"Bear Creek Chapel". Tlie scats were rough benches, the walls had only one 
coat of plaster, and the exterior was boarded up with rough unpainted boards. 

196 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

The people here were first memljcrs of another denomination, bnt 1880 united 
(including propertj') with the Evangelical Association. Later some of these 
people, becoming dissatisfied, re-united with their former church, and it became 
questionable whether the Ev, Association could hold the property. A litigation 
was instituted. The court decreed that two-thirds of the church should belong 
to the Ev. Association and the other one-third, by order of court, was bought 
bv our people for a nominal sum. But the church was greatly out of repair and 
had little value for a place of Worship. Jones, Metzner, Crassly and others, 
with the pastor, D. J. Pontius, secured the means to finish the church. Many 
souls were saved here. This class has given the church J. \V. Aletzner for the 
ministry and Mrs. E. H. Baumgartner as a niinister's wife. The same pastors 
served here as at Zion, except from 1889 to '91, when it belonged to Berne Cir- 
cuit. In 1921 it, with Pleasant Hill and Pleasant Plain Ijecame Portland Circuit 
with Elmer Smith, pastor, who served six months and then went to the E. T. S. 
In 1922 the charge was named Bryant Circuit with F. J. Stedcke, pastor, who 
had served it the latter half of Smith's year. Stedcke was returned in 1923. 

PORTLAND CIRCUIT— BLACK APPOINTMENT 

This appointment was near Jay City in Jay Co., Indiana. A church was 
built here in 1879 and was dedicated by C. C. Baumgartner, P. E.. of Indianapolis 
District, April, 1881. The class then belonged to Creenville Circuit and was 
served by Fr. Launer. In 1885 it belonged to Portland Mission, L. S. Fisher, 
pastor. The time of abandonment is not found. 

PORTL.^ND CIRCUIT— PLEASANT HILL 

This society was organized by I. B. Fisher of Portland Mission in 1887 with 
H members: Jonas Hartzel and wife, Allie and Eva Hartzel, Geo. Haley and 
wife, Minnie Haley, Sam. Stroube, Evert and Delia Artman, John Edmundson, 
Thomas and Celestie Gellespie and S. J. Eye. He also took the first step to 
secure a lot and pledges for a church. In April, 1888, the building of the church 
began and it was dedicated by Bishop R. Dubs, July 8th. Occasional repairs 
and improvements were made. A tower from the bottom up was built in 1923. 
The society has maintained a Sunday School from the beginning. The .growth 
of this society has been slow due to removals and other causes. The same min- 
i-'ters served here as at Zion, except when it belonged to Portland Mission and 
since 1921 to Portland and Bryant Circuit. 

PORTLAND CIRCUIT— PLEASANT PLAIN 

This class was taken up at the Gagel Schoolhouse and was organized 1886 
by L. S. Fisher. In 1888 a frame church, 30x46 feet, was built costing $1,200.00, 
and was dedicated September 23d by Pastor Timothy Carroll, assisted by W. H. 
Brightmire. The charter members were: Henry Sowers and wife, with children. 

197 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Thomas, Lillj', Jacob and Franklin; P. Mellinger and wife; Geo. Hanlin; Geo. 
Hanlin, Jr.; Henry Sockrider and wife; Jacob Young and wife; Geo. Snyder 
and wife; Adam Grille and wife; Rachael Grille; Etta McLowell and Nancy 
McConaha. This society in 1921 remained with Portland Circuit, 1922 it was 
with Ft. Recovery Circuit, and 1923 to Bryant Circuit. This society from the 
beginning maintained a Sunday School. Slow progress is made here. 

PORTER, INDIANA 

In January, 1921, S. H. Baumgartncr, P. E., of Elkhart District, received 
word through Rev. J. Nycc of Dearborn, Michigan, of the Michigan Conference, 
that a few Evangelicals from there had some years before moved to Porter, In- 
diana, and had joined the Congregational Church, Init not being satisfied de- 
sired the Evangelical Church to take up this place as a Gospel field. B. imme- 
diately opened communication with a Mr. Brockmiller who years before was a 
member in our church in aljove place. Arrangements were made with him to 
have the vacant pulpit in the Congregational Church, supplied In' ministers o[ 
the Ev. Church. Four Sundays were given to this place prior to the Indiana 
Conference sessions in April, 1921, namely, O. O. Lozier, I-. E. Smith of the 
Indiana Conference, and J. D. Abel of Naperville, Illinois, and the aljove named 
P. E. These all inspected the work on their respective visits to this place and 
all were favoraljly impressed with tlie outlook. The P. E. entered into an 
agreement with this Congregational society, namely; That the Indiana Confer- 
ence of the Evangelical Church supply them with a pastor for 1922, on condition 
that the}' pay hinr a salary not less than .$100.00 per month, and moving ex- 
penses; that the Conference loan this congregation $100.00 to $200.00 at the ex- 
piration of six months, out of the Missionary Society, the same to be refunded at 
the close of the Conference year. But if this congregation decides to unite witli 
the Indiana Conference of the Ev. Church in compliance with the "Trust Clause" 
governing our church properties, then this loan need not be refunded. And that 
this congregation shall have "semi-annual visits from the P. E. of the Elkhart 
District, and that the pastor shall be allowed to attend the Oakwood Park Con- 
vention for one week and the Annual Conference session, without discount of 
salary. This agreement was ratified by the Annual Conference. 

November 27, 1922, a congregational meeting was legally called by this 
congregation to consider the feasibility of uniting with the Ev. Church. J. AV. 
),Ietzner, P. E., and S. H. Baumgartner, P. E. of Elkhart and Ft. Wayne Dis- 
tricts, respectively, were present by invitation. After due consideration this con- 
gregation voted unanimously to unite with the said Conference, of the Ev. 
Church on the proviso that said Indiana Conference pay the remaining debt on 
the church property, plus the accrued interest on this debt for the last 30 years, 
all amounting to $1,400. This proposition was accepted by the Conference, May, 
1923. Thus this society became the property of the Indiana Conference, valued 

198 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

at $3,000.00, plus the parsonage valued also at $3,000.00. J. D. Abel was sta- 
tioned here in 1922, and returned in 1923. But desirous to go out as a singing 
evangelist he resigned his pastorate here in July, and D. E. Zechicl accepted the 
place in October of this year. This congregation came over to the Ev. Church 
with a membership of 100, and a flourishing Sunday School. Abel received about 
23 members while pastor. 

PRAIRIE, SHELBY CO., ILLINOIS 

A family, Schrader, moved on a farm just north of the present Prairie Class 
Church in 1862-63. This family belonged to the Ev. Association and became the 
nucleus of this class. Also a Mr. Augcnstein moved here in 1865. Other mem- 
bers here at this time were: Fritz's, Fleuga's, Custer's, Gasslings', Luby's, Wolf's, 
Turner's and Voight's. The class was organized in 1862 by Geo. Schmoll. 

The first church was built in 1865. In the one end was a parsonage, con- 
sisting in 1867 of two rooms; later a kitchen was added. E. Bohlandcr refused 
to live in it, and moved to Stewardson where he also did some preaching. Soon 
after this the parsonage was removed. The second church was built in 1887. 
.Since Shelby Mission ceased in 1884, it belonged to various fields, mostly Alta- 
mcnt and Campcreek. In February, 1876, N. F. Platz held a revival here. The 
meeting dragged, people became discouraged, but trusted the Lord. Finally 
the tide turned into victory, resulting in 13 conversions and 12 accessions. 

Shelby Mission was formed in 1876, embracing Wolf Creek, Prairie, Coal 
Hill. In 1885-87, it belonged to Camp Creek (Vandalia) ; '88 to Stewardson. 
In '91 the field name became Altamont. In 1898 it was back with Camp Creek; 
'08-12, to .Mtamont; '13-16, with Camp Creek; '17-19 called Stewardson; '22 to 
Erownstown; 1923 discontinued and church ordered to be sold. 

For pastors up to 1867 see Camp Creek. '68-69, J. Berger and F. Maurer, 
second year; '70-72, C. Stier; '81, F. Theiss; '82-84, M. Koehl; '88, E. Bohlander: 
'89-90, E. Braeck; '91, I. H. Griesemer; '92-94, J. H. Schnitz; '95-97, J. W. Feller; 
'02, W. E. Snyder, two years; '04, J. J. Moyer; '05-07, to Camp Creek; '08-12, 
to Altamont served by J. Mundorf one year; '09-11, J. H. Heldt; '12, J. M. Kist- 
lor; '13-16 with Camp Creek; '17-19, J. Mundorf; '20-21, supplied. 

PRETTY LAKE, MARSHALL CO., INDIANA 

This society was located about four miles west of Plymouth, Indiana, near 
the west shore of Pretty Lake. Preaching by Evangelical ministers began here 
in 1867 by B. Hoffman and S. S. Condo. A church was built either in 1868 or 
'69, and was dedicated by Bishop Jos. Long. For pastors see under Culver. 

A difficulty, in the nature of a plot, caused by a renegade preacher, namcl 
Douglas, of the M. E. Church, partly, at least, ruined this society. Like an 
Ajjsalom, he came here and captured the hearts of many people. Rev. P. Bur- 
gener, who lived here, warned the people, but to no avail. As trustee, by order 

199 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

of superiors, he locked the church against this man. But a man broke in the 
door to admit the gathered people at the door. When Rev. Albert came, who 
knew of this renegade, he exposed him. Still the majority of the people did not 
believe his statements. Someone threw a rotten egg at Albert, but missed him, 
and hit a Mrs. S. who defended Douglas. Later E. L. Kiplinger, P. E., came 
who also knew D., exposed him, and justified P. Burgener's action. Finally the 
people's eyes were opened, and they began to return to the fold, but such serious 
harm had come to this society that it never recovered. 

About this time a United Brethren P. E. bc.gan preaching in a nearby school- 
house which soon was inade<|uate to hold the people. He asked for our church, 
faithfully promising that he would not organize a society here. But by certain 
n^anoeuvers, they succeeded gcttin.g our Conference to sell them the church in 
1879 for $300.00, with a definite promise to the Evangelicals that they should 
bare half-time alternating as long as desired. This agreement was soon broken 
by them, and our people abandoned the field, and then worshipped in "Butt's 
Schoolhouse" one mile N. \\'. until 1894 when J. Rees abandoned the appoint- 
ment and the remaining membership was merged with the Trinity Church near 
Twin Lakes. In 1881 the Conference ordered that the proceeds of the sale of 
tlie church should be applied to the new Trinity Church. 

RAPP'S CLASS, KOSCIUSKO CO., INDIANA 

This class was about four miles east of Syracuse, Indiana, and was a part 
of the Benton Circuit, but in 1879 it was added to New Paris Circuit. Later it 
was added to Ebcnezer Class, six miles east of Syracuse. 

RICHMOND, INDIANA 

Richmond Mission was established in 1864, Geo. Schmoll, missionary. Some 
preaching was previously done here. '65, B. Floffman; '66-67, J. Ploffman; '68, 
los. Maier, with Montgomery; '69, alone, Maier reported, "No growth due to 
the unsightly little church built in 1865, and dedicated September 3, on 7th 
Street, close to C. Street." He said "Churches in cities should be attractive. 
Some people were more of a hindrance than a benefit to God's kingdom." In 
1^67 a lot by the church was sold for $400.00 to pay the debt on the church. 
1870-72, Richmond belon.ged to Montgomery Circuit; '73 it became a part of 
Richmond-Winchester Mission. '74-75, again a mission with a few other ap- 
pointments. The second year the church was enlarged and rededicated by J. 
Fuchs. '76, J. Wales; '77-79, G. Roederer. 1880 with E. Gcrmantown; '81-82, 
V. ith Winchester; '83, a re-established mission and supplied from E. German - 
town; '84, H. Weishaar; '85, D. D. Speichcr; '86, with Montgomery; '87, Ph. 
Orth again. By a misdeed, he ga^'e R. the final death-blow. One difficulty here 
from the start was the German language. The church was sold about 1889-90. 

In 1886, while J. Hoffman was moving from Shelby Mission here, in passing 

200 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

through IndianapoHs, was robbed at 7 P. M. in the R. R. station. The place 
was crowded. He thought of "pick-pockets" and tried to avoid them. But 
while entering the car he was met by three fellows who crowded him on all 
sides as they went out. He carried baggage in both hands. He now suspected 
no danger, only that these wild looking men wanted out. Scarcely was he seat- 
ed with the familj', when he discovered that his purse with $60-$70 was gone, 
including R. R. tickets from Indianapolis to Richmond and a $100.00 bank 
check. What was he now to do, on his trip, with his family, with only a quarter 
in another pocket, a gift from grandmother to one of his children. After many 
.good words to the train authorities, and the checks for his trunks as security, 
they were allowed to go on to Richmond. The members at R. partially re- 
imbursed him. 

RIDGEVILLE, INDIANA 

A number of families from Emmettsville Class having moved into Ridgc- 
ville, Indiana, prior to 1908, Ridgeville with Emmettsville this year was taken 
up as a mission. In February. 1908, Ridgeville Society was organized. Charter 
members were: Geo. Wise, Sr., and wife; Henry \'Yise and wife; Jacob Zimme'.'- 
man and wife: Albert Zimmerman and wife; Geo. Allman and wife and two 
daughters; Jacob Koch, wife and son; Alva Resbcrger and wife; Homar Hoff- 
man and wife; Arlie Schusler; Jiloris Smithson, wife and daughter; Wm. Zim- 
merman and wife: Jacob Youn.g, wife, son, daughter Sadie and grandmother; 
Frank Wolf; Henry May and wife. First class-leader, J. Zimmerman, and S. S. 
Supt., Albert Zimmerman. Board of trustees; Geo. Wise, J. Zimmerman and 
J. Koch. 

The brick church of the Baptists here was bought with a parsonage in Jan- 
uary, 1907, for $2,500.00, and $950.00 respectively. Repairs on church cost 
$1,000.00. In 1916 a new modern parsonage was built to the rear of the church, 
and was ready for occupancy in 1917. The old one was rented and later sold. 
L. S. Fisher, P. E., was the first Evangelical minister to preach in the town. He 
j^ cached in the M. E. Church. P. S. Speicher held the first revival in 1917. 
W. E. Snyder was the first appointed pastor and served five consecutive years, 
1908-12. He had 93 conversions and 130 accessions. He organized a senior and 
junior Y. P. A. with Lee Wilmorc first Senior and Mrs. Snyder first Junior 
president. 1913-14, J. W. Carter; '15-17, G. F. Zuber. He built the new parson- 
age. '18-19, B. E. Koenig; '20-23, C. Co\'erstone. The field is somewhat limited 
here. 

RIVER EAXK, PULASKI CO., INDIANA 

Michael Overmeyer and family moved here in 1860. Daniel Burkett and 
family had previously come from Cjhio. This class is about four miles up Tip- 
pecanoe River from YVinamac, Ind., on the east bank which gives it the present 
name. First it was known as "Zion Church". It was organized by A. Nicolai 

201 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

who served Fulton Circuit in 1859-60. It always belonged to the same field as 
Pleasant Hill Class near Bruce Lake. For pastors see Lake Bruce. Charter 
members were: Casper Prechtcl and wife, Michael Overmeyer and family, IMr. 
Wise and wife, Henry Crites and wife, Daniel Burkett and family. At first the 
preaching was at the Hackett Schoolhouse, I'/i miles south of the church. The 
church was built in 1890 by J. Wales and was dedicated by D. S. Oakes, P. E., 
June 22. The class is still weak and has no promising future. 

RIA'ER SIDE, PULASKI CO., INDIANA 

This appointment was located three to four miles from Winamac on the 
west bank of Tippecanoe River. A special meeting was held here resulting in 
some conversions and five accessions. The preaching was in a schoolhouse. A 
class was formed but was soon abandoned from want of a future. One camp- 
meeting was held here, with four saved and si-x accessions. In 1898 this class 
was transferred from Royal Centre to Bruce Lake Circuit. Later its remaining 
members formed the Geo. dreen Class, six miles south of Winamac, where a 
very small church was built by Mr. and Mrs. Green on their farm where services 
were held a few years. After his death preaching ceased here. Mr. and Mrs. 
C-reen donated their farni by will to the Indiana Conference, and made other 
large cash donations to N. W. Colle,ge and for other purposes. Due to distant 
heirs, who instituted litigation, only about half of the value of the $5,000.00 was 
realized by Conference. 

ROCHESTER, INDIANA 

Samuel Plantz, once a local preacher in Rochester Circuit, stated in his own 
biography that he was the first Evangelical preacher that preached in Rochester. 
Cither early preachers held services in Rochester occasionally. But no society 
here was organized until April 14, 1878, by D. J. Pontius of Fulton Circuit. He 
began preaching here in the fall of 1877. Only si.x members lived here then: 
Samuel Hofi^man and wife; .Tacob .\gster and wife; John Hill and wife. But 
when it was organized there were twenty-nine members. In 1916 when 
tlie last church was dedicated there lived of the charter members: Geo. J. Zach- 
man, Mrs. Henry Dukes, S. H. Hoffman, Mrs. Emil Wagoner and Mr. and Mrs. 
I.eroy Meyers. Wm. Enders was the first class-leader, elected April, 1874. S. 
H. Hoffman succeeded him in December, '78, and G. J. Zachmaii was exhorter. 

In 1879 D. J. Pontius and J. Bruckert were pastors of Fulton Circuit. P. 
did the preaching in Rochester. The society now rented the Advent Church 
:vith exclusive right for Sunday worship. The society soon decided to build a 
church and bought two lots on the S. E. corner of Jefferson and Eighth Streets 
in the heart of the city, for $800.00. Pontius now solicited funds from members 
in town, and friends, and from circuit members. When he had $1,600.00 he 
called a society meeting .September 10, 78, and elected trustees and a building 

202 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

commiUec. Trustees: J. C. Zachmau, J. Hill, S. H, Hoffman. The first two 
trustees and Pontius were the building committee. September 26, eonstruetion 
work began and was finished February 5, 1879. The church was dedicated Feb- 
ruary 16, by Bishop R. Dubs as "Trinity Church". It was 34x60 feet, had 
a front tow-cr with bell, and vestilnde, two class-rooms, one to the right and 
one to the left of it and a gallery. The church and lot cost $3,800.00. Sisters 
Plunk and Hill secured $58.90 for the bell and furnishings. $1,300.00 was raised 
on dedication day. The parsonage lot on the east was valued at $300.00. Thi^ 
lot was later sold and the proceeds applied on the church debt. This year 
closed with 40 members. 




Rochester Church, Rochester, Indiana. 



April, 1879, \Vm. Wildermuth and J. M. Dustman, pastors of Fulton Cir- 
cuit, to which Rochester belonged; 1880, J. M. Dustman and J. E. Smith who 
preached here alternately. 1881 Rochester Mission was formed of Salem, 
Kmmanuel, Burton, and Rochester, H. Arlen, pastor. In the spring of 1882 he 
secured Savilla Kring as evangelist. A five weeks' revival was held, resulting in 
40 accessions. '83-84, L. S. Fisher. The second year he reported SO accessions. 
He had to deal with "Adventism" which antagonized justification by faith so 
strenuously that the society secured Rev. D. B. Beyers of Naperville, Illinois, 
who gave a course of lectures on the Sabbath cjuestion against Adventism. He 
dealt them such Biblical blows that Adventism never recovered itself in this 
place. June 28, 1884, the first W. M. S. was organized here with 12 members, 

203 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

loviiia Newhaus, first president. In 1885, A. O. Raber. Tliis place now became 
Rochester Mission. He began with 134 mem1)ers and a flourishing Sunday 
School and four weekly prayer meetings. A revival, closing January, '86, result- 
ed in 49 conversions and 33 accessions, and a fifth prayer meeting class was 
added. The society was honored with a visit from Dr. Krecker, missionary to 
Japan, who addressed a crovided house on "Manner and Customs in Japan". 
A Church Aid Society was organized for better handling of church finances. 
This plan worked well. The year ended with S3 conversions and 60 accessions, 
and a Children's Mission Band organized. In 1886 R. was returned. This year he 
bad 55 accessions, but also a great loss by deaths and removals. Outward difficul- 
ties greatly lessened attendance, but gradually the straying members returned. A 
Young Men's Saturday Night Club was launched, lasting one year. In April, 
1887, the Annual Conference session was held here. R. was again returned. His 
labors fruited in 32 conversions and 43 accessions, one a Hebrew lad. A Bible 
Normal Class graduated 10 persons. 1888-89, H. Neff. He had 24 accessions. 
In 1889 the interior of the church received a remodelling. In 1890, D. Martz. 
He had quite an extensive revival. ./\pril, 1891. he was elected presiding elder 
an.d S. H. Baumgartner succeeded him. Rochester now became a station. An 
old church debt was wiped out. The W. M. S. was reorganized. A Y. P. A. 
v. as organized September 24, 1891, just before General Conference. He had 14 
accessions. 1892, A. S. Fisher. June 26, 1892, began a camp-meeting on the 
Fair Grounds which resulted in 30 conversions. Also Evangelist Stull held a 
successful revival here this year. Membership decreased due to many removals. 
'•^'5-98, C. W. Spangler. The third year he had 30 conversions, mostly catechu- 
m.cns. A furnace was installed, new lights put in and the church re-roofed. 

In 1899-1901, M. L. Scheidler. In September, 1900. the building of a par- 
sonage began which cost $1,200.00. In 1867 M. W. Steffey reported, "Fulton 
Circuit bought a parsonage in Rochester and now the pastors were no longer 
compelled to live with the dead at Salem in the cemetery." So this new one 
\ias the second one in this city. S. had 30 conversions and 18 accessions. '02-03, 
^V. H. Mygrant. The second year the church front was torn down and a cor- 
ner entrance with tower was built, class-rooms enlarged, walls decorated, floor 
carpeted, circular pews installed, facing east, all at a cost of $624.00, with $500.00 
on subscriptions for further repairs. Editor L. H. Seager officiated at the re- 
opening. 1904, A. Geist. 1905-06, E. Q. Laudeman. He reported, "Glorious 
success". 1907-08, L. Newman. He labored with success. 1909-11, J. H. Rill- 
ing also had commendable success. '12-13, C. A Wright. Due to illness he re- 
signed in the middle of the second year, and Wm. M. Baumgartner of Pittsburgh 
Conference, filled the vacancy. '14-17, G. C. Pullman. During the first two 
years, financial preparations were made towards building a new church. Decem- 
ber 30, 1915, at a congregational meeting the pastor reported $10,000.00 in pledg- 
es. It had been previously agreed that ■i\hcn this amount was secured in pledges, 

204 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

a congregational meeting should be called to elect a building committee. This 
committee consisted of O. F. Baldwin, H. S. Van Blaricom and E. R. Vawter. 
The church now also adopted the duplex envelop system to finance the church 
enterprises. The church was buUt and was dedicated Apr. 22, '16. Nearly $9,000 
was to be raised this day. Bishop S. P. Spreng, failing to arrive for the morning 
service, the P. E., John W. Metzner, preached the Word. After this the pastor 
presented the financial needs, the congregation rallied and responded liberally. 
At 2:30 P. Jil, the Bishop was on hand and took charge. When soliciting ceased 
HI the evening over $9,000.00 was raised and the church was dedicated. The 
structure is Romanesque in style, built with brown Chinchilla brick, trimmed in 
Bedford stone. Dimensions are 54x82 feet, fully adapted for modern S. S. 
work. Seating capacity is 650. Auditorium is lighted with indirect electric lights. 
It is heated with city steam heat. The woodwork is oak finish. It has circular 
pews, art-glass windows. The total cost of building was over $20,000.00, plus 
additional lot $1,475.00, which previously had been sold for about one-third of 
this amount. 

1918, E. Q. Laudeman; '19-20, H. E. Eberhardt. He had 59 conversions and 
62 accessions. '21-22, E. J. Nickel; '23, M. O. Herman. This society maintains 
a live Sunday School, and her other church departments are actively engaged, 
especially the Ladies' Aid, which contributed much to the financial success of 
the work here. It entertained four annual conferences, nameljf in 1884, 1887, 
1899, and 1905. But, strange to say, it has never yet recommended a minister. 

ROCKPORT, INDIANA 

This history includes Salem in Rockport and Zoar, four miles N. W. The 
history of each dates back to 1844 fand is practically identical) when A. Nicolai 
and G. G. Platz began preaching here. They held a special meeting at Zoar, 
resulting in conversions, accessions, and the organization of a class. In 1846 
J, Trometer also preached here occasionally. November 12-16, '47, Nicolai held 
a meeting at Anth. Miller's, which was one of great spiritual power. Ten souls 
were saved. Whole families were won for Christ and the church. The first 
church (log) at Zoar, "Busch Church" was built in 1850 on a lot on A. Miller's 
farm. Fr. Wiethaup, pastor. It was dedicated the same year likely l)y Geo. A. 
Blank, P. E. The second (frame) church was built in 1875 by N. F. Platz and 
dedicated this year, and for some reason rededicated Sept. 18, 1880. In 1920 this 
church was struck by lightning and consumed, and the $1,500.00 insurance on it 
was applied to the improvement of the one in Rockport in 1923. These places 
belonged to Dubois, later called Huntingburg Circuit until 1868, except one year 
ir, 1861 when it was a mission. Membership in Zoar in 1854 was Melchior 
Mayer (leader) and wife Mary; Henry Rohmig and wife; Regina Krucger 
(Maas) mother of Rev. C, P. Alaas; Marg, Bachman and daughter Marg.; Jo- 
seph and Lena Fister; Kath. Beik; George, Susan and Jacob Deschler; Anthon 

205 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

and Marg. Miller; John and Jacobin Blesch; Mother and Kath. Schumaker; 
Katharine, Henry, and Carl Maas; Magd. Blesch; Kath. and John Krueger; 
John and Sophia Fundie; Theresa Zimmerman; Fr. and Barbara Meyer; John 
Kebortz; Kath. Meyer; A.dam Long. Membership in Rockport: Aug. Sunder- 
man (leader); Henry and Marg. Niehaus; Chr. and Barbara Schumaker; Joseph 
and Christina Roth; John and Christina Rohming, and John and Christina Haas. 
In 1855 the church in town was built, being located in the N. W. corner of the 




Rockport Church, Rockport, Indiana. 

town. Prior to this preaching was in Schumaker's home. In April, 1856, the 
f.r.st quarterly meeting was held in the church yet unfinished, but, said the pas- 
tor, "It was dedicated with new-born souls". The outlook for a substantial Ger- 
man society here was then good. 1868 Rockport and vicinity were taken up as 
a mission. C. F. Matthias, pastor. In 1869 the Conference promised Rockport 
$300.00, for buying or building a parsonage, provided that it be counted to the 
mission as rent at the rate of $100.00 a year. For pastors see Volume I. In 
l.'^71-72 it was with Huntingburg. In 1873 it was a mission again. This year the 



206 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

new parsonage was built here. In 1876 it Ijecamc a part of the South Indiana 
Conference, Fr. Wiethaup, pastor; 78, C. Stier; 79 with Huntingburg; '80-82, 
alone, N. F. Platz; '83, G. M. Hallwachs; '84-85, J. M. Kronmiller; '86, E. Boh- 
lander. A new church was built in town more centrally located. '87-88, J. Mun- 
dorf with Owensboro, Ky., added; '89, Ger. Koch; '90, to be supplied; '91-92, 
J. Bruckert. After 1893 appointments were by the Indiana Conference. '16, R. 
V/ise, who resigned and the field by its own request was without a pastor; '17-19, 
Fr. Reutepoehler; '20-21, under the supervision of Linnwood Society in Evans- 
ville, Indiana. 1922 without pastor; 1923, Carl Koertge. Church was remodelled. 
The old parsonage being unfit for residence it was sold in 1907, and in 1908 
a new one was bought with adequate accommodations. From these two socie- 
ties went forth four ministers: Alel. Mayer, 1855; Chs. Koch, 1873; W. H. Fresh- 
ley, 1900; and C. P. Maas, 1902. 

ZION CHURCH, SPENCER CO., IND. 

This society was likely the same as the one called Mt. Senty or Grand View 
near the town of that name, where lived the Miller's; Meuser's; Ernst Hassel's; 
Niehaus'; Koch's; and Bachman's. A church was built here and dedicated July 
3, 1853. B. Uphaus, pastor. But it later disbanded, and merged with Zoar and 
Salem Classes, 

ROSELL, LAPORTE CO., INDIANA 

This society or appointment was one mile south of Wanatah, Indiana. A 
family named Rosina lived here who were members of the Illinois Conference, 
^.linisters from this Conference came here from the northwest, Wellsville and 
near Valparaiso to preach. The ministers of the Indiana Conference began to 
preach in the vicinity of Wanatah. Rosellc was added to the Indiana Confer- 
ence, and was served with North Liberty Mission in 1861. Soon after it was 
merged with Wanatah. 

ROYAL CENTRE, CASS CO., INDIANA 

In 1900 J. Wales began to preach in Royal Centre in a hall. A Sunday 
School and church society were organized. Charter members were: Hezekiah 
Woods, wife and sons; Mr. Bingaman and wife; Adam Justice and wife; Wm. 
House and wife. He held a revival and had some conversions and accessions 
In 1901 Fr. Lutman, then of Elkhart, Indiana, proposed to S. H. Baumgartner, 
P. "E., to remove the old abandoned church at Ford's Crossing, north of Logans- 
port, Indiana, to Royal Centre, as he did not want the church, which stood on 
a lot which was a part of his former farm there, and by law could hold the 
building, the deed for the lot having provided the same to revert to him when 
worship ceased. By a written contract that he gave to his P. E. arrange- 
ments were made at once to remove the church. A. F. Wiesjahn was pastor at 
Royal Centre. A lot had been bought in the east end of the town. The P. E. 

207 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

ordered the pastor with a force of men to go and take it down carefully and 
haul it to town for reconstruction. He did so, using IS teams and wagons well 
manned. That very night Lutman suddenly died in Elkhart. Of course, the 
wrecking of the church aroused the community at Fords Crossing, and it threat- 
ened prosecution for removing it. But it soon learned that Lutman had the sole 
right to dispose of it as he liked, and the trouble gradually quieted down. Be- 
sides, the present residents here had no money in the construction of the build- 
ing, except one man who had a little sum. L. said, "This church was built with 
Evangelical money and therefore it shall go to R. C. for an Evangelical Church." 
The P. E. laid the cornerstone on a July Sunday afternoon in 1901, briefly sta- 
ting, with his address, why the church was brought here. Bishop T. Bowman 
dedicated it later in the year as the Grace Evangelical Church. The transfer has 
proven very beneficial to our work in this town and communitj', as our success 
gives conclusive evidence. 

For pastors to 1915 see Volume I. In 1910, under S. J. Kroft, a parsonage 
was bought at a cost of $1,400.00, which is about two squares north of the 
church. 1912-16, F. B. Walmer. In 1913 he reported that 64 were at the altar, 
many were converted and joined church, and .greatly increased the Sunday 
School attendance. An enlarged church was now needed. The trustees were 
afraid to launch out. Some then resigned and new ones were elected. Before 
Conference met in 1914, several thousand dollars were secured. In August of 
this year the remodelling bc.gan and was finished and dedicated December 20, 
1914, by Bishop S. P. Spreng. The church contains a large auditorium with in- 
clined floor, circular pews, choir loft, S. S. auditorium with class-rooms and 
basement under the entire church. It has a main tower with entrance and a 
side entrance. The windows are of art-glass, the walls frescoed, the lighting is 
electrically. The trustees were: Fr. Brown, Ira Kistler, Wm. Funk, Wm. 
Pfeifer, Wm. Handschu, J. Wildermuth, and L. J. Frye. These with I. B. Beck- 
ley, Geo. Conn, and W. Feltis were the building committee. In the revival of 
1914, W. reported 61 conversions. Out of these came two men for the ministrv: 
R. L. Handschu, and Allen Dewitt. In 1915 the church debt was reduced to 
$2,700.00. The last two years he had conversions and 3Z accessions. 

In 1917-18, I. H. Griesemer was pastor. During his time the debt was re- 
duced to $800.00, of which $500.00 was covered by pledges. Zion and Mt. Hope 
were served with Royal Centre. In 1919-20, F. F. McClure served this charge. 
In July, first year, the debt on church and parsonage was paid, of which the 
Ladies' Aid paid $369.00. Second year he had B. G. Smith as evangelistic leader. 
About 30 were converted during his time here. 1921-22, J. H. Arndt was pastor. 
Salary was raised from $800.00 to $1,100.00, and the budget plan was introduced. 
He also had souls for his hire. 1923, A. W. Feller. A large live Sunday School 
i? maintained. This societj' Ijelongcd to Elkhart District 1900-06; to Indianapo- 
lis, 1907-10; to Elkhart, 1911-23. 

208 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

RUTLAND, MARSHALL CO., INDIANA 

D. Martz having moved into this locahty in 1896, organized a society here, 
with Geo. Klein and family, J. C. Meyer and family, D. Martz and family. A 
frame church was built in Rutland and dedicated December 13, 1896, by Bishop 
T. Bowman as "St. Paul's Church". The church with the lot cost $1,600.00, 
This church was started largely by non-members as the result of a Sunday 
School organization in a nearby schoolhouse. Martz preached here one night 
in the week as a P. E., which prevented him from being here on Sundays, The 
society is still small and in the balance. For pastors see under Culver and 
Hibbard. 

SALEM, ADAMS CO., INDIANA 

In 1840 a class was organized two miles east of Decatur by Geo. A. Blank. 
This vicinity had been visited in 1839 by Solomon Altimos who was the first to 
preach here. The first church was built on John Kern's' farm, and was dedi- 
cated, Feb. 22, 1857. Peter Burgener and Joshua Paulin were pastors. They 
held a meeting ilarch, 1858, at John Ahr's and Chr. Schafer's, a few miles S. E, 
of Decatur, which resulted in 12 conversions. As there were a number of peni- 
tents, a protracted prayer meeting was held in Kern's Class, as Salem was lo- 
cally known, for nine days during which time 12 were saved. Peter Wicst held a 
revival here in January, 1867, that resulted in 20 conversions and accessions. 

The second church (brick) was built in 1882 and was dedicated Dec. 24 by 
Bishop R. Dubs. It stands on a large lot bi' the cemetery. The cornerstone 
was robbed of its contents later. This year (1882) I. B. Fisher held a five weeks' 
meeting here which resulted in 18 saved and 12 accessions. S. H. Pontius had 
a victorious revival here in the fall of 1889 with 22 saved and 19 accessions. A 
Young People's Alliance was organized March 3, 1894, by R. Rainey with 17 
members. A Sunday School was organized in the early years. The society 
was originally German. Three ministers came from this society, namely, J. E. 
Stoops, 1883; E. B. Kern, 1891; and S. C. Cramer, 1896. For list of pastors see 
under St, Marys Circuit up to 1893, when it with Calvary and St. Paul, became 
Payne Mission, R. Rainey, pastor; '94-95, Wm. Reihle; '96, Ph. Buehler; '97-98, 
J. M. Smith. In 1899 it was added to Decatur Mission and served by W, H, 
Mygrant. In 1900, back to Payne, now Paulding, A. F. Wiesjahn, pastor; 1901 
added again to Decatur, In 1902, Salem, Calvary, Mt, Carmel and Bear Creek 
in Jay Co, constituted St. Marys Mission served by C. D. Ringgenberg. In 1903- 
08, merged with Decatur; '09, to Ohio City Charge; '10 to Chattanooga, E. R, 
Roop; '11-12, E, B, Jones; '13-14, J. L. Buyer; 'IS, Berne Circuit, E. E. Roberts; 
'16, E, O, Habegger; '17, J. E. McCoy; '18-21, E. H. Baumgartner, and then 
discontinued. The members were transferred to Decatur society to which place 
many had moved. The church is now used only for funeral services. 

209 
' 14 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 
SALEM OR SMITH'S, ELKHART CO., INDIANA 

This society locally known as Smith's Class, is seven miles N. W. of Elk- 
hart. First it belonged to the Indiana District of the Illinois Conference and 
vas a part of Ft. Wayne Mission until 1845 when it became a part of Elkhart 
Circuit. In 1855 it became a part of South Bend Circuit; in 1872, a part of Mish- 
awaka Circuit; in 1896, to Elkhart, South Side; in 1897, again to Mishawaka; in 
1898, back to Elkhart, S. Side; in 1901, to Mishawaka: in 1906, to Bethel Elkhart. 

Preaching began regularly in this vicinity in 1846 by Chr. Glaus and Wm. 
Fichte. They organized a class in the spring of 1847. The services were held 
in homes and in the Wahl Schoolhouse. In 1848 this class sent its first Q. Con- 
ference members, Geo. Hessig, to Q. Meeting at Mishawaka. The membership 
in 1853 was: Jacob Wahl (leader) and Anna, his wife; John Stewart (exhorter) 
and Mary, his wife; Geo. and Katharine Smith and children, Maggie, John, 
Anna, Katharine, George; Adam and Kath. Lindeman and daughter, Katie; 
Jacob Heiss and wife; Kath. Huber; Ph. and Rebecca Jackson; Peter Kiefer; 
Geo. Hessig; Mary and Nancy Buchtel; Jacob, Rachel and Jeremiah Fisher; 
Jacob and Elizabeth Frank. Harris Prairie Class: a part of Salem Class: J. G. 
Katz (leader) and wife Kate; Adam Ruth (exhorter) and wife Anna; Elizabeth, 
George, Anna M., John, Elizabeth, Jr., and Peter Kiefer; Chr. and Mary Buchcr; 
Elizabeth Gelez. There were then many Germans here. 

In 1858 the first church in this community was built, and was dedicated, 
September 5, 1858, by A. B. Schafer, P. E., Jos. Fisher, pastor. A great revival 
followed in the winter, resulting in 40 conversions and accessions, one of whom 
was David S. Oakes. In the winter of 1875-76, there was a great revival, con- 
ducted by D. S. Oakes, when 80 persons were converted and many joined 
church. People came from all directions and were saved. In the winter of 1877, 
D. S. Oakes lost three horses by death. When the second one had died he was 
too discouraged to buy another, but his friends encouraged him to try again. 
He did, but before he could make a full round this one also died. It was gener- 
ally believed that some enemy poisoned them. He was then in limited circum- 
stances. His P. E., M. W. Steffe}', then appealed to his friends through the 
church papers for aid. 

In 1904 L. Newman built a new brick church here at a cost of $6,000.00, and 
it was dedicated by Editor S. P. Spreng. In 1906 this societj', with Bethel in 
Elkhart, became Bethel Mission, C. H. Burgener, pastor also 1907; 1908-12, 
D D. Spangler; 1913-16, C. H. Hartman; '17-18, F. B. Walmer; 1919-23, J. H. 
Heldt. For pastors previous to this time see under Elkhart up to 1854; to South 
Bend and Mishawaka Circuits up to 1895, then as indicated above. 

Camp-meetings were held here from 1859-62 on Henry Thornton's farm. 
Bishop John Seybert was present at the first one, which was one of great re- 
joicing. The second one was attended by Bishop Jos. Long. This one also was 
one of great victory. At the one held in 1862, D. S. Oakes and Peter Thornton 

210 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

received Quarterly Conference license as preachers on probation. See sketch 
in Vol. I. A live Sunday School has been sustained here from an early date. 

SALEM, FULTON CO., INDIANA 

This place was served with Ft. Wayne Mission, in the Illinois Conference 
in 1844. In 1845 it became a part of Elkhart Circuit served by G. G. Platz, and 
Wm. Kolb. In 1846 it was served by C. Glaus and Wm. Fichte. On Nov. 13, 
A. B. Schafer, P. E., began a protracted meeting here in John Plunk's home. 
The attendance was fair and the attention good. Believers had a precious wait- 
ing before the Lord. A second meeting in the spring of 1847 resulted in conver- 
sions. Schafer reported, "In 1844 the outlook here was disheartening. Everj'- 
thing seemed dead. The preached Word seemed unfruitful. But in 1847 the 
moral desert became a watered garden, flooded with divine light, bringing forth 
visible fruits unto eternal life." In June, 1847, Platz, Fr. Wiethaup and H. Wel- 
dy became pastors. In 1848, S. Dickover, B. Uphaus, and P. Burgener; 1849, 
G. G. Platz, Geo. Messner and B. Uphaus; 1850, J. J. Esher (Bishop) and J. 
Wolf; 1851, P. Goetz. This place now belonged to Miami Circuit. For pastors 
from 1852 on see Akron, except 1884, and 1886, when it belonged to Tippecanoe 
and Logansport Chai"ges respectively. 

The first church (log) was built in 1851, this was then the only church on 
this field. Keiper recorded that S. Dickover preached, and dedicated the church, 
May 8, 1853. Members here then were: Geo. Spatz's, John Spatz's, Geo. Zabest's, 
Rev. Kiplinger's, Geo. Reams', Jonas and Geo. Goss. 

A camp-meeting was held in August, 1856, on Geo. Spatz's farm. The pas- 
tor said, "It was the most blessed one I've ever attended. The preaching was 
powerful. Heaven seemed to be constantly open with copious showers of bless- 
ings falling upon God's people, giving great joy." Another one was held in 
1857. In 1861 the second church (frame) was built and dedicated. Due to in- 
ternal difficulties and manifest indifference in later years the society lost out 
and the field was abandoned. In 1915 the church property was sold and the 
proceeds applied to the new church in Rochester, where many members had 
previously moved. For some years this was headquarters of Fulton Circuit, as 
the parsonage was located here. 

SANDOVAL, CLINTON CO., ILLINOIS 

A society of the Ev. Association was organized here by C. Stockhowe andl 
N. J. Platz in 1877. A few of its members were members of our church in Chi- 
cago. In 1878 C. Stockhowe was pastor again. The people here generally 
thought that he was a Lutheran preacher. He neither affirmed nor denied it. 
But when he held a revival meeting in a Methodistic fashion, and folks were un- 
der conviction and were converted, then some doubted whether he was a Luther- 
an. Upon learning that he was not, they ceased attending his services. He, 

•211 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

liowever, found access to many hearts and homes by giving their children cate- 
chetical instruction, and confirming the children's work in a public service simi- 
lar to a Lutheran confirmation service. He was returned in 1879. In 1880, 
C. F. Matthias served; 1881, C. Wessling. He invited the illwill of the Lutheran 
people by want of tact. On a certain occasion he was egged when he was on his 
way home from church. An example of his bluntness: On one occasion he went 
out into a "clearing" to see and to talk to a man who was burning brush heaps. 
A.fter greeting each other the man said to Wessling, "It is hot." W. replied. 
"Yes, and it will be hotter for you yet when yon go to hell." 1882, E. J. Nitschc 
was pastor. He imilt a church here which was dedicated, Dec. 17, 1882. In 
1883 C. F. Matthias was pastor; 1884, M. Speck, six months, then J. Mundorf, 
under Fr. Schweitzer, P. E., finished the year; 1885-86, Fr. Theiss; 1887-88, 
served with Vandalia. In 1889 it was left to be supplied, and no further record 
is found except that in 190.S the church lot was sold and the proceeds floAved into 
the Conference treasury. The church had previously been removed. 

SAN PIERRE, INDIANA— ZION SOCIETY 

Wm. Lueder was the first Evangelical minister that preached in San Pierre; 
vi'hich was in 1873. Charter members were: John Maier and wife, David Schmidt 
and wife, Abraham Gingerich, Michael Abrahams and wife, Martin Schmidt and 
wife, Carl Haberman, Carl Walter and wife. At a called meeting, this society 
met at the home of D. Schmidt, May 10, 1883, and elected trustees, namely, F. 
Weinkauf, M. Schmidt, and A. Maier. August Iwan was pastor. This society 
was organized with persons who were members of the Piethlehem Society. 
Prayer meetings and preaching services were held in private homes, school- 
houses, and groves. This society now concluded to build a church. Subscrip- 
tions were taken, amounting to $576.00. The trustees were authorized to buy a 
building site and also appointed the building committee. A small frame church 
was built, costing $630.00, the excess cost was promptly collected, and the church 
dedicated in 1884, by C. C. Baumgartner. In 1898 J. Mundorf had a gracious 
revival here with 33 saved, most of Avhom joined church. The first Y. P. A. 
was organized under J. W. Feller. A parsonage was bought in 1901 in San 
Pierre, Indiana, for $1,000.00: 

January 2, 1911, this society received a report through its trustees that they 
had bought the M. E. Church in San Pierre for $300.00. It was repaired at a 
cost of $1,334.00. Previous to the rebuilding of the church, it had been dedi- 

ated September 25, 1910, by J. O. Mosier, P. E., as the Zion Church of the Ev. 
Association. The board of trustees at this time were: Ed. Kalinkc, Aug. Schmidt 

nd August Kain; J. L. Buyer, pastor. He bought the old church for $300.00. 
In 1912 the society ordered that non-members who wanted the church for 
funerals or weddings should pay $5.00 for its use to the trustee treasurer. This 
later caused considerable ofTense and dissension and was brought to the Annual 

212 



c 



a 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

Conference for its opinion. The Conference disapproved, inasmnch as our 
chiirch-pews are to be free. 

For pastors up to 1900 sec under Medaryville. In 1901 the field was named 
San Pierre, as the parsonage was now there. J. W. Feller served 1900-01. In 
1902-04, E. C. Ewald; '05-08, C. F. Winter; '09-10, J. L. Buyer; '11-13, J. Mun- 
dorf; '14-16, Fr. Rcutepohler; '17-20, E. O. Haljcgger; '21-22, J. W. Feller again; 
1''23, B. R. Hoover. Fr. Rcutepohler had a remarkable meeting durin.g a revival 
at which time 31 came to the altar at one call, 26 of whom claimed salvation at 
that service; 29 joined church, and 11 children and 17 adults were Ijaptized. A 
Sunday School has been maintained here from the beginning. San Pierre has 
recommended three men for the ministry, namely, J. L. Buyer, Jr., 1911; J. H. 
Arndt, 1915; Chester Dietert, 1921. 

SCHWARTZ SOCIETY, ELKHART CO., INDIANA 

This societ}' was about three miles west of Elkhart. It belonged to Elkhart 
German Mission in 1868. In 1872, to Elkhart Circuit; in 1874, to Elkhart Mis- 
sion (Ger.); in 1875, to Elkhart English Mission. No further record is found. 

SCHWEITZER'S CLASS, DARKE CO., OHIO 

This class was north of Greenville. Exact location not learned. It existed 
alread}' in the fifties, and continued for about 30 years, always served by pastors 
from Greenville. 

SEDAN, DEKALB CO., INDIANA 

This society was an old pioneer appointment, four miles west of Waterloo, 
Indiana. It belonged with DeKalb and Waterloo Circuit until 1880 w-hen thi- 
work ceased here and the church was sold. The proceeds flowed into the Con- 
ference treasurj'. 

SEIBEL'S APPOINTMENT— MONTGOMERY CO., OHIO 

This was a small class south of Phillipsburg. Jacob Kciper preached here 
in 1856-57. A Big Meeting was held at which a number were converted. No 
church was ever erected here. The Mege's and Stein's, besides Seiliel's belonged 
here. Later they merged with Phillipsburg Society. 

SHARPIE CLASS, MIAMI CO., INDIANA 

This class existed in 1852. It was about three miles south of Peru, Indiana. 
Jtembers here were the families, Sharpie, Daufel, Finster, Spangler. The first 
family later moved to New Paris, Indiana, and the others merged with Bunker 
Hill Society. 

SHELBY MISSION, SHELBY CO., ILLINOIS 

This mission was formed in 1866 and embraced the appointments in this 

213 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

county, namely: Prairie, four miles N. E. of Stewardson; Mattoon; Siegel's, 
near Stewardson Southeast; Dait's; Gayer; Buckey Schoolhouse; Bluepoint, or 
Wolf Creek, five miles S. W. of Stewardson; and Colehill. For ministers who 
served here see under Prairie. John Berger, pastor in 1869-70, lamented the 
fact that the work here did not begin six to eight years sooner. He said, "A 
portion of the membership is doing well in giving support for the Gospel, but 
others seem to think that we are indebted to them, and that our efforts among 
them should be given gratis. There is a lack of interest in Sunday School work 
on the part of many." After a hard effort the work finally was abandoned on 
account of indifference. For more history see Prairie, Mattoon, Wolf Creek. 
Nothing definite found of the other places named here. 

ST. MARYS CIRCUIT, PIONEER FIELD 

For introduction to this field see sketch. Ft. Wayne Mission up to 1845. 
In 1845 this mission was divided into Elkhart Circuit and St. Marys Mission. 
Chr. Glauz was assigned to this mission. He was sick for five months. The 
enemies of the Ev. Association took advantage of this situation, and created 
suspicion in the minds of the people against the work of our church and its 
pastors. Thus great injury came to this field which was a veritable moral desert. 
Some who professed to be saved now neglected prayer-meetings and died spir- 
itually. Membership increase was only fifteen. In 1846 Wm. Kolb was mis- 
sionary, pie reported great opposition, and spiritual apathy on the field, es- 
pecially around Willshire, Ohio, where five preachers taught baptismal regenera- 
tion, and insistently withstood him in his teaching. Chill-fever was raging 
everywhere. K. was sick in bed with fever and was greatly hindered in his work. 
A meeting that was to be held in Adams Co., Indiana, had to be cancelled, due 
to chill-fever among the people. Floods also greatly hindered his getting around 
on the field. He could reach his appointments only once in three weeks. He 
reported success in Brunnersburg. In DeKalb Co., Indiana, he organized five 
classes, one at Stroh's and one at Husselman's, a few miles south and southeast 
of Waterloo. In 1847 S. Dickover was missionary. He reported the field en- 
larged and prospect fair. One meeting he held resulted in conversions, and the 
formation of a class of 11 members. At another, 22 came to the altar at one 
invitation, some of whom were converted and joined church. In 1848, St. Marys 
Circuit again became a mission with Fr. Wiethaup assigned. The field was con- 
siderably enlarged this year. Quite a number were converted and joined church. 
There were now 90 members on the field, six societies and one church. In 1849- 
50, Peter Goetz was pastor with Peter Burgener as assistant the second year. 
Chr. Augenstein was then P. E. of St. Joseph District. The field now extended 
into seven counties in Indiana and into five in Ohio. The daily trips were from 
20-40 miles, 340 miles per round. Roads were still often wellnigh impassable. 
G's health became impaired. Yet the membership was nearly doubled this year. 

214 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

But in DeKalb County the increases were small. From February to April 28, 
1851, seven Big Meetings were held with some success. At another meeting he 
reported: "Nearly the entire congregation was on their knees, crying to God for 
mercy. It was a heart-touching scene." In 1851 B. Uphaus and P. Burgener 
served, S. Dickover, P. E. They reported slow but definite progress. St. Marys 
Circuit in 1851 was composed of the following preaching points, as taken from 
Uphaus' diary: Brunnersburg, Ohio, and vicinity two miles north of Defiance; 
Furthmillers's, east of New Haven, Indiana; Adam Genth's, nine miles S. W. of 
Ft. Wayne; Clock's or Bethlehem's about five miles east of Ossian, Indiana; 
Krumme's and Voltz's or Five Points, twelve miles S. W. of Ft. Wayne; Flora's 
in Wells Co.; Meyer's, seven miles S. E. of Bluffton, near Salem, Linn Grove 
Circuit; Fuhrman's seven miles west of Decatur; Hellwarth's, six miles west of 
Celina, Ohio; Jacob Mecklen's and Metzner's Schoolhouse, and Haudischell's 
Schoolhouse in Jay Co.; a place near Rcpton, Mercer Co., Ohio; Roether, Van 
Wert Co., Ohio; a place near Mendon, Ohio; Ries, in Van Wert Co.; Stedler's, 
three miles from Willshire, Ohio; Kern's and Walter's east of Decatur; Bloch- 
er's and Jos. Miller's, seven miles N. E. of Decatur; Stroh's and Husselman's 
near Auburn; Clarksville, Bauer's, Miller's, east of Auburn. There were prob- 
ably others. Exact location of all these points could not be found. This gives 
some idea of the largeness of this field traveled over in quest of souls for God's 
kingdom. 

In June, 1852, the Indiana Conference was organized and embraced all of 
St. Marys, DeKalb, Elkhart, Mt. Carmel, Whitewater, Dubois, Marshall, Ham- 
ilton and Miami fields. For missionaries who pioneered this wide St. Marys 
field see Volume I, St. Marys, page 92. 

ST. LOUIS, MISSOURI 

In 1865 this city and vicinity was taken up as St. Louis Mission, but was 
left unsupplied. Nothing further was done here until 1874 when the mission was 
re- established. J. C. Young was missionary. Seventeen members of the Ev. 
Association, who lived here, now rejoined the church, Sunday, August 15, 1875. 
The Conference of 1875 appointed the pastor and the one on the Vandalia Mis- 
sion as a committee to buy a lot in the city as soon as $3,000.00 should be col- 
lected, and were then to build a suitable chapel thereon. This was about as far 
as the project went. A Sunday School was organized which grew to 75 regular 
attendants. The mistake made here as at other places, was "poor location, and 
an undesirable hall. No other churches were near the hall, but it was very un- 
inviting". Besides the Missionary Society at this time was heavily involved. 
The buying of a suitable location could not be carried out. Bishop J. Seybert 
once preached in a Ger. M. E. Church here by invitation of the pastor, and as- 
sisted in giving the Lord's Supper. 

215 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 
ST. PAUL, PAULDING CO., OHIO 

As early as 1863 this society was in existence and belonged to St. Marys 
Circuit. Its location is in Benton Twp., Paulding Co., si-x miles south of Payne, 
Ohio, hence sometimes called Payne Class. Services were held in homes and 
schoolhouses until in 1888, when a church costing $1,000.00 was Ijuilt and dedi- 
cated, September 16, b}' Aug. CJeist, P. E. It was the only church of our de- 
noim'nation that ever was Ijuilt in this county. F. E. Zcchiel was pastor at this 
time. A Mr. Paul and family, thirteen years before had moved here. Soon 
after arriving, he and his wife and a sister Sinn began holding prayer-meetings. 
A few years later S. S. Albert of Van Wert Mission began preaching here. He 
organized a class. Amidst hardships and disappointments the little vine grew 
to a membership of 20 in 1888. Much credit was due to the work and loyalty of 
the Paul family. Wm. Reihie held a revival here in 1896 that resulted in four- 
teen conversions and six accessions. 

Too many churches, some being only one to two miles apart in this town- 
ship, worked hardships for all. Besides the German soon died out, meanwhile 
the English population joined other churches. Also, the community was largely 
made up of transient people, or renters. As the country developed the abler 
farmers bought out the smaller ones and so the community was largely depop- 
ulated. Tlie field was abandoned in 1915. The church was sold in 1918 and the 
proceeds applied for a new parsonage in Van Wert for the Van Wert Circuit. 

ST. PETERS, VAN WERT CO., OHIO 

In 1852 A. Nicolai and Fr. Schuerman of St. Marys Charge began to preach 
here, si.x miles south of Van Wert, Ohio, and organized a class. For pastors 
see under St. Marys up to 1870, also for 1876-77 and for 1879-81. On February 
16, 1855, J. M. Kronmiller began a revival at a brother Hertel's, resulting in 
conversions and accessions. In October the same year, P. Goetz and C. Wess- 
ling held a meeting when six were saved and eight adults united with the church. 
Believers enjoyed a rich outpouring of God's Spirit. In 1863 the appointments 
of St. Marys Circuit in Ohio were made to constitute Van Wert Mission em- 
bracing this class, Grand Victory,. Rocdgers, Mendon, Salem (Weifenbach's), 
Hope, west of Cclina, and Willshire, with Geo. A. Hcrtel as missionary. In 1870 
this class, Mohr's or Grand Victory, and St. Paul were attached to St. Marys 
Circuit, but in 1871 these classes with Van Wert City and Hicksville became 
Van Wert Mission with J, Keiper, pastor for two years. Members in 1871 were; 
Adam and Christina Hertel; Philip, Margaret, Jacob and Mary Hertel; Mike and 
Elizabeth Wise; Ad. and Kate Reder; Noble and Anna Palstettc; Mary Rics; 
Fr. and Mary Heeptett; Ad. and Susan Smith; Sol. Schluy. In 1874 J. Wales 
built the first church here. It was dedicated Mar. 1, 1874, by J. Young, editor of 
the Living Epistle. From 1875 to 1908, see list of pastors under Van Wert except 
as indicated above. In 1909 this class belonged to Ohio City Circuit, E. R. Roop, 

216 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

pastor; 1910, it was made a station by its own n;(|uest with C. \'V. Schlemiiier, 
pastor for two years. In 1912 it belonged to Chattanooga Mission, E. B. Jones, 
pastor; 1913, alone, F. C. Wacknitz; 1914-15, W. H. Mygrant; 1916-18, to Scott 
Circuit, J. H. Heldt; 1919-23, Ira Steele, to Van Wert Circuit. 

ST. PETERS, NOBLE CO., INDIANA 

This class was three miles N. W. of Avilla, Indiana. It was organized in 
18E,^ by Jos. Fisher of Elkhart Circuit. He reported this class to his successors 
as a class of fine people, but that there is not much prospect for conversions. 
Charter members were: Samuel Hoke (leader) and wife Anna; John, Jacob and 
Rebecca ^Miller; Wm. and Barbara Buser. When the Avilla Society was organ- 
ized in 1873, this class was merged with it. DeKalb Circuit pastors served here 
except the two first years from Elkhart Circuit. 

SILVER LAKE, KOSCIUSKO CO., INDIANA 

This society was about three miles N. E. of Silver Lake, Indiana. Some 
times called "Claypool" and "Rhoads" Class. On November 21-22, 1846, a meet- 
ing was held in the home of Jacob Rhoad (Roth) by A. B. Schafer, P. E., and 
C. Glaus, and Wm. Fichte, pastors of Elkhart Circuit. In 1852 it became a part 
of Miami Circuit, served by J. Keiper and H. Strickler. In 1853 the field name 
was changed to Fulton. The same preachers served here as at Akron, or Barn- 
heisel's. In 1872 this class with Barnheisel and Cook Classes near Gilead be- 
came Silver Lake Circuit, J. Ressler, pastor. In 1873 the name was changed to 
Gilead, S. S. Albert, pastor. In 1874 this field was incorporated with Fulton 
Circuit for two years, and in 1876 this class was a part of Warsaw Mission, D. J. 
Pontius, pastor. In 1877-78, J. M. Dustman. A church was built and dedicated 
January, 1878, by Bishop R. Yeakel. In 1879 this class was added to N. Web- 
ster Charge, J. Bruckert, pastor, three years; 1882, A. Geist; '83, W. H. Bright- 
mire; '84, J. Wales. In 1885 it was added to Rochester Circuit, and served by 
J. Wales four years. In 1889, J. Hoffman; '90, D. J. Pontius; '91, Wm. Wil- 
dermuth; '92, J. M. Rogers; '93, discontinued and the church sold. Jacob Lei- 
ter's, Geo. Kiplinger's, John and Edward Carmen's, and Mrs. Wilson lived here 

SIMONS CREEK, WAYNE CO., INDIANA 

This was an appointment N. W. of E. Germantown in the neighborhood of 
the Dickover and Fisher settlement, but was soon merged with Pleasant Hill. 

SMITHFIELD, NEAR AIUNCIE, INDIANA 

This class was six miles S. E. of Muncie, at or in Smithfield. In 1849 
preachers already preached here, at Henry Dill's. The class always belonged to 
E. Germantown. E. R. Troycr related the following incident that occurred here. 
A. B. Schafer was holding a meeting here in the early years, in which all inter- 

217 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

est seemed to be dead. A sister "Will" began to sing a chorus and then shouted. 
Schafer asked her how she could shout over such a sermon. She replied "Your 
sermon did not make me shout, but the devil must know that I can feel good 
and'shout even if we have poor sermons." The time when this class ceased is 
not known. 

SPENCERVILLE. DEKALB CO., INDIANA 

This class was S. E. of Auburn, Indiana, near the town of Spencerville on 
the Wabash R. R. The class existed from 1852-70 according to records. Mem- 
bers here m 1870 were: John and Eliza Rohabacher; Wm. and Mary Hemrich; 
Susan Hemrich; Nath. Benninghoff and wife; Mary Sawers; Rebecca Yarger; 
INIarg. Bowman; Susan Ryroads; Kath. Walker. It belonged to Defiance in 
1864-65 when J. Berger had a good revival here. Why and when the class dis- 
continued is unknown to the historian. 

SPIKERVILLE, WABASH CO., INDIANA 

This society was taken up by J. Wales in 1891 with Urbana Mission. Geo. 
E. Speicher having been reclaimed for the Lord in 1890, without a recommenda- 
tion or license to preach, began a meeting here in a schoolhouse. The Lord 
wonderfully blessed his effort in soul-winning. The schoolhouse became too 
small for the attending crowds, so the meeting was taken to a hall. The meet- 
ing resulted in 60 conversions. Then the people were organized into a society 
by Wm. Wildermuth, pastor of Urbana. In 1891 a church was built and dedi- 
cated Feb. 28, 1892, by J. Wales. Bishop S. C. Breyfogel, missing train connec- 
tions, failed to arrive for the occasion. A few years later the work here lagged, 
and services were discontinued. In 1898 the Conference ordered the P. E. and 
P. C. at Urbana to elect a board of trustees, and to sell the church. This, how- 
ever, was not done. During this time, folks, with extreme teachings, freely 
used this church. This brought confusion and final indifference into the com- 
munity. But in 1907 M. L. Scheidler of Urbana again took up the place, reor- 
ganized the membership and started a Sunday School. In 1908 this class was 
added to Zion, south of Wabash and named Spikerville Mission, Ira Dawes, 
pastor. He had a good general awakening. People united with the societjr. He 
served it four years. In 1911 the field's name was changed to Wabash Circuit, 
comprising this class, Zion and Mt. Pleasant, near Rich-Valley. In 1912, B. G. 
Smith; '13, J. M. Lantz; '14, J. S. Kroft; '15-17, J. W. Thomas; '18-19, A. W. 
Feller; '20, E. W. Schafer; '21-22, C. W. Spangler; '23, L. M. Maurer. 

SOUTH BEND— FIRST CHURCH 

Following are extracts from the (German) Society Records before it was 
destroyed. The work of the Ev. Association started in this city in 1853. Bishop 
J. Seybert, Geo. G. Platz, S. Dickover, and M. W. Steflfey were the first minis- 
ters that found entrance to this city. The South Bend Mission was created in 

218 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

June, 1854. Geo. Eckhart was the first appointed missionary. He had many 
difficulties to face, not having a church to worship in. An effort to build a 
church was begun this year. On the advice of Bishop Seybert, a suitable lot was 
bought for $300.00 and pledges secured for this purpose. Eckhart becoming ill 
resigned and M. W. Steffey took the field with Elkhart Circuit. In the spring 
of 1855, after a special meeting, he organized a society with 11 members: J. Ker- 
stetter's, C. Liphart's, A. Siebold's, K. Zimmerman's and Dr. Buchtcl's and their 
families. 

In 1855 John Fuchs with B. Ruh of Berrien Mission jointly served this city 
mission regularly. Fuchs by order took steps to build a church on Lafayette 
Street near Washington Street. Trustees were elected and the church was built 
at a cost of $3,000.00. It was dedicated as "Zion Church", September 28, 1856, 
by Bishop Jos. Long. A parsonage was also built. The class was reorganized 
with 18 members and a Sunday School opened with 13 scholars. 

In 1857 Jos. Fisher served it with South Bend Circuit until 1859 when by 
request it again was made a mission. C. Kohhneier was missionary. He left 
irregularly and without the sanction of the following Conference. Samuel Heiss 
finished the year. In 1860 M. Hoehn was pastor. In 1861 this mission was re- 
incorporated with South Bend Circuit and served by A. B. Schafer and M. Speck. 
In 1862, Wm. Bockman and C. Ude. In 1863 South Bend Mission was re-estab- 
lished and served by A. B. Schafer for two years. In 1865, Edw. Evans; '66-67, 
J. Kaufman. One New-year's eve a blessed "Watch-night" service was enjoyed. 
The society contributed besides the salary, 5-450.00 for God's kingdom. 

This mission was made a station in 1868. C. Glaus, pastor for two years; 
70-72, John Berger. His years were crowned with prosperity. A special holi- 
ness meeting was held here. Chief speakers were: Bishop J. J. Esher, C. Augen- 
stein. Prof. Huelster and H. Hintze. Great quickenings were experienced. Back- 
sliders reclaimed and sinners saved. Preachers and members experienced per- 
fect love. The second night the Lord's Supper was celebrated, followed by an 
experience meeting when 130 testified in 40 minutes. These testimonials were 
overflows from "the fountain of living waters". One testified, "I joined all secret 
orders that I could find, but found no peace until I came to Jesus." 

During 1873-75, G. M. Gomer was pastor. The East Side Mission was added 
to First Church Station. This year a new church lot was bought on corner of 
Lafayette and Wayne Streets for $4,000.00. Gomer held a three months' revival, 
resulting in 126 saved and accessions, 19 being by letter. The membership was 
now 304. A congregational meeting was summoned relative to a new church. 
Bishop J. J. Esher was present. By unanimous vote it was decided to build a 
new church 46x80 feet with an additional class-room 36x60 feet. Estimated 
cost, $12,000.00. About $6,000.00 was pledged at this meeting. But a serious di- 
vision and consequent loss of members caused the project to fail. The newly 
purchased lot was sold at a great sacrifice. In 1874 G. continued a revival from 

219 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Dec. 7 to Mar. 16, obtaining 122 conversions and 116 accessions. The member- 
ship now was 300, divided into 12 praj'er-mectings. During this meeting various 
ministers helped. In 1875 it was decided to wreck the church and to build a new 
one on the same site. 

During 1876-78 M. Hoehn was pastor. The new church was now under 
construction. As yet no pledges were secured. The society still had a debt on 
the aforesaid lot and east side Mission Church, of $800.00. H. began to solicit 
funds and soon had $2,799.55. When the first snow fell, the church was under 
roof. The lower story was dedicated December 25, '76, by Bishop J. J. Esher. 
New Pledges were now taken amounting to $1,376.78. While the church was 
being built services were held in an old frame church on Main Street. In the 
summer of 1877 the outside of the church was finished at a cost of $958.40. 
There were two towers, the larger one containing a 1,500-lb. bell, costing $437.00, 
a .gift of the Sunday School. The society was privileged to gather funds on Elk- 
hart District. This project was a great task for a class composed of laboring peo- 
ple, and met with keen opposition. The society had a loss of 52 members by deaths, 
withdrawals, and change of boundary. LaPorte and Carlisle were detached this 
year. The year 1877 was only a six-month Conference year. Hoehn had 35 
conversions, 29 accessions, 31 removals and 40 deaths. During 1878 after much 
work and concern the church was completed at an additional cost of $1,784.28, 
which was more than covered by pledges. The finished church was to be dedi- 
cated January S, 1879, by Bishop R. Dubs; but as some members refused to share 
the balance of the indebtedness the dedication was indefinitely postponed. Deaths 
and removals exceeded the gain this year. 

During 1879 J. Berger was pastor. This year the board of mission trans- 
ferred him to Cermany as a missionary. In 1880 F. F. Meyer from the ^Michigan 
Conference was stationed here, serving nearly three years. Father C. Hummel 
of the Illinois Conference finished out the third year. In 1883-84, Geo. Roederer 
served successfully. He had 33 conversions and 51 accessions. In 1885-87 C. F. 
Hansing served. Peace reigned, and the church debt was paid. Souls were 
saved and added to the church. During 1888-89 M. Hoehn was pastor for the 
third time. He reported 60-70 conversions and 86 accessions. Church strife, 
however, greatly hindered success. 

During 1890-92 M. W. Stefifey was pastor of First Church. This term began 
amidst a most disheartening Church trouble. Before his arrival a meeting of 
lay-members was to be held in the church to rehearse the schisin. The member- 
ship being divided, S. tried his best to maintain peace. Agitators secretly passed 
defiant resolutions. Finally two main disturbers were brought to a church trial, 
were found guilty and expelled from church. But they did not cease their agita- 
tion. A denomination nearby was ready to receive them with open arms. 100 
memliers withdrew, yet the society was able to meet its financial obligations for 
that year. 

220 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

In 1891 a new constitution was adopted. A part of the society favored 
English in Sunday School, and wanted English prayer-meetings. At a society 
meeting a vote showed that 14 were in favor of some English and 13 opposed, 
even though the constitution provided for German services only. By the advice 
of superiors, no English class was organized, jjut encouragement was given those 
who preferred English, to exercise in that language in the German classes, a 
privilege which had never been denied them. This gendered no little dissatis- 
faction. In the winter of 1893, in a 7-week revival quite a large number of 
English penitents came to the altar. Thereupon, English Gospel hymns were 
sung, for the benefit of seekers, by those who preferred English. Opposition 
to this arose. The awakening spirit was quenched, and the meeting had to be 
closed. Steffey retired from the active ministry after 41 consecutive years of 
active service in the church. 

During the period 1893-96, Wm. G. Braeckly was pastor. In 1893 the Con- 
ference wisely established an English Mission in this city for the sake of peace 
and harmony. The First Church gave up 31 members for the new mission. In 
1895 the First Church Society petitioned Conference to release it from paying 
$600.00 to the trustees of the new mission which amount was the proceeds from 
the sale of the former Mission Church on the east side of St. Joseph River. The 
Conference had held this money in trust until this society bought a parsonage, 
when it was paid to them, with the proviso, that if a new mission should be es- 
tablished in South Bend, this money must be refunded for the new mission. In 
view of the fact that this society had lost so many members in recent years, it 
seemed incapable of complying with this proviso, besides it was originally their 
own money, and was now invested in their own parsonage. Therefore, after 
due deliberation of its former action the Conference ordered that this sum be 
allowed to remain permanently with this society. Thus the matter ended quietly. 
B. organized the first Y. P. A. in this society and closed his four-year work with 
69 accessions and nearly as many conversions. 

From 1897-99, Fr. Schweitzer was pastor. He had some fanatical doctrine 
to combat that threatened disturbance, but the difficulty was overcome. From 
1900-03 E. J. Nitsche served. He had a great revival the first year resulting in 
78 conversions and 55 accessions. The old parsonage was sold and a new large 
modern one was built on the rear end of the church lot. Its cost was $3,000.00. 
During '04-06, Fr. Rausch was pastor. In the fall of 1904 the society sold its 
property for $28,000.00, but retained the parsonage with the privilege of moving 
it to a new site. By a congregational vote the society empowered its trustees 
to buy a lot on N. W. corner of Lafayette and Monroe streets for $9,000.00. A 
new church was then built on it costing $30,000.00. The parsonage transferred 
to this site without the minister's family moving out. 1907-09, H. Schleuchcr. 
pastor; in 1910-14, J. H. Evans. Considerable repairs had to be made on the 
church at this time. Evans had 85 conversions and 95 accessions. From 1915-19 

221 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

W. H. Freshley served. The preaching was now entirely English. The society 
had a joint jubilee and Watchnight service, December 31, 1915, and burned up 
the notes of the balance of the debt of $500.00. In 1915 an earnest effort was 
made to merge this society and Mizpah, or to have this society sell its property 
and locate in the S. E. part of the city, but both efl'orts failed. During 1920-23, 
E, M. Kerlin was pastor. He gave special attention to the spiritual life of the 
church. He had the Pctticord Evangelistic Party twice, and other special Gos- 
pel workers, at considerable outlay of money. During this time he reported 279 
conversions and 195 accessions, present membership, May 1923, 321, net gain 
144, This resulted from a united and cooperative effort between pastor and 
people. 

SOUTH BEND— EAST SIDE MISSION 

In 1872 the Conference established a mission east of the St. Joseph River 
called "Lowell Addition". C. C. Beyrer was the first missionary. The river 
constituted the boundary between the mission and the mother church territories. 
A church was built and dedicated August 25, 1872 by Bishop R. Dubs. The 
First Church largely provided the means for its construction. But already in 
1873 the mission was re-incorporated with the old society and jointly served 
by J. M. Comer. Later the church was sold for $600.00 which was at a great 
sacrifice. Many felt that the abandonment of this field at this time was verj' 
unfortunate. 

SOUTH BEND, (MIZPAH) BROADWAY 

April, 1893, the Conference established an English mission in the south 
part of South Bend, J. Wales, first missionary. He served this jointly with 
Mishawaka Circuit, assisted bj' W. S. Mills. A class was organized April 23, 
1893, under the name "English Mission". These members came from the Ger- 
man church. They were: Ben. Gingerich, wife and son Irvin; Noah C. Lehman 
and wife; Mr, McCurtin, wife, and William and Nellie; Noah F. Platz and wife 
and two sons; S. C. Lehman; Wm. Lehman and wife; John Grove and wife; 
Ruben Grove and wife; Airs. Ott and daughter; Lydia and Mary Meyer. 

In the spring of 1893 a Y. P. A. was organized with 60 members. Lj'dia 
Meyer was the first president. December of this year, Wales held a revival, 
resulting in 30 accessions. The property of the Reformed Church Chapel at the 
corner of Lafayette and Sample Streets was rented. It was well located and 
necessary repairs were made. In 1894 the society had 109 members and a Sun- 
day School enrollment of 140. The veteran Jos. Fisher contributed much to 
the success of the first revival here. A Mr. Dubell donated the society a corner 
lot in this city. The Conference also granted this mission the right to solicit 
building funds on Elkhart District. In 1894 J. Wales was returned; '95-98, M. 
L. Scheidler. A church lot was bought on the S. E. corner of Monroe and 
Main Streets and a modern parsonage was built on the east end facing Monroe 

222 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

Street, costing about $2,500.00. Scheidler had 58 conversions and 70 accessions. 
From 1899-01, L. S. Fisher was pastor. Jime 18, the church had to be vacated, 
so one of the upstairs rooms of the abandoned Southside school building was 
obtained. Early in the summer of 1900 a Sunday School auditorium was built 
on the church lot close to the parsonage. On August 14, '99, the name "English 
Mission" was changed to "Mizpah Ev. Church". At this time it was a question 
whether or not the church should be built on this lot, or in some other location, 
farther south. By request the Conference appointed a committee to investigate 
this situation and decide the matter for the society. Bishop Bowman, S. H. 
Baumgartner, P. E., and F. E. Zechiel of the Watch Tower Church at Elkhart 
were appointed. The territory within the scope of the future church was gone 
over carefully. Both sides previously agreed to abide by the rendered decision 
of this committee. After the survey was made, the committee met in the par- 




Broadway Church, South Bend, Indiana. 

sonage, considered the various locations, the already built parsonage, and ths 
finances available. The secret vote taken resulted unanimously to stay and 
build by the parsonage. The pastor then called a congregational meeting and 
elected a building committee. This committee decided on a brick veneered Sun- 
day School auditorium 32 x 57 feet with a corner entrance and basement for 
class-room and furnace. The entire cost of the church was $5,000.00, and 
$.3,000.00 was needed yet, $2,300.00 was raised on dedication day, Feb. 18, 1900. 
Bishop S. C. Breyfogel officiated. Then followed a blessed revival. L. S. 
Fisher, pastor, '99-01, reported li conversions and 94 accessions. 

During 1902-03 Thos. Finkbeiner served. His first year resulted in 11 con- 
versions and 22 accessions. The second year the board of trustees of N. W. 
College appointed him assistant instructor in the German Department. Upon 

223 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

his resignation, Rev. Stull of the N. Y. Conference finished the year. In 1904 
D. Martz, pastor; converts seven, accessions sixteen. In 1905 he was elected 
P. E. and J. H. Rilling succeeded him, serving 1905-08. He reported 39 con- 
versions and 85 accessions and general prosperity. In 1909-10 F. Hartman was 
pastor. Agitation to relocate the church began. Conference authorized the 
society to dispose of its property atid to locate in another section of the city, if 
the society, pastor, and P. Elder deemed it advisable. See Conf. Journal 1910, 
psge 26. In 1911-15 J. O. INIosier served. At the close of the last year again 
several attempts were made to unite the First and Mizpah Churches. Both 
sides appointed the Qr. Conference members as commissioners to a joint meet- 
ing relative to the merging of the two societies. But these ei¥orts also failed. 
Mosier in the five years here had 211 accessions and 162 conversions. The so- 
ciety supported a Bible wowan in China; won the Y. P. A. banner for giving the 
most missionary money per capita; the Alissionary Auxiliary raised $314.79; 
Sunday School, $14.24 per Sunday, and the society $4,949.52, without a social or 
bazaar. In 1916 D. A. Kaley was pastor. This year the Conf. Churcli Building 
Committee inet here at the call of the P. E. for the selection of a new church 
site. This was done by the society's request. Conf. Journal 1916, page 459. 
I'ishop L. H. Seager was present. After a careful survey the committee decided 
OP two lots S. E. corner Broadway and Carroll Streets. These lots with addi- 
t'onal lot adjoining on Carroll Street with a modern dwelling on it cost about 
$6,400.00, and was paid for. In 1917 A. B. Haist served here. This year the 
society sold its property on Monroe and Main Streets to the Swedish Lutheran 
Church for $13,000.00, and bought a portable church for $800.00 for temporary 
use. The same was de'dicated by E. W. Praetorius of Elkhart First Church on 
September 30, 1917. It was placed on a leased lot. No. 313 E. Broadv/ay. The 
change proved advantageous. At a congregational meeting, August 2, 1917, the 
name Broadway was adopted as the society name. From 1918-23 E. G. John- 
son was pastor. In 1918 plans were adopted for a new church. Up to April. 
1919, $22,500.00 had been secured in pledges, and cash on hand $9,000.00. The 
building committee elected was: Pastor E. G. Johnson, Pres.; Harry Weiss, 
Treas.; Wm. T. C. Pearson, Scc'y.; H. H. Reinochl, R. C. Eby, I. E. Ruth, M. 
Guise, B. A. Thornton. The dimensions of the church are 66x94 feet. Exterior 
walls are constructed of Hytex brick, trimmed with Bedford stone. Windows 
are art-glass. The main entrance is on Broadway with a portico 9 x 40 feet, 
supported by four massive stone columns. From here the entrance is into a 
large foyer, admitting one to auditorium and Young People's assembly room. 
This church has a large auditorium, galleries on two sides with partition walls 
for Sunday School class-rooms, also under the galleries. The choir loft is 
Ijack of the pulpit. The pipe organ was bought by the Sunday School. The 
basement is arranged for modern S. S. work, and contains the heating plant, 
kitchen outfit, etc. The pastor's study and a mother's room are on the second 

224 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

floor. The entire church property is valued at $85,000.00, and is nearly paid for. 
The church was dedicated March 28, 1920, by Bishop S. C. Breyfogcl. Up to 
May, 1923, Johnson reported 180 conversions and 222 accessions. April 1919 
the portable chapel was sold to the Conference Mission Society for $1,000.00 to 
be turned over at the completion of the new church. These were years of ac- 
tivity. B. Thomas was assistant pastor to Johnson in 1922. 

SOUTH BEND— GRACE CHURCH 

This society had its inception in 1901. J. Wales was then assigned to North 
Liberty Mission and instructed to find entrance into N. Libert}'. But the effort 
seemed futile. Instead, he found an opening in the locality of South Bend in 
which he lived, and began to preach in a private house. This same year he 
bought a lot on Van Buren and D. Streets, l)uilt a small frame Chapel on it 

which was dedicated Jan. . 1902, by J. H. Lamb of Cleveland, Ohio, as 

"Beulah Chapel". Charter memljers were: J. Wales, wife and daughter Lillian: 
James Ray and wife; Air. Wert and wife. Wales served here three years. B}' 
permission of the Conference the V^an Buren St. lot was sold and another bought 
at the junction of the Laportc and Walnut Streets near Michigan Ave., now 
Lincoln ^^'ay ^^'est, and the chapel was moved on it. In 1904 M. W. Sunderman 
served this society and Tabor with South Side Elkhart, assisted l)y N. F. Platz, 
who preached here the greater part of the year. In 1905-07, N. F. Platz served. 
The Conference, by request of this society, granted it a loan of $500.00 at 2%. 
In 1908 F. F. McClure was pastor; 1909-10, L. Newman. The church property 
was sold in 1910 and the S. W. lot on Walnut St. and Michigan Ave. was bought 
and an octagon shaped stucco church with a side room was Ijuilt. In 1911 W. LI. 
Mygrant was pastor. He finished the church and it was dedicated as Grace 
Church, June, '11, by Bishop T. Bowman. L. Newman, by conference permission, 
collected inoney on Elkhart District for this church. During '12-16, D. D. Speich- 
er served. The society about held its own. From 1917-21, O. O. Lozier was pas- 
tor. The $800.00 debt on the church was paid the first year, and at the close of 
this year a parsonage was bought joining the church lot to the rear for $2,800.00, 
and it was paid for in 1921. Under his labors the society took on new life. In 
1920 Lozier and wife started a Sunday School in the Oli^'cr Addition. The out- 
iook was favorable, but from want of means the field was abandoned. In 1921, 
by Conference action, this society obtained a grant to build a new church not to 
e.\-ceed $40,000.00. Also $5,000.00 of the surplus of the Forward Movement 
money was voted them. But due to the money stringency the plan was indefi- 
nitely postponed. The movable chapel formerly occupied by Broadway Society, 
was moved here for additional Sunday School room. In 1922 I\I. O. Herman 
served; 1923, P. L. Browns. 

SOUTH BEND— EWING AVENUE CHURCH 

A new mission was located on Ewing Avenue, in 1920, and placed imder 

225 

15 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

supervision of Broadway Church. In 1921 plans were formulated for a Bunga- 
low Church, but was not built until 1922-23. In May, 1923, H. Cook was ap- 
pointed the missionary with an appropriation of $1,000.00. Mr. Chas. Weidler, 
attorney, donated two lots on this avenue for a permanent church. One more 
lot was bought from him on which now stands the bungalow church which 
later will become the parsonage. This building was dedicated by Bishop J. 
Dunlap, July 1, 1923. The following are the names of the charter members: Mr. 
and Mrs. Guy L. Amerman, Kenneth and Gerald; Mr. and Mrs. Charles Ar- 
mcnt; Mr. and Mrs. James E. Brown, and Richard; Mrs. Rieta Collins; Rev. 
and Mrs. Howard Cook; Mrs. Gertrude Diedrich; Mr. and Mrs. Jessie Elliott, 
Violette and Emerson; Mr. and Mrs. Rodolphe Kidder; Mr. and Mrs. Albert 
Rerick; Mr, and Mrs. Otto Schwob, and Marie; Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Sykes; 
Mrs. Gertrude Thomas; Mr. and Mrs. Edwin Thornton; Mrs. Jessie Vary, Grace, 
Cecil, and Galen; Mr. Charles Weidler, attorney; Mr. and Mrs. Harry Weiss; 
Miss Dorothy Weiss; Mrs. Lydia C. Zillnier, and Harry Zillmer. 

SOUTH GERMANY, ZION, FULTON CO.. INDIANA 

Zion, locally known as South Germany, was started in 1849 by Geo. Wales, 
a local preacher. A sociely was organized in 1850 with Geo. Wales and wife, 
Samuel Plantz and wife; John, Jacol) and Elizabeth Hoffman and others. On 
December 31, 1852, J. Keiper held a "Watch Night" meeting here jointly with a 
several-day revival. Sinners came to the altar and were saved. Services were 
held at Plantz's and Walter's homes. The same pastors preached here as on 
Fulton Circuit up to 1868, when it l)ecame a part of Twin Lakes Circuit, and 
was served by its pastors until 1884, when it was added to Tippecanoe Circuit; 
in 1885, to Twin Lakes; in 1886, to Rochester Circuit; and again in 1891 to 
Twin Lakes. In 1900 the name Twin Lakes was changed to Culver Circuit. In 
I''15 it was added to Rochester Circuit where it has remained since. 

The first church was built in 1858 by P. Burgener, though probably started 
Iiy J. M. Kronmiller and was dedicated by G. G. Platz, P. E. The second one 
was built by J. Wales in 1887 and was dedicated the same year. Several camp- 
meetings were held in this neighborhood in early days. Men who entered the 
ministry from this class were: John Hoffman, 1858; Samuel Plantz, 1861; Fred 
Hoffman, 1860; Geo. Wales, Jr., 1867; J. Wales, 1868; and C. Overmeyer, 1909. 
For pastors see under names of circuit to which it belonged. 

SPARTA CHURCH 

This class dates back at least to 1870 when it belonged to Benton Circuit. 
It was north of Indian Village, which is about three miles east of Wawasee Lake. 
A Mr. Slabaugh was the main standby here according to information from .\. 
Gcist. In 1879 it was added to New Paris. 

226 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 
SPRING GROVE MISSION 

This mission was formed in 1868 from a part of tire old Wabash Mission 
around Lafayette, Indiana. In 1880 it was al)andoned. From 1874-80 it was 
served by S. S. Condo; L. \V. Crawford and E. D. Einsel, successively. 

STROH CHURCH, DEKALB CO., INDIANA 

This appointment was five miles S. E. of Waterloo, Indiana. It was taken 
up in 1841 by J. Hall of Ft. Wayne Mission of the Ohio Conference. It was one 
of the oldest DeKalb Co. appointments, a twin class with the Husselman society. 
In 1844 it became a part of the Illinois Conference. In 1852 it became a part of 
the Indiana Conference. For pastors see DeKalb Circuit. In 1873 this society, 
with Husselman Society, was merged into Waterloo. See from here under 
Waterloo. 

STONY POINT, KOSCIUSKO, CO., INDIANA 

This appointment was four miles N. W. of Leesburg and nine miles S. E. 
of Nappanee. No church building was ever erected here. Before 1872 it be- 
longed to Bremen Circuit; in 1872 to Elkhart Circuit; in 1873, back to Bremen; 
in 1876, to Warsaw Mission. It was shifted from one field to another. Already 
in 1853 Jos. Fisher reported that it was a fine class. Preaching was then Eng- 
lish, due to six English members. This was also known as the "Strickler Class". 
Members here then were: John (leader), Kath. and Samuel Strickler; John Ma.x- 
well (e.xhorter) and wife; John and Leah Scchrist; John and Rachel Layman; 
Wm. and Eliza Maxwell and children, Cyrus, Lydia and Susan. J. Keiper and 
M. W. Steffey preached in John Strickler's home. 

STONY CREEK, HAMILTON CO., INDIANA 

This appointment is four miles south of Noblesville, Indiana, and was or- 
ganized about 1852-53 and belonged to Hamilton Mission. Families here in 
1855 were: W. Wolfgang, Jacob Weyand, Henry Weyand and a sister Weyand. 

SUGAR CREEK, WABASH CO., ILL. 

This class was a part of Mt. Carmel Circuit already in the forties. It was 
about eight miles west of Mt. Carmel. Several camp-meetings were held here 
on Adam Stoltz's farm. See under Mt. Carmel. Services continued many years 
here. When the class ceased is not known. 

SULPHER STORINGS, AlARION CO., IND. 

This class was three miles south of Cumberland, Marion Co., and was a 
part of the Sulpher Spring Mission in 1875 and was served with Indianapolis 
Mission. It was named Julietta Mission in 1876 with which it was served until 
it was abandoned, or probably was merged with Cumberland Class in later years. 

227 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 
SYRACUSE, INDIANA 

The history of the Ott Church is here continued. In June or July, 1893, 
J. M. Rogers became Oakwood Park Superintendent. After the first camp- 
mectinR held here he conceived the idea of organizing- an Evangehcal Society 
with the few members of our church that lived here, in order to give the Oak- 
wood camp-meetings a wider and more effective field of influence over the town 
and community. Our people with the few U. B. people that lived here secured 
a hall for joint services until a more suitable place for worship could 1)e obtained. 
Rogers had charge of our people. In 1898 J. J. Wise of New Paris Circuit 
looked after our people here. Regular preaching began early in 1899. In June, 
1899, he met with the people to consider the feasibility of building a church. 
After due deliberation the small class unanimously decided to build. At a sub- 
sequent meeting a board of trustees and building committee was elected. At 
once they got plans for a church. In October, 1899, the cornerstone was laid 
by F. E. Zechiel. Size of church is 32 x 42 feet. The church has an inclined 
floor, seating capacity 32S. hot-air furnace, electric lights, corner tower entrance, 
class-room and gallery, and clioir loft. Due to bad weather the church could not 
be finished this year. With a feeling of apprehension the society of 21 members 
looked forward to dedication. $1,179.75 had to be raised to cover the debt. 
They obtained a surplus of $92,28. The church was dedicated by Bishop S. C. 
Breyfogel as Trinity Church. The members of Ott's Class were now merged 
with this society and their church was sold and the proceeds applied to th"^ 
new church. This society became a station in 1919. Pastors wdio served hjre 
were: 1898-00, J. J. Wise with New Paris; '01-02, L. Newman with North Web- 
ster; '03-04, Syracuse ilission, H. H, Reinoehl, pastor; 1905-06, C. W. Spangler; 
'07-08, C. E. Boyer; '09-11, C. A. Wright; '12-13, W. H. Mygrant; '14-17, C. H. 
Burgener; '18, F. F. MeChire; '19-22, L. E. Smith; ■23, Wni. J. Dauner. 

In 1906 a parsona.ge was bought by the Ladies' .Md Society. In 1912 it was 
remodelled and made modern. The society has maintained a live Sunday School 
since its beginning. It always had an active Ladies' Aid Society and a Y. P. A., 
and has engaged in all civic enterprises, for social betterment. The church also 
has undergone improvements. The field is somewhat limited here. 

SYRACUSE, EBENEZER CLASS 

No continued history can be found of this society, which was started in 
1846. At this time G. G. Platz preached in the community. This class is lo- 
cated six miles east of Syracuse, near the N. E. shore of Wawasee Lake. In 
early years members of our "Canada Class" in Union Twp., Elkhart Co., In- 
diana, moved here and were organized into a society. The same preachers 
preached here as on Elkhart Circuit to 1872, Benton to '78, and New Paris to 
1886, and "Webster to 1890. In 1891-92, it belonged to New Paris; '93-96, to 
N. Webster; '97, to New Paris; 1901 to Webster Mission; 1904-06, with Syra- 

228 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

ciise; '07-08 to Webster Mission; 1909, to Syracuse until 1919; for one year (1919) 
to Nappanec Circuit; 1920-21 to N. Paris, Init served separately l)y G. A. Weis- 
haar, and A. E. Weyrick respectively; 1922, served jointly with Syracuse at 
9 a. m.; 1923, supplied, W. H. AlyRrant. 

The members in 1853 were: Elias Rapp (leader) and his wife Mary; Marg. 
R;ipp; Christian (exhorter), Jacob and Sophia Rapp; Closes and Kath. Beyers; 
Lovina Sehitzly; Elizabeth Ackerman; Kath. Brown; Widow Anna and John 
Ehrgath. Jos, Fisher said, "This is a fine people, but there are few Germans 
here, hence, no prospect for conversions." The ijresent church was built in 
1862 and dedicated by A. B. Schafer. It had a tower built to it later. 

July 1857 a revival was held at (Jeo. Rapp's, west of the church, which re- 
sulted in 10 conversions. It was a blessed meeting. Among the converts were 
\-onng men who depended on confirmation for salvation, but were now "con- 
firmed by the Head of the Church, Jesus Christ, and adopted into the family 
of God's people, witnessed to b_\' the Holy Spirit in their hearts". In 1883 D. 
Martz reported that, "The rushin.g mighty winds, and the baptism of fire for 
work, came upon this society. -Also Satan became fearfully enra.ged, but by hot. 
Spirit directed Gospel shots he was silenced". Ten were saved. In 1884 15 were 
saved. In 1886 the church underwent repairs and was re-opened by W. M. 
Stanford, assistant editor of the Jiriiii/irliml MfMrnnir, Qu (Jctober 9, 1897, 
the first Y. P. A. was organized with Mrs. .-\rvilla Buchtel as president. 

TABOR, XEAR NORTH LIBERTY, INDIAXA 

Tabor Society, now on Lal^eviUe Circuit, was started in 1864 wlien P. Roth 
began to preach here and in the Sousley neighborhood. This class was first 
known as Lakeville Class, located two miles N. W. of the present Tabor Church. 
Jlembers here were: Thco. Smith and wife, Louis Hauser and wife, Geo. Hauser 
and wife, Mrs. Evangeline Hauser, Mrs. Blockson and Samuel Stofer. The 
class received the name Tabor, so named by Mrs. D. S. Oakes. 

The Lakeville Class first belonged to Mishawaka Circuit, then to South 
Bend Circuit, and still later to North Liberty Mission. The North Liberty Mis- 
sion was formed from these classes around here, and Roselle Class, one mile 
south of Wanatah. C, Ade was pastor. In 1874 D. S. Oakes was pastor. Four 
more were added to the class this year. Oakes built a church in 1875 and it was 
dedicated January 16, 1876, by M. W. Steffey, P. E. M. Krueger preached the 
dedicatory sermon. O. \vas returned in 1876 with Wm. Ackerman. In 1880 
this class with West Salem was detached from Mishawaka Circuit and made N. 
L.iberty Mission with D. J. Pontius, pastor, but it was put back to Mishawaka 
in 1881. In 1903 it became a part of West South Bend Missiim and was served 
by its pastors. In 1906-07, it again was with North Liberty Mission, I. G. 
Spencer, pastor; in 1908 with Madison it became Lakeville Mission. For pa- 
tors see under the field names as given above. 

229 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 
TERRE HAUTE, INDIANA 

In 1852 E. Uphaus and C. Glaus. P. E., from Marshall, Illinois, preached 
in the homes of Chr. Secman, Bro. Finklieiner and S, Anstein. Mel. Mayer of 
Clay City, Indiana, preached here in 1856. Many Germans lived here. A small 
number of hearers, inclined to hear the truth, were in regular attendance. No 
definite entrance was obtained into this flourishing city until April, 1881, when 
the South Indiana Conference established a mission here. J. F. Young was the 
first missionary. On Sunday, April 17, 1881, he preached his first sermon in a 
rented hall, in the third story of the Bauer Building on the corner of 7th St. and 
Wabash Ave. Rent was $7.00 per month and $1.00 for the organ. This hall was 
used for about eight months, .April 17th a Sunday School was organized with 
the pastor as superintendent. The average attendance at preaching was 45. The 
doors of the church were opened after the first Lord's Supper, and J. Stortrc, 
Wm. Deusner and Marg. Steinacker joined church and became the charter 
members. 

The Conference pro\ided money for a church. J. Kaufman, P. E., was al- 
lowed to collect money in the Conference for a church. He with Young and 
Geo. Berstecher of Jilarshall, Illinois, were the building committee. They 
bought a lot on 9th and ^Valnut Streets for $1,300.00 and built a small brick 
church on it costing $2,000.00. It was dedicated by Bishop J. J. Esher, Novem- 
ber, 1881, as "Zion Church". At the end of this year there was a membership 
of 23. At the close of the second year there were 28 conversions and 73 mem- 
bers. There was a small parsonage built on the rear of the church lot. 

In 1884-85, C. Stockhowe was pastor; 1886-88, W. G. Braeckly; 1889-91, 
J. Fuchs; 1892, J. F. Young. Many members left the church in '91-92 due to 
the church division. In 1893 it became a part of the Indiana Conference with 
Wm. Koenig, pastor. In 1894-97, E. J. Nitsche served; '98-99, B. Schuermeicr; 
1900, Fr. Schweitzer. He remodelled the church by building a pulpit recess, 
gallery and class room. New pews and hot-air furnace were installed, at a cost 
of $2,000.00. A part of this money was collected by the pastor over the district. 
In 1901-03, W. L. Luehring was pastor; 1904, C. Harms; '05-09, E. C. Ewald; 
'10-11, L. J. Ehrhardt. 

The society in 1910 obtained the right from Conference to sell their church 
property and locate in a more hopeful place and realized $3,000.00. A new site 
was bought on the N. E. corner of Kent Ave., and Chestnut Street, with a five- 
roomed house included for $3,800.00. The pastor moved into the house at once. 
On Wednesday, October 19, 1910, a public service was held in the parsonage. 
The preaching continued in the old church while the new one was under con- 
struction. Some members (men) being unwilling to serve on the building com- 
mittee, the society petitioned Conference in 1911 for three non-residence mem- 
bers on the building committee to facilitate the building of the new church. The 
request was granted, and L. S. Fisher of Kokomo, G. B. Kimmel and And, 

230 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

Kramer of Indianapolis were appointed. These with Pastor Ehrhardt, S. H. 
Baumgartner, P. E., H. Bergherm, and Wni. Osterhage constituted the build- 
ing committee. Rev. Geo. Johnson, Miss, treasurer, substitute for Bishop T. 
Bowman, laid the cornerstone October 22, 1911. The building could not be 
completed before Conference sessions, April, 1912. J. J. Wise and E. W. Pra.- 
torius became successors to S. H. B. and L. J. E. respectively. Ehrhardt, by 
Conference permission, collected money for this church in the Conference, and 
secured in cash and pledges about $1,300.00. The new church was dedicated as 
Kent Ave. Church by Bishop S. C. Breyfogel, June 23, 1912. The cost of the 
church was $19,014.57. The society received special financial help of $1,000.00 
from the Conf. Branch Y. P. A. Through the generosity of the And. Carnegie 
Fund, a $1,500.00 pipe organ was installed. 

The Sunday School now more than doubled itself. L. Newman conducted 
a revival in 1913. The meetings were deeply spiritual and overflowed with 
praises. 

In 1914-16, C. E. Geist was pastor. The last year a new brick parsonage, 
facing Chestnut Street was built. The old one realized $350.00. In 1917-19, 
N. F. Platz was pastor. He took energetic hold of the serious financial situa- 
tion with good success. Illness measurably hindered him in his work. On Jan- 
uary 19, 1920, he suddenly passed away, and J. H. .\rndt of Brazil filled the 
vacancy. In 1920-22, D. E. Zechiel was pastor; 1923, I. G. Roederer. 

THORX-CREEK, WHITLEY CO., IND. 

This class was six miles north of Columbia City, Indiana, probably what is 
now called the Snyder or Trinity Class. The membership in 1853 was John 
Agolf (leader) and wife, John and Mary Pressler, Jonas and Lydia Dubler, 
Elizabeth Humberger, Rachel Agolf and Kath. Hively. Jos. Fisher said of this 
class, "They do not live as religious as they ought. Prospects are not the 
best. Preaching should be English at which time a large audience gathers." 

THORNHOPE, CASS CO., IND. 

In 1910 S. J. Kroft took up Thornhope as an appointment. He conducted 
a revival, resulting in 61 conversions and 51 accessions. Services were held in 
the M. E. Church. The organization soon failed from want of a good place to 
■worship. 

TOHILL, ILLINOIS 

This class was near Hndsonville, Illinois, and was a regular appointment 
on the Marshall Circuit. This was a regular stopping place for ministers be- 
tween Marshall and Mt. Carmel in the forties and fifties. 

TIPPECANOE, MARSHALL CO., INDIANA 

This appointment was near the village of Tippecanoe on the Nickle Plate 

231 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

R. R. in the S. E. corner of Marshall Co. J. Keiper preached here in 1852-53. 
A few German families lived here then, but not enough to warrant continuation, 

TIMBER CLASS, WABASH CO., ILL. 

This was an old society, served with Alt. Carmcl Circuit. It was located 
near the Wabash River, north of Mt. Carmel, two miles north of Allendale, 111. 
In about 1872, it was detached from West Salem Circuit to which it had be- 
longed since 1868 and was rc-attaehed with Mt. Carmel Circuit where it origin- 
ally belonged. Time of discontinuance is not found. 

TRINITY, KOSCRISKO CO., INDIANA 

This society was about five miles north of Akron, Indiana. Early in 1896 
L. Newman of Rochester Circuit held an evangelistic meeting here in Nichol.^ 
Chapel. He organized a class. No one knew definitely to whom this chapel 
belonged. Therefore it was closed a.nainst all services except funerals. Thus 
this flock was without a church. This society then built a church, and it was 
dedicated by J. H. Evans. P. E., Dec. 26, 1897, The cost was $816,00, It first 
belonged to Rochester Circuit, and J, W, Metzner was pastor. Charter mem- 
bers were Caleb Ro.gers and daughter; F. A. Roger and wife; Thomas Judd and 
wife; Mr, DeSeeore and wife. The class did not hold up and discontinued, and 
the church was ordered sold in 1909, The land re\-crted to the original owners, 

TRINITY, MARSHALL CO., INDIANA 

As far back as 1853 our ministers made regular visits into this section 
J. Keiper reported that on April 9, 1853, father Geo. \\'ales preached in the 
Fertig Schoolhouse near the present Trmity Church, and on April 10th at Pretty 
Lake, a German community, two miles from the aforesaid schoolhouse. Peter 
Goetz was the first appointed Evangelical preacher that delivered a Gospel 
message in the immediate \'icinity of Trinity Church. This occurred in a lo.c 
schoolhouse, a short distance west of "Indian Chapel", which stood near the 
Indian Cemetery just north of Twin Lake R, R, Station, A few years latc 
preaching ceased here and services were held in the Grube Schoolhouse one mile 
north. Later services were again held in the Fertig Schoolhouse. Here a Sun- 
day School was started. In 1872 J. Ressler held a meeting here that resulted in 
40 conversions. Later an attempt was made to build a church west of Trinitv 
Church, centrally located between three classes, Burr Oak Flat, Pretty Lake, 
and Fertig Class, but the people could not agree on a location. So each class 
luiilt its own church. 

Trinity Church was built in the summer of 1881 by \\'ni. VVildermuth and 
was dedicated Nov. 6, '81, by E. L. Kiplinger, P. E. Charter members here 
were Matthias Beatty and wife, Kalh, York, John and Mary Kepler, Chas. 
Glass and wife, H. Hosier, David Fertig and wife, Henry Kaley and wife, Mr, 

232 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

C^rnlje and wife, Ben Long, Lovina Kirchbauni, Adam Sider and wife, Adam 
Appleman and wife, Barbara Barnes. Henrj' Hosier was the first class-leader 
and continued in that office for years. This society went through many conflicts 
an_d reverses, which militated .greatly against substantial prosperity. From 1905- 
07 this class belonged to North Liberty Circuit, and was served by I. G. Spencer. 
It belonged to Fulton Circuit up to 1881, then to Twin Lake up to 1899, when 
the name was changed to Culver where it remained until 1913, when this class 
with Hibbard, Washington and Rutland was made Hibbard Circuit. For pas- 
tor? see under Fulton, Twin Lake, Culver and Hibbard. 

TRINITY, LAGRANGE CO., INDIANA 

The date of the beginning of this appointment is not found, but it was likely 
the latter part of the sixties. It is located near South Milford, Indiana. In 1871 
D. S. Oakes, pastor, and }il. Krueger, P. E., began a camp-meeting on August 
21, on Michael Krieger's farm near the present Trinity Church. The tents were 
built of lumber. On August 5. '12, another one was held. The results are not 
on record. Services were yet held in homes and schoolhouses. Some of the 
early members here were: ^Michael Eckhart and family, Solomon Reinoehl's, 
John Ingler's, ^Michael Krieger's, and Foster's. For pastors that served here 
see under DeKalb Circuit up to 1873, then under Waterloo up to 1880, then un- 
der Kendallville Circuit up to 1889; then to Wolcottville up to 1915, and then 
to \A'aterloo since, except 1916 to Wolcottville. 

In 1874 a brick church was built and was dedicated August 16th by Editor 
R. Dubs. The German language then prevailed but later the English was used 
altogether. In 1882 D. S. Oakes held a revival here that resulted in 25 con- 
versions. J. Wales closed one, Jan. 22, '83, with many conversions and 16 acces- 
sions. H. E. Overmeyer closed a meeting here in 1888 with 38 saved and 30 
accessions. A Y. P. A. was organized by S. Hofferbert, March, 1895, with 2S 
members. By revivals, deaths, and removals this society has fluctuated, coming 
almost to the closing point several times, but has yet a little life (1923). 

TROUTWOOD, OHIO 

This society was located about six miles north of Dayton on the Penn. R. R. 
There was a class here in early years. The old church still stands. Failure due 
to clinging to the German in public services. 

TROY, MIAill CO.. OHIO 



This appointment existed in 1856 and was a part of the Miami Circuit in the 
Ohio Conference. In 1856 it was ceded to the Indiana Conference. Troy was 
then the county seat. J. Keiper's diary shows that this was then a regular ap- 
pointment. He mentions H. Genslinger's as members. 

233 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 
UNION CENTER, VAN WERT CO, OHIO 

This society is in the center of Union Twp, of Van Wert Co, Ohio, where 
now the township school is located. In 1895 it was an abandoned field by the 
English Lutheran Church. D. D. Spangler of Van Wert Charge then took up 
this class. After a few services here he held an evangelistic meeting which re- 
sulted in 11 Ijeing saved. Being urged by the majority of the Lutherans here, 
only one or two trustees protesting, he organized an Evangelical Society with 
20 charter members. This organization was now refused the use of the church 
for all services. Thereupon the Grangers, half mile north, offered their hall 
for Sunday School and preaching services. But in 1897, under D. D. Spcicher 
this society was allowed to re-occupy the church, and later it was bought, re- 
paired and dedicated as the "Union Center Church" of the Ev. Association. 
This is a hopeful society, well located in a very fertile country. A number of 
good revivals have occurred here. Same pastors have served here as at Grand 
Victory. 

UNION, DARKE COUNTY, OHIO 

In 1856 J. Keiper and others preached near Union City, Ohio, at the home 
of Carl Miller's. It then was a part of the Miami Circuit. 

URBANA, WABASH CO., INDIANA 

This society is an outgrowth of Wabash Society, which was organized in 
1871 by H. Preiss. At a revival held in Wabash in 1872, Sophia Schultz, Kath- 
crine Week, Martha Welsch and daughters, Lizzie and Louisa, of near Urbana 
were converted. Jacob Miller of Wabash Mission now began to preach every 
few weeks near LTrbana in the home of Conrad Baker, Geo. Holstein and Wm. 
Welsch who were already members at Wabash. He held one meeting in the 
Urbana Schoolhousc, but met with such fierce opposition from Lutherans that 
he did not continue. At the Spcicher Schoolhouse, lj4 miles east of Urbana, he 
conducted a catechetical class with four catechumens, Mary and Martha Baker, 
and Lizzie and Louisa Welsch. In 1874 C. C. Beyrer continued meetings here. 
In 1875 C. Brauer was stationed on Wabash Charge. But illness compelled him 
to resign. Then Dr. C. C. Baumgartner was prevailed upon to take the field. 
He began his work in November. It was a favorable appointment, a Swiss by 
birth, the families became greatly interested in him. B. also being a skilled 
pl.ysician, gained their confidence easier. They believed him to be the man of 
(iod for this place. In the winter of 1876-77, a revival broke out in the school- 
house appointment. Such meetings of divine power was a new thing here. Op- 
position, however, was not wanting. Persecution became so keen at one service 
that it was deemed expedient to give the meeting up in the schoolhouse. Serv- 
ices were held in father John Speicher's home. The first convert of this meeting 
was Mary Backer, 16 years old, whose conversion made such a deep impressiDn 

234 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

upnn the public mind, that many beheved in this work as a work of real divine 
grace. Then the children of John and Christian Speicher and Wm. Welsch 
v/ere converted. 

The Speicher's now withdrew from the Evangelical Synod of Urbana. Dr. 
B. received church members and organized them into a society as follows, John 
Speicher, wife and Rosa; Samuel Speicher and wife; Fred Speicher and wife; 
John Speicher, Jr., and wife; Daniel L. Joseph, Peter S., David, Philip, Speicher; 
Christian Speicher and wife and his sons, John, Samuel, Fred., Peter, Daniel; 
Sophia Schultz; Kath. Keck; Conrad Baker and wife; Geo. H. Holstein; Wm., 
Martha, Louisa and Elizabeth Welsch and Jacob and Julia Schnitz. David 
Speicher was elected class-leader. 

Early m 1877 a Sunday School was organized with D. L. Speicher super- 
intendent. Soon after this revival it was decided to build a brick church on the 
corner of Fred. Speicher's farm. The church was dedicated October 7, 'IT, by 
Bishop R. Dubs as "Zion Church". The cost was $2,000.00. Of this $700.00 was 
raised on dedication day. E. L. Kiplinger was P. E. This was a great year for 
this people. The interest reached its zenith when the society sent an invitation 
to Conference in Linn Grove, Indiana, September, 1877, to hold its next session 
in their church. Next April, 1878, Conference was held here with Bishop R. 
Dubs presiding. 

In 1878 J. K. Trover was pastor. He had a gracious harvesting here from 
the sowing. This j^ear John Gurtner and wife and Wm. Schnitz came into the 
church. The increase for the next 10-12 years was realized through accessions 
of brides of the young Speichers who succeeded in leading their companions 
unto salvation, and then the children of these became the natural increase to the 
church. In 1880 Geo. Schmoll was pastor; 1881-82, E. R. Trover; '83, J. Berger; 
'84-85, Geo. Schmoll; '86-87, C. C. Beyrer with A. S. Fisher first year and S. H. 
Baumgartner second year. 1888, J. Hoffman; '89-90, Geo. Roederer. He had a 
gracious revival, .^t this time the language question began to agitate the minds 
of the people. The older ones preferred the German, and the younger the 
English. The M. E. Church just had started a mission in Urbana and since some 
of our people lived in town they became interested in it, though not wishing to 
join them. The M. E. people, not numerically strong, and seeing that our people 
purposed to start an English Society, ceased work here. In 1890 W. Wildcr- 
muth was pastor. 

In 1891 Urbana was added to West Point and called L'rbana Mission, I. 
Wales, pastor. A camp-meeting was held this year in J. Speicher's grove, with 
Editor J. C. Hornbcrger and Pres. H. J. Kiekhoefer as principal speakers. This 
year the church in Urbana was built, containing one main auditorium 28 x 46 
feet, and two class-rooms, one on either side of it each 17x28 feet. There are 
two vestibules in the two towers for entrance. The seating capacity 500. The 
cost of the church was $4,600.00. Previous to this, services had been held in 

235 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

the old Lutheran Church. Samuel S., Fred F., and J. B. Speicher were the 
trustees and supervised the erection. In January, 1892, the church was dedicated 
by J. Wales, due to the unavoidable absence of Bishop S. C. Breyfogel. On 
September 4, '92, the first Y. P. A. was organized with 30 members. 

The old society in the country began losing out when they allowed their 
children to attend Sunday School in town. This ended the German. In 1893 
J. M. Dustman served. He obtained Evangelist Grob for a meeting. Many 
experienced full salvation. In 1894 Aug. Geist was pastor. He had evangelist 
McLaughlin for a special meeting in February, 1895. In 1896 the Conference 
session was held here again with Bishop S. C. Breyfogel presiding. J. E. Stoops 
became pastor at this Conference session. He had a wonderful revival here. 
He held four meetings daily for a time, with conversions at all meetings. One 
time 47 were at the altar and 20 were saved. He had one very impressive serv- 
ice when 14 husbands with their wives were together at the altar. Business 
places, even the saloon, closed at 7:15 p. m. for the service. In two weeks 115 
bowed at the altar, most of whom were saved and 63 united with the church. 
"The saloon quietly shut up shop". In 1898 F. E. Zechicl served Urbana. This 
was a year of sore trial for pastor and people, due to lack of patience one with 
the other and love that forgives, and forgets. In 1899-02, A. Geist; '03, F. 
Rausch; '04-07, M. L. Scheidler; '08-11, F. L. Snyder; '12-16, A. A. Knepper; 
'17, C. A. Wright; '18-20, O. A. Overholser; '21-23, C. E. Geist. Dave Hill and 
the Petticord party held c\'angelistic meetings here with success. This societj' 
recommended the following men for license to preach: D. D. Speicher, 1885; 
C. D. Wendall, 1891; Geo. E. Speicher, 1891; P. S. Speicher, 1892; C. E. Gei.~,t. 
1894; T. L. Speicher, 1908; G. C. Pullman, 1910; E. F. Snyder, 1910. This society 
ha.? owned two parsona,gcs to date. The present one is a commodious home. 
Auxiliary to this society arc a well equipped Sunday School; a good Y. P. A.; 
a live W. M. S., and a Ladies' Aid Society. 

VANDALIA, ILLINOIS 

J. G. Afiller in 1846 was sent into this section of Illinois to prospect for new 
preaching places. Vandalia was one of the places investigated. On July 24, 
1846, A. B. Schafer, P. E., left his home at E. Germantown for this place and 
preached here in a Presbyterian Church. He held a two-day nreeting and helped 
to pave the way for a new field which was taken up in 1847, as Vandalia Mis- 
sion, embracing a large territory. Later the mission developed into appoint 
ments as follows: Hickory Creek, S. W. of Brownstown; Camp-Creek, eight 
miles N. E. of Vandalia; Gilmore Schoolhouse; Crane Class; Westphalia, near 
Watson and Breising, S. E. of Eflingham; Wolf Creek; Prairie and Colchill in 
Shelby Co. In 1866 this mission was divided into Vandalia and Shelby Mis- 
sions. The first covering all of the western part of the old Vandalia Circuit and 
the second the eastern part. See Campcreek, Emmanuel, Wolfcreek, Prairie, 
F.dgewood, Altamont, Mattoon, etc. 

236 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 



VANDALIA, OHIO 

Vandalia lies north of Dayton, Ohio. There was a class here hefore 1856 
when it was a part of Miami Circuit and later of Montgomery Circuit. J. Keip- 
er's record gives the names of a class of 41 members. 

The appointment later belonged to Greenville Circuit and then to PhiUips- 
burg. In 1886 Chr. Kimmel, John Dietzel and John Schoenherr of Dayton 
Commercial St. Church were elected as trustees of the Vandalia Church prop- 
erty, and were ordered to sell the church and to apply the proceeds to the Mis- 
sionary Church debt. In 1895 the church was reported sold. This church was 
built prior to 1856. 

VARNA, MARSHALL CO., ILLINOIS 

This class was organized about 1871. It was located six miles north of Van- 
dalia, Illinois, and was a part of Shelby Mission. A church was built and dedi- 
cated November 3, 1872. The class did not live long. It was abandoned by the 
South Indiana Conference. 

VAN WERT, OHIO 

This class was organized with eight 
members by Geo. A. Hertel in 186,3. They 
were: Mr. and Mrs. Chilcote, Wm. Her- 
tel and wile, Jacob Haffen and wif". 
Van Wert Mission was formed in 1863, 
and included Grand View, Van Wert, St. 
Peter's, St. Paul, Celina (Hope), Salem 
( \\"eifenl)ach's), Mendon, Reutgers anil 
\\'illshire, all in Ohio. Hertel served two 
years. In 1865 this mission was made a 
circuit with C. Wessling as pastor for 
two years. In 1867-68, Ph. Porr; '69, 
Wm. Wessler; '70, P. Roth and S. S. Condo, this society again being placed with 
St. Marys Circuit. 1871 Van Wert Mission re-established with J. Keiper, pastor 
for two years. 

In 1872 a brick church was built. Durin.g a fierce wind storm one of the 
vails, when ncarlj' up, was blown dov.-n. The church was dedicated Dec. 29, '12. 
by Editor R. Dubs. In 1873 I. F. Bockman was pastor. A parsonage was built, 
costing $700.00. In 1874 J. Wales served. Language trouljle of a serious nature 
arose this year, actuating the embittered trustees to lock the church-doors a,gainsl 
the English language sympathizers, and the pastor, who sought representation 
on the trustee board. In 1875 C. C. Beyrer was apnointed. At this session the 
Conference exhonerated the ministers involved for their part in the language 
controversy, and disapproved of the procedure of the trustees for dragging the 
society into litigation, and for barring the English. Later the court modified 

237 




INDIANA CONFERENCE 

this last action so the English worship could he resumed. After this modifica- 
tion the society enjoyed a gracious revival when 60 were saved and united with 
the church. In 1876-77, this society again belonged to St. Marys Circuit, with 
S. S. Albert as pastor. In 1878 the Van Wert Mission was again established 
and served with the same pastor. In 1879-81, B. F. Dill with Wm. Ackerman 
the first year. In 1881 Dill reported, "The old harassing language difficulty was 
row removed and there is now English preaching every Sunday night to a 
crowded house". In 1882-84 J. E. Smith served. He reported February 26, 
'^3, a glorious revival with 38 saved and 30 accessions. And in 1884 he closed 
3. nine-week revival with 60 conversions and 42 accessions, and organized an 
English Sunday School. In 1885-87, S. S. Albert was again pastor. The last 
year he reported 14 saved and accessions, and the organization of a \V. M. S. 
with 20 members, and a Mission Band. In 1887 H. Arlen served three months 
when he was elected by the district as P. E. in J. Berger's place who had re- 
signed due to illness. J. H. Evans was secured to fill the pulpit here for the 
rest of the year. In 1888-90, Fr. Ransch; '91-92, J. E. Smith; '93-94, Wm. Acker- 
man; '95-96, D. D. Spangler. Church repairs were made by the ladies the sec- 
ond year, costing $400.00. On July 12th, Editor S. P. Spreng re-opened the 
church with special services. Pastor Spangler being incapacitated by a twelve- 
week siege of illness, J. O. Mosicr, local pastor, took charge of the general 
services up to Conference time. In 1897-99, D. D. Speicher; 1900-02, D. B. Koe- 
uig, assisted In- W. H. Freshley the second year and G. C. Lutman the third 
year. In 1903, A. Geist and C. D. Rin.ggenberg; '04-06, J. E. Stoops; '07-09, 
W. H. Mygrant; '10-14, F. T. Stedckc. In 1913 a new modern church was built 
of brick in two shades, Bedford stone trimmings and with slate roof. The size 
is 58x60 feet. The church contains seven class-rooms, a mother's room, gal- 
lery on three sides, a total seating capacity of 500. It is lighted with electric 
lights, the woodwork in red oak finish and there are art-glass windows. The 
church was dedicated January 11, 1914, by Bishop S. P. Spreng. The cost was 
$17,000.00. Previous to dedication $8,500.00 had been secured in pledges. The 
rest was obtained in cash and pledges on dedication day. The Ladies' Aid So- 
ciety and the Sunday School again displayed a heroic spirit as did individuals in 
giving generous pledges. 

In '15-16, B. Schuermeier; '17-23, J. H. Rilling. During his pastorate he 
says, "There were no great revivals and large increases in membership, but there 
has been a steady increase and growth in all of the organizations of the church. 
The indebtedness on the new church of $5,150.00 almost unprovided for has 
been paid. The Rally Day offerings the last five years amounted to $1,694.51, 
the highest for one Rally Day was October 17, 1920, reaching $531.18. 

WABASH, INDIANA " . 

For some time Evangelical ministers preached in the vicinity of this city 
before an organization was effected. The families Gurtner's and Maurer's, 

238 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

south of the city, received preaching from pastors of Waupecong Circuit since 
1859. A class was there formed which was in 1871 attached to Huntington 
Charge when H. Preis began preaching in Wabash in homes and the courthouse. 
He found access to the families of Fr. Rausch's, John Schlemmer's, and others, 
and organized a class. The work looked encouraging. In September, 1872, 
Conference established a mission in Wabash with J. Miller as first missionary. 
Young's and Gurtner's Classes were added to this mission. With this small 
beginning Miller began gathering a membership. Within his two years' time he 
built a church 31x45 feet at a cost of $1,784.00, which was dedicated August, 
1873. In 1873 the society obtained the right to collect money for this church 
from adjoining fields. In 1874 he reported 15 saved and 13 accessions. In Sep- 
tember, 1874, C. C. Beyrer became pastor; '75, Fr. Brauer. He resigned due to 
illness and Dr. C. C. Baumgartner of Linn Grove, Indiana, was secured for the 
p'ace. He served three Conference j'ears, beginning in November. There was 
a steady development of the work. In April, 1878-79, J. K. Troyer was appoint- 
ed. He had a good increase in membership. In 1880, G. Schmoll. .Shortly be- 
fore Conference session a parsonage was bought with money he had collected. 

In 1881-82 E. R. Troyer served. He labored with marked success. In 
1883, John Berger. Soon after his arrival he was thrown out of his buggy and 
had a leg broken. While he had yet to walk on crutches a fire broke out in the 
stable, destroying it and a part of the parsonage. In 1884-85, Geo. Schmoll 
served again. In 1886-87, C. C. Beyrer again, with A. S. Fisher first and S. H. 
Baumgartner the second years. His assistants mostly preached in the north 
end of the work. In 1888 J. Hoffman was pastor. He reported seven conver- 
sions. In 1889-92 Geo. Roederer served. He organized a Y. P. A. in May, 1892, 
with Rose Rausch as president. He had many souls for his hire. In 1893-95, 
D. D. Speicher served. He had bitter trials due to the language question. The 
German was now dropped in a measure. He had success in soul winning. In 
1895-97, J. E. Smith. English services were now held regularly on Sunday 
evenings. He had a great revival and took in 80 members. As the church was 
now too small, an additional wing was built to the south. This cost was about 
$1,000.00. Bishop S. C. Breyfogel re-dedicated it May 31, 1896. Due to throat 
difficulty. Smith resigned November 3, '91 , and S. S. Albert finished the year. 

In April, 1898, S. H. Baumgartner. On June 1, 1898, at a called public 
meeting it was decided that there should be German preaching once a month on 
Sunday A. M., and the second and third Thursday evening of each month, and 
on Saturday afternoons at Quarterly Meetings. All other services should be 
English. This was a year of severe trials due to doctrinal differences which 
culminated in a schism. Due to backslidings, removals, withdrawals, and deaths, 
the membership loss was 53, the gain only 14. In 1899-01, A. S. Fisher served. 
B. was elected P. E. The causes of the defection of the preceding year having 
been removed, this administration moved along far more harmoniously. He had 

239 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

many souls for his hire. A hngerinp; church debt was paid. In 1902-04, J. H. 
Rilling served. He had successful revivals. In 1905, C. H. Burgener; 1906-08, 
D. B. Koenig. He resigned at New-year's, '09, to go west to join the California 
Conference, and C. Schlemmer finished the year. In 1909-12, F. S. Erne. He had 
four good years. In 1913-16, P. L. Browns. In the winter of 1910 the church 
was destroyed by fire. The G. A. R. hall was obtained for worship. A new 
church had to be built. With $16,500.00 in sight in cash and subscriptions the 
enterprise was undertaken and the beautiful house of worship was dedicated on 
December 3, 1916, by Bishop S. C. Breyfogel. The work reflected credit to the 
pastor and people. The entire cost of the church was $21,000.00. The building 
i= classic in design. The walls are of Brazil chinchilla brick in two colors. The 
main auditorium and S. S. Department can be formed into one large room, 
seating 700 people. It has 12 class-rooms, men's room, mother's room, music 
and library room, and a basement under the entire church with all modern ar- 
rangements. 

In 1917-19, E. M. Kerlin. Soon after Conference of 1918 he had Dave Hill 
for evangelistic work. A pipe organ was installed. In 1920 D. A. Kaley; in 
l"21-23, ^V. E. Snyder. He raised al>out $1,500.00 each year on the indebtedness. 

WABASH, ZION 

This society is three miles south of Wabash, Indiana. It was known in 
early years as "Turkey Pen" and "Hope Class". Fr. Geisel in 1858-59 was sent 
to Waupecong Mission which included Zion. On June 15, 1860, just before the 
Annual Conference met in September, he reported that there is a Swiss settle- 
ment here, that he visited this place for the first time in the spring of 1859; that 
on. June 9th he was inwardly impressed that he should go here to preach, and 
without previous notification came here, announced that he would preach here 
and tarry a few days. The people were careful not to be deceived. They, how- 
ever, came to hear him. His preaching convicted them of sin even unto re- 
pentance and 18 were saved. Others were yet seeking, 19 joined the Ev. Asso- 
ciation, and were organized into the "Hope" Class. The members then were: 
Charles Gurtner and wife. Mother Maurer and two daughters, Mrs. Mary 
Gochcnaur, and Mrs. Lucinda Smith. H. Niederhauser, who later moved to 
Salem, near Defiance, Ohio, joined a little later, as also did Charles Gurtner, Jr., 
and wife, Fred and Chr. Gurtner and F:iizabeth and Rosa, their sisters. This 
society was served by pastors from Waupecong until 1867, when it was attached 
to Huntington Circuit. In 1872 it became merged with the Wabash Society of 
vvhich they became charter members. Up to this time they worshipped in a 
schoolhouse and in homes. 

In 1889 Geo. Roederer of Wabash Mission took up this place as a regular 
appointment. Several new families from Ohio, including Albert and Henry 
Rpply's, moved here. They were members of our church in Ohio. Previous 

240 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

to this, in 1887, C. C. Beyrer and S. H. Baumgartner had preached some here 
and held a short evangelistic meeting in the "Turkey Pen" Schoolhouse, hut 
were compelled to close on account of heavy rains. In 1897 J. E. Smith built 
a frame church which was dedicated ])y Bishop Thomas Bowman, May .30, 
1897. In 1899 Zion was detached from Wabash, and with Bethel and West 
Point became Wabash Circuit, and was added to Et. Wayne District. P. L. 
Browns was pastor tor two years. The second year it became a mission. In 
1901, H. Schleucher; 1902 it was again added to Wabash Mission until 1908, when 
i1 was added to Spikerville Circuit and was for four years served by Ira Dawes. 
In 1911 the name Spikerville was changed to Wabash Circuit. In 1912 B. G. 
Smith was pastor; 'Ij, J. M. Lantz; '14, S. J. Kroft. It was this year transferred 
to Elkhart District. In 1915-17, J. W. Thomas; '18-19, A. W. Eeller; '2(1, E. W. 
Schafer; '21-22, C. W. Spanglcr; '23. L. M. }vlaurer, 

WANATAH, LAPORTE CO., INDIANA 

The work of the Ev. Association in and around Wanatah had its 1)cginning 
in the sixties, when preachers from the IlHnois Conference came one mile south 
of this town and preached in what was known as Roselle Schoolhouse. They 
also preached north at Wellsville and near Valparaiso, Indiana. In 1867 the 
Pulaski Circuit was formed of fields south of the Kankakee River, and western 
Fulton County appointments, and also embraced Wanatah, and Morgan appoint- 
ment, about five miles east of Wanatah. Jacob Miller was pastor. In 1868 
Wanatah was detached from Pulaski Circuit and with Medaryville Class (Beth- 
lehem) became Medaryville Mission and was served two years by C. Heini. The 
members in and around Wanatah were preparing to build a church. There was 
a division among thein as to whether it was to be in Wanatah or out in the 
country. Wm. Lueder was pastor during 1870-72. The church was built in the 
coimtry in 1872. In 1873 the name Medaryville was changed to Wanatah and 
P. Roth was assigned to it for two years. For the pastors see under Medary- 
ville up to 1890 and then under San Pierre except for the years here given. 

In 1883 Laporte Mission was formed, including the appointments of Wana- 
tah Circuit, north of the Kankakee River. Geo. Schmoll was pastor; 1884, Aug. 
Iwan. On May 11, 1884, the small church in Wanatah was dedicated by R. 
Mott, associate editor of the Ger. S. S. Literature. In 1885 Wanatah was de- 
tached from Laporte and with Knox and vicinity constituted Wanatah Mission, 
and was left to be supplied. In 1886, J. C. Schuh; '87-88, A. S. Fisher; '89, 
V/m. Wildermuth; '90, B. E. Snyder. In 1891 it was added again to Medaryville 
and served two years by J. A. Tiedt, 1893-94, E. Bohlander. C. Kalwitz and 
H. Weishaar finished Bohlander's year after his accidental death. 1895-96, M. 
Krueger; '97-99, J. Mundorf; 1900-01, J. W. Feller. The name was changed to 
San Pierre where the parsonage was located. In 1911-13, J. A. Tiedt served 
only Wanatah, thereafter it was placed back to San Pierre to 1923. 

241 

16 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

WANATAH, ZION, LAPORTE CO., INDIANA 

This socictj' is located six miles S. E. from Wanatah, and preaching com- 
menced here al)Out the same time as at Wanatah. The church was built in 1872 
and dedicated December 1, by E. L. Kiplinger, P. E. The history of this class 
is practically the same as that of the church in Wanatah as they always were 
together. This class, however, was always much stronger numerically. Many 
victorious meetings were held here. The eastern part of this class reached into 
Hannah, Indiana, where A. S. Fisher, in 1887-88, tried to establish our banner 
in the English language. Others did some preaching here. But as the M. E. 
Church had a small society, the effort was soon given up. This society has 
maintained a S. S. for many years. Carl Kalwitz was recommended for the 
niinistrj' by this church. This society owns a ceraeterj' beside the church. 

WARES CHAPEL, NEAR ELDORADO, OHIO 

The work of the Ev. Association m this cominunity already had begun in 
1856 when J. Keiper preached at Holtzinger's, sister Couch's, Scheyhing's, and 
Ceiser's near the present Wares Chapel. Before 1856 this place was a part of 
the Ohio Conference, but now of Miami Circuit, Indiana Conference. The 
original class worshipped in a log building seven miles S. E. of the present 
church, which was a U. B. Chapel. Our Scheyhing Class people, as they were 
then often called, helped to build this chapel, and had a mutual agreement with 
the U. B: people that they could hold their services here. Our members at this 
place then were: Bcrnhart Scheyhing, his wife and children Christina, Joh, Eva, 
Jacob, Matthew, Christian and Kathring; Julia Ware; Gottlieb Hollzinger; Wm. 
M, Price. 

In 1873 this society belonged to Dayton Station. In 1874-75, to Richmond; 
1876-77, to Montgomery Circuit; 1878-79, to Richmond Mission again. In the 
winter of 1878 a >mion revival was held here with the U. B.'s, with Rev. Huddle, 
I.^. B. pastor, and Geo. Roederer, our pastor, then living in Richmond, This 
meeting was a great success. Our membership increased considerably and they 
concluded to build a church of their own. The members inet on a February day 
in. 1879 at Jacob Gouch's, where a subscription list for this purpose was started, 
resulting in $500.00 secured. At this time there were a few members at New 
Hope, S. W. from the Wares Chapel, who, not being able to build a church of 
their own, were with the Scheyhing Class, incorporated here. The charter mem- 
bers here were: Julia and Adaline Scheyhing; Julia Ware, Jr.; Mary and Alice 
Ware; Martha and Clara Richards; Jacob and Sarah Holtzinger; Francis L. 
Hendrickson; Francis E. Pierson; Levi H. Happner; J. C. Nyott; Lydia Pier- 
son; Barbara Miller; Wm. C. Bunger; Conrad and Sarah Schafer; Anna House; 
Levi and Rachel Petrc; and Kath. Schafer. The church here was dedicated 
September 14, 1879, by Bishop T. Bowman; C. C. Baumgartner, P. E. In 1880- 
8! it belonged to Montgomery Circuit, J. Miller, pastor; 1882, to E. German- 

242 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

town, D. S. Oakes, pastor; 1883, to Montgomery again, F. Launer, pastor; 1884- 
85, Fr. Rausch; 1886, C. Tramor; 1887, to E., Germantown, VV. H. Mygrant; 
1888-90, no record found; 1891, to Montgomery, B. F. Snyder; 1892-95, to Green- 
ville Charge, R. F. Jameson two years, and Ph. Buehler two years; 1896-99, to 
Phillipsburg, E. E. Meyer and J. A. Ticdt, each two years respectively; 1900, 
to E. Germantown, C. W. Spangler; 1901 and since, to PhilHpsburg; pastors: 
1901-04, P. S. Speicher; 1905-08, E. E. Aliller; '09, W. A. Stowell; '10, C. D. 
Ringgenberg; '11-12, A. Geist; '13, D. P. Claypool; '14-lS, J. Miindorf; '16, W. H. 
Mygrant; '17-18, E. W. Haley; '19, C. Coverstonc; '20, B. C. Earhart; '21, P. S. 
Speicher; '22, B. R. Hoover; '23, to Greenville, A. J. Stemen. 

WASHINGTON, FULTON CO., INDIANA 

This society was organized by Henry Prechtel in 1880 from a part of the 
Pleasant Schoolhonse appointment, located near the south shore of Maxincuckee 
Lake when it disbanded, part of it uniting with the Zechiel Society a few mile:, 
v-est, and the eastern part, consistin.g of 16 members, became the Washington 
Society, namely: J. C. Zachman and wife; Deljolt Kline, Sr., and wife; Geo. 
Kline and wife; Daniel Frey and wife; John Snyder and wife; Wash. Over- 
mcyer and wife; Theo Kline and wife; J. L. Scheuermann and wife; Debolt 
Kline, Jr., and wife; and Mary Krei.g. Zachman was the first class-leader. 

The\' first worshipped in a schoolhousc from 1881-86 near the church. Here 
Prechtel held a revival in 1881 which proved a success. In 1886 our people 
helped to build the M. P. Church, one mile east from where our church stands, 
for the privilege of worshippin.g here, and holding English services. For pas- 
tors see Twin Lake up to 1899, and then Culver up to 1913 when it became a 
psrt of Culver and Hibbard Circuit. In 1890 J. M. Dustman began preparation 
for an Evangelical Church. The union affair did not work well. Our people 
grew into a safe majority and the Union Sunday School was largely in their 
hands. Jealousy arose and our people found it expedient to withdraw in 1891, 
and built a church. H. E. Overmeyer, pastor, called a society meeting and 
elected a board of trustees, namely: Wm. Curtis, Pres.; Wm. Klein, Sec.-Treas.; 
Wash. Overmeyer. These with J. L. Zachman and A. Savage were made the 
building committee. The church is 28 x 44 feet. The cost of the church, ex- 
clusive of lot and donated work, was $1,350.00. D. Martz, P. E.. dedicated it 
February 21, 1892. $308.00 was raised on this day, which more than covered 
the debt. The name Culver Circuit was changed to Hiljbard in 1917, due to 
the fact that the parsonage was now at Hibbard. A Y, P. A. was organized on 
March 14, 1895, with 46 members. First president was Charles Martz. For 
quite a while good work was done by this organization. It also had a wide- 
awake W. M. S. for some time. By deaths and removals both organizations lost 
out. For years this was a strong and influential society. 

243 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 
WATERFORD, ELKHART CO., INDIANA 

This class was three miles south of Goshen. A. B. Schafer, P. E., with Wm. 
Fichte, the pastor, came to this place to start a special meeting on October 21, 
1846, at the home of Bro. Walmer and continued over Sunday. Soon after reach- 
ing this place they were surprised by the arrival of Bishop J. Seybert. He was 
then quite ill and feeble. Nevertheless he preached on Sunday evening, al- 
though he could hardly be heard, yet his words were full of Spirit and power. 
This evidences that he was ready to sacrifice himself, to "burn out" for the 
Church of Jesus Christ. This class never developed. 

WATERLOO, INDIANA 

Waterloo was a part of the old DeKalb Mission which was in 1844, a part 
of Ft. Wayne Mission, of the Illinois Conference. In 1845 this mission was sub- 
divided into Elkhart Circuit and St. Marys Mission, the latter including this 
place. For pastors up to 1852 see under St. Marys. At this time DeKalb Mis- 
sion was formed, embracing Noble, LaGrange, Steuben and DeKalb Counties in 
Indiana; and Williams and Defiance Counties in Ohio. From lack of one man 
this mission was left to be supplied. Joseph Fisher and B. Ruh of Elkhart Cir- 
cuits were placed in charge of the western part of this mission, and A. Nicolai 
and Fr. Schuerman of St. Marys of the south and eastern part. See under De- 
Kalb Mission. 

In 1867 Waterloo Society was organized by M. Krueger, P. E. of Elkhart 
District, of such members as had moved here. E. L. Kiplinger was made pastO'-. 
In 1868, A. Parker and Geo. Wales; 1869-70, D. S. Oakes and J. Wales, and H. 
E. Overmcyer, assistants successively. 1871, E. L. Kiplinger and E. T, Hoch- 
stctler; 1872-73, R. Riegel and E. Einsel. The second year this field was divided 
into Kendallville and Waterloo Circuits but served together. The latter em- 
braced Waterloo. Raminger, Turkey Creek, County Line, Trinity or Reinoehl's, 
Salem, west of Edon, Ohio, Stroh's and Sedan. 

In 1875-86, A. Geist built the first frame church, a short distance S. W. of 
the town. On September 16, 1877, Bishop R. Dubs dedicated the church as "St. 
Paul's" Church. The size was 36x58 feet. The cost of the building was 
$3,800.00. In 1877-78, Geo. Freehafer; 79-80, C. C. Beyrer. Savilla Kring, sister 
to Mrs. Beyrer, conducted a gracious revival here in the winter of 1881, resulting 
in 35 conversions and 31 accessions. The society was then flourishing. 1881- 
'i^, A. R. Shafer. The town of Waterloo at this time enjoyed prosperity, having 
a number of good factories. Some of these a few years later moved out, and 
nearly depopulated the place. In 18S2 the Annual Conference session was held 
here. 1884-85, J. E. Stoops; '86, I. B. Fisher; '87, W. H. Brightmire; '88-90, 
W. H. Mygrant. In 1889 M. succeeded in having the church moved into town 
to its present site, and made some necessary improvements upon it, and had it 
rededicatcd. The new parsonage also was now located here, just north of the 

244 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

church, which since has undergone several remodellings. 1891, W. S. Tracy; '92, 
J. F. Bockman; '93, P. L. Browns; '94-95, C. M. Pierce; '96-98, D. E. Zechiel; 
'99-00, C. H. Burgener; '01, J. M. Smith; '02-03, F. B. Walmcr; '04, W. H. My- 
grant; '05-06, W. H. Freshley; '07, D. O. Wise; '08-09, G. F. Zuber; '10-12, P. L. 
Browns; '13-15, A. Geist; '16-21, J. M. Kistler; '22-23, W. I. Weyant. Waterloo 
belonged to St. Joseph District up to 1864, then to Elkhart up to 1891; then to 
Ft. Wayne up to 1894; then to Kendallville up to 1898 and since to Ft. Wayne. 

WATERLOO, COUNTY LINE 

This class derived its name from being located on the county line between 
DeKalb and Steuben Counties, two miles west of Hudson, Indiana. It was or- 
ganized in 1864 by J. Kronmiller. This year a frame church was built here and 
dedicated. Many good meetings were held. Probably one of the best by D. E. 
Zechiel which closed in 1896 with 21 saved and 16 accessions. The church was 
repaired and remodelled in 1900 by C. H. Burgener, following a glorious re- 
vival in 1899. A tower and bell was added, and it received new siding, new 
windows, pews and a new roof, all at a cost of $710.00. The society has about 
kept its own for many years. This society produced one local preacher, Geo. 
Fredrick. List of preachers, see Waterloo. 

WATERLOO, PLEASANT HILL 

Preaching in this neighborhood by our preachers commenced in David 
P.rinochl's home, April 5, 1859. The meeting was protracted and resulted in 16 
conversions. It was the east class of the Trinity Society in Lagrange Co. A 
camp-meeting was held on R.'s farm, August 8, 1861, about seven to eight miles 
K. W. of Waterloo. August, 1867, M. W. Stefley reported a class seven miles 
north of Corunna, Indiana, where a small church was dedicated, likely by him- 
self, costing $1,375.00. $761.00 had to be raised at this time. Nothing much 
v\ as found of this place since then. It was probably a union church. 

When J. E. Stoops was pastor on Waterloo Charge in 1884, he held a 
meeting here in November in a schoolhouse, one mile north of the present 
Pleasant Hill Church. This was a new appointment. Only one family, Solomon 
Rcinoehl's, lived here who were members of the Ev. Association. The meeting 
resulted in 14 conversions, among them Rev. H. H. Reinochl, wife and son 
Charles. Then a class of 17 members was organized with Henry H. Reinoehl 
as class-leader. Pastor Stoops related this: "When the meeting was in progress 
he went to H. H. R. who was a carpenter and skeptically inclined, and asked 
him to make two 'mourner's-benches' for the meeting, believing that he would 
need them. R. with a smile consented to make them good and strong, for he 
knew well the use of altars among the 'Albrights' as our people were commonly 
called. After a few days S. went over to Mr. R. for his benches. He was in- 
formed that they were done, and R. said in delivering them to S., 'These arc 

245 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

made good and strong. They -will stand all the pounding your penitents can 
give them'. He generouslj' carried one over to the schoolhouse for him, while 
S, carried the other. A few nights later, not only his wife and son were at the 
altar as penitents, but R. himself in great penitence and agony of soul was there. 
After a hard struggle he was happily converted at the 'mourner's-bench' made 
by himself." 

The need of a church was now felt. A brick church was then built near Sol. 
Reinoehl's farm, about four mile? north of Corunna, Indiana. It was dedicated 
November 8, 1885, by Bishop T. Bowman as the "Pleasant Hill Church". For 
a number of years an interesting society and Sunday School was maintained 
here. But gradually the people moved away, so that the place had to be aban- 
doned and the church was sold with the contents m 1918 for $150.00, the pro- 
ceeds flowing into the Conference Treasury. 

WEAVER'S CLASS 

This class was located about four miles S. E. of Elkhart and in 1867 was 
added to Elkhart Mission. .'Xfter this it was placed hither and thither to Elkhart 
Circuit and Elkhart Mission, and finally merged with Dunlaps Society'. 

WEST BUFFALO, WILLIAMS CO., OHIO 

This society was located about six miles S. E. of Montpelier, Ohio. A 
meeting was held at Herman's, January, 1860, resulting in a spiritual awakening 
and strengthening of believers. It was one of the 20 appointments on DeKalb 
Circuit in 1858 that required 200 miles of travel to make one round. In 1864 it 
belonged to Defiance; '65, to DeKalb; '66, to Defiance. In 1870 the inembers 
here were: Levi and Lydia Deal and children Jonas, Catherine, Sainuel, John, 
Caroline, Elias, Margaret, and Charles; Jacob Gall; Jonas and Sarah Deatz; 
Jacob and Eliza Frock; Samuel Deatz; Emanuel and Marg. Steffey; Susan, 
Rebecca, and Caroline Gipe, The time of abandonment is not found, but it was 
after 1880 when it belonged to Edgcrton Circuit. 

WESTPFIALEN, ILLINOIS 

This society was near Watson, Illinois. It belonged to Vandalia Mission in 
1860, and was served by M. Klaiber and Fr. Launer. It was soon abandoned. 

WEST SALEM, EDWARDS CO., ILLINOIS 

In 1854 Peter Burgener of Olney Charge received a hearty invitation to 
come to West Salem to preach. The invitation came from Jos. Barth who 
lived here. He was formerly a member of the M. E. Church in St. Louis, Mo. 
In August, 1854, Burgener delivered his first sermon in Earth's cooper-shop to 
a large and attentive audience. A few weeks later he again preached here and 
organized a society with the following members: Jos. Barth and wife, Geo. and 
Afichael Koehler. West Salem now became a regular appointment on Olncy 

246 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

Charge. June, 18SS, B. Ruh became pastor of Olney Charge, including this 
place. The first protracted meeting held here was in May, 1856, in the home of 
John A. Altner. Wm. Bockman of Mt. Carmel assisted B. Ruh in this meeting. 
There were conversions and five accessions. A reorganization of the class now 
took place with John E. Altner as class-leader. September, 1858, this society 
was added to Mt. Carmel Circuit. The work prospered, and this year was re- 
corded as a "remarkable one" for this class. 

July, 1858, John Fuchs, D. Bartholomew, and C. Kohlmeier held a ten-day 
meeting here at which the attendance grew to such proportions that the old 
cooper-shop had to be abandoned. A vacant store was rented from D. Hedrick 
where the meeting continued. Many were converted and united with the church. 
Witnesses declared that they never before saw the power of God and His Spirit 













VjxJ. i^itk 








\ " ^mS/^^ 








'^^^m 












', 


^g 




^^^^^^ 


fj^ 




jK/Itw^^m 




W^^ 








^ 




^s 










^m 


n 



West Salem Church, West Salem, 111. 



so visibly demonstrated as at this meeting. In the fall another meeting was 
held, resulting in conversions and accessions. This meeting was held in Henry 
Busifink's furniture store. Most of the new members came from the German 
Moravian Church. Rev. Fuchs was denounced as a devil. Opposition became 
strong, but the work went on. In December, 1859, at a Q. Conference, both 
West Salem and Lancaster wanted a parsonage. It was decided that the society 
which paid two-thirds of the cost should have it. A number of the West Salem 

247 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

men pledged $40.00 each and won out. In I860 a brick parsonage 27x28 feet 
and a story and a half high was built at a cost of $800.00, and declared to be 
the best one on the district, if not in the Conference. 

In 1861 a religious awakening among the young folks took place under Wm. 
Wesseler. After the Civil War broke out many young men felt prompted by a 
patriotic spirit to take up arms in defense of the Union. While in service, many 
belonged to the same companies, and maintained their religious experience and 
returned as earnest Christians. In 1863-65, H. L. Fisher and A. Parker served. 
From 1865-67 this society belonged to Mt. Carmel Circuit. In 1868 West Salem 
Circuit was re-established with J. Hoffman, pastor. This circuit then embraced 
W. Salem, \A'itti, Little Wabash, Lancaster, Timber Class. For pastors sec 
Volume I. The first English preaching by Evangelical preachers in Edwards 
County was by M. F. Finkbeiner in 1879. In. '15-16, E. M. Kcrlin served. Dur- 
ing his administration the church was raised and repainted, a basement put un- 
der it at a cost of $600.00, and promptly paid for. The Ladies' Aid Society did 
much to accomplish this. '17-18, I. G. Roederer; '19-23, J. H. McRae. 

In 1859 a lot was bought for $13.00 and a cemetery ground was donated 
them. In 1860 the first church was built. In 1913 the new frame parsonage was 
built, commodious and modern, at a cost of about $3,000.00. The Ladies' Aid 
Society fitted out a room in the new parsonage, special for the presiding elders 
and visiting ministers. In 1918 they installed electric lights. Many were the 
victories achieved in this society for the Lord and the church. 

WEST SALEM, WITTI CLASS 

In 1858, after a victorious meeting in West Salem, the pastors in charge 
there also held a meeting four miles north of W. Salem at the home of Chris- 
tian Witti. The power of God was greatly manifested in the salvation of many 
souls who then joined the Ev. Association. A society was organized. A church 
was needed, but the people were poor. At a called meeting it was agreed that 
each male member should give $5.00 in cash and 12 days of labor for the erection 
of a church. This was done in 1859, and the church was dedicated in October, 
by M. W. Steffey, P. E. The church (frame) was 26x40 feet, and cost in money 
$700.00. This gave new interest in church work. A Sunday School was now 
organized. Later this society, however, had to be abandoned. 

WILLSHIRE, OHIO 

As early as 1844 there was a class near Willshire, Ohio. 1845-46 Wm. Kolb 
reported spiritual apathy in the vicinity. Daniel Steller lived here. After some 
years the class ceased to function. 

WINAMAC, INDIANA 

In 1890 J. Wales sought entrance into this county seat. He served it with 
Logansport, but nothing substantial was accomplished. We have preached all 

248 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

around this place in earlier years. Members moved here but were never or- 
ganized into a class. 

WINCHESTER, INDIANA 

Mrs. J. C. Meier of Winchester reported that Chr. Habbich, Geo. Hay and 
wife, Ph. Schmidt and wife, Ph. Ulrich and wife, and Geo. G. Keller and wife 
were of the earliest members, probably charter members in this city. There 
probably was no organization before 1856. The Habbich's came from Pennsyl- 
vania. Geo. Keller was converted at Sniithfield camp-meeting, held by A. B. 
Schafer, P. E., and C. Glaus, P. E. Jacob Keiper and his colleagues preached 
here in private homes in 1849. Records show that our missionaries preached 
here in 1845. The services were in German until about 1891. A church 30x40 
was built in 1864, and dedicated April, 1865, by Jos. Fisher, P. E. J. Hoffman 
was pastor. 

Winchester Mission was formed in 1873 and embraced this place, New 
Hope, Glucks, Richmond and Emmettsville. Carl Schamo was pastor. He had 
10 conversions here in the winter of 1873. In 1874 it belonged to Greenville 
Circuit. September, 1875, E. R. Troyer reported 50 members here. In 1877 it 
belonged to E. Germantown Circuit. In 1880 Winchester and Emmettsville 
termed Winchester Mission, J. H. Stedcke, pastor. 1881-82, Fr. Launer; '83-85, 
J. Miller with E. E. Meyers, third year; '86-87, G. Schmoll and H. E. Neff, sec- 
ond year; '88, D. D. Spangler; '89-90, L. J. Ehrhardt; '91-92, Geo. Speicher; '93- 
94, C. W. Spangler; '95, D. B. Koenig. He had a revival. Many young people 
came into the church and were organized into a Y. P. A. with 29 members. 1896, 
P. L. Browns; '97, M. Krueger. In 1898 it was added to Ft. Recovery Charge. 
The field was abandoned about this time. The German language was too long 
maintained to gain substantial English members. We were known as the little 
German Church. 

WITMER, OHIO 

In 1856 this appointment was a part of Miami Circuit in Ohio, not far from 
Greenville. J. Keiper and P. Goetz, pastors. A few families lived here, named 
Witmer and Gilbert. This class later was merged with another. 

WOLF CREEK, OHIO 

This appointment was near Trotwood, Montgomery Co., Ohio. It belonged 
to Dayton Station until 1867 when it was added to Montgomery Circuit. In 
1873 a brick church was bought. At a revival 20 persons were saved. E. Boh- 
lander came from this class. February, 1875, J. Hoffman held a several-week 
meeting here without apparent success, and thought of closing. On retiring one 
night, this concerned him greatly. He prayed for light, asking God to reveal 
His will to him in a dream. That night he dreamed that he stood by the stream 
fishing. First he caught little fish, then he fished for large ones. The big one 

249 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

that he caught required such effort to land him that he awoke. He believed this 
a divine revelation that he should continue. He did, and had 16 young and 
older persons as converts. This produced great joy. Later the society gradu- 
ally died out. In 1893 the Conference granted the trustees the right to sell the 
church which was reported sold in 1895. 

WOLF-CREEK, ILLINOIS 

This class is five miles S. W. of Stewardson, Illinois. It was organized in 
1866 by M. Klaiber. It was served by the same pastors as Prairie Class. A 
small frame church was built in 1879. This class never developed strong, but 
maintained itself by small additions from time to time. A small Sunday School 
existed here from the beginning. Lhider A. W. Feller the church was repaired 
It always belonged with Prairie Class. Their general history, therefore is identi- 
cal. In 1922 it was added to Brownstown Circuit. 

WOODINGTON, OHIO 

E. R. Troyer identified this class as the Schweitzer Class, north of Green- 
ville, which he served in 1873. It was near Union City, Indiana. It was an 
English class, and was one of the early appointments and was quite strong at 
one time. Just why it ceased to exist is not known. 

WOODLAND, INDIANA 

This societ}' was located about three to four miles S. E. of the Coal-Bush 
Church in St. Joseph Co. It was a part of the Mishawaka Circuit for years. M. 
Speck reported that the little town was a very wicked place. There was a church 
here, but it was ordered to be sold September, 1873. The class died out by 
deaths and removals. 

WOODRUFF, OR WRIGHT'S CORNER, INDIANA 

This society lies four miles N. E. from Wolcottville, Indiana. In 1867 the 
first regular preaching of our preachers was done here by S. Kiplinger and 
Jacob Troyer. They preached in a schoolhouse, then held a revival in St. Johns 
Lutheran Church, about one mile west of the Woodruff Church, resulting in 40 
conversions and the organization of a class of 26 members. In 1868 A. Parker 
and G. W. Wales of DeKalb Circuit reported a memorable quarterly meeting, 
M'hich was followed by a protracted evangelistic meeting, resulting in 56 conver- 
sions and many accessions. In 1870 the first church was built and dedicated by 
Bishop J. J. Esher, December 4th, D. S. Oakes, pastor. For many years this 
society was locally called "Wright's Corner"; later a little town developed here. 
In 1876 Geo. Freehafer held a three-week revival. Everything dragged un- 
promisingly, but God's Spirit prevailed. Sinners trembled and in deep sorrow 
repented, and the meeting ended with 18 conversions and accessions, and the 

250 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

membership was greatly revived. One brother, holding to the pastor's hand 
joyously exclaimed, "Oh, brother, I never felt so in my life before." The final 
success of this meeting was attributed to the pastor's "house to house" visits, 
talking to the people about their salvation and praying with them. In so doing 
F. said, "My heart so warmed up, that I scarcely knew what to do with myself, 
and preaching became a joy, and was effective." In Feb., 1883, J. Wales held a 
revival here which also was a glorious visitation of God's presence, and ended 
with many saved and 26 accessions. In 1888 there were 13 saved here and 11 
accessions. 

In 1896-97, the church was remodelled in part, and re-dedicated by Editor 
S. P. Spreng. Under H. E. Nef¥, Rochester lights were installed and the church 
repainted and partly recarpeted. In 1902-03, J. W. Metzner served. He organ- 
ized a Ladies' Aid Society. In October, 1913, L. Newman, then Conference 
evangelist, held a revival, resulting in 19 conversions. In 1915 the society gave 
their church a thorough remodelling, namely: raised it and put a new foundation 
under it, constructed a basement for Sunday School class work, installed a 
furnace, built a tower with vestibule on the S. E. corner, laid a new floor, built 
an alcove and choir loft, installed circular pews, and sec art-glass windows. The 
cost was about $2,600.00. The church was rededicated by Bishop T. Bowman 
September 12, 1915. Under Zubcr the church was redecorated. Same pastors 
served here as at Wolcottville. 

WOLCOTTVILLE, INDIANA 

In Jos. Fisher's class-book, handed to his successor, J. Keiper, 1853, we have 
the fact that there was a class here in 1852, called "Newport". Members then 
were: Michael and Rebecca Bowers; Samuel and Hannah Getig; Joseph and 
Mary Eshelman; Geo. and Rebecca Echanour; Samuel and Susan Raber; Abra- 
ham, Julia and Levi Rondsong; John and Eliza Thompson; Barbara Pontius; 
and Susan Newman. Preaching was held in Bower's home. This was then the 
west end of DeKalb Circuit, but from lack of men, it was served by Jos. Fisher 
of Elkhart Circuit. For years this society was known as "Dutch Street" Society. 
It was located one mile S. E. of Wolcottville, and named after the "Pennsylvania 
Dutch" that lived here. For ministers who served here up to 1872 see DeKalb 
Circuit. In 1872 DeKalb Circuit was divided into Waterloo and Kendallville 
Circuits. This class remained with the latter field, which however, this year and 
1873 was served from Waterloo by R. Riegel and E. Einscl. In 1874 M. Krueger 
served; '75-76, Geo. Freehafer; '77-78, C. C. Beyrer; '79-81, D. S. Oakes; '82-83, 
J. Wales and D. Hoover the second year; '84, J. M. Dustman and W. H. Bright- 
mire; '85-86, S. S. Albert. In 1887 Kendallville Circuit was divided, the northern 
part becoming Wolcottville Circuit, served i)y H. E. Ovcrmeyer, two years. In 
1889 J. E. Stoops served; '90-91, H. E. Neff. A debt of $900.00 on parsonage 
was nearly paid. 1892-93, T. Carroll; '94-96, S. Hofferbert; '97, H. H. Reinoehl; 

251 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

'"8-99, F. L. Snyder. The church was enlarged, and a furnace installed and an 
addition built to the parsonage, all at a cost of $728.00. 1900-01, W. H. Mygrant, 
pastor; '02-04, J. W. Metzner; '05-06, S. I. Zechiel. Acetylene lights were in- 
stalled and church repapered and woodwork revarnished, costing $134.50. 1907- 
OP, E. E. Greiner; '09, E. B. Jones; '10, D. A. Kaley. Extensive repairs and re- 
modelling of church were made, costing $2,100.00. He had 13 conversions and 
17 accessions. '11-15, J. Rees. In 1914 a Rally Day service was held October 
18, with an attendance of 260 and collection of $275.00, which more than covered 
the balance of debt on church. '16-18, A. B. Aegerter. The church was again 
remodelled in 1916 by adding a gallery to the rear, and additional class-rooms in 
the basement, costing $1,700.00. L. S. Fisher rededicated it October 22, '16, 
'19-21, G. F. Zuber. The debt of $675.00 was paid. 1922, C. H. Burgener; 1923, 
C. L. Davis. 

The first church was built by M. Mayer in 1857 and dedicated this year 
and the second en.' was built in Wolcottville by J. Wales in 1882 and was dedi- 
cated February 25, '83, by Bishop R. Dubs and was enlarged as stated. In 1883 
this society held its first Children's Day service in the large barn of Wm. Scha- 
fer. Collection was $13.50. In 1876 G. W. Freehafer held a revival in the 
"Dutch Street Church" which was mostly English. There were 35 conversions 
and accessions. An old man, who was not willing to surrender to the Spirit's 
call, was overcome by the Spirit. He fell to the floor, and arose not again until 
he tound pardon and peace and was able to praise God. The whole community 
was stirred and the membership greatly quickened. On December 13, '93, Tim. 
Carroll, pastor, had with him the boy evangelist, C. A. Stull, 18 days, resulting 
in 80 conversions, and 44 accessions. In 1916 after the reopening of the church, 
Evangelist C. A, Gliss and wife held a revival here, resulting in 54 saved and 50 
accessions, Aegerter, pastor. 

WOLCOTTVILLE, CALVARY CLASS 

This society lies about six miles north of Wolcottville. F. L. Snyder or- 
ganized this class in 1899. A small church was built, costing $2,400,00, Previous 
to this services were held frequently in a schoolhouse. Charter members were: 
Mr. Royer and wife, Mr. Hildenbrand and wife, with a few others. These were 
n^cmbers at Woodruff before. A small Sunday School is maintained. The class 
has made small progress. Under H. E. Neff an altar and choir platform were 
built, new pulpit and new lights put in. Under J. W. Metzner a Ladies' Aid 
Society vi'as organized. 

ZION, OR FUHRMAN'S, ADAMS CO., IND. 

The location of this society was seven miles N. W. of Decatur. The history 
of this class is largely embodied in that of St. Marys Circuit. This class was 
headquarters of this circuit for many years, the parsonage being located a half 

252 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

mile east of the church. The class already existed in 1839 when S. Altimos 
came here. January S, 1852, arrangements were made to build a church. Pledges 
were taken, trustees elected, and a building committee appointed. The church 
was dedicated October 24, '52, by S. Dickover, I'. E. A short revival was com- 
bined with the dedication. This was made a great occasion. The preachers 
present were: S. Dickover, A. Nicolai, and Fr. Schuerman, pastors; J. Keiper of 
Aliami; John Fuchs of Newville; and B. Rnh of Elkhart Circuits, visiting minis- 
ters, all of whom preached. On Monday the Lord's Supper was celebrated 
which was a joyous occasion. For ministers who served here see under St. 
Marys Circuit. 

This society recommended two brothers to the Conference for license to 
preach, namelj': D. D. and C. W. Spangler. In 1894 the parsonage was ordered 
sold. About this time the society disbanded as the main members moved to 
Decatur, and the community was practically churched by the Lutheran and 
Catholic Churches. A number of camp-meetings were held here, namely in 
August, 1858-59-60. 

A Wonderful Camp-meeting in the Sixties. Chr. Glaus preached one after- 
noon with great unction and victory. He had to stop, but the meeting continued 
as the people could not restrain themselves from audibly praising God. This 
praise continued until the tiine of the evening service. Edw. Evans was to 
preach. G. G. Platz tried to quiet the people by blowing the horn which was 
used for calling the people for worship. He blew it three times trying to get 
their attention, but each time failed. Finally there was a lull and quicklj' the 
ministers passed the word from one to the other that they should quiet down 
so the evening service could begin. The meeting started, but Evans had preach- 
ed only a little while when the shouts again broke forth. A young woman 
fell into a trance that evening and was taken home the next day, and continued 
thus for three days. The testiinony of the preachers was that they had never 
seen it on this wise. 

The imps in human form also were on hand. During this meeting, G. G. 
Platz gripped a disturber by the breast and pushed him out off the campground, 
then cast him into a brush-heap. This he did only after repeated admonitions to 
keep quiet. These incidents were related by Ed. Evans to the historian. 

ZION, JAY COUNTY, INDIANA 

This society is an old landmark of pioneer work in the Indiana Conference. 
It was organized about 1852 when A. Nicolai and Fr. Schuerman of St. Marys 
Circuit held a special meeting at Father Haley's. They had ten seekers, some 
were converted and joined the Ev. Association. Haley was a brother to Rev. 
Geo. Haley of the Ohio Conference. Charter members here \yere: Sebastian 
Haley and wife, Fr. Wartz and wife, John Houdeschell and wife, Samuel Fer- 
ner and wife, and Kath. Young. The St. Marys pastors served here up to 1861. 

253 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

111 1855 a small log church was built and was dedicated as the Zion Church of 
the Ev. Association, by G. G. Platz, P. E. 

In 1861-62, this society Ijelonged to Ncwville Circuit (now Linn Grove). 
M. Hoehn, pastor. In his autobiography he relates an experience he had with 
a drunk man. H. was accompanied by a brother, a member of Newville Circuit, 
to Haley's Class. They were riding horse-back. On this trip they met three 
young men also on horse-back. Having passed them, one turned around and 
followed H. demanding of him to stop, or he would shoot him, saying, "You 
liave my horse". Being drunk he fell from his horse into the deep mud. H. and 
hi.-; companion rode on. But this fellow lifted himself out of the mire, remounted 
liis horse and again pursued after H. demanding that he stop, reiterating, "You 
have my horse", threatening again to shoot. In the manoeuverings he again 
fell from his horse, but remounted again and pursued after H. and rode ahead 
of him trying to blockade the way. H. said to his companion, "Take hold of 
his trousers and lift up." This was quickly done, and the accuser losing his 
balance, again fell into the mud. This ended the trouble as the accuser pursued 
no more. 

Hoehn reported that he held a meeting on July 31, 1863, in Jay Co., at 
Zion. There being insufficient room in houses to accommodate the people, the 
meeting was held in a timber. He preached three times, no other ministers 
being present. An ungodly crowd also gathered. A woman was among them 
who had decorated her person with green butternuts, two dozen were around 
her body, one dozen on each arm, a half dozen over her chest and one on each 
car. Many others were decorated in a similar fashion. In the afternoon "sons 
of Belial" were present, wearing big "fool's hats". They also had decorated 
themselves with butternuts and copperheads, with which they attempted to 
draw the attention of the worshippers. But they failed in all their attempts. 

In September, 1863, this society was attached to Mississinawa Mission with 
J. Hoffman, pastor, assisted the second 3'ear by S. Kiplinger. In 1865 Geo. 
Kloepfer served; 1866 it w'as added to Greenville Circuit, where it remained 
until 1881, when it was added to Ft. Recovery Circuit. For pastors up to this 
date see Greenville. In the winter of 1873 there was a victorious revival hero, 
resulting in 18 saved. 1881 D. J. Pontius was pastor. He built a brick church 
at a cost of $1,800.00, not including donated work. It was dedicated December 
11, '81, by Wm. Yost of Cleveland, Ohio. In 1882 B. F. Dill served; '83-84, 
J. C. Schuh; '85-86, a part of Portland Mission; '87 again to Ft. Recovery, 
H. E. Meyers, assignee; '88-89, T. Carroll; '90-91, H. H. Reinoehl; '92-93, S. 
Hoffcrbert; '94-95, R. Rainey; '96, C. M. Pierce; '97-98, P. L. Browns; '99-00, 
J. M. Smith; '01-03, F. L. Snyder; '04, W. S. Tracy; '05-08, J. Rces; '09, C. D. 
Overmeyer. The name was changed to Portland Circuit. '10-11, J. E. Young. 
He resigned in the fall of the second year and W. I. Weyant of the Pittsburgh 
Conference filled the vacancy and served two more years. '14-17, E. H. Baum- 

254 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

gartner; '18-19, G. F. Zubcr; '20-22, J. S. Kroft; '23, J. W. Feller. In 1921 this 
class with Bethel again became Ft. Recovery Circuit. Many good revivals were 
held here. A good Sunday School is maintained. This class recommended for 
the ministry Eugene Kunce, 1921, and Russel L. Haley, 1922. 

ZION, HUNTINGTON CO., INDIANA 

This is an old society, located south of Roanoke, Indiana. Over New-year's, 
1856, P. Burgener and Fr. Geisel held a meeting here at which five were saved 
and six joined the Ev. Association. Preaching here may have begun several 
years before. It belonged to St. Marys Circuit up to 1858; to Huntington from 
1859-73. In 1874, to St. Marys Circuit, but in 1875, back to Huntington Circuit 
until 1882; '83, to Wabash J^Iission; to St. Marys, 1884-90; '91, back to Hunting- 
ton; '92-13, to Markle Mission. In 1914, detached from Markle and served alone 
by E. F. Snyder as a student appointment; '15, re-attached to Markle; '16, alone 
but served jointly with Waterloo by A. Gcist; '17-22, with Bippus; '23, with 
Markle. The church was built and dedicated July 27, 1873, by Editor R. Dubs. 
Possibilities here are limited. 

ZION, PREBLE CO.. OHIO 

This society was founded in the early forties. It, at one time, must have 
had some strength as it was able to build a church in 1848 in section 13 in the 
county. Why and when it ceased to exist is not known. 

ZOAR. ELKHART CO., INDIANA 

This class was six miles south of Harrison Center, Elkhart Co. It was or- 
ganized about 1851-52. The following persons were members in 1853; Michael 
Walter (leader) and wife, and sons John and Michael, Jr.; Peter, John, Salome, 
and Mary Walmer; David and Kath. Groob; Caroline Herschey; Fr. Reiley; 
John Feffley and daughters, Anna C. and Lydia. Joseph Fisher reported this a 
good society, but no prospects for growth, so the class did not continue long. 



255 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 



SKETCH OF THE W(JMAX'S MISSIONARY SOCIETY AVORK 
IN THE INDIANA CONFERENCE 

In 1880 the women of the Evangelical Association, who were filled with the 
missionary spirit, came with a petition to the Board of Mission that they might 
organize a Woman's Missionary Society in local churches. The General Con- 
ference of 1883 granted this petition on certain prescribed conditions. (Evan- 
gelical Landmarks). From now on these societies came into existence in all 
conferences. The sisters desired to have a part in Christ's commission, "Go ye 
ont into all the world and preach the gospel to every creature." Many church- 
leaders hailed this work with delight, but some feared and advocated to go slow 
with this innovation. Some, even after public conventions were ]}eing held, 
designated this movement as "fashion-plate exhibitions", or "dress parades". 
The opposition to this work in the church was, here and there, keen and ob- 
stinate, and lianeful in its influence and effect. But undauntingly the -women 
pressed ahead with courage, faith, prayer and definite programs. 

So also the women in the Indiana Conference had a hard struggle to get 
well organized with their local and Conference Branch W. M. S. work. At an 
executive committee, the General organization, early in the year of 1892, ap- 
pointed the following women as organizers of the W. M. S. of the Indiana Con- 
ference, namely: Mrs. S. S. Albert of Kewana, Ind., for the Elkhart District; 
Miss Arvilla Stillwell of Nappanee for the Ft. Wayne District; and Miss Mary 
Grimm of Dayton, Ohio, for the Indianapolis District. On Tuesday, August 2, 
1892, at the camp-meeting held in the Fairground of Fulton Co., Ind., near 
Rochester, a group of women met for the purpose of organizing a Conference 
Branch W. M, S. Miss Arvilla Stillwell and Mrs. S. S. Albert were the or- 
ganizers. Nine delegates were present. The following officers were elected: 
Pres., Mrs. S. Heiningcr, Elkhart; Y. Pres., Mrs. S. S. Albert, Kewana; Rec. 
Sec, Miss Vida Martin, Rochester; Cor. Sec, Mrs. S. H. Baumgartner, Kendall- 
villc; Treas., Mrs. Anna Rohrer, Elkhart; Supt. of Mission Bands, Mrs. M. 
Stemen, Rochester. Delegates to the Gen. W. M. S., Mrs, Albert and Miss Vida 
Martin. There were then six auxiliaries, 166 members, 11 new members, one 
Mission Band, 23 Missionary Messengers, and money raised for mission, $239.34. 

With much persistency, prayer and patience progress was made and ad- 
herents to the W. M. S. cause were multiplied. The slogan, "A local W. M. S. 
in every Evangelical congregation and every woman a member", has been a 
constant aim. While it is not yet reached, enough sentiment has been crys- 
talized for this work that opposiiion to it has ceased. This unrealized goal is not 
attributable only to pastoral neglect, but also to certain prevailing church society 

256 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

conditions, where women were unwilling to make proper consecration of their 
time and substance, or failed to visualize their privileges and opportunities, or 
lacked educational training thereto and natural leadership. In some sections 
of the church, pastors more eagerly encouraged the organization of Ladies' Aid 
for local benefits. This naturally fostered a local and selfish interest, and barred 
out the larger view of sending the gospel to all lands to lift womanhood out of 
heathen degradation into Christian ele\ation and discipleship unto Christ. 

Altogether the leaders of the C. B. W. M. S. had a hard and long pull to 
win the affection, confidence and goodwill of a large portion of the member- 
ship of the churches throughout the conference for this sort of Christian work. 
But Ijy a faithful and steady pull to.gether the W. M. S. workers have succeeded 
splendidly and beyond anticipation, vi'ith their missionary, educational and soul- 
savin.g work. Their achievements cannot be measured in dollars and cents. 
Eternity alone can measure the extent of their labors of love and sacrifice for 
tile home and forei.gn lands. The W. ^I. S. was practically the first organiza- 
tion in the church that advocated strenuously the Bible way of supporting the 
gospel, namely, tithing. Arguments against tithing have lar.gel}' been broken 
flown by their persistency in teaching this way of giving, by precept and ex- 
ample, as statistics conclusively show. Since the organization of the W. AI. S. 
in the church, the church-at-large has vi.gorously advocated this subject with 
most gratifying results. Here we give the amount contributed by the C. B. 
W. :\I. S. in three quadrenniums : 1911-14, f 11, 114.08; 1915-19, $17,7,5S.71; and 
V>Z()-2j, $41,044.30; total, $69,870.00. Prior to this period liberal sums were 
contributed liy the women each year. 

EARLIEST LOCAL W. M. S. ORGANIZATIONS 

The following local \\\ M. S. were organized prior to the Conference Branch 
\V. M. S., namely: 

Rochester, Ind., by L. S. Fisher, pastor... Aug. 20, 1884 

Elkhart Watch 1 ower, by A. O. Raber, pastor 1884 

Van Wert, Ohio, by S. S. Albert, pastor 1887 

Zion, Bunker Hill, S. H. Baumgartner, pastor 1889 

Dayton, Commercial St., C. C. Beyrer, pastor 1891 

Washington, Hibbard C, by , pastor 188 — 

Dayton, Wayne Ave., by A. O. Ralier, pastor Apr. 24, 1890 

Indianapolis First, by J. M, Haug, pastor Sept. 1, 1892 

SOUTH INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Huntingburg, by H. Schleucher, pastor Aug. 20, 188,^ 

Mt. Carmel, by G. M. Hallwachs, pastor 1887 

Louisville, Zion, by G. M. Hallwachs, pastor 1891 

257 

17 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 
WHERE C. B. W. M. S. CONVENTIONS WERE HELD 

Aug. 2, 1892, Fairground, Rochester, organized here. 

.A-Ug. — , 1893-4, Oakwood Park. 

June — , 1895, Indianapolis First Church. 

1896-23, Oakwood Park, with the Y. P. A. and S. S. Conventions, generally fol- 
lowing the camp meetings which were usually held last week in July or 
first week in August. .- . 



C. B. W. M. S. OFFICERS SINCE 1892 



Presidents Elected 

1892, Mrs. S. Heininger 

1893, Mrs. S. S. Albert 
1894-96, Mrs. S. H. Baumgartner 
1897-99, Mrs. E. F. Kimmel 
1900-01, Mrs. S. H. Baumgartner 
1902-04, Mrs. S. S. Albert 
1905-08, Mrs. H. Roepkin 

1909, Mrs. C. W. Wright 

1910, Mrs. J. W. Bucks 
1911-12, Mrs. John Koch 
1913, Mrs. J. W. Rheinhart 
1914-19, Mrs. C. L. Hartman 
1920-23, Mrs. A. B. Haist 

V.-Pres. Elected 

1892, Mrs. S. S. Albert 
1893-94, No record found 
1895, Mrs. S. S. Albert 
1896-98, No record found 
1899, Mrs. S. H. Baumgartner. 

presided in 1900 
1900-01, Mrs. S. S. Albert 

1902, Mrs. J. F. Bockman 

1903, Mrs. S. H. Baumgartner 

1904, Mrs. Robert Burns 

1905, Mrs. C. D. Rarey 

1906, Mrs. M. L. Scheidler 
1907-08, Mrs. A. Kramer, 

presided in 1909 
1909, Mrs. J. F. Kiefer, 
presided in 1910 



1910, Mrs. John Koch, 
presided in 1911 
1911-12, Mrs. C. L. Hartman 

1913, Mrs. J. F. Kiefcr 

1914, Mrs. C. R. Jones 

1915, Mrs. L. S. Warbel 

1916, Mrs. C. P. Maas 

1917, Mrs. J. W. Maag 

1918, Mrs. J. W. Bucks 

1919, Mrs. W. S. Mills 
1920-23, Mrs. M. B. Lehman 

Rec. Sec. 

1892-94, Vida Martin 
1895, Miss Mary Grimm 
1896-1900, Miss Vida Martin 

1901, Mrs. A. B. Haist 

1902, Mrs. J. Rice 

1903, Mrs. J. H. Breisch 
1904-06, Miss Martha Speicher 
1907-08, Miss Ruth Speicher 

1909, Mrs. J. W. Maag 

1910, Mrs. C. E. Boyer 
1911-13, Mrs. Nellie F. Smith 
1914, Mrs. C. E. Boyer 
1915-19, Mrs. R. W. Loose 
1920-21, Mrs. Q. G. Reinoehl 
1922-23, Mrs. O. O. Lozier 

Cor. Sec. 

1892-93, Mrs. S. H. Baumgartner 

1894, No record found 

1895, Miss Shawhan 



258 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 



1896-99, No record found 
1900-03, Miss Dora Daufel 
1904-06, Mrs. J, W. Rheinhart 
1907-08, Mrs. E. Q. Laudeman 
1909, Mrs. J. H. Breish 
1910-12, Miss Bessie Strahler 
1913, Miss Anna Lippold 
1914-18, Mrs. John Koch 
1919-20, Mrs. C. E, Boyer 
1921-22, Mrs. D. O. Wise 
1923, Mrs. G. J. Long 

Treasurer 

1892, Mrs. Anna Rohrer 

1893-94, No record found 

1895, Mrs. H. Roepkin, likely to 1898 

1899-1906, Mrs. A. Kramer 

1907-08, Mrs. J. F. Kiefer 

1909-20. Mrs. Fred Burgener 

1921, Mrs. Gladys Kelham 

1922-23, Mrs. Q. G. Rcinoehl 



Pres. of Y. W. Circle 

1913-14, Miss Anna Speicher 
1915-16, Mrs. C. E. Boyer 
1917, Miss Bessie Rheinhart 
1918-19, Mrs. C. A. Hirschman 
1920-23, Mrs. Nellie F. Smith 

Supt of Miss. Band 

1892, Mrs. M. Stemen 
1893-94, No record found 
1895-1900, Miss Carrie Weinman 
1901-06, Mrs. J. W. Bucks 
1907-10, Mrs. L. S. Warbel 
1911-12, Miss Carrie Weinman 
1913, Miss Mamie Stecher 
1914-15, Mrs. A. T. Snoke 
1916-19, Mrs. C. P. Maas 
1920-22, Mrs. E. M. Ray 
1923, Mrs. Louise Taylor 



GENERAL CONVENTIONS OF THE WOMAN'S MISSIONARY SOCIE- 
TY AND DELEGATES FROM THE INDIANA 
CONFERENCE BRANCH 

Seventh Annual General Convention, Elkhart, Ind., Sept. 2-S,' 1892. 
Delegates: Mrs. S. S. Albert, Mrs. S. H. Baumgartner, Mrs. Rachel Scheidler. 
Mrs. S. Heininger. 

First Quadrennial Convention, Dayton, Ohio, Aug. 30 — Sept. 2, 1895. 
Delegate: Mrs. S. H. Baumgartner. 

Second Quadrennial Convention, Howell, Mich., Aug. 31 — Sept. 4, 1899. 
Delegates: Mrs. Ezra Kimmel, Miss Estella Zechiel, Miss Lucy Holdeman. 

Third Quadrennial Convention, Tiffin, Ohio, Aug. 20-24, 1903. 

Delegates: Mrs. S. S. Albert, Mrs. S. H. Baumgartner, Mrs. J. W. Bucks. 

Fourth Quadrennial Convention, South Bend, Ind., Aug. 29 — Sept. 2, 1907. 
Delegates: Mrs. H. Roepkin, Mrs. J. W. Bucks, Mrs. J. W. Rheinhart. 

Fifth Quadrennial Convention, Holton, Kansas, Aug. 31 — Sept. 5, 1911. 
Delegates: Mrs. J. W. Rheinhart, Mrs. F. Burgener, Mrs. John Koch, Mrs. C. L. 
Hartman. 



2S9 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Sixth Quadrennial Convention, Marion Ohio, Sept. 2, , 1915. 

Delegates: Mrs. C. E. Boyer, Mrs. A. T. Snoke. 

Seventh Quadrennial Convention, Monroe, Wis., Sept. 1 — , 1919. 

Delegates: Mrs. C. L. Hartman, Mrs. Nellie Frank Smith, Mrs. C. P. Maas. 

In 1922, Dec. 5-8, was held the memorable merger meeting which united 
the W. M. S. of the former U. E. Church and the Bv. Association. This meet- 
ing was called to substitute for the Eighth Quadrennial. Mrs. A. B. Haist, 
Pres. of C. B. W. M. S., was the representative for Indiana. 

GENERAL ENTERPRISES THAT THE C. B. W. M. S. SUPPORTED 

In 1900 the Branch W. M. S. decided to help support Susan Bauernfeind and 
.\nna Kanimcrer as missionaries in Japan which they continued for some years. 
In 1907 Young Women's Circle was organized. 

In 1908 the Branch decided through the local Woman's Missionary Society 
to support Miss Shima Naguchi, interpreter of the Bible Woman's Training 
School in Japan at a salary of $150.00, which it has done since. In 1920 the 
Branch undertook to support another Bible woman, Tama Kaurhara. The Young 
Woman's Circle of this Branch chose to support Miss Alice Niederhauser, mis- 
sionary in China. The Branch also cheerfully helped to reach the Forward 
Movement objectives, and repeatedly they contributed beyond the goal set for 
themselves per year. From among the W. M. S. workers of the Branch, two 
fistcrs went forth into the mission field, nam.cly: Miss Alice Niederhauser from 
Salem Society. Defiance Circuit, and Miss Rose Fcckcr of the First Church in 
Indianapolis, who for some years previous served as a deaconess in St. Paul, 
Minn. This branch has made an excellent record for itself. May they continue 
to prosper and prove to l)e a large spiritual and financial asset to the Indiana 
Conference and the Evangelical Church. 



260 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

ORGANIZATION OF THE CONFERENCE BRANCH AND 
LOCAL YOUNG PEOPLE'S ALLIANCES 

The Young People's Alliance organization of Watch Tower Society, Elk- 
hart, Indiana, has the distinction of having taken the initial steps towards or- 
ganizing a Conference Branch Y. P. A. by soliciting the Indiana Conference in 
1892 to take the necessary steps for such an organization. The Conference 
heeded this request. The followuig action was taken, "Whereas, the Conference 
has received a letter from the Young People's Alliance of Elkhart, Indiana, 
expressing their desire to have this body organize a Conference Branch to co- 
operate with them in their conventions, and, Whereas, We believe this to be 
the sentiment of all the -"Mliances in the Conference, and is entirely practical, 
therefore. 

Resolved, that this request be granted and that the following brethren 1)e 
elected as a committee on organization: M. L. Scheidler, F. E. Zechiel, W. H. 
Mygrant, W. H. Brightmire and Ceo. Roederer. 

2. That we endeavor to organize such societies wherever possible, and in 
this wise teach them practical religion and the fundamental truths of the Bible. 

This committee met during Conference session and organized as follows: 
Ceo. Roederer, Pres. ; W. H. Brightmire, Vice-Pres. ; F. E. Zechiel, Cor. Sec; 
},l. L. Scheidler, Rec. Sec; W. H. Mygrant, Treas. 

This committee recommended to the Conference in session, "That the dif- 
firent local Y. P. A. of the Indiana Conference send delegates, (according to 
ll'.c constitution of the Y. P. .\. of the Ev. .\ssociation) to a camp-meeting most 
centrally located; and at that meeting the local societies of the Conference shall 
then be organized into a Conference Branch. That this committee shall furnish 
suitable programs for this meeting of organization, and after the organization 
of the Conference Branch Y. P. A. is effected, the power of this committee shall 
cease." . 

Upon suggestion of the committee that such a meeting shall be held in 
I'rbana, Indiana, at the time of the camp-meeting, the first Conference Branch 
Y. P. A. convention was held here in the summer of 1892 with J. C. Hornberger, 
first Gen. Y. P. A. President, and H. J. Kiekhoefer, Pres. of N. W. College, as 
principal speakers. At this meeting the following officers were elected: W. H. 
Brightmire, Pres.; 

The second convention was held in the summer of 1893 at Oakwood Park, 
where all conventions have been held since. In the fall of 1891 a Y. P. A. con- 
vention had been held in Rochester, Indiana. This was the first convention held 
in the bounds of the Indiana Conference, and was attended by delegates from 
a number of local Alliances, yet previous to the organization of the Conference 
Branch. 

261 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

RECORD OF THE OLDEST ALLIANCES IN THE INDIANA 
CONFERENCE 

The tabulated dates of organization as given below were gleaned from our 
church periodicals. We do not claim absolute correctness. Some Young 
People's Societies were in existence prior to the convening of the General Con- 
ference in October, 1891, in Indianapolis, where the Gen. Y. P. A. was organized 
and the name was adopted for this new organization. Dayton First Church 
claims the distinction of having had, in March, 1884, the first Young People's 
Society. C. F. Hansing organized shortly before Conference met this year. 
Ep.st Germantown claims May, 1884, Ph. Orth, pastor, to have organized a 
Y. P. A. with 75 members, after a big revival but it soon died. Elkhart Division 
Street Church also organized a Young People's Society this same year soon 
after Conference met in April, C. F. Hansing, pastor. The exact month of 
organization of the Elkhart Society is not known. Elkhart Watch Tower had a 
Y. P. Society in 1888. The fact that such societies were in existence and needed 
a general governing head, impelled the Gen. Conference to effect a general 
organization and bring the local Young People's Societies under General and 
Annual Conference supervision. The name "Young People's Alliance" having 
been tentatively adopted previous to October, 1891, when Gen. Conference me*, 
likely accounts for dates of organizations of some Alliances before Gen. Con- 
ference met. 



Organization 


Date of Organizat 


Mt. Carmel, 111. 


Feb. 20, 


1891 


Dayton, First Church 




1891 


Rochester 


Sept. 24, 


1891 


Ott's Class 


Oct. 26, 


1891 


Celina, Hope Class 


Oct., 


1891 


Decatur 




1891 


Elkhart. Watch Tower 


Feb. 9, 


1892 


Salem, or Edon, Ohio 


April, 


1892 


Logansport 


April, 


1892 


Dayton, Wayne Ave. 


June, 


1892 


Indianapolis, First 


Aug. 29, 


1892 


Carmi, Illinois 


Sept., 


1892 


Urbana 


Sept. 4, 


1892 


Kendallville 


Feb., 


1893 


Avilla 


May, 


1893 


South Bend, Mizpah 




1893 


Grand Victory, Van Wert, O. 




1893 


Elkhart, Division Street 




1893 


Pleasant Valley, Rochester C. 




1893 


Bethel. Ft. Recovery, C. 


Aug. 13, 


1893 


Greenville 


Nov., 


1893 


Berne 




1893 


Salem, east of Decatur 


Mar. 3, 


1894 



Pastor 

F. Theiss 

C. F. Hansing 

S. H. Baumgartner 

A. Geist 

A. S. Fisher 

F. L. Snyder 

W. H. Brightmire 

E. E. Meyers 

Jos. Fisher 

W. H. Brightmire 

J. M. Haug 

E. J. Nitsche 

W. Wildermuth 

S. H. Baumgartner 

S. H. Baumgartner 

J. Wales 

W. Ackerman 

J. H. Evans 

S. Hofferbert 
R. F. Jameson 
H. Steininger 
Wm. Reile 



262 



Organization 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 



Date of Organization 



Pastor 
J. Mundorf 
T. Carroll 
G. F. Winter 
J. Rees 
S. Hofferbert 
W. E. Snyder 
S. H, Baumgartner 
D. B. Koenig 
D. B. Koenig 
N. J. Platz 
F. L. Snyder 

STATISTICS OBTAINED FROM CONFERENCE JOURNALS 

Number of Alliances in 1893 45 Membership 1797 

Number of Alliances in 1923 73 

Number of Intermediates in 1923 55 

Number of Junior Alliances in 1923 19 Total Membership 2353 

Raised for General Missionary work, 1897 to 1922 $15,313.00 

Raised for Confer. Missionary work, 1897 to 1922 29,231.00 

Raised for Conference Branch work, 1912 to 1922 34,605.00 

Total $79,149.00 



Sommerville, Indiana 






Oct. 7, 


1894 


New Paris 








1894 


Zoar, Rockport C. 






Jan. 6, 


1895 


Washington, Hibbard C. 






Mar. 14, 


1895 


Trinity, Waterloo C. 






Mar. 


1895 


Common Centre (now abandoned) 


Sept., 


1895 


Ft. Wayne, Bethel 








1895 


Winchester (now abandoned) 






1896 


Emmettsville, Ridgeville 


C. 






1896 


Linn Grove 






April, 


1896 


Portland 








1896 



In 1898 the Conference Branch Y. P. A. built the first Oakwood Park 

tabernacle, cost, $1,500.00, and later raised $4,100.00 for the Superannuation 
Fund. 

Supported C. E. Ranck and wife, missionaries to China, a number of years. 
It raised $4,000.00 for the Superannuation Fund. 

MISSION HELP THE CONF. BRANCH Y. P. A. GAVE 

Con. Yr. Church Amount Date Payment Missionary 

1902 Kokomo Mission $ 800.00 A. S. Fisher 

1903 Kokomo Mission 800.00 A. S. Fisher 

1904 Kokomo Mission 800.00 A. S. Fisher 

1905 Kokomo Mission 800.00 A. S. Fisher 

1906 Kokomo Mission 90.00 May 7, 1906 J. J. Wise 

1906 Kokomo Mission 260.00 Aug. 11, 1906 J. J. Wise 

1907 Kokomo Mission J. J. Wise 

1908 Kokomo Mission M. L. Scheidler 

1909 Crescent Ave., Ft. Wayne 892.00 Sept. 6, 1909 C. A. Hirschman 

1910 Crescent Ave., Ft. Wayne 1000.00 Sept. 1910 C. A. Hirschman 

1911 Crescent Ave., Ft. Wayne 1000.00 Aug. 10, 1911 C. A. Hirschman 

1912 Crescent Ave., Ft. Wayne 1000.00 Aug. 21, 1912 C. A. Hirschman 

1913 Crescent Ave., Ft. Wayne 450.00 C. A. Hirschman 

1914 

1915 Evansville Mission 1000.00 I. G. Roederer 

1916 Evansville Mission 1000.00 Sept. 4, 1915 I. G. Roederer 

1916 Celina Mission 77.69 Nov. 9, 1915 F. Hartman 

1917 Evansville Mission 1000.00 W. R. Kimmel 

263 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Con. Yr. Church Amount Date Payment Missionary 

1918 Evansville Mission ....___ 1000.00 Aug. 7, 1917 W. R. Kimmcl 

1919 Brazil Mission _ 1350.00 Sept. 8, 1918 J. H. Arndt 

1920 Brazil iMission 2350.00 Sept. 2i, 1919 J. H. Arndt 

1921 Brazil Mission 300.00 Sept. 18, 1920 W. H. Flurkey 

1921 Logansport Mission 2150.00 Sept. 18, 1920 F. C. Wacknitz 

1922 Oakland Ave., Elkhart 2165.00 Sept. 7, 1921 E. E. Roberts 

1923 Oakland Ave., Elkhart 1915.00 Sept. 1, 1922 E. E. Roberts 

1923 Oakwood Park Improvement.. 300.00 J. H. Arndt 

Grand Total $22,499.69 

CONFERENCE BRANCH Y. P. A. PRESIDENTS SINCE I892-'23 

1892-93 W. H. Erightmire 1909-10 C. E. Boyer 

1894-95 F. E. Zcchiel 1911-12 D. O. Wise 

1896-97 H. Steininger 1912-14 C. P. Maas 

1898 S. H. Baumgartner 1915 E. W. Praetorius 

1899 1916-17 G. C. Pullman 
1900-01 Thomas Finkbeiner 1918-19 H. E. Ebcrhardt 
1902-03 J. O. Mosier 1920-21 A. H. Doeschcr 
1904-07 G. B. Kimmcl 1922 O. O. Lozier 
1908 J. J. Wise 1923-24 R. W. Loose 



264 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 
BRIEF SKETCH OE OAKWOOD PARK 

Previous to 1892, camp-meetings were held here and there over the confer- 
ence district. But there was then a growing sentiment among many members in 
the conference to have a permanent "Camp-niecting Ground" in the Conference, 
as was Maple Grove, near Huntingburg, in the South Indiana Conference. Sec 
\'ol. I. There was also usually a loss to the conference by way of freight 
expenses, breakage, and wear and tear in shipping the camp-meeting tal)ernac!e 
O'.itfit from place to place. The city people of our church, especially, keenly 
felt the need of an annual oiiting, and desired a place where religious and Evan- 
.gelical atmosphere prevailed for spiritual edification, and for physical recreation. 
To meet this necessity and to keep especially onr young people under our own 
E\'angelical "Figtree", or influence, care and instruction, the Indiana Conference, 




General View. Auditorium at left. 



on .^pril 9, 1892, acted upon this matter as follows: "Resolved that the presiding 
elders of this conference 1)e a committee of three to ascertain the advisability 
and practicability of securing a permanent camp-meeting ground, centrally lo- 
cated in the conference. Also at what cost a suitable place can be secured, and 
report the result of their inc|uiry to the next annual session." This committee 
was D. Martz, Pres.; D. S. Oakes, Vice-Prcs.; C. F. Hansing, Sec.-Treas. No 
report to the next session is found in the Conference minutes, but the instruc- 
tion was carried out. The real instigators of such a movement were And. Kra- 
mer and C. Hirschman of Indianapolis. These with Hansing met at Wawasce 
Lake, joined by John Riddle and Frank Ott, and selected the place and induced 
the purchase. 

In 1893, "Conklin Hill", on the west shore of the beautiful lake, Wawasee, 

265 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

in Kosciusko Co., Indiana, was bought by the "Oakwood Park Company", from 
W. J. Fredrick, for the sum of $5,000.00, and was christened as "Oakwood Park", 
after the trees that mainly cover this park. The property contains 40 acres of 
land, more or less. There is a valuable fruit orchard, some tillable land, and 
about IS acres in a grove. A few years later the above named Park Company 
transferred the entire park over to the Indiana Conference to which it has be- 
longed since. The grove slopes first rather sharply from the hill top where 
stands the hotel and then gradually to the lake, eastward. When it was pur- 
chased, the hotel on the hill, a barn, and an ice-house constituted the buildings. 
Conklin Hill had not an enviable reputation as a summer resort. Its patron- 
age was drawn from a class of people who imbibed intoxicants freely with con- 
sequent behavior. The Lord's Day was desecrated freely here by the unde- 




As you cat. 



sirables of the lake region. The great change wrought liy the transfer of owner- 
ship was much appreciated by civil authorities and the community in general. 

As a Conference we may congratulate ourselves that the purchase of the 
park was made at that time, and the price at which it was secured, for it is 
doubtful if it could have been bought a few j'ears later for a religious assembly 
ground. The park was then beautified by removing the undergrowth, and by 
g'-adually filling in the low places in the lake-front. The ascent from the lake- 
front to the top of the hill was aljout 100 feet. A large part of the hill was 
gradually removed, the top soil for filling low places, and the sand and gravel 
for building purposes and gravel road construction. 

The first camp-meeting here was held in August, 1893. A large canvas 
tabernacle was set up on a natural decline towards the pulpit platform on the 

266 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

east end. Canvas tents dotted the grounds, furnished with either straw or 
board floors. The ground was first Ht up with gasoline lights, but these have 
given way to electric lighting. The dining-hall and kitchen were built to the 
sonth of the tabernacle which have since been in use, being enlarged. The sec- 
ond story was provided with sleeping rooms. After the experience of a number 
of severe wind and rain storms, tabernacle and tents were supplanted by a 
well built wooden tabernacle and permanent cottages, and dormitories. Lots 
were bought and summer homes built. At present writing there are about fifty 
such cottages and summer homes. The park now contains the lake-front hotel, 
the large pavilion, a chapel, to which Mrs. Kath. Hettler was a large contribu- 
tor as she was to many other enterprises for park improvements, a dining-hall, 
the hotel on hill, se\eral dormitories, the superintendent's home, a water pump- 
ing station, many cottages, and fine two-story .summer homes, besides new barn, 




As you bathe. 



garages, fishing and boating equipments, cement walks through the park and 
down to lake-front, a sea-wall, a large tennis court, croquet grounds, etc. 

From the first the meetings were well attended both by our church folk 
and community people. Disturbers also attended at first so that alert police 
supervision was needed, and coercion had to be exercised a few times. It be- 
came necessary to charge a gate-fee for two purposes, to keep a certain rabble 
element away, and to obtain some means to make park improvements. The 
Oakwood Park management at this time had no money to make improvements. 
It trusted in the faithfulness and financial support of the laity and pastors who 
attended the meetings, and gate-fees, and incomes from the boarding depart- 
ment, lodgings, and boatings, and sale of park lots. So of necessity improve- 

267 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

ments were slow but sure, because the policy of the park authorities was not to 
"contract debts without a well founded probability of being able to pay them". 
Many expressions of appreciation came to them from considerate people for the 
improvements that were made as rapidly as they were with the meagre means at 
hand. True, not a few freely offered criticism for slow progress as they de- 
clared, but usually they came from such as gave little financial support. Since 
1895 the Oakwood Park treasurer's report on expenses, as culled from the con- 
ference journals to 1923, totals nearly $98,000.00. This is expenditures for the 
construction of hotel, dormitories, cottages, pavilion, chapel, dining-hall, walks, 
sea-wall, fillings, road-building, lights, wells, taxes, garages, building and buying 




Kimmel Hall. 



boats, superintendent's home, camp-meeting and conventions, current expenses, 
etc., etc. At this time the park is free of debt. Some money was borrowed in 
V124 to build the "Kiminel Hall". To a considerate mind these achievement-; 
arc indeed marvelous for most of the improvements came from proceeds during 
camp-meetings and conventions held here, and from personal contributions. 

In 1896 a terrific wind and rain storm swept over this ground during a 
camp-meeting, and tore down the taljernacle and many housing tents, and left 
niony occupants of tents thoroughly soaked. Other storms swept over this 
encampment but with no loss of life. This showed the feasibility of building 
cottages, and a wooden tabernacle to inspire confidence and to bring the people 
here. In 1898 the first tabernacle, 60 x 90 feet, was designed by D. D. Spangler 
and constructed from funds largely contributed by local Y. P. A.'s. The minis- 
ters of the conference formed a "working-bee", socalled, and constructed it. 
Its cost, exclusive of labor, was $1500.00. H. Steininger, Y. P. A. president, 

268 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

did much initial work to secure the funds. In 1899 a board floor was laid follow- 
iuCT a suggestion by Mrs. Kath. Hettler of Fort Wayne, Ind., who gave a 
liberal sum for this purpose The canvas tabernacle had been seated with planks 
and a few canvas seats. The woodon tabernacle was seated with cojnfortable 
pews made by the ministers. May 22, 1914, this tabernacle was consumed by 
fire, with all its contents, including a very interesting framed record of contribu- 
tions by local Alliances for the first tabernacle. Many trees were also destroyed. 
Immediately a new octagon pavilion with a seating capacity of 1200 was con- 
structed. The ministers once more, and some laymen, rallied and gave their 
muscular forces and good will, and skillfully reared it. To their credit, let it be 
said, a goodly force of pastors' wives most generously served as cooks during 
the construction of this pavilion. The Park trustees were in supervision. This 




^ggfc«.fe~'-«g^..-^'^i»«y"S.-r.- -'^«.^>" 



>^'*fc^. 



As you play. 



pavilion was dedicated in August, 1914. People freely contributed of their 
means on this day for this new building, costing approximately $5,000.00. A few 
years later a small chapel was built N. W. of the pavilion for special meetings, 
and has proven to be a splendid asset to the Park equipment for convention 
work. It cost about $2,000.00. Many hill-side meetings have also been held 
between the pavilion and hotel on the hill, the vesper services being especially 
blessed seasons. Men who served as superintendents of this park were: J. M 
Rogers, 1893-97; C. W. Hansing, 1898; H. Steininger, 1899-1901; D. D. Spangler, 
1902-03; Leo. Graffenbergcr, 1904-05 to Oct.; A. E. Weyrick, 1905-09; P. W. 
Soltau, 1910-19; Mr. Skedgel, 1920; and P. W. Soltau again, 1921-23. 

Many precious souls were converted on this ground. Many reconsecrated 
their lives here to God and to the church, and decided for some special work in 

269 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

the church and mission fields. Long live this place, beautiful for situation, the 
Mecca of the Indiana Conference. 
Well has a native bard sung: 

(Tune — America, the Beautiful.) 
Oh, beautiful for silver waves. 
For whitecaps rolling high. 
Thy sandy beach for tender feet. 
The boats thy waters ply. 
Oh, Wawasee, Lake Wawasec, 
We love thy shady shore, 
We come for good to old Oakwood, 
To gather sacred store. 

Oh, beautiful for games and fun, 
Thy walks young lovers stroll. 




As you enter. 



Thy stately trees and cooling breeze, 

'Mid summer's burning sun, 

Oh, Oakwood Park, dear Oakwood Park, 

Thy memory is blest. 

We come to thee, refreshed to be. 

For fellowship and rest. 

Oh, beautiful for workers true, 

Who gather here each year. 

Deciding oft' life's golden task. 

The call of God they hear. 

Oh, Oakwood Park, dear Oakwood Park, 

God bless thy atmosphere. 

And grant that good with brotherhood. 

Bless all who gather here. 

270 



/ 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

HAVEN HUBBARD MEMORIAL OLD PEOPLE'S HOME 

God's rich provision is promised to His own in His Word and His faith- 
fulness demonstrated in the history of His church people. "And God feedeth 
them", and, "Shall he not much more clothe you, O ye of little faith", wa.i 
spoken for the pledge of care for His own. On the Cross, Jesus said, "Son, 
behold thy mother", — thy charge, to keep the rest of her days. In like manner 
there is committed to the care of the church, the dependent and the h'omeless 
aged people who having contributed their years of service to society, are yet left 
without shelter and the deserving comforts for old age. Nor is the church left 
helpless to meeting this charge. God touches hearts and hands, and turns them 
as "the streams in the southland", to be opened for the supply of His needy 
ones as the following will illustrate: 

Some years ago the Lord put it into the heart of Mr. Haven Hubbard, a 
sturdy son of toil, of New Carlisle, Indiana, to provide a Home for dependent 
aged persons. God's signal blessing was upon his parents in the accumulation 
of earthly store, and graciously rewarded his own prudence in administering 
this bestowed trust. But Mr. Hubbard died before his plans could mature. He 
was blessed with a prudent helpmeet, who had found salvation in our Evan- 
gelical Church in Oak Park, Illinois, under the labors of Rev. M. Hoehn. He 
often discussed this scheme enthusiastically with his companion, and pictured 
to her the building and grounds, as they were visioned by him. In all of these 
plans she was in happy accord with her husband. But before their well con- 
ceived plan could mature, the hand of Death intervened and Mr. Hubbard died. 
After much thinking and planning, she consulted with Bishop S. P. Spreng, 
and E. G. Johnson, her pastor. She accepted the suggestion that she convey the 
farm to the Corporation of the Ebenezer Old People's Home in New York, by 
deed. This was m the year 1920. Sister Hubbard had faith in the church of her 
choice and generously deeded the farm to the aforesaid corporation. 

The farm consists of 704 acres of choice land in St. Joseph County, ZYz 
miles from the town of New Carlisle, and 13 miles from South Bend, the metrop- 
olis of northern Indiana. There is a beautiful residence standing in a grove of 
sugar trees, farm houses, barns, silos, grain elevator, corn crib, pump-house, 
etc., connected therewith. There are also several tracts of fine timber. The 
one consists of 80 acres of native timber and the two of good second growth 
of smaller area. The whole farm is well worth $175,000.00. 

The trustees of the Ebenezer Old People's Home incorporated this pro- 
posed Home under the laws of the state of Indiana, and took over the property, 
which now "belongs absolutely by warranty deed" to the trustees of the "Haven 
Hubbard Memorial Old People's Home of the Evangelical Church". The Gen- 
eral Conference which met in Detroit, Michigan, October, 1922, gratefully ac- 
cepted the gift, and assumed the responsibility of financing this institution 

271 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

which was then under construction. This addition to the church is near the center 
o[ population of the United States, which is in Central Indiana. As Mt. Zion, 




O 



X: 
SI 



the ancient home of the Psalmist David, was "beautiful for situation", so it 
can truly be said of this Old People's Home, though it is not standing on an 
eminence, it is standing on one of the finest farms of northern Indiana. Indeed 

272 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

the location is ideal for aged and homeless people, where everything that assures 
comfort is supplied. This place is 2]/, miles N. E. of Mew Carlisle, Indiana, near 
the Lincoln Highway, and in close proximity to the main line of the N. Y. Cen- 
tral R. R., and the Chicago L. S. and South Bend R. R., and the South Bend 
and Northern Indiana Electric Lines, hence easily accessible from east and 
west. 

The trustees agreed to her proviso, namely to erect a suitable building on 
this farm to accommodate from 70-100 people, and that the same be ready for 
occupancy by August, 192,3. The construction work began early in 1922, in 
order to keep faith with the generous donor. May S, 1923, the Home was 
dedicated with an impressive service by Bishop S. P. Spreng, assisted by Bishop 
J. F. Dunlap. The members of the Indiana and Michigan Conferences, which 
at this time were in session, were present in large numbers with a large number 
of the laity from both conferences. 

The Imilding was planned with much care. In the erection the 
best material and workmanship entered into it. It is equipped throughout with 
modern conveniences, and is ample to give homes for a hundred people, or 
more. The building has a frontage of 246 feet exclusive of verandas. It has a 
depth of 44>2 feet. To the rear is an 85-foot wing, the building is thus in the 
shape of a ''T". The central part of the first floor contains the superintendent's 
quarters, reception room and the office room; to the right and left of these are 
35 guest rooms, opening into the corridor, at either end of which is a sitting 
room adjoining a spacious veranda. The first floor in the wing contains the 
dining hall, kitchen, pantries, storage and stock rooms. The second floor is 
reached by three stairways. This floor also has 35 guest rooms and corridor 
and two sitting rooms. In the wing of this floor is a beautiful chapel. There 
is a large attic space which can be converted into additional guest rooms when 
required. Both floors are completely equipped with bath and toilet rooms, 
supply and serving rooms. There is a basement under the entire building con- 
t.nining the boiler and fuel rooms, pumping room, vegetable cellars, trunk room, 
refrigerating plant, bakery, laundry, work shop, and wood and coal rooms. 

The exterior of the Home is of Saraband Chinchilla brick, with Bedford 
si one trimmings and slate roof. The interior throughout is finished with 
southern gum and hard maple floors. The water is supplied from two wells, 
pumped by two high-pressure electrically driven pumps, discharging the water 
into two large steel pressure storage tanks. The boiler, fuel, laundry, bakery, 
qnd coal storage rooms are all fire-proof. The home is further protected by 
fire hose, and fire extinguishers conveniently placed throughout the building. 
There are also two large storage cisterns to supply soft water to kitchen and 
laundry. The building is heated by the Modulated Vapor Steam System. For 
front and side elevation see picture. The premises are beautified with flower 
beds, trees, shrubs, and crescent driveway. 

273 

18 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

The general contract for the construction of the building was awarded to 
Kuehn and Jordan of South Bend for the sum of $99,000.00. Freyermuth and 
Mnurer were the architects. The heating plant was installed by the A. J. Moser 
snd Co., Berne, Indiana, for $8,470.00 The plumbing was done by John Distler 
of Mishawaka, Indiana, for $9,092.00. The electric wiring by Colip Bros, of So. 
Bend, for $1,481.00. The electric fixtures, and hardware was let under separate 
contracts. The electric current is secured through the Indiana and Michigan 
Electric Co. Through C. L. Hartman of Indianapolis, the furniture was ob- 
tained at cost price. Total cost of the Home, including all equipments, furnish- 
ings, etc., was about $160,000.00. A saving of $25,000.00 to $30,000.00 was 
realized by building at this time, 1922. 

The district of the church to which the home has been alotted for privilege 
E.iid maintenance are the following conferences: Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, and 
the two Illinois. The following is the board of trustees: Pres., Bishop S. P. 
Spreng; V.-Pres., E. G. Johnson; Sec'y, G. W. Fredrick; Treas., E. F. Kimmel; 
\Vm. Womer, C. L. Hartman, J. W. Harpster, W. H. Watson, J. C. Schafer, 
E. C. George. D. D. Spangler is the Supt. and S. H. Baumgartner the solicitor 
of funds. The executive committee consists of the officers of the trustee board, 
Wm. Womer, and Mrs. Armina Hubbard. The Indiana Conference assumed 
$50,000.00 towards the construction of the Home, which amount is now secured 
in cash and pledges. Other conferences assumed no definite amount to this date, 
but doubtless will. 

There were ^0 needy ones the first year who applied for admittance to the 
comforts of this institution, and found the open door and the hand of welcome. 
The ministry in phj'sical comforts and spiritual needs is theirs daily, for as the 
daily bread is set before them at stated hours so is the worship at stated hours 
daily. The life of the home breathes the atmosphere of the heavenly home. One 
has been translated to the home above. One was dismissed. 

The following are the names of persons and organizations who furnished 
the room opposite their name, each representing an investment of $100.00. 



Room Name 

1. S. J. Hartman 

2. Arthur Taylor 

3. Miss Ella Carbiener 

4. Rev. and Mrs. J, O. Mosier 

5. Miss Bessie Reinhart 

6. Johnstown, Pa., Y. P. A. 

7. E. C. George 

8. Samuel W. Miller 

9. Emma Goldspohn 

10. Mahlon McCurtin 

11. Rev. and Mrs. D. D. Spangler 

12. Miss Pearl Kloepfer 



13. Cyrus Zehner 

14. Mary Blake 

15. Mr. and Mrs. Alb. Houseworth 

16. Rev. and Mrs. J. H. Evans 

17. No room 

18. A. B. Winey 

19. No room 

20. Mrs. Nellie Frank Smith 

21. No room 

22. Ladies' S. S. Class, Ft. Wayne 

23. Mr. and Mrs. Aug. Fisher 

24. Good-Will S. S. Class, Ind'p'l's 1st 

25. Frank Ludwig 



274 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 



26. Mr. and Mrs. G. W. Fredrick 55. 

27. Miss Dora Singer 56. 

28. Miss Dorothy Weiss 57. 

29. Wm. A. Womer 58. 

30. Harry Weiss 59. 

31. Mark B. Guise , 60. 

32. Rev. and Mrs. J. W. Metzner 61. 

33. Mrs. Henrietta Guise 62. 

34. Gustav and Marie Schultz 63. 

35. Mack Ave. Ch., Detroit, Mich. 64. 

36. No room 65. 

37. Norman Roos 66. 

38. No room 67. 
.39. Ladies' Aid, 1st Ch., So. Bend 68. 

40. H. E. Bohner, Pa. 69. 

41. Edwin Heina, O. 70. 

42. P. W. and Mrs. Soltau 71. 

43. Rev. and Mrs. J. C. Schaefer 72. 

44. Mr. and Mrs. J. A. McDonald 73. 

45. Noah C. Lehman 74. 

46. W. F. Nitsche for Nitsche Family 75. 

47. Mr. and Mrs. E. F. Young 76. 

48. M. J. Schabacher, O. 

49. Kath. Koch, memory of J. Koch 

50. Mrs. C. L. Hartman 

51. Mr. and Mrs. H. E. Roy 

52. Mrs. Irwin Miller 

53. Mr. and Mrs. C. D. Overmeyer 

54. Mr. and Mrs. E. C. Faust 



Rev. G. A. Spitler 

Rev. G. W. Freehafer 

Kuehn and Jordan 

Rev. and Mrs. M. L. Scheidler 

Baycrl Swartz (in memory) 

Bishop S. P. Spreng 

Mrs. C. B. Harrison 

Anton and Mary Debold 

Rev. and Mrs. S. H. Baumgartner 

Mr. and Mrs. L. B. Rough 

Frank H, Hirschman 

Mrs. E. F. Kramer 

Mrs. Mary A. Hirschman 

Mrs. D. S. Oakes 

Bishop L. H. Seager 

Mr. and Mrs. Wm. G. Shafer 

Mary Schabacher Kimmel 

Mr. and Mrs. H. C. Weber 

Mrs. Cora Wichizer 

Mrs. Andrew Kramer 

Rev. Geo. D. Reep 

Mr. and Mrs. John Hively 

Fountain, 1st Floor — $100.00 
Mr. and Mrs. Henry Finkbeiner 

Fountain, 2nd Floor — $100.00 
Rev. and Mrs. C. W. Spangler 



Emrich - Schlosser Orchard 

John H. Emrich, $100.00. Mr. and Mrs. Henry Schlosser, $100.00. 
Samuel Hertel donated a full-blooded Guernsey calf — $100.00 
Other donors: E. F. Kimmel, C. L. Hartman, C. E. Stefifey, $500.00 each. 



275 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

RECEIVED AND LICENSED TO PREACH GRANTED 1915-1922 
(Continued from Vol. I, page 389.) 

1916: E. O. Habeggcr, Salem, Linn Grove C; H. Kimmel, Wayne Ave., Dayton; 

J. E. McCoy, Union, Van Wert C: T. A. Brewer, Huntington; E. L. 

Gambee, Peru; E. M. Kerlin, West Salem to which place he came from 

Brooklyn, N. Y., by Conference appointment, 191S. He was recommended 

for license by his own congregation. 
1917: E. W. Schafer, Urbana. 

1918: B. C. Earhart, Markle; H. S. Berger, Hepton, Nappanee C. 
1919: W. Zimmerman, Bethlehem, Cicero C; C. Coverstone, Kendallville. 
1920: J. H. McRae, Trinity, Louisville; Geo. Gocker, Elberfeld; M. H. Evans, 

Terre Haute; Ben G. Thomas, Trinity, Louisville; T. M. Lehman, Berne; 

C. L. Davis, Wabash; B. R. Hoover, Wabash. 
1921: G. J. Long, First Church, South Bend; Elmer Smith, Hope, Celina C; 

G. H. Boyce, Bethel, Ft. Wayne; F. Kuebler, First Church, Dayton: 

Chester Dietert, San Pierre; E. Kunce, Zion, Ft. Recovery C. ; W. J. 

Dauner, Grayville; H. Hasewinkel, West Salem; C. Stoll, Oak Grove, 

Edgerton C. 
1922: R. L. Haley, Zion, Ft. Recovery C; C. R. Bitzer, Bethel, Bippus C; 

P. F. Scale, Zion, Common Center C. ; V. Palmer, Wabash; L. Geiger, 

Island, Nappanee C; H. Cook, Urbana; C. Koertge, West Salem. 

ORDAINED AS DEACONS— 1915-1922 
(Continued from Vol. I. page 392.) 

1916: H. L. Meyer; H. E. Eberhardt; O. O. Lozier; F, W. Launer; W. R. Kim- 
mel; R. Wise. 
1917: E. M. Kerlin; R. L. Handschu; E. E. Roberts; J. H. Arndt. 
1918: A. H. Doeschcr. 

1919: J. W. Thomas; J. A. Brewer; Dr. E. W. Schmalzried. 
1920: J. E. McCoy; L. A. Dewitt; E. O. Habeggcr. 
1921: C. Coverstone; E. F. Snyder; H. S. Berger. 
1922: W. J. Dauner; B. G. Thomas; B. C. Earhart. 

ELDERS ORDAINED FROM 1915-1922 
(Continued from Vol. I, page 394.) 
1916: G. S. Lozier; G. C. Pullman; Geo. Lambert; a local relation given. 
1917: F. C. Wacknitz; I. G. Rocderer; J. M. Kistlcr; M. O. Herman. 
1918: W. R. Kimmel; O. O. Lozier; H. E. Eberhardt; C. L. Haney; B. G. Smith. 
1919: A. H. Doescher; E. M. Kerlin; J. H. Arndt. 
1920: E. E. Roberts; R. L. Handschu. 

1921: J. W. Thomas; F. W. Launer; A. O. Overholser; W. H. Flurkey. 
1'^22: None. 

276 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

RECEIVED FROM OTHER CONFERENCES AND CHURCHES 
(Continued from Vol. I, page 391.) 

1916: E. G. Johnson from Texas Conference as Elder; A. W. Bender, as Elder, 

Pittsburgh Conference. 
1*^17: A. H. Doescher as probationer from Nebraska Conference. 
1918: O. A. Overholser as local deacon from the Nazarene Church. 
1919: F. W. Launer as local Elder from the M. E. Church. 
1920: W. F. Conley, Elder from Pittsburgh Conference. 
1921: E. J. Nickel as Elder from Wisconsin and J. W. Feller as Elder from 

Colorado Conference; F. D. Stemen, probationer and A. J. Stemen, Elder 

from the U. B. Church. 
1922: F. S. Erne as Elder from Texas; F. I. Wilmert as Deacon from Minnesota; 

J. D. Abel as Deacon from the Oregon Conferences. 

RELATED MINISTERS IN THE INDIANA CONFERENCE 
License Issued to Five Groups of Three Brothers: 

Culver: F. E., D. E., and S. I. Zechiel. 

Salem, Edgerton Cir.: J. E., E. E., and H. E. Meyers. 

Salem, Fulton Cir.: E. L., J. H., and S. Kiplinger, 

Waupecong Cir.: J. M., E. E., and S. S. Condo. 

Zion, Bunker Hill Cir.: A. J., J. K., and E. R. Troyer. 

License Issued to Twenty Sets of Two Brothers: 

Fisher, I. B., and L. S. 
Fisher, A. S., and H. W. 
Feller, J. W., and A. W. 
Hansing, C. F., and C. F. W. 
Hertel, Geo. A., and Wm. 
Hoffman, John and Fred. 
Kimmel, W. R. and H. E. 
Koch, C. R., and Ger. 
Kroft, J. S., and A. D. 
Lozier, G. S., and O. O. 
Luehring, W. L., and S. J. 
Orth, Ph. A., and Laf. L. 
Platz, N. J., and N. F. 
Snyder, B. F., and F. L. 
Spangler, D. D., and C. W. 
Steininger, Geo. G., and J. H. 
Stierli, F. C, and G. A. 
Wales, Geo., and James 

277 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Wise, J, J., and D. O. 
Zimmer, Geo,, and Michael. 

Father and Sons as Ministers: 

Bockman, Wni., and son John F. 

Burgener, P., and son Chr. H. 

Buyer, Jos. L., and son Jos. L. 

Fisher, Jos., and sons I. B. and L. S. 

Fuchs (Fox), J., and sons D. E. and A. N. 

Geist, Aug., and son C. E. 

Gocker, H., and son Geo. 

Jupin, C. S., and John 

Kiplinger, J., and sons E. L.. J. H., and Sam'l. 

Koch, Geo., and son Gerhard. 

Koenig, Wm., and son B. E. 

Platz, Geo. G., and sons N. ].. N. F., M. C, and C. E. 

Rainey, Rob., and son S. D. 

Roederer, Geo., and son I. G. 

Scheidler, A. V., and son M. L. 

Snyder, F. L., and son E. F. 

Stemen, A. J., and son F. D. 

Wales, Geo., and sons, Geo. G.. and James. 

Wildermuth, Sol., and son Wm. 

Weishaar, H., and son G. A. 



178 



HISTORTCAL SKETCHES 
THE PRESIDING ELDERS AND THEIR DISTRICTS 

Arlen, Henry Indianapolis, 1887-92, total 4% years, filling a nine- 
month vacancy. 
Baumgartner, Cleophas C Indianapolis, 1879-82; Elkhart, 1883-86. Total, 

eight years. 
Baumgartner, Samuel H. ■ Elkhart, 1899-02; 1905-06; 1915; 1920-21. Fort 

Wayne, 1903-04; 1912-14; 1922. Evansville, 1909. 

Indianapolis, 1910-11; 1916-19. Total, 22 years. 

Resigned in '23. 

Berger, John ...Indianapolis, 1885-87, total, 3% years, and resigned. 

Bretsch, Philip Wabash, 1857-58, total, two years. 

Dickover, Samuel St. Joseph, 1852-54. Wabash, 1855-56, total, four 

years. 
Evans, John H Ft. Wayne. 1895-96; Elkhart, 1897-98, total, four 

years. 
Fisher, Henry L. Elkhart, 1871; Evansville, 1875-78; Olney, 1879. 

Died June, 1880. Total, 614 years. 
Fisher, Joseph St. Joseph, 1859-62; White River, 1863-66. Total 

eight years. 

Fisher, Lonzo S Indianapolis, 1907-10, total four years. 

Fuchs, John Indianapolis, 1871-74; Olney, 1875. Total five 

years. 

Geist, August . Ft. Wayne, 1887-90, total four years. 

Glaus, Christian .. Wabash, 1852-54, total three years, and resigned. 

Hansing, Charles F Indianapolis, 1892-95; 1899-02; 1905-06; Louisville, 

1896-97; Elkhart, 1903-04. Total 15 years. Re- 
signed. 
Haug, John M. ..Louisville, 1893-95; 1902-04; Indianapolis, 1896; 

total 6'/2 years. Died. 

Hoehn, Mathias Wabash, 1863-66. Total four years. 

Kiplinger, Elias L .Elkhart, 1872-74; 1879-82; Ft. Wayne, 1875-78; 

Indianapolis, 1883-84. Total 12 years. 
Krueger, Michael Elkhart. 1867-70; Indianapolis, 1875-78; Ft. Wayne, 

1879-82. Total 12 years. 

Mayer, Melchior White River, 1867-68; Indianapolis, 1869-70; 

Evansville, 1871-74. Total eight years. 

Martz, David E Elkhart, 1891-94; Kcndallville, 1895-98; Ft. Wayne, 

1905-07. Total 11 years, then resigned. 

Metzner, John W Elkhart, 1911-14; Ft. Wayne, 1915-16; Elkhart, 

1917-19; 1922-23; Indianapolis, 1920-21, total 13 
years. 

279 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Hosier, John O. .__ Elkhart, 1907-10; Ft. Wayne, 1917-21; Indianapo- 
lis, 1922-23, total 11 years. 

Oakes, David S : Ft. Wayne, 1883-86; 1892-94; 1899-02; Elkhart, 

1887-90; 1895-96; Indianapolis, 1897-98; 1903-05- 
Total 22 years, then resigned. 

Platz, Geo. G St. Joseph, 1855-58; White River, 1859-62; Wabash. 

1867-70, total 12 years. 

Roederer, Geo Louisville, 1898-1901, total four years. 

Schafer, Absolom B White River, 1856-58, total three years, and re- 
signed. 

Speicher, D. D .Louisville, 1905-07; Evansville, 1903, total 4y^ 

years, filled six months' vacancy. 

Steffey, Michael W. -.Wabash, 1859-62; St. Joseph, 1863-64; Elkhart, 

1865-66, 1875-78; Ft. Wayne, 1871-74; total 16 
years. 

Wise, Jacob J Ft. Wayne, 1908-11; Indianapolis, 1912-15; E'k- 

hart, 1916; total nine j'ears. 

So. Indiana Conference John Fuchs, 12 years; J. Kaufman, 12 years, and 

Fr. Schweitzer, four years. H. Schleucher, five 
years. 



280 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

PRESIDING ELDER DISTRICTS, TOGETHER WITH THE FIELDS 
OF LABOR, AND THE P. E. THAT SERVED THEM 
(For dates when the P. Elders served them, see above hst.) 

Elkhart District 

Akron, '88, '01-23; Anton, '22-23; Benton, '72-78; Berne, '93-94; Bipplhs, 
(West Point) '87-88, '05; Bremen (Yellow River) '65-90, '97-23; Bremen Mis- 
sion, '03-04; Bourbon, '10; Bruce Lake, '88-90, then Tippecanoe, '01-06, then Lei- 
ters Ford, '07, then Lake Bruce, '08-23; Bunker Hill, '87-90; Cleveland, Tenn., 
'88-90; Chattanooga, Tenn., '89-90; Common Centre, '12-23; Culver Circuit, 
(Twin Lake) '68-98. '99-16, then Hibbard, '17-23; Culver Station, 1913-23; Dan- 
ville, 111., '68-69; Dayton Wayne Ave., '92; Decatur, '91; Defiance, '65-70; DeKalb, 
'65-71; Ebenezer, '20-23; Elkhart Circuit, '65-73; Elkhart Div. St., '67-90, '97-03; 
Elkhart Watch Tower, '74-76. '79-86, '91-03; Elkhart First, 1904-23; Elkhart 
Bethel, 1906-23; Elkhart South Side, '93-01, '05-16; Wolf Ave., '17-20; Oakland, 
'22-23; Ft. Wayne, '67-70; Fulton, '65-80; Gilead, 'Ji; Huntington Circuit, '65-70, 
'91-96; Kendallville, '91-94; Kokomo, 1911-13; Lakeville, 1910-23; Laporte, '76-85; 
Logansport, '74-90, '94, '97-02, '11-23; Lydick, 1915-23; Markle, '92-94; Medary- 
ville '65, '68-72, '83-90, '97-00, then San Pierre, '01-23; Mishawaka Circuit, '72- 
1920; Coal Bush, 1921; Mishawaka Station, 1919-23; Mishawaka Mission, '83-87; 
Nappanee Circuit, '91-96, 1900-10, Mission, 1911-16, Station, 1917-23; Nappanee 
Circuit, 1911-23; New Paris, '72-86, '91-96, 1905-23; Newville, (Linn Grove) '65; 
North Liberty, '66, '80, 1901, '06-07; North Webster, '91-96, 1914-17, then Colum- 
bia City, '18-23; Peru. '98-02, 1911-23; Pulaski, '66-67; Porter, 1923; Rochester 
Circuit, '81-1900, '15-23; Rochester Mission, 1909-12; Rochester Station. '85-23; 
Royal Centre, '81-82, '90-91, '96-23; St. Marys, '65-70; Silver Lake, '72; South 
Bend Circuit, '65-71; South Bend First, '66-90, '97-23; South Bend Mizpah, 
'93-17, then Broadway. '18-23; South Bend (west), 1903, then Grace, 1904-23; South 
Bend Ewing, 1920-23; Spring Grove, '68-70; Star City (Cass Co.), 1911; Syra- 
cuse, 1902-10, '14-23; San Pierre, see MedaryviUe; Tippecanoe, '84, sec Bruce 
Lake; Urbana, '92-94, '03-04, '11-23; Wabash Mission (near Lafayette), '65-67; 
Wabash City, '87-90, '97-98. '11-23; Wabash Circuit, 1914-23; Wanatah, '73-82. 
'85-90, '11-12; Warsaw, '77-78; Waterloo, '91; VVolcottvillc, '91; Waupecong, '66; 
Yellow River, 1901-02. 

Presiding Elders that served this district; M. W. Stcffey, M. Kruegcr, 
H. L. Fisher, E. L. Kiplinger, Af. W. Steffey, E. L. Kiplinger, C. C. Baumgart- 
ner, D. S. Oakes, D. E. Martz. D. S. Oakes, J. H. Evans, S. H. Baumgartncr, 
C. F. Hansing, S. H. Baumgartner, J. O. Mosier, J. W. Metzner, S. H. Baum- 
gartncr, J. J. Wise, J. W. Metzner, S. H. Baumgartner, J. W. Metzner. 

EvansviUe District, 1871-75, 1908-10 

Altamont, 1908-10; Brazil, '73-75, '08-10; Carmi, '71-74, 'OS-IO; Camp Creek, 
'08-10; Cincinnati, '75; Enterprise, '08-10; EvansviUe, '71-75, '08-10; El])erfeld 

281 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

(Warren), 71-75, '08-10; Grayville, '08-10; Huntingburg, '71-75, '08-10; Lancas- 
trr, '08-10; Louisville, Zion, '75, '08-10; Trinity, '75, '08-10; Marshall, '71-74, 
'08-10; Mound City and Cairo, '74; Mt. Carmel, '71-75, '08-10; OIney, '71-74; 
Olney Station, '08-10; Rockport, '73-75, '08-10; Shelby, '72-74; St. Louis, '74; 
Vandalia, '71-74; West Salem, '71-74. 

Presiding Elders that served this district; Melchior Mayer, H. L. Fishee, 
D. D. Speicher, and S. H. Baumgartner. 

Ft. Wayne District, 1871-96, '99-23. 

Avilla, '11-23; Berne, '89, '99-23; Berne Cir., '15-23; Bryant. '22-23; Chatta- 
nooga, '11-14; Bippus, '90, '99-04, '06-23; Bremen, '93-96; Bunker Hill, '95-96; 
Celina Cir. '82-86, '91-96, '99-02, '05-23; Celina Miss., '11-23; Cicero, '71-72; Clear 
Creek, '89; Columbia City, '20-23; Danville, '72; Dayton Com., '14-23; Dayton 
Wayne Ave., '14-23; Decatur, "72-77, '81, '90-94, '99-06, '08-23; Defiance Cir., 
'71-94, '99-23; Defiance Miss., '09-17; DcKalb, '72; Edon, '07; Edgerton, '75-94. 
'99-03, '08-23; Elkhart Div. St., '95-96; Elkhart Watch Tower, '77-78, '87-90; Ft. 
Recovery, '87-94, '05-09, '21-23; Ft. Wayne, Bethel, '71-86, '93-06, '99-23; Ft. 
Wayne Crescent, '10-23; Greenville, '11-23; Hicksville, '85-94, '99-18; Huntington, 
'70-90, '99-23; Kendallville, '73-90, '99-23; Linn Grove (Vera Cruz) '91-96, "99-23; 
Logansport, '91-96; Markle, '99-23; Mcdaryville, '95-96; Newville, '71-86; New 
Paris, '87-90, '99-04; Noblesvillc, '73-74, '91, '95-96; North Webster, '79-90, '99-13; 
Ohio City, '09; Paulding, 1900; Payne, '92-94; Phillipsburg, '11-19; Portland Cir., 
'10-21; Portland Miss., '87-94, '05-07, '11-23; Ridgeville, '11-23; Scott, '04-15; 
Spring Grove (near Lafayette), '71-79; So. Bend First, '95-96; St. Marys, '78-86, 
•01-92, '02; St. Peters, '10-11, '13-15; Syracuse, '04, '11-13; Urbana, '91; Van Wert, 
■71-86, '91-96, '99-23; Van Wert Cir., '16-23; Wanatah, '95; Wabash Cir., '11-13; 
Wabash City, '72-81, '92-96; Waterloo, '73-94, '99-23; Warsaw, '71; Waupecong, 
'71; Winchester, '95-96; Wolcottville, '87-90, '92-94, '99-23. 

The Presiding Elders that served this district: M. W. Steffey, E. L. Kip- 
linger, M. Krueger, D. S. Oakes, A. Geist, D. S. Oakcs, J. H. Evans, D. S. 
Oakes, S. H. Baumgartner, D. E. A-lartz, J. J. Wise, S. H. Baumgartner, J. W. 
Metzner, J. O. Hosier, S. H. Baumgartner, F. C. Berger. 

Indianapolis District, 1869-1923 

Altamont, '95-96, '11-17; Atlanta, '10; Brazil, '93-02, '11-23; Bremen, '91-92; 
Brownstown (Camp Creek), '95-97, '11-19, '20-23; Bunker Hill, (Waupecong) 
'69-70, 72-86, '92-94, '97-10, '14-23; Cambridge City, '15; Carmi, '11-23; Celina 
Cir., '70-81, '88-90, '97-98, '03-04; Cicero, '69-70; '12-23; Cincinnati, '69-74; Chat- 
tanooga and Cleveland, Tenn.,' 1891; Cumberland, '94-95; Dayton Com. St., '69- 
13; Dayton Wayne Ave., '88-13; Decatur, '97; E. Germantown, '69-17; Elberfeld, 
'11-23; Emmettsville, '92, '95-97; Enterprise, '11-23; Evansvillc Station, '11-23; 
Evansville, Linwood, '14-23; Elkhart Div. St., '91-94; Ft. Wayne, Bethel, '87-92, 
"97-98; Grayville, '11-23; Greenville, "69-80, "86-89, '92-10, '20-23; Huntingburg. 

282 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

'11-23; Indianapolis, First, '69-23; Indianapolis, Second, '93-23; Indianapolis, 
Beville Ave., 1900-23; Indianapolis, North, '71-80; Julictta, '76-92; Kokomo, 
'02-10, '14-23; Lancaster, '11-13, '15-23; Logansport, '03-10; Louisville Trinity, 
'11-23; Louisville Zion, '69-74, '11-23; Louisville West Side, '72-74; Marshall, 
'96-97, '11-23; Montgomery, '69-91, '93; Mt. Carmel, '11-23; Newville, '69-70, 
'87-90; Noblesville, '75-90, '92-95, '97-12; Olney, '11-23; Pershing, '18-23; Peru, 
'03-10; PhiUipsburg, '92-10, '20-23; Portland Cir. (Ft. Recovery), '81-84. '85-86, 
'97-'04; Portland Miss., '99-04, '08-10; Richmond, '69-70, '73-79, '83-90; Ridge- 
ville, '08-10; Rockport, '11-23; Royal Centre, '07-10; San Pierre, '91-95; South 
Bend First, '91-95; Spikerville, '08-10; St. Marys, '87-90; Sulphur Springs (Ma- 
rion Co.), '69-70; Tcrre Haute, '95-02, '11-23; Urbana, '99-02, '05-10; Van Wert, 
'69-70, '87-90; Vera Cruz, '97-98; Wabash, '82, '91, '93-94, '99-10; West Salem 
Cir., '13-14; West Salem, '11-23; West Point, '86; Winchester, '80-95, '97. 

The Presiding Elders that served this district: M. Mayer, J. Fuchs, M. 
Krueger, C. C. Baumgartner. E. L. Kiplinger, J. Berger, H. Arlen, C. F. Han- 
sing, J. M. Haug, D. S. Oakes, C. F. Hansing, D. S. Oakes, C. F. Hansing, L. S. 
Fisher, S. H. Baumgartner, J. J. Wise, S. H. Baumgartner, J. W. Metzner, J. O 
Mosier. 

Kendallville District, 1895-98 

Berne, '95-98; Decatur, '95-98; Defiance, '95-98; Edgerton, '95-98; Hicksville, 
'95-98; Huntington, '97-98; Kendallville, '95-98; Markle, '95-98; Nappanee, '97- 
98; New Paris, '97-98; North Webster, '98; Payne, '95-98; Portland Cir., '95-96; 
Portland Miss., '95-98: Urbana, '95-98; Van Wert, '97-98; Waterloo, '95-98; 
West Point, '97-98; Wolcottville, '95-98. 

The Presiding Elder that served this district: D. E. Martz. 

Louisville District, 1893-1907 

Altamont, '93-94, '97-07; Brazil, '03-07; Camp Creek, '93-94, '97-07; Carmi, 
'93-07; Elberfeld (Tabor), '93-07; Enterprise, '94-07; Evansville, '93-07; Gray- 
ville, '93-07; Huntingburg, '93-07; Lancaster, '93-07; Louisville Trinity, '93-07; 
Louisville Zion, '93-07; Marshall, '93-94, '97-07; Mt. Carmel, '93-07; New Har- 
mony, '98-00; Olney, '93-07; Owensboro, '93-06; Rockport, '94-07; Terre Haute, 
'93-94, '03-07; West Salem, '93-07. 

The Presiding Elders that served this district: J. M. Haug, C. F. Hansing, 
Geo. Roederer, J. M. Haug, D. D. Speicher. 

Olney District, 1875 

Jonesboro, '75; Lake Creek, '75; Marshall, '75; Murphysboro, '75; Olney, 
'75; Shelby, '75; St. Louis, '75; A'andalia, '75; West Salem, '75; served by John 
Fuchs. 

St. Joseph District, 1852-1865 

Berrien, '55-63; Bainbridge, '61; Calhoun, '75; (Kalamazoo) '63; DeKalb. 
'52-65; Defiance Cir., '59-65; Elkhart Cir., '52-65; Fulton, '53-65; Huntington 

283 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Cir., '53-65; Ionia, '61-63; Medaryvillc, '64-65; Newville, '54-55, '64-65; So. Bend 
First, '60, '63-65; St. Joseph, '56-63; St. Marys, '52-55, '64-65; Waupecong, '58-60; 
'63-65; Yellow River, '57-65. 

The Presiding Elders that served this district. S. Dickovcr, G. G. Platz, 
Jos. Fisher, M. W. Steffey. 

■Wabash District, 1852-1870 

Carmi, '57-70; Clay County, '56-68; Dubois, '52-59; Evansville, '52-70; Hamil- 
ton, '52-55; Huntingburg, '60-70; IVIarshall, '52-70; Mt. Carmel Cir., '52-68; Sta- 
tion, '69-70; Olney, '53-70; Rockport, '60, '68-70; Shelby, '67-70; St. Louis, '65; 
A'.indalia, '58-70; Wabash (near Lafayette), '62; West Salem, '68-70; Warren- 
ton (Elberfeld), '55-70; Whitewater, '52-55. 

The Presiding Elders that served this district: Chr. Glaus, S. Dickovcr, 
Phil. Bretsch, M. W. Steffey, M. Hoehn, Geo. G. Platz. 

White River District, 1856-1868 

Cicero, '58-68; Cincinnati, '64-68; Cumberland, Ind., '67-68; Dayton Sta.. 
'56-68; E. Gcrmantown, (Whitewater) '56-68; Greenville, '59-68; Hamilton, '56; 
Huntington Cir., '59-63; Indianapolis First, '56-68; Lafayette, '59; Louisville 
Zion, '65-68; Miami Cir.. Ohio., '56-58; Mississinawa. '63-66; Montgomery, '59- 
68; Newville, '56-63, '66-68; Richmond, '64-68; St. Marys, '56-63; Van Wert. 
'6,'-68; Wabash (Lafayette), '63; Waupecong, '61-62, '64-68. 

The Presiding Elders that served this district: A. B. Schafer, G. G. Platz, 
Jos. Fisher, M. Mayer. 

(The former South Indiana Conference fields and districts with their pre- 
siding ciders are not given here.) 



284 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 



TABLE OF LIVING MINISTERS FROM 1915-23 



(Continued from Vol. I.) 









■a 
c 




Ordained 


'i> 
u 


V 








> 


Men in Active 


Date of Birth 


Place of Birth 


J 




c 




-o'^' 




Service 






£ 


■^£ 


o 


u 




u'rt 








^ 


>' o 


ra 


3 


OJ u 


V 








k; 


P50 


Q 


s 


X 


'^^ 


Arndt, J. H 


Mar. 28, U'S8 


San Pierre, Ind. 


1915 


Ind. 


1917 


1919 


9 




Berger, F. C 


Sept. 16, 1861 


Howe, Ind. 


1885 


Mich. 


1887 


1889 


38 




Berger, H. S 


Sept. 18, 1888 


Bremen, Ind. 


1918 


Ind. 


1921 




5 




Cook, H. F 


Nov. 3, 1891 


J'rbana, Ind. 


1922 


Ind. 


1924 




1 




Coverstone, C 


Mar. 25, 1888 


Churubusco, Ind. 


1919 


Ind. 


1921 


1924 


5 




Dauner, W. J 


July 29, 1889 


Grayville, 111. 


1921 


Ind. 


1922 


1924 


2 




Davis. C. L 


Sept. 15, 1891 


Fairmont, Ind. 


1920 


Ind. 






4 




Earhart, B. C 


July 4, 1886 


Markle, Ind. 


1918 


Ind. 


1922 


1924 


4 


1 


Eberhardt, H. E. . . . 


Dec. 1, 1891 


Indianapolis, Ind. 


1914 


Ind. 


1916 


1918 


7 




Geiger, Leroy 


Apr. 21, 1891 


Millord, Ind. 


1922 


Ind. 


1924 




1 




Habegger. E. O. ... 


Dec. 27, 1885 


Berne, Ind. 


1916 


Ind. 


1920 


1924 


8 




Haley, R. L 


Aug. 29, 1890 


Tay Co., Ind. 


1922 


Ind. 


1924 




2 




Handschu, R. L. ... 


June 21, 1886 


Peoria, 111. 


1915 


Ind. 


1917 


1920 


9 




Hanev, C. L 


Nov. 1, 1890 


Milford, Ind. 


1911 


Ind. 


1915 


1917 


11 


2 


Hasewinkel, H. F. . . 


Dec. 31, 1888 


West Salem, 111. 


1921 


Ind. 


1924 




3 




Hermon. M. O 


Xov. 21, 1883 


Elkhart, Ind. 


1910 


Ind. 


1915 


1917 


11 


2 


Hoover, B. R 


Feb. 20, 1890 


Lirbana, Ind. 


1920 


Ind. 


1924 




4 




Johnson, E. G 


Jan. 28, 1881 


Fremont, Ind. 


1902 


Mich. 


1904 


1906 






Kerlin, E. M 


Feb. 1, 1871 


Saginaw, iMicb. 


1916 


Ind. 


1917 


1919 


9 




Kimmel, \V. R 


Xov. 4, 1889 


Dayton, Ohio 


1914 


Ind. 


1916 


1918 


8 


1 


Kistler, J. M 


Tan. 30, 1888 


Royal Centre, Ind. 


1912 


Ind. 


1914 


1917 


10 


1 


Koertge, Car! 


June 24, 1891 


West Salem, 111. 


1922 


Ind. 






2 




Launer, F. W 


Apr. 10, 1882 


Cromwell, Ind. 


1914 


Ind. 


1916 


1921 1 A'A 


3 


Long, G. J 


May 3. 1883 


South Bend, Ind. 


1921 


Ind. 


1924 




2 




Lozier, G. S 


Mar. 23, 1884 


Bremen, Ind. 


1911 


Ind. 


1914 


1916 


10 


2 


Lozier, O. O 


Apr. 5, 1891 


Bremen, Ind. 


1914 


Ind. 


1916 


1918 


7 


2 


Maurer, L. M 


Tune 28, 1890 


Wabash, Ind. 


1923 


Ind. 






1 




McCov, T. E 


[uly 8, 1892 


Van Wert. Ohio 


1916 


Ind. 


1920 




8 




McRa'e, J. H 


May 5, 1879 


Rehoboth, Ind. 


1920 


Ind. 


1923 




4 




Pullman, G. C 


Dec. 11, 1887 


Urbana, Ind. 


1910 


Ind. 


1914 


1916 


10 


3 


Overholser, A. 0. . . 


Feb. 3, 1882 


Gettysburg, Ohio 


1906 


Apost. Ch. 




1921 


6 




Roberts, E. E 


May 31, 1889 


Fiemont, Ind. 


1915 


Ind. 


1917 


1920 


9 




Roederer, I. G 


Tulv 19, 1890 


Wabash, Ind. 


1911 


Ind. 


1915 


1917 


8 




Schmalzried, Dr. K. \\'. 


Feb. 18, 1888 


Andrews, Ind. 


1910 


Ind. 


1919 


1923 






Shaneyfelt, G. W. . . 


Mar. 20, 1892 


Portland, Ind. 


1923 


Ind. 






1 




Smith, B. G 


Mav 3, 1883 


Denver, Col. 


1912 


Ind. 


1912 


1918 


11 




Smith, Elmer 


Sept. 26, 1892 


Celina, Ohio 


1921 


Ind. 


1924 




i;-2 




Snyder, E. F 


Mar. 30, 1891 


Decatur, Ind. 


1910 


Ind. 


1921 


1923 


3 


9 


Stemen, A. J 


Xov. 12, 1857 


Elida, Ohio 


1890 


U. B. 


1891 


1895 


4 




Stemen, F. D 


Feb. 14, 1886 


Elida, Ohio 


1908 


U. B. 




1912 


4 




Thomas, J. W 


Oct. 31, 1874 


Hamilton Co., Ind. 


1915 


Ind. 


1919 


1921 


8 




Wacknitz, F. C 


Aug. 22, 1889 


Medaryville, Ind. 


1913 


Ind. 


1915 


1917 


10 




Willmert, F. I 


Sept. 3, 1890 


Blue Earth, Minn. 




Minn. 




1924 


3 




Zimmerman, W 


Tan. 7, 1895 


Hamilton Co., Ind. 


1919 


Ind. 


1924 









Not in Active Service or in College or Seminary. 



Probationers 










Eitzer, C. R 


. , May 12, 1891 


Andrews, Ind. 


1922 


Ind 


DeWitt, L. A 


. Aug. 18, 1891 


Tipton, Ind. 


1915 


Ind 








1916 


Ind 


Gocker, Geo 


. Tune 6, 1899 


Grayville, III. 


1920 


Ind 


Haney, Ph 


. Tuly 18, 1884 


Marshall Co., Ind. 


1914 


Ind. 


Palmer, V 


. June 9, 1900 


Delphi, Ind. 


1922 


Ind 


Boyce, G. H 


. June 4, 1902 


Xatural Bridge, X. Y. 


1921 


Ind. 




. Sept. 1, 1902 


Dayton, Ohio 


1921 


Ind. 




. June 15, 1901 


Bryant, Ohio 


1921 


Ind 


Scales, P. F 




Cass Co., Ind. 


1922 


Ind. 



In College 

5 I 3 

6 I 1 
In College 

4'/2 I 5 
In College 
In College 
In College 
In School 
[Supply 



285 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 



O 
H 



O 

in 

U 
H 

CO 



Q 
W 
m 
< 
Ui 
U 
W 
Q 

O 

O 

H 
W 
J 



c 

o 




J3 


P13 


1898 

187.-, 
1872 
1891 
1901 

1862 
1882 
1901 

1831 

1887 
1874 

1867 
1860 
1904 


U03E3Q 


1896 

1866 
1869 
1870 
1897 
1899 

1860 
1880 
1896 

1872 
1909 
1895 
1885 
1872 
1894 

1865 
1858 
1904 


u > 


1E301 




CO'-' cicir-.c^Jr^O'^Of-iosr-imcocTNio-j- -rfrfch 


SAJIDV 


33U9J3JU03 


> o .".«.... , 


pasuaDi-j 
'"HA\ 


ioo'0'J-oooom^oocor-H<^o>^OMnro'^oo<— "•C'^MiifO 

-i-C^OO'J^'O^OC^C^^Olrlr^a^^^^J^a^O^OO^O^C^^Dlr^O^ 
OOCOOOCOOOOJOOCOOOWCOCOCOCOCOCOCOOOOOOOOJTOCO 




5 

'u 

m 




Newton, Kan. 
Dayton, Ohio 
Anaheim, Calif. 
Bremen, Ind. 
Zion Church 
Rochester, Ind. 
Berne, Ind. 
Decatur, Ind. 
Oak Park, III. 
Dayton, Ohio 
Evansville, Ind. 
Kokomo. Ind. 
Indianapolis, Ind. 
Rochester, Ind. 
South Bend, Ind. 
Rochester, Ind. 
Van Wert, Ohio 
Zion, Kokomo, Ind. 
Louisville, Ky. 
Huntington, Ind. 
Marshall, III. 
Elkhart, Ind. 
Huntingburg, Ind. 


Q 

E 

C 
« 

£ 


California 
Indianapolis 
California 
Bremen 
Kokomo 
South Bend 
Marshall. HI. 
Decatur, Ind. 
Oak Park. III. 
Dayton, Ohio 
Evansville, Ind. 
Florida 
Indianapolis 
Rochester 
Terre Haute 
Beebe, Ark. 
Newcastle, Ind. 
Huntingburg 
Enterprise, III. 
Huntington, Ind. 
Terre Haute 
South Bend, Ind. 
Rockport. Ind. 


915 

916 

916 

916 

916 

916 

917 

917 

917 

917 

91S 

917 

918 

918 

920 

919 

919 

919 

920 

92 

922 

922, 

922 


. ■ . ■ . . . _ ; : . . . 


Dec. 21 
July 17 
Aug. 27 
July 9 
Oct. 9 
Dec. 30 
Nov. 10 
Feb. 27 
Sept. 17 
Sept. 26 
Feb. 10 
Apr. 10 
Dec. 31 
June 23 
Jan. 19 
June 29 
June 21 
Aug. 19 
June 16 

Apr. 22 
Nov. 1 

Apr. 22 


E 








1916 Bretsch, Ph. ... 

1917 Breish, J. H. ... 
Luehring, S. J. . 
Zinnner, Geo. . . 
Troyer, A. J. . . 
Wales, J 

191S Buyer, J. L. ... 
Cramer, S. C. . . 

Hoehn, M 

Hoffman, J 

Luehring, \V. L. 
Wise, J. J 

1919 Carter. J. W, .. 
Wildermuth, W. 

1920 Platz, N. F. ... 
Steininger, H. . 
Stoops, J. E. . . 
Troyer. E. R. . 

1921 Winter, F. G. . . 

1922 Suit, D, D 

1923 Kaufman, J, ... 
Krueger, M. J, . 
Reutepohler, F. 



C/5 




U 


fO 


2 


<u 


W 


03 


Pi 


Fn 


w 


„ 


fe 


'—' 


z 




o 


^ 


1 ) 






H 


u. 


o 


o 


■^ 


H 


-o 


W 




J 


c 


M 




< 


o 


H 


U 



13 -o TD XI -a "O 

. „ , „ 1- U 1- u u t- 

.Si-e-E •£•£■£■€ 



i;<;jjjjjj 






« m cq cq m ra m w 



CCCCCCCoi 



;; to o " o i! Jf 5f 
S S.S E £ £ aa 



^ crj crj C c/j C y} c/: 



."205 






o. a a a a aJ2 ^ 

'tLo^or-^cooNO'— ' 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES . , 

CREDENTIALS VOTED TO MINISTERS TO OTHER CON- 
FERENCES OR CHURCHES 

1916 F. S. Erne to Texas Conference, also L. Newman; 1917 A. D. Kroft 
moved into the bounds of the Dakota Conference; 1917 H. L. Meyer to the Con- 
gregational Church, C. W. Wright to no particular conference; R. Wise to tho 
M. E. Church; Roy Garl and H. Schleucher; 1919 none; 1920 J. W. Feller to 
Colorado Conference; C. M. Pierce to the M. E. Church; E. Q, Laudeman; 
1921 none; 1922 none. 

IRREGULARLY WITHDRAWN FROM THE CONFERENCE 

1917, S. H. Pontius; 1918, I. C. Dawes; 1922, A. F. Wiesjahn. C. Kohlmejer, 
Wm. Reihley; 1921, J. Miller. 

DELEGATES TO GENERAL CONFERENCE 
(Continued from Vol. I, Page 382.) 

1919: E. W. Praetorius, J. W. Metzner, J. O. Mosier, S. H. Baumgartner, J. H. 
Evans, J. H. Rilling, Prof. G. B. Kimmel, A. A. Knepper. Alternates: 
C. A. Hirschman (who went in S. H. B.'s stead who was ill), E. C. Boyer, 
A. B. Haist, M. L. Scheidler. 

Lay-delegates: G. W. Frederick, F. H. Hersh, E. M. Ray, E. F. Kimmel. 
Alternates: F. H. Hirschman (who went in G. W. F.'s stead who was ill), 
G. J. Long. 

These delegates and alternates also were the legal members of the Special 
General Conference called to meet in Detroit, Michigan, conjointly with the 
members of the General Conference of the United Evangelical Church when the 
two churches merged into one body, the Evangelical Church. Provisional Lay- 
delegates to this General Conference elected in April, 1922, were F. H. Hirsch- 
man, C. L. Hartman, H. Weiss, Fr. Schweitzer. Alternate: W. H. H. Ecki. 

CONFERENCE TRUSTEE BOARD 
(Continued from Vol. I, Page 38L) 

1918: J. H. Evans, Pres.; E. M. Ray, Vice-Pres.; J. W. Metzner, Sec'y; J. O. 
Mosier, Treas.; G. W. Fredrick. 

1921: J. H. Evans, Pres.; E. M. Ray, Vice-Pres.; T. W. Metzner, Sec'y; J. O. 
Mosier, Treas.; F. H. Hersh. 

287 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

OFFICERS OF THE INDIANA CONFERENCE MISSIONARY 

SOCIETY 

(Continued from Vol. I, Page 383.) 

PRESIDENTS 
1916-19, E. W. Praetorius; 1920, J. O. Hosier; 1921-23, E. G. Johnson. 

VICE-PRESIDENTS 
1916-19, J. O. Mosier; 1920, E. G. Johnson; 1921-23, J O. Mosier. 

SECRETARIES 
1916-21, A. A. Knepper; 1922-23, M. O. Herman. 

TREASURER 
1916-23, J. H. Rilling. 

DELEGATES TO BOARD OF MISSIONS 
1916-17, E. W. Praetorius; 1918, J. H. Rilling; 1919, E. W. Praetorius; 
1920-23, J. H. Rilling. 

ALTERNATE DELEGATES 
1916, J. J. Wise; 1917, J. H. Rilling; 1918, A. A. Knepper; 1919, J. W. Metz- 
ner; 1920-23, E. G. Johnson. 

TRUSTEES TO N. A\'. C. AND ( U. I',, i.) E. T. S. AND YEARS 

OF SERVICE 

At the Conference session of 1862 the Conference decided to join Illinois, 
Iowa and Wisconsin Conferences in a compact for establishing and maintaining 
riainfitld College, at Plainfiekl, III. Trustees were elected by Conference for 
one, two and three years. The following men served as trustees for Plainfield, 
later North Western College and (U. B. I.) E. T. Seminary, namely: 

M. W. StetTey from 1862-1877—15 years 

Joseph Fisher from 1862-6-1 — 3 years. 

Carl Helwig, Indianapolis, layman, from 1862-3 and 1871 — 3 years. 

Geo. G. Platz, 1863-64—2 years. 

J. G. Frank, layman, 1864 — 1 year. 

T. Eechtel, Layman, 1865, elected for 3 years. 

E. L. Kiplingcr from 1865-67; 1871-73; 1879-84—9 years. 

D. S. Oakes, from 1866-70, resigned Oct. 1871 going to Oregon as mission- 
ary. .After his return he served continuously from 1885-1902 — 2i j'ears. 

S. H. Banmgartncr from 1903-05 — 3 years. 

J. H. Brcish frnm 1906 to July, 1916, when he died — 10 years. 

E. W. Praetorius from 1917-24, present incumbent — 7 years. 

And. Kramer, layman, Indianapolis, appointed by the Board of Trustees-- 
12 years. 

Ernest b-berhardt, layman, Indianapolis, appointed 1>\' the Board of Trus- 
tees, 1913-23—10 years. 

288 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 



LAY-DELEGATES TO THE INDIANA CONFERENCE FROM ITS BE- 
GINNING, 1909, TO THE TIME WHEN THE EVANGELICAL 
ASSOCIATION AND UNITED EVANGELICAL 
CHURCH MERGED IN 1922 



Alpers, Gid., 1920-22. 

Alpers, J. H., 1919-22. 

Alpers, H., 1919 (a). 

Barnheisel, N., 1909-11. 

Berg, E. H., 1918-22. 

Breitling, Chas., 1909-11. 

Carroll, C. W., 1919 (a). 

Cook, Adam, 1916-22. 

Earhart, L. E., 1920. 

Easterday, W. S., 1912-15, '19-20 (a), 

'21-22. 
Eberhardt. E. G., 1909-11. 
Ecki, W. H. H., 1912-15, '18-19. 
Ermish. J. F., 1919 (a). 
Fredrick, G. W., 1909-16, '18-19. 
Fritsche, C. C, 1916-19. 
Fry, L. H., 1916-17, '20, '22. 
Carl, D., 1920-22. 
Gordon, L. E., 1909-10. 
Haley, J., 1918-20. 
Hansing, W. H., 1921-22. 
Harding, W. O., 1921-22. 
Hertel, Al, 1918. 
Herman, W., 1921-23. 
Hersh, F. H., 1910-11 (a), '12-13, '17-22. 
Hirschman, F. H., 1918-22. 
Jamison, Dr. H. L., 1918-22. 
Johnson, W. A., 1915 (a). 
Judy, J. D., 1918-19. 
Katterhenry, F., 1913, '15. 
Katterhenry, L., 1909 (a). 
Kimmel, E. F., 1909-10, '16-19. 
Klein, Wm., 1920-22. 
Kumler, J. F., 1919. 
Lehman. N. C, 1909-11. 



Lutz, Wm., 1916-19. 

McDonald, J. A., 1922 (a). 

Mertz, Wm., 1909, '12-15, '18-22. 

Metzner, Wm., 1911 (a). 

Metzger, W. G., 1916-18, '20-22. 

Meyer, B. H., 1920-22. 

Miller, L., 1909-11. 

Miller, W. L., 1912, '14-15, '18-19, '22. 

Newman, A., 1912-13, '21. 

Null, J. W., 1920-22. 

Ray, E. M., 1909-22. 

Rhodes, Chas., 1909-10. 

Rickert, D., 1918-19. 

Rush, D., 1909. 

Salat, A., 1920-22. 

Schneider, F., 1918. 

Schrock, J N., 1920-22. 

Schwarzlose, Gid., 1909, 'U. 

Shilling, M., 1920-22. 

Snoke, A. T., 1918. 

Soltau, P. W., 1918-19. 

Speicher, D. E., 1909-10. 

Speicher, D. L., 1912-15, '18-19, 

Stedcke, Fr., 1912, '14. 

Thornton, O. N., 1918. 

Unbehauen, O., 1910 (a). 

Winey, A. B., 1918-19 

Weiss, Clayton, 1921, 

Wise, S., 1910-11, '16-19. 

Wise, H.. 1916-19. 

Wise, Geo., 1918. 

Wienand, Chas., 1910, '14. 

Wolf, F. C, 1920. 

Yoos, J., 1920-22. 

Zcrkel, E. A., 1909-11. 



Long, G. J., 1912-18, '20. 

This list was taken from the standing committees as found in the Conference 
Journals. "a", after date, stands for alternate. 

289 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

MEN WHO MADE LONG RECORDS IN OFFICE IN LENGTH 

OF YEARS 

> Bishop J. J. Esher as president of Conference — 16 times. 
M. W. Steffey as delegate to General Conference — 9 times. 
Aug. Geist as vice-president — 11 years. 
J. H. Evans as secretary of conference — 23 3'ears. 
A. B. Haist, as assistant secretary — 17 years. 
L. J. Ehrhardt, as German assistant secretary — 20 years. 
A. S. Fisher as treasurer — 12 years. As statistician — 8 years. 

C. H. Hirschmau as editor and pulilisher of conference journal — 7 years. 

D. S. Oakes and S. H. Baumgartner as conference historian, each 13 years. 
D. S. Oakes and S. H. Baumgartner as P. Elders each 22 years, the first 

consecutively. 

M. Krueger in the ministerial ranks — 66 years. 

D. S. Oakes stood longest in the active service — 42 years. 

J. Wales stood longest in active service in Ind. and Mich, conference — 47 
years. 

J. Wales built most churches — 25, including extensive remodelings. 

D. Martz as Conference Missionary Society president — 11 times, and dele- 
gate 11 times. 

A. A. Knepper, Conference Missionary Secretary — 11 years. 

G. G. Platz, circuit rider — traveled 75,000 miles. 



290 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

THE MINISTERS THAT SERVED IN THE INDIANA CONFERENCE, 

AND THE FIELDS TO WHICH THEY WERE APPOINTED, 

INCLUDING NEW MEN SINCE 1915-1923 INCLUSIVE 

(Continued from Page 56, Vol. I.) 

(Figures mean years.) 

Agerter. A. B. — Wolcottville-4, Evansville-4. 

Arndt, J. H.— Portland M.-2, Brazil-3, Royal Centre-2, Elkhart, Oakland-1. 

Baumgartner. E. H. — Portland C.-2, Berne C.-4. 

Baumgartner, S. H. — Indianapolis District-4, Elkhart Dist.-2, Ft. Wayne Dist-1, 

Solicitor for H. H. M. Old People's HTome-l. 
Bender, A. W.— Bunker Hill-2. 

Boyer, C. E. — F't. Wayne, Crescent-2, Ft. Wayne, First-2J4. 
Berger, F. C— Elkhart, First-3!-<, Ft. Wayne Dist.-l. 
Berger, H. S. — Edgerton-3, Celina-2. 

Browns, P. L. — Wabash-1, Celina-2, Huntington-4, South Bend, Grace-1. 
Burgener, C. H. — Syracuse-2. Markle-2, Ft. Wayne, First (supply)-^, Wolcott- 

vilIe-1, Portland-1. 
Buyer, J. L.,Sen. — Marshall-l;.2 and died. 
Breish, J. H. — Indianapolis, First-4 months and died. 
Carter, J. W. — Logansport-2. 
Cook, H, F. — South Bend, Ewing Ave.-l. 
Coverstone, C. — Phillipsburg-1, Ridgeville-4. 
Dauner, W. J. — Akron-1, Syracuse-1. 
Davis, C. L.— Lake Bruce-1, Hibbard-2, Wolcottville-1. 
Doescher, A. H. — Nappanee-3, Dayton, Wayne Ave. -4. 
Dewitt, L. E. — Lake Bruce-2, Rochester C.-2, Bippus-1, Defiance-2. 
Earhart, B. C. — Phillipsburg-I, GrayviIle-1, Columbia City, C.-2. 
Eberhardt, H. E. — Olney-2, Ft. Wayne, Crescent-1, Rochester-2, Indianapolis, 

Wheeler M. assistant-2. 
Ehrhardt, L. J.— Indianapolis, 2d Church-2, Cicero-3, Pershing-2, BraziI-1. 
Frne, F. S. — Berne-2. 

Fvans, J. H. — Kendallville-4, Mishawaka-4. 
Fcl'er, A. W.— Wabash C.-2, Lake Bruce-2, Royal Centre-1. 
Feller, J. W.— Elberfeld-2, Marshall-2, San Pierre-2, Ft. Recovery-1. 
Finkbeiner, Prof. T.— Teacher, N. W. C.-8. 
Flurkey, W. H.— Defiance and Hicksvine-2, Lydick-1, Erazil-2. 
Freshley, W. H.— South Bend, First-4, Auten-1. 
Gambee, E. L. — Enterprise-3, Brownstown-4. 
Geiger, Leroy — Pershing-1. 
Crcist, Aug. — Waterloo-1, Cicero-1. 
Gcist, C. E.— Terrc Hante-1, Peru-4, Urbana-3. 

291 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Creiner, E. E. — Lakevillc-4. 

Griesemere, I. H. — Bremen-1, Royal Centre-2, Bunker Hill (now Kokomo)-5. 

Ilaist, A. B. — Huntingburg-1, South Bend, Mizpah-1, Kokomo-2, Nappanee-3, 
Louisville, Trinity-1. 

Habegger, E, O. — Berne C.-I, San Pierre-4, Enterprise-3. 

Haley, E. D. — Phillipsburg-2, Celina C.-l, Linn Grove-1. 

Haley, R. L. — Edgerton-2. 

Handschu, R. L. — Lake Bruce-2, Hibbard-2, New Paris-4. 

Haney, C. L. — Lydick-1, Bippus-3, Decatur-3, Hibbard-1. 

Haney, Ph. — Altamont and Campcreek-2, Grayville-^. 

Harms, C. — Lancaster-2, Elberfeld-6. 

Hasewinkel, H. — Lancaster-4. 

Hartman, C. H. — Elkhart, Bethel-1, Mt. Carmel-4, Peru-2, Nappanee-1. 

Hartman, F. — Celina M.-l. 

Heil, D. R. — Defiance C.-S, Bippus-3. 

Held, J. H.— Scott-2, Van Wert-1, Elkhart-5. 

Herman, M. O. — Avilla-3, Celina-3, South Bend, Grace-1, Rochester-l. 

Hirschman, C. A. — Dayton, Wayne Ave. -4, Assistant Editor of Ev. Messenger-3. 

Hoover, B. R. — Columbia City-2, Phillipsburg-1, San Pierre-1. 

Johnson, E. G. — Brazil-2, South Bend, Broadway-6. 

Kaley, D. A. — South Bend, Mizpah-1, Huntingburg-3, Wabash-1, Indianapolis, 
Beville-3. 

Kerlin, E. M. — West Salem-1, Wabash-3, South Bend, First-4. 

Kimmel, G. B. — Teacher in E, T. S. and now President. 

Kimmel, W. R. — Evansville, Linnwood-3, Huntingburg-3, KendalIville-1. 

Kistler, J. M. — North Webster-1, Waterloo-S, Rochester, C.-2, with Lake Bruce 
2d year. 

Knepper, A. A. — Urbana-1, Bremen-7. 

Kocnig, B. E. — Louisville, Zion-2, Ridgeville-2, Dayton, First-4. 

Koertge, C. — Grayville-1, Rockport-1. 

Kroft, J. S. — ^Culver-1, Rochester, C-2, Ft. Recovery-3, First year to Port- 
land C. 

Laudeman, E. Q. — Ft. Wayne, First-2, Rochester-l. 

Launer, F. W. — West Salem, C.-l, Lancaster-1, Culver-^, Linn Grove-3. 

Long, G. J.— With Petticord Party-1, Peru-1. 

Loose, R. W. — Huntington-3, Ft. Wayne, Crescent-4, Decatur-1. 

Lozier, G. S. — Grayville-2, Louisville, Zion-6. 

Lozier, O. O. — South Bend, Grace-S, Conf. Evangelist-1, Ft. Wayne, Crescent-1. 

Maas, C. P. — Indianapolis, First-6K', Huntingburg-1. 

Maurer, L. M. — Wabash C.-l. 

McClure, F. F. — Syracuse-1, Royal Centre-2, Nappanee C.-2, Markle-1. 

McCoy, J. E. — Berne C.-l, Lanca5tcr-2, Marshall, C.-4. 

292 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

McRae, J. H.— West Salem-4. 

Metzner, J. W.— Ft. Wayne Dist.-l, Elkhart Dist.-3, Indianapolis Dist.-2, Elk- 
hart Dist.-2. 

Miller, E. E. — Nappance-1, Nappanee, C.-l and again-!. 

Mills, W. S.— Kokomo-1, Decatur-3. 

Mosier, J. O. — Berne-1, Ft. Wayne Dist.-5, Indianapolis-2. 

Mygrant, W. H. — Phillipsburg-1, Lydick-I, Culver-3, Ebenezer-1. 

Nitsche. E. J. — Mishawaka, C. and Auten-3. 

Overholser, A. O. — Urbana-3, Mt. Carmel-3. 

Platz, N. F.— Lakeville-4, Terre Haute-2J4, and died. 

Pullman, G. C. — Rochester-2, World War service-1, Louisville, Trinity-4, Elk- 
hart, First-1. 

Praetorius, E. W.— Elkhart, First-4K', Gen. Sec'y of S. S. and Y. P. A.-3, 
E. L. C. E.-l. 

Roberts, E. E. — Elkhart, Oakland Ave. -7, Indianapolis-1. 

Rees, J. — Celina C.-4. 

Rilling, J. H.— Decatur-1, Van Wert-7. 

Roederer, I. G. — Evansville, Linnwood-2, West Salem-2, Kokomo-3, Terre 
Haute-1. 

Ruetepohler, F. — Rockport-3. 

Scales, P. F. — Common Centre as supply-2. 

Scheidler, M. L. — Evansville, Salem-2, Indianapolis, 2d. -6. 

Schlemmer, C. W. — Markle-2, .A.kron-2. 

Schmalzried, E. W. — Missionary to China-5. 

Schuermeier, B. — \'an Wert-1, Kokomo-1, Evansville, Salem-2, Evansville, Linn- 
wood-4. 

Shaneyfelt, G. W. — Defiance, C.-l. 

Smith, B. G. — Kokomo-3, Linn Crove-2, /\.villa-5. 

Smith, L. E. — Louisville, Trinity-3, Syracuse-4, Huntington-1. 

Smith Elmer, — Portland, C.-J^, Kokomo-1. 

Snyder, F. L. — Culver-1, Rochester-3, Nappanee C.-'/z. 

Snyder, E. F. — Coal Bush-Lydick-2^. 

Snvder, W. E. — Carmi-5, Wabash-3. 

Spangler, D. D.— Misha\vaka-4, Kendallville-3, Snpt. of H. H. M. O. P. Home-1. 

Spangler, C. W.— Akron-4, Wabash, C.-3, Akron-1. 

Speicher, D. D. — South Bend, Grace-1, Greenville-5. 

Stedcke, F. J. — Peru-1, Bryant-2. 

Steele, I.— Edgerton-3, Van Wert C.-5. 

Stemen, A. J. — Markle-3, Greenville, Wares Chapel-1. 

Stemen, F. D. — Linn Grove-!, Carmi-3 

Sunderman, M. W. — Indianapolis, Bevillc-5, Ft. Wayne, First-3. 

Thomas, J. W.— Wabash, C.-2, Olney-6. 

293 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Thomas, B. E. — Assistant, South Bend, Broadway-1, S. Bend City, ' RcHgious 

Instruction-1. 
Wacknitz, F. C. — Bippus-1, N. Webstcr-1, Logansport-6. 
Wahiier, F. B.— Royal Centre-1, Elkhart, Bethel-2, Portland-4, Culver-1. 
Wcishaar, G. A. — New Paris-4, Ebcnezer-1, Culver-2. 
^Veyant, W. I. — Cambridge City and E. Gcrmantown-1, Nappanee-3, Celina-2, 

Waterloo-2. 
Weyrick, A. E. — Ebenezer-I. 
Wise, D. O. — Mt. Carmel-1, Bcrne-S, Celina-2. 
Wise, J. J. — Elkhart District-1, and died. 
Wright, C. W. — Cicero-1, Urbana-1. 

Zechiel, D. E. — Dayton, First-4, Terre Hante-3, Portcr-J^. 
Zimmerman, W. — Phillipsburg-1. 
Zuber, G. F.— Ridgevillc--2, Portland C.-2, WolcottviIle-2. 



2'JI 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 
MISSIONS AND THEIR APPROPRIATIONS 

Akron $1,950.00 from 1901-1914. 

Altamont $2,410.00, '91, '02-12, 

Avilla $380.00, '11-14, previously shared with Kendallville. 

Atlanta $100.00, '10-11, shared with Noblesville. 

Berne $1,400.00, '93-07, 

Brazil $8,200.00, '93-02, '13-22, shared 10 years with Terre Haute 

and Marshall. 

Bremen $254.25, including Yellow River Mission from '01-09. 

Bruce Lake $1,515.00, '91-96, '00-09, '14, '22. 

Camp Creek .$2,380.00, '93-12. Belonged to So. Ind. Conf. prior to '93. 

Celina Circuit ,$797.00, '70-74. 

Celina Station $4,500.00, '11-22. 

Chattanooga $200.00, '10-11. 

Cincinnati $2,829.25, '68-75, after this from So. Ind. Conf. to aban- 
donment. 

Clay Count}' $366.75, '68, no record previous. 

Coal Bush $900.00, '21-22, previously shared with Mishawaka. 

Common Centre $75.00, '12, shared with Royal Centre up to '19. 

Cumberland $440.50, '68, '94-95, afterward shared with Julietta and 

Indianapolis, N. Side, 

Culver $525.00, '17-19, '21-22, and shared with circuits it be- 
longed to. 

Danville .$700.00, '72-75, shared with Spring Grove, 

Dayton. Wayne Ave. ...$2,780.00, '91-97, '02-04. 

Decatur $4,415.00, '91-22. 

Defiance $4,565.00, '91-14, includes all Missions that were in this 

place. 

East Germantown .$3,975.00, now Pershing, '93-12, '15-16, '18-22. 

Edgerton 5500.00, '07-11. 

Elkhart, Ger _$1,660.00, '93-02. Previous, $2,061.25, '68-73, '79-86, '87- 

90 figures missing. 

Elkhart, W. Tower $1,790.00, '74-86, '87-90 figures not at hand, '91 station. 

Elkhart, Bethel $270.00, '01-03, '06-08. 

Elkhart, Oakland 4^6.840.00, '93-00, '06-22, previously called South Side and 

Wolf Ave. 

Enterprise .....$1,915.00, '95-07, '01-12; shared some with Grayville. 

Evansvillc, Salem $3,720.00, '94-14. From '68-72, '75, $582.00. '76-92 to So. 

Ind. Conf. 

Evansville, Linnwood ..$6,210.00, '14-22, includes interest, see records. 

Ft. Wayne $8,630.00, '68-01. 

Ft. Wayne, Crescent $6,950.00, '10-22. '2i a station. 

29S 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Gilead Circuit $350.00, 72, renamed Akron. 

Grayville $4,020.00, '94-95, '98-14, '16-19, '21. From '76-92 to So. 

Ind. Conf, 

Greenville $6,710.00, '94-01, '03-22. 

Hicksville $3,795.00, '91-11. After this shared with other missions. 

Huntington $3,045.00, '92-07; from '80-90 at least $1,600.00. 

Indianapolis, 1st Mission from '55-65, no record of appropriation found. 

Indianapolis, N $3,142.00. '71-75. 

Indianapolis, 2d .$7,075.00, '93-94, '96-22. 

Indianapolis, Beville $3,875.00, '01-22. 

Jonesboro $200.00, '75, after this to So. Ind. Conf. to abandonment. 

Julietta _$2,025.00, 74-86, '91-92. '87-90 figures not obtained. 

Kendallville .$1,700.00, '91-06. 

Kokomo $8,600.00, '03-22. 

Lake Creek $200.00, '75, Williams Co., 111. 

Lakeville $1,975.00, '14-21. 

Laporte $3,141.00, '76-84. 

Lancaster, Cir $3,160.00, '95-15; previous to So. Ind. Conf. 

Logansport .$8,700.00, '91-22, before '91 $4,000.00. 

Louisville, Zion ....$611.72, '68-70. 

Louisville, Trinity $8,100.00, '93-16; previous to So. Ind. Conf. 

Lydick .$1,740.00, '17-20, including So. Bend Mission one year. 

Markle $3,160.00, '92-95, '01-08, '14, '19-22. 

Medaryville $1,413.00, '68-70, '83, '86. 

Mishawaka $1,390.00, '83-85, '96-97, '00, '08. '14, '16. 

Mt. Carmel $1,250.00, '94, '02, '05-10. Received help from So. Ind 

Conf. 
Mound City and Cairo ,$668.00, '74; Murphysboro, $350.00, '75, in Southern 111. 

Nappanee .$3,725.00, '91-18. 

New Harmony $600.00, '98, '01, shared with Grayville. 

North Liberty .$815.00, '80, '01-02, '06-07. " 

Noblesville $1,555.00, '08. '01-02, '05-11. 

Olney 4^565.00, '75, '95-97, '04-06, '15, '76-92 to So. Ind. Conf. 

Owensboro $500.00, '93, '00-03. Before '93 to So. Ind. Conf. 

Payne and Paulding $575.00, '91-93, '96-98. 

Peru .JIO.OOO.OO, '99-22. 

Phillipsburg $1,905.00, '93-07. 

Portland $7,825.00, '91-22, previous at least $800.00, shared with 

country appointments. 

Ridgeville $1,250.00, '05-13, including Emmettsvillc. 

Richmond ,$3,100.00, '68-70, '74, '75, '77-78, '84-86, '91-94. 

Rochester $1,250.00, '09-13, country mission. 

296 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

Rochester City $925.00, '81-88, '93-94, '89-90 figures not obtained. 

Rockport $3,440.00, '95-99, '02-19, $996.00, '68-70, IZ, '75, '76-92 to 

So. Ind. Conf. 

Royal Centre $2,800.00, '91-92, '96-19. 

San Pierre $500.00, '10-11, '13, see also Medaryville. 

Shelby, 111 .<^2,020.50, '68-70, then to So. Ind. Conf. 

Spring Grove $1,470.00, '69-70, (near Lafayette). 

South Bend, E. Side .....$200.00, 11. 

South Bend, Ewing $1,000.00, '23. 

South Bend, Grace $7,500.00, '03-22 except '05 and '16. 

South Bend, Mizpah $3,825.00, '93-09. 

Spil^erville .$175.00, '08-10. 

Star City and Thornhope$350.00, '11-12. 

St. Louis, Mo ,$1,600.00, '68-69. 

St. Marys $75.00, '02. In early years this circuit was a mission. 

St. Peters $100.00, '10, shared with Van Wert for some years. 

Syracuse $2,925.00, '03-18. 

Terre Haute $9,035.00, '93-22. '76-92 a mission in So. Ind. Conf. 

Tippecanoe $250.00, '01, '04-05, was identical with Bruce Lake. 

Urbana ,$750.00, '91-00. 

Vandalia, 111 $1,588.00, '68-75. 

Van Wert .$5,600.00, '91-92, '00, '04-22. 

Wabash Circuit ,$100.00, '99. 

Wabash City "^2,525.00, '92-07; prior from '73-84 $1,920.00. '87-90 no 

record. 

Wanatah ..$1,075.00, '85-86, '98-99, '10-11. 

Warsaw «200.00, '76. 

Waterloo $2,485.00, '97-03, '07-11, '18-22. 

Waupecong .$495.00, '68-70. 

Webster (North) ,$3,280.00, '79-86, '92-99, '01-10, '87-90 figures not obtained. 

West Point (Bippus) ....$2,510.00, '86-88, '97-98, '01-12, '89-90 figures not obtained. 

Winchester $2,675.00, '79-85, '91-97. 

There was no record made in the Indiana Conference minutes prior to 1868 
of the appropriations to the various Missions. — Historian. 

SOME STATISTICS FROM 1852-1922. 

1852— fields, 10; districts, 2. 1922— fields, 83; districts, 3; appointments, 133, 
likely less than in 1852. 

1852 — circuits, 6; missions, 2. 1922 — circuits, 35; stations, 25; missions, 21; 
supply fields, 2. 

Number of churches in county seats— Indiana, 15; Ohio, 5; Illinois, 4; Ken- 
tucky, 1. 

297 



IND[ANA CONFERENCE 

Number of conversions since 1852 — 56,001; average per year, 800. 

Number of accessions since 1852 — 64,419; average per year, 920. 

Number of members who died since 1852 — 7,648. 

Itinerants in 1852 were 9 and in 1922 were 78. Local preachers in 1852, none; 

in 1922, 3i. 
Active probationers in 1852 were 4 and in 1922 there were 6 and local, 26. 
Membership in 1852 was 1,286, in 1922 it was 15,535. 
Organized congregations in 1852, 66; in 1922, 131. 
Number of Sunday Schools in 1852, 23; in 1922, 133. 
Number of officers and teachers in 1852, 143; in 1922, 2,295. 
Number of scholars in 1852, 490; in 1922, 17,293. 
Number of scholars that joined church since 1852, 14,760. 
Single man's salary in 1853 was $87.24; and the average salary in 1922 was 

$1,351.24. 
Number of churches in 1852, 16, and in 1922, 134 with an estimated value of 

$1,114,000.00. 
Number of parsonages in 1852, one or two; in 1922, 71. Estimated value 

$187,350.00. 
Other property and value, $24,150.00. 
Total value of all properties in 1922, $1,325,500.00, 
Indebtedness on all properties in 1922, $95,748.06; subscriptions against this, 

$64,504.52. 
For new church buildings from 1889 to 1922, $858,004.08; no record before 1889. 
For repairs of churches and parsonages, from 1891 to 1922, $333,766.87; no 

record before '91. 
For Conf. Missionary work from 1860 to 1922 inclusive, $535,083.32. 
For Parent Missionary work from 1889 to 1922 inclusive, $231,761.36; no record 

before '89. 
For current expenses from 1891 to 1922, $554,383.67; no record kept before '91. 
For salary from 1872-1922, fifty years, over $1,700,000.00. 
For S. School work from 1881 to 1922, $431,469.74. 
For Sunday School and Tract Union, $8,520.45; from 1859 to 1922. 
I'or Conference Claimants from conference, from 1865 to 1922, $29,202.29. 
For Orphan Home, Flat Rock, Ohio, from 1884 to 1922, $22,741.53. 
For Education, froin 1881 to 1922, $42,419.19. 
Grand total for all purposes from 1890 to 1922 mclusive, $5,353,070.12. 

FOR SPECIAL PURPOSES FOR THE CHURCH 

For North Western College Endowment Fund, the Conference assumed in 
1904 the sum of $27,527.76 which was fully met in the course of some years plus 
four percent interest annually on the j'early unpaid principal. 

For Church Extension Fund from 1902 to 1918 inclusive, $8,711.58. 

298 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

For the General Church Extension Fund, Aug. 19, 1909, $1,247.91. 

Personal gifts to this Fund: Charles Hartman, $1,000.00; Katharine Hettler, 
$2,500.00; Ind. Conf. Branch Y. P. A., $765.00; John Koch and wife, $1,000.00; 
Andrew Kramer, $1,000.00; Andrew Kramer Fund, $2,000.00; J. A. Oneth, 
$100.00; D. L. Speicher, $100.00; Mr. and Mrs. Schoenherr, $2,000.00; Mr. and 
Mrs. D. E. Speicher, $100.00; the S. S. Speicher heirs, $255.35; A. D. Kroft, 
$1.00.00. Grand total, $20,879.84, plus the accumulation through the General 
Budget since 1919. 

For the Superannuation Fund from 1912 to 1922 inclusive, $40,340.59. 

On the Forward Movement Pledges up to May 1923, $139,454.79. Total 
amount apportioned to the various fields in the Conference in April 1919 was 
$239,450.00; oversubscribed approximately $20,000.00. 

The Conference assumed $50,000.00 toward the building of the Haven Hub- 
bard Memorial Old People's Home, April, 1921. Apportionments made to the 
various fields, $52,770.00. Paid on this obhgation, up to May, 1923, $9,414.54. 
Assumed by fields and secured by personal pledges up to May, 1923, $16,S65.17; 
total up to May, 1924, including South Bend City gifts and two annuities, 
$47,999.17. Total sum paid up to 1924, including gifts from South Bend City, 
$29,617.15. 

May, 1923, in Permanent Mission Building Fund, $3,100.00. 

May, 1923, in the Student Aid Fund, $553.98. 

The total Oakwood Park receipts, reported May, 1923, for one year, 
$8,272.15. 

South Indiana Conference contributed in 16 years for Conference Mission 
work $29,898.49. 



299 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

MISSIONARY MONEY— WHENCE OBTAINED SINCE 1890 AND 
WHERE APPLIED SINCE 1868 

Fields Support Given Appro. In what years. 

Years Am't Rec'd Blank means no App. Red. 

Akron 22 $ 1,917 $1,950 1901-14. 

Altamont 17 843 2,410 1891, '02-12. 

Avilla ..._ 13 1,151 380 1911-14, before with Kendall- 

ville. 

Berne 32 4,678 1,400 1893-07. 

Bippus (West Point) 26 1,997 2,510 1885-88, '97-98, '01-11. 

Brazil 23 900 8,200 1893-02, '13-22. 10 years with 

T. H. and Marshall. 

Bremen Circuit 12 2,414 

Bremen Station since 1902 21 7,211 

Bremen Mission 9 1,322 254 1901-09, first called Yellow 

River M. 

Bryant (Berne) 8 558 

Bunker Hill (Kokomo Circuit) 33 4,733 495 when called Waupecong, '68-70 
Camp Creek (Brownstown) .... 23 1,756 2,380 1893-12; to So. Ind Conf, '76- 

92. 

Carmi 31 3,739 

Celina Circuit 33 4,515 797 1870-74. 

Celina City 12 1,025 4,500 1911-22. 

Chattanooga Circuit 5 257 200 1910-11. 

Cincinnati 2,829 1868-75, then added to S. Ind. 

Conf. until abandoned. 

Clay County Mission 367 1868. 

Coal Bush 4 417 900 1921-22, before with Misha- 

waka. 
Common Centre 8 117 75 1912 with Royal Centre up to 

1919. 

Cumberland (Julietta) 440 1868, '94-95. 

Culver 10 784 525 1917-19, '21-22. 

Dayton Commercial Street .... 33 9,281 

Dayton, Wayne Ave. 32 7,393 2,780 1891-97, '02-04. 

Decatur 32 2,726 4,415 1891-22. 

Defiance City and country 33 2,294 4,565 1891-14. 

E. Germantown now Pershing 33 1,770 3,975 1893-12, '15-16, '18-22. 

Elbcrfeld 30 2,33S 

Edgerton 30 1,644 500 1907-11. 

Elkhart, German 14 1,226 3,721 1868-73, '79-86, '93-02. 

Elkhart, Watch Tower 14 1,832 1,790 1874-86, '87-90, no figures. 

300 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

Fields Support Given Appro. In what years. 

Years Am't Rcc'd Blank iiTeans no App, Red. 

Elkhart, Bethel 17 3,153 270 1901-03, '06-08. 

Elkhart, Oakland (S. Side) .... 26 1,365 6,840 1893-00, '06-22. 

Elkhart, First 19 11,777 

Enterprise 23 1,411 1,915 1895-07, '01-02. 

Evansville, Salem 31 2,746 4,302 1868-72, '75, '76-92 to S. Ind. 

Conf. '93-14. 

Evansville, Linnwood 8 295 6,210 1914-22. 

Ft. Recovery 19 1,660 440 1885-86, '00. '87-90 no figures 

obtained. 

Ft. Wayne, Bethel 33 9,401 8,630 1868-1901. 

Ft. Wayne, Crescent 11 1,797 6,950 1910-22, a station 1923. 

Grayville 29 1,837 4,020 1894-95, '98-14, '16-19, '21. '76- 

92 to S. Ind. Conf. 

Greenville 31 1,450 6,710 1894-01, '03-22. 

Hibbard (Culver) Circuit 10 881 

HicksviUe 23 911 6,710 1891-11. 

Huntingburg 31 7,605 

Huntington 30 3,034 3,045 1892-07. From '80-90 at least 

$1,600. 
Indianapolis, First 33 14,764 A mission from 1855-65, fig- 

ure not given. 

Indianapohs, N. Side 3,142 1871-75. 

Indianapolis, Second 25 2,573 7,045 1893-94, '96-22. 

Indianapohs, BeviUe 20 2,403 3,775 1901-20. 

Jonesboro, southern Illinois .. 200 1875. 

Juhetta 4 154 2,025 1874-86. '87-90 no record, '91- 

92. 

Kendallville Circuit 21 1,622 With Avilla included. 

Kendallville 12 1,845 1,700 1891-06, '11 made a station. 

Kokomo 19 1,689 9,400 1903-22. 

Lake Bruce (Bruce Lake) 24 1,415 1,515 1891-96, '00-09, '14, '22, 7 years 

with Tippecanoe. 
Lake Creek, Williams Co., 111. 200 1875. 

Lakeville Circuit 13 1,468 1,975 1914-21, 

Laporte 3,141 1876-84. 

Lancaster 28 1,129 3,160 1895-15, '76-92 to S. Ind. Conf. 

Logansport 33 1,222 8,800 1891-22, before this $4,000.00. 

Louisville, Zion 31 6,763 612 1868-70. 

Louisville, Trinity 27 2,234 8,100 1893-16, previous to S. Ind. 

Conf. 

301 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

Fields Support Given Appro. In what years. 

Years Am't Rec'd Blank means no App. Red. 

Lydick - 9 311 1,840 1918-22. 

Markle (Zion included) 30 1,644 3,160 1892-95, '01-08, '14, '19-22. 

Medaryville .. 8 652 1,390 1868-70, '83, '86. 

Mishawaka and country 27 4,196 1,390 1883-85, '96-97, '00-08, '14, '16. 

Mishawaka Station 6 1,708 

Mt. Carniel 30 2,645 1,250 1894, '02, '05-10. '76-92 to S. 

Ind. Conf. 

Mound City and Cairo 668 1874, thereafter by S. Ind. C. 

Murphysboro 350 1875, thereafter by S. Ind. C. 

Nappanee, Circuit 31 4,407 

Nappanee, City 12 1,483 3,725 included Island Class for 

some years. 

New Paris Circuit 31 3,551 

New Harmony, Ind. 600 1898, '01, shared with Grayville 

North Liberty 8 375 815 1880, '01-02, '06-07. 

Noblesville or Cicero ..-.. 32 1,068 1,555 1880, '01-02, '05-11. 

Olney 29 2,238 565 1875, '95-97, '04-06, '15. '76-92 

to S. Ind. Conf. 
Owensboro 500 1893, '00-03. '76-92 to S. Ind. 

Conf. 

Payne and Paulding 12 249 575 1891-93, '96-98. 

Peru 22 1,000 1,254 1899-22. 

Phillipsburg 30 2,002 1,905 1893-07. 

Portland, City 33 1,506 7,825 1891-22. 

Portland, Circuit 11 1,578 

Ridgeville and Emmettsville .. 18 1,994 1,250 1905-13. 

Richmond -- 3,100 1868-70, '74-75, '77-78, '84-86, 

'91-94. 

Rochester, Circuit IS 918 1,250 1909-13. 

Rochester, City 33 3,453 925 1881-88, '93-94. no figures for 

'87-90. 
Rockport 31 1,428 4,436 1868-70, '73, '75, '76-92 S. Ind. 

Conf., '95-99, '02-19. 

Royal Centre 30 1,441 2,800 1891-92, '96-19. 

San Pierre 24 3,492 500 1910-11, '13. 

Shelby, 111 2,020 1868-75, '76 to its abandon- 

ment to S. Ind. C. 

Spring Grove and Danville 2,170 1869-77. 

South Bend, East Side 200 1872 then abandoned. 

South Bend, Ewing 1,000 1923. 

302 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 



Fields Support Given Appro. 

Years Am't Rec'd 
South Bend, Brdwy. (Mizpah) 29 

South Bend, First 33 

South Bend, Grace 17 

St Louis, Mo 

St. Peters 6 



In what years. 

Blank n^eans no App. Red. 



Syracuse 



19 



Terre Haute 31 

Urbana 33 

Tippecanoe 7 



Vandalia, 111 

Van Wert, (Scott) 
Van Wert, City 



19 
33 



Wabash, Circuit (Spikerville) .. 16 

Wabash, City 33 

Waterloo 33 

Webster, N. now Columbia City 30 

West Salem (vicinity) 30 

Winchester and Emmettsville 7 

Wolcottville 33 

Zion near Markle 3 



4,568 


3,825 


1893-09. 


4,649 






1,280 


7,500 


1903-22, except 'OS and '16. 




1,600 


1868-69. 


258 


100 


1910, and shared with Van 
Wert some years. 


1,560 


2,925 


1903-18, included Ebenezer 
for some years. 


1,905 


9,035 


1893-22, '76-92 to S. Ind. Conf. 


7,020 


875 


1891-00, including W. Point 
few years. 


556 


250 


1901, '04-05, included Bruce 
Lake. 




1,588 


1868-75. 



2,148 

2,234 5,800 

1,468 175 
2,600 4,445 
1,836 2,485 
1,591 3,280 
3,555 

529 2,675 
3,161 
70 



1891-92, '00, '04-22, included 

St. Peters awhile. 

1908-10. 

1873-84, '92-07. 

1897-03, '07-11, '18-22. 

1879-86, '92-07. 

1879-85, '91-97. 



12 LARGEST CONTRIBUTIONS 

Indianapolis, First $14,764.10 

Elkhart, First 1 1,777.71 

Ft. Wayne, Bethel 9,401.90 

Dayton, First 9,281.41 

Huntingburg 7,605,72 

Dayton, Wayne Ave 7,393.75 

Bremen 7,216.24 

Urbana 7,020.41 

Louisville, Zion 6,763.36 

Linn Grove Circuit 6,098.80 

South Bend, First 4,649.11 

South Bend, Broadway 4,569.88 



m 


33 


years 


n 


19 


years 


n 


33 


years 


n 


33 


years 


n 


31 


years 


n 


33 


years 


n 


33 


years 


n 


33 


years 


n 


31 


years 


n 


33 


years 


n 


33 


years 


n 


29 


years 



303 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 
12 LARGEST CONTRIBUTIONS FROM CITIES AND TOWNS 

Indianapolis .. 3 churches since 1890 ..$19,140.42 

Elkhart 3 churches since 1890 17,777.55 

Dayton 2 churches since 1890 16,675.16 

Ft. Wayne .... 2 churches since 1890 11,199.19 

South Bend .. 3 churches since 1890 10,498.91 

Louisville 2 churches since 1890 8,997.38 

Huntingburg .. 2 churches since 1890 7,605.72 

Urbana 1 church since 1890 7,020.41 

Berne 1 church since 1890 4,678.58 

Rochester 1 church since 1890 3,453.39 

Evansville .... 2 churches since 1890 3,041.10 

Huntington .. 1 church since 1890 3,034.49 

12 BEST CONTRIBUTING CIRCUITS 

Linn Grove since 1890 $6,098.80 

Kokomo since 1890 4,733.44 

Celina since 1890 4,515.85 

Nappanee since 1890 4,407.82 

San Pierre since 1890 4,144.82 

Carmi since 1890 3,739.49 

West Salem since 1890 3,555.68 

New Paris since 1890 3,551.52 

Ft. Recovery since 1890 3,274.44 

Wolcottville since 1890 3,161.10 

Elkhart Bethel Circuit.... since 1890 3,153.60 

Bremen since 1890 2,414.89 

Elbcrfeld since 1890 2,338.52 

Note 1 — There was no record made in the Indiana Conference minutes prior 
to 1868 of the appropriations to the various missions. 

Note 2 — Errors in adding no doubt have occurred in compiling these figures 
through so many years, but it is- hoped they will serve the purpose intended. — 
S. H. B. 

THE OFFICERS OF THE LAST YEAR OE THE INDIANA 
CONFERENCE OF THE EV. ASSOCIATION 

Bishop S. P. Spreng, D. D President 

August Geist Vice-President 

T. H. Evans Secretary 

A. B, Haist Assistant Secretary 

Leo. J. Ehrhardt Assistant Secretary 

304 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

A. H. Doescher - Copyist 

R. G. Smith _.-_ .__ ___ Statistician 

J. O. Mosier _ __ Treasurer 

TRUSTEE BOARD, 1921-1924 
T. H. Evans ,- — - - President 

E. M. Ray - Vice-President 

T. W. Metzner _ _ Secretary 

J. O. Mosier _ _ Treasurer 

F. H. Hersh _ 

BOARD OF EXAMINERS 

D. O. Wise President 

Geo. Pullman Secretary 

CONFERENCE MISSIONARY SOCIETY 

E. G. Johnson President 

J O. Mosier Vice-President 

M. O. Herman Secretary 

T. H. Rilling Treasurer 

J. H. Rilling Delegate to Board of Missions 

E. G. Johnson Alternate 

SUNDAY SCHOOL BOARD 

F. C. Berger President 

L. C. Haney Vice-President 

Geo. S. Lozier Secretary-Treasurer 

Adam Cook S. C. Lehman Eli C. Bierie F. H. Hersh 

A. L. Yates F. H. Hirschman 

BOARD OF CHURCH EXTENSION 

L. S. Fisher S. H. Baumgartner M. W. Sunderman J. O. Mosier 

J. W. Metzner J. H. Evans J. H, Rilling 

STUDENT AID FUND 

C. E. Geist President 

1. H. Arndt Secretary-Treasurer 

Trustees — Adam Cook F. H. Hersh D. O. Wise C. P. Maas 

COMMITTEE ON NEW FINANCE PLAN 

Conference and General Budget Apportionment — President and Secretary of 
Missionary Society, Conference Treasurer, Secretary of General Budget, 
E. M. Ray, W. H. Hansing, F. H. Hershman. 

Conference Budget Secretary-Treasurer R. W. Loose 

305 

2t 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

TRUSTEE OF N. W. C. AND E. T. S.— 1920-1923 
E. W. Praetorius 

AUDITING COMMITTEE- 1921 TO 1924 
H. E. Eberhart O. O. Lozier A. H. Doescher 

EDITOR CONFERENCE JOURNAL 
O. O. Lozier 



306 



APPENDIX 

WHEN BRETHREN MEET 

The exchange of the year's experiences; the recounting of some of former 
years' experiences; the relating of victories in His cause; and, incidentally, the 
relating of some of the humorous occurrences — these enter into the fellowship of 
ministers of the Gospel when they meet at their annual gatherings. It serves to 
case the straiit of life, to cheer the workman to press his unfinished task. 

We append a few typical experiences from the many that might be given. 

T BLUNDERS AND SLIPS OF MINLSTERS IN THE 
CONEERENCE 

PASTOR ANNOUNCES A PUBLIC AUTOPSY 
A young minister, under a nervous strain after he had preached a funeral 
sermon, announced, "The undertaker will now open the corpse". With amaze- 
ment the congregation awaited results, but were relieved when the undertaker 
only opened the casket for viewing the remains. 



A LONG ONE 

A visiting pastor invited by a parishioner to take supper at his house with 

his own pastor, was called on to say grace at the table. Folding his hands he 

solemnly prayed at some length. The small boy in the family, when "Amen" 

was said, looked up with a sigh of relief and said, "My, wasn't that a long one?" 



LAUGHTER PROVOKED BY MISPRONOUNCING A WORD 
At a camp-meeting held near Royal Centre, Indiana, 1889, a preacher trying 
to picture the final conflagration of the wicked world, said, "Finally, this old 
world will go up in a con-flag'-a-ra-tion." Instead of producing a serious effect 
it produced laughter. 



A SLIP OF THE TONGUE 
In a camp-meeting at Royal Centre, Indiana, 1889 a P. E. was describing 
the beauties and the blessings of heaven, and then the horrors of hell. Having 
reached the climax of his description with considerable eloquence, he said, 
"People in these days live as though there were no heaven to shun and no hell 
to obtain." 



THE AXE LED TO WATER AND MADE TO DRINK 
While a minister was depicting the scene of Elisha's young prophets felling 
trees for enlargement of lodging accommodations, he stated that while one of 

307 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

tlie young prophets was vigorously swinging his axe, it shpped off the helve and 
to his great sorrow, "the water fell into the axe". After the service a bright 
young girl twitted him, saying, "How can water fall into an axe?" 



A SLIGHT MISTAKE IN A QUOTATION 
A minister, in relating a conversation that occurred between two men, 

attempted to carry on their argument as follows: 

A: "I do not believe anything I cannot reason out." 

B : "So you will not believe things to be true, the reason of which cannot 

be seen?" 



"Just so." 

"Do you see in that field yonder the cow, hog, sheep and goose?" 

"Yes." 

"Then assign the reason why wool grows on the sheep, bristles on hogs, 



feathers on the goose, and cows on the hair." 



A CONTRADICTION 
A pastor was preaching on the text, "Launch out into the deep". At the 
close of the sermon, he called for a song, whereupon a brother announced the 
song, "Pull for the shore, brother, pull for the shore". 



At a Conference session in 1899, the bishop asked, "Who arc the applicants 
for the ministry, and what is the report of the Board of Examiners?" 

An examiner of the applicant's course then arose and said, "I have here the 
obituaries of three applicants for license." 

Quickly the bishop replied, "That is enough, we have too many dead preach- 
ers already." 



A HINT TO THE WISE 
A P. E. was asked to review the S. S. Lesson. The lesson treated about 
Daniel and his brethren refusing to eat of the king's meat. In giving the reason 
why their countenances were fairer than those of the boys who ate of the king's 
meat, he illustrated the effect of the use of water instead of wine by pointing 
to the pastor, a tetotalcr, who was stout of body, and full of face. A bright 
hoy, looking the P. E. in the face, exclaimed, "You would look Ijettcr, too, if 
you would cut off j'our whiskers". 



NOT TONGUE-TIED, BUT FEET-TIED 

Pastor "R." with another minister was invited to Sunday dinner together 

with three rather quiet young ladies. The pastor, timid and reserved, seemed to 

be overly conscious of the presence of the ladies. When they were about through 

eating, pie was served. But the pastor seemingly could not keep up with the 

308 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

rest, who waited for him to get through. To the surprise of all he called for a 
second piece of pie, and kept eating it slowly without looking up. Meanwhile 
he was trying to extricate himself from some trouble with his feet. He had 
placed one foot over the other, and in so doing a shoestring of one shoe caught 
on a lace-hook of the other. His feet were around the table-leg which made it 
much worse. Finally, the other minister discovered his trouble, and said, "Oh, 
I see why you can't get done with eating pie, your feet are fast around the table- 
leg". 



After an inspirational sermon delivered by a Bishop at the South Indiana 
Conference session, one of the German ministers was unexpectedly asked to 
close the session with prayer. The sermon was in English, so the brother 
prayed in English with some embarrassment. In closing the prayer he wished 
to use the word "inspire", but instead he said, "O Lord, expire the congrega- 
tion." And another brother sanctioned this petition with a hearty, "Amen". 



Brother B. at a district meeting in the South Indiana Conference was with 
other ministers invi|ed to a dinner. After they were seated around the table, 
he noticed what was to him a very tempting dish, "sauerkraut and speck". Fix- 
ing his eyes thereon, he anxiously waited for prayer. On the spur of the mo- 
ment he was asked to give thanks. He could not think of suitable words, and 
blurted out, "O Lord, bless the sauerkraut and speck, Amen." 



Pastor E. had a sister in his congregation who habitually slept while he 
preached. This somewhat annoyed him. Calling at her house one day, he 
asked her in a rather serious tone, "Sister, why is it that you sleep so much 
during my services? It seems to me you ought to overcome this difficulty. Is 
it not possible for you to keep a'.vake and listen to the sermon?" 

Then she retorted suavely and apologetically, "Well, you see, my brother, 
v.'hen I shut my eyes, I can betttr grasp the meaning of your thoughts while 
you preach." 



THE LABORER WORTHY OF HIS HIRE 
After the minister had performed the marriage ceremony, and the con- 
tracting parties had been seated, the bridegroom nervously reached into his 
pocket and brought forth a quarter, and leaning over to his bride, whispered to 
her, "Is a quarter enough to give to the preacher?" 

She replied in a whisper, "Oh, make it a half-dollar, anyhow." 

A minister was obliged to go from town to the country to perform a mar- 
riage ceremony. He went to a livery stable for a horse and buggy. He bar- 
gained with the proprietor that he should have half of the marriage fee. After 

309 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

the marriage was over the bridegroom said to the officiating pastor, "A thousand 
thanks for j'our service." 

When the minister returned to the barn he said to the proprietor, "Five hun- 
dred thanks." 

The proprietor said, "Hold on, where is my half of the fee?" 
The parson said, "I received one thousand thanks, and I gave you five hun- 
dred. This pays the bill according to agreement, doesn't it?" 



While the P. E. was holding his quarterly meeting near Celina, Ohio, he 
wished to make use of the reservoir to illustrate a point in his sermon. He 
wanted to say, speaking of the reservoir nearby, "This is the largest artificial 
lake". What he said was, "This is the largest body of artificial water." 



PROVED BY LID AND LIVER 
A certain young pastor while preaching was earnestly contending for a 
certain truth as set forth in the Bible. He meant to enforce his contention by the 
well-known phrase, 'from lid to lid, and from cover to cover'. Instead he said, 
"The Bible says so from lid to liver." 



F. L. S. was examiner in Tibbet's Personal Salvation, for many years. At 
an annual Conference session the Bishop called for a report of the examiners on 
a certain junior preacher. F. L. S. arose and said, "Brother B. is deficient in 
personal salvation." 



II. REMIXISCENSES 

At a camp-meeting held on Dill's farm near Pleasant Hill Church, Wayne 
Co., Indiana, a set of rowdies from New Lisbon, Indiana, came to create a dis- 
turbance. A. B. Schafer, P. Fl, realizing their intentions, stationed G. G. Plat.c 
at the entrance to the camp-ground as watchman. P. leaned up against a tree 
with his arins folded over his chest. A ruffian stepped up to him and spit into 
his face several times. P. felt like striking the fellow down, but he restrained 
himself. Presently the fellow fiendishly said> to his gang, "Take a club and 
knock this preacher down." Having said so, he bent over as if to take a club. 
Instantly P. grabbed him around the body and threw him on the ground. A 
hard scuffle ensued. The other toughs came to assist their "bully", and in trying 
to free him from P.'s firm grip they tore away one side of his coat-tail. But P. 
held to his man and succeeded in tying his hands over his back with a hand- 
kerchief, and then lifted him up and brought him up to the front. Here the 
"bully" groaned loudly and begged for freedom, but to no avail. P. sat up with 
him all night as guardsman. In the morning the captive was taken to Cam- 
bridge City and was arraigned before a magistrate. The experience cost him 
$.".(1.00. 

310 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

THE UNFORGETABLE OAK 

In the month of May, 1867, a ministerial meeting was held at West Salem, 
Illinois. After the convention was closed, six men remained over until the next 
day, one being J. Bergcr. All went out to a farm, and in a beautiful grove con- 
tinued their talk on heavenly things. Some of these men were troubled con- 
cerning their call to the ministry. Hoehn made a motion that each man should 
narrate his experience in the call. When this was over, the oldest one said, 
"What will we do now? Shall we go home and give up preaching? Let us sing 
and pray", and started to sing "Nimni gar, o Gott, zum Tempel ein". Never 
did this song seem so applicable to them as just then, especially wdien they sang 
the line, "Dir geb ichs ganz zum eigen hin. brauchs wozu es dir gefallt". Then 
they fell on their knees mider a large oak tree, and prayed each one in turn 
heartily unto God. His blessings and power came so mightily upon them that 
they all praised God aloud under this tree with "Hallelujahs". When they left 
this spot, he who had said. "Shall we go home and give np preaching?", looked 
up into the tree and said, "This tree will not be forgotten by me in eternity." 
Each one now went to his work with his consecration renewed and with added 
power and courage. 



A CHILD'S SERMONETTE 

In 1891 our pastor in Logansport with his P. E. was invited to supper at 
one of his parishioners. After having been seated around the supper table the 
wife asked the P. E. to invoke the divine blessing. Having done so her three- 
year-old, bright-eyed girl said to her father, very lovingly, looking straight into 
his face, "Papa, why don't you pray at the table as that man does?" The father 
turned red in his face over this touching and very pertinent question. His em- 
barrassment was very visible, and cut him to the quick, but brought no spiritual 
betterment. The question was undoubtedly God-directed. Later in life he was 
converted and he joined church. 



AX ECCEXTRIC ACT 

Rev. Wm. Bocknian, a lover of hunting and an expert marksman, was 
preaching on a weekday in a schoolhouse near Medaryville, Indiana. A lay- 
brother was present who came to the service in a covered tourist wagon with a 
rifle hanging on the outside. The preacher saw it in full view. Suddenly while 
he was preaching, he saw a deer approaching the schoolhouse. B. was instantly 
gripped with an irresistible desire to shoot the deer, and called to the owner of 
the gun to loan it to him. The preacher stopped preaching, rushed out for the 
gun, and shot the deer, and then returned to finish the sermon as though nothing 
unusual had happened. This was in the days when meat among settlers was 
scarce, and deer-meat was desirable. 

311 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

On a certain night while D. S. Oakes was preaching in a church in northern 
Indiana, a base fellow entered the church after preaching had begun, with the 
intent to aggravate the speaker. On entering, he sat down several seats in 
from the door. Then he looked at the preacher and made faces at him, and with 
his hand to his face acted out a very insulting expression. The speaker first 
kindly admonished him to desist from such conduct, and went on preaching. 
The act of vulgarity was repeated. He was reproved more firmly by the speaker. 
But the base fellow repeated the act the third time, whereupon the speaker 
stopped preaching, rushed down to where the disturber sat, seized him by the 
coat-collar with one hand, raised him up and seized him with the other hand by 
the seat of his trousers, hoisted him out of the pew, motioned for the door to 
be opened, which was done, and the parson pitched him out without mercy, shut 
the door, re-entered the pulpit and resumed his sermon. 

After the close of the service this young fellow gathered up courage and 
came up to the door waiting for the parson to appear, threatening to "do him 
up". The parson was notified of this, and cautioned to be careful lest he might 
be hurt. On hearing this the parson rushed for the door to meet the "bully". 
But the "bully" seeing the parson coming in a rush with lion courage, was 
seized with fright, and ran, making his escape. 



HOODLUMS 
In August, 1845, while a camp-meetin,g was in progress on Dill's farm near 
Pleasant Hill Society in Wayne Co., Indiana, there were many conversions and 
accessions. But on a Tuesday night, G. G. Platz says, "The hordes of Satan 
gathered without the camp, all armed with clubs and knives. This presaged 
evil. During preaching a sham-battle was played, hoping to lure us out, but 
when this failed, the horde rushed in upon us as we surrounded the altar and 
were praying with the penitents. For an hour or more we had a serious and 
rough time. God's people fell upon their knees and prayed earnestly for victory, 
sinners cried mightily to God for pardon while the hoodlums mocked and filled 
the air with their profanity. The ringleader called himself an orthodox Luther- 
an." But God's work could not be stopped. 



While Ruben Riegel was making a trip from Benton, Elkhart Co., Indiana, 
to Kendallville he fell asleep in his buggy. Presently he toppled out of the rig. 
Hif horse was frightened and started ofi at a livelier gait leaving him in the 
dusty road. M. Krueger, who was following him with his rig, thought R.'s 
horse was running away. He hurriedly dismounted, leaving his horse tied, ran 
through a timber to head ofi' R.'s horse and caught the horse. Going back he 
found R. who had discovered that he had fallen out while asleep, none the worse. 



A baseball game was scheduled at Linn Grove for a Sunday afternoon in 

312 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

July near the church. The worshippers were repeatedly annoyed on Sundays 
before this by ball playing. Pastor Buyer went to the ball players and kindly 
solicited them to desist playing on Sundays, especially so near the church. But 
they just gave him the laugh and ridiculed both church and God. Then he ar- 
ranged with his people to hold a service on their play-ground, it being the village 
schoolground. Just when the boys were ready to play, B., according to pre- 
vious announcement, drove at the appointed time on the diamond and began 
reading from the Bible, and then preached a sermon to them such as the ball- 
players never heard. There was no disturbance of the service, and no more 
games were played here. 



HOW AN ENEMY WAS BLUFFED 

W'hile J. L. Buyer was pastor at San Pierre, he took active part in temper- 
ance work. A certain "bully" aroused by B.'s temperance activities entered one 
day into the office of the R. R. agent, declaring that he would "thrash" B. if he 
had him there. B. was just then in the waiting room, and hearing the bully's 
declaration, stepped up to him saying, "Here is Buyer! Up and at him if you 
desire, but remember, he is from Kentucky." The braggart's courage suddenly 
failed him, and he quickly fabricated the excuse that he was considerably under 
rheumatic affliction just then, and would have to defer the thrashing. B. never 
got his thrashing, but instead made a friend of this enemy. 



When Rev. P. was appointed to Berne Circuit as his charge, he went to Mt. 
Carmel Society on a Sunday to preach. P. was a man about six feet high, 
broad shouldered, 430 pounds avoirdupois. Upon entering the church, the 
people sized up his proportions with wonder, and with an expression of some 
fear and apprehension. This he allaj'ed by calmly arising, and reading for his 
text, "It is I, be not afraid." 



It is reported of parson B. U. that he was exceedingly timid, which not in- 
frequently brought embarrassment. At one time, wishing to make a pastoral 
visit, he rode to a farm house, dismounted, tied his horse to a post and then ap- 
proached the house. Coming to the door which was open, to his dismay, he 
saw a number of women quilting and engaged in lively conversation. He was 
invited to come in, but not feeling at ease amongst so many women, he excused 
himself, retreated hastily, mounted his horse, and ordered it to go on. But the 
horse could not go, for it was tied. Then he discovered that his horse was tied, 
so he nervously dismounted to loosen it, remounted and rode away. His em- 
barrassment was very apparent which greatly amused the woinen. 



After M. Hoehn had preached a farewell sermon, 18S8, at Taljor, Elbcrfeld 
Charge, the people went forward to bid him good-bye. One brother found it 

313 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

difficult to get to him to shake his hand, 1)Ut finally succeeded and simultaneously 
pave him a dollar. That night the old man could not sleep, being conscience- 
smitten. Early next morning he came to where Hoehn lodged and said to him, 
"The devil played a trick on me last night. I intended to give you $5.00, but as 
I could hardly get to you while you were shaking hands with others, the devil 
said to me, 'See, Hoehn cares more for others than he does for you, so I would 
only give him $1.00' I did so. Then I could not sleep the whole night. I con- 
cluded to bring you the $5.00." Hoehn thanked him and handed him back $1.00. 

"No, no," said the old man, "keep that $1.00 also. I'll now play a trick on 
the devil, instead of $1.00, you shall have $6.00." 



A certain fine-looking, young man habitually' came late to the revival at 
Eippus, conducted by Rev. Fisher. He came a distance of six miles. On enter- 
ing the church he would first stand by the stove, with whip in hand, to get warm. 
then he would crowd in among the young girls. While the people prayed, he 
would reach over with his whip and tickle those in front with his whip and cause 
other disturbances. The pastor asked the trustees to put a stop to his conduct, 
but they said, "He is a bad fellow; talking to him will only make him do worse." 

The next night just as F. read the text, he again came in with whip in hand, 
and went to the stove. F. looking him straight in the eye, said, "The young men 
of this community are well raised, and know how to behave in God's house, but 
there are some others, who have not been brought up here, but some distance 
off; these have not been so well raised, but have just grown up tall, like weeds, 
and hence do not know how to behave in God's house. Now, sir, if your name 
goes before the grand jury, do not blame the trustees, but, I am the man that 
will do it. Do 30U understand?" 

The young man went back and sat down in a corner. After church was out 
he said to others, "I will slap that preacher's face when he comes out." 

The young men said to him, "Don't do it, while we are here", giving him 
to understand what they would do to him if he made the attempt. He jumped 
into his cutter, drove away, and stayed away. 



While C. W. S. conducted a revival at E., two young men received such a 
wonderful blessing which revealed itself in a spell of uncontrolable laughter. 
The pastor wishing to close the meeting for that night, wanted to make some 
announcements, but the interruption of their laughter prevented the people from 
catching the announcements. Father W., a very pious man, said audibly, 
"Stopf denna Buben ein Buch ins Maul". (Stuff a book in the mouths of those 
boys.) One of those boys is today (1924) a strong minister in the Indiana Con- 
ference. 

314 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 
HOW A CALL TO PREACH WAS SETTLED 

Soon after a revival in the Snyder Class of the Old N. Webster Circuit, the 
people felt the need of another such meeting. The pastor consented and an- 
nounced the time. But when the time arrived the physical condition of the 
pastor was such that he could not go ahead with it, and so stated to the people, 
who were greatly disappointed. F. L. S. in his second year as a Christian stood 
in the door of the schoolhouse, where the meeting was to be held, ready to go 
home. A sister of the class stepped up to him and said, "Fred, you can hold 
this revival". 

He replied, "Oh, my no, sister". Later he recognized that this was the 
devil's suggestion. After being urged with the consent of pastor and his mother, 
though Satan suggested, "You would not have the proper influence over the 
young people, they will laugh at you, even though you lived a consistent Chris- 
tian life': but being assured that the contrary was true, he made the effort. It 
was, however, with tremblin.g. The weather was wet, the roads muddy, ami 
only about a dozen cooperated with him. The second week they had the first 
convert. The meeting in two places, one following the other, continued ten 
W"eeks and resulted in 100 conversions, some of a most reinarkable character 
This result then settled his call to the ministry. 



Sometime after the conversion of F. L. S. while he was cultivating corn and 
was happy in meditating on things divine, there suddenly was a voice back of 
him like that of a human voice, saying, "Hovvf do you know you will get into 
heaven when you get up there? God is almighty and may just thrust you out, 
and then what will all this ado on earth have amounted to?" 

This at first nearly overcame S. But God's Spirit came to his aid, and he 
gathered his soul and body together, and then gave a tremendous kick forward 
with his right leg, as he uttered the words, "Get thee hence, Satan." Satan 
cleared out of the the field and S. was wonderfully strengthened in faith. 



In February, 1901, at the South Bend First Church, Nitsche had a great 
revival, resulting in 76 conversions, 42 of whom were young men. Among them 
was Jonathan Hawkins, 24 years old, who would not yield for some time. He 
was to leave the city for the Illinois cornbelt where he had been working for a 
wealthy farmer for several years. The pastor, licing told of this plan, called for 
a season of silent prayer, afterwards singing: "Nearer My God, to Thee," 
w-hereupon this young man staggered to the altar, fell to the floor, and cried 
aloud for mercy and soon was wonderfully saved. The next morning he had 
to leave for Illionis. But in May he came home very ill, was baptized and died, 
a saved man. 

315 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

BETTER YET 
An aged German member of E. Society was seemingly deeply interested in 
his church. He was always anxious to have an interview with the newly ap- 
pointed preacher. When pastor Mc. called on this brother for the first time he 
told him of the faults of all his predecessors in office at this charge. He started 
far back in the history of the church, enumerating the shortcomings of the pas- 
tors in rotation as he read their names from his little book. All save one young 
man, were much deficient, one in this, the other in that. He punctuated each 

brother's name with "Ach, ". Proceeding he would say, "Then, there was 

that , ach ". Having reached the last name in the list, and done him 

justice, he looked the new pastor over, and said, "Und now yust see vot we got!" 
Mc. stood the shock and in the end won out. 



DO YE LIKEWISE 

J. O. M., while holding a Quarterly Meeting at Foraker, Indiana, asked 
A. A. K., pastor, for something to do on Saturday forenoon, saying, "Isn't there 
some hard customer in the neighborhood that we could see today?" 

K. replied, "There is an old man over yonder who does not go to church 
nor support it." 

Then the P. E. said, "Let's go and dig about him as the Scripture saj's, 
will you?" 

K. hitched his pony to the buggy and they went and found him at home. 
They began to talk to him, dwelling wholly on the love of God and his goodness 
to him all these years, etc. Then the P. E. asked if he might pray, which was 
allowed. They bade him adieu, and went away. After the Saturday night serv- 
ice K. came to his P. E., and said, "That brother whom w"e visited, came to th.; 
steward after our visit and handed him $20.00 for the preachers!" 



M, F. Finkbciner, with his brother, Christian, went to a camp-meeting held 
near their home in 1839, when M. F, was only 12 years old. The avowed pur- 
pose for going was to throw stones on the worshippers during the meeting. 
The mighty gospel sermon brought them to their knees at the altar. Instead of 
throwing stones on God's people, the Lord threw the burden of conviction upon 
them. After a severe struggle they were gloriously saved and both joined 
church, and Fred became a useful minister of the Gospel. 



BITTER MEDICINE FOR TWO DISTURBERS 

Rev. A. G. and E. T. H. were engaged in a meeting at the Immanuel Church 
on the Fulton Circuit. One evening there were two young men, brothers, who 
made quite a disturbance during the service. After the service, these preachers 
had occasion to walk the road with the two disturbers, and soon found that both 

315 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

were under the influence of liquor, and were intent on making H. trouble. The 
older one attacked him in most profane and abusive language. His mad temper 
finally got the better of him. He jerked off his coat and approached God's serv- 
ant, but before he could strike, God interposed. Some young man, not of the 
company at the time, knew who the defender was; stepped up to the enraged 
would-be culprit and said to him, "If you are determined to fight, you will have 
to settle with me, 3'ou dare not strike the preacher if I can prevent it." 

This sudden change of front completely cowed the young man, and took a)! 
the fight out of him. There was nothing more said about whipping the preacher. 
H. prosecuted these brothers before the grand jury, and they were fined ninety 
dollars apiece. This was bitter medicine, but wholesome. 

While A. G. held a revival meeting at the Husselman Church two miles 
south of Waterloo, preaching on sin, its nature, and the necessity in the moral 
government for its punishment, several young men, one Amos O. Raber, for 
some reason became greatly offended. These men set on foot a scheme to de- 
tract from the attendance and interest of the meeting, by starting a debating 
club in the school house near the church. Their scheme failed. They came to 
church one evening after preaching had begun, and stomped the snow off their 
shoes in a boisterous manner, whereupon G. took the occasion before closing the 
service, to give the boys a lesson on good behavior in the church. 

After church the boy; were grouped together outside expressing their 
opinion of the preacher in a loud manner. G. stepped up to one, and laid his 
hand on his shoulder and said that they were laying themselves liable to prosecu- 
tion by their conduct outside of the church, and that they better quietly go home. 

The next morning, Elkiah Zerkle reported to G. that he was being prose- 
cuted for "assault and battery". G. could scarcely believe this, and treated the 
matter lightly, but by Z.'s insistence he went to Waterloo to see the Judge for 
counsel. After hearing the case, the Judge said, "You should have taken him 
by the collar and have given him a thorough shaking up. Go to your work. If 
we need you, we will send for you." 

This ended the suit. It, however, cost the young prosecutor five dollars to 
withdraw the case. These young men vowed they would never enter the church 
so long as G. was pastor. 

But a few evenings after this, G., having preached on God's redeeming grace, 
invited seekers to the altar, and was surprised beyond measure to see three or 
four of the young men referred to above, come forward. Among them was 
Amos O. Raber, who two years later became a promising young minister in the 
Indiana Conference. 



In 1896 while I. H. G. served Carmi, Illinois, he received a letter from the 
sheriff of Hamilton Co., urgently entreating him to visit at once a German man 

317 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

in the McLcansboro jail, who desired a German Protestant minister to pray with 
him. This man and his wife were reared in the Catholic faith. But he had left 
the Roman Church. They had one child. The priest persuaded the mother se- 
cretly to have it baptized against his will. This so enraged him that he in an 
intoxicated condition murdered the wife and child. For this horrible crime he 
had to pay the penalty of his life on the gallows. Just prior to his death, G. 
several times visited him. One bright morning while both were on their knees, 
imploring God's mercy, sweet peace came into his heart so that he glorified God 
that even a sinner with a blood-stained heart could be saved. His Catholic 
friends, with the priest, did their best to biing him back to the "Mother Church". 
This he absolutely refused. They persisted, until he ordered the sheriff to keep 
them out of his cell. Then they came to the barred window of his cell, offering 
him crucifixes, rosaries, etc., but all in vain. They told him he would be lost and 
his day of execution would be gloomy which would be an iincontrovertible 
sign of his eternal perdition. But the day of his execution was absolutely cloud- 
less. According to his desire, G. stood by his side on the gallows. In his con- 
fession on the gallows, he said, "If all the priests were married and true to their 
wives, this occasion would not have occurred.'' 



SUDDEN JUDGMENT 

In 1882 a new church was being built four miles north-west of Sandoval. 
Illinois. Two men from East St. Louis had the contract for the plastering. 
They wanted to finish the job on a Sunday. In a nearby schoolhouse Nitsche 
was holding his preaching services while the church was under conslruclion. N. 
told these men that he and his people would positively object to their working on 
Sunday. One big fellow then began to curse N. and the Almightj'. Ten minutes 
later this man had a paralytic stroke, leaving him helpless and in an unconscious 
condition. He died that evening. 



III. RE\'IVAL EXPERIENCES 

While Rev. J. R. was holding a revival on E. Circuit, inconsistent church 
members militated against the success of the revival. Outsiders had lost their 
confidence in them, due to dishonest dealings. Thus, the pastor's efforts among 
outsiders were defeated. When he gave opportunity to witness for Christ, one 
man especially would get up and earnestly admonish outsiders to come and re- 
pent of their sins. This he did repeatedly. So the pastor announced a special 
meeting at which confessions for sins should be made. This man was there. 
The pastor stated the object of the meeting clearly. All were to confess their 
sins if they had wronged anyone in word or deed. This member soon arose, 
and as usual began to exhort outsiders. The pastor stopped him and said, 

318 • 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

"Brother, this is a meeting to make confessions of personal sins, not to give 
exhortations." 

The man started again, in the old way. Again the pastor stopped him, 
saying, "Brother, you are out of order, you are not speaking on the subject 
vnder consideration." 

"Well," said the man rather sharply, "Preacher, what do you want me to 
say?" 

The pastor replied, "Tell the people how mean you have been this year, and 
confess your sins." 

Hereupon he humbled himself and began to confess his shortcomings and 
sins. This was the beginning of an effective revival. 



J. Kaufman relates an experience he had at the Ziou Appointment on 
Bunker Hill Circuit, when he conducted a revival there in a schoolhouse. There 
was a great religious awakening among the Amish there (in the Troyer settle- 
ment). A son of an Amish family was under deep conviction, and in agony oi 
soul. On invitation he came to the altar for prayer, but did not find pardon. 
His parents found this out, and his mother was incensed over it, and hurriedly 
came to the church with a broomstick and ordered him home. But the next 
morning he again went to the church services and in the evening was again out 
at the altar. His mother did not, however, molest him this time. He found 
great peace and comfort for his soul. 



At a revival meeting held at Common Centre, Cass Co., Indiana, in the 
winter of 1879, conducted by J. M. Dustman, two small girls came to the altar 
on the evening following the day meeting, when 11 seekers were wonderfully 
saved. Many older ones were saved in this meeting and joined the church; but 
these girls did not find peace, though they came to the altar night after night. 
But they united with the church. Soon after this, these girls with their parents 
and other children, went to Brother Hoffman's for Sunday dinner. After dinner 
the children went to the barn tp plaj'. There they were led to hold a prayer- 
meeting in the hay-mow. Soon the parents heard what seemed a great commo- 
tion among their children. The parents thinking it wrong for them to make 
such a noise, especially on Sunday, being church-members, were grieved, and 
went to the barn to see what was the matter. On reaching the hay-mow they 
learned to their surprise that the children were all praising God except the two 
girls. These lay on the hay, unconscious, but only for a short time, when they 
rallied with the glory of God in their hearts. Mrs. Peter Hoffman and a daugh- 
ter of Jacob Paulen were eye-witnesses. 



■ In the fall of 1891, while H. H. Reinochl conducted a revival in Bethel 
Church, south of Ft. Recovery, rain fell almost incessantly for a week. Roads 

319 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

became almost impassable. Only a few could get to church. The meeting was 
continued to the second Sunday night when only five members, and twelve un- 
converted young men were present. R. concluded to offer prayer and close the 
revival. But as he entered the pulpit he was led to think that these people were 
as much entitled to a full service as if he had a crowded house. He opened in 
the usual way, preached, and closed with an appeal to the unsaved young men. 
Eleven of them came out, with only five members to pray for them. H. said, 
"What a time we had! Such praying!" Three were saved that night. The re- 
vival was continued. Monday night some more were saved. Tuesday night the 
last of the eleven were saved. They all joined church. Truly "man's extremity 
proved God's opportunity". 



A DAUGHTER'S PRAYER ANSWERED 

In the Berne revival conducted by J. O. M., in 1917, a young lady who was 
a member of the church, asked for the prayers of the Christian people in behalf 
of her parents who lived in the country and belonged to a church which received 
her catechetical scholars into the membership of the church. One day while 
alone in her home, her mother heard a voice saying, "Why don't you read the 
Bible?" 

She replied, "I don't know how to read and what part to read." 

The voice again said to her, "Open the Bible and read." Later the voice 
again said, "Why don't you pray?" She went into another room and prayed and 
found wonderful peace and joy. When her husband came home she told him 
that she was converted. 

Then he asked her to pray for him, and she said to him, "You must pray 
also." They both prayed, and he too was brought to the light, and both 
united with the Evangelical Church. 



P. E., S. H. B. was asked to conduct a short evangelistic meeting in Culver, 
Indiana, in the winter of 1905 in the stead of the pastor, Chas. McConnehey, who 
was ill. A week's prayer-meeting preceded. Two men and their wives came to 
the altar the second night, and were saved. Thereafter, seekers came night after 
night, as many as thirty on one night. On one night in particular, conviction 
definitely gripped sinners and backsliders. Five denominations participated. 
Even two Jews, (merchants) attended and sanctioned the work as, "bettering 
the social life of the community". Their Gentile wives professed conversion and 
one joined the Evangelical Church and the other the M. E. Church. One young 
man under conviction declared he would rather shovel coal in hell than go to 
that altar, but the next night he was a penitent at the altar. The dancing master 
in anger declared that this meeting broke up the dances on the boat for si.x 
months. It did. The 12-day meeting closed with over 100 at the altar with 

320 



; HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

nearly that many conversions. About 60 united with tlie Evangchcal Associa- 
tion. Some joined the M. E. Church and sonic the Reformed Church. 



In a meeting lield in Rii)pus. Indiana, Jan., LSSS, a young married woman 
came forward. As she walked out, a good brotlier nodded to her husband to 
come also. This enraged him for he construed the brother's nod as an annoy- 
ance. The woman was happily saved that night. When church was out, her 
husband began a fuss in the church with the man who nodded to him. Walkin.; 
together on the road with the pastor, C. C. B., this young man charged the 
church society with hypocrisy, etc. After he reached home he had 
n.o rest. He tried to sleep but could not. He tried to quarrel 
with his wife the whole night. In the morning after breakfast 
he went out into the woodshed that stood by the road-side. He had heard the 
night Ijefore, that the man who annoyed him was going to town in the morning. 
He had to pass this woodshed to go to town. The angry young man purposed 
to kill him with a split-axe when he arrived there. He split some wood and kept 
watching for his man until 11 a. m. when he suddenly was overcome by divine 
power. His a.xe fell out of his hands, he rushed into the house, cast himself on 
his knees, and called to his wife to come and praj' for him. He struggled for 
deliverance from the power of sin and Satan. He was now ready to forgive the 
man he accused wrongly. Aljout 1 p. m. he found peace. That evening he told 
the whole storv in the church to a full audience. 



In the winter of 1885-cS6, I. B. Fisher, pastor of Huntington Mission, held 
an cvan.gelistic meeting at Bippus in the newly dedicated church. The third 
Saturday night, he announced that there would be no service on Sunday night, 
but at 3 p. m. to avoid the crowded condition. When he arrived Sunday after- 
noon he scarcely found a hitching place for his ponies. The church was crowd- 
ed. It was difficult for him to reach the pulpit. Thus far he had no conver- 
sions. He felt somewhat bine over the situation, but this scene brought him a 
feeling that victory was near. He had no time for preparation to preach. After 
the singing of a sorg, he read from Ps. 145:1-13, then he stopped, announced the 
outline of his sermon, thus: I. The kingdom of God in Heaven; II. The kingdom 
of God on earth; III. The kingdom of God in men's hearts. Suddenly there 
v.'as a shout which was followed by deep emotions. Immediately he gave an 
invitation to come to the altar. The people arose, and many ran to the altar 
until it was filled. Many more ran for the door as though a great calamity was 
about to befall them. A goodly number of seekers were converted. 

One man, alarmed, ran for the door, beckoning his wife with his hat to come. 
He went home scolding aliout the noisy meeting, saying, that such confusion 
was displeasing to God and dishonoring His house. That night he could not 
sleep, so he got up and went to the living room, and knelt down Ijy the lounge 

321 

21 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

and began to pray, and he Rot so loud that he could be heard a great distance 
away. His wife also knelt bj' his side, and also cried for mercy. A 14-year-old 
lad, sleeping upstairs, came down to see what was the matter. Not knowing 
what to do, he walked across a field for his uncle and aunt. They came, and 
hearing them pray, they also knelt and cried for mercy. The boy then hurriedlv 
started out a half mile to neighbors for help. A man and his wife came and 
seeing what was going on they also knelt and began to pray. The lad made 
another attempt to get aid by going to relatives, a man and his wife, who came, 
and also knelt and cried for mercy, making in ail eight penitents. Now the lad 
said, "I guess that I must get the preacher." He stopped at the house next to 
the church, but the man of the house knew not where the preacher was, but he 
\A-ent with the boy to his home to see what was wrong, and he also knelt down to 
pray. Nine sinners were now praying for salvation. The boy now concluded, 
"I guess they are all crazy," and went back to bed. But before dajdight they 
were all saved and sent out a messenger for the preacher. He found him at a 
breakfast table. The preacher hurried aver. They told of their experience and 
that they v.-ere now gloriously saved. This revival lasted six weeks, resulting in 
84 conversions. 



In 1917 J. O. Mosier held a revival in Berne, Indiana, lasting seven weeks 
during wdiich time 315 professed salvation. A Mr. Braecker, whose wife had 
previously been converted, tried to convince himself that he was a Christian. 
But his wife knew better. On a Saturday night, while at the supper table, con- 
viction came upon him so definitely, that he suddenly rose from the table, went 
out for help, but not finding aid, he made for the parsonage at 10 p. m. and said 
to the pastor, "I have to have help or I will die tonight." The pastor talked and 
prayed with him for an hour when he went home, and soon experienced salva- 
tion. 

At a day prayer-meeting at Zion, Bunker Hill Circuit, during a revival in 
\^f^9, there seemed to be present something that blocked the way to victory. 
Some difficulty existed in the society. The meeting began at 10 a. m. Pastor 
S H. B. gave an earnest exhortation on the need of unity of spirit and coopera- 
tive work as necessary to succeed. Then followed earnest prayer without ap- 
parent victory. It was about 12 o'clock when the local preacher, A. Troyer, 
expressed the thought, whether they all had complied with Christ's petition, 
"Forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors", and then suggested that all 
once more kneel and all should join in real sincerity and pray the Lord's Prayer, 
and fully comply with the above petition. The suggestion was carried out. All 
knelt, praying this prayer audibly. Coming to the above petition, there was 
suddenly a wonderful divine power present. Petitioners let go of self. The 
Holy Ghost came and purged them from the ill feelings. Hearts were melted 

322 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

and welded together into mutual love. The glory of God was manifest. The 
meeting continued to 1 p. m. One brother on this morning was in a field near 
the church trying to husk corn; but his hands seemed clumsy. He could not 
work. So he said, "If I can't husk corn, I'll go to church." He came just in 
time to get a great Ijlessing. From then on there was victory in the services. 



In a revival meeting held in the winter of 1890 in St. Paul's Chapel, Bunker 
Hill Circuit, a John H., one of the big sinners of the community, had been out to 
the altar seeking salvation. He labored hard for a number of nights but with- 
out success. One night a local preacher of another church came to the mcetin.g. 
Pastor S. H, B. had him sit on the rostrum. After preaching, the appeal was 
again made for sinners to come to the altar. H.. again came out with others. 
For a while he labored hard to press into the kingdom of God. Suddenly he 
stopped praying and went to the local preacher on the rostrum and said to him, 
"Do you remember that 20 years ago you were viciously assaulted by a fellow 
on a certain saw-mill ground?" 

"Yes," said the local preacher. 

"Well," said H., "I am the fellow that did it. I am sorry for what I did. 
Can you forgive me? I want salvation, and I felt I cannot find peace without 
asking forgiveness from you." 

"Sure I'll forgive you," said the local preacher, "I am glad you are seeking 
Christ and want to live a good life." 

H, then went back to the altar, knelt down again and anew called upon God 
for mercy and pardon. In less than five minutes he was saved. 

Another confession followed his conversion that night. He said, "I had a 
natural hatred for preachers. I often wished I dared to rush out on the public 
road when Rev. Baumgartner passed, and seize him by his long black beard, and 
pull him out of his buggy, and drag him around in the deep mud, not because 
he did me any wrong, but just because he was a preacher. But now it is all 
changed. I want him now to stop at my house, and eat and sleep in my home. 
My hatred for preachers is all gone. 



In 1904 presiding elder, B., while holding a quarterly meeting in Decatur, 
Indiana, preached an evangelistic sermon on a Sunday evening. Then followed 
an interesting and encouraging event. After he was through preaching he felt 
that an opportunity should be given to come to the altar. The Lord really had 
a surprise for the preachers and the people, for there were five young people who 
responded to the call and were blessedly saved. 



At a certain revival in southern Indiana a young woman was earnestly 
seeking salvation. She came to the meetings, but something was hindering her 
in the finding of peace. Her presiding elder, one night, asked her whether she 

323 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

knew of anything that she should confess in order to obtain pardon. She dis- 
revered two things that ought to be adjusted. One was the possession of a 
graduating diploma to which she was not entitled. The other was having taken 
a brooch. She then asked, "What must I do to get peace?" It was suggested 
that she should write to the teacher, and make a confession. This was ex- 
ceedingly humiliating, but she followed the advice. In a few days she heard from 
the teacher that she was forgiven by him. But she had no peace until she had 
made right that little theft. To appease her conscience, she restored two-fold 
of what she had wrongfully taken. Then the peace of God came into her soul. 



On Jan. 1, 1896, a rc\'ival meeting was begun in Berne, Indiana, by J. W. }^I. 
in the Evangelical Hall. The Holy Ghost was the active agent in this meeting, 
in answer to much praying and earnest preaching of the plan of salvation. The 
power of God was manifest in the hearts of those v,'ho waited upon the Lord. 
The attendance was so large that it became difficult to find room for those who 
came. Some meetings, due to intense interest, could not be dismissed until 
after midnight. At the end of four weeks a most remarkable thing occurred. 
I*" had been planned to close the meeting then. A number of persons had been 
saved. At this time the impression was that the plan of closing the meeting 
should not be carried out. Services were, therefore, announced for Monday 
night, believing that this was a better night to judge the propriety of whether 
the revival should close or not. The usual program was followed, praying, sing- 
ip-g and sermon. When the invitation was given, twenty persons came out to the 
altar, not merely to be praj'cd for, but that they themselves might be able to 
pray. The revival continued three weeks longer with definite results each night 
until there were fifty-three people saved. 



In 1880, Geo. R. held a revival at Salem, now Linn Grove Charge. After 
four weeks of meetings the pastor was going to close the meeting, but just be- 
fore he closed he gave one more invitation, saying that if one came the meeting 
\vould continue. To his surprise one soul came out. The meeting was continued. 
God's Spirit was striving with the unsaved, independent of the church which up 
to this time had not yet rallied. The unsaved came to the altar, but there wa.s 
no spiritual power. The membership was helpless. Some prostrated themselves 
with faces to the floor in shame, and agonized for power and victory for them- 
selves. Victory followed, resulting in 44 conversions. There was a man who 
tried to run away from the meeting, though he did not even attend it. He and 
his wife started on a trip to Michigan. Reaching Ft. Wayne his horse took 
sick and he was compelled to return home. He now yielded to the wooings of 
the Spirit and came to the revival but filled with prejudice against the little 
preacher whom he considered proud. Put he could hold out no longer and came 

324 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

to the altar. As a backslider, he found forgiveness and became an enthusiastic 
worker in the church. 

Not far from this church was a schoolhouse where a lady taught who claim- 
ed to be a Christian. When a number of her scholars were converted, and 
began to hold prayer-meetings during recess, she became so convicted that she 
suspended school until the revival closed. 



In January, 1893, I. H. Griesemer held a seven-week revival in Mt. Carmel, 
Illinois, when si.xty souls were saved. Among these was a woman who had 
sought pardon for five years. Nearh' every night, during this meeting, she came 
to the altar. The last night of this meeting, after dismissal, she said, "Oh, now 
another revival closes, and still I'm not saved." Then she wept bitterly and 
prayed ardently. A number of the inembers remained with her, praj'ing and 
directing her to the Lamb of God. Suddenly she believed the promise of God 
and was saved. 



Rev. I. H. G. had a successful revival in Xew Harmony, Indiana, in 1907. 
One of the seekers at the altar was a young man, who bore the reputation as a 
saloon lounger. He was seeking peace for more than a week without success. 
One evening the pastor knelt with him and asked, "Brother, are you willing to 
surrender all unto the Lord?" 

He hesitated, then finally said, "Ye-es". 

Then he was asked, "Are you willing to give up swearing, gambling dan- 
cing and fighting?" 

He replied, "Ves." 

But the pastor knowing his weakness, once more asked him, "Are you will- 
ing to give up drinking?" 

He said, "I am willing to give up everything except my daily dram. I must 
have that." 

Then the pastor told him, that it was of no use for him to pray any longer, 
that his seeking was all in vain unless he surrendered all, including his daily 
dram. After a little further exhortation and praying with him, the seeker called 
out, "Well, Lord, I'm willing to give up everything, even my daily dram." 
Scarcely had he said these words when the peace "that passeth all understand- 
ing", poured into his soul. 



At a revival conducted by J. R. a drunk man one evening was in the meeting, 
apparently in a sleeping stupor. When the invitation to come to the altar was 
given, he was the first one to come, knelt and began to pray mightily to God for 
salvation. R. and a minister present began to instruct him what he must do. 
seeing the condition he was in. Some of the folks in the congregation considered 
him a "drunken fool", and some made sport of it. But R. explained to them that 

325 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

God was able to even save a drunk man, if he really wanted salvation, and de- 
liver him from the demon of strong drink. Soon the man arose professing to be 
saved. He was a changed man from then on, for he ceased drinking, became 
kind to his family, and lived an honorable life. He was saved from a drunkard 
grave and hell. Though he was drunk when he came to the altar, he had sense 
enough to repent, pray and believe while many of those who made fun of him. 
did not. 



While J. R. was holding a revival in a small town, a doctor and his w"if ■ 
attended regularly. One evening R. saw the w-oman weeping. After the altar 
call, he went to her and asked her to come to the altar. But she refused, saying. 
"I am not coming to hear you preach any more. Every time I come you expose 
my whole life." But he assured her she was in error since she was a stranger 
to him. Then she said, "Somebody has told you all about me." Again he as- 
sured her that he was ignorant of her life. 

"How then can you describe my life as you did?" R. told her that it was 
the Word of God which describes every case, and shows one what one is and 
where one stands, and then urged her to come to the altar. But she declared, 
"I cannot. Mj' brother is up there and he won't speak to me." 

The pastor then asked her, "Will you speak to him?" 

She replied, "Yes, I will." 

Then he said, "Then come to the altar and I'll see that your brother speaks 
to you." 

She came and knelt at the altar. Her brother was choir leader. Soon the 
pastor changed the order of the meeting, and asked everybody to come and 
shake hands with the sister to encourage her. The people gladly responded 
except her brother. Then R. said to him, "Now you go and shake hands with 
your sister." 

But he declined, saying, "Oh, I can't. I must lead the singing." 

But R. said, "Yes, you can. I'll keep the singing going on until you get 
back. Go on!" He obeyed, and as he came to her, she arose from her knees 
and then they clasped each other's hands and were reconciled. Thus she was 
saved and victory and rejoicing followed. 



J. R. relates a revival meeting held in a certain community wdicre serious 
trouble existed between several neighbors without his knowledge. A court 
litigation was soon to follow over the contention. The meeting progressed 
slowly. Some of the children of these neighbors were converted, who also be- 
fore this would not speak with each other, just as their parents did not. One 
evening as these children came home from school walking arm in arm, their 
parents took notice and wondered what had happened. When told that their 
children were converted in the revival in their neighborhood, they said, "We 

326 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

must find out about this." They came to the meeting and were brought into a 
deep sense of their own need. A gct-togcther-mceting was arranged betweeji 
them. A reconciliation was effected, and the civil action was withdrawn. The 
lawyers were the poorer, the parents and community the richer. 

In the above revival an infidel, living in this vicinity, was bitterly opposed 
to it. His two girls, now young women, attended the meeting, and became con- 
victed of their sins. He forbade them to attend this meeting, but they insisted 
on attending. He consented to it, but forbade them to go to the altar. If they 
did, "there would be something doing". J. R. knew nothing about his threats 
to his daughters. One night both came to the altar. On that very night he 
told them and others if they went to the altar he would take them away. The 
church was crowded. The father was there. When the pastor gave the altar call 
both girls started for the altar. Just then the father leaped to his feet and took 
hold of them. The pastor started down the aisle exhorting and was scarcely 
ten feet away, when he heard one of the girls shout, "Glory, glory!" and "Fa- 
ther, get down, get down!" God interfered with him, saved his daughter before 
she could get to the altar, and the father had no chance to take her away. 
While he held to her. and she to him. he begged of her. "Mandy, let go of me. 
Mandv, it is all right." But she would not. She insisted that he must go down 
to the altar and pray. Then the meeting was changed into a testimony meeting, 
and Mandy again shouted, "Glory", etc. The father .got up and made a con- 
fession, and said, "I cannot understand this." The pastor replied, "IMy brother, 
the Lord knows how to rescue those that come to him. He was too quick for 
you, He always is." 



J. R. was holding a revival in a neighborhood, which was all torn up by a 
feud. Here lived a brother and sister, members of the church, who had not 
spoken to each other for two j'ears. Some declared it was useless to hold a 
meeting. Moreover, it was campaign year. But a score of young people were 
saved. Two little girls of the brother came to the altar and were saved. The 
world sneered saying, "They got all the young people they can get, and now 
begin on the kids." But God had need of these children just now. On the day 
they united with the church, their father was present. The pastor was worried, 
thinking he came to stir up trouble. He gave an opportunity to testify. This 
father asked for the privilege to speak. It was granted provided he would say 
nothing to hinder the meeting. 

Then he confessed, "I had made up my mind I would have nothing to do 
with this meeting; but when my two little girls came out on the Lord's side, my 
God — I couldn't stand that. ' This he said with heart-breaking sobs and stam- 
mering tongue. His sister on the other side of the church, suddenly rose, and 
with tears streaming down her cheeks, said, "The Lord told me to speak to my 

327 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

brother." They met each other, wept together, begged pardon of each other 
and called for prayer. Then a wonderful season of prayer followed. The 
difficulty was settled A wonderful awakening followed. Sinners fell down at 
the altar, others in aisles and pews, and many were saved. Truly, "a little child 
shall lead them." 



A CHAIN WITH A HOOK 
At a certain re^■ival conducted by Rev. D. D. S., a man was brought under 
deep conviction. He was tormented especially because he took a log chain from 
his neighbor. He sought forgiveness of his sins, but to no avail. Finally he 
resolved to go to this nei,ghbor with the chain and confess that he had stolen 
it, and ask his pardon. When this was done he obtained pardon and peace in 
his soul. 

In 1892, on Carmi Circuit, in the old country church, E. J. Nitsche conducted 
a revival. Two young men, who were under deep conviction, but would not 
yield to God, together agreed they would not j'ield until a stormy night, be- 
lieving that on such a night no one would come, not even the preacher. Then 
they would have a reasonable excuse for not Iiecoming Christians, for then they 
could say to their parents, "We went to church on that stormy night, to seek 
salvation, but no one came, and this shows how much they are interested in us." 

One night a storm raged over the community. The men decided to go to 
church. The Holy Spirit led Nitsche to go. His wife said, "Why, you cannot 
get through the storm." The Spirit, however, prompted him to go. Three times 
X. went into the bedroom to pray, each time convinced that he should go. 
Finallj' he said, "I must go, if I die on the way." Looking across the field he 
saw a light. Then he saw the door open, and a man entered with a lantern. It 
was the janitor who had gone home. But he saw two other men going into 
the church. When N. reached the church and entered, the young men arose in 
haste, looking amazed. They thought a ghost from the nearby cemetery appear- 
ed. N. quicklv quieted their fear by greeting them, saying they would have a 
short service. The men stayed. 

N. read from John 10. and gave them an invitation to come to the altar. 
They both came forward, and began to plead for mercy and pardon, continuing 
until 11 o'clock. As there was no fire in the stove, N. saw it was best to leave, 
though they wanted to stay there all night. He prevailed on them, however, to 
go to Father W.'s, and there to continue to pray for salvation. At 2 o'clock 
that night they found peace, and the whole house was awakened by their praises 
to God. At eight a. m., they came to the parsonage, still praising God, with 
six loads of stove wood and a fat pig for the preacher. 

N. said, "It paid to go." 

328 



HISTORICAL SKETCHES 

In 1905, at the new country church on Carmi Circuit, Nitsche held a revival, 
at which a young man who belonged to the Catholic Church, came to the altar, 
and was gloriously saved. Five months later he was struck dead by lightning. 



An incident occurred in A. G.'s fourth year ol the ministry on the Waterloo 
Circuit of more than ordinary interest. 

He was driving from Trinity to the County Line Church to fill the evening 
appointment. For reasons that were afterward made clear, he lost all interest 
in his prospective sermon for the evening, and was at a loss, for some moments 
what he should preach. Finally his mind was directed to a Scripture that he 
never preached from nor studied carefully. He trusted in the help of God, with 
this new text. Not knowing anything of existing conditions, God helped him 
mightily in delivering His message. After the service, Bro. S., the exhorter, 
stepped up to G. asking, "Has anyone said anything to you about the awful 
state of things in this class? Surely God directed you in preaching the sermon 
you did this evening." 

G. then went home with S. who made known to him the deplorable state of 
things in the class, which started among the larger scholars in the Sunday 
School. The parents of the unruly boys took the matter up, resulting in a law- 
suit. Two fathers who were brothers, were antagonistic toward each other. 
After S. had related these existing conditions, G. said to him, "We must try 
to settle this trouble before I leave the community." 

The next morning they started out on a mission of reconciliation. They 
first took one in hand and told him what their object was in coming, and said, 
"We want you to go along to your brother." 

He answered, "No, I won't go, for he threatened to strike me if I ever 
darkened his doorway. I am afraid if I go it will only make matters worse." 

However, with strong persuasion, he consented to go. When they got to 
the house, the second brother met the three at the door, and was told for what 
they came. G. said, "If you will promise to behave yourself, and keep quiet, we 
will come in, otherwise we will return home." They were invited in, and after 
being seated, G. read a suitable portion of God's Word, and said, "We will kneel 
and ask God's help." G. prayed and then called on S. who offered a very earnest 
and touching prayer. Then he called on the older brother who broke down with 
weeping, then called on the other brother who also broke down in the attempt. 
On arising from their knees, G. said, "Brethren, we have done all that we can, 
it is now up to you to settle your trouble." They arose and met each other and 
with arms around each other's necks wept out their gladness in the spirit of 
reconciliation. These brothers were old men at this time. 

Brother S. and G. went home happy. The Lord got the praise for it all. 
G. was now certain why God's Spirit suggested a new text to him the night 
before. 

329 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

C. W. S. witnessed a wonderful determination of a 14-year-old girl who 
came to the altar for peace and pardon, on a certain night of a revival. Her 
parents bitterly opposed her in this. But she was firm to her conviction. After 
the dismissal of the meeting she would not leave the altar to go home. So prayer 
^'•ith and for her was continued until 1 A. M. when she was gloriously saved. 
The girl amidst unfavorable environment tried to serve the Lord. In the sum- 
mer following she died of typhoid fever. Her mother then confessed how she 
stood in the girl's W'ay, but now she repented and surrendered to the Lord as a 
result of her girl's conversion. 

C. \V. S. witnessed how a girl from a rather illiterate home came under con- 
viction in a revival, and, obeying the wooings of the Holy Spirit, came to the 
altar for salvation, and was wonderfully saved. Then she at once began to 
ti'Stify and to admonish the unsaved people. Many could not refrain from weep- 
ing, and others burst forth in shouts, and hardened sinners were melted to 
tears and brought to their knees. 

A ten-year-old lad, seeking salvation m a revival conducted by C. W. S., 
had such a definite experience, that his countenance was very perceptibly aglow. 
A man 70 years old seeing this came up to the altar, seized the boy by each arm 
and drew him up to his face and then pleading, as a homesick child would ask, 
"How did you get it, anyway?" 



In a revival meeting conducted by S. J. K. a man was under great convic- 
t'on, but he resisted the power of God. The pastor while speaking to other 
unsaved ones in the audience, came to this convicted sinner, and inquired about 
his salvation. This fellow f^ew into a rage, and broke forth in a tirade of most 
terrible profanity, such as the pastor never had heard. The pastor stood by him 
until he was through swearing without saying a word. Then quietly he walked 
away toward the altar. Suddenly this man jumped to his feet, rushed by the 
pastor, and fell down at the altar, and in great penitence sought pardon an 1 
salvation. He was gloriously saved. 



3.50 



INDIANA CONFERENCE 

ERRORS IN VOLUME I CORRECTED 

Page 11, after Butz insert "of Mt. Carmel". 

Page 17, under 1847, 2nd line after "the", insert "western", farther on "Wict- 

haup'' as here. 
Page 18, line 7 should read, "Indiana District" not "Conference". 
Page 58, J. H. Evans, "Division Street, Elkhart, 2", is omitted. 
Page 63, Geo. S. Lozier, figure "2" should take the place of "1". 
Page 76, "Cumberland, Tenn.," should read "Cumberland, Indiana". 
Page 80, under Fulton, erase "Defiance". 

Page 84, under Julietta, after '78, insert "Geo. Schmoll, 79". 
Page 87, after J. Fox, bring in "D. Bartholomew and C. Kohlmeier; and after 

C. Kohlmeier, 5th line, add year "1863"; after J. Miller, "1866''; after 

P. Miller, "1867". 
Page 90, under Rochester Circuit, after 1892-93 add, "L. Newman, '94-96; 

J. W. Metzner, '97-98; J. W. Feller '99; E. Q. Laudeman, 1900; Ph. 

Haney, 1915; between Rochester Circuit and Rochester Station insert 

Rochester Mission, G. A. Weishaar, 1909; Ph. Buehler, 1910-12." 
Page 95, under "Special Missionaries," Aug. Ivan, "Oregon" should read 

Texas". 
Page 96, in column "by what conference" after the names Browns, Burgencr 

and Buyer, should read "Indiana" not "N. Y."; also after Ehrhardt, 

Evans, Erne, J. W. Feller, not F. M., and after D. E. Zechiel and 

G. F. Zuber, not M. E." 
Page 384, under Huntingburg below Wcsseler's name insert "Carl Heiden, 

1855"; and after item 6, "G. W. Hallwachs, 1855"; and cancel the name 

Hallwachs under Louisville Station. 
Page 385, under Indianapolis, First, between 3 and 4 insert "C. Stier, 1874"; 

and to Louisville Station add the name, "G. F. Winter, 1891". 
Page 386, under "Came to 111. Conf." cancel the last name "Brightmire". 



331 



'il I; /> " li/ *n'j .hr!''fi' /■Jc 



/ 



'/HI 



( 



( / 



( I 






>' I '/t .1' 



p.- 






liSiiiiS&^iiSSsili